Netflix | Release Date: November 1, 2019
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 862 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
709
Mixed:
77
Negative:
76
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
shoulderoforionNov 28, 2019
The Irishman was alright, but just alright, capice. After you've seen all the mob movies, and especially the ones from Scorsese, you've seen this before, done better. This time you get taken out of the narrative by "de-aging" CGI that makesThe Irishman was alright, but just alright, capice. After you've seen all the mob movies, and especially the ones from Scorsese, you've seen this before, done better. This time you get taken out of the narrative by "de-aging" CGI that makes everyone's face look like plastic monsters with glowing blue eyes. I don't know what's going on anymore when the professional critics are giving this mediocre piece of work a 94. I give it a Meh. The most dishonest part of this movie is the main character acting as if he's an "omerta" guy far after everybody else is dead, but then again, we wouldn't have had this movie if Sheeran hadn't started telling anybody who would listen, his and every body else's story which was published in the book "I Heard You Paint Houses". Expand
16 of 18 users found this helpful162
All this user's reviews
1
sweens112Nov 26, 2019
A huge (and lengthy) swing and a miss from Scorsese, De Niro, and Netflix. The plot was meandering and directionless, the writing stale and regurgitated. There were several scenes involving dialogue between two characters in which they arguedA huge (and lengthy) swing and a miss from Scorsese, De Niro, and Netflix. The plot was meandering and directionless, the writing stale and regurgitated. There were several scenes involving dialogue between two characters in which they argued about minor inconsequential details, repeating those details back to one another through numerous camera changes, and the viewer is left wondering, "Did I just sit through 30 seconds of another meaningless conversation about whether the mob ‘really means it this time'"? I would need to watch those scenes again to be sure (I won't) but it didn't seem like those scenes had any higher purpose other than showcasing the editor's boredom with the subject matter (or maybe Netflix's budgetary desire to limit the best directors and actors of our generation to one take).

Aside from complaints about De Niro's believability as Irish, his acting was wooden. Pacino occasionally shone as Jimmy Hoffa despite some difficult dialogue, Joe Pesci was solid in an understated performance, and Stephen Graham turned in a typically excellent, nuanced portrayal of simmering anger beneath an outwardly gregarious exterior. There are a couple superior moments, one involving a vodka-spiked watermelon, and another with some great dialogue between Louis Cancelmi and the perpetually confused Jesse Plemons regarding the provenance of a nonexistent fish. Ray Romano was largely forgettable—although that may have been the point—but appearances by Anna Paquin, Harvey Keitel, and Bobby Canivale were entirely wasted. At three hours and thirty minutes long, I kept hoping there was enough time for a clear throughline to emerge, but as the movie shifted in the last half hour to bludgeoning the viewer over the head with scenes of a man contemplating his death and haggling over caskets, I realized that like De Niro's Irishman, there would be no redemption for this movie. Instead, it is simply Scorsese's meandering, aimless final run with some of his mobster-portraying pals.

Unfortunately The Irishman is not even close to being in the same league as his other work. If you'll excuse me, I need to go watch Goodfellas, Gangs of New York, and The Departed on repeat for the next several days to erase the memory of this dud. It'll be a much better use of my (and anyone else's) time.
Expand
23 of 41 users found this helpful2318
All this user's reviews
10
MarcDoyleNov 2, 2019
What an incredible film - an epic. The performances, across the board, are tremendous. So amazing to see Jonathan Morris back in his vestments, by the way. He provides a subtle but important frame to the film - nice uroboros. Joe Pesci isWhat an incredible film - an epic. The performances, across the board, are tremendous. So amazing to see Jonathan Morris back in his vestments, by the way. He provides a subtle but important frame to the film - nice uroboros. Joe Pesci is just phenomenal - I truly hope he picks up at least a supporting actor nom for his performance, if not a win. The dialogue is pitch-perfect. Just an amazing job by Scorsese. Expand
18 of 36 users found this helpful1818
All this user's reviews
6
svegressNov 28, 2019
Sure, a good movie...but only when streamed to a home screen. A breakless 3 hrs 30 min in a cinema is too long for a dubious yarn based on the geriatric memory of an American mobster. Scorsese's earlier Casino & Goodfellas were shorter &Sure, a good movie...but only when streamed to a home screen. A breakless 3 hrs 30 min in a cinema is too long for a dubious yarn based on the geriatric memory of an American mobster. Scorsese's earlier Casino & Goodfellas were shorter & more densely packed Expand
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
4
RjunosukeNov 28, 2019
In which a geriatric unironically refers to another geriatric as "kid". Also, Pacino reprises his role from "Jack and Jill".
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
4
OlivierPielNov 29, 2019
Very sad to see Scorsese, De Niro and Pacino go under in this meandering, bloated, repetitive mess of a film. At least Pesci is touching as one knows this is the end of his (not his character).
And that is the point: We watch these 3.5 hrs
Very sad to see Scorsese, De Niro and Pacino go under in this meandering, bloated, repetitive mess of a film. At least Pesci is touching as one knows this is the end of his (not his character).
And that is the point: We watch these 3.5 hrs out of nostalgia. We are not watching a film, but some old friends reminding us of what they were, and which will disappear soon. It has a very wretched depressing Quixotic feel...
Expand
12 of 18 users found this helpful126
All this user's reviews
5
stewdawgNov 28, 2019
The plodding and elegiac parts may put some to sleep but now that it can be streamed, you can always stop the action for relief. Not necessary to see on the big screen if you have Netflix. Good performances are worth watching. Why didn'tThe plodding and elegiac parts may put some to sleep but now that it can be streamed, you can always stop the action for relief. Not necessary to see on the big screen if you have Netflix. Good performances are worth watching. Why didn't Peggy (Anna Paquin) have more say or were her facial expressions enough for the film's moments of conscience? Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
4
Elliot2408Nov 28, 2019
3.5 hrs of Boredom, this movie drags. The characters are uninteresting and is outright bland
11 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
6
HMF_47Nov 28, 2019
Al Pacino is having the time of his life here, but this just leads me to reinforce my opinion that Scorsese is at his best when he's *not* telling stories about navel-gazing crooks.
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
5
gxm143Nov 30, 2019
Great performances, but best movie of the year? Not even in the top 5, imo, amongst what I've seen. Very little drama, suspense, or emotion. And the women in the film speak about 5 lines. I was supremely disappointed.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
ArkHamSandwichNov 27, 2019
This film is a perfect example of what happens when the greats work past their prime. The 1st act is good, but then Al Pacino chews the scenery and the film gets boring and bogged down in a political drama. The CGI is incredible when makingThis film is a perfect example of what happens when the greats work past their prime. The 1st act is good, but then Al Pacino chews the scenery and the film gets boring and bogged down in a political drama. The CGI is incredible when making Robert De Niro more youthful, yet completely lazy and half-assed with simple things like glass breaking, or someone getting shot; there were scenes in which I couldn't tell whether I was watching Scorsese or Sharknado.Practical effects would have not only been cheaper to produce, but better looking. This movie was 2 hours too long. Expand
13 of 23 users found this helpful1310
All this user's reviews
2
HobbinatorDec 3, 2019
Simply put, this movie is not for me. A movie that is 210 minutes long, with actors WELL past their prime. The CGI makes the actors look fake. Simply do what they have been doing for decades, have someone else play the actors in their youngerSimply put, this movie is not for me. A movie that is 210 minutes long, with actors WELL past their prime. The CGI makes the actors look fake. Simply do what they have been doing for decades, have someone else play the actors in their younger years. I love football, but I don't want to see a 63 year old Joe Montana take the field. Where are all the up and coming directors and actors? Retro is cool as retro. But when you try to make it a part of today, it folds like a cheap chair. This movie is a one time watch for me. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
6
mnandaNov 3, 2019
Just saw this last night on the big screen and the experience was inherently contradictory. I didn't care one whit about anyone on screen or anything that was happening... yet somehow, despite the length, I remained engaged. I'm hardJust saw this last night on the big screen and the experience was inherently contradictory. I didn't care one whit about anyone on screen or anything that was happening... yet somehow, despite the length, I remained engaged. I'm hard pressed to think of a film with so much talent, made with such a high level of craft and artistry, made about people I had no investment in. It was odd. The only reason I cared at all wasn't b/c I had a relationship with the characters, but with the actors, the filmmaker and the genre. The film is intrinsically bound to its pedigree and that makes it interesting to anyone who has watched these careers unfold over lifetimes... But it doesn't make it inherently a good movie. Expand
13 of 26 users found this helpful1313
All this user's reviews
9
The3AcademySinsNov 9, 2019
The Irishman is a reflective, meditative, beautiful film from the master, Martin Scorsese. This is one of the most profound movies I have seen all year. The story is a sprawling gangster epic that truly leaves no stone un-turned. TheThe Irishman is a reflective, meditative, beautiful film from the master, Martin Scorsese. This is one of the most profound movies I have seen all year. The story is a sprawling gangster epic that truly leaves no stone un-turned. The brilliance of the story is that it does not romanticize the gangster lifestyle, but truly shows the curse of a man punished with longevity for his actions.

The acting is incredible all across the board. Robert De Niro gives a virtuoso performance. Al Pacino chews the scenery in a way that is both magnificent and desperately heartbreaking. Joe Pesci makes a triumphant return to the big screen, and he is arguably the best part of the film. The ensemble supporting cast of mobsters and political figures are all so charming and serve to fill up this world to its brim.

The de-aging technology used on De Niro, Pesci, and Pacino was expertly implemented. I actually didn't mind it at all, and it was used in such a way so that it actually served the story rather than distract from it. It's absolutely remarkable to see.

The movie is not perfect, however. It is 3 and a half hours long, and I felt every minute of that run time. I actually started to get anxious over sitting in one place for so long. Also, I felt that the way the story was told, through the characters playing telephone, got very repetitive and it sometimes sucked the life out of the movie. All in all, this is a masterpiece from a master of the craft. Definitely do not miss it!
Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
10
AmyMArtNov 5, 2019
I can't believe that I'm actually saying this, but I think this may be my new all-time favorite film.
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
1
HobsronNov 29, 2019
Denaro should spend less time on politics and more carefully considering the quality of the script
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
1
JRknowsfilmDec 2, 2019
Wow that was terrible...could not get through the first hour. Thank God it was on Netflix and I didnt have to spend a dime on it.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
5
EerieDemonbleJan 1, 2020
What is going on with all those 10/10? Are people blindly praising this movie just because it's Scorsese? It's a 6 at best. 3 and a half hours of mediocre plot, cliche characters, some good acting (Pacino) and weird-looking de aging. And asWhat is going on with all those 10/10? Are people blindly praising this movie just because it's Scorsese? It's a 6 at best. 3 and a half hours of mediocre plot, cliche characters, some good acting (Pacino) and weird-looking de aging. And as hard as they tried you can't hide the fact that our favorite actors are old. You can cover their faces with CGI but you can't de age their movement and body language. They look tired, except Pacino, that man will scream himself to the grave. I like to rewatch other Scorsese movies from time to time, because those are great films. I don't really want to rewatch "The Irishman" again. What a shame. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
egoBorderDec 4, 2019
Aside from the awful CGI de-aging effects, which don't work at all except to constantly remind the audience they're watching a famous old actor pretending to be younger, this movie is just off somehow. It doesn't have the greatest ofAside from the awful CGI de-aging effects, which don't work at all except to constantly remind the audience they're watching a famous old actor pretending to be younger, this movie is just off somehow. It doesn't have the greatest of introductions, and it suffers from bad pacing throughout. As it is, it's a challenge to remain invested in the story despite good characters and subject matter. Scorsese seems distracted here, and his usual energy is missing. Worth a watch, but given its length it will feel like a slog at times. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ger89Dec 4, 2019
Una película de mafiosos más basada en la amistad que en el poder en sí, aunque este tema se mantiene fuerte en toda la película. Es larga, y por momentos te perdés, pero la fuerza de la historia y el final, la hacen una película merecedoraUna película de mafiosos más basada en la amistad que en el poder en sí, aunque este tema se mantiene fuerte en toda la película. Es larga, y por momentos te perdés, pero la fuerza de la historia y el final, la hacen una película merecedora de una alta nota Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
Lost-SockDec 6, 2019
Ultimately this film is a tad on the boring side, and utterly self indulgent. I enjoyed the last hour or so, but the first hour in particular was a real slog to get through and I actually watched the film in 3 sittings, not due to timeUltimately this film is a tad on the boring side, and utterly self indulgent. I enjoyed the last hour or so, but the first hour in particular was a real slog to get through and I actually watched the film in 3 sittings, not due to time restraints, purely as I became too bored to continue twice. The casting of Combo from This Is England (I forget his name, some scouser) was dreadful, his attempt at the accent - I think it was New Jersey or similar, is absolutely dreadful and really stands out, easily the worst part of the film for me and he ruined every scene he was in. The real travesty in the film was the anti-aging used, it simply doesn't work. It's OK making De Niro look 50 again, but when he moves like an old man it's unintentionally hilarious, a scene where he beats someone up had me in stitches, you could blatantly tell it was an old man doing it, with some silly Toy Story style cgi making his face look younger. Of course you get the standard Rolling Stones song thrown in as per usual as well, I'm not sure if the director is unaware it's a parody now how he crowbars the same damn tune into every film he makes or he's in on the joke. I've given it a 6/10 as like I said, I enjoyed the last hour, and Joe Pesci is fantastic in it, it's really a shame he doesn't act anymore and I've really missed him the past two decades. Pacino however, well he's the same old hammy, shouty, over-acting self and it's clear why Scorsese hadn't worked with him previously - the guy can't act, and De Niro is De Niro, the man has one style no matter what role he's taking and his constant sniffing and breathing in only gets worse now he's ancient. All in all though, it's clearly a vanity project by Scorsese, and a last chance for him to get all his doddery old fart friends together before they all start dying. I'm baffled how this film is being lauded so highly, it's very mundane and in parts will make you almost fall asleep, De Niros performance is phoned in, Pacino is as awful as ever, the CGI is immersion breaking, when Gimme Shelter comes on AGAIN in a MS film you'll either laugh or roll your eyes, the Scouser playing an American stands out like a sore thumb and it's at least an hour too long. The only redeeming feature is the excellent Joe Pesci. If not for him appearing, and a decent last hour then I don't think I'd rate it any higher than a 4. It's clear to see why this ended up on Netflix, it's simply not good enough for a theatre release and people would have either walked out through sheer boredom, or fallen asleep. It'll be a real shame if this ends up being the last Scorsese film, or the last time you see Pesci and De Niro together as quite frankly, the film is dogsh**. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
nanohulkDec 8, 2019
Scorsese Masterpiece is one of his best movies that he has made in his whole life
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
CinemaCrushDec 19, 2019
To start out, I'm going to have to agree with fellow user-reviewer shoulderoforion with most things. The thing I kept thinking most while watching Scorsese's new 10 lbs slowburner in a 5 lb wet bag, was 'how can the critics be giving thisTo start out, I'm going to have to agree with fellow user-reviewer shoulderoforion with most things. The thing I kept thinking most while watching Scorsese's new 10 lbs slowburner in a 5 lb wet bag, was 'how can the critics be giving this perfect scores. Did someone pay them off?' We've seen much better in the same style coming from Marty. And as shoulderoforion mentioned, the CGI young faces just aren't working for the film. Especially with De Niro. Al Pacino really shines in this. Giving a performance that I feel the rest of the cast just couldn't muster up. It's disjointed and longwinded and these are not adjectives I'd normally use for a Scorsese picture. This isn't going to be a popular sentence, but I really feel like this was a bit of a cheap shot. You don't really have any reason to care for most of the characters but Pesci & Pacino. Even Ray Romano gave a more "there" performance than Bobby. I would say watch it, and will even give it a 6 just for the big save by Pacino (but that's only a fraction of the film), and Joe Pesci's about-face to stoic, rather than his usual Goodfellas/Casino loud mouthing lovable weasel. The Irishman works on an odd recipe that is missing so much proverbial seasoning that you get from Goodfellas, Casino, the Departed and even Mean Streets despite it's coldness and preliminary nature in the grander picture of Marty films. Watch The Irishman. Definitely. Contort your, face puzzled at the blatant CGI. Take breaks out of boredom.... it's all worth it to see Pacino bring real sentiment to the table, and sell the role so well. That's the best thing I can say about Irishman. Pacino rocked the role of Hoffa. And the rest is all quite forgettable and at times cringeworthy with the de-aging CGI. 6 out of 10. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ajzeg01Jan 10, 2020
Speaking of Netflix, they also put out an epic crime drama masterpiece by Martin Scorsese. This movie is pretty great! The performances are all excellent, the story is never slow or boring despite the 3.5 hour runtime and the effects areSpeaking of Netflix, they also put out an epic crime drama masterpiece by Martin Scorsese. This movie is pretty great! The performances are all excellent, the story is never slow or boring despite the 3.5 hour runtime and the effects are incredible! The ageing and de-ageing effects make Prometheus and TRON Legacy look worse than they already did! It’s barely noticeable, way more convincing than Tarkin and Leia in Rogue One. This movie has a very classic feel with its actors and setting and subject matter, but at the same time is original and brings the genre to the next level. It’s not just about nostalgia. Other movies should take notes. While I did find it kinda complicated and hard to follow at times, this is a must-see. It’s on Netflix, so it’s very accessible. Put an afternoon aside and give it a watch. It definitely takes you on a journey. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Proteus7xDec 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Scorsese has outdone himself with this love letter epilogue called "The Irishman". It seems as if the older Scorsese gets, the more he manages to master art and nuance of film. This mafioso period piece with remnants of politics, betrayal and survival documents the life of Frank Sheeran, a WW2 veteran who had a close affiliation with the Bufalino crime family and Jimmy Hoffa.

Based on the non-fictional book "I Heard You Paint Houses" the film, clocking in at 3 hours and 30 mins, does a brilliant job at luring the viewers into the various characters and does not feel like a lengthy film at all. The film spans over 50 years from 1950 to 2000.

Robert De Niro who plays Frank Sheeran, the main character within the film, delivers an enthralling performance from start to finish. Joe Pesci, who has stayed away from the spotlight, delivers an astounding performance playing Russell "McGee" Bufalino who's demeanor is more calm, mellow but commanding as opposed to Goodfellas and Casino. However, it is Al Pacino who plays Jimmy Hoffa that steals the show delivering a stupendous performance who has links with the mob and ultimately befriends Frank Sheeran.

Scorsese's cinematic chops are in prime form in the film, paying attention to detail in every sequence of the film, allowing the film's sequencing to run as smoothly and adequately as possible. The screenplay by Steve Zaillian is as enticing, gripping and poignant as a film can get leaving audiences with questions of their own by the end of the film. The editing, costume design and cinematography among other elements all complement each other in order to bring about life to the screen. The best way to see the film is on the big screen for the full experience, the TV screen just wont cut it but it boils down to preference.

Some people have complained about the film's length, which I have found surprising because I thought the runtime was perfect and I would not have minded if the film added an extra 10 to 20 minutes. Films like Once Upon A Time in America, Schindler's List and The Godfather 1 and 2 have all shared similar lengths and at the time of release, the length of the films were not criticised as much as this film. It shows how the attention spans of today's audience has changed. Other complaints were to do with CGI de-aging that Scorsese used on all three characters. I personally thought the technology was excellent and it really de-ages the characters really well. Viewers are able to notice the technology in the first flashback scene where Pesci and De Niro are having a conversation about the truck. However, others thought it looked phony on the characters and that it was annoying to observe. I rate this film 5/5 and urge people to see the film without any interruption. I would also emphasize that audiences see the film twice due to various information and elements in the film being missed in the first screening. I would recommend that the viewer wait a week to view it a second time. Martin Scorsese is my favorite director and I must say The Irishman has become my favorite film by the director. Congratulations Scorsese on this masterpiece!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
LouAnnDDec 2, 2019
This is a rare film that continuously captivates. Acting is superb. Every frame seems lovingly filmed. Reminds of the good old days of good movies.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BcattacbDec 7, 2019
One of Scorsese's best, and the relationship between Pacino and Deniro may be the real heart of the film, Joe Pesce's brilliant performance grounds the whole story.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
For3ver666135Dec 9, 2019
I understand that the movie is very long, but this movie portrays the time, so this time is needed for what the movie addresses, and Scorsese does it in a unique way that enchants me, this is one of the movies I liked best about my life.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
gabrielrodvilDec 20, 2019
This is the worst film of 2019. The worst movie from Scorsese. The greatest waste of movie budget in the history of movies. This is the film that the characters from The Producers would've made if instead of Springtime for Hitler they decidedThis is the worst film of 2019. The worst movie from Scorsese. The greatest waste of movie budget in the history of movies. This is the film that the characters from The Producers would've made if instead of Springtime for Hitler they decided to make a film. That's how bad this movie is. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
peymank1989Nov 1, 2019
A Master Class in Film-making This film will doubtless go down as "The Godfather" of its generation, with Pacino and De Niro both on hand to assure continuity. Neither of them has done anything remotely as brilliant as this in decades, andA Master Class in Film-making This film will doubtless go down as "The Godfather" of its generation, with Pacino and De Niro both on hand to assure continuity. Neither of them has done anything remotely as brilliant as this in decades, and the great revelation of the film, Joe Pesci, hasn't done anything at all. It has taken Scorsese's alchemy, back at its peak, to bring the three of them together in ways that surpass the sum of their considerable parts Expand
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Nov 1, 2019
Jimmy Hoffa: “I heard you paint houses.”

Frank Sheeran: “Yes, I do.” It’s a great day when you get to see a new Martin Scorsese movie, but a new gangster movie staring some of one of the greatest actors that have ever bless cinema, now
Jimmy Hoffa: “I heard you paint houses.”

Frank Sheeran: “Yes, I do.”

It’s a great day when you get to see a new Martin Scorsese movie, but a new gangster movie staring some of one of the greatest actors that have ever bless cinema, now that’s killing two birds with one bullet. I’ve said this many times before, but whenever Scorsese releases a new movie - I’m there, as I have 100% faith he will deliver something so crafted in style where his passion to create a fresh new experience for audience to slip right back into loving movies. And Scorsese has made another masterpiece.

‘The Irishman’ is an old school masterpiece. A sweeping epic that’s so rich and timely through it’s presentation that I was reminded of the likes of Coppola and Leone. Everything from the razor sharp back and forward conversations with characters, long takes, and the fantastic use of music that helps create the setting and time period.

Now let me talk about the visual effects in the movie - something that everyone including Scorsese himself was worried about. While at first it was a bit uncanny to see fresh faces from De Niro, Pacino and Pesci. The movie has a difficult task, because the entire runtime takes place in the past and occasionally it will cut back to a present day/older De Niro, aka what he looks like now, so it’s so easy to judge on the cgi wizardry. I can safely say you really get use to it after awhile and doesn’t distract from the amazing performances, as I could still feel the emotion from their faces. I bought into it and the evolution of the technical is absolutely astonishment.

Robert De Niro plays a cold, yet charismatic gangster, Frank Sheeran - a friend of Jimmy Hoffa. He follows orders to kill and dose it without a sweat. His children are afraid of him and have seen both sides of him, which would later hit him harder than a million ton of bricks. He doesn’t need to say or do anything to express the characters thoughts and feelings. Fantastic as usual.

Al Pacino plays a loud month Jimmy Hoffa that’s a huge ball of energy and reeks of desperation, which Pacino portrays beautifully. From ‘Dog Day Afternoon’, to this, it’s amazing how Pacino never lost that fiery energy that makes him so captivating to watch. The fact he’s never been in a Scorsese movie baffles me, but am loving his comeback recently.

Joe Pesci plays Russell Bufalino, a silent and collective man who sniffs out trouble and takes care of “business”. If you expect to see the nut job Pesci, then think again. He’s brilliant in the movie. It’s great seeing Pesci back after disappearing from the spotlight for a couple of years, and it’s almost like he never left at all.

With the run time of 3 hours and 29 minutes, not a single frame felt pointless. At times the length was felt, but I was never bored. Thelma Schoonmaker, the editor of Scorsese movies is a legend and needs no introduction. Without spoiling anything, but there’s an incredible scene involving a woman terrified to turn the car engine on as the camera lingers on a shot of keys hanging in the ignition waiting to be turned. When she dose there’s a sharp cut to an exploding vehicle (not hers) with the engine roaring as the sound affect. The most tense scene in the entire movie.

And the cinematography by Rodrigo Prieto was excellent with the use of color that made it visually striking.

Martin Scorsese, the man who revived the gangster genre for what it is and now he’s the one to bury it. The shot outs are often unexpected and messy - basically violence in general. Almost similar to ‘Once Upon a Time In Hollywood’, because there’s an underlining message of age and the modern generation slipping through as the old ways ain't the same anymore. You are taken through a journey of a mobster from youth to old age.

Overall rating: Cinema at its finest. I’m just in awe of the thought we got a movie like this where no other studio wouldn’t dare to touch it for some reason. What an experience.
Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
10
msideri12Nov 1, 2019
Martin Scorsese’s best in decades....absolute beast of a cast and an even better story.
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelCorleoneNov 1, 2019
Irishman is not just a movie, it's a piece of Art. Art of directing, acting, writing, editing & ...
And its gonna be happen: Al Pacino's second Oscar. let me clarify this; De Niro & Pesci are great but if I just wanna tell you frankly, this
Irishman is not just a movie, it's a piece of Art. Art of directing, acting, writing, editing & ...
And its gonna be happen: Al Pacino's second Oscar. let me clarify this; De Niro & Pesci are great but if I just wanna tell you frankly, this picture belongs to AL PACINO.
Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
10
Hussei12Nov 3, 2019
I TRULY loved the movie, my friends were astonished at the ending.
I recommend everybody to have this experience.
You will not regret it.
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
10
mazewaxieNov 1, 2019
A masterpiece. One of the greatest crime films ever. It's up there with The Godfather, The Godfather Part II and Goodfellas.
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
Lukamessi98Nov 5, 2019
One word... MASTERPIECE.
Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Joe pesci under the magnificent Martin Scorsese.
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
chanmyaekyaw123Nov 5, 2019
best mobster movie of Martin Scorsese's career. De-aging is also acceptable.
Worth to collect the oscars.
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
9
goodfellas100Nov 1, 2019
Classis Scorsese! When you watch a film over three and a half hours long and it never tires, you know you've witnessed a brilliant movie. You would be insane to miss this on the big screen. For me it doesn't quite match the genius ofClassis Scorsese! When you watch a film over three and a half hours long and it never tires, you know you've witnessed a brilliant movie. You would be insane to miss this on the big screen. For me it doesn't quite match the genius of Goodfellas. But I know many people would disagree with me. Expand
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
1
cubanmuscle9Dec 1, 2019
Worthless, senseless, violent, predictable, boring, walked out of the movie 45 mins into it. Deniro used to be a great actor but now he is a prost!tute making films that contradict everything he says he hates about Trump. Its the 21st CenturyWorthless, senseless, violent, predictable, boring, walked out of the movie 45 mins into it. Deniro used to be a great actor but now he is a prost!tute making films that contradict everything he says he hates about Trump. Its the 21st Century and here Deniro romanticizes life as a loudmouth, racist, bully CGI old man who uses Catholicism as a predictable prop. Pity he wasnt offed in the first 30 mins. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
6
NoBSCriticNov 27, 2019
Boring movie, similar to too many in the genre. Sleep.

Sleep. Pass. Boring. Hot Actors are not enough. Zzzz. Sleep. Pass. Boring. Hot Actors are not enough. Zzzz. Sleep. Pass. Boring. Hot Actors are not enough. Zzzz.

Sle
10 of 23 users found this helpful1013
All this user's reviews
0
FireflashNov 30, 2019
Overrated and boring Movie. The Trailer was boring too but the full movie is even more boring.
10 of 23 users found this helpful1013
All this user's reviews
5
kirkenderNov 27, 2019
The Irishman is...fine. Its sweeping and *epic* (not really, it's just glorifying organized crime from the pre-internet age). It's a Scorsese Film. If you have seen The Departed, or Casino, or Goodfellas, or Mean Streets, then you have alsoThe Irishman is...fine. Its sweeping and *epic* (not really, it's just glorifying organized crime from the pre-internet age). It's a Scorsese Film. If you have seen The Departed, or Casino, or Goodfellas, or Mean Streets, then you have also seen The Irishman. The idea of using the fancy schmancy de-aging tech doesn't do anything for the shambling story. Yes you see the de-aged face of De Niro, but he still dodders around the set like a 75 year old man with a very thick torso. Honestly though, the de-aging tech didn't quite work, it ruined the lighting on the characters during most of the scenes, making them pop out of like video game characters. The plot is exactly what you expect. I kinda just wanted to watch The Sopranos again, and 70 episodes of The Sopranos would feel shorter than this 3.5 hour slog.

Also, shame on this film. There are no real women characters, just paper thin wives and daughters who show up to look lovingly/skeptically at the crime boys. Do you all know that despite what TV/movies show, women are actually integral parts of society and stories?
Expand
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
2
AdriennedNov 29, 2019
Completely boring. Poor character development and cohesive story. Bad camera work. Nothing new in the typical mob story here. DeNiro in blue contacts looks fake. It’s just a sad waste.
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
4
carldamnitNov 30, 2019
I don't understand what's happening and I keep rewinding and I still don't know and it's become a five hour movie at this point and it's boring and I feel stupid and I want to die and it's still not over yet I'm not even watching it right nowI don't understand what's happening and I keep rewinding and I still don't know and it's become a five hour movie at this point and it's boring and I feel stupid and I want to die and it's still not over yet I'm not even watching it right now some epic, epically boring! King of Comedy was better Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
4
psyberdelicDec 1, 2019
I only got through the first 20 minutes or so before i gave up. It's a workman like film with a whole lot of "been there done it better" vibe. And it's loooooong. The critics are obviously praising the director and actor for their pastI only got through the first 20 minutes or so before i gave up. It's a workman like film with a whole lot of "been there done it better" vibe. And it's loooooong. The critics are obviously praising the director and actor for their past performances. Long and boring. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
SarahWillaimsonNov 5, 2019
It may well be Scorcesse's Best Film which is saying a lot. I spent about 30 mins afterward crying because of this movie. A definite must-see.
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
3
DarthPuck79Nov 17, 2019
Welcome to the uncanny valley. If only the visual effects were the worst part of The Irishman, an overly long, overstuffed mafia film that has nothing to say and doesn't even seem to know what story it's telling. There is a good movie inWelcome to the uncanny valley. If only the visual effects were the worst part of The Irishman, an overly long, overstuffed mafia film that has nothing to say and doesn't even seem to know what story it's telling. There is a good movie in there, but Scorsese was apparently unwilling to chip away enough marble to find his statue, leaving a grotesque monstrosity with no interesting characters and no plot to speak of. Expand
10 of 25 users found this helpful1015
All this user's reviews
4
katezoeNov 30, 2019
Disappointed and I am a huge fan of Scorsese since the beginning of his career and have loved his prior mob films. Movie is too long. Stylistically unstylish picture without the luridness of “Casino”, pulse-pounding narrative of “TheDisappointed and I am a huge fan of Scorsese since the beginning of his career and have loved his prior mob films. Movie is too long. Stylistically unstylish picture without the luridness of “Casino”, pulse-pounding narrative of “The Departed” or madness/brutality of “Goodfellas.” Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
RochyrochDec 8, 2019
Visually incredible, the effects work in ageing and making the actors younger is just amazing. I'm under the impression that this is also a rather accurate historical movie with most respects, the attention to detail is also impressive.
My
Visually incredible, the effects work in ageing and making the actors younger is just amazing. I'm under the impression that this is also a rather accurate historical movie with most respects, the attention to detail is also impressive.
My only problem with the movie is that the middle drags on with very little happening apart from creating scene after scene of cliched mob dialogue, someone said something about you, oh did he well you tell him I said blah blah atc, and to be honest if it was split up and you put those scenes into other mob movies they would be great, but it's just a tab monotonous and loses its impact when you get the feeling that the mob is a little bit like mean girls. It's not Goodfellas.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
BrunoVn00Dec 5, 2019
Yes, it is TOO LONG. I didn't feel like the movie needed to be three and a half hours long to tell the story it wanted to tell. I feel like the main theme and the point of the movie could've fit perfectly in a two and a half hour long movie.Yes, it is TOO LONG. I didn't feel like the movie needed to be three and a half hours long to tell the story it wanted to tell. I feel like the main theme and the point of the movie could've fit perfectly in a two and a half hour long movie. At points it seemed like the movie dragged too much. There were a lot of scenes that were just boring because of the uninteresting situation, but those scenes were saved by wonderful performances. That is a point I will not deny: The performances are just fantastic. Probably one of the best acted films I've seen all year. This is a movie in which I don't know how to feel, because, like I said, at points it lost my interest, but at other points I thought it was the best film of the year. Its good moments are fantastic and to me, the ending saves the movie completely.

Besides the overly long runtime, I noticed some editing and sound issues. I don't know but at points I noticed that the ADR was poorly edited. At some points I saw a character move his lips and there was no audio or it was delayed. There was one point in the movie where there was an editing mistake that felt so amateur: There was a shot and then abruptly cut to another shot, like if the editor messed up. Also there is a scene where the characters are at like a party and, while it's not a crowded and loud place, the scene sounded as if the characters were in a quiet room with a radio playing music in the background, so distracting.

Other than that, I feel like this movie was great. I know this might not be a movie for everyone. It has tons of complicated dialogue and the movie relies heavily in dialogue and narration. There's little to no visual storytelling or music (specifically, original score). This movie is tedious but I don't think it's bad or boring.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
parham4realNov 1, 2019
One ofe the best Martin Scorsese's movie loved de niro and Pacino performance
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
10
KallicNov 1, 2019
Wow, was skeptical but scorsese done it again! It's different than goodfellas and casino a lot deeper and melancholic but so fascinating and profound. The performancees are superb. The movie is slower but never boring and the time flies by.Wow, was skeptical but scorsese done it again! It's different than goodfellas and casino a lot deeper and melancholic but so fascinating and profound. The performancees are superb. The movie is slower but never boring and the time flies by. One of Marty's best work, and that's means something. Can't wait to watch it again on Netflix! Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
10
MikeaaaNov 5, 2019
The best movie of the year by far, Martin Scorcese proves yet again that he is one of the all-time best directors. Robert Deniro also has a wonderful performance which is worthy of all the awards.
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
2
ZlatanDec 2, 2019
Like Martin had a bet with Quentin Tarantino on making the longest, most boring movie and he won this year.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
5
AllanbaxterNov 29, 2019
Where do I start? If you are looking for a sitting on the edge of your seat movie, this isn't it, move on! If you are going to watch it on Netflix, make sure you are comfortable with a pillow and blanket, you may fall asleep. I love all theseWhere do I start? If you are looking for a sitting on the edge of your seat movie, this isn't it, move on! If you are going to watch it on Netflix, make sure you are comfortable with a pillow and blanket, you may fall asleep. I love all these actors, but for me, this was a HUGE MISS. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
Jp117Nov 27, 2019
Amazing this is real cinema what a movie everyone should enjoy this movie great casting Oscars should be good this year.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
jkatchesNov 28, 2019
Watching The Irishman is like watching a world class Olympic gymnast perform a perfect routine. You know they’ve prepared their whole life for the moment and as the audience you sit back and marvel at the flawless performance. Although I’mWatching The Irishman is like watching a world class Olympic gymnast perform a perfect routine. You know they’ve prepared their whole life for the moment and as the audience you sit back and marvel at the flawless performance. Although I’m not a mob movie kind of guy, this movie executes everything perfectly. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
PerikolizMoviesNov 28, 2019
"The Godfather" of 21st century .

One of the greatest movies of this decade . Robert Deniro , Al Pacino and John Pesci are the most amazing representation of what a legendary actor means . Martin Scorsese back to his roots won't let you down
"The Godfather" of 21st century .

One of the greatest movies of this decade . Robert Deniro , Al Pacino and John Pesci are the most amazing representation of what a legendary actor means . Martin Scorsese back to his roots won't let you down at all ! Every inch of acting makes you appreciate that you are still alive in this time that this kind of movies are rare to be made . Nothing to be afraid of not watching that movie . I recommend it 100% and you won't be let down either ! I really love the fact that this acting crew destroyed the entire new generation film industry just by doing what they are made of to do , meaning acting and of course directing (thanks Mr Martin) .

If you are into looking for a great novel "the Irishman" is what you are searching for .
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
xSnipShotxNov 28, 2019
A must-see for sure. This is the best movie on Netflix, no doubt about that.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
Jimmyu2foru20Nov 28, 2019
A masterpiece the Next Italian mobster masterpiece of this decade, well executed and keeps you wanting more
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
knissenNov 10, 2019
Unless you're predisposed to unconditionally and indiscriminately love just about anything by Team Scorcese/DeNiro/Pacino, you'll be disappointed in The Irishman. The movie seemed to have lost sight (or never had it) of what was the mainUnless you're predisposed to unconditionally and indiscriminately love just about anything by Team Scorcese/DeNiro/Pacino, you'll be disappointed in The Irishman. The movie seemed to have lost sight (or never had it) of what was the main story or character, and I felt myself struggling to figure that out every step of the way. There are long movies and then there are unnecessarily long movies; this was the latter. The last hour, especially, was inexcusably so. Pesci was understated and magnificent, while DeNiro and Pacino seemed miscast and cartoonish. Scorcese felt he had to tell *everything* about the mafia and the teamsters union over decades, and I mean absolutely everything: every event, every character, it was ridiculous. I know some of the critics have applauded the slow pace, the artistry of the photography, but I just don't get that. How about story? How about understanding relationships and what motivates a character? This was Goodfellas, with lots of time added in and lots of fun taken out. Expand
10 of 29 users found this helpful1019
All this user's reviews
3
Format916Nov 21, 2019
The Irishman, the highly anticipated film from Martin Scorsese which reunites actors Joe Pesci. Robert DeNiro and Al Pacino for the first time in decades, in this adaptation of the book I Heard You Paint Houses which recounts the final daysThe Irishman, the highly anticipated film from Martin Scorsese which reunites actors Joe Pesci. Robert DeNiro and Al Pacino for the first time in decades, in this adaptation of the book I Heard You Paint Houses which recounts the final days of Jimmy Hoffas life and the connection Frank The Irishman Sheeran had to Hoffas disappearance.

There are at least two moments in the film where Robert Deniro's charcter Frank Sheeran mentions how young people of today dont know much about Jimmy Hoffa other than the fact that he dissapeared. And I am definitely in that category and that is how I will be approaching this review. The name Jimmy Hoffa was etched into popular culture as being a notable figure who went missing. I have not done any research on the topic, nor watched or remember previous films on the subject of Jimmy Hoffa, so this story was able to shed some light on Hoffa, who was the head of the Teamsters, and how he was basically the most important figure of the American worker next to the President. The story is told through 3 different timelines. The film begins with an elderly Sheeran telling the audience his story, which then shifts to the present with DeNiro and Pesci on a road trip to Detroit. During their roadtrip, Sheeran recollects the first time he met Bufalino and then shifts to the past to when he began his life of crime. Like other gangster films of the past there are many players and characters to come and go as the film progresses. These films are telling stories that span decades, so even if the viewer is confused or not really know what is going on, you can view it and compare it to gangster films of the past.

And in that regard. I feel The Irishman just cant compare to other films that were told better: Goodfellas, Casino, The Godfather. Alot of the times while watching this I felt I had already seen it before. Which is how some people feel about Casino being another version of Goodfellas. And I guess I was expecting something as epic as those films, but nothing ever comes close. My opinion may be unpopular, but wait for Netflix. And hearing the hefty pricetag on this film x I just couldn't see it on the screen. It really didnt feel cinematic at all. When I went home I had to do a double feature of Goodfellas and Casino just to remind myself that Gangster movies can be a plethora of things: exciting funny and sad. The Irishman is mostly a slog and in time wont be remembered like other classics.
Expand
7 of 21 users found this helpful714
All this user's reviews
10
ValBalNov 28, 2019
One of Scorsese's finest. Filled with performances destined to be proclaimed iconic, this mob epic provides a flawlessly constructed story about the price you pay for the life of crime but not only that. The Irishman is also an insightfulOne of Scorsese's finest. Filled with performances destined to be proclaimed iconic, this mob epic provides a flawlessly constructed story about the price you pay for the life of crime but not only that. The Irishman is also an insightful exploration of mortality. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
10
OneToughSOBNov 1, 2019
"You can't miss The Big Picture" The movie of the year and one of the greatest mob drama movies of all time

"it is what it is"
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
10
ThatFilmGuy20Nov 27, 2019
A fine curated piece of art, that's what Scorsese put before our eyes, he brought out everything in his arsenal of skills, every move is calculated to the teeth, every work is accounted for, it never skips a beat, it comes packaged in a smartA fine curated piece of art, that's what Scorsese put before our eyes, he brought out everything in his arsenal of skills, every move is calculated to the teeth, every work is accounted for, it never skips a beat, it comes packaged in a smart setup which is not surprising with a director like Scorsese, in its over three hour runtime, not a single second is wasted, every little thing meant something, every frame worked towards the story, whether it's a one-second still or a ten minutes sequence, everything clicks here.

The performances, my god, where should I start? everyone brought their A-game and some more, the whole cast was infinitely charismatic, but the lead trio, De Niro, Pesci, Pacino were just phenomenal, true masters of their trade, absolute strong presence, when they're on-screen, you're tuned in, not by choice, they just demand that of you, it's just fascinating for me to see a long sequence rich in dialogue between arguably the best two actors alive, the back and forth here is everything but acting, it is too real, that's how astounding they are, Pesci again, in my opinion, delivers so relentlessly as he always does, and when on-screen he takes control, he commands, not even De Niro can match his level, he just has this thing, it's unbelievable. Scorsese always referred to Cadillacs as the top of the industry, well this film is a Cadillac, it has endless class, I feel privileged and honored to have watched this, something that history will hail its cult status in years to come, A Marvelous MASTERPIECE.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
7
tropicAcesNov 1, 2019
Everyone will talk about De Niro and Pacino, and rightfully so, but it’s Joe Pesci that stole the show and broke my heart.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
MccuskyDec 2, 2019
Not much difference between other mob movies, kinda dull and uneventful. I would probably have enjoyed it more if it was my first gangster movie but this just about rolls through every cliche there is. Although performances were good INot much difference between other mob movies, kinda dull and uneventful. I would probably have enjoyed it more if it was my first gangster movie but this just about rolls through every cliche there is. Although performances were good I couldn't find the characters that convincing Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
frankrog29Nov 27, 2019
The Irishman is getting glowing reviews probably because it's Scorsese and company's return to the gangster genre. However, the film is underwhelming, especially when compared with Mr. Scorsese's other epic gangster movies - namely,The Irishman is getting glowing reviews probably because it's Scorsese and company's return to the gangster genre. However, the film is underwhelming, especially when compared with Mr. Scorsese's other epic gangster movies - namely, Goodfellas, Casino, and The Departed. The plot is epic and worthy of the long running time. My main problems with the film were the casting and acting. First of all, younger actors should have been cast in the film. It lacks vitality because you have geriatric actors (literally) running around playing young men. All of these actors were terrific in their heyday, but their times have come and gone. Robert De Niro in particular was a problem for me. He hasn't been a top-tier actor for some time now. I generally think of Meet the Parents as the start of his downfall. Also, I was OK with the de-aging effects, but what's up with Mr. De Niro's green eyes? Were those contacts or were they done with CGI? They look really unnatural and downright bizarre and creepy. I will say that it was great to see Joe Pesci return to the silver screen; he is definitely one of the film's highlights. Overall, The Irishman is good, but it could have been great if younger actors had been cast. Mr. Scorsese's insistence on casting actors from his peer age group as characters who are supposed to be in the prime of their lives somewhat ruined the film for me, as did the strange, unworldly-looking special effects. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
thewoufNov 12, 2019
An epic movie, the best Scorsese movie since Casino or Goodfellas. While it deals with mafia it's still different with more melancoly. The last hour will deeply move you forever.
Easily the best movie of 2019 and one of the best for 20
An epic movie, the best Scorsese movie since Casino or Goodfellas. While it deals with mafia it's still different with more melancoly. The last hour will deeply move you forever.
Easily the best movie of 2019 and one of the best for 20 years.
The Scorsese's Once upon a time in America.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
SoyHenryVNov 24, 2019
3 horas y media de cine puro. Scorsese presenta una extenso y épico drama gangster con esencia de sus clásicos. De Niro, Pacino y Pesci están increíbles. Mientras la veía, sentí que estaba viendo un nuevo clásico del cine. La magia de esta3 horas y media de cine puro. Scorsese presenta una extenso y épico drama gangster con esencia de sus clásicos. De Niro, Pacino y Pesci están increíbles. Mientras la veía, sentí que estaba viendo un nuevo clásico del cine. La magia de esta cinta no solo está en las secuencias violentas que técnicamente están bien dirigidas y trabajadas, el corazón de esta cinta surge en los momentos dramáticos e íntimos de la vida de Frank “El Irlandés”. De cierta manera, The Irishman funciona metafóricamente como una auto reflexión del maestro Scorsese de toda su vida, amistades y carrera como director. Hay un sensación de amistad, amor, poder, pero también se presenta la melancolía, la soledad, la traición y redención.

Ve mentalmente preparado, relájate y disfruta. Si amas el cine, tienes que ver esto. The Irishman es una de las mejores películas del año.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
BigErn77Dec 9, 2019
The movie sucks. What a joke the professional reviews are. A metacritic "must see"? Lol!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
ArthuuDec 2, 2019
Outstanding writing served with top notch themed noir plot and memorable characters played by holywood's greatest; big tribute to Goodfellas and a must watch in general
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MrNightOwlDec 5, 2019
This film is masterpiece. Yeah no for everbody but it is. Fantastic work with camera and music. Fantastic work Mr.Scorsese
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
FalzalatDec 1, 2019
The music selections were great. The shooting scenario is great. all the scenes were like a work of art. a great film with great attention to detail. From the smallest player to the leading roles, everyone has performed perfectly.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
AutumnrayneNov 26, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Utter garbage. The CGI anti aging was hard to watch for 3+ damn hours. It's like Scorsese is trying to bring back an updated godfather / Casino movie, but he was blind folded when trying to hit the mark. It has way too much back and forth about getting Jimmy Hoffa to behave or he would get killed, and if you've seen Blow with Johnny Depp, then you've seen the ending to this film. It's too long, too much CGI, utterly nothing happens but they sprinkle in people getting shot in the face here and there for intensity. Skip it, ir rent it later. Expand
10 of 31 users found this helpful1021
All this user's reviews
0
Thejaw221Nov 30, 2019
This movie was so absolutely boring I didn’t even wait to get to the end. I shut it off. the Robert De Niro we fell in love with well...he has departed for places unknown. Unfortunately one of his worst movies.... This film was so badThis movie was so absolutely boring I didn’t even wait to get to the end. I shut it off. the Robert De Niro we fell in love with well...he has departed for places unknown. Unfortunately one of his worst movies.... This film was so bad Hollywood didn’t even want it Expand
7 of 22 users found this helpful715
All this user's reviews
10
KojimaStrandNov 8, 2019
A Martín Scorsese Film! Se trata simplemente del poder de la unión, unimos el nombre de Martín Scorsese y Robert De Niro, unimos Al Pacino y Joe Pesci... Y pumm: CINE DE MAFIA
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
10
Erik_Of_BloomNov 27, 2019
In a depressing age of cinema where superhero wank, trash like Charlie’s Angels and the like, are what pass as ‘film’ this movie is like the most delicious breath of fresh air. This movie reminds you what movies can be, what a talentedIn a depressing age of cinema where superhero wank, trash like Charlie’s Angels and the like, are what pass as ‘film’ this movie is like the most delicious breath of fresh air. This movie reminds you what movies can be, what a talented director is, and why the medium is worth saving from accountants and hacks. It’s fantastic all around. Do not miss it. Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
10
Matthew0705Nov 26, 2019
An amazing film and the magnum opus of Scorsese 's career. I just wish people actually saw this movie before reviewing.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
9
CMCNov 10, 2019
Very entertaining, unnecessarily too long without quite becoming epic, and a somewhat predictable replay of the boys doing their mafia thing. Great acting, but De Niro is just his usual De Niro. Al Pacino does a great job of acting but theVery entertaining, unnecessarily too long without quite becoming epic, and a somewhat predictable replay of the boys doing their mafia thing. Great acting, but De Niro is just his usual De Niro. Al Pacino does a great job of acting but the film suffers because I think he was mis-cast; a more bland meathead tough-guy type was needed for that role. Joe Pesci was the surprise. He was allowed to play a more restrained, non-whiny role and he was excellent. For all of the concentration on the Teamsters stuff, I still did not feel like I learned that much new about that world. De Niro has two wives and there is no development of his relationship with either of them. There is also a lot of footage about his daughter rejecting him, but this also seems underdeveloped, forced and not convincing. There are a few cinemagraphic Scorsese "effects" moments like slow-motion crowd shots, but none of these are original in 2019, and none are gripping like some scenes from Goodfellas. While I completely agree with Scorsese's critique of the Marvel Action movies, and this is most definitely a film and not a movie, his extended critique of predictable franchises with safe money actors hits a little too close here as well. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
Moviereviewer15Nov 17, 2019
As much as I think Martin Scorsese should keep his trap shut regarding Marvel movies, if he wants millennials to have his movie be part of the 2020 Oscars’ Best Picture nominees, I will admit that #TheIrishman is really good thanks to a castAs much as I think Martin Scorsese should keep his trap shut regarding Marvel movies, if he wants millennials to have his movie be part of the 2020 Oscars’ Best Picture nominees, I will admit that #TheIrishman is really good thanks to a cast of Robert De Niro, Joe Pesci (who I call Pesky), Marvel-lovin’ Al Pacino and Ray Romano. Basically, I see it as Martin Scorsese doing a big budget movie that’s a cross of a period piece and an episode of HBO’s The Sopranos mixed with mafia vibes of Goodfellas (which I have never seen). Having seen it on the big screen, I believe people should do their best to see it in theaters that they can find it playing at. It’s a shame Netflix screwed this movie. Final rating: 4.5 stars out of 5. 9/10 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
BeastJ18Nov 27, 2019
A slow burn that is meditative and introspective. Scorsese's direction is a voyeuristic look at the full life of a truck driver turned hitman. Schoonmaker does a terrific job of pacing a long story in the most effective way possible, makingA slow burn that is meditative and introspective. Scorsese's direction is a voyeuristic look at the full life of a truck driver turned hitman. Schoonmaker does a terrific job of pacing a long story in the most effective way possible, making every scene feel like an important piece of a puzzle in the growth and withering of some very important criminal figures. I hate to say that the film starts out a little rough with some unconvincing de-aging special effects and some violent action performed by De Niro as a younger man, but his movements are very telling of the actor's real age and does not look realistic, which was overcompensated by some bad foley work to make his actions sound more impactful. These small early shortcomings are soon forgotten though as the film continues and only gets more engrossing by the moment. The direction is masterful, the technical aspects are predictably great, the story is beat-for-beat brilliant and the performances are all around fantastic, especially (of course) by De Niro, Pacino and Pesci. Unsurprisingly, one of the best films of the year. One of the greatest directors of all time delivers another knockout. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
Adriansmith85Nov 16, 2019
Another masterpiece from Martin Scorsese and all team, from the beginning to the end is perfect.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
Rebecca31Nov 10, 2019
The highly anticipated The Irishman has finally hit cinemas so don’t miss the chance to see it on the big screen. I’m not being dramatic but if you want to see this in a cinema you’ll only have a couple of weeks before it’s gone. Not to worryThe highly anticipated The Irishman has finally hit cinemas so don’t miss the chance to see it on the big screen. I’m not being dramatic but if you want to see this in a cinema you’ll only have a couple of weeks before it’s gone. Not to worry because all you Netflix fans will be able to watch it from the comfort of your own home at the end of the month with the option of pausing for as many bathroom breaks as you’ll need. At three and a half hours long The Irishman probably won’t appeal to some cinemagoers, although if you just resist the urge to buy a gallon of coke then you’ll be fine.

Directed by Martin Scorsese and filled to the brim with a standout cast. Robert De Niro, Joe Pesci, Al Pacino, Anna Paquin, Stephen Graham, Harvey Keitel, the list goes on and I won’t name everyone but there are more than a few faces you’ll recognise. Spanning decades, The Irishman is told from the point of view of mobster/hitman Frank Sheeran (De Niro). I really loved this film, a brilliantly written story, and what stood out the most for me aside from the acting was the script. Fast-paced, witty with a bit of dark humour thrown into the mix. It feels authentic, it’s unexpectedly emotional and will make you laugh. The acting from everyone is exceptional but particularly Joe Pesci’s performance stole the show for me. Regarding the lengthy running time, I did feel it was a little too long. For the most part I was engaged but in the last act of the film it was starting to feel dragged out. Almost like Scorsese didn’t want it to end, but can we blame him? He’s given us the best performances from De Niro, Pacino and Pesci in years. There was enough material here that this could have easily been a mini-series. Each to their own, the running time isn’t bothering everyone but The Irishman could have lost 10 or 15 minutes easily.

The digital de-aging of the main characters is something I was concerned about as we’ve seen this technology used a few times now and it’s clearly getting better. I was worried it would be distracting and look a little silly but this is far from true. It isn’t quite perfect yet but I’m sure it’s only a matter of time, more importantly it’s at a point where you it doesn’t take you out of the film and you quickly forget about it. Although it looks impressive and gave Scorsese the opportunity to make a film over a few decades using the actors he wanted I believe there is a fine line between using CGI to make current actors look older or younger and using it to replace them completely. Makeup can only do so much and CGI needs to step in if you want to make the likes of De Niro and Pesci look significantly younger. The technology has improved to this point where you can use it in a film without it being too much of a distraction but to use it to bring back a dead actor (yes I’m talking about James Dean) then it’s gone too far. The day CGI is used to replace actors completely and taking a performance away from a living actor then it’s the day it’s gone too far and I dread to think what will happen to film if this idea gains popularity. Scorsese has shown us how it should be used in The Irishman and the result is a truly terrific film you won’t want to miss. The Irishman was never going to be at Goodfellas level. As far as I’m concerned The Godfather I, II and Goodfellas are peak gangster movies and nothing will ever beat them. Film fans take the time to see The Irishman, highly recommended.
Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
9
amheretojudgeNov 27, 2019
So what do you do when you have defined the genre, sealed it tight, preserved with time that keeps mining excelsior from it. You open the bottle, says Marty.

The Irishman The director Martin Scorsese tells his story, his perspective, his
So what do you do when you have defined the genre, sealed it tight, preserved with time that keeps mining excelsior from it. You open the bottle, says Marty.

The Irishman

The director Martin Scorsese tells his story, his perspective, his unbiased take visually. He is one of the few directors alive and working passionately, hungrily(!)- You'd think that maturity over the years would decay his obsession, but he is latched onto that young man's game like any other new filmmaker trying to make his or her mark.- and sophisticatedly that brought the "catalyst" element into the TO-DO list of a director. I mean, think about it, his films spend more time on slow motion shots,- in this said-overly-long-but-you-don't-actually-want-shorter runtime the slow motion takes are basically the front page cover that comes in like fliers in such biographies- elaborated jokes and dead silence where Robert De Niro, Joe Pesci and Al Pacino alike dicey actors chews the script paper, the rest of the blah-blah historical events are fast forwarded with long physical sequences. Now if you look into those thousands and thousands of storyboards, Marty though not writing the script; the screenwriter Steven Zaillian did a fabulous job, is in control of the film more than you'd imagine. Never have I seen his film, where a footage falls short or the displayed images fall flat. Everything hits the sweet spot right into your heart. And this one, the most. Especially for me. The Irishman is a surprisingly satisfying and oddly a perfect end; if he makes it his last of the gangster genre, to all the films that he has piled upon his desk. The show that is placed so delicately in front of us, is neither an answer to escape nor salvation nor payback nor some bloodlusted revenge. It is exactly what Marty did, does. Remembering those times, simply that. The final act is one of the finest things I have experienced in recent times.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
fsali6582Nov 21, 2019
Sublime, detalladamente impecable, la actuación de Al Pacino se destaca entre un elenco de actores notables. La película mas madura de Scorsese anticipando la despedida del mejor cine de los últimos 50 años.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
2
BroyaxDec 1, 2019
Scorsese retourne à ses amours, à savoir la grande saga mafieuse dont il a le secret ou plutôt dont il avait le secret dans le temps, jadis... il a convié à cette réunion nostalgique les comparses d'antan comme Joe Pesci et Robert de NiroScorsese retourne à ses amours, à savoir la grande saga mafieuse dont il a le secret ou plutôt dont il avait le secret dans le temps, jadis... il a convié à cette réunion nostalgique les comparses d'antan comme Joe Pesci et Robert de Niro ainsi qu'un petit nouveau, Al Pacino !... sans compter Harvey Keitel qui avait joué dans Taxi Driver !

On l'a compris, c'est un film de **** jeunes ici... qu'il a fallu rajeunir vraiment par ordinateur, l'histoire se déroulant sur quelques décennies. Alors, il ne faut pas s'étonner si nos vieux mal photoshopés ressemblent un peu aux frères Bogdanov ! c'est clairement raté et rien à faire, on n'arrive pas à s'y faire...

L'autre souci -énorme aussi celui-là- concerne la narration et le rythme qui se traînent lamentablement, car le film déambule à **** pas comme un fossile sur son déambulateur : il ne faut pas moins de 3h30 pour y arriver... éventuellement mais au bout d'un heure, les paupières se font déjà lourdes alors que cette saga tourne en rond sur elle-même comme un pépé sénile d'Alzheimer.

La réalisation reste naturellement très soignée et souvent élégante, la voix off est bel et bien là mais l'humour féroce des Affranchis ou de Casino a quasiment disparu, dilué dans les 3h30 de ce long gala d'anciens combattants qui n'en finit pas...

A dormir debout, mou et dépassé, The Irishman n'est qu'une ombre très pâle et pauvrette des gloires du temps d'avant mais la nostalgie n'est plus de saison, camarade, même si Netflix met la main à la poche, balançant le fric par les fenêtres... en vain.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
opeloDec 6, 2019
One of The best movies of The year, Maybe even of decade. Must see for those how like criminal dramas.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
JLuis_001Nov 19, 2019
When talking about Martin Scorsese's movies, people usually talk about gangster movies. This is something that in a unfortunate measure encloses the director in a small niche which is somewhat sad considering he's a director who has dabbledWhen talking about Martin Scorsese's movies, people usually talk about gangster movies. This is something that in a unfortunate measure encloses the director in a small niche which is somewhat sad considering he's a director who has dabbled many other genres but obviously several of his most famous movies are gangster films. Now with The Irishman I think to some extent Scorsese delivers his dream epic and also an end point.
I'm not saying I think he won't make a gangster movie again but where can he go next after this one? I can't help watching this movie as the twilight of a career for everyone involved. I mean from Niro to Pacino to Joe Pesci and Scorsese himself.

As I said The Irishman is his epic, not the best film of his filmography but that doesn't diminish it in any way. After all, I think that for all his devoted followers like me, this is the movie that was needed of him: A phenomenal drama and at the same time a resolution.
A film that transports you to films like Goodfellas and Casino but still offering something new and rewarding and that's surprising because if you consider the simple core of the movie - The career of a hitman like Frank Sheeran - Scorsese transforms it into a story that involves: Politics, corruption, violence and death.
Frank is the center of the story and all the way we go with him takes us to his sad and lonely final step because the story never ceases to be his, but that's the beauty of The Irishman. Externally it might seem like a very practical story but the whole journey we go through and all the events that it encompasses make it a fabulous experience.

The duration? Yes, it's huge but any tested film lover I think has seen movies of the same length or even longer so I don't think it's a problem. But the casual viewer? Maybe it could be intimidating but it is worth it. Honestly it's worth it. It's worth it for the performances, for the story, for its direction and for its ambition.

And what else can I say, if a movie involving Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Al Pacino and Joe Pesci doesn't move your interest?
To be honest if that doesn't do it then saying anything else is useless.
Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
ahmedaiman1999Nov 28, 2019
Scorsese has never done what he does best in a more mature, sumptuous, confident, sophisticated and immensely profound way. I have absolutely no clue how such sprawling epic can be exquisitely, and gracefully, controlled like that. Add toScorsese has never done what he does best in a more mature, sumptuous, confident, sophisticated and immensely profound way. I have absolutely no clue how such sprawling epic can be exquisitely, and gracefully, controlled like that. Add to this a mournful quality that's woven deep down into the film's authentic soul.

Finally, Scorsese has made a film that I can easily give five stars. Definitely one of the greatest films of the decade, nay of the century, nay of all time!

(10/10)
Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
NavyBeanNov 18, 2019
If you're expecting Goodfellas or Mean Streets you're in the wrong decade. This is a much more reflective, symbolic and contemplative film than any of Scorsese's previous mob films. It's quite the ride to watch these legendary performers playIf you're expecting Goodfellas or Mean Streets you're in the wrong decade. This is a much more reflective, symbolic and contemplative film than any of Scorsese's previous mob films. It's quite the ride to watch these legendary performers play roles that seem to fit them like a five fingered glove. I do have a couple small peeves, I don't know that calling someone "you people" as a slur was a thing in the era it's supposedly used. And then there's a whole fish conversation that seems long, unnecessary and improvised in a bad way. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
Bertaut1Nov 24, 2019
Far too long, but the existential and eschatological elements make up for it

Based on the 2004 book by Charles Brandt, I Heard You Paint Houses, written for the screen by Steven Zaillian, and directed by Martin Scorsese, The Irishman is
Far too long, but the existential and eschatological elements make up for it

Based on the 2004 book by Charles Brandt, I Heard You Paint Houses, written for the screen by Steven Zaillian, and directed by Martin Scorsese, The Irishman is about aging, loss, taking stock. One of the best reviewed films in years, although I certainly don't disagree that it has masterful elements, I felt it was just too long. Don't get me wrong, I have no problem with long films – I'm a fan of pictures such as The Godfather Part II (1974), Once Upon a Time in America (1984), Sátántangó (1984), Dances with Wolves (1990), The Tree of Life (2011). However, such length has to be narratively justified, and I just felt that in The Irishman, it wasn't, with the film's 206 minutes occasionally feeling padded and (dare I say it) self-indulgent.

In 2003 Frank Sheeran (Robert De Niro), living in a nursing home and close to death, tells the story of his time as the go-to hitman for the Bufalino crime family. In 1954, he becomes friends with family patriarch Russell Bufalino (Joe Pesci), and soon, Bufalino has him carrying out various hits. Later, Bufalino introduces him to Jimmy Hoffa (Al Pacino), president of the Mob-funded Teamsters union. Facing federal investigation, Hoffa is volatile, unpredictable, and confrontational and Bufalino wants Sheeran to keep him out of trouble. However, as the years go by, Hoffa continues to antagonise his Mob backers, and some of them soon come to see him as more of a liability than an asset.

The Irishman is written in regret. Sheeran spends much of the film trying to ameliorate his relationship with his daughter Peggy (played by Lucy Gallina as a child and Anna Paquin as an adult), who knows what he does for a living, and despises him for it. Another important thematic element is that as each gangster appears for the first time, a subtitle tells us who they are, and lists the date of their deaths and how they were murdered. There's no better illustration of just how concerned the film is with the nature of transience.

In the last act, this is distilled down to its very essence, essentially positing that the only important thing you leave behind is your relationships with other people, and Sheeran has badly mismanaged his, resulting in him sitting alone in a nursing home at Christmas. In GoodFellas and Casino, the protagonists lose their wealth, possessions, status, but in The Irishman, the loss is more existential – Sheeran loses his soul. It's also impossible not to see the meta dimension – Scorsese himself looking back on his career, remembering the classics of yesteryear, keenly aware that old-age is stalking him.

In terms of the acting, although Pacino is fun (I would gladly watch an entire film composed of nothing but him and Stephen Graham, who plays a rival Teamster, insulting one another), it's not an especially accurate depiction of the real Hoffa (Jack Nicholson's less flamboyant depiction was much more authentic). As for De Niro, this is his first not-phoned-in performance in decades, and he imbues the character with an interiority that speaks to his sociopathy if not necessarily his psychopathology. However, the real standout performance is Pesci, who plays Bufalino as quiet, calm, considered, highly intelligent, but cold and sociopathic.

If the film has a single problem, it's the runtime. This has been a recurrent problem in recent Scorsese films, but this is the first time he's strayed from over-long into self-indulgence. The film simply doesn't warrant this length; whole scenes could easily be removed without compromising the story, character beats, or emotion. Another issue is one that has cropped up in all of Scorsese's Mob films – glorification. Obviously, The Irishman is about the toxic masculinity of this world and the lonely endgame (if one even gets to the endgame), but much as was the case with the (frankly stomach-churning) softening of Jordan Belfort in The Wolf of Wall Street (2013), Scorsese runs a very real risk of glamorising what he claims to be condemning.

For me, The Irishman was a very good movie, but not the masterpiece many have felt it to be. But that's just me, and I can certainly recognise and celebrate such ambitious filmmaking, especially coming at a time when more and more it feels like films are being made by committees rather than by artists. Arguably Scorsese's most eschatological film, certainly since Kundun, The Irishman is the story of how one man lost his soul, and, by extension how the world for which he lost it dehumanises and degrades those who participate in its rites. Although Sheeran is brought down by old-age, abandonment, and the merciless nature of human existence, Scorsese refuses to afford him an easy out – he made his choices, and he must now live, and die, with the consequences.
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
sachineldhoNov 27, 2019
Movie of a lifetime. The Irishman is like Goodfellas, but more real and more intense. A story of friendship and betrayal.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
TratatatataDec 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The most scandalous film, barely watched, the feeling that I spent three hours in the house of the elderly, not because of the age of the heroes, but because of the burdensome plot. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
10
CrimsonFlushDec 1, 2019
Great movie, but Frank Sheeran was a pathological liar, not a pathological killer. Movie should get an oscar nod, brings back some of the old crew from Goodfellas
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JamanDec 4, 2019
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of The Irishman. OK, the age-rectifying CGI wasn't convincing - even off-putting at times - but otherwise it is a brilliantly made, engrossing film with superb performances all-round. I can't vouch for it'sI thoroughly enjoyed every minute of The Irishman. OK, the age-rectifying CGI wasn't convincing - even off-putting at times - but otherwise it is a brilliantly made, engrossing film with superb performances all-round. I can't vouch for it's historical accuracy, but who can? Joe Pesci deserves all the plaudits coming his way, he was mesmerising. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mrmonsterNov 28, 2019
Yet another Scorsese masterpiece. Robert de Niro, Al Pacino, and Joe Pesci are all great in this very well-crafted film. Even Ray Romano delivers a pretty good performance. All in all, this movie is just astounding.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
swingNov 22, 2019
Loved the acting. Loved the story. That said, it wasn't as good as Casino or close to Goodfellas. It was basically about this crime family mobster and his life. Mostly it had to do with Jimmy Hoffa and evets of the day, like the Bay ofLoved the acting. Loved the story. That said, it wasn't as good as Casino or close to Goodfellas. It was basically about this crime family mobster and his life. Mostly it had to do with Jimmy Hoffa and evets of the day, like the Bay of Pigs failed invasion, the assasination of the Kennedys, and more. The biggest problem I had with the movie was it's length. It easily could have been cut by 1 hour. Maybe because it's Netflix, they wanted a long movie. But, the movie was compelling and I was able to sit through it with just a little squirming. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
matthewmirlianiNov 30, 2019
It’s definitely worth the hype, and definitely worth the 3 1/2 hours of viewing time. Set against the backdrop of the industrial Mid-Atlantic during some of the country’s most turbulent political and social events, The Irishman is 2019’sIt’s definitely worth the hype, and definitely worth the 3 1/2 hours of viewing time. Set against the backdrop of the industrial Mid-Atlantic during some of the country’s most turbulent political and social events, The Irishman is 2019’s first perfect film - one that is so good, it doesn’t even feel like it belongs in this decade, but rather feels like a masterpiece unearthed from decades earlier. De Niro, Pacino, Pesci are everything you want them to be and more in their performances; the writing, pacing, and editing are tight; the humor is dark, fast, and intelligent; and the story unravels beautifully . While the running time may require patience and dedication, there truly is no wasted moment - no extraneous or lagging scenes - as everything fits together seamlessly to deliver a payoff that is truly worth it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MoreiraNov 19, 2019
Uma obra prima! Scorsese faz seu filme mais melancólico em torno do crime organizado. É divertido nos momentos mais frenéticos e extremamente tocante nos mais intimistas. De Niro, Pacino e Pesci entregam performances memoráveis.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews