Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: July 12, 2019
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 75 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
34
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
tropicAcesJul 12, 2019
Not all of its jokes land and it seems to run out of things to do after the second act, but I laughed enough to find it worth my time.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobNov 13, 2019
The chemistry between Dave and Kumail is undeniable and they truly uplift this movie far beyond what it should be. I wish they took more advantage of the premise, It felt like they kind of ran out of things to do before we even got to theThe chemistry between Dave and Kumail is undeniable and they truly uplift this movie far beyond what it should be. I wish they took more advantage of the premise, It felt like they kind of ran out of things to do before we even got to the second half of the movie. And by that point, It just kind of limped to the finish.

I'd happily check something else out starring the two as long as it wasn't a sequel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Jul 16, 2019
Considering the trailers I saw, this movie has no business being as competently amusing as it actually is. But, alas, he we are. "Stuber's" admittedly shocking lack of failure stems mainly from the chemistry and inherent comedic talentsConsidering the trailers I saw, this movie has no business being as competently amusing as it actually is. But, alas, he we are. "Stuber's" admittedly shocking lack of failure stems mainly from the chemistry and inherent comedic talents behind the leads in question. Dave Bautista and Kumail Nanjiani make for a likable pair, both bringing their trademark commitment and watchability to every scene, even elevating some of the film's weaker material into a realm where you can at least crack a smile or even chuckle. Not a whole lot else to say about this one, as the story and character work at hand can vary between being basic and just plain "meh." It's simply a watchable comedy, and a surprising one, at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
eagleeyevikingNov 17, 2019
While "Stuber" is light and entertaining, and there is chemistry between the two leads, the jokes do not land consistently, and the plot is very uninteresting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Voodoo123Oct 14, 2019
+Great cast
+Decent cinematography/production value
-Weak/improvised sounding screenplay -Pacing off enough to make the 90 min run time feel like 2hrs! I enjoyed this less than I expected... Something feels off and the chemistry of Nanjiani
+Great cast
+Decent cinematography/production value
-Weak/improvised sounding screenplay
-Pacing off enough to make the 90 min run time feel like 2hrs!

I enjoyed this less than I expected... Something feels off and the chemistry of Nanjiani and Bautista just never really lands and the screenplay... well its improvised scene after improvised scene ad nauseum so about as good as any 80's/90's comedy vehicle minus the energy of that all essential comedy writing talent which just isn't here. Still in spite of all it fails to achieve I kinda enjoyed switching off and watching the predictably chaotic buddy cop plot unfold.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
zouz123Jul 17, 2019
An average movie with heartwarming performances from Bautista and Nanjiani. The chemistry between the two acotrs in nice and there are some funny moments. But it's not funny enough to recommend it. Watch it if you want something fast and light
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DubeauOct 7, 2019
Stuber could have been less generic in terms of cop comedy. The story is ok but not really great. It gets better when the daughter of the cop is present. There was something there that could have been exploited much sooner, and more often.Stuber could have been less generic in terms of cop comedy. The story is ok but not really great. It gets better when the daughter of the cop is present. There was something there that could have been exploited much sooner, and more often. The acting in general is good but the comedy is missing punch, clarity and interesting lines. So the dialogs feels funny in very brief moments. The slapstick humor didn't really work because you could see it a mile away. The actions wasn't something to brag about. The music was forgettable. I give it 45%. Not that Stuber was bad but this is the kind of film you will watch once, and forget about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Jul 23, 2019
Surprisingly there's a good and functional chemistry between Nanjiani and Bautista but the main problem lies in everything else and is that this is the kind of comedy that depends on how little you demand from it to make it look more fun thanSurprisingly there's a good and functional chemistry between Nanjiani and Bautista but the main problem lies in everything else and is that this is the kind of comedy that depends on how little you demand from it to make it look more fun than it really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BitbatAug 3, 2019
With me, most of the audience found the movie pretty funny overall. I think the jokes are more intended for adults in their mid 30s-40s, however this was a problem for me as i didn't get most of the jokes in the film. Action was decent andWith me, most of the audience found the movie pretty funny overall. I think the jokes are more intended for adults in their mid 30s-40s, however this was a problem for me as i didn't get most of the jokes in the film. Action was decent and somewhat exciting.

If you want to see a decent comedy film, go ahead and see it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Mauro_LanariOct 10, 2019
(Mauro Lanari)
A buddy cop movie that, although updated, is not saved with citationism and meta-citationism from too many and famous precursors. It should have dared more by pressing further on the accelerator of excess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews