Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 27, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2625 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,399
Mixed:
115
Negative:
111
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
HarleyQuinnJun 27, 2008
So what if it's not a PIXAR film all kids will enjoy? It doesn't change the fact that it's fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Jun 28, 2008
The movie was an amazing achievement. Pixar manages to evoke more emotion from these robots than most actors. The story was perfect, and animation so good it disappeared, and the plot very well written. There is no excuse to not see this The movie was an amazing achievement. Pixar manages to evoke more emotion from these robots than most actors. The story was perfect, and animation so good it disappeared, and the plot very well written. There is no excuse to not see this movie, and I can't think of any excuse not to love it either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkCJun 28, 2008
Very creative plot, great characters, touchy story and great morals. One of pixar's best. The only draw back was that because of the lack of dialogue...there were a few dull segments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomG.Jun 28, 2008
Incredible film! Not only gorgeous, but an utterly beautiful story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WoodyW.Jun 29, 2008
I was stunned by what a pure love story Pixar created from two essentially mute robots. If they can give such convincing humanity to robots, what can't they do? Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlanT.Jun 29, 2008
Charming but ultimately disappointing. This is one of Pixar's worst thought-out films and perhaps its worst film, period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HarrisL.Jun 30, 2008
Good animation. Muddled story. I started to drift off a few times in some very comfortable seats in the new theater the flick was playing in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattJun 30, 2008
Film as art, simple as that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CodyS.Jun 30, 2008
I thought it was one of the best movies in recent years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaydenMJul 1, 2008
A beautiful, intelligent, and downright funny film that people of all ages can enjoy (cliche as that may sound). This is easily Pixar's best project to date, and one of the best this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BigPapaJul 1, 2008
One of the most beautiful movies I've ever seen. It was all around amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidDJul 1, 2008
I enjoyed the movie -- but am confused. The Village Voice review expressed numerous reservations and short-comings, and MetaCritic called that a 100!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReubenB.Jul 10, 2008
Great movie! Most folks who are giving this movie negative reviews are arguing that it depicts an "un-realistic" view of the future and that is true, but think about it, if we wanted to see realism or realistic ideas, then we'd go see a Great movie! Most folks who are giving this movie negative reviews are arguing that it depicts an "un-realistic" view of the future and that is true, but think about it, if we wanted to see realism or realistic ideas, then we'd go see a documentary. If you have an imagination at all, then it's a no-brainer. PIXAR did an excellent job at telling a wonderful story with very little dialogue at all. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshW.Jul 1, 2008
I had to write this after reading Conrad B.'s review. He is either suffering from weight issues or more likely, just doesn't get the fact that this is a MOVIE! If over weight people are offended then tough! Is it ok to make a film I had to write this after reading Conrad B.'s review. He is either suffering from weight issues or more likely, just doesn't get the fact that this is a MOVIE! If over weight people are offended then tough! Is it ok to make a film such as the Godfather trilogy without offending Italian Americans? Cinema is at it's best, an art form. So deal with it. Easily the best movie I've seen since Lost in Translation. But better. Some have complained that the silent picture start is better than the rest of the film, but consider how the two leads desires and motives affect the story while firmly being rooted in thei own motives. Brilliant. Not since Chaplin has a film been so pitch perfect in making a statement and touching hearts. This is the kind of film (art piece) that changes the world in it's wake. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaruhiS.Jul 1, 2008
Best movie of 2008 will go to Wall-E or The Dark Knight. This was an awesome movie because of the cuteness of each and every character. Wall-E and Eve are so cutely portrayed that you wish you can have them. The animation is amazing and the Best movie of 2008 will go to Wall-E or The Dark Knight. This was an awesome movie because of the cuteness of each and every character. Wall-E and Eve are so cutely portrayed that you wish you can have them. The animation is amazing and the story is heartwarming. Users rating Wall-E are emphasizing the fact that the humans in the movie are fat. I conclude that they're f4ggots. I would think that it is obvious that during 700 years of generations and generations, if all people do is eat and sit, of course everyone would become obese. The message in Wall-E is clear and addresses modern day problems. We need to put an end to global warming and obesity needs to be solved. We need to remember that the Earth is our home and that at this rate, humans cannot coexist with Mother Nature. Wall-E is truly a splendid film. If you do not think the movie is good, it's fine. However, you must appreciate the heartwarming feeling it gives off and the message it has. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.S.Jul 14, 2008
Larry P. is what I would call a "conservative drone". His kids will no doubt grow up to be mindless knuckledraggers; slaves to society for eternity. Wall-E For Life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KH.Jul 15, 2008
If you spend some time thinking after the movie ends, several of the movie's main ideas self-contradict. But kids will love it and I 100% enjoyed the audio/visual brilliance. Ideally the 2nd half of the movie would have hit even harder If you spend some time thinking after the movie ends, several of the movie's main ideas self-contradict. But kids will love it and I 100% enjoyed the audio/visual brilliance. Ideally the 2nd half of the movie would have hit even harder with its themes of empty consumerism but then it wouldn't have been a kid's movie either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickR.Jul 16, 2008
This is a gorgeous movie, transfixing from beginning to end. The animation at the beginning is awe-inspiring and the story is cute, but serious enough to get the point through. I understand some kids not finding it to be their cup of tea, This is a gorgeous movie, transfixing from beginning to end. The animation at the beginning is awe-inspiring and the story is cute, but serious enough to get the point through. I understand some kids not finding it to be their cup of tea, not privy to many of the clever references and jokes, but I think to thoroughly dislike this film one would have to be heartless, blind, and entirely miss the point. I think that those complaining about the lack of dialogue should consider expanding their tastes (and maybe think about WHY there is little dialogue, other than the fact they are robots), and those who say it is preachy are probably reacting to some deep guilt they harbour with regards to their own day to day practices. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChristianP.Jul 16, 2008
Certainly overrated. Not bad by any means though. Bogs down in the middle, would work better as a short.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerrieS.Jul 16, 2008
It was one of the most emotional films I have seen in a long time. Fantastic story and visual effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AHJul 10, 2008
After reading these reviews I think it's funny how a lot of adults said they thought it would be too much for kids to understand. That just goes to prove a lot of adults think kids are just plain stupid. I sat next to a 5-year-old and After reading these reviews I think it's funny how a lot of adults said they thought it would be too much for kids to understand. That just goes to prove a lot of adults think kids are just plain stupid. I sat next to a 5-year-old and he was completely mesmerized throughout the whole movie. He may not have been outright laughing but he followed the story and at the end he turned to his mother and said, so we turn out alright? That to me signaled he understood the plot and was left with a feeling of hope. While kids may not "get" every joke, I think the movie has a message that any kid can follow and be entertained by and those adults who think kids don't understand are underestimating them. I loved the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EthanK.Jul 10, 2008
Technically first-class, but narratively second-class. The finesse of the rendering is stunning, but the story suffers a few bouts of boredom and leaps of logic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElaineJul 10, 2008
The best animation i have even seen. The desolate scenes of a deserted earth overwhelmed with rubbish are a poignant rebuke against humans' greed and excessive consumer culture. The romantic plot involving a gawky male robot and sleek The best animation i have even seen. The desolate scenes of a deserted earth overwhelmed with rubbish are a poignant rebuke against humans' greed and excessive consumer culture. The romantic plot involving a gawky male robot and sleek female automaton is sweet without an once of melodrama. The green message is powerful without being didactic. It's the pinnacle of animation achievement. While the present age is filled with excessive consumer garnage, we are blessed with at least animation gems like Wall E. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RoseDJul 19, 2008
Wall-E the character was adorable, but my 10 year old, her friend and another Mom and I left feeling confused and very unimpressed. The animation was great andI loved the use of the old "Hello Dolly" footage but the over the top "global Wall-E the character was adorable, but my 10 year old, her friend and another Mom and I left feeling confused and very unimpressed. The animation was great andI loved the use of the old "Hello Dolly" footage but the over the top "global warming/humans are ruining the earth" theme is shoved at us too much already. My thirteen year old walked out saying "Another Polar Bear commercial!!!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnDJul 2, 2008
I have never been a huge fan of Pixar. While I am a huge fan of animation in all its different forms I have never really enjoyed entirely cg movies. Wall-E pretty much made me see that you can put an honest essence of life into a movie made I have never been a huge fan of Pixar. While I am a huge fan of animation in all its different forms I have never really enjoyed entirely cg movies. Wall-E pretty much made me see that you can put an honest essence of life into a movie made in this way. I find it especially funny that a movie with so little dialogue changed my opinion so much. Dont assume the audience is stupid and the audience will not assume you make bad movies is what I say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamiL.Jul 2, 2008
Saw the movie with my two small kids, a teenager and my wife. Absolutely stunning visually, I got chills in the first few minutes. As a sci-fi and animation fan, it was a double-treat for me; this is in my book one of the best movies of the Saw the movie with my two small kids, a teenager and my wife. Absolutely stunning visually, I got chills in the first few minutes. As a sci-fi and animation fan, it was a double-treat for me; this is in my book one of the best movies of the year if not the best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamJ.Jul 21, 2008
In terms of visual and auditory effects, the movie is STUNNING! Wonderful, thick, deep and lifelike imaging. I felt the lack of dialogue wasn't an issue as the bots convey emotions and communicate via other means. Absolutely hilarious In terms of visual and auditory effects, the movie is STUNNING! Wonderful, thick, deep and lifelike imaging. I felt the lack of dialogue wasn't an issue as the bots convey emotions and communicate via other means. Absolutely hilarious btw. Problem is: Weak storyline, VERY, VERY weak. Boring, and predictable. If ya got kids, go see it. If not... don't waste your money. (Cinemas are expensive)! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyB.Jul 21, 2008
A film exploring loneliness and desolation underpinned by a strong environmental message. Utter genius - by far the most emotive Pixar film and a classic of our time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebSJul 2, 2008
Best movie of the year so far. Pixar obviously is letting their hair down and having fun with the medium they basically created. As far as social commentary, it's a flippin' science fiction cartoon! Sure, Man lost his way. Sure, Best movie of the year so far. Pixar obviously is letting their hair down and having fun with the medium they basically created. As far as social commentary, it's a flippin' science fiction cartoon! Sure, Man lost his way. Sure, the Earth was ruined. In the end though, both parties benefited in a positive way. How dare anyone say that Pixar decided to make fun of fat people! Let's face it, anyone offended may have a bit of a problem themselves with the hand to mouth exercise that we call overindulgence. Funny how people recognize smoking and excessive drinking as true problems facing society, but forget that over eating is one as well. Wall-E, however, is not saying that! The movie is simply pointing out that huge corporations will do anything to not put the blame on themselves when it's their mistakes that have caused such harm. That's what made the people on the ship fat! They had simply lost the concept of what being human meant, and were slowly turning into a kind of "machine" themselves due to Buy'N'Large's huge goof! Eve was cute too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethG.Jul 2, 2008
Fantastic movie. I rarely come to tears, but this one sent me over the edge several times. For those offended by the movie's message concerning fat people: Get over yourself. You would have to be severely thick to find this movie Fantastic movie. I rarely come to tears, but this one sent me over the edge several times. For those offended by the movie's message concerning fat people: Get over yourself. You would have to be severely thick to find this movie offensive. It in no way set out to ridicule fat people, it was ridiculing lazy people. People can be overweight and still be healthy, active, and happy with themselves. This movie does not ridicule these people. Rather it lampoons LAZY people who become fat due to inactivity and an obsession with quick and easy food, media, and life in general. It also sends an important message concerning how the increasingly lethargic attitudes of our society will ultimately be our downfall in protecting our planet. This movie deserves not only the best animated film award, but the best picture award. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesN.Jul 2, 2008
The fantastic animation almost takes a backseat to the touching, endearing boy meets girl story - or in this case, junky boy robot meets sleek girl robot. This movie is all about heart. The depth of emotion and reactions displayed by the The fantastic animation almost takes a backseat to the touching, endearing boy meets girl story - or in this case, junky boy robot meets sleek girl robot. This movie is all about heart. The depth of emotion and reactions displayed by the characters in the film is it's true success. While I could take or leave the moral of the story, the one involving the consequences of rampant consumerism, Wall*E and Eve's burgeoning relationship will always stand out as one of the great screen romances of all time. oh, and of course the animation is stellar. This is Pixar, after all. When they wed it to a great story & plot (not always the case, good examples being "A Bug's Life" and the overrated "Finding Nemo"), it's true magic. Highly recommended. Don't wait for the DVD, it's a movie to go see at the theatre on a really big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArrenS.Jul 24, 2008
Beautiful movie, seamless animation, and had more charm than any ive seen in awhile. You'd have to be a true hard head to not see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ecJul 27, 2008
Not a terrible movie, but the worst of the pixar lot. Long and slow, this one severely lacks the magic that disney and pixar brought to films like monsters, bugs life, toy story, and nemo. This one is a cross between artsy, 2001-ish sci-fi, Not a terrible movie, but the worst of the pixar lot. Long and slow, this one severely lacks the magic that disney and pixar brought to films like monsters, bugs life, toy story, and nemo. This one is a cross between artsy, 2001-ish sci-fi, and a woody allen movie. At times Wall-E steps over the line from sweet and innocent, to unintentionally creepy. Bizarre, and horribly overrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffB.Jul 3, 2008
Conrad, if this movie offended you perhaps you and your family shouldn't watch movies any longer, as they are obviously becoming too risque for your type. If this movie offends you it won't be the last time you are offended in Conrad, if this movie offended you perhaps you and your family shouldn't watch movies any longer, as they are obviously becoming too risque for your type. If this movie offends you it won't be the last time you are offended in front of the silver screen, I assure you. Now to the movie. I watched it as a date movie with my girlfriend and loved it. There are parts where the plot seems to drag on because of the lack of dialog; however it manages to keep you interested even when you think the plot should have moved on already. It's a very charming movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DA.Jul 31, 2008
It was totally original, extremely well told and spectacularly well produced. My only quibble is the doomsday vision message that we've destroyed the planet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JanisGJul 3, 2008
It was entertaining and kept me awake. Although it was a kids' movie, I enjoyed it. The fat person thing did not bother me because kids need to know that laziness and overeating create overweight people! Our society is so "politically It was entertaining and kept me awake. Although it was a kids' movie, I enjoyed it. The fat person thing did not bother me because kids need to know that laziness and overeating create overweight people! Our society is so "politically correct" that we are lying to ourselves and our children. Fat is unpleasant both for the viewer and the person who is fat. It also carries with it many diseases. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HlynnL.Jul 30, 2008
Overall, I liked this movie. It was cute, and there were some really moving moments in this movie, too. I'm kind of tired of everyone throwing Pixar a huge bone of 'wow! that was awesome! Ground breaking!' for every movie they Overall, I liked this movie. It was cute, and there were some really moving moments in this movie, too. I'm kind of tired of everyone throwing Pixar a huge bone of 'wow! that was awesome! Ground breaking!' for every movie they create. They best Pixar movie, by the way, is still FInding Nemo. Anyway, the chilling scenary is juxtaposed against child-like Wall-e, and that's what makes this movie. The idea that over-consumption is going to kill the world is taken to a drastic extreme, but it's a good message. However, using the 'OMG! If you buy too much, YOU WILL GET FAT!' logic doesn't really work. Using people's fear of fat as a reason to save the environment is not a creative idea. It's a cheap idea, and the idea that the fat people in the movie were supposed to represent modern Americans is insulting to many fat people who are fat because their parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents were fat. Also, blaming these said fat people for destroying the world is not an original or enlightening message. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JudyTJul 3, 2008
Could only give it a 7/10 because of the weak story and lack of kid appeal. The animation is gorgeous but the story is not half as good as some of the other Pixar films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickB.Jul 3, 2008
This movie ruled. Conrad B, you are obviously a huge fattass. There was so much going on in this movie: allegory of hedonism, satire of how people live their lives on the same track every day, of how people let advertising dictate their This movie ruled. Conrad B, you are obviously a huge fattass. There was so much going on in this movie: allegory of hedonism, satire of how people live their lives on the same track every day, of how people let advertising dictate their interests, reckless disregard for the environment... it goes on and on. I'm too jaded for kids movies, but I loved this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveLJul 3, 2008
Amazing movie. If you were bored, learn to appreciate a lack of explosions. If you were offended, learn to deal with your own imperfections (you're fat? OH NO!). Your kids didn't understand? Take them to something simpler. This Amazing movie. If you were bored, learn to appreciate a lack of explosions. If you were offended, learn to deal with your own imperfections (you're fat? OH NO!). Your kids didn't understand? Take them to something simpler. This movie was not designed to pander to the audience; it is a beautiful work of art, containing messages that are not limited to warnings about the current state of the world, and playing to an audience that is not limited to the young. The expressions of loneliness, love, and hope are the most touching that I have ever experienced in a movie, and I pity those who cannot see the same. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulB.Jul 3, 2008
Touching, funny, and for all ages. First movie I've loved in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColRJul 4, 2008
Conrad B: "Size Positive"?? Get a grip. That kind of politically correct garbage is what will eventually kill creativity and turn us all into beurocratic slaves. Really, if you can't see the fun in the greatest animated movie of all Conrad B: "Size Positive"?? Get a grip. That kind of politically correct garbage is what will eventually kill creativity and turn us all into beurocratic slaves. Really, if you can't see the fun in the greatest animated movie of all time, you should just stop going and leave them to the rest of us - the people with a sense of humour. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseLJul 4, 2008
I don't think the fact that the people were fat was being commented on per se. I think that the people had become so disassociated with one another and that they were so unwilling to do anything was a focus of the film. The people I don't think the fact that the people were fat was being commented on per se. I think that the people had become so disassociated with one another and that they were so unwilling to do anything was a focus of the film. The people weren't fat from over eating. They were deformed (bone loss and unable to walk) from being lazy. And fatness didn't lead to the planet's distruction in the movie, laziness did. Oh, and I don't think the joke was that they were fat. I don't think it was even meant to be traditionally funny that they were fat. I think it was suppossed to be funny in a Dr. Strangelove fashion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulSJul 5, 2008
The people giving this a very low score are FAT. I guarantee it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanR.Jul 5, 2008
Excellent. the first third of the film where there is little to no dialogue is just brilliant and the vision of mankind's future is a humorous dose of dark comedy. a big accomplishment here is the connection you feel with the cold, Excellent. the first third of the film where there is little to no dialogue is just brilliant and the vision of mankind's future is a humorous dose of dark comedy. a big accomplishment here is the connection you feel with the cold, mechanized robots, who only communicate using 2 or 3 different words. you gotta see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
rbJul 5, 2008
A lot of people are patting themselves on the backs for recognizing that Wall-E is a simple concept and a conventional story. It is both these things, and the fault is with the convention. Pixar remain the absolute best animators AND A lot of people are patting themselves on the backs for recognizing that Wall-E is a simple concept and a conventional story. It is both these things, and the fault is with the convention. Pixar remain the absolute best animators AND storytellers in their field. The only problem with Wall-E is the marketed promise that it's a movie with characters who "embark on an adventure like never before". Unnecessary and poor words. Pixar is a b. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisJul 6, 2008
It's been a long time since I've been so moved by a film. Not to mention an animated film, about robots. The message is powerful, the characters utterly endearing, and the love story heartwarming. Woot, huzzah and three cheers for Pixar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelT.Jul 8, 2008
Great movie! Saw it with a big group, and there was not a single one of us who didn't thoroughly enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaA.Jul 8, 2008
WALL-E was a wholly visual masterpiece. Its design was awe inspiring and was only superseded by its depth of character and unsurpassed heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DawnC.Jul 9, 2008
That Wall-E charmed the pants off of me! A cinematic experience for the ages, truly majestic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielS.Jul 9, 2008
What else do you expect from the same guy who directed Finding Nemo? It's just fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeM.Aug 10, 2008
It's bloody brillaint. Funny, heartwarming, ingenious. Honestly just plain perfection, go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimPAug 10, 2008
Overrated, but enjoyable. As always, Pixar's visuals are beautiful. Wonderful character animation, lighting and camera work this time around (over-use of lens effects and depth of field, however.) Many funny and touching moments. My Overrated, but enjoyable. As always, Pixar's visuals are beautiful. Wonderful character animation, lighting and camera work this time around (over-use of lens effects and depth of field, however.) Many funny and touching moments. My main criticism is, as many others have pointed out, is that the commentary on western culture is way too heavy handed. The portrayal of humanity in the future (morbidly obese, sheltered, addicted to the big-box way of life) is humorous but akin to being whacked over the head with a giant hammer. I expect more subtlety out of Pixar's creative minds! My tastes fall in line more with the Brad Bird teams at Pixar. Would recommend seeing the movie, but don't expect to be blown away. The pre-feature short, "Presto," was wonderful! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlT.Aug 18, 2008
Honestly 1 of the best films iv ever seen, those people that moan about the lack of script need to realize, this is what makes the film what it is. It gives the characters more of an innocent feel. Stripped down, forgetting all about the Honestly 1 of the best films iv ever seen, those people that moan about the lack of script need to realize, this is what makes the film what it is. It gives the characters more of an innocent feel. Stripped down, forgetting all about the global catastrophe that Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidAug 2, 2008
I can't believe people are warning others to: 'be prepared that there is no human dialogue for the first 40 minutes'. How can THAT be a bad thing these days?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
markc.Aug 2, 2008
this is a whole next step for pixar, they moves into another realm of story telling with this gem. the scenes with eve and walle and simply phenomenal. The sound effects/ voice actors did really well with these two. I swear I positively this is a whole next step for pixar, they moves into another realm of story telling with this gem. the scenes with eve and walle and simply phenomenal. The sound effects/ voice actors did really well with these two. I swear I positively swoon every time I hear EVE! I love how they incorperated live action. One thing I'd like to see however, is Pixar push the look and animation of human characters further, something more than the rubber-cutsie-caricatures that they've been doing since monsters inc. Other than that, absolutely perfect, this touched me and was far more enjoyable than Batman TDK. Pixar's proven themselves once again to be the industry leader in cg movies, setting new standards with every release! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlecB.Aug 2, 2008
I do agree with D.C. this film should not have gotten better reviews than the Dark Knight but the movie was still a funny family movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisC.Aug 20, 2008
Beautiful, engaging, heartwarming. This is honestly the best animated film I have ever seen. Frankly, anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be utterly dead inside, or at least between their ears. Every twist and every turn will hold Beautiful, engaging, heartwarming. This is honestly the best animated film I have ever seen. Frankly, anyone who doesn't enjoy this movie must be utterly dead inside, or at least between their ears. Every twist and every turn will hold you spellbound. I don't want to give the plot away at all, because this movie is honestly best experienced unspoiled. What I WILL say is that both halves of this masterpiece will keep you hooked in their own special ways. 10/10. Nothing less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictoriaB.Aug 4, 2008
Words fail me. I've never seen something so adorabe that my only reaction was to cry like a big blubbering idiot. Wall-e may speak differently to anyone but for me, it was almost perfect. No, it WAS perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BreeJ.Aug 6, 2008
This movie is awesome. Wonderful story line, it's about time a movie such as this one appears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ismayas.Aug 6, 2008
Remember Skinner's face when he tries Remy's ratatouille in 'Ratatouille'? He tries sooooo hard to hate it but we knew that he loved it. That's what exactly Wall-E's haters face looked like when they see Wall-E. Remember Skinner's face when he tries Remy's ratatouille in 'Ratatouille'? He tries sooooo hard to hate it but we knew that he loved it. That's what exactly Wall-E's haters face looked like when they see Wall-E. They try so hard to hate it (simply because they're Pixar hater, or Batman fanboy, or another Pixar's rival employee) while in their heart they loved it so much. I cannot be more sad with those pathetic people. Seriously though, this is one of the best Science Fiction ever delivered to our silver screen. If you give this movie 0 grade, I could simply say that the rest movie of the year before Wall-E are in the minus range. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TranM.Aug 7, 2008
This movie was good but not all that great. It definately deserved to be recognized. But what I really really don't get is why does pixar always get the highest ratings when there only kids movie. Probably because there just plain This movie was good but not all that great. It definately deserved to be recognized. But what I really really don't get is why does pixar always get the highest ratings when there only kids movie. Probably because there just plain entertaining and there's no controversie to them. Also there not hard to appreciate Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaartenV.Sep 13, 2008
103 minutes of pure awesomeness. At first i was thinking how a film with hardly any dialogue can possibly be good, but i went to watch it, and i went again! For me the best animation movie Pixar has produced so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SalliL.Sep 23, 2008
Beautiful, visually stunning, and one of the purest portrayals of love for a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PlutoVSep 30, 2008
An amazing film, an amalgama of silent cinema of the early 1900 with a twist of the New millennium plus it puts you into thinking and makes fun of the overconsuming world we re living in, especially in the USA. Promotion of "apple products" An amazing film, an amalgama of silent cinema of the early 1900 with a twist of the New millennium plus it puts you into thinking and makes fun of the overconsuming world we re living in, especially in the USA. Promotion of "apple products" through the movie (see ipod and EVA's design) doesn't gives me any hard feelings. Believe one of the classics already! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnG.Sep 8, 2008
As good as it gets! Seriously, the best Disney animated movie i had ever seen was Lion's King but now I'm seriously questioning which one is the best between the later and Wall-E. Yes, it's that good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyL.Sep 8, 2008
We took our son to see this as his first movie trip (he was 2.5 at the time) some 6 months after the first teaser trailer. This gave us lots of time to prepare him and get him excited at the prospect, hoping he wouldn't wail the moment We took our son to see this as his first movie trip (he was 2.5 at the time) some 6 months after the first teaser trailer. This gave us lots of time to prepare him and get him excited at the prospect, hoping he wouldn't wail the moment the lights went down. He loved this movie so much; he didn't make a single noise throughout other than asking for more popcorn, and he cried for a good 10 minutes after the last credit rolled as he simply didn't want to leave. The same happened the day after when we took him to see it again! I can see why some people say it's not really aimed at kids, but I think it's ALSO aimed at kids. There are some harsh warnings on our treatment of the planet but that's a by-product of an excellent story and script. I don't see it as being the center piece of the movie, it just allows the other story to be told. The visuals of the movie were incredible, more so when the characters were on earth due to the excellent rolling backgrounds. I've never known so much emotion could be portrayed from a pair of eyes, or different pronunciations of each character's name. My son loved it, my wife and I loved it and I'll be pre-ordering the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieH.Sep 9, 2008
A touching, enthralling and heartwarming story of deep communication and love. Disney has really succeeded on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaC.Jan 10, 2009
An Awesome Movie, well planned out story plot and cute and hilarours at the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamZ.Jan 12, 2009
It stuns me to think that there are actually people out there in the world that did not enjoy this movie. What Pixar, Stanton and his team have created is a heart-warming throwback to the core values of what we as humans should be embracing, It stuns me to think that there are actually people out there in the world that did not enjoy this movie. What Pixar, Stanton and his team have created is a heart-warming throwback to the core values of what we as humans should be embracing, purity and at the centre of that, love. Stanton has achieved that through a most unlikely but completely enchanting and loveable character in Wall-E. To watch him potter around a once rich and teeming landscape now reduced to a desolate wasteland by the greed and inaction of the human race, casually collecting up trinkets of a lost civilisation along the way and enjoying the 9 to 5 job for which he was created was nothing short of a delight. To watch him develop a sense of his duty to the human race was profound. No mention needs to be made of the films visual qualities - it is as expected. Stanton delivers also on the speed and pace of the movie. You are never left wanting. The movie opens with the unsettling imagery of the earth's landscape in complete disarray. It is familiar and yet disturbing all at once. Earth is a complete mess and has been so for 700 years previous, save for the extraordinary efforts of the little leading robot. You literally love Wall-E at first site and for the more jaded among us, grow to love him as the movie progresses. Wall-E is to modern cinema what Chaplin was to pantomime. This cannot be understated and the significance of Wall-E's onscreen presence, by and large, should have every audience member captivated. By and Large? Possibly an acronym for the films corporate villain, BnL? The addition of EVE served to provide the audience with the perfect foil for Wall-E's doting eccentrics and the perfect partner it seemed for Wall-E himself. A classic example of the lady and the tramp, a loveable charming lout, rough around the edges, trying to and succeeding in, gaining the affections of the upper class lady. The two fit perfectly despite coming from obviously different environmental backgrounds. The scenes involving EVE and Wall-E are pure cinematic genius. You find yourself asking if its possible to actually "love" a robot but in Wall-E it is actually possible. It is initially an alien notion but you find yourself warming to him when you gradually discover you indeed share many of the same affections and traits. His dance routine with the hubcap, the way he tried on the bra, keeping the box and throwing the diamond ring away and the way he grasped at his metallic appendages while watching the old VHS being notable examples. Scenes involving Wall-E's complete selflessness are tear jerking and you cant help but feel for the little guy when, having been rescued from deep space ejection, he crawls, mangled and critically damaged, to retrieve the plant that the future of the human race depends on. Handing it to EVE, he says "Dirrr...ect..ive" and at that moment the only "directive" in your subconscious is to burst out crying. Even more upsetting was the sad realisation that having been repaired and rebooted by EVE upon return to earth, Wall-E seemed never to be himself again, his memory apparently having been erased. An electronic kiss from EVE restores his memory and finally we, onscreen cast included, all breathe a sigh of relief. Without drawbacks as such to comment on, the only "drawback" I can see is that there are actually people out there who didnt love this film to bits. Those in this category need to ask themselves some very hard questions indeed! A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielP.Jan 13, 2009
Unforgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimbobB.Jan 14, 2009
WALL-E is incredibly simple and yet beautiful, it appeals to all generations and is timeless... this is truly a remarkable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesK.Jan 2, 2009
Lovely movie, both visually and emotionally. The graphics were stunning and my only regret about the movie was that I didn't see it sooner. It is also really great to see a big budget movie also have a good message. It made fun of the Lovely movie, both visually and emotionally. The graphics were stunning and my only regret about the movie was that I didn't see it sooner. It is also really great to see a big budget movie also have a good message. It made fun of the Aerican life style in a humourous way, which I liked. The only reason I put it as a nine instead of a ten was because some parts were a little dry and It almost made me depressed and fearful of what this world is turning into. this is a great movie that beatifully displayed the love of two charactors, even if they were robots. It is impossible not to like walle unless u have the brain of a 7 year old or just don't like to have a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BiplabK.Jan 7, 2009
The best animation movie ever...undoubtedly. At first I was confused and doubted whether this actually is a Disney movie but this movie has shown that animation move you just like any other genre. I almost cried at the end. watching this The best animation movie ever...undoubtedly. At first I was confused and doubted whether this actually is a Disney movie but this movie has shown that animation move you just like any other genre. I almost cried at the end. watching this movie is a heart-warming experience. My favorite animation movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KE.Jan 9, 2009
It's really is a good movie. I don't get why some people didn't like it, even the critics loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattGApr 15, 2009
Excellent film with an excellent sound track. Amazing to see no speech for over half a film these days. Well worth watching.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeonardoCJun 3, 2009
The best movie of the 2008... oustanding on visuals, soundtrack, editing sound and writing, it's without no doubt the most innovative movie of the year. I love so much this movie, because it speak so loud about love and relationships. The best movie of the 2008... oustanding on visuals, soundtrack, editing sound and writing, it's without no doubt the most innovative movie of the year. I love so much this movie, because it speak so loud about love and relationships. Pixar have never failed me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethB.Nov 21, 2008
I loved Wall-E for its social commentary, technical genius, and offer of hope. I'm usually resistant to animated films but had to give this one a chance because it was SO well received by critics I trust. This is a film that has wide I loved Wall-E for its social commentary, technical genius, and offer of hope. I'm usually resistant to animated films but had to give this one a chance because it was SO well received by critics I trust. This is a film that has wide appeal for audiences of all ages and cultures because it is so filled with humanity. Adults in Western society will be the most disturbed by its chilling portrayal of a trashed Earth that is uninhabitable by living organisms. Reminiscent of the apocalyptic foreboding in films depicting the aftermath of nuclear war, Wall-E is a cautionary tale for our time. Humans have degenerated into non-ambulatory appendages of a virtual world in which they have no connection with each other or with their immediate physical surroundings. Wall-E is lonely and the arrival of Eve on Earth to scout for life forms transforms him and his desolate existance. This film offers hope at the same time it reminds us of what we stand to lose should we continue to self-destruct. The film is marvelously executed with captivating and beautiful imagry. I absolutely loved it - Go Pixar! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lordolunchNov 23, 2008
This is probably the best Pixar movie I've ever seen. It is really amazing how they manage to pull such a weird idea off so well. A Lot of the complaints about the movie are about their being very little dialogue......well the movies This is probably the best Pixar movie I've ever seen. It is really amazing how they manage to pull such a weird idea off so well. A Lot of the complaints about the movie are about their being very little dialogue......well the movies about robots that dont talk. And it still rocks. The movie works out just fine without it and is one of the best movies ive seen so far this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CSW.Oct 13, 2008
A little gem of a film that makes you believe there is hope for humankind--exemplified best by a robot. Pixar has done it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PidgeDec 1, 2008
One of the best films i've ever seen. Animated or not this film's a classic. Laugh-out-loud funny AND bawl-your-eyes-out sad. ahhh, WALL-E.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JJF.Dec 21, 2008
It was cute, had stunning visuals, and its impossible not to love WALL-E.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Briank.Dec 22, 2008
I only gave this a 10 because thats the highest grade this site would allow. a 10 score does not do this wonderful film justice. I had everything, it attempted something that you're not supposed to do with american animated films. It I only gave this a 10 because thats the highest grade this site would allow. a 10 score does not do this wonderful film justice. I had everything, it attempted something that you're not supposed to do with american animated films. It did not kneel down to the level of it's intended audiece, and actually challenged the audience, young and old, to think with the movie. It conveyed emotions superbly, by overcoming obstacles that would've made that task near impossible. No dialogue between the main protagonists, and they lack complete faces save for eyes. The film was a rollercoaster of emotions, seeing Wall-E going through life in his lonesome was sad and borderline depressing, the film was hilarious, the courtship was innocent and touching, and in the end, it was happy and hopeful. It's a simple love story told in the most complex way. Yes, there was a subplot which is a biting commentary on excessive consumerism-which I admit am guilty of myself-and I was not offended by it at all, I didn't find it preachy and heavy handed. It was the love story that carried the film and it did so magnificently. An excellent film top to bottom, a film that will truly withstand the test of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackS.Dec 4, 2008
One of the best animation films I have ever seen. It was so cute and WALL-E's eyes were adorable. The sounds of WALL-E and EVE where amazing! It makes you realize how far animation has come. From 2-D cartoons like Snow White or 101 One of the best animation films I have ever seen. It was so cute and WALL-E's eyes were adorable. The sounds of WALL-E and EVE where amazing! It makes you realize how far animation has come. From 2-D cartoons like Snow White or 101 Dalmations to 3-dimensional rats and robots. This animation movie was as good as all the other Pixar films! Pixar has made some great movies, but none like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IanT.Oct 24, 2008
To myself ,it is really the best animation film of this year .I t touched some soft part of my heart and resonated with me in some ways.Well done, Disney and Pixar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanS.Dec 9, 2008
After seeing this movie, i didnt really have any expectations going in, but came out with alot. the movie was breathtaking and had a rather decent plot. the concept of the film and purely how amazing it was also made me saying, "wow". and im After seeing this movie, i didnt really have any expectations going in, but came out with alot. the movie was breathtaking and had a rather decent plot. the concept of the film and purely how amazing it was also made me saying, "wow". and im sure the fact its been nominated for best animated picture, AND best picture of the year should speak for my words. . simply put... one of the best animated films of the decade and The best film of the year by my standards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasmineA.Dec 9, 2008
this movie was just wonderful. time watching it was time well spent. It makes me happy to see that not everyone want to give in to the lazy, globalized big business "Take my freedom as long as their's luxury" way of thinking. Two thumbs this movie was just wonderful. time watching it was time well spent. It makes me happy to see that not everyone want to give in to the lazy, globalized big business "Take my freedom as long as their's luxury" way of thinking. Two thumbs WAAAAAY up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrandenR.Oct 31, 2008
I heard of all the praise that this movie. I was excited seeing this. The love story betweeb WALL-E and EVE was great. The animation was brilliant in the first half of the movie, then on the space ship, I was disappointed. The movie suffered I heard of all the praise that this movie. I was excited seeing this. The love story betweeb WALL-E and EVE was great. The animation was brilliant in the first half of the movie, then on the space ship, I was disappointed. The movie suffered from being too preachy abour commerialism, the environment of Earth and the Axiom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimmyLOct 6, 2008
An Excellent movie! Heatwarming and touching than most recent live action movies in recent memory. As a matter of fact, it's as touching a love story in the history of cinema, and that's saying something since its ANIMATED ROBOTS. An Excellent movie! Heatwarming and touching than most recent live action movies in recent memory. As a matter of fact, it's as touching a love story in the history of cinema, and that's saying something since its ANIMATED ROBOTS. Those who say it didn't touch them are in all likelihood just a bunch of Disney haters that went in with the sole purpose of nitpicking the movie to death (Newsflash to these people: you can pretty much nitpick any movie in film history and find flaws if you're that kind of moviegoer). I for one am not the biggest Disney Fan, but I manage to set that aside and evaluate films as it is, and this film is simply magnificent! If you open up as you watch this movie, it will captivate you. If you sit there and be a hard ass and stuff, then you'll leave cold and that is more of a testament to YOU rather than the film. This film is a classic that will be remembered and cherished forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JanieG.Jun 24, 2008
Saw preview tonight - cute - good message - might be a tad deep for some younger kids - fun summer flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamD.Jun 25, 2008
Probably the best Pixar movie so far. However, young kids might find some of it boring due to the lack of dialog.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JRJun 27, 2008
It just became one of my favorite movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MargritE.Jun 27, 2008
A post-apocalyptic love poem to robots and "Hello Dolly"--an instant classic. Pixar's best character yet, Wall.E, is so strong with the cute side of the force, who can resist him? Haunting and hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulR.Jun 27, 2008
Incredibly touching, almost heart rending at times, and very funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamieS.Jun 27, 2008
Okay, saw it this morning. My verdict, a 7. Graphics are stunning as usual, but the story got a little out of hand later in the show, bordered on absurd. WALL-E is loaded with personality however and kept the show moving. The "political" Okay, saw it this morning. My verdict, a 7. Graphics are stunning as usual, but the story got a little out of hand later in the show, bordered on absurd. WALL-E is loaded with personality however and kept the show moving. The "political" message will turn off some, it's a bit heavy handed towards Wal-Mart and "our" consumption lifestyle, mostly true however, but kinda depressing to see if this is how we end up in 700 years :) Lastly - It's simply NOT good for kids younger than 10. Not that it's violent, it's not, no bad language, it's just they won't understand much of what is going on and will be bored. The "short" before the movie called "Presto" is a 10 however, so if you can just pay $1 to see that, go, but WALL-E isn't nearly as entertaining as you currently might think. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerLJun 27, 2008
I have to say this is on par with Finding Nemo, Toy Story 2, and The Incredibles as one of Pixar's best but for different reasons. There are no celebrity voices, no uniquely funny characters. I'm not going to talk about the I have to say this is on par with Finding Nemo, Toy Story 2, and The Incredibles as one of Pixar's best but for different reasons. There are no celebrity voices, no uniquely funny characters. I'm not going to talk about the Chaplin-esque elements or the clear references to 2001: A Space Odessey. I can't grasp how this film got past the Disney exec's because most young kids are probably going to be bored by the end. The adults thought are going to have a blast with the social commentary. Pixar hasn't made a great animated film, but a great science fiction film. Put down the iPod's, Cell Phone, Video Games and look around! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinJun 27, 2008
Pretty good. But certainly not the masterpiece the critics are making it out to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonT.Jun 27, 2008
A great movie. Probably not Pixars best but definitely a classic and a hit for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Jun 27, 2008
The people at Pixar sure love their dystopias. In "Cars", the auto-morphic vehicles played like an inside joke for J.G. Ballard(or David Cronenberg) fans. What exactly happened to mankind? In "Wall-E", we know. When the green planet became The people at Pixar sure love their dystopias. In "Cars", the auto-morphic vehicles played like an inside joke for J.G. Ballard(or David Cronenberg) fans. What exactly happened to mankind? In "Wall-E", we know. When the green planet became the brown planet, they went in exile. It's been seven-hundred years. A robot named WALL-E is the last terrestrial-based entity left on Earth. Eve is man-made too, but she's practically an alien, since the human race no longer has any recent affiliation with their ancient home. The smooth, white surface of the feminized "other" is so much more technologically advanced than WALL-E, just as the black monolith in "2001: A Space Odyssey" was an otherworldly presence to the apes. Since the alien's name is Eve, the knee-jerk impulse would be to name the junk-compacting robot, Adam. But since "WALL-E" operates from a Kubrickesque Weltanschauung, the "male" robot's name can't bear any biblical inference, because "2001: A Space Odyssey" exalts the concept of evolution, not creation. "WALL-E" also borrows liberally from "AI". As in the Spielberg/Kubrick collaboration, a merciless dystopian world is softened by the cute presence of a toy. The morbidly obese humans who seat themselves vegetatively before a computer screen doesn't look the least bit extrapolative, sad to report, as they suck down fatty calories with their fatty mouths. "WALL-E" is a prescient commentary of our times. "AI" tipped in Spielberg's favor(the teddy bear was awfully cutesy), but "WALL-E" is as close to a Kubrick film that's possible within the parameters of a family entertainment. Like "2001: A Space Odyssey", the exiled humans need to relearn that they're not just flesh and blood, but intelligence. The reimagining of the Star Child sequence, scored to Richard Strauss' "Thus Spake Zarathustra", is clever and awe-inspiring, not at all parodic, or self-consciously referential. "WALL-E" will blow your mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantP.Jun 27, 2008
No matter what age you are, you must see this movie. I absolutely loved it. It is, in my opinion, one of the best movies ever, and by far the best animeted film. It is beautiful, cute, funny, and offers an amazing story with a powerful and No matter what age you are, you must see this movie. I absolutely loved it. It is, in my opinion, one of the best movies ever, and by far the best animeted film. It is beautiful, cute, funny, and offers an amazing story with a powerful and effective social statement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful