Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 7, 1976
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 923 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
718
Mixed:
46
Negative:
159
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
On my list for one of the best films ever, Taxi Driver is by far Scorsese's best direction ever.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Taxi Driver", with "Raging Bull", is THE true American crime movie i'm talking about. Martin Scorsese presents the true countenance of the cinema of crime with powerful characters and jazzy music. Stars Robert De Niro and Jodie Foster also"Taxi Driver", with "Raging Bull", is THE true American crime movie i'm talking about. Martin Scorsese presents the true countenance of the cinema of crime with powerful characters and jazzy music. Stars Robert De Niro and Jodie Foster also skillfully handled the movie with appealing performances in the movie too (De Niro HAD to get a **** Oscar!!). Its a movie where you watch it and become spellbound by the sheer epicness of the film. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
pedrostrikDec 5, 2010
one of best movies from holywood , losing only for goodfellas i hope they start to the actual movies as good as the 60's , 70's movies
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
moviebuff_420May 12, 2012
This psychological drama thriller is hard-hitting as well as one of the best movies.I liked all the characters and the climax was the highlight of the movie.
There are so many possibilities for Climax but i interpret as a Dream sequence in
This psychological drama thriller is hard-hitting as well as one of the best movies.I liked all the characters and the climax was the highlight of the movie.
There are so many possibilities for Climax but i interpret as a Dream sequence in which Travis Bickle is fantasizing in his comma that how healthy he is now in the society and with Betsy.
Travis fights mobsters and Pimps just to save a little girl, Iris stuck in hell-like-world ,Jodie Foster is too good in movie.
As Albert Brooks debut was short but it was effective and proved to be useful for his further career,I liked him too.
This movie is hard to forget as with such a great Storyline,Direction, and timeless Acting.
So the Verdict,An all time classic and Martin Scorcese's masterpiece with Robert De Niro at his best.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
theahsanhaseebAug 23, 2012
When you see Robert De Niro and Martin Scorsese in a single banner, you always see film-making at an entirely different level. Most of the people haven't been able to understand the true meaning of this film and that's the sole reason theyWhen you see Robert De Niro and Martin Scorsese in a single banner, you always see film-making at an entirely different level. Most of the people haven't been able to understand the true meaning of this film and that's the sole reason they don't like it. I can clearly say that it is one of the greatest films Martin Scorsese has ever made. The direction, the screenplay and the cinematography are very well done. And yes, you can expect a little biasness from me as I am a huge fan of psychological thrillers. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ReubenIsAGodOct 19, 2013
I love the work of Martian Scorsese and taxi driver is truly one of his finest achievements, The film is so creepy and disturbing from the first moment you see and meet the character Travis you can tell something is very wrong with him, thatI love the work of Martian Scorsese and taxi driver is truly one of his finest achievements, The film is so creepy and disturbing from the first moment you see and meet the character Travis you can tell something is very wrong with him, that something is about to click unleashing this horrible vulgar beast, and damn when the conflict hits, it goddamn hits, ohh and its probably good to mention that hes not a bad crazy serial killer who preys on the innocent killing give a simple taxi driver who is driving to insanity due to the disgusting crime, violence, sex and loss of innocents that consumes our disturbed protagonist, only reason why i would not rate this movie a 10 is the fact that i was truly disturbed by the film, i couldn't sleep i was so mesmerized by the film, it made me feel dirty Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyOla96Sep 19, 2012
This is Probably One Of Martin Scorsese's Best Film Ever, I would Recommend It To Every Body, Robert De Niro's Best Performance And It Won The Palme D'or At The Cannes Film Festival In 1976.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiOct 31, 2013
A very comprehensive character study. The transformation of Travis from a low-life into a vigilante is portrayed with extreme detail. The character development was believable and entertaining. The acting was top notch in De Niro's case. CybilA very comprehensive character study. The transformation of Travis from a low-life into a vigilante is portrayed with extreme detail. The character development was believable and entertaining. The acting was top notch in De Niro's case. Cybil Shepherd played a subtle, soft-hearted campaign worker for a presidential candidate. Jodie Foster delivered a surprisingly engaging performance, and showed great promise at such a tender age. De Niro carried the momentum by himself for much of the movie. The pacing was brilliant and was just right to get the balance between plot, character development, and action right. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Mr.HankeyApr 20, 2006
Brilliant and a bold statement of the film industry. The acting is superb by all cast members and the brilliance of Robert Deniro cannot be denied. The movie is original and deals with loneliness so well. The movie displays violence towards Brilliant and a bold statement of the film industry. The acting is superb by all cast members and the brilliance of Robert Deniro cannot be denied. The movie is original and deals with loneliness so well. The movie displays violence towards the scum of the world as Travis Bickle would say. [***SPOILERS***] He trys to help a 12 1/2 year old prostitute, Amazingly played by Jodie Foster. And all hell really just breaks loose. But you may find Travis as an anti hero because of the violence he uses to protect this girl. But all he wanted to do was show her the right way as many others would say be a Guardian Angel from God. Martin Scorcese did a fabulous job of directing and made a movie that has the most disturbing thematic material you could ever experience but in a way you have too. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulM.Mar 20, 2008
Mind blowing and brutally brilliant work.This is essentially the film that singlehandedly got me into films.After I saw this hard hitting, chillingly atmospheric and gripping masterpiece I was forced to re asses what a motion picture really Mind blowing and brutally brilliant work.This is essentially the film that singlehandedly got me into films.After I saw this hard hitting, chillingly atmospheric and gripping masterpiece I was forced to re asses what a motion picture really is. I had never seen anything that demanded and rewarded my attention in such a powerful and serious manner.Scorsese's direction is pure genius as is De Niro's psychotic and disturbing aura.The creepy score is immense in its feel and the evolotion of thought throughout is unrivalled. Darkly compelling and definitive stuff. This is without doubt a landmark in film making, underlined by one of THE partnerships in cinema history 'De Niro and Scorsese'. As effectively strong as a picture can be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RichardF.Jan 26, 2007
Is there any doubt that this movie is one of the finest pieces of cinema ever unspooled anywhere? This is also the first time that Scorsese was screwed by the people who vote for Oscars.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
rollingstone82Aug 20, 2010
One of the most timeless and brilliant psychological dramas of all time.

Thrillers movies have nowadays become overly overdone, formulaic, half-baked, and worst of all, predictable. Thrillers like The Fugitive are great entertainment because
One of the most timeless and brilliant psychological dramas of all time.

Thrillers movies have nowadays become overly overdone, formulaic, half-baked, and worst of all, predictable. Thrillers like The Fugitive are great entertainment because although serving no purpose, it never fails to keep its audience gripped and guessing. The best psychological thriller movies are those that make fiction look real rather than fiction look...well, fictional. That type really creeps you in 3D and you don't need any special specs. It is an entertainment that works on the mind. And that is scary because it is believable and relatable as well. And the greatest film of this genre is Taxi Driver, one of my favorite films of all time.

Taxi Driver starts with Travis Bickle getting his license as a nighttime taxi driver. He claims to be an honorably discharged war veteran dealing with insomnia. During his shifts, he nastily comments on the dirty conditions of New York, namely the crimes that occur at night. He sets eyes on a beautiful woman (Cybill Shepherd) who is helping with a campaign that Senator Palpatine is running. He impresses her once but later disgusts her after taking her to an adult movie. Travis then discovers a 12-year-old whore named Easy who is controlled by her pimp, Sport. Travis, having had enough with the filth he has seen happening in New York, takes up a violent mission to "save" his girlfriend and rescue Easy.

This album is not really about plot. The plot is the character itself. In other words, Taxi Driver is a character study. Here Martin Scorsese takes us into the world seen through Travis. Travis becomes our eyes and guide throughout the movie. He is the perspective that we find creepy yet pitiable. He is a lonely chump. He has no friends and can only contact his family through letters. He even lies to his parents that he is a government agent who cannot disclose his address to anyone as it would affect his secrecy. Why? He doesn't want his parents to find out about his poor-paying job and miserable life. And he himself isn't too nice. Often he looks with cold stares at blacks showing a racist attitude.

Yet his character is the core of the film that keeps drawing us further in. He tells us that he hates what goes on in New York: the drug trafficking, murders, robberies, and prostitution. Yet despite that, at day he watches porno movies in the theater. Out of a lack of importance. He doesn't know anything worthy enough for him to do. He doesn't know what to achieve. He is not exactly a hypocrite but a person who longs for meaning in a life that seems hopeless and aimless.

He sights Cybill and is drawn to her beauty and wants to have a relationship with her. But he doesn't know the workings of society. When she leaves the porno theater in disgust, we feel appalled yet sympathetic towards Travis. There is a scene in the film where Travis is shown trying to phone Cybill and the camera slowly goes away from Travis. Scorsese did this to make the audience feel as if they did not want to bear seeing Travis' pain because we have connected so tightly with him even though it is only almost halfway into the film. And later on, Travis tries to tell Easy to quit prostitution and go back to her family. While to us, Easy seems disinterested and quite content with her life with Sport, Travis insists because he has nothing better to do. He just wants to make his life worth something by doing a good deed. Similarly, when he talks with a secret service agent and Palpatine, he takes it as a regular conversation whereas we and the other characters smell something wrong. That is the mystery of his character that keeps us gripped, wanting to find out more. I won't say further. I have already given too much. Please, if you haven't, go see this film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Christopher_G2Jun 28, 2014
One of Martin Scorsese's three masterpieces along with Raging Bull and Goodfellas, Taxi Driver just stuns me every time I watch it, and I've seen it at least eight times. It's a dark psychological drama about a cab driver named Travis and hisOne of Martin Scorsese's three masterpieces along with Raging Bull and Goodfellas, Taxi Driver just stuns me every time I watch it, and I've seen it at least eight times. It's a dark psychological drama about a cab driver named Travis and his descent into isolation and madness, attempting to live "normally" but finding that ultimately impossible. Robert De Niro gives what I think to be his second best performance only behind Raging Bull, and in some ways this role is even more complex than that of Jake LaMotta was. This film, outside being excellent in it's craft from the direction and score and all the very strong supporting performances, is very entertaining though in a way that's sometimes hard to watch. Just amazing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SindriFeb 18, 2011
Classic psychological drama - The Palme d'Or wiener from 1976 is a realistic depiction of a paranoid bachelor who lives in the shadow of himself and in the shadow of a condemnable society. Travis Bickle is a disillusioned Vietnam-veteranClassic psychological drama - The Palme d'Or wiener from 1976 is a realistic depiction of a paranoid bachelor who lives in the shadow of himself and in the shadow of a condemnable society. Travis Bickle is a disillusioned Vietnam-veteran who lives in Manhattan and works at nights driving a taxi in New York City, a town he thinks is infested by animals and scum who should be terminated. He lives alone, has no friends and only talks to his colleagues at the cafeteria where they often hang out, but when he one night meets twelve year old Iris, a prostitute and runaway, his less apparent charitable side is awakened, and he decides to do everything he can to get her away from the street life. Martin Scorsese inculcated his name in Cinema history with this metaphoric vision of a USA in the aftermath of the Vietnam war where chaos and anarchy ravages along steaming streets. At the center of the story stands Travis Bickle, a loner with sociopathic tendencies who carries evident marks from the Vietnam war. The pitiful creature who wanders around in an alienated and doomed society with illusions of greatness, a quality which saves him from becoming a defeatist, get's as supposed to most people witness the night life in the streets of New York so ingoing that he becomes demoralized by the repetitive deprivation he sees. Paul Schrader's misantrophical, socially critical and chronologically told screenplay is an urgent character study about one individuals compromising behavior and moral downfall. If Bickle is a disguised Christ figure as the ingenious ending implies, or a full-blooded sociopath seeking redemption, is left for the viewer to interpret. The only thing one can determine, which is also a reassurance, is that Travis Bickle is a fictional character, not a real person. "Taxi Driver" is told through Robert De Niro's voice-over, and the whole film is seen from Bickle's perspective. A melancholic and often demanding point of view to follow as one realizes, already after the awkward scene where he shocks and repulses the beautiful campaign assistant Betsy by taking her out on a date to see a pornographic movie, that he is a doomed character who has burned all his bridges before they where even built. Bickle is personified with sharp authenticity and emphatically authority by Robert De Niro, who was nominated for best actor in 1976. What is so masterful with Martin Scorsese's classic psychological drama is that the essential cinematic elements converges, reflects the main characters darkened soul and is compressed into an eminent compositions of style and form. Another brilliant aspect is Scorsese's balanced mix of genre, where he navigates within film-noir, horror and western. The minimal rays of hope in this metaphorical inferno of a film, occurs in the sporadic and liberating moments when Scorsese drags the viewer out of the main characters frenetic mind. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaMar 19, 2012
This is Scorcese's second best film next to goodfellas. It is an unbelievable film with excellent camerawork, excellent acting from deniro and this leads to an excellent film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 13, 2011
In my top 5 and my favorite Scorsese movie. The undertones and under lying themes are intense and thought-provoking. It's also one of Robert De Niro's best performances.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTAJun 7, 2012
Taxi Driver has the best scrip I have ever seen be directed in film.De Niro portrays a taxi driver who's out to clean the dirty streets of New York. It is very well directed , I mean c'mon it was done freaking Scorsese. The supporting actorsTaxi Driver has the best scrip I have ever seen be directed in film.De Niro portrays a taxi driver who's out to clean the dirty streets of New York. It is very well directed , I mean c'mon it was done freaking Scorsese. The supporting actors do an amazing job especially young Jodie Foster who plays a 12-year-old prostitute. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Sorry15Aug 17, 2012
,,Taxi Driver'' is one of Martin Scorsese's masterpieces, a must-see of cinematography, elevated, popular and highly appreciated movie. Scorsese presents a thrilling look over mid 70's New York, through the windshield of Travis's cab. The,,Taxi Driver'' is one of Martin Scorsese's masterpieces, a must-see of cinematography, elevated, popular and highly appreciated movie. Scorsese presents a thrilling look over mid 70's New York, through the windshield of Travis's cab. The blurred lights, strong contrasts, steaming sewers, wet streets, moving frames creates a powerful image and gives notorious look to this movie. The picture created in ,,Taxi Driver'' become representative and gives a powerful, visual, artistical side to the movie. Travis Bickle is the main character, a taxi driver, veteran of Vietnam War, who takes any taxiing in New York, night or day, with no discrimination (,,It's the same for me''), an outsider to society (,,Loneliness has followed me my whole life'') and life, with no direction to go on, surely affected by the war, a time bomb and a very psychological complex character. ,,Taxi Driver'' is seen through the eyes of taxi driver, Travis, the vision over the city, the insights, the action, all belonging to him. Being psychological complex, Scorsese analyses Travis in broad and comprehensive areas, using the action at which he takes part, dialogues and also monologues of great intensity and moral attitude. De Niro's performance is outstanding, one of the greatest in his career, he gives life to a complex character with an amazing performance. The soundtrack by Bernard Herrmann completes the movie, all the other aspects of it being well-supported by this. The deep contrasts, sleazy sounds, music of saxophone, distressing atmosphere, dreaming state, the resonant power of the main theme elevate this soundtrack to an artistic peak and completes the distressing image of New York in Scorsese's vision. After Travis, the next point as relevance, is the image of New York. Scorsese creates a symbol in representation of New York from multiple points of view, the city is mastery presented through Travis's vision, directing vision and artistic vision (both visual and acoustic). From all the ,,scum'', depraved, vicious social categories to one, complex, lonely, moral character, from a distressing image to the cry of saxophone, from an outstanding direction to art, Scorsese combines all 4 major elements of this movie (the character, the visual, the acoustic, the direction) into an artistic, social and psychological lyric. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxJul 10, 2018
One of the best anti-heroes of all time. The story's amazing, De Niro plays one of his best actings of all time (One of the movie scenes is pure improvisation of him). Jodie Foster was so young and plays her character with mastery. The castOne of the best anti-heroes of all time. The story's amazing, De Niro plays one of his best actings of all time (One of the movie scenes is pure improvisation of him). Jodie Foster was so young and plays her character with mastery. The cast is marvelous, the history is intriguing. One more goal by Scorcese, one of his best movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
chwOct 4, 2014
Taxi Driver was a great Scorsese film. It was not as good as GoodFellas, Hugo, or The Departed, but it WAS better than Casino, Gangs of New York, The Aviator, and Raging Bull.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CelticBird23Jan 16, 2015
My favorite movie of all time. A film everybody needs to see. Scorsese/De Niro at their very best. From the soundtrack to the cinematography there isn't anything about this movie that's below perfection.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieMasterEddyApr 9, 2016
"Taxi Driver" a sometimes-elliptical masterpiece about the bloody redemption of an alienated New York cabbie, has been rereleased to mark its 20th anniversary. But it hasn't aged so much as triumphantly metastasized. Since the mid-1970s, the"Taxi Driver" a sometimes-elliptical masterpiece about the bloody redemption of an alienated New York cabbie, has been rereleased to mark its 20th anniversary. But it hasn't aged so much as triumphantly metastasized. Since the mid-1970s, the movie has become presciently emblematic of our emotionally diseased, violence-prone culture.

Central character Travis Bickle's semi-psychotic, solo routine in front of the mirror You talkin' to me?" has been performed as a gag at keg parties, around lunch tables, in standup routines, via e-mail and certainly in front of mirrors across the world for nearly 20 years.

More tragically, John W. Hinckley Jr.'s bizarre infatuation with Jodie Foster who plays the object of a similar obsession in "Taxi Driver" caused him to gun down President Reagan in 1981. Hinckley's statement that he wanted to impress the actress, the assassination attempt's bloody denouement (four men were struck down in all) and Hinckley's media infamy echo chillingly the scenario in "Taxi Driver." Paul Schrader's script, in fact, was partly inspired by the diaries of Arthur Bremer, the man who shot George Wallace.

And the 1976 movie's theme of bomb-ticking loneliness and, by extension, the notion that we are a nation of angry strangers who vent paranoid resentment toward public figures or the government, couldn't be more resonant today.

"Taxi Driver" also happens to be a great movie, one of the few relatively recent films (like "The Godfather") to join the pantheon of popular classics and great American cinema.

The story is about Vietnam veteran and loner Travis Bickle (Robert De Niro), who takes a job as a cabdriver in New York City. He is drawn to and disgusted by the 42nd Street and Times Square world of weirdos, hookers and pornographic theaters. Every night, he transports lost souls from place to place in this Hades-like zone, while he fumes with fascination, disgust and unbearable solitude.

His frustrated life takes a decisive turn when he meets and fixes on two women, two beacons of hope that he steers toward. One is icy uptown girl Betsy (Cybill Shepherd), who works for a presidential candidate, the other is Iris (Foster), a 12-year-old prostitute in bondage to her pimp, Sport (Harvey Keitel). When things don't turn out well with Betsy, Travis takes a course of action that changes everyone's lives forever.

Although "Taxi Driver" has been available on video for years, here is a brief opportunity to savor it the way it's meant to be seen: on the big screen. Schrader's provocative screenplay, Martin Scorsese's vivid, fluid direction, Bernard Herrmann's sensual, velvety score (which you will hear in Dolby for the first time) and De Niro's landmark performance will come to life again, 20 years later, and this trip to the flicks will be more than worth your while.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GukaJijeishviliApr 11, 2017
Great Film, one of Scorsese's Classics. Movie is Full of Great Performances, Cinematography and an Original Score That Capture's New York as a Character and it all combines Perfectly in a Finished Film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsOct 7, 2019
Taxi Driver is one of the most influential movies that has ever been made. Upon viewing this film, it is very easy to see why this is one of the greats. Everything from the screenplay, to the acting, to the direction, to the cinematography,Taxi Driver is one of the most influential movies that has ever been made. Upon viewing this film, it is very easy to see why this is one of the greats. Everything from the screenplay, to the acting, to the direction, to the cinematography, to the score hammers home a haunting tone of loneliness and isolation. Travis Bickle lives completely detached from reality, and the world he inhabits feels more and more like a fever dream as the movie progresses. Martin Scorsese really hit it out of the park on this one, and I cannot recommend it enough. This is easily one of the best films ever made. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Kieran29Oct 4, 2019
Acting is oscar-worthy. Scenes were shot very well. Too good of a movie to miss
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JesusHChristSep 5, 2007
Brilliant film. Brilliant performances. Brilliant. But while not giving anything away, i thought the ending was a missed opportunity. They could have ended on something much darker and hardhitting, but instead went the opposite. Criminal decision!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Sep 3, 2007
A classic. If you liked this movie I recommend "Harsh Times" with Chris Bale and Fred Rodrigez.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RchakJan 22, 2006
this is clearly scorsese's best film and de niro's 2nd best performance after Raging bull. This film disturbs because it actually points the finger to you.The taxi driver's problem is our problem. The society makes an arena of this is clearly scorsese's best film and de niro's 2nd best performance after Raging bull. This film disturbs because it actually points the finger to you.The taxi driver's problem is our problem. The society makes an arena of bloodbath to be unleashed one day, just like travis said, one day rain will come and remove all the scum.travis took the right path, but in the wrong way.He was more driven by his own desire of freedom rather than that of the teenage prostitute he was planning to save. It is easily comparable to the greats like the bicycle thief. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkD.Sep 14, 2005
Behind its time? Are you insane? This movie was light years ahead! Even today people are still hailing this movie as one of the greatest pieces of film of all time. It lives up to the hype in every way. Innovative camera angles and great Behind its time? Are you insane? This movie was light years ahead! Even today people are still hailing this movie as one of the greatest pieces of film of all time. It lives up to the hype in every way. Innovative camera angles and great acting make this film definitely one of the greatest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeJ.Mar 11, 2007
Robert De Niro IS Travis Bickle. A must see for anyone who thinks they know anything about film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Justinavery7074Oct 7, 2011
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa. Hold on a minute. I have to take a few breaths and appluad like mad at the brilliance that this film unravels. It's captivating as **** the acting is completely magnificent, the directing and editing have nearlyWhoa, whoa, whoa, whoa. Hold on a minute. I have to take a few breaths and appluad like mad at the brilliance that this film unravels. It's captivating as **** the acting is completely magnificent, the directing and editing have nearly reached the height of their capabilites. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
codfather96May 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A disturbing look into Travis's life and even glimpses into our own. It is hard to put a film like this into a category but it could go into horror genre in many ways as this is a nightmare to Travis but more so the people who he meets as there lives are either changed by him for better or worse with Travis's fate left hanging in a very thought provoking ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleApr 5, 2014
I did not like this one as much as I expected to, but I liked it a lot all the same. I was initially going to rate this a little lower, but I paused and realized that I all of the major aspects that I look for were good to great in this film.I did not like this one as much as I expected to, but I liked it a lot all the same. I was initially going to rate this a little lower, but I paused and realized that I all of the major aspects that I look for were good to great in this film. The acting, led by Robert De Niro and Jodie Foster, was phenomenal, especially those two. Martin Scorsese is one of the best filmmakers around and this film is no exception as his direction is on point and provided for some really cool shots of New York City, especially those from inside the taxi cab. The writing here was also good with plenty quotable lines and providing for a fantastic characterization of our lead, Travis Bickle. It was so painfully obvious who he was, that you could almost predict his actions before he did them, which is a sign of a great script. We really become invested Travis and he truly comes to life in this film. Ultimately, that is the film's "claim to fame". I do not love the story and the film can be quite slow, almost boring, at times, but at the end of the day, the film is a class-A character study that really hits all of its marks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
Quite possibly seven movies I can call a masterpiece Taxi Driver (1976). Carrie (1976). The Silence of the Lambs (1991) . 12 Angry Men (1957). To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) . Scarface (1983). Seven (1995) .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DollisOct 16, 2012
Taxi Driver is one of my favorite movie's and the others movies i like is The Godfather (1972) . Carrie (1976). Scarface (1983). GoodFellas (1990) . Raging Bull (1980) .Casino (1995) there masterpiece movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Taxi Driver will always be one of the greatest films of all time. It is the first movie in history to ever flawlessly show the disintegration of the human mind. It is an expert character study and Scorsese's masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky009Nov 30, 2016
A film not to be missed by movie lovers, Martin Scorsese 's masterpiece is just as compelling as it is convincing with Robert De Niro in one of his best roles
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HSPLazerzJul 17, 2015
There just is no other way to put it in other than that this is one of the best movies ever created. Period. Everything about it just forms this one experience that's just, well, there's no words for it. Just watch it. And you'll experienceThere just is no other way to put it in other than that this is one of the best movies ever created. Period. Everything about it just forms this one experience that's just, well, there's no words for it. Just watch it. And you'll experience one of the best movies ever created. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ag10Apr 28, 2013
Although personally, this wasn't my favourite Scorsese movie, Taxi Driver manages to tell a story with little flaws in a superb way way. The last 20 minutes made the movie. It was a genius approach to a story and very entertaining although IAlthough personally, this wasn't my favourite Scorsese movie, Taxi Driver manages to tell a story with little flaws in a superb way way. The last 20 minutes made the movie. It was a genius approach to a story and very entertaining although I believe that some of the scenes were not developed as much as they had to, or were not necessary at all. Overall, great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WeaselboystDec 31, 2015
Must have been a strange movie back in the 70's. I watched this thinking it was going to be an action movie with lots of car chases (shame), not having seen the trailers or knowing anything about it. It became an instant favorite of mine andMust have been a strange movie back in the 70's. I watched this thinking it was going to be an action movie with lots of car chases (shame), not having seen the trailers or knowing anything about it. It became an instant favorite of mine and brought me to an understanding what a good movie really is. Robert de Niro in this role is phenomenal, as with every character in this. This is where dull moments are very effective and I enjoyed those too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Movie1997Feb 22, 2014
Before classics like " The Departed", "The Wolf of Wall Street", "Goodfellas", "Casino", etc. Scorsese made a character driven film that features stellar performances by Jodie Foster, Cybill Shepard, etc. But in paticular, Robert De Nero.Before classics like " The Departed", "The Wolf of Wall Street", "Goodfellas", "Casino", etc. Scorsese made a character driven film that features stellar performances by Jodie Foster, Cybill Shepard, etc. But in paticular, Robert De Nero. This is De Nero's best performance (in my opinion). You really learn about his character and what he deals with and how he chooses to deal with certain situations. It's all these different situations stuffed into one movie. You have Travis and Betsy getting to know each other, you have Palentine running for president and you have a 12 year old prostitute all crammed into one movie. My only big flaw is the fact that the movie is so character driven that you don't learn much about the other characters. (Which I guess really doesn't matter I guess) but maybe this movie could have been longer, I don't know. All I know is this that I was amazingly impressed with how much I enjoyed this movie and how interested in De Nero's performance as Travis Bickle. Overall, it's an amazing character driven Scorsese picture. I give it an A-! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NimbleReviewJun 18, 2013
Excellent movie with so many small, great moments. This story is told perfectly, and the film is completely engrossing. Robert De Niro gives a ridiculously good performance as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HouseClarkzoniaNov 6, 2013
Another De'Nero film that hit the roof with over the top brilliant acting, dialogue and all over brilliance with the films atmosphere and characters. I would love to see this film again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eagleeyevikingOct 21, 2019
Hallucinatory in its execution, Martin Scorcese's "Taxi Driver" is a riveting drama that leaves an impression long after the end credits with the way it deftly handles heavy issues.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rory_sMar 31, 2014
Taxi Driver follows the story of Travis. Travis wants a rain to come along and wash all the scum off the street. So he becomes the rain. De Niro proves he is the arguably the best living actor. His potrayal of a Vietnam veteran is haunting.Taxi Driver follows the story of Travis. Travis wants a rain to come along and wash all the scum off the street. So he becomes the rain. De Niro proves he is the arguably the best living actor. His potrayal of a Vietnam veteran is haunting. The movie digs so deep into his character. And the end scene will stick with you forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bob_LoblawApr 26, 2014
To quote Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, World's End), because he sums it up better than I could possibly hope to, this is "a film so vivid, hypnotic and corrosive that it feels forever seared onto your eyeballs, Taxi Driver turnsTo quote Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, World's End), because he sums it up better than I could possibly hope to, this is "a film so vivid, hypnotic and corrosive that it feels forever seared onto your eyeballs, Taxi Driver turns a city, a time and a state of mind into a walking nightmare that’s somehow both horribly real and utterly dreamlike".

One of my three favourite films of all time along with Goodfellas and 2001: A Space Odyssey from America's greatest living filmmaker. Not to mention that Robert De Niro gives one of his greatest performances. Pity, considering the crap that he is seems to be releasing nowadays.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gonkrialJun 10, 2014
This movie was a fantastic masterpiece. This movie is very intense, and if possible i would watch the movie with no "movie talkers" because every line of dialogue in this movie is vital. You know its a good movie when after you watch it youThis movie was a fantastic masterpiece. This movie is very intense, and if possible i would watch the movie with no "movie talkers" because every line of dialogue in this movie is vital. You know its a good movie when after you watch it you have to stop and think about just how crazy that was. I wish i had never seen it so i could re watch it for the first ti again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PfenderStrat621Aug 16, 2014
The majority prefer Goodfellas but, i prefer Taxi Driver. This movie is one of the most sincere and strangely beautiful movies i have ever seen. With a great soundtrack this movie also won the Palme D'or at Cannes film festival, which is theThe majority prefer Goodfellas but, i prefer Taxi Driver. This movie is one of the most sincere and strangely beautiful movies i have ever seen. With a great soundtrack this movie also won the Palme D'or at Cannes film festival, which is the most prestigious award that you can give to a movie. I highly recommend it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
utbadstudentNov 18, 2014
If you saw it once and thought it was nice, please trust me and see it again. It's the sort of picture that changes, grows and evolves as you - the viewer - change, grow and evolve. Every time it feels just as fresh and terrifying as ever before.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 17, 2015
definitely tops all best film lists of the 20th Century as well as the best picture winner of the 1976 Cannes Film Festival, Martin Scorsese's anti-hero vigilante masterpiece is still a serious film that must still be taken into account anddefinitely tops all best film lists of the 20th Century as well as the best picture winner of the 1976 Cannes Film Festival, Martin Scorsese's anti-hero vigilante masterpiece is still a serious film that must still be taken into account and widely considered as an important film.

a brilliant story of rejection in society, led by anger and a psychotic sense for violence, its a film that will stand the test of time for its significant portrait of Travis Bickle (Robert De Niro), one of the deadliest characters ever brought to cinema.

featuring a nightmarish soundtrack by charismatic composer Bernard Hermann (Citizen Kane, and Vertigo) that will be stuck in your mind forever
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RalfbergsFeb 2, 2018
Even though I think the movie at some points had some boring prolonged stuff in my opinion, all in all it is a good movie, maybe I wouldn't consider it one of the best, but I can see why people do. And acting of Roberto De Niro is certainlyEven though I think the movie at some points had some boring prolonged stuff in my opinion, all in all it is a good movie, maybe I wouldn't consider it one of the best, but I can see why people do. And acting of Roberto De Niro is certainly great here. Also how Scorsese sets the atmosphere of New York and taxi driving work is really great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
smartmartSep 28, 2015
One of the great films. Disturbing, brutal, violent, and greatly engaging. Robert De Niro delivers one of the great performances of the 1970's, and Scorsese's directing and filmmaking style is absolutely brilliant. Deserving of all theOne of the great films. Disturbing, brutal, violent, and greatly engaging. Robert De Niro delivers one of the great performances of the 1970's, and Scorsese's directing and filmmaking style is absolutely brilliant. Deserving of all the acclaim that it has received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JurgenRamnballOct 9, 2016
I expected more, to be honest. Scorcese is an amazing director and makes good shots, DeNiro and Foster are great, as well as the rest of the cast. The cinematography is dark and dirty, which makes sense with the crime concept. It's in meansI expected more, to be honest. Scorcese is an amazing director and makes good shots, DeNiro and Foster are great, as well as the rest of the cast. The cinematography is dark and dirty, which makes sense with the crime concept. It's in means of narrative that it has its problems, the romance is unbearable, with chessy dialogues and unnecessary events. Travis also has a mental conflict that isn't accurately developed according to his attitudes, mostly in the ending. Edit: Themain theme gets repetitive after the first hour. It is a good movie, but it's bad that we have it as a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hermeStalkerJul 27, 2015
I was stunned by the way Scorsese demonstared the town at night . the movies made at those times were usually about mafia, drug dealers and almost any nonsense matter. but this one was a movie of hope. hope of better future for the town. justI was stunned by the way Scorsese demonstared the town at night . the movies made at those times were usually about mafia, drug dealers and almost any nonsense matter. but this one was a movie of hope. hope of better future for the town. just take a look at the last moments of movie, it shows the dark sky just the same way as Deniro was seeing it, then the motion of ordinary people emerges. to me , it means the hope of a better future. and this future is made by guys like the cabby. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HenryKrinkleOct 31, 2015
One of the best films ever made. De Niro is one of the best actors we've ever had, and he's on top form here. So is Scorsese.... some of the things he does with his camera are astounding!! Another fantastic score from Herman as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMay 1, 2016
Taxi Driver's fun to watch. Why does every movie like this always get the great ratings? Ah, who cares? Taxi Driver shows the backstory of the driver behind the taxi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CinemassacreMar 13, 2016
n March 1977, the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences committed another in their seemingly-endless series of injustices, awarding the Best Picture Oscar to John Avildsen's Rocky, thereby snubbing one of the great modern Americann March 1977, the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences committed another in their seemingly-endless series of injustices, awarding the Best Picture Oscar to John Avildsen's Rocky, thereby snubbing one of the great modern American classics, Martin Scorsese's Taxi Driver. While Rocky represents solid entertainment, it lacks the psychological depth of Scorsese's picture, replacing daring character development with a feel-good sports formula. Taxi Driver is on a level that Rocky neither aspires to nor attains.

Like Raging Bull, Taxi Driver features Robert De Niro in top form. As good as the actor has been elsewhere, these two pictures mark the apex of his superlative career. From his first scene in Taxi Driver, De Niro is Travis Bickle, a 26-year old ex-Marine searching for work that will keep him up all night as a means of combating insomnia. At the outset, Travis is a lonely, disillusioned man who can still function within the "normal" constraints of society. As time passes, however, Travis becomes increasingly alienated from the world around him, spiraling into a state of dissociated delusion. He sees New York City as a place of urban decay populated by "animals" and "scum" that need to be swept away. And who better than him to initiate the process? De Niro's performance is so perfectly-tuned that we in the audience don't have a moment's doubt or disbelief about what's taking place in Travis' troubled mind.

Initially, Travis is attracted to the cool-but-beautiful Betsy (Cybill Shepherd), a volunteer for Senator Palantine's Presidential campaign. Although Travis' stares initially make Betsy uneasy, his persistence pays off when she agrees to accompany him to the movies. Unfortunately, the socially-inept Travis chooses a hard-core porn film for their first date. Following that gaffe, Betsy dumps him, accelerating Travis' descent into isolation.

The next woman to enter Travis' life is a twelve-year old prostitute named Iris. Played by a fresh-faced Jodie Foster with an enthralling mix of youth and world-weary sophistication, Iris' apparent innocence is belied by her profession. Travis decides to save her, although his motivation results less from a concern for her well-being than from a need to be seen as a savior. Iris really isn't a person to him; she's a symbol. But redeeming one girl is only an aspect of his plan -- he also intends to assassinate Senator Palantine. Travis is tired of sitting back and taking what life dishes out. He wants to act, even if the action has no basis in logic, because, by this time, he is beyond rational considerations.

Scorsese and writer Paul Schrader append the perfect conclusion to Taxi Driver. Steeped in irony, the five-minute epilogue underscores the vagaries of fate. The media builds Travis into a hero, when, had he been a little quicker drawing his gun against Senator Palantine, he would have been reviled as an assassin. As the film closes, the misanthrope has been embraced as the model citizen -- someone who takes on pimps, drug dealers, and mobsters to save one little girl.

There's no doubt that Taxi Driver paints an extremely disturbing portrait -- we find ourselves understanding Travis' mindset. This is expert film making from Scorsese, cinematographer Michael Chapman, and the actors. Schrader's script, which was inspired by such diverse works as Dostoevsky's Notes From Underground and Harry Chapin's song, "Taxi," is a masterful psychological study, the depth of which can only fully be appreciated on repeat viewings.

Twenty years after its initial release, Taxi Driver has reached screens in a new, pristine print featuring a remastered stereo soundtrack. And, despite the passage of two decades, the only thing dated about this film are the fashions. Taxi Driver's message still rings as true as ever, and the characters are as shockingly believable as in the mid-seventies. This re-release offers movie-goers another opportunity to see one of Scorsese's most influential and disturbing films on the big screen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NihadBOSnaMay 24, 2016
Very good dark drama movie i enjoyed it just like any other martin movie classic
As for acting i loved the way DeNiro played in this movies especially solo scenes
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aldemir_LDec 30, 2019
Very relevant themes today beginning 2020! A must-see for any cinema passionate. Works of art of this caliber are only possible as the by-product of two or more human geniuses that are brought together for its fruition. There were three inVery relevant themes today beginning 2020! A must-see for any cinema passionate. Works of art of this caliber are only possible as the by-product of two or more human geniuses that are brought together for its fruition. There were three in this case if you ask me: one contributes the screenplay, one crafts it into film, and one gives it life through acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Jun 14, 2019
A certain, witty homage for film noir, sited in one of less unfriendly districts of New York; instead of private detective, the anti-hero is an antisocial, sleepless cab driver performed by splendid Robert de Niro in one his iconic, ultimateA certain, witty homage for film noir, sited in one of less unfriendly districts of New York; instead of private detective, the anti-hero is an antisocial, sleepless cab driver performed by splendid Robert de Niro in one his iconic, ultimate roles. One of shall to see before you die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
daviddelnorte23Apr 1, 2017
Rememorando 'Taxi driver'. El otro diá no podía dormir y repasando mis películas volví a encontrar la cinta de Martin Scorsese y Robert De niro. Me lanzé a verla de nuevo.

Y sí esto me parece una obra maestra del cine. Una de mis películas
Rememorando 'Taxi driver'. El otro diá no podía dormir y repasando mis películas volví a encontrar la cinta de Martin Scorsese y Robert De niro. Me lanzé a verla de nuevo.

Y sí esto me parece una obra maestra del cine. Una de mis películas favoritas. Y es que refleja la sociedad de NY de la época... No también la de HOY en día.

Los diálogos y el guión en general no pueden ser mejores ni estar mejor escritos. Así como la bso está completamente acorde a lo que transmite la película. "¿Sabes lo que puede hacer una .44 en el coño de una mujer?". De niro logra crear un personaje con el que empatizarás, un inadaptado a la sociedad. Un transtornado de la guerra que vuelve a "casa" y alguién que sigue teniendo una mente bastante perversa.

De entre todas las escanas rescato la mítica escena del asalto a la casa como una de las mejores de la historia del cine, seguida de una de las imágenes más icónicas del mismo. Sabéis cual es...

En definitiva, lo dicho Obra maestra del cine que todos deberían ver al menos una vez. En la comparación con 'Toro salvaje' me quedo un pelín antes con 'Toro Salvaje'. Un 9.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
eva3si0nFeb 28, 2018
The cult movie with young Robert de Niro. A happy simple story with a pleasant soundtrack, one of the best movies by Scorsese.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AmadeusMozartMar 25, 2017
Apart from the outstanding progressing story, both the acting by Robert de Niro and the unique characterization Martin Scorsese gives this character combine to make this movie an actual masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JPKJan 17, 2020
Bloody Brilliant
Dark, gritty, and terrifying, Taxi Driver is a masterpiece from start to finish and inspired another masterpiece, 2019’s Joker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mr_aliDec 3, 2017
one of the best movie in the world and relly relly Attractive movie.de niro played very well.a man who wanted to get rid of the dirt that left the community sick.I suggest you see the (God's alone man) :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jaredc324May 17, 2019
Whenever a frame or a mere sound of Taxi Driver's lush pulse comes to focus, you immediately become enwarped, entranced and enveloped into the miraculous and terrifying character study that Scorsese so vigorously brings to life. It's a movieWhenever a frame or a mere sound of Taxi Driver's lush pulse comes to focus, you immediately become enwarped, entranced and enveloped into the miraculous and terrifying character study that Scorsese so vigorously brings to life. It's a movie that dispels such artistic license, it makes you reflect about what your work of inspiration brings to to the table. Taxi Driver may not be suited for any general audience, but for those intrigued by cinema and moved by the impact of risk-taking artistry, then this is the film for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeJan 16, 2018
Scorsese's film is hauntingly beautiful, there are few scenes that I don't understand, maybe, I am not ready for it.

Taxi Driver Scorsese is a filmmaker that is ready to get his hands dirty. Who else will be a better contender then, than
Scorsese's film is hauntingly beautiful, there are few scenes that I don't understand, maybe, I am not ready for it.

Taxi Driver

Scorsese is a filmmaker that is ready to get his hands dirty. Who else will be a better contender then, than him, to sculpt this street life into a thorough character study. And it is exactly that. You can describe it as an exemplary political satire or the essential whipping of the tiring social conduct that we are daily told to go through. To me, it will always be a good character study. For a guy who spends easily half his day alone, confined within the four walls of my room, I can say I am really impressed by the way how Paul Schrader has explained him (Travis Bickle) on the paper, the director Martin Scorsese has executed him on the screen and Robert De Niro has played him in that room.

You can see the entire cast and crew excited to explore the darker side of the streets, giving it justice to what has led this here. And it is not just the present form of these scenarios that Scorsese wants to focus on. There is a road ahead (the future), De Niro present in the driver's seat and the mirror (the past) that he gazes upon every now and then.

What I love the most about this film is how spontaneous it is. The second half, the last hour of the film feels like a one big climax ready to roll its credit any minute now. De Niro has no endgame in his mind and he is taking big life changing decisions, every day, leaving us at the brisk of our emotions, teasing us to scream out loud. The actual plot, the so-called evidence of a thread of narration that Taxi Driver offers us as a compensation, is something I don't even need. The film had won me over far before all the redemption, salvation, sacrifice and nobility theme, the conversation between his fellow drivers is a circle I happily merry-go-round around.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NinteundoApr 21, 2018
This movie takes a while to build up, but the conclusion is very rewarding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GrantD243May 12, 2019
I put off watching Taxi Driver for so long, and I can't believe I did. It's a truly enthralling story with great acting by everyone involved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CigarillJun 20, 2018
You talkin'o me? You talking to me? You're talking to me? Taxi Driver is a genius masterpiece, and the acting is among the best I've ever seen. Travis Bickle is a taxi driver, but also a sociopath who fakes emotions in order to fit in. HisYou talkin'o me? You talking to me? You're talking to me? Taxi Driver is a genius masterpiece, and the acting is among the best I've ever seen. Travis Bickle is a taxi driver, but also a sociopath who fakes emotions in order to fit in. His efforts aren't enough however, and he needs to come up with something to impress the world. The film itself isn't impressive on paper, but De Niro's superb acting is simply so utterly impressive that it makes the film impressive. In fact, it's hard to pick an actor who doesn't do a good job in this movie, even Martin Scorsese himself makes a fairly impressive minor yet iconic performance as a mentally unstable woman beater. Overall, while it could have been slow, the character is interesting enough to spend nearly three hours learning about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AnnyunOct 14, 2019
A perfect movie. Romanticism of loneliness, questioning the concept of manliness, and added to this complexity the amazing acting performances by all the actors and the amazing music score just makes this movie not just good, but beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
carlossolracDec 17, 2018
That movie you must quote, must perform, standing naked and in front of a mirror, whilst glistening with sparkly sweat, after a shower, after a yoga class, in the YMCA locker room.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
zNeverSleepingOct 12, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Se me dissessem que esse filme era de 1976, eu não acreditaria.

Primeiro de tudo, ele envelheceu muito bem. Não só se referindo aos aspectos técnicos, onde ele se mostra impecável, mas também pela forma de como tudo se enquadra nesse século, mesmo após 43 anos. Assisti o filme do Joker, semana passada, e logo após saber que o Todd Phillips se inspirava em Scorsese, fui correndo ver os filmes dele, sendo o primeiro este, e uma das maiores sintonias sobre o filme é: As pessoas estão cansadas.

Matar é claramente imoral e Antiético, mas do que isso vale?! Faça isso com as pessoas "certas" e seja considerado um Herói, como o próprio protagonista. O filme não se esforça em "empatizar" o personagem, e isso nem se quer é necessário. Na realidade, sentimos até uma satisfação, muito pelo fato de que as coisas ocorrem bem no final, tanto com a Iris quanto com o protagonista - supondo que ela não tenha ficado profundamente traumatizada e realmente voltado a vida "comum", ou o mais próximo disso.

Considerações a se fazer: De Niro estava excelente nesse filme; OST fantástica; caracterização da antiga New York impecável; De forma geral, atuações próximas da realidade, nada muito icônico; Realismo quanto ao impacto dos tiros - isso realmente me agradou muito, pois é muito mascarado/negligenciado; Roteiro muito bem escrito.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
explicterAug 10, 2019
Incredible and masterpiece . One of the best movie cinma ever had . Also one of the best scorseses movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MahmusAug 22, 2019
Robert Deniro gives probably the best performance of his entire career (and that is saying a lot) in one of Martin Scorsese's best films (which is also saying a lot).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Cooperward4Oct 10, 2019
Taxi Driver is a film which delves deep into the broken physique of its protagonist Travis Bickle, perfectly portrayed by Robert De Niro. It is a film which brilliantly depicts Travis's struggle through PTSD and insomnia. What makes thisTaxi Driver is a film which delves deep into the broken physique of its protagonist Travis Bickle, perfectly portrayed by Robert De Niro. It is a film which brilliantly depicts Travis's struggle through PTSD and insomnia. What makes this movie truly special and unique is that the film's antagonist is Travis's conflict within himself. Throughout the film Travis's downfall into acts of violence is somewhat justified but as the film progresses you begin to chastise the path he is taking. Travis's downfall into paranoia and acts of violence is sold excellently by Robert De Niro in this film and Martin Scorsese's superb direction throughout this film simply makes this film excellent in almost every way. One small bias is that the film just happens to be the debut film of my favourite actress, Jodie Foster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TonySaintMarcNov 4, 2019
Except for the tinny disjointed story, it is one of the Best Film in the History
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChiccoDiversJan 19, 2020
Absolute masterclass of a film. A must see for anyone even vaguely interested in cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bigdaddy123Jan 8, 2020
A good classic from the 70s. Also would recommend the soundtrack for a listen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RedUnicycleMar 27, 2020
Deep, gritty, subtly crafted, visually stunning, and elevated by an amazing lead performance as well as a beautiful and haunting musical score, Scorsese’s finest work will always remain one of the finest movies of all time. The 1970’s wereDeep, gritty, subtly crafted, visually stunning, and elevated by an amazing lead performance as well as a beautiful and haunting musical score, Scorsese’s finest work will always remain one of the finest movies of all time. The 1970’s were such an incredible decade for cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews