Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 27, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2623 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,397
Mixed:
115
Negative:
111
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
BobbHJun 28, 2008
The first and last 10 minutes were good. The rest was a rehash of Robots, the Jetsons, Star Wars, and other space operas. The movie jumps the shark the moment when the dialog starts and we see the unwelcome preachy societal commentary that The first and last 10 minutes were good. The rest was a rehash of Robots, the Jetsons, Star Wars, and other space operas. The movie jumps the shark the moment when the dialog starts and we see the unwelcome preachy societal commentary that has nothing to do with the 'love' story. I rushed home and watched Ratatouille, relieved that Wall-E was at least preceded by some truly outstanding Pixar films. This one has nowhere near the multilevel appeal of the others. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
4
CR.Nov 27, 2008
So disappointed in this film after reading all the good press here. First 25 minutes are okay..then it descends into schmaltzy , corny rubbish. Worst kids movie I've seen in years. The " love " story between the robots is pathetic. My So disappointed in this film after reading all the good press here. First 25 minutes are okay..then it descends into schmaltzy , corny rubbish. Worst kids movie I've seen in years. The " love " story between the robots is pathetic. My girlfriend is still giving me a hard time about dragging us to Wall-E. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
4
MelodyP.Jun 30, 2008
You know? I've never posted anything on a blog before in my life. But I walked out of that movie so perplexed at how Wall-e came across that I had to look up the reviews to see if I had missed something? Clearly they didn't produce You know? I've never posted anything on a blog before in my life. But I walked out of that movie so perplexed at how Wall-e came across that I had to look up the reviews to see if I had missed something? Clearly they didn't produce this to be a big money maker. That's ok. It doesn't have to be. I liked Wall-e and the other darling robot. I loved the endearing emotions between the two but twice throughout the film I looked at my husband and asked, "What do you think the producer was thinking when he made this film?" I am a 49 year old Mother of older kids but totally enjoy children's movies. I saw the previews and was anxious to see this endearing little Wall-e. But that was about all that was endearing in the film. Exactly what I saw in the previews. That's it. An endearing little character without engaging music or scenes (except for a few). I'm shaking my head in amazement? Do they think I'm going to go home and tell my friends with children they got to go see this? Probably not happening. I just don't get how everyone is raving about this? Cute but personally I've never left a movie theater so perplexed in my life? Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
5
DeafH.Jun 30, 2008
The animation is beautiful. Would have made a good short but as a full length feature it's repetitive and boring. Some young children will have a hard time sitting through this one quietly. Once the dialogue begins the movie dies. Would The animation is beautiful. Would have made a good short but as a full length feature it's repetitive and boring. Some young children will have a hard time sitting through this one quietly. Once the dialogue begins the movie dies. Would have been better left as a love story and not the sophomoric moralistic tale it morphed into. It will however, end up looking glorious on blu ray. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
5
BruceR.Feb 9, 2009
The rating the critics give this movie shows where movie reviews go wrong. Its rated as the 16th best movie of all time according to the Metacritic ratings! Its not a horrible movie but could only be seen as slightly amusing and is not in The rating the critics give this movie shows where movie reviews go wrong. Its rated as the 16th best movie of all time according to the Metacritic ratings! Its not a horrible movie but could only be seen as slightly amusing and is not in the same class as other wonderful animated movies like the Lion King, Toy Story etc. I have never had so many moralistic politically correct messages so bluntly stuffed down my throat in one movie. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful
6
RichardR.Jul 7, 2008
I really enjoyed the first part of the movie. It started out with a very interesting premise, made a robot seem human, and made a cockroach sympathetic. The movie started downhill for me with the arrival of the second major character. By the I really enjoyed the first part of the movie. It started out with a very interesting premise, made a robot seem human, and made a cockroach sympathetic. The movie started downhill for me with the arrival of the second major character. By the time the action had moved to a luxury ship in space, it had gone from a cool PIXAR movie to an old Disney chase movie. Maybe I missed something, but I don't understand how this movie is getting rated at levels equal to or higher than Toy Story, The Incredibles, Ratatouille, etc. It did not do it for me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MarkS.Jul 14, 2008
Competent and mildly pleasant, but nothing to rave about. I don't know why the critics think it's so great. It's not worth seeing twice, and it will be totally forgotten in in 6 months.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
TomP.Jul 4, 2008
This movie is not funny and you should be prepared that your children will be subjected to a sermon. The message is the same old stuff - environment, corporations, fat people, etc. You have heard it before. It is beautifully done technically This movie is not funny and you should be prepared that your children will be subjected to a sermon. The message is the same old stuff - environment, corporations, fat people, etc. You have heard it before. It is beautifully done technically but - think about it. It recycles Star Wars. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JoeR.Jun 29, 2008
The movie was very preachy and insulting on many levels. The biologically and scientifically impossibilities kept me from true involvement. There were a few moments of anthropomorphic tenderness and the animation was proficient but the movie The movie was very preachy and insulting on many levels. The biologically and scientifically impossibilities kept me from true involvement. There were a few moments of anthropomorphic tenderness and the animation was proficient but the movie does not deserve such effusive praise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ConradB.Jul 1, 2008
I saw the movie with my 12-year-old son the day it opened. Like most, I love Pixar's movies and we couldn't wait to go see it. My own reaction and that of my son both are negative. When the fat people plot was revealed, my son I saw the movie with my 12-year-old son the day it opened. Like most, I love Pixar's movies and we couldn't wait to go see it. My own reaction and that of my son both are negative. When the fat people plot was revealed, my son leaned over and whispered, "That is so wrong." Of course, he's grown up in a size-positive environment, but he is quite capable of deciding himself what he feels is good old-fashioned fun, what is clever speculation, and what is just a cheap grab for laughs at the cost of fat people. Both he and I felt it was the latter. I mean, what with exhaustion of renewable resources, our ability to nuke ourselves into oblivion, global warming and whatever, the worst that can happen to our planet is that we drown in garbage and then become hugely fat and lazy? Ha ha ha. I am sure one can construct some sort of justification into this movie, but in a society where fat people (and no, fat people are not a majority of the population, only statistically fat people are) are ridiculed, discriminated against, and exploited, is it really necessary for the next big Pixar megamovie to equate garbage, eating, fat, and lazy? Is it necessary to gleefully portray a ship full of obese people plop around, unable to walk or reach or anything? In my opinion, with Wall-E, Pixar is so far off, it's off the scale. Sure, some of the Pixar folks may be fat themselves, but that just makes them apologists. They did our children and the fat people in this nation and anywhere a huge disservice with this movie. More, really; a cruel slap in the face. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DavidS.Jul 12, 2008
Exceptional animation, lovable robots, a boring cliche riddled plot that makes no sense. Should we expect the plot to be remotely plausable in a cartoon? Probably not but I did and was disappointed. Movie was a little preachy and displayed a Exceptional animation, lovable robots, a boring cliche riddled plot that makes no sense. Should we expect the plot to be remotely plausable in a cartoon? Probably not but I did and was disappointed. Movie was a little preachy and displayed a very negative view of the human condition. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MichaelG.Jul 2, 2008
Wall-E...meh. Its cute, its fun, its nifty to look at, but it is not a good movie. The story is dull, the dialog non-existent and at the end you feel bad for what has happened and where the people have ended up. The opening cartoon is Wall-E...meh. Its cute, its fun, its nifty to look at, but it is not a good movie. The story is dull, the dialog non-existent and at the end you feel bad for what has happened and where the people have ended up. The opening cartoon is GREAT!!! Magician and Rabbit!!! Amazing! But Wall-E, just not clever. Rent it on DVD, but as for a Pixar film, not even close to their best. Sorry. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AnneO.Jul 4, 2008
Great animation, horrible horrible story. Am I the only person who has a problem getting jazzed about seeing one of a small handful of movies concieved of over one lunch? Good stories take time to gestitate, but what we have here is a great Great animation, horrible horrible story. Am I the only person who has a problem getting jazzed about seeing one of a small handful of movies concieved of over one lunch? Good stories take time to gestitate, but what we have here is a great animation house with the worlds attention throwing bad stories at us with great looks. Pixar, you made it big because you essentially introduced us to computer animated movies. You aren't writers/directors. Find the great stories and animate them, don't just throw any story that one of your fat cats thinks is cute at us. The routine is wearing thin. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
cherylc.Nov 30, 2008
Don't know what age group this was aimed at. Too grim and long for children; too simplistic and boring for adults. Cute visual effects, but essentially propagandistic poppycock!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DaveF.Oct 17, 2008
I like Pixar movies as much as anyone (Monsters Inc and Cars are 100%-ers for me) but aside from the cute characterization of Wall-E, this movie is preachy, politically-charged, thin on plot, and boring. Kids will love it of course.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JerryS.Oct 5, 2008
After reading all the positive reviews on MC, as well as rave review from Filmspotting, this is one of my highly expected films of 2008. Sadly, after watching it with my 14-year old son, we were both sorely disappointed. The plot seems After reading all the positive reviews on MC, as well as rave review from Filmspotting, this is one of my highly expected films of 2008. Sadly, after watching it with my 14-year old son, we were both sorely disappointed. The plot seems predictable, may be even generic, it that what the critics meant when they say "it will withstand the test of time..."? Two thumbs down! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TrajanT.Jun 29, 2008
It was ok for a Disney film. pretty boring and very slow at parts, it would have been a much better film if it had been cut down on length by a third. (i went with a two friends and one fell asleep during it.) i did not think it was as good It was ok for a Disney film. pretty boring and very slow at parts, it would have been a much better film if it had been cut down on length by a third. (i went with a two friends and one fell asleep during it.) i did not think it was as good as the reviews suggested. I'm not sure who it was aimed at: it was too slow for adults and too preachy for children. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AA.Jul 10, 2008
I was a little disappointed in this film. It seemed to drag and the lack of dialog in the first 30 to 45 minutes didn't help with an ending that was fairly predictable. This is only my opinion and I believe you should see the film and I was a little disappointed in this film. It seemed to drag and the lack of dialog in the first 30 to 45 minutes didn't help with an ending that was fairly predictable. This is only my opinion and I believe you should see the film and form your own opinion. I expect much more form Disney/Pixar - oh, the animation was top notch as always, but the story could have been better. Nice political statement by Disney on this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ArizonaBJul 3, 2008
A visually stunning piece, yes. A point of view and direction? Yup. Entertaining? Ehh, not really. I've loved almost every Pixar movie so far, including, to my surprise, "Cars". With the movie "Cars", they took a concept I had ZERO A visually stunning piece, yes. A point of view and direction? Yup. Entertaining? Ehh, not really. I've loved almost every Pixar movie so far, including, to my surprise, "Cars". With the movie "Cars", they took a concept I had ZERO interest in and made it entertaining for me. Here with Wall-E, they took a concept I was neutral to and bored me to tears with it. Wall-E is a glorious tech demo of a bland, predictable, and ultimately dull mediocre story. But hey, can't win them all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ShannonPJul 6, 2008
I was disappointed in this movie; mainly because I sat through a whole animated movie with an audience full theater; half of them children and I only heard the children laugh a couple of times. How could this movie be better than "Finding I was disappointed in this movie; mainly because I sat through a whole animated movie with an audience full theater; half of them children and I only heard the children laugh a couple of times. How could this movie be better than "Finding Nemo" or "Monsters Inc."? I don't think so. BORING and for adults only. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
Lancek.Sep 27, 2008
It is a brilliant piece of artwork that is too long and tries too hard. Like soooo many Hollywood movies, the characters' charm gets lost in multiple, frenetic chase scenes. Two-thirds of the way through, I forget who is chasing whom to It is a brilliant piece of artwork that is too long and tries too hard. Like soooo many Hollywood movies, the characters' charm gets lost in multiple, frenetic chase scenes. Two-thirds of the way through, I forget who is chasing whom to find what where and get away to what.....and more, I don't care because no one has engaged each other as characters for quite a while. And while it sounds strange to say this about an animated film, the chemistry between the leads was missing. What did sweet WALL-e see in HER? The first 40 minutes would make a brilliant, strangely touching and surreal short. The rest was mostly a yawn. Toy Story 2 and Finding Nemo are much more humane and worth keeping. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
FredB.Nov 23, 2008
Hyped movie which is actually quite boring. Not much to make you laugh unless you're 3 years old. Not much talking. No surprises. Just plain average, admit it (after you've seen it).
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MarkK.Dec 11, 2008
The plot is dumb and the movie is boring.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
AlexA.Jul 18, 2008
Terrible overrated movie. I mean it's extremely bad, but the reviews really make me lose my faith in modern cinematography.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
TheQuietGamerMar 1, 2011
WALL-E was supposedly (according to the critics) one of the greatest movies ever, the plot is boring, characters are annoying, especially WALL-E himself it's hard to like a character who just repeats his name over and over again, it's notWALL-E was supposedly (according to the critics) one of the greatest movies ever, the plot is boring, characters are annoying, especially WALL-E himself it's hard to like a character who just repeats his name over and over again, it's not funny, it tries to add emotion and fails horribly, and it commits the worst crime ever it's BORING!!!!!!, this was a huge disappointment, and one of the worst animated movies ever. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
43in2014Jun 17, 2014
Prior to watching this: I had liked the previous Pixar films except for UP.
Review: Love the philosophical first half, disappointed by the simplistic and lazy second half.
3/5
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
solomsApr 17, 2015
When this movie came out I thought "great! a great movie with a great character". But I was so sad when I saw the movie. Tha's another boring kid's movie. Just for the kids know what is and who is wall-e.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
AlanT.Jun 29, 2008
Charming but ultimately disappointing. This is one of Pixar's worst thought-out films and perhaps its worst film, period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RoseDJul 19, 2008
Wall-E the character was adorable, but my 10 year old, her friend and another Mom and I left feeling confused and very unimpressed. The animation was great andI loved the use of the old "Hello Dolly" footage but the over the top "global Wall-E the character was adorable, but my 10 year old, her friend and another Mom and I left feeling confused and very unimpressed. The animation was great andI loved the use of the old "Hello Dolly" footage but the over the top "global warming/humans are ruining the earth" theme is shoved at us too much already. My thirteen year old walked out saying "Another Polar Bear commercial!!!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ecJul 27, 2008
Not a terrible movie, but the worst of the pixar lot. Long and slow, this one severely lacks the magic that disney and pixar brought to films like monsters, bugs life, toy story, and nemo. This one is a cross between artsy, 2001-ish sci-fi, Not a terrible movie, but the worst of the pixar lot. Long and slow, this one severely lacks the magic that disney and pixar brought to films like monsters, bugs life, toy story, and nemo. This one is a cross between artsy, 2001-ish sci-fi, and a woody allen movie. At times Wall-E steps over the line from sweet and innocent, to unintentionally creepy. Bizarre, and horribly overrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewR.Jul 12, 2008
I gave this movie a six, not because I didn't like it, but because I don't believe it is as phenomenal as all the hype. It was very well made, but by no means the best pixar movie of all (which is what the metascore suggests). I I gave this movie a six, not because I didn't like it, but because I don't believe it is as phenomenal as all the hype. It was very well made, but by no means the best pixar movie of all (which is what the metascore suggests). I may just be skeptic because I rate pixars movies on how much they can make me laugh throughout. It is by no means a bad movie, but it may be a little too serious and complicated for children under 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KurtCJul 15, 2008
I'm ashamed of myself for dissing Pixar like this, and I really tried to convince myself after the movie that it wasn't that bad...but I finally admit it...I am really disappointed. Ever since Toy Story I have been a huge Pixar fan I'm ashamed of myself for dissing Pixar like this, and I really tried to convince myself after the movie that it wasn't that bad...but I finally admit it...I am really disappointed. Ever since Toy Story I have been a huge Pixar fan and have yet to be let down by them until now with WALL-E. I will get the good points out of the way now because they're obvious: superb animation, shots, and direction, and I really appreciated the lack of dialog and the focus on non-verbal communication throughout most of this movie; it all helped tell the story of the Earth being left behind by humanity for clean-up by robots. However, what really sinks WALL-E is the introduction of the human characters and the confusingly poor choice by the director to combine live actors with clearly cartoon animated "actors". This really did not work. Not mention having Fred Willard as one of the main human characters; his funky humor worked well in Best In Show, but it was totally out-of-place here. As well, the development of the animated characters was sub-par and too cartoonish; they came off as unfinished to me. The other disappointing and at times annoying part of WALL-E is the overtly political and environmental tone it attempts to take on yet fails miserably. WALL-E tries to make a case for being less greedy and materialistic, and more green and caring for the Earth (how trendy). While I agree whole-heartedly with this sentiment, I felt the argument presented by WALL-E was like that of a rebellious teenager who doesn't quite know what they're fighting against but uses their emotional angst to push their point over on the world around them with little impact other than to make themselves appear naive and in vain. WALL-E came off as pushy and childish in this respect, not to mention unbelievable in its "vision" of the future should humanity continue on its mass-consumeristic course. In closing, maybe I was expecting too much from Pixar with WALL-E. I mean, the majority of reviews (critics and readers alike) as evidenced by Metacritic, are overwhelmingly great. Not to mention Pixars track record thus far. I can't help but feel perplexed at how well this movie has been received and just what it was that I missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ShaunH.Jul 25, 2008
Seems like something that should be an animated series all bunched together. I think the scores in the press are weighted as a family film. Unlike Finding Nemo or Toy Story though, I don't think it's a film that can be enjoyed as Seems like something that should be an animated series all bunched together. I think the scores in the press are weighted as a family film. Unlike Finding Nemo or Toy Story though, I don't think it's a film that can be enjoyed as an adult, but It's not without it's moments though. Doesn't seem up to Pixars usually high standards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LouisH.Jul 9, 2008
I just returned from watching this movie, and it was OKAY. I expected better, but I don't know how though. SPOILER(I liked the thing between Eve and WallE, and the jacked-up massage robot, but other things in the movie, like the I just returned from watching this movie, and it was OKAY. I expected better, but I don't know how though. SPOILER(I liked the thing between Eve and WallE, and the jacked-up massage robot, but other things in the movie, like the fatso's and the somewhat boring plot, didn't overly surprise me). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DonB.Aug 16, 2008
I took my kids, It was cute. I was a bit bored. It seemed like there was liberal propaganda about "bad" WalMart, the need to recycle, and the importance of exercize.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeremyE.Feb 22, 2009
It was an ok movie, but definitely overrated. I don't know how this got such good reviews, because it really wasn't that good. the first half of it was excellent. The music and the 2 speechless characters were amazing to watch. But It was an ok movie, but definitely overrated. I don't know how this got such good reviews, because it really wasn't that good. the first half of it was excellent. The music and the 2 speechless characters were amazing to watch. But once the humans were introduced, it felt like a whole other movie that was boring compared to the first half. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnH.Dec 28, 2008
It was cute. I don't rmember ever really laughing. I guess I smiled a few times. All in all I thought it was boring. Sorry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
joao1198pedroOct 31, 2013
i don't know why people love too much this film,it acomplished anything at all for pixar and the characters are not so memorableand charismatic how it was in the golden age of the company.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MollylMar 17, 2019
This is one of most overrated kids movies of all time. Although adults identified the movie as “poetic” and “heartwarming,” most kids get bored after 10 minutes. The entire first half of the movie is basically watching a silent robot playingThis is one of most overrated kids movies of all time. Although adults identified the movie as “poetic” and “heartwarming,” most kids get bored after 10 minutes. The entire first half of the movie is basically watching a silent robot playing in garbage. Maybe Wall-E 2 will just be a documentary of a robot trapped on an island playing with sand. Adults would love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews