Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: June 27, 2008
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2623 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,397
Mixed:
115
Negative:
111
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
MikeJun 30, 2008
Add a little "I am Legend" "Starwars" "2001 a space odyssey" and top it off with "an inconvenient truth" And thats what this movie is! It tries at everything and it fails!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MizettoSOct 13, 2008
it was a horribly boring movie. There was virtually no plot, no depth and nothing really happened either. The characters are shallow. The visuals were nice in the first 5 minutes, but then nothing interesting and new came up. Those it was a horribly boring movie. There was virtually no plot, no depth and nothing really happened either. The characters are shallow. The visuals were nice in the first 5 minutes, but then nothing interesting and new came up. Those who've seen asian CG Animation know what real virtual beauty looks like. I feel betrayed by the positive reviews. I went with two friends and we all agreed it was one of the most boring movies we'd ever seen. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
1
BobH.Dec 27, 2008
I had the highest of expectations for this film, since Stanton had done Nemo. All of the prior Pixar blockbusters have been structured around one or more main characters dealing with personal challenges and overcoming adversity with the help I had the highest of expectations for this film, since Stanton had done Nemo. All of the prior Pixar blockbusters have been structured around one or more main characters dealing with personal challenges and overcoming adversity with the help or resistance of other complex characters. The locations and details were the variations on the theme. The plots were complex, highly textured and detailed, and always had an abundance of the 'wow' factor. Ratatouille is the most spectacular example of Pixar's perfecting of paying attention to every detail. Now comes Wall-E which deviates from all these prior standards except for some of the starting animation, and regresses back to an earlier era of animation such as 2-dimensional when the Barcalounger scenes kick in. It also drops its successful formula of the brilliant ensemble pieces with compelling characters, to constructing a left-leaning political manifesto overlaid with a bland romance between a couple of droids who can do slapstick and vaudeville. Those raters giving this film a 10 have clearly not paid much attention to the detail of its predecessors, but are jumping on the political bandwagon which is admirable if you're attending An Inconvenient Truth. But it is completely out of Pixar character and a betrayal of the public's expectations to sneak an unamusing, pompous, boring political message into what should have been a true-to-form Pixar film. Those that rated Wall-E a 10 not only seem to agree in general with its political message, but they actually think this tripe belongs and FITS within a Pixar film. Rather, it destroyed the pacing and the film. These ratings and commentaries are reminiscent of positions taken during the recent election. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
BKJul 15, 2008
WOW, the movie was completely boring. Sure WALLE is kinda cute but the plot was completely predictable, the characters barely say anything and the beginning is really 40 minutes of nothing and than you lose interested in the film. It's WOW, the movie was completely boring. Sure WALLE is kinda cute but the plot was completely predictable, the characters barely say anything and the beginning is really 40 minutes of nothing and than you lose interested in the film. It's one of the worst films I've ever scene Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
Ton-eM.Jul 2, 2008
I gave it a 2, as a protest against all the reviewers, et al, who were going ga-ga over it. Ga-ga is the level of the language of the movie. "WALL-E." "Eve-a." "WALL-E." 'Eve-A." And don't tell me it's like Charlie Chaplin. I gave it a 2, as a protest against all the reviewers, et al, who were going ga-ga over it. Ga-ga is the level of the language of the movie. "WALL-E." "Eve-a." "WALL-E." 'Eve-A." And don't tell me it's like Charlie Chaplin. Comparing WALL-E to Chaplin is like comparing GW to Abe Lincoln. And any movie that uses romantic scenes and dance scenes from the mediocre movie Hello, Dolly! (and doesn't even include Barbra) is suspect. WALL-E is surprisingly trite -- music from 2001? That's fresh. It's just been used ad nauseum. And Sigourney Weaver voicing the ship's computer is just coy. WALL-E, can you say overrated? Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
3
LinL.Jan 4, 2009
Started with a silly vision of environmentalist doom and went downhill from there. Technically impressive, of course, but where are the beautiful, imaginative, character-driven kids' films I used to take my chldren to? Seemed like 90 Started with a silly vision of environmentalist doom and went downhill from there. Technically impressive, of course, but where are the beautiful, imaginative, character-driven kids' films I used to take my chldren to? Seemed like 90 percent of the "dialogue" consisted of a monotonous,squeaky voice shouting "Wall-E! Wall-E! Wall-E!" Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful
1
JosephG.Jun 30, 2008
What an awful movie...boring for adults,boring for children. Audience was disappointed.
6 of 27 users found this helpful
3
DouglasWNov 20, 2008
The core of this movie was a love story, which is highly dependent on character and chemistry. This movie had neither. Previous Pixar films had three-dimensional, well-rounded characters like Woody and Buzz, but I just didn't get that The core of this movie was a love story, which is highly dependent on character and chemistry. This movie had neither. Previous Pixar films had three-dimensional, well-rounded characters like Woody and Buzz, but I just didn't get that from these robots. Of course the writers made their job more difficult by not using any dialog. As for chemistry, for WALL-E they gave absolutely no reason for falling in love other than "love-at-first-sight," despite the fact that his love interest was an emotionless (and in the beginning sex-neutral) probe interested only in carrying out its mission, and blowing everything else up. The writers also gave EVE very little reason to come around to WALL-E. Finally, we have the whole problem of accepting a love affair between two machines. If this movie was presented solely as a fantasy (like most of Pixar's movies) than we can accept human emotions from anything. In a fantasy its fine if a toaster falls in love with a rock (or a toy befriends a toy). But I felt this movie presented itself more as science fiction. In that context, you want your robots to make sense. If EVE and WALL-E were suppose to be highly complex robots with brains approaching those of humans (e.g. in I, Robot) than maybe we can accept some emotion from them. But one was a trash compactor, and the other a probe. Why is a trash compactor scared? lonely? happy? It doesn't make sense. Sure the animation was brilliant, but if I couldn't buy into the love story aspect of this film, everything else falls flat. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
LarryP.Jul 13, 2008
Very dissappointed. Left my kids (ages 5 and 7)completely confused, and me with a bitter taste in my mouth. I not interested in paying $10 for lecture on enivornmental issues....especially when trying to make them seem funny.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
LisaM.Jul 20, 2008
Hate the idea of the movie and the message that humans don't treat the earth right, pollute everywhere and allow ourselves to get lost in a digital world sitting in chairs. My kids thought it was boring!!!! Underlining message in the Hate the idea of the movie and the message that humans don't treat the earth right, pollute everywhere and allow ourselves to get lost in a digital world sitting in chairs. My kids thought it was boring!!!! Underlining message in the movie really ruined it for us. Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful
0
BenV.Jun 28, 2008
More like crap*E.
1 of 13 users found this helpful
2
HaroldT.Oct 27, 2008
The only thing about this movie is it's half appealing visual beauty, very little and annoying dialogue, predictable plot and highly overrated by those Disney/HSM freaks.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
PatN.Jul 18, 2008
Are people so brainwashed by the endless enviromental doom & gloom message that it has just become a core belief to them ? We took the kids to see a movie which look entertaining in the trailer, only to insulted and feed a load of crap , Are people so brainwashed by the endless enviromental doom & gloom message that it has just become a core belief to them ? We took the kids to see a movie which look entertaining in the trailer, only to insulted and feed a load of crap , talk about bait & switch. It appears that it didn't take long for Disney's influence to change Pixair, Walt Disney would be ashamed. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
johnt.Jul 26, 2008
Hated it all it was a pile of tin saying eva or wall-e.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BillN.Jul 3, 2008
The fart noises and the sexually suggested messages wasn't my thing. Who are you catering to: little kids or socially retarded adults?
0 of 11 users found this helpful
1
tommym.Jul 30, 2008
Walle was about as bad as they get no dialogue until second half hard to understand whats going on if anyone has watched walle and not considered killing theme selves or others well you obviously enjoyed it more than me.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
CoreyF.Jul 5, 2008
it was so boring i fell asleep in it all the thing does is box trash and try ti save a plant STUPIDEST MOVIE EVER
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
CMorseJul 6, 2008
I have thoroughly enjoyed most of the Pixar movies. This ranks as one of their worst. Very disappointed with premise, ratings, movie critics, Pixar, and over indulged consuming society theme. It's a love story about 2 robots that save I have thoroughly enjoyed most of the Pixar movies. This ranks as one of their worst. Very disappointed with premise, ratings, movie critics, Pixar, and over indulged consuming society theme. It's a love story about 2 robots that save Earth, because we humans are to stupid, lazy and selfish to care. Robots frolicking around space? Seriously. Don't waste your money or take your kids to this piece of trash. I have expected more from Pixar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SerhatO.Aug 11, 2008
I like the message, but the movie was sooooooo boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
shschAug 17, 2008
I think Pixar did a good job visually but I never found the movie engaging. It was too long; and the messages that humans are destroying the Earth & especially that technology will make us fat & lazy was made too obvious too many times. The I think Pixar did a good job visually but I never found the movie engaging. It was too long; and the messages that humans are destroying the Earth & especially that technology will make us fat & lazy was made too obvious too many times. The movie was also often too frenetic for someone over 50 who doesn't play video games. This was truly one of the most boring movies I have seen in many a year. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JoshD.Sep 14, 2008
The WORST Pixar movie ever. Instead of investing in digitizing reality, they could have hired a writer or two. Seems the easy way is to make all humans fat instead of tackling the difficult measure of creating/drawing them convincingly. The WORST Pixar movie ever. Instead of investing in digitizing reality, they could have hired a writer or two. Seems the easy way is to make all humans fat instead of tackling the difficult measure of creating/drawing them convincingly. beside the fact that its downright depressing, Im struggling to understand the quotes in the newspapers: "Hillarious" comes to mind, I chuckled a few times, but funny? No. Talk about preaching down to people. I get it, were destroying th earth, but a public service announcement does not a two hour movie make.Extremely disappointing! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SMJan 1, 2009
Absolutely boring, although very well made with all the tiny details taken into account. It's message is also big, but unfortunately, cannot catch one's attention.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
thecriticJan 6, 2009
Left leaning political garbage. they could have at least made it a little more entertaining. snoozer.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
NikoLFeb 26, 2009
I'm a fan of every other Pixar film, but this one. How many times did the script print "Wall-E"? It sounded like I heard that over 50 times along with one repetitive song that loses its impact when you see real people dancing, but on I'm a fan of every other Pixar film, but this one. How many times did the script print "Wall-E"? It sounded like I heard that over 50 times along with one repetitive song that loses its impact when you see real people dancing, but on the spaceship there's "Pixar'ed" humans and Fred Williams which is beyond awkward! And the obvious loop-hole of picking up a leaf with no video stream to execute a mass exodus, get real. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
neeextDec 17, 2008
If this is one of the best movies you've ever seen i guess i feel sorry for you. corny crap for bimbo's, idiots and their 5 year olds who like the moving pictures. horrible to look at, a f'in cockroach scuttling about is one If this is one of the best movies you've ever seen i guess i feel sorry for you. corny crap for bimbo's, idiots and their 5 year olds who like the moving pictures. horrible to look at, a f'in cockroach scuttling about is one of the main characters. seriously gross to look at. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TommyJOct 5, 2008
Are you kidding me with these scores? Do you guys want a snippet of the movie? Well here it is: eeeevvaaaa...waaaallleeeee...eeeevvaaaa...wallleeeee. I agree that artistically this movie is off the charts, however, it is boring and drawn Are you kidding me with these scores? Do you guys want a snippet of the movie? Well here it is: eeeevvaaaa...waaaallleeeee...eeeevvaaaa...wallleeeee. I agree that artistically this movie is off the charts, however, it is boring and drawn out. I went with my wife and 2 kids and we all fell asleep at one time or another during the film. Am I the only person in America who didn't like this movie? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KBASSJun 28, 2008
I do not know what movie everyone else saw but the WALL-E I saw with my two children ages 13 and 9, offended me and my kids on so many levels. We felt we had been cheated and lied to. If I would have known how environazi this movie was I I do not know what movie everyone else saw but the WALL-E I saw with my two children ages 13 and 9, offended me and my kids on so many levels. We felt we had been cheated and lied to. If I would have known how environazi this movie was I would not have gone seen it. Did Al Gore have something to do with this movie? Yes WALL-E was cute, but we as earthings are not that stupid. It was very much saying that we are destroyng the Earth and that all of us are fat lazy slobs!!! How about lets save the unborn children!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DanielM.Jun 29, 2008
My wife and I both fell asleep, my 4 yr old was bored. Visually interested and charming at first then it dragged on with very little plot or character to enjoy - nowhere near Toy Story (1 or 2) or Ratatouille.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KindredP.Jun 30, 2008
I did not see the point of this movie... all in all it was just a huge robot chase scene to me, robot's chasing one another. Sure for a character that barley talk you feel emotion but I must say this was far below PIXAR's standard
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DaveB.Jul 15, 2008
Sentimental, derivative codswallop - I don't know how they get away with such outright theft.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
D.C.Jul 17, 2008
I think its ridiculous that this garbage outscores the dark knight. Totally vapid, emotionally turgid and the latest installment in Pixars never-ending "quick-buck" series, it spends more time looking at itself in the mirror than actually I think its ridiculous that this garbage outscores the dark knight. Totally vapid, emotionally turgid and the latest installment in Pixars never-ending "quick-buck" series, it spends more time looking at itself in the mirror than actually doing anything meaningful. These films forced the end of 2 dimensional cartoons, and I've yet to see anything to justify its demise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RitaN.Jul 18, 2008
I was offended on so many levels by this movie that I don't know where to start. My kids were raised on Pixar Films. They were great family films that we enjoyed as much as the kids did. This film was my first movie outing with my I was offended on so many levels by this movie that I don't know where to start. My kids were raised on Pixar Films. They were great family films that we enjoyed as much as the kids did. This film was my first movie outing with my grandkids, I was so ashamed of what I took them to see. I hope they aren't permantly damaged. I took them on a trip to the bathroom to save them, fortunately the movie was over when we returned to the theater. No longer can I count on Pixar to make fantastic movies for the whole family to enjoy. This movie should have been cut off after 20 minutes and made into a Pixar short. That's the only thing that could have saved it. This film should have come with an environmental wacko rating so that I could have been informed enough to stay home. Instead I paid for a ticket to support this crap. The previews for this movie were totally and intentionally deceptive and never again will I count on Pixar or Disney films for fantastic family fun. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DeanC.Jul 20, 2008
Wow, I can't believe all the rave reviews. This was the worst effort PIXAR has every come out with. I generally love their movies. This was slow starting, heavy handed, and preachy. And the story was just so-so.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AaronH.Jul 3, 2008
I learned two words from this movie. wall-e and eve. I don't know how many times I heard thoose two words. It got annoying. before eve showed up this movie was kinda funny, after that it turned into a love story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AaronNJul 4, 2008
Great animation, but.. A really really terrible story. This story line is not the stuff feature lenght movies are made of. This is as I've read another say, a short film at best. Pixar achieved greatness by introducing us to the world Great animation, but.. A really really terrible story. This story line is not the stuff feature lenght movies are made of. This is as I've read another say, a short film at best. Pixar achieved greatness by introducing us to the world of computer animated feature length movies. With a few exceptions, the stories of these movies have always been the weakest link. By now the Pixar aura has faded and the computer animated feature has established its place in american cinema, but the charm of computer animated movies is long gone and now it's time to expect great stories told through computer animation. Wall-E doesn't even come close, whereas Ratatouille was a great story told through computer animation. Pixar, this is your second wake up call (hello, 'Cars'?!.. please), stop giving the writing directing jobs to your old guard studio cats. Andrew Stanton should not be writing screenplays.. It's time to hire real writers to tell great stories through your animation magic. Please, this is your second wake up call.. Answer the phone. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MauricioL.Jul 7, 2008
I thought it was going to be better, i mean i was tired when i saw it but i was falling asleep, not good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TomB.Aug 24, 2008
We're a retired couple, so probably shouldn't have expected to get wrapped up in such a movie, despite it's many high ratings. I recognized the satire, the commentary on today's world, the romantic angle, the skilled We're a retired couple, so probably shouldn't have expected to get wrapped up in such a movie, despite it's many high ratings. I recognized the satire, the commentary on today's world, the romantic angle, the skilled animation........but we found it boring. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
TammyR.Aug 7, 2008
This movie was soooo boring - even my 6 year old wanted to leave in the middle. We did stay, but, what a bore!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
paulr.Dec 9, 2008
Blah, incredibly boring. Animation is pretty. Feels like it was written in half an hour, to be a 5 minute short, and then stretched to feature length. Cobbled together bits of other successful scifi movies, makes a mess without much Blah, incredibly boring. Animation is pretty. Feels like it was written in half an hour, to be a 5 minute short, and then stretched to feature length. Cobbled together bits of other successful scifi movies, makes a mess without much originality. There is no complexity here, alot of things don't make any sense, very one-dimensional message and morals. Why do the critics love this?! A cute movie, good for small kids, other wise a waste of time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MichaelL.Jun 29, 2008
Where to start? The animation is great. The story is too complex for young kids and seemed just silly to me. Then we get to the sledgehammer of an eco-fascist message "Humans are destroying the planet and the only things with souls are Where to start? The animation is great. The story is too complex for young kids and seemed just silly to me. Then we get to the sledgehammer of an eco-fascist message "Humans are destroying the planet and the only things with souls are robots and cockroaches." Throw in the amazingly ironic anti-consumerism message and the evil global corporation (made by the most consumer-driven global corporation ever , love ya Walt DIsney) and the fact that the humans are American accented, hugely obese, and too lazy to avert their eyes from a TV screen and move their butts from a hover-style barcalounger, and I found it terribly offensive. Worse than a total miss, this a total turn off. It is a total miscalculation. I will not be taking my kids to this drivel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JohnP.Jul 17, 2008
computer animation is passable, but story is tepid, awful. Is this the best they can do? Pixar must be paying for all these four star review.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JessH.Jul 19, 2008
Great animation but that's it, did like the story at all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ChrisSJul 21, 2008
Worst Pixar movie yet. Boring. People who give this a 10 need to get out more.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
MSalJul 23, 2008
Theres nothing funny about this animation flix. It was boring from begining to end, I actually fell asleep 3 times, even the kids who were there though it was lousy. I'm sure theres some kind of subliminal message or moral to the story Theres nothing funny about this animation flix. It was boring from begining to end, I actually fell asleep 3 times, even the kids who were there though it was lousy. I'm sure theres some kind of subliminal message or moral to the story but, It could have been more entertaining, this movie is up there with one of the worst movies I have ever seen..... PS the animation is great the story is way too long and boring... expect 2 hours of silence and 15 minutes of total dialogue. save your money!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
FPJul 23, 2008
Nowhere near deserving of the high praise that it seems to be receiving. This movie has WAAAaaaayyy too much preaching - love the environment, say no to laziness, get exercise, say no to bigbox stores, etc.. the list goes on... and on... and Nowhere near deserving of the high praise that it seems to be receiving. This movie has WAAAaaaayyy too much preaching - love the environment, say no to laziness, get exercise, say no to bigbox stores, etc.. the list goes on... and on... and on... I wouldn't want my kids watching this movie and learning that obsession = love. If you ask me, Wall-E is a little desperate. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MichaelK.Aug 15, 2008
When I saw the preview I thought it looked horrible, and i was right. Pixar is usually a step ahead of other animated films, but this was downright bad. The whole movie was robots saying names in a funny way.The comedy in this film was so When I saw the preview I thought it looked horrible, and i was right. Pixar is usually a step ahead of other animated films, but this was downright bad. The whole movie was robots saying names in a funny way.The comedy in this film was so elementary, i couldn't help but laughing at how hard they were trying to make it funny, and how not funny it was. The only people who like this movie are either girls who think its "cute" or guys who think there cool for liking a Pixar film. Ratatoille is by far Pixars best film, this doesn't even come close. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TreyWMay 12, 2009
I think that it is almost the worst film i have ever seen. It should be down there with bio dome in ratings. it was a little bit like a g rated I am Legend with retarded animations.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
VinnieG.Dec 24, 2008
it is seriously over rated. its a nice cute movie, but it really isnt tht good. doesnt nearly compare to childrens movies like the toy story or nemo, or any of the recent good ones. wall-e was, in a nut shell, boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Prowler477Jun 22, 2011
This movie feels like the EPA trying to teach children how bad we are. An incredibly annoying movie. Making fun of individual people is okay to me but making fun of mankind? No I have to draw a line there.
0 of 12 users found this helpful012
All this user's reviews
1
LAreviewsJan 5, 2012
Boring, preachy, redundant. Here is the whole script:
"Wall-e. Wall-e? Waaaal-eeee!"
"eve" *mechanical noises. A **** scuttling around* "waaaall-e." (pleading) "caution. Road robots. Caution. Road robots." "WWWAAALLL-E!" "ROAD ROBOTS."
Boring, preachy, redundant. Here is the whole script:
"Wall-e. Wall-e? Waaaal-eeee!"
"eve"
*mechanical noises. A **** scuttling around*
"waaaall-e." (pleading)
"caution. Road robots. Caution. Road robots."
"WWWAAALLL-E!"
"ROAD ROBOTS."
"EEEEV-A!"
"Wall-e. Wall-e."

Wall-e and Eve try to learn each others names in 3 different scenes for 20 minutes each. Wall-e has a pet **** because the earth has obviously suffered a nuclear holocaust and the fat lazy humans have moved to space where their oversized hover-rounds really do hover. Welcome to Wall-e, a movie about the environment & 2 asexual pieces of machinery that are supposed to be in love. But it's hard to relate to an E.T.- rip-off-on-wheels and a poorly personified spaceship-looking robot that flies conveniently through space. Thats about it. I can't believe how many people raved about it. And "wall-e" was uttered no less than 300 times, just saying.
Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
3
sil3nt_nickMar 25, 2013
A slow film that bores young viewers with few laughs and a less than satisfactory story line.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
This movie is just trash. It's gross, not fun, and confusing. It's as if the creators didn't know what the target audience was, so they just acted like it was a kid's movie.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
2
Dr_FetusSep 25, 2013
I honestly didn't have a clue what the bloody hell was going on, I've tried watching this film through twice and ended up dozing off. I'm really at a loss why it's so popular, but it's all a matter of opinion, and my opinion is that this isI honestly didn't have a clue what the bloody hell was going on, I've tried watching this film through twice and ended up dozing off. I'm really at a loss why it's so popular, but it's all a matter of opinion, and my opinion is that this is not worth watching. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
bnJul 7, 2008
Although I agree with the message and appreciate the animation, this movie is horrible. I could maybe suggest renting it as you could start it over where you fall asleep. Boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChelseaD.Jul 8, 2008
What a terribly overrated mess Wall-E is. Despite Stanton's best efforts to make his characters likable, I found myself as annoyed with Wall-E as I did with Stanton's completely over-the-top portrayal of future society, and was What a terribly overrated mess Wall-E is. Despite Stanton's best efforts to make his characters likable, I found myself as annoyed with Wall-E as I did with Stanton's completely over-the-top portrayal of future society, and was thus bored entirely by the film's love story. Where I failed to make any sort of emotional connection with any of the robots in the film, I hoped to at least be entertained by the film's message. Unfortunately, Stanton's vision of the future is about as subtle as Hello Dolly! is colorful. Preachy and didactic, Wall-E is too simplistic for adults, yet too sophisticated for children. While watching, I couldn't help but compare it to the equally terrible Idiocracy, but with robots. If you're looking for an excellent children's film, go watch just about any other Pixar film, and if you're interested in the film's pro-environmentalist, anti-consumerist message, rent The End of Suburbia or The 11th Hour instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LarryB.Jul 12, 2008
An unmitigated flop. I'm a big Pixar fan. Toy Story was pure genius. This one is a disturbingly bad bore. Pointless, yet obtusely preachy. Kind of like, while facing a difficult situation, running around yelling, "Do something!" An unmitigated flop. I'm a big Pixar fan. Toy Story was pure genius. This one is a disturbingly bad bore. Pointless, yet obtusely preachy. Kind of like, while facing a difficult situation, running around yelling, "Do something!" Animation was great in places but uneven. Eve looks like she was dragged in from another movie concept. Sad to say, but it may be time to sell the Disney stock. A bust of epic proportions. Can someone tell me why this movie was made? Never heard a laugh from the audience. Not even a chuckle. The crowd simply stared at the screen. I swear I heard snoring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful