Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: July 12, 2019
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 75 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
34
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
tropicAcesJul 12, 2019
Not all of its jokes land and it seems to run out of things to do after the second act, but I laughed enough to find it worth my time.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
LaytonFComedyJul 13, 2019
Nanjiani has shown me that he picks pretty bad movies. MIB and Stuber both fall super flat for me. I didn't find anything he said funny. Dave Bautista was not much better honestly. The story was nothing new at all. It was not insanely boring.Nanjiani has shown me that he picks pretty bad movies. MIB and Stuber both fall super flat for me. I didn't find anything he said funny. Dave Bautista was not much better honestly. The story was nothing new at all. It was not insanely boring. I will give it that. Many of the films that have come out this Summer have been snooze fests. Aladdin for example had me legitimately falling asleep. I hope for better things for the two of these actors. I honestly wish this movie was just Bautista and Karen Gillan. They seemed to be a better pair to me. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
moviecritic68Jul 17, 2019
I could have easily graded this like others in the yellow zone but chose to edge it up into green. There were many comical scenes that made the audience laugh but I admit the premise was silly. So bottom line no where near a blockbuster butI could have easily graded this like others in the yellow zone but chose to edge it up into green. There were many comical scenes that made the audience laugh but I admit the premise was silly. So bottom line no where near a blockbuster but just a fun movie to escape some of the realities of our crazy world. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Davrosdaleks1Jul 14, 2019
The action comedy Stuber has Dave Bautista as a cop whose gone rogue when his case is being transferred. His sight's recovering from eye laser surgery, so he commandeers Kumail Nanjiani's uber drive in order to pursue his enemy. A strainedThe action comedy Stuber has Dave Bautista as a cop whose gone rogue when his case is being transferred. His sight's recovering from eye laser surgery, so he commandeers Kumail Nanjiani's uber drive in order to pursue his enemy. A strained premise, yes, but it kinda works in what is a generally entertaining film.

Bautista's the tough guy and Nanjiani's the sensitive guy. The whole opposites working together trope here is pretty worn and predictable. (There are in fact several tropes in this.) However, there are moments where the characters work pretty well. They lean so hard into Bautista being an over-the-top Dirty Harry character and Nanjiani being almost aggressively defensive in his "woke" ways that the characters make a place for themselves. Their discussions of their differences do provide some of the better moments, including one slightly more serious discussion about Bautista's character's childhood that is really well done.

The jokes that work are pretty much 50/50. Nanjiani has a lot of failed lines in the first act when he is being introduced. He gets better when he starts interacting with the chaos that ensues. I don't think this is Nanjiani's best work. Here he has do to rapid fire jokes, and I think he does better with slower-paced delivery. Bautista on the other hand: no notes; good job.

For a comedy, there are some above-the-call camera shots here. Violence is entertainingly over-the-top. Not There is one kill that is pretty memorable.

There is one civilian murder that I found gratuitous. It just didn't feel necessary to the plot.

This movie is fun, but it's lightweight. I recommend you see this, but you don't need to see it immediately or pay too much.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
09havocwormJul 13, 2019
Really funny movie. I liked the two leads they had great chemistry together. The action scenes were a bit shaky but I did not see the movie for the action. I say see it I found it very funny.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
JSANTANA2Jul 13, 2019
Funny movie, action packed. It had me dying the whole time with all there unpredictable jokes.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
mishaelOct 12, 2019
this dope movie love it love the action alot hope thes second nother one next
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobNov 13, 2019
The chemistry between Dave and Kumail is undeniable and they truly uplift this movie far beyond what it should be. I wish they took more advantage of the premise, It felt like they kind of ran out of things to do before we even got to theThe chemistry between Dave and Kumail is undeniable and they truly uplift this movie far beyond what it should be. I wish they took more advantage of the premise, It felt like they kind of ran out of things to do before we even got to the second half of the movie. And by that point, It just kind of limped to the finish.

I'd happily check something else out starring the two as long as it wasn't a sequel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EludiumQ36Oct 26, 2019
"A new comedy duo?"
So first we have "The Rock" and diminutive Kevin Hart teaming on a few comedy films, now it looks like they're pitching us "The Animal" and "Silicon Valley's" Kumail for another comedic duo. "Stuber" is a fun little jaunt,
"A new comedy duo?"
So first we have "The Rock" and diminutive Kevin Hart teaming on a few comedy films, now it looks like they're pitching us "The Animal" and "Silicon Valley's" Kumail for another comedic duo. "Stuber" is a fun little jaunt, not to be taken seriously of course, but it's a fun little ride with its cute little moments mostly deriving from Bautista's Hulk-like approach to situations against Kumail's electric-car prissy-ness. Fans of GLOW will be pleased to see "Liberty Belle" (Betty Gilpin) in this, too. (originally posted on IMDB 10/12/19)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
scoleyJul 19, 2019
This is a really funny movie a lot better than I thought it would be the chemistry between the two actors works well. The action scences are good and the pacing is about right well worth a watch the whole audiendce in the cinema also seemedThis is a really funny movie a lot better than I thought it would be the chemistry between the two actors works well. The action scences are good and the pacing is about right well worth a watch the whole audiendce in the cinema also seemed to enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Jul 16, 2019
Considering the trailers I saw, this movie has no business being as competently amusing as it actually is. But, alas, he we are. "Stuber's" admittedly shocking lack of failure stems mainly from the chemistry and inherent comedic talentsConsidering the trailers I saw, this movie has no business being as competently amusing as it actually is. But, alas, he we are. "Stuber's" admittedly shocking lack of failure stems mainly from the chemistry and inherent comedic talents behind the leads in question. Dave Bautista and Kumail Nanjiani make for a likable pair, both bringing their trademark commitment and watchability to every scene, even elevating some of the film's weaker material into a realm where you can at least crack a smile or even chuckle. Not a whole lot else to say about this one, as the story and character work at hand can vary between being basic and just plain "meh." It's simply a watchable comedy, and a surprising one, at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GibtonNov 4, 2019
A very unappreciated comedy with funny and unpredictable jokes. Kumail Nanjiani was incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
eagleeyevikingNov 17, 2019
While "Stuber" is light and entertaining, and there is chemistry between the two leads, the jokes do not land consistently, and the plot is very uninteresting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Voodoo123Oct 14, 2019
+Great cast
+Decent cinematography/production value
-Weak/improvised sounding screenplay -Pacing off enough to make the 90 min run time feel like 2hrs! I enjoyed this less than I expected... Something feels off and the chemistry of Nanjiani
+Great cast
+Decent cinematography/production value
-Weak/improvised sounding screenplay
-Pacing off enough to make the 90 min run time feel like 2hrs!

I enjoyed this less than I expected... Something feels off and the chemistry of Nanjiani and Bautista just never really lands and the screenplay... well its improvised scene after improvised scene ad nauseum so about as good as any 80's/90's comedy vehicle minus the energy of that all essential comedy writing talent which just isn't here. Still in spite of all it fails to achieve I kinda enjoyed switching off and watching the predictably chaotic buddy cop plot unfold.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
zouz123Jul 17, 2019
An average movie with heartwarming performances from Bautista and Nanjiani. The chemistry between the two acotrs in nice and there are some funny moments. But it's not funny enough to recommend it. Watch it if you want something fast and light
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AcaciaJul 23, 2019
I went to see “Stuber” with 12 other ladies. We all loved it! Dave Bautista and Kumail Nanjiani have a wonderful chemistry as a cop who commandeers an Uber driver and his car. Vic (the cop, Bautista) is chasing the guy who killed someoneI went to see “Stuber” with 12 other ladies. We all loved it! Dave Bautista and Kumail Nanjiani have a wonderful chemistry as a cop who commandeers an Uber driver and his car. Vic (the cop, Bautista) is chasing the guy who killed someone dear to him. Stu (Nanjiani the Uber driver) gets drawn in to a series of crazy confrontations with criminal elements. There are some funny moments along the way and the movie is lots of fun to watch. Stu starts to get his man pants on as the night moves along and eventually finds creative ways to give Vic a hand vanquishing the bad guys. I really enjoyed this movie! It is fun, fast paced, the leads are great together. Loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RalfbergsDec 18, 2019
While the movie had really many dumb stuff happening, silly stuff and unrealistic things, given it is a comedy it should be judged by how funny it was and I found it really great and interesting throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DubeauOct 7, 2019
Stuber could have been less generic in terms of cop comedy. The story is ok but not really great. It gets better when the daughter of the cop is present. There was something there that could have been exploited much sooner, and more often.Stuber could have been less generic in terms of cop comedy. The story is ok but not really great. It gets better when the daughter of the cop is present. There was something there that could have been exploited much sooner, and more often. The acting in general is good but the comedy is missing punch, clarity and interesting lines. So the dialogs feels funny in very brief moments. The slapstick humor didn't really work because you could see it a mile away. The actions wasn't something to brag about. The music was forgettable. I give it 45%. Not that Stuber was bad but this is the kind of film you will watch once, and forget about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Jul 23, 2019
Surprisingly there's a good and functional chemistry between Nanjiani and Bautista but the main problem lies in everything else and is that this is the kind of comedy that depends on how little you demand from it to make it look more fun thanSurprisingly there's a good and functional chemistry between Nanjiani and Bautista but the main problem lies in everything else and is that this is the kind of comedy that depends on how little you demand from it to make it look more fun than it really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GrantD243Aug 26, 2019
Stuber is pretty much on-par with all of the other comedian/big guy team up films that have been released over the past few years. It's extremely simple in concept and the jokes are about what you'd expect. However, I did really enjoy theStuber is pretty much on-par with all of the other comedian/big guy team up films that have been released over the past few years. It's extremely simple in concept and the jokes are about what you'd expect. However, I did really enjoy the chemistry between Bautista and Nanjiani. Overall, I'd say this one is more enjoyable than pretty much every Kevin Hart film ever made. It's perfect for a lazy afternoon watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
VizibubbancsNov 27, 2019
Not all of its jokes land, but I laughed enough to find it entertaining. Good actions unpredictable surprise jokes, loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BitbatAug 3, 2019
With me, most of the audience found the movie pretty funny overall. I think the jokes are more intended for adults in their mid 30s-40s, however this was a problem for me as i didn't get most of the jokes in the film. Action was decent andWith me, most of the audience found the movie pretty funny overall. I think the jokes are more intended for adults in their mid 30s-40s, however this was a problem for me as i didn't get most of the jokes in the film. Action was decent and somewhat exciting.

If you want to see a decent comedy film, go ahead and see it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DerekReideJul 25, 2019
'Stuber' is an all-out fun team-up film with the traditional buddy-cop formula polished right on top. Bautista and Nanjiani both have great chemistry together on-screen and the action sequences are really cool, but sometimes a bit uneven and'Stuber' is an all-out fun team-up film with the traditional buddy-cop formula polished right on top. Bautista and Nanjiani both have great chemistry together on-screen and the action sequences are really cool, but sometimes a bit uneven and jerky. Also, the villain doesn't really have much to do as he just comes in, fights, and then he's done. All in all, definitely a leave your brain at the door type film worth the laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Mauro_LanariOct 10, 2019
(Mauro Lanari)
A buddy cop movie that, although updated, is not saved with citationism and meta-citationism from too many and famous precursors. It should have dared more by pressing further on the accelerator of excess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Riyan_ibrahimJul 27, 2019
Funny and good action along the movie, enjoy the movie like a grazy young man
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JessthespiderJul 29, 2019
Ehhhh It tried so hard to be funny. I wanted to laugh.... I really did but it's just so poorly done it might as well be placed under parody of action movies. Hell it would of done better if it had been self-aware of its bland unfunny jokes.Ehhhh It tried so hard to be funny. I wanted to laugh.... I really did but it's just so poorly done it might as well be placed under parody of action movies. Hell it would of done better if it had been self-aware of its bland unfunny jokes. I want to give it a zero but I think a lot of the camea shots work and that the actors were good at not reminding me it's a movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mollie1983Oct 27, 2019
I thought it was a great movie! It was much funnier than I expected and kept me engaged throughout the entirety of it. I don’t know why the reviews aren’t higher?! I’m an average movie-goer and I really loved this movie. My boyfriend loved itI thought it was a great movie! It was much funnier than I expected and kept me engaged throughout the entirety of it. I don’t know why the reviews aren’t higher?! I’m an average movie-goer and I really loved this movie. My boyfriend loved it as well! I think it’s a great watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews