A24 | Release Date: February 19, 2016
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 863 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
636
Mixed:
110
Negative:
117
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
j1trainFeb 20, 2016
A stunning, impressively acted period piece. Though it will surely bore those who also hated The Babadook and It Follows, The Witch is another example of what horror is capable of -- truly great, atmospheric filmmaking.What The Witch has thatA stunning, impressively acted period piece. Though it will surely bore those who also hated The Babadook and It Follows, The Witch is another example of what horror is capable of -- truly great, atmospheric filmmaking.What The Witch has that the other recent great horror flicks of recent years doesn't though is a completely satisfying, unambiguous conclusion that will be welcomed by viewers who aren't a fan of "artsy" horror. It's a gorgeous, masterfully edited and scored, shocking 90 minutes. Expand
26 of 42 users found this helpful2616
All this user's reviews
10
AthanasiosTMay 7, 2016
Horror cinematography as it should always be. Eerie music and beautiful dark photography, excellent acting, omission of too much splatter, all combine to create a phobic atmosphere and a paradigm in horror cinema.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Jun 13, 2016
I hate Modern day audience when it comes to horror.

I saw "The VVitch'' back in early March and I thought it was decent, but I didn't understand what all the fuss was all about. Yeah, it looked nice and it had a chilling atmosphere but
I hate Modern day audience when it comes to horror.

I saw "The VVitch'' back in early March and I thought it was decent, but I didn't understand what all the fuss was all about. Yeah, it looked nice and it had a chilling atmosphere but that's the only thing I got from it. Well, to be fair, I think I was the only one that I liked this movie compared to my friends and family, as they thought the movie was terrible. I liked the movie but I thought it was kind of slow, I was a bit confused at times and the movie didn't stick with me after it was done. If I was reviewing this back in March, I would probably give this movie a 3/5.

But after re-watching the film, I actually liked it even more and there was a lot of things that I can't believe I missed on my first viewing. I don't know how to explain it, but I had this uncomfortable feeling from watching this that I never experience the first time. This is a horror movie that exceeds in film making, it's freaky score and it's gloomy atmosphere that really made this film a true horror.

This is a great psychological horror film that can really get under the your skin. I started to notice little details that really made this movie freaking scary when you understand the meaning of it. This doesn't have any stupid jump scars that deflates tension or just any horror movie tropes that we've seen million times already, but that's nowhere to be seen in the ''The VVitch''.

THANK GOODNESS!

Oh and the cinematography is this movie is just flawless. I'm starting to notice a trend in indie horror movies today - With the shots being perfectly set up and the very little use of light that really adds to the atmosphere to this film.

Thank you Robert Eggers for your brilliant direction and movie.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
It's not your typical horror movie. Its very slow paced but artistic, eerie, and true to the time and setting. Its not the cliche' jump at you scary movie. Very realistic. I appreciate the tone of it and the acting was the best I've ever seenIt's not your typical horror movie. Its very slow paced but artistic, eerie, and true to the time and setting. Its not the cliche' jump at you scary movie. Very realistic. I appreciate the tone of it and the acting was the best I've ever seen in a horror movie. Every line was like a verse from the Bible or a Shakespeare quote. If you appreciate good artistic cinema than you'll enjoy this. I usually laugh while watching horror movies cause I can't take them serious or i'll predict what will happen at the end, but this movie was absolutely terrifying. I'm still haunted just thinking about what happened in that movie. Again, it's not for everybody but for me its an instant classic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
wanraoApr 24, 2016
Finalmente chega aos cinemas um ótimo filme de terror! O filme possui uma história e roteiro complexos, sendo necessário até mesmo assisti-lo mais de uma vez para que se entenda. Repleto de simbologias essenciais para seu entendimento porFinalmente chega aos cinemas um ótimo filme de terror! O filme possui uma história e roteiro complexos, sendo necessário até mesmo assisti-lo mais de uma vez para que se entenda. Repleto de simbologias essenciais para seu entendimento por completo e que muito enriquecem e trazem verossimelhança à história. As atuações estão impecáveis, dando destaque para Anya Taylor-Joy, que interpreta a Thomasin e Harvey Scrimshaw como Caleb. Quanto aos aspectos técnicos, vale destacar a mórbida fotografia com uso de luz natural, mas com certeza o que mais chama atenção é a trilha sonora essencialmente perturbadora, num misto orquestral e com uma ópera doentia e desesperada. Por esses e outros aspectos, A Bruxa tem tudo para se tornar um clássico do terror. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Laurie_LouMay 6, 2016
Over-praised by some, but completely misunderstood by others. It's an artistic film that's supposed to inspire thought, NOT a cheap horror. If you're expecting thrills and jump-scares and action, this is not the film for you. The imagery isOver-praised by some, but completely misunderstood by others. It's an artistic film that's supposed to inspire thought, NOT a cheap horror. If you're expecting thrills and jump-scares and action, this is not the film for you. The imagery is particularly terrifying; I don't think I've ever seen a convincingly 'scary' forest portrayed quite so effectively before. Saying that, there were a few 'scary' moments I couldn't help but find funny- a certain character's vicious demise could so easily be featured in a funny home movie compilation if it lacked the blood.
The language is a huge barrier, most will find, but it was painstakingly researched by the writer and is incredibly accurate for the time, so I can't complain too much, although subtitles would've been nice. You have to appreciate the effort that went into this movie, because it could so easily have been done badly. There's no real predictability, which is refreshing in a horror genre, and the ending was particularly satisfying. But I never found the movie truly 'scary' in the sense that I was covering my eyes or biting my nails, but maybe that's okay, because sometimes 'eerie' is just as unsettling as outright blood and guts.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJun 10, 2016
A truly horrifying experience, The Witch is a film that makes you feel as though Satan himself is sitting there watching it with you. As a Christian, it left my soul shaken to my very core. This film scared the crap out of me. With a trulyA truly horrifying experience, The Witch is a film that makes you feel as though Satan himself is sitting there watching it with you. As a Christian, it left my soul shaken to my very core. This film scared the crap out of me. With a truly haunting score and an even more frightening atmosphere, The Witch is a truly phenomenal horror film that ranks up there with some of the better films of the genre. With strong acting, led by Anya Taylor-Joy, and terrific direction/writing from Robert Eggers, The Witch clicks on all cylinders and will live in my dreams forever. Additionally, The Witch has truly phenomenal cinematography and impressive period detail that really sets the scene perfectly for the film. Overall, The Witch is certainly a slow burn and is devoid of jump scares, so the fear it creates may be lost on those not willing to dedicate time to focus on the film. For those that are okay with slow burns, The Witch will be a rich, rewarding experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Knux57Jul 1, 2017
Respectable acting, cinematography, and writing, but not much else. Anyone that says this movie is "terrifying" on any level is most likely a paid review. The movie wastes plenty of time giving you details about the family rather than tryingRespectable acting, cinematography, and writing, but not much else. Anyone that says this movie is "terrifying" on any level is most likely a paid review. The movie wastes plenty of time giving you details about the family rather than trying to scare you, although none of it feels like it was worth taking up 75% PERCENT of the movie's runtime. At best you could watch this movie as a mystery/drama. The fact that this movie is at all classified as horror is just asking for people to be disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeJun 4, 2016
While an evil force slowly possessing them, the family bond is put on a test.

The film was based on the collection of a series of the real events that takes place in the 17th century New England. The story of a farmer family who came
While an evil force slowly possessing them, the family bond is put on a test.

The film was based on the collection of a series of the real events that takes place in the 17th century New England. The story of a farmer family who came across the ocean, but now lives on the edge of the forest after denied permission to build a house in a village. When the newborn baby disappears in a thin air, the family begins to experience the mysterious events. Without a clue about the happenings, the evil force begins to possess them while the unity of the family is tested.

Wow, finally a wonderful horror-psychological-thriller. Usually horror films are the worst kind compared with other genres, because most of them overly rely on the sudden sound/noise and gore. But there are many awesome horror films I had liked which were better story than the graphical presentation, like this one. So I love good narration than those try to scare me with make-ups, stunts and sound mixings.

It was a limited cast film, sets in a beautiful remote place and the language was awesome that perfectly suits for the horror theme like this. Everyone's performance was brilliant. It is just a one million dollar film and the entire film was shot within a month. The records are not matter when the writing and the direction were top notch. Especially for a first timer it was a remarkable achievement.

A simple plot, developed greatly and the suspense was the highlight. Yet viewers expect more explanation, but I'm happy for what it is and it should not go deeper than that which might spoil its unique flavour. Not just horror film fans, everyone should try it if they're capable to handle the slow narration. Finally, like usual, here I won't ask for a sequel, because it'll make an amazing one off film than the dozens of crappy follow ups.

8/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Sitheguy78Nov 3, 2017
A horrible film that doesn't go anywhere. If you are currently watching expecting something to happen then I'd find something else to watch.
Dull, unoriginal.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
riaan_radioheadMay 24, 2016
The Witch is an extremely well made art-house horror film that borrows heavy influence from recent masterpieces from the menacing gothic horror atmospherics of Paul Thomas Anderson's 'There will be Blood' to the religious overtones ofThe Witch is an extremely well made art-house horror film that borrows heavy influence from recent masterpieces from the menacing gothic horror atmospherics of Paul Thomas Anderson's 'There will be Blood' to the religious overtones of Michael Haneke's 'White Ribbon' though this first time directors work cannot nearly match up to those remarkable films in substance. Crisply framed, good cinematography and rewarding climax aside, The Witch has less meat on its bone than you would expect Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
vicyamusicgreatMay 18, 2016
As one who loves stories and loves to read, I am so utterly amazed at what an excellent production this is. The Witch is one of the best film ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
92rossSep 22, 2018
Not scary at all and quite boring really. How this can even be deemed to be a horror is laughable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
flash246May 21, 2016
It seems most people either love it or hate it.

If you are expecting a "Conjuring" type of movie with jump scares every 10 minutes then this is NOT the movie for you. This movie slowly builds up tension (a little too slow at times) but
It seems most people either love it or hate it.

If you are expecting a "Conjuring" type of movie with jump scares every 10 minutes then this is NOT the movie for you. This movie slowly builds up tension (a little too slow at times) but once it gets going it becomes extremely tense. It relies on 'creepiness' to scare which makes it different than almost any other horror movie.
The music in this movie will set the tone immediately and it adds to the eerie atmosphere. The acting is superb all around (The young actor/actresses were surprisingly good).
Overall, I strongly recommend this movie to true horror fans out there that enjoy films that don't rely on just on jump scares.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
UrbanlistenerSep 16, 2016
Great slow burn horror movie, a refreshing artistic movie that takes it time to build the tension, the atmosphere and the characters to bring you earned and genuine fear. The cinematography and the music are also exceptional as well as theGreat slow burn horror movie, a refreshing artistic movie that takes it time to build the tension, the atmosphere and the characters to bring you earned and genuine fear. The cinematography and the music are also exceptional as well as the message it develops throughout the movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SolInvictaMay 21, 2016
A haunting period piece and worthwhile slow burn, proving that what we see is seldom as scary as what we don't. It's written so smoothly that you can become immersed in this 17th century world where the threat of witches was real to theA haunting period piece and worthwhile slow burn, proving that what we see is seldom as scary as what we don't. It's written so smoothly that you can become immersed in this 17th century world where the threat of witches was real to the townspeople, and the fact that the audience is left in the dark along with them makes for some genuinely scary and disturbing moments. Great filmmaking and superb storytelling all around. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Giantmonkey101Apr 28, 2016
Absolutely disturbing drama/creepy-ass movie and it was brilliantly directed and scripted with great performances by the actors. Has a creepy ending i don't know what else to say, excellent movie but you must pay attention from beginning toAbsolutely disturbing drama/creepy-ass movie and it was brilliantly directed and scripted with great performances by the actors. Has a creepy ending i don't know what else to say, excellent movie but you must pay attention from beginning to end to enjoy it and understand it. I would not recommenced young children to watch this they will have nightmares for days, hell even adults too. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jusefamareyJun 1, 2016
The most brilliant work of art I´ve seen in the last years, The Witch bright itself with incredible performances, a bloodcurling setting, a disturbing story and a really scary result. A FOLKTALE that threats the mind of adults with basicsThe most brilliant work of art I´ve seen in the last years, The Witch bright itself with incredible performances, a bloodcurling setting, a disturbing story and a really scary result. A FOLKTALE that threats the mind of adults with basics psychologicals principles about Family and social processes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
smiyamotMay 19, 2016
Since we have ADHD kids today, people with mental problems, it makes me wonder how they handled it 400 years ago. Probably thought the devil had them. And you know what happened then. So here we have a family out in the wilderness andSince we have ADHD kids today, people with mental problems, it makes me wonder how they handled it 400 years ago. Probably thought the devil had them. And you know what happened then. So here we have a family out in the wilderness and strange things start happening. What did they think? What did they fear? What did they do? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
InglouriousAndyMay 18, 2016
The VVitch is absolutely petrifying. The best horror film I've ever seen, and I have no hesitation in saying that. This is a complete masterpiece, full of terror and fear.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
stellarnomadMay 14, 2016
Genre tags are useful to a point; shorthand if you will that, like review scores, allow a quick glance summary minus the benefit of contextual information. In this instance, it has arguably been detrimental to expectations.

Horror implies
Genre tags are useful to a point; shorthand if you will that, like review scores, allow a quick glance summary minus the benefit of contextual information. In this instance, it has arguably been detrimental to expectations.

Horror implies rules that The Witch gleefully disregards, replaced instead with a constant, escalating dread centered around the trials of a puritanical family banished to the edge of a forest. Reveling in an acute attention to period details, and wrapped in foreboding atmosphere, problems beset the family from the beginning and continue to stack, straining the family to breaking point and exposing rifts amongst them. The film manages to sustain this discomfort throughout, denying the viewer release as it denies the family, tuning you to their plight.

Much has already been written about the subtext of the film, and is better left for post-viewing dissection. While external threats abound, as much, if not more, are revealed within the family: repressed desires, guilt, fear and uncertainty, as potent as any actualized evil. What you take away from this film will ultimately reflect your own experiences as much as the Directors.

To state the obvious, certain films are more demanding of the viewer than others, not only requiring your full attention and patience, but the right mood as well to fully engage. This, for me, was one of said films. It is certainly deserving of a second watch if you find yourself unimpressed.

I love these films; you may not, and that's fine. Arguably, this is a niche film for a subset of viewers that crave more visual narrative. Complaints regarding the period accent are largely unfounded, and requests for subtitles unnecessary -- even if you don't understand every word uttered, enough is understood to fill in the gaps. Don't let this be a deterrent.

I'll await with interest, Robert Eggers next effort.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ablaise82Aug 24, 2017
A snooze fest with no deep hidden meaning to make the incredibly drawn out pacing worth it. The old time dialogue only brings out the confusion this movie brings to the table, and between that and the nearly pitch black scenes, many parts ofA snooze fest with no deep hidden meaning to make the incredibly drawn out pacing worth it. The old time dialogue only brings out the confusion this movie brings to the table, and between that and the nearly pitch black scenes, many parts of this movie will leave you flat out boggled. Some good cinematography, acting, and surprising moments save this movie from being bad, but ultimately this one is a bore. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NerdConsultantMar 16, 2016
The Witch is truly the most disturbing horror film i have seen in years and i don't say that lightly. the acting is great, the script is amazing and period detail is very authentic. Robert Eggers gives us an incredible writing and directingThe Witch is truly the most disturbing horror film i have seen in years and i don't say that lightly. the acting is great, the script is amazing and period detail is very authentic. Robert Eggers gives us an incredible writing and directing debut with virtually no jump scares and proves that the best horror films rely on psychology over loud noises and too many special effects. seriously worth a watch unless you like cliche **** horror films Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
MaskOfDestinyApr 8, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incredible storyline, intelligent film, a horror as not seen for years. It is not a sustinhos film (which I prefer), but you pass a bad energy, agony. Explore the silence and accurately show how humans are alienable when it comes to cults and religious beliefs. Despite the name "The Witch" the film has no protagonist or antagonist direct a witch, only around mid-long witch is revealed and then find that they are witches in the plural. The big mistake was that it was sold as the scariest movie of all time and this definitely is not it, this film to be seen with expectations for a great movie and not a scary movie. Congratulations to director Robert Eggers for his creative script and a canny direction. Another that deserves a round of applause is Anya Taylor-Joy for his great performance as the protagonist. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
Viet_Le_KyurFeb 22, 2016
It's not your typical horror movie. Its very slow paced but artistic, eerie, and true to the time and setting. Its not the cliche' jump at you scary movie. Very realistic. I appreciate the tone of it and the acting was the best I've ever seenIt's not your typical horror movie. Its very slow paced but artistic, eerie, and true to the time and setting. Its not the cliche' jump at you scary movie. Very realistic. I appreciate the tone of it and the acting was the best I've ever seen in a horror movie. Every line was like a verse from the Bible or a Shakespeare quote. If you appreciate good artistic cinema than you'll enjoy this. I usually laugh while watching horror movies cause I can't take them serious or i'll predict what will happen at the end, but this movie was absolutely terrifying. I'm still haunted just thinking about what happened in that movie. Again, it's not for everybody but for me its an instant classic. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
7
StevieGJDMar 2, 2016
This is not really a horror movie, though there are some very disturbing images. It is also not a movie that people who want clean resolutions and happy endings will appreciate. The cinematography offers the viewer a bleak and ratherThis is not really a horror movie, though there are some very disturbing images. It is also not a movie that people who want clean resolutions and happy endings will appreciate. The cinematography offers the viewer a bleak and rather desolate glimpse into isolated frontier life, albeit from an earlier time period. The acting is pretty strong. The complications and tragedy which befall the purposefully isolated family ranges from uncomfortable to disturbing to rather silly and overwrought. Still, it is not the typical film of this genre and there was a strong attempt to do something different. I was really on the fence about rating this. I suspect that very religious people will be offended and horror movie buffs will be greatly disappointed. It is thoughtful and accepting of the supernatural being real, which will surely disturb and anger some. There is not a tremendous amount of character development, just bad and unfair things happening to people. This will not be everyone's cup of tea, Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
PlutarcoApr 25, 2016
This movie proves that you can create a masterpiece with low budgets. The Witch is one of the best suspense/horror films ever made, rolled in a simple location, with convincing actors, not using the abusive gore that is so common in this kindThis movie proves that you can create a masterpiece with low budgets. The Witch is one of the best suspense/horror films ever made, rolled in a simple location, with convincing actors, not using the abusive gore that is so common in this kind of movies nowadays, and with a great screenplay.
Congratulations to the high talented team who made this excellent work.
...and thanks
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
ahnehnoisMar 12, 2016
A very enjoyable period piece. The horror is muted and largely psychological, but there will definitely be some scares. What comes through more strongly, however, is the enormity of the untamed wilderness around them, the absurdity ofA very enjoyable period piece. The horror is muted and largely psychological, but there will definitely be some scares. What comes through more strongly, however, is the enormity of the untamed wilderness around them, the absurdity of malnourished subsistence farmers living alone in the New World. The threat of witchcraft hanging over them can barely rival that.

The movie brings different colors to the table. Dread is intermingled with humor, often through some oddly well-cast goats. The performances and dialogue are credible. The movie has a real ending, but questions are nonetheless left unanswered, even from the opening scene. The score is creepy, the direction taut, and I would want to see more from this creative team.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
Unladenswallow0Mar 16, 2016
Generally quite creepy, and very disturbing in places. It gets you on edge. You see this plantation era, god fearing family turn against one another one by one, its hard to watch in places. It genuinely deserves the description of unnerving.Generally quite creepy, and very disturbing in places. It gets you on edge. You see this plantation era, god fearing family turn against one another one by one, its hard to watch in places. It genuinely deserves the description of unnerving. Even the damn goats were creepy, how does that happen? Anyway, goats aside i thought this movie was a good horror film, with very unique cinematography, and a totally new spin on the worn out cliche story of the witch in the woods. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
The1EditorOct 6, 2016
I want my 90 minutes back. Worst movie I've suffered through in the last decade, at least. Filmed in such low light virtually nothing was visible. Absolutely no plot; no continuity of story (no story) and zero intelligence required toI want my 90 minutes back. Worst movie I've suffered through in the last decade, at least. Filmed in such low light virtually nothing was visible. Absolutely no plot; no continuity of story (no story) and zero intelligence required to watch it. Sadly, I'm now proof of that. IF you feel the need to watch this, wait for it to be free on a low grade movie channel. Frankly though, even 'free' is too high a price to pay. I can't find anything nice to say and wouldn't be saying anything at all if I didn't truly want to save prospective viewers from wasting their time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
saucyninja007Feb 20, 2016
Do NOT see this film if you are expecting a typical horror film. This is a Sundance film. There won't be jumpscares or anything like that. The movie is really more of a period piece drama with psychological horror. The purpose isn't to freakDo NOT see this film if you are expecting a typical horror film. This is a Sundance film. There won't be jumpscares or anything like that. The movie is really more of a period piece drama with psychological horror. The purpose isn't to freak you out but instead to explore themes such as paranoia, faith, and sin. The ending has proven to be very divisive. I wasn't wowed but I wasn't disappointed either. The acting is top notch, especially when it comes to the child actors, and it is shot better than most "horror" movies. See it if you are interested in a well made drama with some creepy elements. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
querdsMar 6, 2016
Slow-burning tension, chilling atmosphere, superb acting and direction make this a can't miss horror-thriller that breathes new life into the genre. If you are into cheap jump scares this is NOT the film for you.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Mar 12, 2016
If you want to see an original, intensely atmospheric and horrifying film and you have a strong constitution for suffering on a new level then the Witch is the film for you. Wrath of God induced Paranoia - check. Bleak cinematography thatIf you want to see an original, intensely atmospheric and horrifying film and you have a strong constitution for suffering on a new level then the Witch is the film for you. Wrath of God induced Paranoia - check. Bleak cinematography that captures the mood perfectly - check. Painstaking attention to detail in terms of the period - check - superb acting from everyone - check. Be warned, this isn't a mainstream film out to give you a warm tingly feeling or hold your hand and give you all the answers. It was made with the sole purpose of disturbing you on every level - which it achieves perfectly. Think of 'The Road,' just with a Witch and without Viggo. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Apr 18, 2016
The cinematography, landscapes and music make for one creepy, dreary, disturbing movie. The Witch isn't all that scary when you watch it, only when you start to think about it afterwards does it get to you.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
InfadizleMay 9, 2016
Long dragging, boring drama at best. The VVitch is not a horror film. I found the acting horrible at times. The plot is predictable and failed to build. The only positive about The VVitch is the cinematography. I found it to be more arty yetLong dragging, boring drama at best. The VVitch is not a horror film. I found the acting horrible at times. The plot is predictable and failed to build. The only positive about The VVitch is the cinematography. I found it to be more arty yet lacked when it comes to the writing and creating suspense. It just never leaved up to its potential. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
arunscriptMay 4, 2016
If your brand of horror is blood/gore and jump scares (as is the case with most Americans these days), you'll not like this movie. The 0-4 reviews are unfounded. I found this movie to be pretty good - there is a palpable sense of dread thatIf your brand of horror is blood/gore and jump scares (as is the case with most Americans these days), you'll not like this movie. The 0-4 reviews are unfounded. I found this movie to be pretty good - there is a palpable sense of dread that runs throughout the movie. I wouldn't say that this is a GREAT movie or anything but it is definitely a good one. There are plenty of disturbing scenes in the movie - if you experience these in the context of the movie and within the realms of what this story is about, it is pretty unsettling. However, if you're the sort whose threshold for scares has been upped by the likes of slasher movies, you'll probably not be as affected. Once again - good movie for sure. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
PipeCApr 17, 2016
"The VVitch": A jewel of pure horror since "The Conjuring" film.

Robert Eggers joins the list of the best directors in the genre of the horror of the decade with his first invention of the genre, along with my great idol, James Wan.
"The VVitch": A jewel of pure horror since "The Conjuring" film.

Robert Eggers joins the list of the best directors in the genre of the horror of the decade with his first invention of the genre, along with my great idol, James Wan.

There are great attributes in the film, the most important "printing". It is logical to think that the movie will comply with poor requirements of today's horror films, but no, this goes beyond, it has tone, it has history, it has soul and has strength. The debut of the director and writer Robert Eggers revolutionizes the genre for the 21st century; trampling all the cliches of the genre and proposing a new face for horror films, it is intelligent, absorbing, stressful and really leaves the audience with a trauma after leaving the theater.

The project of Eggers has own terror and does not need jump-scares or any other discounted help to create an atmosphere that even without that it passes nothing wrong feels tension and danger. Perhaps, it is true that "The VVitch" won't have the same thematic impact that had "The Blair Witch Project" in 1991 but if it will have a drastic impact on films of last 5 decades. To create a masterpiece like this, it is not necessary to record scenes difficult to understand ("Inception" - "Donnie Darko") but record scenes difficult to see, film does not take decisions easy but is one of the few excellent horror films where the psychological is not the first trick. The only purpose of the director was capturing the true tale of the New England where religion took side against evil.

An extremely religious family composed by mother (Katherine - Kate Dickie) - a Christian woman committed 100 percent to pray and be in communion in all respects religious-, father (William - Ralph Ineson) - a woodcutter who must confront himself for standing to his family and deal with everything that is over him-, the eldest daughter, and face female protagonist of the movie (Thomasin - Anya Taylor-Joy) - a teenager girl from a religious family that's happening by physical and hormonal changes typical for a young man who is prone to overlook the situation that will give a twist to the plot of her life-, the duo of younger siblings, (and so frightening)
Mercy and Jonas - Ellie Grainger and Lucas Dawson)-two ordinary children who serve as gate to destroy the little stability that the family had had after they banished them (this sounds very similar to "Adam and Eve") is confronted to begin again once they were evacuated from the villa where they remained (have to take into account that it is the MDCXXX century (16th century), where there are no hotel, houses or shelters) for purely religious reasons. The father being the head of the family, decides to entrust himself to the Lord and bring them to a forgotten forest to begin a new life together filled with love and peace. After settling there, children play, the father imitates a grower, mother do household chores with her daughter, all normal, until evil touches to their door. Strange but meticulously timed events begin to happen and tension and flame of the film is born and progresses in an uncontrollable manner.

A big plus for the movie was the period where was record it, where everything seemed a film of horror, even Eggers' team make it seem better than it was at that time. It is imposing the eye and hand of the director for a show scene with such high quality, dark, evil, totally expressionless. Touching parameters of all horror films but revolutionizing them, as the rain where terror was more dramatic than physical, the forest, where someone was not intended them, someone wanted them, the witch, the presentations were great, Eggers is my third master.

The cast is perfect. The formula is again present. No Hollywood stars is needed to give tone and fame to this project. The little unknown cast made us familiarize ourselves better with the characters and in part served to launch the notoriety to Anya Taylor-Joy (born in Miami, but proudly bred by latinos) and two children.

The first appearance of the witch is totally frightening and surprising, it makes to scream to the public with natural elements, with images and a monumental instrumentation that decorate the scene as a typical and disturbing tale of fear.

The second appearance of the witch is too much "Red Riding Hood" but the more praised. I have no words to express the mysticism, finesse but at once grotesque introduction, ambience, scenery, everything, everything...

While some people, the end not has seemed them very good, for my was the best, and that it was the result of an excellent game, that had that be the end and the way how they projected it was ambitious, real and mysterious. Colors, soundtrack, photography, cinemtography, art, performances and the contribution to the genre of mystery and horror is colossal. It left a mark, a record.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
carnielfelipeApr 21, 2016
It's going to make your blood run cold! This is a REAL horror movie with a great history, atmosphere, soundtrack and great actors. A new way to drive a horror movie, with no easy scares but a tense atmosphere that makes you unconfortable.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
cenobyte85Apr 6, 2017
A lot of people who didn't like this movie are getting criticism from those who did enjoy it. I'm a movie buff and I like the occasional indie film as well, but this movie was just plain bad. I know what suspenseful buildup is and I know whatA lot of people who didn't like this movie are getting criticism from those who did enjoy it. I'm a movie buff and I like the occasional indie film as well, but this movie was just plain bad. I know what suspenseful buildup is and I know what intentional slow burn is. I wasn't expecting a jump scare gory blood bath horror flick. I knew what type of movie I was getting myself into. That said, this movie was still dreadfully boring and had very little payoff. It barely had anything enticing about it except for the final 10 minutes, although even that was quite predictable. It was a historically accurate period piece sure, but was it entertaining horror? No. If you want to "live deliciously" just youtube the ending. It's really about the only thing this bore fest has going for it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
MNRGMOct 4, 2016
I really can't see why this movie is being hyped. Dull story, unprogressive in my opinion. The only reason I kept watching was to see some witch-work. But it even fell short on that. A rather disappointing evening. The setting was nice, though!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
chuck_dFeb 24, 2016
Not for the average moviegoer. If you love the Transformer movies and think The Rock is a great actor and never miss an Adam Sandler movie, THIS ONE is not for you. Plan on bringing your old English dictionary with you, and listen closely.Not for the average moviegoer. If you love the Transformer movies and think The Rock is a great actor and never miss an Adam Sandler movie, THIS ONE is not for you. Plan on bringing your old English dictionary with you, and listen closely. I need to see this movie again because I'm sure I missed plenty along the way. This movie will play very well on Blu-ray or Netflix in the privacy of your living room.
What do you really need to know about this movie?
It's beautifully-acted and hard to watch. It's very dark and disturbing and one can lose the reality they're watching a movie and not some real family falling apart. This movie is incredibly unsettling and not for the faint of heart. Some surprises along the way, but not a lot "happens." You need patience to appreciate this one. I wasn't a huge fan of the VERY end, but everything else was superbly done. This movie gets from me a "9" on the horror scale.. because it is SO well done and SO different.
Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
9
KaramnosFeb 19, 2016
The negative fan reviews shock me almost as much as this amazing, creepy, beautiful, terrifying film. I saw it several months ago at a screening and couldn't wait to see it again. Everything: soundtrack, dialogue, cinematography, acting, paceThe negative fan reviews shock me almost as much as this amazing, creepy, beautiful, terrifying film. I saw it several months ago at a screening and couldn't wait to see it again. Everything: soundtrack, dialogue, cinematography, acting, pace seamlessly create a mood of real dread unlike anything I've seen in years.

Maybe some people going in were expecting a jump scare, slasher film. This isn't that. Its a deeply moody slow boil about a family unraveling as evil eats it from the inside out.

Go see it.
Expand
12 of 20 users found this helpful128
All this user's reviews
7
jalbarran0000Feb 24, 2016
I agree that this movie is a horror masterpiece. Very suspenseful, a little confusing because of the accents of the actors. It definitely stays with you long after you leave the theater. I want to see it again, now that I know how it ends.I agree that this movie is a horror masterpiece. Very suspenseful, a little confusing because of the accents of the actors. It definitely stays with you long after you leave the theater. I want to see it again, now that I know how it ends. You don't need cheap scares to be considered as a horror flick. The entire movie is a mind trip. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
7
jim_taltontishFeb 20, 2016
I won't dispute that this movie is enjoyable and a little creepy. However, it's being proclaimed a horror masterpiece. This is not even a sliver as scary as "The Exorcist." It's beautiful to look at, well-acted, and has a good musicalI won't dispute that this movie is enjoyable and a little creepy. However, it's being proclaimed a horror masterpiece. This is not even a sliver as scary as "The Exorcist." It's beautiful to look at, well-acted, and has a good musical score. It's one of those movies that many film critics and industry insiders really seem to appreciate. Many actual consumers who are horror fans will be left asking those critics, "How out of touch are you?" I haven't been this disappointed with a film critic darling pick for horror since "A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night." Both are good films, but way too much hype on the fear factor. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Feb 28, 2016
Ever since seeing the trailer a few months ago, I've been dying to see The Witch. It calls to mind recent arthouse horror movies like The Babadook and Goodnight Mommy, but The Witch is far scarier than those movies. It's a grim, perverse, andEver since seeing the trailer a few months ago, I've been dying to see The Witch. It calls to mind recent arthouse horror movies like The Babadook and Goodnight Mommy, but The Witch is far scarier than those movies. It's a grim, perverse, and disturbing tale of religious paranoia among a crumbling family that will surely be remembered alongside the likes of Rosemary's Baby and The Omen. The Witch takes place in 17th century in Puritan-era New England. A family is excommunicated from their village and settles on the edge of a vast forest. Soon thereafter, their baby goes missing into the woods, and the family is torn apart by accusations of witchcraft, black magic and possession. From the first ten minutes, The Witch has a morose atmosphere and starts out with an incredibly disturbing scene. The initial shock is carried through the next few scenes which are dialog-heavy and slower, causing the dread to continue to the next horror. The terror never lets up and only amplifies as the plot progresses until the final 20 minutes are agonizing to watch. I could only vaguely tell you how the movie ended because I was watching through my fingers. It's perversely scary. The acting is fantastic from the entire cast, especially from the child actors. They're given heavy stuff to work with and pull it off with unsettling results. Along with amazing cinematography and an ominous score, it'll be difficult to find a better horror movie than The Witch this year. It'll leave you shaking. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
9
SmoothzillaFeb 24, 2016
This movie was fantastic! This was more of a slow burn of dread than an actual horror movie. This movie won't be for everyone, if you are expecting traditional jump scares you will be disapointed. This is more of a drama with themes of pride,This movie was fantastic! This was more of a slow burn of dread than an actual horror movie. This movie won't be for everyone, if you are expecting traditional jump scares you will be disapointed. This is more of a drama with themes of pride, fear of the unknown, and loss of faith, in a horror setting. I won't give any spoilers, but while the acting was terrific, Black Phillip was the star of the show. Expand
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
7
treki999Feb 22, 2016
The movie was like the "The Visit" for me. Potentially a great movie but the writing or editing makes the storyline a little disjointed or swiss cheese like. I would wait for video or a cheap theatre. It was visually a great story and theThe movie was like the "The Visit" for me. Potentially a great movie but the writing or editing makes the storyline a little disjointed or swiss cheese like. I would wait for video or a cheap theatre. It was visually a great story and the actors were all good. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
RvwFromUpHereMar 8, 2016
I am going to walk through the entire movie and explain everything that actually happens. Based on reading this, it is unlikely you will have a desire to see this movie, so stop here if you so wish, or just take my word for it that this movieI am going to walk through the entire movie and explain everything that actually happens. Based on reading this, it is unlikely you will have a desire to see this movie, so stop here if you so wish, or just take my word for it that this movie is definitely worth a watch. Okay, here is The Witch at face value. The movie starts with a family of 7 being kicked out of a puritan community because...well I have no idea why they were kicked out, they speak in this crazy language that sounds like drunk Shakespeare. Dost thou barter a pic sixpense for me ninny? Is something that was said during this movie. So the family drives this wagon (that totally looks like it's going to fall over) out of Jamestown or Boston or some s*** and drive it to a field where they're gonna start new lives. The father builds a house and other manly s*** while the daughter plays peekaboo with the family baby. She closes her eye for like 4 seconds and loses the baby. Horrible babysitter. The family moves on, because you know, back in those days like 80% of babies died. Anyway, The father and eldest son go hunting and try to shoot a rabbit, but the rabbit looks at them menacingly and his gun jams and something flies in his eyes, which are unaffected for the rest of the film. Then the boy and father get home and the two youngest children are playing with the family goat. The next morning the boy wants to go hunting but his older sister won't let him go alone and so she goes with him. After like a mile the girl falls off of the family horse and the boy goes on without her and makes out with this hot but clearly evil woman who came out of a tree. The girl wakes up and runs home to tell the family, later that night the boy teleports back to the home completely naked. The eldest daughter is accused of being a witch because the naked boy who was left out in the rain won't wake up. Then he wakes up and it turns out he was just choking on a gross apple. Then he re enacts what would appear to be an entire performance of Macbeth before dying. The Father thinks a witch killed his son and does what every rational parent would do, and locks every one of his 3 remaining children in sheds outside. He then stays outside and prays while eating dirt. Meanwhile, a crow goes in to motor boat the mother. Morning comes, the family goat kills the father, the two youngest children vanish and the mother tries to kill her only remaining child. The eldest daughter stabs the mother, goes to nap in a shed, wakes up to talk to the devil, then goes into the woods where tons of tastefully nude women are dancing and flying. The end. That's the movie, but you have to believe me...it's worth a watch. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
QuietGiantFeb 21, 2016
Wanted to love it after the excellent trailer, didn't quite live up to those hopes but still a decent film. It's not really a frightening piece so much as an unsettling one. There are a lot of beautiful elements here (cinematography,Wanted to love it after the excellent trailer, didn't quite live up to those hopes but still a decent film. It's not really a frightening piece so much as an unsettling one. There are a lot of beautiful elements here (cinematography, production values, solid performances, score), but somehow the sum is a bit less than its individual parts. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
Clarky96Feb 28, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Witch didn't exactly terrify me, but that's okay because I don't think that was the point. The film is marketed as an incredibly disturbing horror film set in the 1600s, which kind of misrepresents it to some degree. If you go into this film expecting the next Exorcist, you will be truly disappointed because it's not exactly like. The Witch feels more like a period piece that's a historical commentary on religious hysteria and the dark side of witchcraft.

In The Witch, a Puritan family is banished to the edge of a large forest which happens to be home to a repulsive witch (my apologies to the actress playing her) and supernatural things begin to happen which tear the family apart. Eventually, everyone bar the main character Thomasin dies and then Thomasin makes a pact with Satan and joins the witches. An ending which has mystified and, strangely, angered many movie-goers. The ending is representative of Thomasin's desperation. If she didn't make the pact, her options were to risk going back to the plantation on foot, a journey that would take her several days on foot in addition to her possibly being tried as a witch if she was to explain the events that transpired on the farm. Or she could stay on the farm and starve to death. If I was in her shoes, I'd do the same thing.

The film, however, does have it's roots firmly planted in the horror genre despite this fact through its usage of truly disturbing imagery. Samuel being turned into "flying ointment" at the very beginning sets the bleak tone of film incredibly. The family gradually tearing itself apart is a consistent theme that is executed excellently during the films tight one hour and thirty minute run-time. Other events such as Caleb's seduction and subsequent possession in addition to the creepy twins being, well, creepy twins helps the film fulfill it's promises of being a horror movie. The use of lighting to conceal the witch is a brilliant touch, we never see her face in broad daylight except for one scene where she assumes a younger (and FAR better looking form) simply to seduce Caleb. In a scene where the witch appears at nighttime in the stables to startle the twins and Thomasin, her face is concealed by the shadows of night. This shot preys on our fear of the unknown and elevates the film into its status of critically acclaimed.

I feel like The Witch's biggest flaw is just how radical it is. This is definitely a film that the common moviegoer will not understand, hence why many reviewers have given it a low score. In addition to this, the marketing portrays the film as more grandiose than it is, confusing any audience members (like me) who followed the marketing. Overall, the film is great for what it is, but as stated before, don't raise the bar too high.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKFeb 22, 2016
The Witch realistically recreates the paranoia that can come of living alone in a forest, separated from the support of a community, when things start to go wrong and spiral out of control. This dark film is both gripping and devastatingThe Witch realistically recreates the paranoia that can come of living alone in a forest, separated from the support of a community, when things start to go wrong and spiral out of control. This dark film is both gripping and devastating because you know what is going to happen and can see no way out of its inevitable outcome. You hope for a savior and yet you also know that none is coming. Is it a horror film? Definitely and perhaps more devastating than most because Robert Eggers, the writer and director, takes the type of story we have read and seen many times before and makes it utterly real. It is also an indictment of the type of religious belief that makes people, who are proud, independent, afraid, and starving, show no compassion but think the worst of each other, even their own children. This is a very powerful film that is in many ways an indictment of and explanation for the callous and rigid religious fanaticism that America was founded on. I have only one criticism – in his pursuit of mood and realism, Eggers let the actors slur their words, confusing the audience about what exactly is going on more than necessary. The director only got away with this because we are probably as familiar with the tales of witchcraft in colonial New England as we are with Jack the Ripper. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
9
wcrosherFeb 19, 2016
Incredibly well-acted, beautifully shot, and with a gripping score, The Witch is a tremendously terrifying film with some legitimate drama tied in. This movie consistently created extreme tension, and is definitely one of the best horrorIncredibly well-acted, beautifully shot, and with a gripping score, The Witch is a tremendously terrifying film with some legitimate drama tied in. This movie consistently created extreme tension, and is definitely one of the best horror films I have seen in the last few years. Expand
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
5
SuperstoneFeb 21, 2016
I was extremely let down by this movie. All the critic reviews claimed that it was terrifying and thought-provoking, but it is not. There are some beautiful scenes and some creepy images, but that seems to be all there is. The charactersI was extremely let down by this movie. All the critic reviews claimed that it was terrifying and thought-provoking, but it is not. There are some beautiful scenes and some creepy images, but that seems to be all there is. The characters in the movie don't react to anything, you never get the sense that the father is someone who would have been banished from a New England colony and they never go into why they are out there. The main characters are all well-acted, but since none of them have an arch, it doesn't matter. There's no story being driven forward by the characters, it's just things happening and aren't they scary? No. Not really. Even the one feeble jump scare that seemed to get everyone in the theater was ultimately made pointless by the reveal at the end. I was trying to think of why it was just not very satisfying and maybe I wasn't getting it (I'm sure "real" critics would argue that very idea), but after we left the theater, a girl walking nearby who had just seen it just said "that was the worst movie I've ever seen", and I started laughing because, yeah, I wanted to like it like the professional critics seem to, but I don't. It's not entertaining, it's not interesting, it's well-made like a stock photo is well-made. Parts seem to point to a whole, but there's no more to be had. Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
10
NickLikesMoviesMar 3, 2016
The Witch is a genuinely terrifying horror film that shows how religion and faith can be much scarier than a loud noise on a video camera.
A new horror movie staple. I love, love, love this film. Go see it!!!!
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticFeb 22, 2016
Dark and ominous is the feeling you get while watching The Witch. More than your typical jump scare horror film with The Witch most of the scares come psychologically. A-
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
dlittlejohnFeb 29, 2016
The Witch was fantastic. The acting, even amongst the child actors, was great. The score was creepy. The story was really suspenseful. I'll agree with a lot of the others here who say that it wasn't very scary. However, it didn't feel like itThe Witch was fantastic. The acting, even amongst the child actors, was great. The score was creepy. The story was really suspenseful. I'll agree with a lot of the others here who say that it wasn't very scary. However, it didn't feel like it was supposed to be overly scary. They didn't resort to cheap tricks or anything. They just told a really creepy story. It also didn't feel like it had been done before a million times. It was a fresh perspective of witch folklore. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
6
LBJ6Feb 21, 2016
I was expecting more from this film based on the critical acclaim it garnered but left the theater disappointed. The movie is definitely well-made and original but it seemed somewhat uninteresting. I thoroughly enjoyed the concept but feelI was expecting more from this film based on the critical acclaim it garnered but left the theater disappointed. The movie is definitely well-made and original but it seemed somewhat uninteresting. I thoroughly enjoyed the concept but feel the creators did not deliver a product that reached its full potential. Highly unsettling and disturbing throughout but just not very scary or interesting. 5.9/10. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
10
ProteusFeb 24, 2016
Mystery/Thriller not a Horror film. Wrong genre is being given. Complex and perfectly crafted. Everything about this film exudes quality - the acting, production design, editing, pacing, sound and story. To be both complicated and highMystery/Thriller not a Horror film. Wrong genre is being given. Complex and perfectly crafted. Everything about this film exudes quality - the acting, production design, editing, pacing, sound and story. To be both complicated and high quality is tough and the director pulled it off. Satisfying ending.

Go see this movie is you like a perfect Mystery/Thriller. Highly recommended.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
NousernamesMar 1, 2016
Metal. As. F**k This movie is weird, very weird, after the 3rd scene, the entire audience audibly said "what did I just watch" lots of people hated it, but I LOVE IT. I loved everything about this movie. The shots are beautiful, very creepy,Metal. As. F**k This movie is weird, very weird, after the 3rd scene, the entire audience audibly said "what did I just watch" lots of people hated it, but I LOVE IT. I loved everything about this movie. The shots are beautiful, very creepy, no jump out parts. My perfect movie. This movie is as metal as you can get :) Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
1
equinoxiaMay 20, 2016
it's a howling mess...right from the large passages of unintelligible dialogue to the hilarious witch tropes like gnarly old moondancing women who straddle broomsticks and take off into the night sky. but it's just the sort of sundanceit's a howling mess...right from the large passages of unintelligible dialogue to the hilarious witch tropes like gnarly old moondancing women who straddle broomsticks and take off into the night sky. but it's just the sort of sundance trifle that causes a stir and a tsunami of gushing praise by a large group of critics apparently overcome in the throes of mass hysteria.

is it supposed to be some kind of stroke of iconoclastic genius that fevered religiosity should end up bringing down upon itself the terrors of which it constantly warns its flock? far too much to hope that the makers of this film might not be such blatant panderers, and that they might have something original--or at least brave--to say on the subject.
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
9
Mack_FraserFeb 22, 2016
The Witch is not your typical horror movie. It has more in common with the work of Kubrick and Tarkovsky than the most recent Saw or Paranormal Activities sequel. It's deliberately paced, painstakingly detailed, impeccably researched and moreThe Witch is not your typical horror movie. It has more in common with the work of Kubrick and Tarkovsky than the most recent Saw or Paranormal Activities sequel. It's deliberately paced, painstakingly detailed, impeccably researched and more concerned with existential horror than jump scares. If you are willing to give yourself over to the film, the rewards are great. However, if you come into this film with preconceived notions of what a horror film should be, you will probably be disappointed Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
2
Rebecca31Mar 12, 2016
This film has been receiving amazing reviews since last year, it's been described as terrifying, haunting etc. I guess I must have been watching a completely different movie. 1 hour and 32 minutes of sitting there wondering what in the hellThis film has been receiving amazing reviews since last year, it's been described as terrifying, haunting etc. I guess I must have been watching a completely different movie. 1 hour and 32 minutes of sitting there wondering what in the hell am I watching? It starts off slow and when it eventually starts to pick up it never takes you anywhere finally diving headfirst into the trap so many of these movies fall into, a chaotic ending. This is all atmosphere and not much else, in fact there is nothing else, it leaves you with a sense of dread for the whole movie but that's it, no story and terrible dialogue. Is it really too much to ask for a good horror movie? Apparently it is. I expect a certain kind of standard for this genre and The Witch doesn't even come close, not recommended. Expand
9 of 18 users found this helpful99
All this user's reviews
0
jazibkhanMay 22, 2016
this movie is boring i dont know what is the horror in it, i think all the critics were drunk or high while watching the movie.This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Do not believe the critic reviews. This movie is boring, slow, and thethis movie is boring i dont know what is the horror in it, i think all the critics were drunk or high while watching the movie.This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Do not believe the critic reviews. This movie is boring, slow, and the characters are not only annoying, but most of the time I could not even understand them due to their accents. Stay FAR away from this trash. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
9
dbwingcoFeb 22, 2016
Incredible. As far as being a period piece, it rivals The Revenant for authenticity. As a horror piece, it delivers on all levels. And maybe a nomination for Best Supporting Actress by Anja Taylor-Joy? She was riveting.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 20, 2016
The Witch uses its best-in-detailed moments to perfectly describe its perfect storyline and it also uses the best effects any horror movie can have in a movie since who even knows the last movie.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
silvercloud9Feb 29, 2016
Powerful, deeply unsettling, eerily beautiful, and profoundly creepy. Also brilliantly directed and scripted, and perfectly acted, edited, shot, and scored. This is a superbly made, thematically complex, and startlingly, uncompromisinglyPowerful, deeply unsettling, eerily beautiful, and profoundly creepy. Also brilliantly directed and scripted, and perfectly acted, edited, shot, and scored. This is a superbly made, thematically complex, and startlingly, uncompromisingly original horror movie, the best since It Follows, and, similarly a masterpiece. Yes, horror movie-- obviously a very subjective notion; personally i've been creeped out for days since i saw it. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
4
VideoGameJunkieFeb 29, 2016
Evil Dead was an independent horror movie. The Witch is not. I knew nothing about this movie going into it except that it was a horror movie. It started out OK- excellent creepiness when The Witch of the Wood stole the baby, but that'sEvil Dead was an independent horror movie. The Witch is not. I knew nothing about this movie going into it except that it was a horror movie. It started out OK- excellent creepiness when The Witch of the Wood stole the baby, but that's where the horror ended. The rest was a drawn out "beautifully crafted" drama typical of independent movies- but the only thing I was scared of, was falling asleep. It appeared the cast and crew made a true effort to recreate the detail of the time period. The acting, costumes, set design were all good. The only reason I'm rating this movie as a disappointment is because it was sold as something else and didn't deliver. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
MaxmigueMay 30, 2016
total waste of time / money. This movie was sold as a terror film, but it is not. So much ads and stuff to sell this movie. Please do not watch.
I felt very disapointed after watching it.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
tjman09Feb 24, 2016
The Witch is a good movie, but it also has a very narrow audience. For those that love slow, yet tense, horror films that are as bizarre as they are scary, this film is for you. The Witch is unnerving, super realistic, and wacky to a fault. IThe Witch is a good movie, but it also has a very narrow audience. For those that love slow, yet tense, horror films that are as bizarre as they are scary, this film is for you. The Witch is unnerving, super realistic, and wacky to a fault. I will say that the film’s writer and director Robert Eggers did an amazing job for a directorial debut, and he is undoubtedly a force to watch in the future.

From the opening scene of the film to the very end the film is unnerving. The film is quite slow, but never really boring, because the filmmakers did a great job creating a very tense tone. The tone is essentially formed from three major elements of the movie, the bone-chilling music, the ominous cinematography (especially in the forest), and the always noticeable presence of darkness lurking. In this film the titular character isn’t in the film often, but their presence is felt. Combine that with the excruciating attention to detail, and the film takes on a sense of reality.

The film is extremely realistic, and that is because Eggers took the time, and had the attention to detail to make the film as realistic as possible. While the dialogue may distract some, it is exactly how people used to talk in the colonial era. The lighting is usually dim, but is to is realistic as the film is literally made to look as if it’s being lit by candlelight or moonlight. The actors were on point, most likely due to great direction, and the sets were almost exactly what one would expect things to look like back then. That kind of dedication, deserves respect, but it also helps the audience get lost in the filmic world.

However, the film is downright wacky, and in some ways that’s great, and in others it hurt the film a little. The film is unlike anything I’ve ever seen before, in an interview Eggers said his original pitch was “too weird, or too obscure” considering the film he made, I want to see that film because this one was wonderfully obscure and weird. However, the film was a little hard to follow, at times it felt as though too many things would happen in a short period filled with moments of confusion, which did help reinforce the insanity the characters were growing into, but made it harder to follow.
It may not have helped the film, but as an observation, the film was devoid of humor. In the end, the film is original, unnerving, realistic, very well made, but does have an obscure feeling to it. The cinematography is beautiful, the filmmakers had an amazing attention to detail, and horror fans will most likely like the film. If you like the wacky, weird, obscure horror films that don’t rely on cliches and jump scares, check this film out.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
iceman00nMar 23, 2016
This movie gets a 2 for the cinematographer, and Period perfect setting. They got those 2 things right, especially the camera work. This movie is boring. So VERY BORING! It was only an hour and a half, but felt twice as long. This is reallyThis movie gets a 2 for the cinematographer, and Period perfect setting. They got those 2 things right, especially the camera work. This movie is boring. So VERY BORING! It was only an hour and a half, but felt twice as long. This is really not a horror movie, as much as a period film about early American settlers. Please don't listen to the hype. Save your money. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
KirbyehMar 4, 2016
This was masterfully written and directed slow yes but if you like steady build up and finer details in a movie then this is the movie for you. At the end it gave one a pleasant mood. What a terrific film. People are used to Hollywood styledThis was masterfully written and directed slow yes but if you like steady build up and finer details in a movie then this is the movie for you. At the end it gave one a pleasant mood. What a terrific film. People are used to Hollywood styled movies these days. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
jrodfilmsMar 7, 2016
took me back to the blair witch project. i think it couldve been a little scarier though. but one of the best horror films in a while. the score is amazing.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
MarsTaylorMar 2, 2016
One of the most famous acronyms in the world is TULIP. It is a mnemonic device which represents the five basic tenets of Calvinism. For anyone who has been bewitched into believing any or all of these preposterous "points" I highly recommendOne of the most famous acronyms in the world is TULIP. It is a mnemonic device which represents the five basic tenets of Calvinism. For anyone who has been bewitched into believing any or all of these preposterous "points" I highly recommend that you risk having your cage rattled by this instant horror classic. It brilliantly depicts how difficult the "perseverance" of many a saint doth prove to be. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
kaorisanMar 12, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not a Horror imo. Loved the use of Old English but nothing about it was scary. I see some reviews say sense of dread etc, but I got none of that at all, I was very dissappointed, no insight into why he was banished and the ending, well, say no more Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
MalexandrewsMar 25, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Leaving the screening of this movie, I heard some teenagers snickering and deriding the movie, claiming it was “boring” and that they “couldn’t understand a single word.” Hearing that made me sad.

Story, for me, takes precedent over all else. Everything must serve the script. If a movie is slow, that doesn't mean nothing is happening. A slow shot of a wagon moving away civilization and towards a menacing expanse of dark woods isn’t boring. In fact, as the haunting choir voices and dissonant strings mount their haunting crescendo, it becomes almost unbearably tense and the perfect note to kick off this terrifying tale. I’ve heard people say, “It was nothing like the trailer” or “I was expecting something scary”. If I was expecting something more high-octane out of my horror, then I’d be hesitant about attending a movie set in 1600’s Massachusetts.

The subtitle of this film is “A New-England Folktale” and that perfectly encapsulates the tone of the story. What can we expect from a Folktale? An innocent child. Temptation from a nameless evil. Malevolent or violent parents or step parents, usually who die. Talking or otherwise humanized animals, and an atmosphere of magic. The story of “The Witch” is so simple, that is perhaps what people are finding, what? Boring? Slow? Somehow not enough? But a simple story is not a bad story, especially when it’s told as well as “The Witch”

Blanket statements like, “It’s not scary” or “I couldn’t understand what they were saying” are not criticisms of the movie. They are non-critiques. Obviously, what is “scary” about a movie is subjective, but if a horror movie wasn’t as scary or gory or fast-paced as you were expecting, that doesn’t make it bad. And it doesn’t make you some kind of brave hero or disaffected callous soul if you declare you aren’t scared by something, in fact, if that’s all you’re seeing, then you are ignoring the other aspects of the movie that make it better than just a “scary movie.” And as for not understanding the Old English, a movie shouldn’t have to pander to an audience. If English is your first language, every word they are speaking is in your native tongue, you shouldn’t need subtitles to get through it. I’ll admit I can’t follow every single word of Shakespeare either, but that doesn’t make the story impossible to follow. Again, if every part of the movie serves the script, you can’t get lost. If anything, these blanket statements criticize the critics themselves. It says, “I’m narrow-minded, and if I can’t get an adrenaline fix from a movie I’ll dismiss it completely, heaven forbid I’m expected to think about anything other than how comfortable I am with the movie.” It’s a horror movie, you’re supposed to be uncomfortable.

This review is extremely condescending. Good. The people who don't like this movie because it's "too indie" or "artsy" or "not scary" deserve to be spoken down to if they can't raise or broaden their view to appreciate something that, while objectively may not be scary enough for you, is subjectively a masterfully crafted story.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
BIGWIGGLYSTYLEApr 10, 2016
Not your typical horror movie you that is pumped out nowadays. That being said this movie is a real horror treat that! The acting and the script is pulled masterfully from the time period and really draws you in! The movie lacks any clicheNot your typical horror movie you that is pumped out nowadays. That being said this movie is a real horror treat that! The acting and the script is pulled masterfully from the time period and really draws you in! The movie lacks any cliche jump scares and instead draws you in with the setting and the pure creepiness. Definitely worth seeing unless you would rather go see paranormal activity 12 or something. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
ComeAgainOct 23, 2016
Watched this movie with a couple of friends and had the WTF look at the start of the credits. Horror? Non-existent. Not even thrilling. Just plain boring. The movie starts off slow and ends with the complete opposite of a bang. Any positiveWatched this movie with a couple of friends and had the WTF look at the start of the credits. Horror? Non-existent. Not even thrilling. Just plain boring. The movie starts off slow and ends with the complete opposite of a bang. Any positive reviews should be ignored. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
SeaofMar 25, 2017
Don't waste your time on this one. All the good reviews are complete bafoons. The Witch is one of the worst movies i have ever seen, made worse by the fact that most people say its a must watch. Kinda getting your hopes up for a chillingDon't waste your time on this one. All the good reviews are complete bafoons. The Witch is one of the worst movies i have ever seen, made worse by the fact that most people say its a must watch. Kinda getting your hopes up for a chilling horror/mystery movie, but it's none of those thing. Movie is just one boring scene leading in to another boring scene. Well, except for that one really disturbing scene that everyone is saying made them uncomfortable. And it does, im not gonna lie, but so would filming a roadkill squirrel for ten minutes while maggots its its intestants(that's not in the movie btw). In all this movie is a bland period piece that had some intresting elements, but wasted everything on boring dialogue and story. It has nice cinematograpy though, not that it pulls this movie out of the gutter. 2/10 Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
HorrorseekerAug 28, 2019
An unconventional boring mess with very slowly pacing poor script and direction that should and is very forgotten Horror film
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
stiffneckApr 17, 2016
Great concept..but poorly delivered.The writer clearly had an opening, a witch and an ending...but he was guilty of not knowing how to write inbetween.

I'm often left perplexed by the alleged professional critiques...are they paid ?
Great concept..but poorly delivered.The writer clearly had an opening, a witch and an ending...but he was guilty of not knowing how to write inbetween.

I'm often left perplexed by the alleged professional critiques...are they paid ?
Elegant writers maybe.. connoisseurs not of 1959 Bordeaux...rather ,costcutters piss.Concentrating on the finger up their arse than what they just watched.
Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
2
BazzaApr 11, 2016
Seriously, how does this get such rave reviews? I am totally perplexed that even users on here are saying things like 'stunning', 'fantastic', 'beautiful' when it's anything but. I have to admit, the acting is very, very good but the story isSeriously, how does this get such rave reviews? I am totally perplexed that even users on here are saying things like 'stunning', 'fantastic', 'beautiful' when it's anything but. I have to admit, the acting is very, very good but the story is almost non-existent. You'd expect a movie containing witches to be very mysterious and creepy and this requires subtlety to execute - there is none. It's in your face, silly moments like the witch appearing and cackling that renders it devoid of subtlety - just look at The Blair Witch, totally creepy despite not actually seeing the adversary. Almost all of the cinema were baffled by what they were watching. I think the people posting 9s and 10s either watched a totally different movie or simply have very low standards to begin with. Do not waste your time and money. Expand
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
10
GBEFeb 21, 2016
Before I write anything more, it should be note that this movie is not for everyone. If you have trouble with long takes or impenetrably difficult accents and dialogue, you should probably see something else. If you are the kind of personBefore I write anything more, it should be note that this movie is not for everyone. If you have trouble with long takes or impenetrably difficult accents and dialogue, you should probably see something else. If you are the kind of person who likes to be immersed in atmosphere, then there is nothing out there better than this movie. I was spellbound. The acting, production design, cinematography and ESPECIALLY the score/sound design were top notch. And it lingered with me. Cannot wait to see it again. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
jerradwolfFeb 21, 2016
THIS IS NOT A HORROR MOVIE! this movie is a period drama with horror elements based on old English folktales of witches. if you like a good movie with great acting and a super creepy atmosphere, this movie is for you. however, it is hard toTHIS IS NOT A HORROR MOVIE! this movie is a period drama with horror elements based on old English folktales of witches. if you like a good movie with great acting and a super creepy atmosphere, this movie is for you. however, it is hard to understand their accent sometimes. if anyone actually has some intelligence, you will be ready for this nice change in cinema Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
8
dispencer187Feb 25, 2016
I thought this movie was great. It is more disturbing horror than shock/jump horror. The pacing did get a little slow in the middle which is why I only gave it an 8. Everything else in the film was spot on though and there were someI thought this movie was great. It is more disturbing horror than shock/jump horror. The pacing did get a little slow in the middle which is why I only gave it an 8. Everything else in the film was spot on though and there were some shocking/disturbing scenes that will resonate long after the movie is over. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
jelly37Feb 27, 2016
Brilliantly creepy: a film that will stay in your head for a while. There are shots and split second images in this film that will rattle you. The ending of the film which is extremely memorable,maybe even polarizing,has stuck with me longBrilliantly creepy: a film that will stay in your head for a while. There are shots and split second images in this film that will rattle you. The ending of the film which is extremely memorable,maybe even polarizing,has stuck with me long after seeing this dazzling film. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
HogoldFeb 21, 2016
Has to be the worst movie my wife and I have paid money to see. Have no idea how anyone could rate this above a five and that is if you like to only understand half the spoken word and don't care about a story line. The actors did the bestHas to be the worst movie my wife and I have paid money to see. Have no idea how anyone could rate this above a five and that is if you like to only understand half the spoken word and don't care about a story line. The actors did the best they could with the script and story line. Nothing special about the scenery are cinematography. A waste of two hours and $20. Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
2
baileyjonesMar 19, 2016
If you the type of film-goer who likes Indie films because they are Indie films then you should go see this film. If you are someone looking for entertainment skip it. If you do decide to go brush up on your old english beforehand because theIf you the type of film-goer who likes Indie films because they are Indie films then you should go see this film. If you are someone looking for entertainment skip it. If you do decide to go brush up on your old english beforehand because the entire dialogue is spoken as someone who lived in the late 1600's or early 1700's would speak and hard to understand. Indie film buffs will appreciate that authenticity but my wife and kept leaning over to each other asking "what did they just say" Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
10
Nick530Feb 27, 2016
Superb acting and an extremely unnerving atmosphere make this movie one of the best I've seen in the past few years. It's not a typical "jump scare" horror movie, this movie invokes a kind of fear that is very rare in movies recently. ItSuperb acting and an extremely unnerving atmosphere make this movie one of the best I've seen in the past few years. It's not a typical "jump scare" horror movie, this movie invokes a kind of fear that is very rare in movies recently. It starts out a bit slow but overall this is a very unique and refreshing horror film. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
edmetacriticMar 28, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is in a word the worst film I've seen in a while.I just came back from the film The Witch. It is in a word the worst film I've seen in a while. The premise is a Puritan family goes into the woods and basically their mental illness grows unchecked. Imaging spending 90 minutes watching the Manson Family talking about Jesus this and God that and then they want you to feel bad for these freaks. The only sane one is the sole survivor and becomes one of the witches. The only things that were good were the acting and the atmosphere. The music was terrible and over the top and apparently random in where it wants to be scary. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
racemauiApr 21, 2016
this so lame as well as hard to understand at times. the best actors were the chickens.... the best part was SPOILER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

the naked women at the end thats why a 1 dont really care if i spoil it cause it wasted 2
this so lame as well as hard to understand at times. the best actors were the chickens.... the best part was SPOILER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

the naked women at the end thats why a 1
dont really care if i spoil it cause it wasted 2 hours of my life and $20 bucks because i lost my appetite and could not finish my popcorn....
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
SnowDayFeb 20, 2016
This is a truly terrifying film. When I say "terrifying" I am not referring to cheap jump-scares or countless amounts of gore. I am referring to sublime acting, atmospheric chills, and the devilish tone of Satan himself. Take a chance andThis is a truly terrifying film. When I say "terrifying" I am not referring to cheap jump-scares or countless amounts of gore. I am referring to sublime acting, atmospheric chills, and the devilish tone of Satan himself. Take a chance and watch The Witch. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
1
AcaciaMar 9, 2016
Everyone that went with me to see this dud hated it. including me. It may have had about five or ten minutes of creeps, but that wasn't enough for any of us to enjoy this gawdawful thing. Save your money. Boring and way too long.Everyone that went with me to see this dud hated it. including me. It may have had about five or ten minutes of creeps, but that wasn't enough for any of us to enjoy this gawdawful thing. Save your money. Boring and way too long. Nothing made any sense. All I ask from any movie is to be entertained. THis movie was not enertaining at all. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
6
SergioVFeb 20, 2016
Eggers does a great job at setting up the scenes and transporting you back to the 1600's, the acting is wonderful, and the writing is truly authentic. However, that's where the praise ends. The movie itself was too slow, the dialogue was hardEggers does a great job at setting up the scenes and transporting you back to the 1600's, the acting is wonderful, and the writing is truly authentic. However, that's where the praise ends. The movie itself was too slow, the dialogue was hard to understand and keep up with, and the ending leaves major questions unanswered. 6/10. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
2
GoTV32May 6, 2016
Some props for creating a certain level of spookiness at some points and the acting was pretty good, but overall crap and a chore to watch. Astonished by the rave reviews, it truly weakened my faith in websites like these. Some of the" scary"Some props for creating a certain level of spookiness at some points and the acting was pretty good, but overall crap and a chore to watch. Astonished by the rave reviews, it truly weakened my faith in websites like these. Some of the" scary" moments were laughable. End climax scene was a joke. We rarely get to theaters for grown up movies because we have young kids, and this made feel like I wasted a trip. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
0
dking234Feb 27, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I went to see this based on the user reviews here. I honestly don't know what all these other lovely folks saw that I didn't, but this is a genuinely awful movie. And it certainly doesn't qualify as horror. It plods along from one happening to the next and never really resolves. Let me save you the trouble: an ultra-religious family is banned from their community and goes to live alone. Bad things happen. At last we discover there is an entire coven of naked dancing witches living in the woods, who must be the cause of all the bad stuff. After the rest of her family dies, formerly innocent Daughter Thomasin elects to join them for reasons unexplained, and they all float into the sky. WTF? At that point my son leaned over to me and said, "I hope this isn't the end," and then the credits began to roll. Everyone in our theater guffawed and left shaking their heads. The one bright spot is highly attractive actress Anya Taylor-Joy, who plays Thomasin and whose skills seem solid. Kate Dickey merely reprises her role as (Game of Thrones) loony tune Lysa Arryn. Bottom line: choose another movie. Any other movie. Or stay home and watch On Demand. Even that would be time better spent. Expand
7 of 17 users found this helpful710
All this user's reviews
0
LastCzarianFeb 19, 2016
Terrible movie
Slow pace movie that leaves you scratching you head at the end.
I found it hard to understand the father as his deep voice didn't carry good.
Based on a folktale that should have not been made as a movie
9 of 22 users found this helpful913
All this user's reviews
1
WonderfulmomFeb 21, 2016
If you like scary movies, this one was awful. Actors and actresses speak in Old English and you can barely understand what is being said. Boring. Waaay too much talking. Much more talking than action. The lady next to my husband fell asleepIf you like scary movies, this one was awful. Actors and actresses speak in Old English and you can barely understand what is being said. Boring. Waaay too much talking. Much more talking than action. The lady next to my husband fell asleep and was snoring. The ending was stupid and the audience came out saying "what the frick was that and laughing." How anyone could give this 3 stars and above, I will never know. Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
3
saulotFeb 22, 2016
This is not a horror movie by any standard. People equate this to babdook which I really enjoyed both the horror and psychological aspects. But this movie is slow and dull with no horror aspects and isn't interesting in any way. acting wasThis is not a horror movie by any standard. People equate this to babdook which I really enjoyed both the horror and psychological aspects. But this movie is slow and dull with no horror aspects and isn't interesting in any way. acting was okay but hard to understand at times. Reviews of above 7 have to be insiders or paid as there in no way anyone could believe this deserves better than 7. Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
3
MovieWasAPileFeb 24, 2016
I don't know what movie most of these people who gave this a 10 were watching. I was watching an extremely slow (though well acted movie). The dialogue was tough to understand, not because the actors were not doing a good job, but becauseI don't know what movie most of these people who gave this a 10 were watching. I was watching an extremely slow (though well acted movie). The dialogue was tough to understand, not because the actors were not doing a good job, but because they were using old English phrasing and speaking rather lightly. I can forgive this based on authenticity. What I can't forgive is that this was marketed as a horror movie and was anything but. It consistently hyped suspense, and consistently fell flat at pivotal moments that could have scared the **** out of the audience. Based on the looks and commentary of other people walking out of the movie theatre everyone was having a "What The **** moment, and certainly not in a good way. I have felt like this many times, usually after M. Night Shyamalan films.Critics are getting this one wrong, and any user reviews giving this tightly coiled turd 10 are hipster deuchebags who "really liked the ambiance". That being said, there were SOME redeeming qualities (Acting) so I didn't COMPLETELY eviscerate it on the score. Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
3
GuidesteveMar 10, 2016
Good acting by all of the cast........their actual way of speaking for the time period is a little hard to understand at first but by the end of the picture you can understand them.......but the story seemed to drag and the so called suspenseGood acting by all of the cast........their actual way of speaking for the time period is a little hard to understand at first but by the end of the picture you can understand them.......but the story seemed to drag and the so called suspense is tepid at best...........save your money.......wait for the DVD........ Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews