Open Road Films (II) | Release Date: November 6, 2015
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 916 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
812
Mixed:
54
Negative:
50
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarcDoyleNov 6, 2015
An incredible film that generates the same momentum and excitement that All the Presidents Men did. Michael Keaton has never been better, and Mark Ruffalo is outstanding as usual. I'll also mention the always terrific Stanley Tucci - he'sAn incredible film that generates the same momentum and excitement that All the Presidents Men did. Michael Keaton has never been better, and Mark Ruffalo is outstanding as usual. I'll also mention the always terrific Stanley Tucci - he's brilliant here. It's an important story, and the filmmakers handle it with care. In a way, it restores your faith in what quality investigative journalism can produce. It's only November, but this is my movie of the year so far. Expand
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
10
CMCJan 6, 2016
Bravo. Really good in every way. Intelligent. Restores my faith in American movie making. A Ron Howard or Clint Eastwood would have "juiced it up" with silly manipulative plot turns, overdrawn characters or predictable conceits. All of theBravo. Really good in every way. Intelligent. Restores my faith in American movie making. A Ron Howard or Clint Eastwood would have "juiced it up" with silly manipulative plot turns, overdrawn characters or predictable conceits. All of the actors seemed like they were chosen for their potential contribution rather than box-office appeal, and they were very good. The depiction of Boston is spot-on, for anybody who has lived there and knows the place. I think it is better than All the President's men. How could it have been better? I think slightly more development of some characters where you felt a bit more personal investment in them, and where you believed even more that they were personally affected by the unfolding events. Possibly a touch more exposition of the actual victims- the one interviewed guy was very working class and accurately depicted, but there could have been more. Mark Ruffalo works the hardest and is the best. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Dec 13, 2017
The truth is always stranger than fiction and that's why it makes for the best movies. Spotlight is the 2016 Academy Award Winner for Best Picture and it was well deserved. This star studded cast comes together to tell the true story of howThe truth is always stranger than fiction and that's why it makes for the best movies. Spotlight is the 2016 Academy Award Winner for Best Picture and it was well deserved. This star studded cast comes together to tell the true story of how the Boston Globe was finally able to breakthrough the decades long wall of silence, and expose the Catholic Church's child molestation scandal. Michael Keaton headlines this all-star cast and shows that while he's been out of the spotlight (pun intended) for some time now, he hasn't lost a beat. As the enigmatic leader of the newspaper's Spotlight section, Walter Robinson (Keaton) will not give up the fight for the truth, no matter the personal cost. Even when his own bosses tell him the story is dead and to give up, he refuses to let it go and he shows that one man with a mission really can change the world. This film doesn't simply shine a light on the Catholic Church in a way it would rather nobody ever had, but it also gives views an in depth, inside look at all the intricacies that go into investigative journalism. With all the reports of fake news and all of us who simply get our news from staring at a screen, it's hard to think about all the effort that goes into getting that information from real life to print and I personally found the process fascinating. This film has a lot going for it, from an inside look at a long forgotten industry to the mysteries behind a long hidden secret. It features some terrific writing and more than one outstanding performance. You don't get six Oscar nominations by accident. This is a great film and a great addition to our list of can't miss movies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MattyiceNov 11, 2015
With a fantastic cast, coupled with a fantastic and powerful story, Spotlight proves to be the Best Picture Oscar frontrunner right now. Very entertaining and fast (for what sounds like a slow story). It is a fantastic film that is definitelyWith a fantastic cast, coupled with a fantastic and powerful story, Spotlight proves to be the Best Picture Oscar frontrunner right now. Very entertaining and fast (for what sounds like a slow story). It is a fantastic film that is definitely worth seeing when it hits wide release. One of 2015's best so far. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
dinojay2Dec 29, 2015
This was an incredibly subtle movie in the way it made you really feel the moral and emotional dilemmas of the various characters without resorting to grand gestures or shocking revelations. While many movies on such a topic would rely on theThis was an incredibly subtle movie in the way it made you really feel the moral and emotional dilemmas of the various characters without resorting to grand gestures or shocking revelations. While many movies on such a topic would rely on the viewers disgust with these predators, Spotlight in fact all but ignores this side of the story, showing the viewers the respect of assuming they already know how terrible child abuse is. Instead they focus on the way the story came out, how it remained hidden for so long, and even manages to make you see it from the point of view of those who were part of the cover up - creating an understanding without the necessity of sympathy. Masterfully done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dissy182Feb 21, 2016
This is a near perfect movie. Compelling, acting, direction and storyline. Although the cinematography isn't on the level of Reverent, it's perfect for the subject. The facts of the story are correct and told in an entertaining way. The movieThis is a near perfect movie. Compelling, acting, direction and storyline. Although the cinematography isn't on the level of Reverent, it's perfect for the subject. The facts of the story are correct and told in an entertaining way. The movie has more real life relevance than any movie of 2015. Maybe with the exception of The Big Short - but did you really understand the huge so-what there? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticNov 25, 2015
Spotlight is brilliant, devastating, and my favorite film of the year so far. I can't say enough about the performances, each one is magnificent and Oscar caliber. This film is a masterpiece mainly because it didn't get bogged down inSpotlight is brilliant, devastating, and my favorite film of the year so far. I can't say enough about the performances, each one is magnificent and Oscar caliber. This film is a masterpiece mainly because it didn't get bogged down in thriller type elements. There was no threatening letters, or people stalking them. This stuck to the investigation and the continued links that are uncovered. I can't recommend this film higher. A+ Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMar 11, 2016
Must watch!! People, don't ignore this movie! This is not a movie against religion! It's a movie against the church! God is not a ginnie who makes your dreams come true! God is a way of life! God is not in heaven! God is in us! And going toMust watch!! People, don't ignore this movie! This is not a movie against religion! It's a movie against the church! God is not a ginnie who makes your dreams come true! God is a way of life! God is not in heaven! God is in us! And going to the church won't remove your sins and won't make you a better person! The priests are also humans! Or... are they? :D Just kid'n. Watch this movie! A true masterpiece with great message to all journalists, priests and to the system! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Dec 27, 2015
This movie really took me by surprise. I had tons of buzz about this movie and wondered what all the excitement was about. Well, now I know. This is an effective work of art that tells a shocking piece of history. I honestly don't know whereThis movie really took me by surprise. I had tons of buzz about this movie and wondered what all the excitement was about. Well, now I know. This is an effective work of art that tells a shocking piece of history. I honestly don't know where to begin. I guess I'll start with the performances. Every single performance is phenomenal! I'm surprised no one from this cast got nominated for the golden globes and I seriously hope they don't get overshadowed at the Oscars. This cast is what drives this story along. Aside from the cast, the story itself is incredibly intriguing yet hard to watch. Luckily, it never has a flinching moment. It tells its story with justice. It also shows the importance of journalism and how far they go to uncover every thing behind the scenes. This is an engaging and brilliant story that never loses focus and is always moving further into the thick of things. With fantastic direction, screenplay and arguably the best ensemble of the year, "Spotlight" is a strong contender for awards season and a movie that I believe won't be soon forgotten. I give it an A+! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
smaherNov 12, 2015
Amazing film, told with such nuance and complexity. As much as it engages and thrills the viewer, it observes systemic human moral frailty in ways that leave none of us untouched. Mark Ruffalo has never been better.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
SnoracksDec 1, 2015
A master's class in pace and storytelling. Stories about the media themselves can often feel too self-important, but this story about the special investigation team at the Boston Globe (Spotlight) really feels the way a story aboutA master's class in pace and storytelling. Stories about the media themselves can often feel too self-important, but this story about the special investigation team at the Boston Globe (Spotlight) really feels the way a story about storytellers aught to. While I think the actors all deliver incredible performances (particularly Ruffalo, who will likely earn a nomination for Best Supporting Actor), it is most notable that they do not steal any of the drama of the story itself. I thought the film would be too dry for friends of mine that only really like action movies, but the subject matter is just so gripping that even they liked it. This will be a contender for Best Picture, for sure. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
TgExpressFeb 10, 2016
Wow what a movie, after the disappointment of the Revenant and the Hateful 8, this movie will redeem your faith in the industry. A powerful story told with incredible tension, I was so disappointed when it finished.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
FIFNov 15, 2015
HOLY Spotlight Birdman! I can't say enough about this film. The story, acting, directing and lighting are all dialed in. I'm sure some a-hole will find something negative to say, but every one is a critic right?
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
DOUGKNov 28, 2015
Best movie of the year, great performances all around, great story and script, great photography. This is an important issue and we should be happy that film makers are willing to do this and make it clear that the church hierarchy wasBest movie of the year, great performances all around, great story and script, great photography. This is an important issue and we should be happy that film makers are willing to do this and make it clear that the church hierarchy was guilty. There has been a study showing that priests are no more likely than other men to be child molesters, however, they have far more access to children than most men have. Therefore, they are far more dangerous on average. The church failed miserably in protecting children, it probably is still failing and still trying to protect itself and its people rather than children. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ProsmoothJan 18, 2016
One of the best movies about real journalism since All the President's Men. Breaking the story about the Catholic church's carousel of pedophile priests in Boston is the story told here--but even more frightening is that this was going on inOne of the best movies about real journalism since All the President's Men. Breaking the story about the Catholic church's carousel of pedophile priests in Boston is the story told here--but even more frightening is that this was going on in every city, town, village, and hamlet on planet earth. A sobering reminder of what power, money, religion can cover up--and how long it can be covered up. This had been going on for hundreds and hundreds of years. Sobering and frightening film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DavidV293Feb 29, 2016
Believe it or not, I actually watched this film with my family before The Oscars. And I wasn't expecting it to win Best Picture. I watched 'Spotlight' like it was a regular movie and I absolutely loved it. I was surprised when it won. Guys,Believe it or not, I actually watched this film with my family before The Oscars. And I wasn't expecting it to win Best Picture. I watched 'Spotlight' like it was a regular movie and I absolutely loved it. I was surprised when it won. Guys, watch this film and just enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UrbanlistenerFeb 23, 2016
An extremely intriguing and investing story, told the best way possible, with amazing performances, especially Mark Ruffalo who is mind-blowing in the film and a cinematography and soundtrack that make the movie reach unexpected heights.An extremely intriguing and investing story, told the best way possible, with amazing performances, especially Mark Ruffalo who is mind-blowing in the film and a cinematography and soundtrack that make the movie reach unexpected heights. Definitely a worthy contender for the Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheKavehJDec 11, 2015
Spotlight is one of the best films of the year. The film is filled with plot twists, has a stellar cast, and overall is a must-see movie that you do not want to miss.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
whooosaahMar 2, 2016
Solid, beautifully executed, intense and pretty exhilarating. Spotlight is a kind of movie that doesn't need an explosion to entertain the moviegoers, they can entertain us with a beautiful storytelling, great cinematography and stylishSolid, beautifully executed, intense and pretty exhilarating. Spotlight is a kind of movie that doesn't need an explosion to entertain the moviegoers, they can entertain us with a beautiful storytelling, great cinematography and stylish direction from McCarthy. Beside that, the acting from its cast is absolutely fantastic, especially from Mark Ruffalo. His character is really calm, but when he blow up, you can feel the anger from his gut. I'm glad this movie won the Best Picture category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JurgenRamnballMay 8, 2016
Pros: Great story, great dialogue, great character development (in its proportions), great direction, great acting, Great photography.

Cons: Repetitive soundtrack, underdeveloped elements. Score: 9,6. I put 10 on metacritic because I am a
Pros: Great story, great dialogue, great character development (in its proportions), great direction, great acting, Great photography.

Cons: Repetitive soundtrack, underdeveloped elements.
Score: 9,6. I put 10 on metacritic because I am a positive person ;)
Want a flawless movie from 2015? Stick with Mad Max Fury Road.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wcrosherNov 19, 2015
Incredibly directed, perfectly acted and beautifully executed, Spotlight is not only one of the best movies of the year, it is one of the most important movies I've ever seen. This is a film with touchy subject matter that is shownIncredibly directed, perfectly acted and beautifully executed, Spotlight is not only one of the best movies of the year, it is one of the most important movies I've ever seen. This is a film with touchy subject matter that is shown incredibly well, being both understanding to the victims while still being impartial. No one is a hero in this film, but Spotlight is a marvel to watch. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
kathytreeceFeb 18, 2016
I saw this movie at the Willow Creek in Plymouth. Action drama based on history. This movie held my attention for the full two hours. The actors were wonderfully believable and well-cast. The movie focused on the investigation ratherI saw this movie at the Willow Creek in Plymouth. Action drama based on history. This movie held my attention for the full two hours. The actors were wonderfully believable and well-cast. The movie focused on the investigation rather than the horrible deeds that they were investigating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
timlostinNov 6, 2015
Often compared to All the Presidents Men, I would go so far as to say it is better. A thrilling movie that does not seek to make heroes out of the people it depicts but rather explores their faults as well. This movie is the perfect exampleOften compared to All the Presidents Men, I would go so far as to say it is better. A thrilling movie that does not seek to make heroes out of the people it depicts but rather explores their faults as well. This movie is the perfect example of the danger posed by unchecked power for any institution. This movie is not only my favorite movie of the year, but possibly my favorite of the decade. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca31Jan 31, 2016
A grippingly powerful and intense movie, that has no problem holding your attention and hitting nerves for the entire movie. Handles the delicate subject matter very well with a perfectly chosen cast, particularly Michael Keaton and LievA grippingly powerful and intense movie, that has no problem holding your attention and hitting nerves for the entire movie. Handles the delicate subject matter very well with a perfectly chosen cast, particularly Michael Keaton and Liev Schreiber. Recommended for a one time viewing. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JohnDruceNov 10, 2015
Great job of telling how the cold, cowardly Catholic church used the "power of God" to protect & move known pedo-priests, & they knew exactly what they were doing. This is an organized crime movie, with the most gutless gangsters.

It is
Great job of telling how the cold, cowardly Catholic church used the "power of God" to protect & move known pedo-priests, & they knew exactly what they were doing. This is an organized crime movie, with the most gutless gangsters.

It is chilling to hear the interview with Fr Pacquin, who readily admits to the Globe that he molested a bunch of children, as if it was no big deal because all the other priests were doing it, too.

The movie shows how hard it was to get the truth out of the Catholic church, which intentionally protected these pedophiles, moving them to new locations where their evil wouldn't be known, never warning the new community, and sometimes not even warning their own Catholic leaders.

This pedophile protection came from the top, from Cardinal Law, (and undoubtedly the pope) and was passed throughout the hierarchy, which worked like the Nazis, just doing what they were told, despite Jesus in Matt 18:6-14.

You can feel the awesome power of the Catholic church, which they use at every opportunity to get away with evil, and never to help children. The characters in the movie are sickened by the truth, and the intention of the organization to protect every child rapist, with no regard for the victims.

This is an organized crime movie, without the honor of the mafia.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
AlmostearlyNov 19, 2015
Lets just make predictions that this movie will definitely be nominated for an Academy Award for the most interesting plot I have ever seen. Enjoyed this film from beginning to end because it hits the spot where it gets you hooked in seconds.Lets just make predictions that this movie will definitely be nominated for an Academy Award for the most interesting plot I have ever seen. Enjoyed this film from beginning to end because it hits the spot where it gets you hooked in seconds. Every actor involved in this masterpiece did an amazing job. The intensity builds in even when nothing exciting is happening, but you still got that feeling and it's the goosebumps you get when something is up and you know who did it. Best Movie I have seen this year so far. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BinxBollingNov 23, 2015
This movie is one of the best films I have seen in a long time. It reminded me very much of "All the President's Men" with its steady, sometimes slow, yet inexorable march toward the truth: the Catholic Church's cover-up of sexual abuse ofThis movie is one of the best films I have seen in a long time. It reminded me very much of "All the President's Men" with its steady, sometimes slow, yet inexorable march toward the truth: the Catholic Church's cover-up of sexual abuse of children by pedophile priests. An editorial shake-up at the Boston Globe leads to the assignment of a team of ace reporters to investigate allegations that a few priests in the area may have abused children. The scope of the investigation widens as the reporters gather more information implicating dozens of priests and the Catholic Church in what turns out to be a massive cover-up. This movie deserves an Oscar nomination at the very least. I thought that Mark Ruffalo, in particular, did an excellent job. In fact, the whole cast was outstanding. There are several heroes in this movie--only they wield notepads, cellphones and laptops, rather than knifes, guns or bombs--or arrows. I highly recommend this film. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
moothemagiccowJan 21, 2016
Going in, I thought I knew what this movie was about. I had no idea. It is gripping. It's a revelation. I don't even care if Mark Ruffalo is pretending to be hispanic. It's that good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jsphxDec 19, 2015
This is Great film making. It is closely modeled on the Watergate Classic "All the President's Men". It eloquently demonstrates why a Free Press is an indispensable Pillar of democracy much less simple decency in the public arena. Taking onThis is Great film making. It is closely modeled on the Watergate Classic "All the President's Men". It eloquently demonstrates why a Free Press is an indispensable Pillar of democracy much less simple decency in the public arena. Taking on the Catholic Church Hierarchy in the most Catholic City and Urban Culture in America was a supreme act of courage and devotion to the TRUTH and powerless but still supremely important victims not powerful institutions and personages. Exposing the sordid culture of Priestly Child Abuse and High Level Church cover up took almost unheard of integrity and fiendishly Hard Work with no reward other than making Boston and the World a better place. This is the kind of art which inspires MORE acts of courage rather than getting along by going along mediocrity which seems universal and unbreakable UNTIL some ordinary people do EXTRAORDINARY things. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
Incredibly directed, perfectly acted and beautifully executed, Spotlight is not only one of the best movies of the year, it is one of the most important movies I've ever seen. This is a film with touchy subject matter that is shown incrediblyIncredibly directed, perfectly acted and beautifully executed, Spotlight is not only one of the best movies of the year, it is one of the most important movies I've ever seen. This is a film with touchy subject matter that is shown incredibly well, being both understanding to the victims while still being impartial. No one is a hero in this film, but Spotlight is a marvel to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
honestmoviewatcJan 3, 2016
is anyone looking for the forest and the trees? this should not be about actors , critics. does anyone still believe that there are not many, many sexual preditors, out there feeling entitled to sexually molesting young boys and girls.is anyone looking for the forest and the trees? this should not be about actors , critics. does anyone still believe that there are not many, many sexual preditors, out there feeling entitled to sexually molesting young boys and girls. breaking God's and man's laws, when is rape acceptable in a
christian society? and u do not have to be a victim for the
catholic church to come after u. Are { God wills it } and { how do say no to God } ever acceptable in a Christian civilization. How many Hail Mary's should be said tomorrow?
The investigation into the first Boston priest convicted of molesting 150 young boys, should raise an outcry every where. But instead, it's just business as usual. How are the ratings, actors. and critics doing these days. How many Hail Mary's will be said tomorrow?
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bmbeverageJan 10, 2016
This movie was fantastic. At first I just wanted to see it because I know (and indeed one of my first memories is of) one of the spotlight crew, but the movie was all around fantastic. The acting was great, the story progression was great,This movie was fantastic. At first I just wanted to see it because I know (and indeed one of my first memories is of) one of the spotlight crew, but the movie was all around fantastic. The acting was great, the story progression was great, and it told a powerful and, if I may say, important story. I really have nothing to say against the film, something fairly rare. Finally, in the words of Shakespeare, "It better bettered expectations than you can expect of me to tell you how." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
joekazMar 9, 2016
When Mark Rufalo screams 'and people know about it" - he's speaking to us.
When Liev Scrieber wants to investigate to find out if it's 'systemic' - we know the answer.
Spotlight is, perhaps, the most brilliant movie even because it it so,
When Mark Rufalo screams 'and people know about it" - he's speaking to us.
When Liev Scrieber wants to investigate to find out if it's 'systemic' - we know the answer.
Spotlight is, perhaps, the most brilliant movie even because it it so, so Meta. Has any of us followed any trials of any Catholic priests? Liev, it's so systemic - even a feature film will prove that we as a society still don't know how to address molestation. The system is society. You don't need to be in Boston. For some reason, we who have been molested chose to carry the burden and the demons that come with. Dad, Mom nor anyone really cares! Spotlight is a movie that will never end. No other film is like it - and there may never be one like it in the future. >peace
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kuzdiyenFeb 5, 2016
Spotlight was a truly important film. The subject matter this movie is about was one that needed guts to portray in a film and Tom McCarthy showed everyone that he had the guts and the cast to do the job. The story was told in a way thatSpotlight was a truly important film. The subject matter this movie is about was one that needed guts to portray in a film and Tom McCarthy showed everyone that he had the guts and the cast to do the job. The story was told in a way that never got boring but also never lost its seriousness. The movie also one of the few movies showed the journalists as the heroes they can be and really gave them the credit they deserve. The acting was perfect, with McAdams and Ruffalo possibly giving the best performances of their careers. There was just something so great about Spotlight and that's why I thought it was a perfect film that told a story that had to be told. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gigiuzFeb 10, 2016
Liev Schreiber is one of the most underrated actor of his generation. He's impersonating Martin Baron with great ability and intelligence, you believe he's an experienced journalist from the first scene until the last shot. The other actorsLiev Schreiber is one of the most underrated actor of his generation. He's impersonating Martin Baron with great ability and intelligence, you believe he's an experienced journalist from the first scene until the last shot. The other actors are great, especially Billy Cudrup, Brian D'Arcy, Jamey Sheridan...and Stanley Tucci is as good as an old Italian wine! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KittyMackFeb 15, 2016
This is a magnificent film. I have to chuckle at those who found it "boring." The literate script, nuanced performances, true-to-life atmosphere and characterizations, and build of tension were perhaps a little too subtle or beyond theThis is a magnificent film. I have to chuckle at those who found it "boring." The literate script, nuanced performances, true-to-life atmosphere and characterizations, and build of tension were perhaps a little too subtle or beyond the grasp of certain movie goers who prefer the in-your-face graphics, sex, and violence. "Spotlight" is a breath of fresh air and clearly an Oscar worthy film on several fronts. Bravo to the writers, producers, director, and ensemble cast for this truly moving and memorable work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wakeupamericaMar 1, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While ‘Spotlight’ took the Oscar as the best movie of 2015. The story about this movie and the Spotlight Office of the Boston Globe is regrettably not as scandalous nor as revealing about the sexual predatory conducts of catholic priests - since this is almost 900 years old evil offence, which has been a cover up by the church.

In 1992, while working for Coopers & Lybrand (today part of PWC) on a consulting assignment reviewing the financial of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Newark– the 3rd largest Archdiocese Catholic Church after the Brooklyn and Chicago, which at the time had an annual budget of $5 Billion (primarily made up of catholic charities). I came to know much about how the money came in and got out from the church. I was very surprised to find out from the CFO of the diocese, at the time many all the shenanigans committed – which was so wrong by any level of morality. Too little good was done for the poor people of those communities in Newark and its surrounding, while much wrong was committed and funded by the church.
The archdiocese had set aside $350 Million for self-insurance, since no single insurance carrier wanted to do business with them, since the Church was hiding an ugly truth. Moreover, almost $180 M was spent the prior yr. to settle / quiet down horrible sex abuses cases committed by priests, which many the diocese families and dozen young boys around Newark had been victimized by pedophile priests.

The Archdiocese of Newark was getting lawsuits with an average of 5 -6 cases /per month – with accusations against their priests 122 across its high schools and parishes. A full time legal stuff and a bunch of physiologists were retained on a full time basis, to handle these scandals.
Although my work and my team was focused on opportunities to optimize the dioceses operating expenditures across its various schools, cemeteries and Seton Hall University - I was curious to know why so much money from the diocese was tight up to short terms notes and Treasury bills, while it was carrying so much depth.

So I brought up several questions on my reports to the the client at the time - The head of Archdiocese (Monseigneur Dominic Anthony Marconi) – the name I could not forget since Marconi was an well know historical Italian engineer for its invention for long-distance wireless radio transmission. In any events, during couple of my meetings with Monseigneur Marconi – he seemed too casual and somehow at ease with no shame, telling me about the numerous cases, which in his mind was plaguing the Diocese and how the church had no choice setting aside that much $100 of Millions to handle settlement of these sexual abuse cases, as this it was another entry in the church OPEX. The church could not afford an open scandal as this would have been a serious blow to the charities and the properties it received from so many naïve members of the Catholics church – Many had promised to hand over the ownership of their home , business securities ..etc, which the church was named to inherit upon their death (~ 22 homes on average and 5 businesses were tuned over to the Newark Archdiocese every month from the death bed of many receiving their last right – believing that parting away by giving it all to the Church will gain favor with their maker and cleanse them from earthly sins – ignoring to name perhaps their own children and other family members as beneficiaries ..etc. 'Talk about a 2000 yr. old scam..

Till now no diocese can obtain any liability or even P&C insurance from a regular insurance carrier throughout the US – none will chance what everyone new - Hence the church could not afford to free up any of those self-insurance funds for general use. The leadership of the diocese knew plainly that that 1 out 4 priest recruited was himself abused as a child and many of them used the priesthood to hide their deviant pedophile behavior, which themselves continued carrying out against a new generation of poor children. Too many pedophile are joining the church under the guise of priesthood with the full knowledge of the church, for centuries - Getting someone to join has become an expensive proposition for the church – but that is the price it is willing to pay.
.
When I mentioned to several audit partners / colleague working with me at Coopers. It seems that this piece of news was known by everyone, but me, none seemed chocked or uncomfortable to even continuing serving the church ( why not – after all this was an old Audit client, which they had served for several decades at a profit – so why would such fact upset the relationship - This was viewed as an Old news, even this was an inconvenience – but the church is too holy to care about some abused boys ) - It seemed that New Jersey Department of Justice was very much aware of these cases and kept an blind eye, just as it was the case for the FBI - No one seemed interested to take on the church - too many cases w
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PapawalesMar 13, 2016
As most movies go I tend to watch, ponder and then forget. This movie however is not in this category. I was angry, upset, crying and totally distraught after this film. I have children and it made love and cherish even more. No film I haveAs most movies go I tend to watch, ponder and then forget. This movie however is not in this category. I was angry, upset, crying and totally distraught after this film. I have children and it made love and cherish even more. No film I have ever seen has moved me like this and I congratulate all involved in this compelling and wonderful movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
daeneryswiftMar 30, 2016
it truly deserved the Oscar for Best Movie! good writing, good cinematography, good scripts, great actors! (Mark Ruffalo has been AMAZING!). we need more movies like this one, that expose the Church and its hypocrisy! can't wait to see it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Mar 31, 2019
Outstanding cast in real fact drama of the controversial case of pederastriam in Catholic Church. With same spirit of All the President men, the plot is compelling all along the 128 minutes, following the tireless efforts for uncover aOutstanding cast in real fact drama of the controversial case of pederastriam in Catholic Church. With same spirit of All the President men, the plot is compelling all along the 128 minutes, following the tireless efforts for uncover a scandal who shock the Society. A must to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Hibah_977Apr 5, 2018
Right off the bat, this is one of the finest films I've ever seen, and it deserved that goddamn Oscar. But beyond that, Spotlight is the result of a journalism based film done right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bennewmanSep 13, 2018
One of the greatest movies ever made. That covers such a tragic topic so amazingly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
flylexMay 25, 2017
Spotlight depicts a real story from a boston globe journalist group who investigated allegations of child abuse from the catholic church, the level of realism is impressive the cuts are subtle and well made and the plot is very well builtSpotlight depicts a real story from a boston globe journalist group who investigated allegations of child abuse from the catholic church, the level of realism is impressive the cuts are subtle and well made and the plot is very well built since it is a A film that passes a lot of information, papers, documents, the chance that the film becomes boring was great but the plot does not let that happen, the subject is very shocking and this gives a great mystery to the plot besides being fluid exploring very well The teamwork of journalists, the cast is perfect actors fit very well in their roles giving a very real sense of realism to the movie that sometimes looks like a documentary, all in a way are contained at a certain point what makes scenes where their emotions Appear to be much more impacting, in general in a film made not for the entertainment but to tell a good story infattering how the Catholic institution controls Everything and everyone and protects their even from acts like rape. The film tackles a real story and a seriously controversial theme very well and with mastery, in general there is not much that changes in him.note 100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tamcwlmmJan 3, 2018
I am speechless. I can't find the right words to describe the impact this movie had on me. It left me in shock and in awe. Best movie of 2015 hands down, deserved the Oscar it won for best picture. Acting is oscar worthy a well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vgates14Dec 30, 2017
By far the best movie of it's year Spotlight's veteran and talented cast give us an amazing detailed look at one of the biggest church scandals. Gripping and moving for it's entire duration spotlight reminds of how an independent and fearlessBy far the best movie of it's year Spotlight's veteran and talented cast give us an amazing detailed look at one of the biggest church scandals. Gripping and moving for it's entire duration spotlight reminds of how an independent and fearless press now more then ever, is so important. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wevertonaguiiarFeb 13, 2019
Spotlight é um filme sem erros. Todas as promessas são entregadas; a investigação é interessante e a força do elenco e dos jornalistas é o que move o filme. O roteiro é excepcional e o elenco é primoroso. A direção é mecânica, pois elaSpotlight é um filme sem erros. Todas as promessas são entregadas; a investigação é interessante e a força do elenco e dos jornalistas é o que move o filme. O roteiro é excepcional e o elenco é primoroso. A direção é mecânica, pois ela precisa ser; seria injusto colocar planos e enquadramentos mirabolantes que nos tirasse um pouco dos dialogos, da investigação e das interpretações. Algo que pode passar despercebido, mas que é um ponto muito importante do filme é a edição: quando o filme precisa dar um salto no tempo, ela entra em ação e é simplesmente incrível. Spotlight é um filme excepcional, que trata de um assunto delicado mas sem apontar o dedo para a fé, apenas para a institucionalização da mesma. Mereceu o Oscar de Melhor Filme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FallenVengeanceNov 14, 2018
This is a super great movie. It tells us about how the newspaper company is able to open up the hearts of the victims and Mark Ruffalo's great acting just made it a whole lot greater than it already is. A must-watch film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gamal178Sep 22, 2019
Probably the best movie about journalism. What makes it special is the realism of the characters when faced with a horrible fact.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MglovesfunFeb 18, 2020
One of the best movies of the 21st century. If you love serious fact-based movies, this is as good as it gets. This is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jeremypNov 22, 2015
Up there with "All The President's Men" as a Journalistic tour de force. Never over or underplayed, incredibly intelligent script with a slew of great actors willing to share the screen almost anonymously. Like an unraveling detective storyUp there with "All The President's Men" as a Journalistic tour de force. Never over or underplayed, incredibly intelligent script with a slew of great actors willing to share the screen almost anonymously. Like an unraveling detective story about a subject we know too much about, and yet not enough. They walk among us still. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
StevieGJDNov 9, 2015
Normally, the most one can hope for from a movie is that it is well made, entertaining and not stupid. I realize that's a low bar. But there are many stupid movies too. Spotlight is an intelligent, thoughtful and important movie. The castNormally, the most one can hope for from a movie is that it is well made, entertaining and not stupid. I realize that's a low bar. But there are many stupid movies too. Spotlight is an intelligent, thoughtful and important movie. The cast is great. Mark Ruffalo, who I usually do not like, was more of a distinct character than he has ever been in a film. There is tension and a great payoff. The only movie I have ever seen like this is All the President's Men. Granted, that had the whole government aspect, but the Catholic Church, especially in Boston, is a quasi government. Spotlight makes one sad that real investigative journalism is on the decline in this country, due to all of the corporate mergers of newspapers and their goals. But it highlights an important and unique role the media can, and truly should, play in our society. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
owmynose9000Feb 5, 2016
Spotlight was a phenomenal film regarding the ongoing scandal surrounding the Catholic church and allegations of molestation committed by its priests around the world. Spotlight was about delivering a message and garnering attention towardsSpotlight was a phenomenal film regarding the ongoing scandal surrounding the Catholic church and allegations of molestation committed by its priests around the world. Spotlight was about delivering a message and garnering attention towards an issue that is in immediate need of it. There was no unnecessary drama, the movie focuses solely on the issue of the controversial story it tells so well. The emotional impact of this movie is so significant because of the reality that surrounds the actual cases that are portrayed. The film suffers from a few pacing issues during the first act but quickly recovers and doesn't slow down. The reality of the story being told is what makes this movie essential to watch. The importance of the the issues discussed throughout is never understated and every character plays their role to perfection in contributing to the unfolding of this unique and true series of events. Religion plays a role in this narrative as it naturally contrasts and opposes the scandalous nature of the cases highlighted in this movie. Religion and morality are constants throughout the film as they compliment the nuanced narrative and contrast the tragedy being focused on. Spotlight is an important film that deserves to be acknowledged for the role it plays in communicating the significance of a substantial and controversial story in need of attention and ongoing in the world even today. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeJan 23, 2016
It's no easy task to take on a controversial story such as the one told in SPOTLIGHT. Writers Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, along with the entire cast, respectfully and passionately honor the real-life heroes and the victims of thisIt's no easy task to take on a controversial story such as the one told in SPOTLIGHT. Writers Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, along with the entire cast, respectfully and passionately honor the real-life heroes and the victims of this disturbing time. SPOTLIGHT is a subtle, but detailed, adventure through investigative journalism with true dedication to share a story and passion worth telling. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Jack101Jul 22, 2018
This is a match made of heaven. At first, I was indifferent and kinda bored, but getting deeper into the film will take you on a ride of powerful messages and serious situations. Definite reccomendation for those with the trained eye.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Jul 14, 2019
Following in the footsteps of other journalistic drama greats like "All The President's Men" and "The Insider" before it, this Best Picture winner takes an incredibly engrossing story of investigative passion and layers a thick coating ofFollowing in the footsteps of other journalistic drama greats like "All The President's Men" and "The Insider" before it, this Best Picture winner takes an incredibly engrossing story of investigative passion and layers a thick coating of moral intrigue and subtle, yet effective emotionality on top of it. Sure, "Spotlight" may lack the directorial panache and flair that other, admittedly more complete films would possess, but I'll be damned if the subject matter at hand doesn't elevate everything in play. I don't need this to be flashy or expressive. The message and story at hand do it all for me. And what a story it is, scripted beautifully by Josh Singer and director Tom McCarthy, featuring stellar dialogue, brilliantly vibrant scene dynamics, and -- again -- a call to action that'll knock you on your back. "Spotlight" shocked me in nearly every way imaginable. Not only is it a well-deserved candidate for the best movie of 2015, it's a well-deserved candidate for being one of the best movies of its kind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
j1trainNov 6, 2015
A powerful, straight forward drama with a propulsive style and great cast. The ending is overwhelming in its simplicity. It's hard to imagine a classier, more respectful take on this important story.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
dollarsignFeb 5, 2016
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKNov 17, 2015
Every season there are a few films that remind me that interesting, well-acted, serious films still appear in megaplexes (occasionally). Spotlight is a kind of detective story with some very fine American acting. Liev Schrieber disappearsEvery season there are a few films that remind me that interesting, well-acted, serious films still appear in megaplexes (occasionally). Spotlight is a kind of detective story with some very fine American acting. Liev Schrieber disappears into his role almost completely (this is a compliment) and I am now convinced that Michael Keaton can indeed act and Birdman was no fluke. Also especially fine are Mark Ruffolo and Rachel McAdams. These are intelligent actors, but the director coaxes out of them a higher level of nuance, complexity, and humanity than they have achieved before. You believe them and forget they are actors you’ve seen many dozens of times. It’s a solid script (the quality of the ensemble writing reminded me of Margin Call), and most amazing of all you learn new things about a subject you’ve heard about many time – children abused by Catholic priests. You understand that there was a cockeyed logic behind it all – but, of course, understanding does not make it any less despicable. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Nov 21, 2015
It certainly left me and everyone else in the theater with a strong feeling of uneasiness at the very end, however, that's what made it all the more powerful and notable for me! I was only somewhat familiar with the subject matter of the filmIt certainly left me and everyone else in the theater with a strong feeling of uneasiness at the very end, however, that's what made it all the more powerful and notable for me! I was only somewhat familiar with the subject matter of the film going in, but that made it all the more interesting and informative to me! The script was clearly very well thought out, as the dialogue was crisp and engaging! Among many of these great aspects of the film, the best was easily the film's ensemble! It served as a great showcase for everyone involved, most notably Michael Keaton and Mark Ruffalo who both deserve supporting actor nominations at the Academy awards this year! Overall, despite some slow moments, they're easily made up for through the film's intriguing screenplay and fantastic acting! Definitely the best fact-based drama I've seen all year! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingJan 30, 2016
Spotlight handles its sensitive subject matter deftly, treating the victims well and not glorifying the heroes actions. The film itself is engrossing from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
juliankennedy23Mar 27, 2017
Spotlight ( 9 out of 10) Everyone has pet peeves when it comes to movies. We hate romantic comedies based entirely on misunderstandings, we hate horror films where no one's cell phone works, or we simply hate movies that have either theSpotlight ( 9 out of 10) Everyone has pet peeves when it comes to movies. We hate romantic comedies based entirely on misunderstandings, we hate horror films where no one's cell phone works, or we simply hate movies that have either the word Adam or Sandler on the poster.

I hate true story movies that simply make things up. You know the type. We need a bad guy so let's take a real person and turn him into a racist (Hidden Figures), a murderer (Titanic), or a woman (Patch Adams). We need to condense the timeline and change real historical events (Oscar-nominated Hidden Figures again). We need to change the character's sexuality so modern audiences can relate (The Danish Girl). We need facist slaveholders to talk about democracy and freedom (300). And the list goes on and on. This is without even mentioning Mel Gibson historical dramas that might as well have dinosaurs wandering through them.

One of my other pet peeves? Movies that take place in an office or business world made by people who clearly have never spent more than a day working in one. Like ahistorical true stories, this is ripe territory for rage. We have the office politics of Catwoman’s evil beauty cream manufacturer. Not to be outdone the less said about how Wayne Industries is run ( a publicly traded company mind you) in the Batman universe the better. It isn’t just superhero movies either. Romantic comedies often need a trip to HR and no making everyone an architect does not solve that. (Seriously do these movies even know what architects or museum directors or magazine publishers actually do during their work day?)

Spotlight easily could have fallen into both these traps. It simply doesn’t. The timeline is correct. The discussions between professionals sound well professional. There are no made up heavy’s to create drama, no fake romantic love interest, no surprise terrorist attack. Okay, it does have the last one but in all fairness, the movie’s timeline starts in August 2001 and runs through the end of the year. But even in that moment, the movie handles it with intelligence and in a realistic manner. There is a calmness and a professionalism in this movie that is refreshing. It rings true in both the big and small things. It is one of the best films I have seen this year.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
tjman09Nov 28, 2015
This is easily one of the best live action films of 2015. At the end of the year this movie will likely get a lot of Oscar attention, and it truly deserves it. Spotlight holds nothing back, features an ensemble of amazing performances, andThis is easily one of the best live action films of 2015. At the end of the year this movie will likely get a lot of Oscar attention, and it truly deserves it. Spotlight holds nothing back, features an ensemble of amazing performances, and tells a haunting true story. This story is recent enough that many people probably still remember, but old enough that many people will probably find it educational.
Perhaps the film’s greatest strength is it’s story, which is incredibly dense with information. Not to spoil the film, but to give context the film is about a large scandal involving the Boston Catholic Priests in 2001. The story is so dense that it would have been easy to hold back information or gloss over plot elements, but somehow the filmmakers behind this film were able to fit it all into the film, in just over 2 hours. The film is unapologetically real, despite the occasional moments of theatricality, which all films have.
The entire cast is magnificent in this film, lead by Mark Ruffalo and Michael Keaton. Both of which will probably receive Oscar nominations for back-to-back years. In a film that relies on a slow-burn approach, with a more emotional grip on the audience, the acting was paramount, and the entire cast delivered. It’s most impressive, because they are able to every moment and make it feel important through their portrayals. These performances also help to make the characters feel more real, and relatable.
The performances support one other major strength of the film, which is the haunting tone of the film. The film is scary in an very real way, as the film showcases that even in large hubs with millions of people, massive secrets can be hidden. At a time with drones, and widespread public mistrust it makes the film even scarier. It’s the haunting story and tone that helps elevate the acting, to form a truly great film.
In the end the film tells a relevant story that every american should know, without compromising its source material. Spotlight is a film so good that even the churches it condemned had to admit that it was great. The film will likely receive a lot of award recognition, and rightfully so, as it stands as one of the best movies of 2015. It’s a haunting film that tells a story so compelling and unbelievable it becomes a must see film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TributeManFeb 20, 2016
"Kościół to tylko Instytucja".

Spotlight jest filmem bardzo uniwersalnym, ponieważ jego historia mogła rozegrać się 100 lat temu lub teraz. Obowiązkowy do obejrzenia dla wszystkich dziennikarzy. Może znowu zaczną wykonywać swoją pracę
"Kościół to tylko Instytucja".

Spotlight jest filmem bardzo uniwersalnym, ponieważ jego historia mogła rozegrać się 100 lat temu lub teraz. Obowiązkowy do obejrzenia dla wszystkich dziennikarzy. Może znowu zaczną wykonywać swoją pracę należycie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Jan 12, 2016
Spotlight is a tremendous piece of film making that will make you go completely speechless with some of the scenes in this movie. Michael Keaton, Brian d'Arcy James and Rachel McAdams all gave superb performances, as it was both convincingSpotlight is a tremendous piece of film making that will make you go completely speechless with some of the scenes in this movie. Michael Keaton, Brian d'Arcy James and Rachel McAdams all gave superb performances, as it was both convincing and realistic with their reactions. But Mark Ruffalo was absolutely phenomenal in this movie and he stole the show.

The director of this movie (Tom McCarthy) did the Adam Sandler film "The Cobbler". Now, let that sink in for a minute.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
moviecritic68Dec 2, 2015
Can't dispute the overall rating. Actually it is spot on. Probably more interesting to a Catholic audience of course. Well casted with Michael Keaton delivering his usual superb acting skills. Can't understand the 16 negative reviews. MyCan't dispute the overall rating. Actually it is spot on. Probably more interesting to a Catholic audience of course. Well casted with Michael Keaton delivering his usual superb acting skills. Can't understand the 16 negative reviews. My advice is ignore them. Well worth the price of a ticket Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Dec 23, 2015
With brilliant performances led by the entire cast Spotlight hits it in all cylinders from story and emotional impact. Spotlight has it plots right out the gate but development is what stands out the most as films goes on the movie getsWith brilliant performances led by the entire cast Spotlight hits it in all cylinders from story and emotional impact. Spotlight has it plots right out the gate but development is what stands out the most as films goes on the movie gets better and more emotional. Overall, Spotlight deserves its praise and a view from people. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
YellowKirbyMar 11, 2016
Spotlight is a powerful drama with brilliant performances from Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo and Rachel McAdams, a well-written script by Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, and a message that is still relevant today.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoFeb 8, 2016
Spotlight is an engaging and thought-provoking film with amazing performances and an excellent script. The actors were all amazing- Mark Ruffalo was great, Michael Keaton was great, Stanley Tucci was great... The list goes on! The scenes withSpotlight is an engaging and thought-provoking film with amazing performances and an excellent script. The actors were all amazing- Mark Ruffalo was great, Michael Keaton was great, Stanley Tucci was great... The list goes on! The scenes with the victims telling their stories were horrifying. It really opens your eyes. Of course, the movie might be too disturbing for some (and too talky for others) but if you like movies such as "All the President's Men" then this is the movie for you. A remarkable film, and one of the best of the year. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
smiyamotMar 22, 2016
Well done movie. Unlike other newspaper movies I've seen, the director kept the tone subdued, like we were really watching reporters do their research and talking to each other. I was surprised there was not a stronger response from theWell done movie. Unlike other newspaper movies I've seen, the director kept the tone subdued, like we were really watching reporters do their research and talking to each other. I was surprised there was not a stronger response from the church to squash this story from the git go. This is a movie that will inspire writers to become journalists and inform us of what's going on in our world. Kinda like "Freedom Writers" would inspire you to become a teacher. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CriviewerMar 2, 2016
Chillingly great. Touching, breath-taking and deeply moving.

The obsessive investigation and its intensive suspense are just the 2 preeminent features that distinguish the movie. The movie talks about values, and tackling big themes
Chillingly great. Touching, breath-taking and deeply moving.

The obsessive investigation and its intensive suspense are just the 2 preeminent features that distinguish the movie. The movie talks about values, and tackling big themes appeals greatly to an audience. It's so touching to see a relentless pursuit to uncover the truth, couple that with its deep understanding of where to strike (the system, and not the individuals), and the result just amazingly great.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 29, 2016
Okay, I'm like forced to review a movie like this one here because I'm like running out of ideas on giving movies positive ratings in. Spotlight is an amazing work that you'll watch non-stop.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ArpyJan 5, 2016
Spotlight, by movie definition, is a piece of art. This film presents a strong story, with actors who live the passion of being their character. It is a great movie; one of the best this year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
herndonrulesJan 17, 2016
One of the best major films of the year. Many will be familiar with at least some aspects of the story, but that doesn't matter since the movie tells the tale in an engrossing manner. Very strong ensemble cast with every actor giving aOne of the best major films of the year. Many will be familiar with at least some aspects of the story, but that doesn't matter since the movie tells the tale in an engrossing manner. Very strong ensemble cast with every actor giving a laudable performance. Schreiber, Keaton and Ruffalo stand out. It has pacing of the standard investigative journalism film, which could frustrate some viewers, yet never seemed slow or boring to me. Instead, the viewer is quickly drawn into a "cover up" of voluminous proportions and the reporters attempt to unravel a conspiracy. Although my family and I were deeply moved, the only minor criticism is that the film leaves opportunities to affect viewer's emotions even further on the table. More focus on the victims and the indelible scars left on both they and their families would have made for an even more affecting film. That written, the movie succeeds tremendously on every level and should be a must see for those who enjoy a good story which is well told, well acted and well filmed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AquaMorphJan 21, 2016
I was skeptical of this movie at first because to me it looked like Oscar bait and while it might be that it is also a great film. The pacing of this film is nearly perfect minus a few awkward scenes. The story told is extremely interestingI was skeptical of this movie at first because to me it looked like Oscar bait and while it might be that it is also a great film. The pacing of this film is nearly perfect minus a few awkward scenes. The story told is extremely interesting and told in a gut wrenching manner which makes it unforgettable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
rahuliamFeb 7, 2016
hey man you watched spotlight?
_ hell yeah!
you liked it? - why not,give me a reason. i heard this movie is boring and slow? - boring,absolutely not,but it's a little bit slow. i heard this movie nominated for six Academy Awards
hey man you watched spotlight?
_ hell yeah!

you liked it?
- why not,give me a reason.

i heard this movie is boring and slow?
- boring,absolutely not,but it's a little bit slow.

i heard this movie nominated for six Academy Awards including Best Film Editing, Best Supporting Actor: Mark Ruffalo, Best Supporting Actress: Rachel McAdams, Best Original Screenplay, Best Director, and Best Picture......your favorite choice?
- i don't know,maybe Mark Ruffalo...

what's your rating?
- 4.5 out of 5

this is probably one of the best newsroom drama i have ever seen...
must watch.....
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LogrunnerFeb 15, 2016
What puzzles me is some of the negative reviews. I guess that you do need to feel some real emotional interest in the subject matter of clerical abuse, otherwise the whole premise of the film is lost. I also guess that if you go with a majorWhat puzzles me is some of the negative reviews. I guess that you do need to feel some real emotional interest in the subject matter of clerical abuse, otherwise the whole premise of the film is lost. I also guess that if you go with a major object being to see predictable performances of specific actors, then your expectations may not be met, good as the performances seemed to me.
The film had a fabulous, essentially true story, to tell and it met the challenge. It really captured the psyche of the Boston catholic community.
My criticism are that I struggled at times to hear the dialogue and was left wondering if the intention was that I should not capture it all. Also the functions of some of the characters was a little confusing eg a lawyer who represented victims but it seemed could not speak out as he was bound by legal settlements.
A must see film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndrewLambertMar 6, 2016
Driven by outstanding yet understated performances from a hugely talented ensemble (with particular credit going to Ruffalo, Keaton and McAdams), Spotlight is a quietly driven, flawlessly executed, true to life drama that reasserts the powerDriven by outstanding yet understated performances from a hugely talented ensemble (with particular credit going to Ruffalo, Keaton and McAdams), Spotlight is a quietly driven, flawlessly executed, true to life drama that reasserts the power of investigative journalism while never exaggerating or inflating the drama and horror of its haunting subject, somehow making the final product all the more powerful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMcQFeb 29, 2016
If there is an award for best investigative journalism film, it would have to go to this brilliant movie. Tom Mcarthy and Josh Singer execute this screenplay to such an incredible level it's quite special. The direction , acting and editingIf there is an award for best investigative journalism film, it would have to go to this brilliant movie. Tom Mcarthy and Josh Singer execute this screenplay to such an incredible level it's quite special. The direction , acting and editing are also worthy of much praise. This is the kind of film that may not get much attention at the box office but it one that will and should be remembered. The best film of the year, hands down! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
pureshoresMar 26, 2016
Reviews for this film are mixed, with some saying it wasn't hard-hitting enough. To me, it did what it was supposed to. It wasn't about asking people to get mad at the Catholic Church for all the atrocities it committed, somebody already didReviews for this film are mixed, with some saying it wasn't hard-hitting enough. To me, it did what it was supposed to. It wasn't about asking people to get mad at the Catholic Church for all the atrocities it committed, somebody already did that before. This one is about reminding everyone about what happened before, what we can learn from it and how we become better because of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MEFzelderApr 14, 2016
Una de gran adaptaciones de eventos reales a la pantalla grande, "Spotlight" como historia supera a cualquier película del 2015, tiene un gran elenco en ella, varias frases memorables y un buen equipo de escritores que supieron llevar estaUna de gran adaptaciones de eventos reales a la pantalla grande, "Spotlight" como historia supera a cualquier película del 2015, tiene un gran elenco en ella, varias frases memorables y un buen equipo de escritores que supieron llevar esta trama a un compacto de 2 horas.
La película gira en torno a un grupo periodístico de investigación que se ve beneficiado por un cambio directivo para tratar un tema muy delicado como es el abuso infantil por parte de los párrocos de la iglesia, y del sistema que manejan las entidades para ocultar dichos casos.
Al momento de explicar el problema y exhibir a los afectados es donde tiene éxito "Spotlight", los relatos y experiencias son muy genuinos y evidencian en forma clara cuáles son los problemas, las causas y la falta de acción del Estado para detener el dilema.
La película es altamente muy recomendable, te permite descubrir una nueva perspectiva de un caso conocido y de paso homenajea a un grupo de personas que trabajaron y se arriesgaron para hacer público un gran problema que una fuerte entidad trata de ocultar.

Lo bueno: Guión, reparto y dirección.
Lo malo: Puede pasar desapercibido el paso del tiempo.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheShrike222Jun 11, 2016
This is a fantastic movie. I've watched it multiple times and get something new out of it each time. Its hard to get a strong ensemble cast like this and they also got a lot of good character actors in the smaller parts. I love that theyThis is a fantastic movie. I've watched it multiple times and get something new out of it each time. Its hard to get a strong ensemble cast like this and they also got a lot of good character actors in the smaller parts. I love that they don't go for many dramatic film tricks, just let the material speak for itself. Some of the best moments are quiet where you get so absorbed that you almost forget to breathe. As a final note, it's wonderful to see Michael Keaton making a comeback. What a wonderful actor! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ZachSchellerAug 14, 2016
Gripping and mesmerizing, Spotlight shines a bright light on one of the greatest cover ups of our day. The only bad part of this film is the subject matter; you wish it wasn't true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LHethJul 17, 2016
Despite directing Adam Sandler's 'The Cobbler' in the same year, Tom McCarthy managed to sweep that critical flop under the carpet with a powerfully understated biographical drama. Rather than create a melodramatic film with punchy moments,Despite directing Adam Sandler's 'The Cobbler' in the same year, Tom McCarthy managed to sweep that critical flop under the carpet with a powerfully understated biographical drama. Rather than create a melodramatic film with punchy moments, McCarthy opts to go for realism; the Boston Globe journalists investigate and respond as they would have done in real life. This may not sound particularly spectacular, but it makes for fascinating, immersive filmmaking.
The entire cast are individually perfect (and as an ensemble), but it is definitely Ruffalo who shines the most, adapting his voice and mannerisms ever so subtly to portray Michael Rezendes. When the cast receive credit, it isn't just the lead A-listers; right down to the small supporting roles are fleshed-out characters played with dignity. Even relative unknowns with only a handful of scenes have the ability to strike you right in the feelings as much as Keaton or McAdams.
The reason 'Spotlight' is essential viewing isn't just because of the methodical script, foreboding score or bleak cinematography. The technical achievement could be praised all day. The things it has to say about abuse is vital, and this film turns statistics and lists of locations into shocking reveals that will make your skin crawl.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pjthexdjJul 22, 2016
Great cast, which normally doesn't mean a great movie, but this one holds true. Strange watching this where you already know the outcome but still root for Garrofalo and Keaton to get the bad folks. Yeah, its that good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
maAssassinMay 5, 2017
I watched without boring. and i had fun and got emotional. cool movie. u should watch. i don't know what can i say. i don't want to give you a spoiler but i can say this film is about the deep inside of journalism and what they are doing forI watched without boring. and i had fun and got emotional. cool movie. u should watch. i don't know what can i say. i don't want to give you a spoiler but i can say this film is about the deep inside of journalism and what they are doing for us. for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Corky_RamirezJul 18, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very enjoyable film, it starts to slowdown near the middle but otherwise a wonderful film. Loved Michael Keaton's performance, one scene that stood out was Mark Ruffalo's "Oscar-bait" moment where Ruffalo yells "They did it to CHILDREN!", Keaton pulls the scene together by calmly retorting: "You, done?". Such a terrific ability to control the scene and hold it together thematically. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DomgwyDec 20, 2017
When discussing any ‘true story’ media it often becomes very difficult to seperate the telling of the story from the facts themselves.

The lasting impression of Spotlight is not the visuals, the performances or even the writing, it is the
When discussing any ‘true story’ media it often becomes very difficult to seperate the telling of the story from the facts themselves.

The lasting impression of Spotlight is not the visuals, the performances or even the writing, it is the truth upon which the film is based. Much like the outstanding documentary series Making a Murderer, Spotlight draws you in with the narrative of what happened and how it happened allowing the facts to speak for themselves.

The film tackles the challenging story of the Catholic Church abuse crisis that was brought to public attention in January 2002. The title refers to the investigative team of the Boston Globe who uncovered an astonishing history of abuse and negligence within the city of Boston and it’s institutions.

Played by Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo, Rachael McAdams and Brian d’Arcy James, the team takes on the story after a new editor is appointed to the paper in the form of Liev Schreiber’s Marty Baron.

From there the story unfolds through a series of powerful, yet underplayed scenes between the journalists, the lawyers and the victims involved in the case. Each member of the team has some personal connection to the story. As Bostonians born and raised they all have their own experiences with the Catholic Church and often have to face uncomfortable truths in their search for the facts.

If I was to delve into the case (or cases) themselves I would be here all day. To reduce the story to the numbers of priests or victims would be a disservice to those involved. These are not numbers on a page, these are people who’s faith was taken away from them in the worst possible way.

There is a distinct lack of Hollywood ego on display here. From writer-director Tom McCarthy to the outstanding ensemble cast, no one is in it for themselves. Despite the film’s undeniable awards potential, it feels like it has been made for the right reasons. A lesser film-maker would have distorted the facts, framing one particular journalist as a crusading hero and creating a vehicle for a ‘Best Actor’ Oscar bid.

One of the most commendable aspects of McCarthys script is it’s refusal to shrink away from the hard truths. In this case, there are no innocent parties, as Stanley Tucci’s Michael Garabedian puts it ‘If it takes a village to raise a child, it takes a village to abuse them.’ The writer-director confronts this concept head on and allows the Boston Globe themselves to share some of the blame. As evidence comes to light it becomes clear that something could have been done sooner by the paper, and this revelation is not easily dismissed as something a former employee may have overlooked.

Above all Spotlight gives a real sense of conviction in the film-making. From the on screen performances from Ruffolo, McAdams and Keaton it is clear that the actors feel just as passionately about the source material as the writers they are portraying. That is perhaps the greatest praise I could level at the cast as a whole, often you forget you are even watching actors playing parts, simply a group of journalists trying to do the best job they can.

The truth behind Spotlight is something that needs to be shared as much as possible. If, in 2016, the best way to spread this story is through an Oscar-worthy docudrama filled with big name actors, then so be it. Everyone should be aware of what happened, not to vilify the Catholic Church or to spark anger, but simply so that people understand the importance of community in an increasingly individual world. If everyone looks the other way, we may yet see another great institutional injustice in our time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobJan 17, 2016
Spotlight is a well made film. Nicely showing the struggle to expose the church combined with a great performance from Ruffalo. It doesn’t have the best cinematography and isn’t as riveting as All the President’s Men. Still that’s the thingSpotlight is a well made film. Nicely showing the struggle to expose the church combined with a great performance from Ruffalo. It doesn’t have the best cinematography and isn’t as riveting as All the President’s Men. Still that’s the thing with Oscar films they are well made but often not enjoyable. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JamesLNov 25, 2015
This is definitely one of the better movies of the year but I found it strangely cold and distant. It came across emotionless to me and I do not know why. Maybe it is because of my utter disgust for the Catholic Church and how they haveThis is definitely one of the better movies of the year but I found it strangely cold and distant. It came across emotionless to me and I do not know why. Maybe it is because of my utter disgust for the Catholic Church and how they have handled the child abuse issue. Still, the story is fascinating and informative. I think it is an important film about organized religion and the real priorities that they have. Mark Ruffalo and Michael Keaton were terrific. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ScraperJun 26, 2016
Spotlight is water-tight in it's revelations about human nature during such a deep, affecting tragedy that leaves most speechless at first reveal. The emotional payoffs aren't dropped like an anvil, rather plainly told as each layer is peeledSpotlight is water-tight in it's revelations about human nature during such a deep, affecting tragedy that leaves most speechless at first reveal. The emotional payoffs aren't dropped like an anvil, rather plainly told as each layer is peeled away and have no less impact. This is great modern movie making. It lets the audience feel it's gravity as lies are told, secrets are revealed, and human nature, for better or worse, is acted out with undeniable clarity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
namelessDec 7, 2015
Very well made. Kept your attention all the way through. The story is a bit thin so you have to admire the top notch acting, directing, writing, and editing. If you believe journalists are not this altruistic and more agenda driven this willVery well made. Kept your attention all the way through. The story is a bit thin so you have to admire the top notch acting, directing, writing, and editing. If you believe journalists are not this altruistic and more agenda driven this will be a bit difficult to swallow. A bit political in that it focused exclusively on the negative and ignored the 94% that are good though I get why they did this for the sake of the story. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
DonMegaMar 21, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An average rating of 8 is about right. Although this definitely isn't a best picture in any standards it does deserve the win for one simple fact. Everyone should watch it. This is an issue that has bugged me for years about the church and not many people take it seriously, winning best picture will make this movie viewed by many more people than it would have without.
One thing that I didn't like in the movie was that they didn't really show the push back that the real life reporters and editors received when working on this story. Sure in the movie we see some threats but otherwise it's smooth sailing for them and nothing really makes any impact on them.
The child abuse is a major aspect but they should have shown the more dirty tactics the church tried playing to cover the story from happening.
This movie will bring a tears and make you extremely angry, but I recommend everyone to see it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJan 13, 2016
It's obviously award bait at the highest order...great cast, style reminiscent of '70's procedural and a heavy topic. It's a good film and an illuminating one to boot, highlighting the cover up that permeate the Catholic Church as of late.It's obviously award bait at the highest order...great cast, style reminiscent of '70's procedural and a heavy topic. It's a good film and an illuminating one to boot, highlighting the cover up that permeate the Catholic Church as of late. Will probably win a lot of awards, but will anybody see it in the cinemas? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
NedRyerson1Feb 13, 2016
Spotlight treats one of the biggest dilemmas that our society had been involved in and we are talking about something that day by day is testing the faith of lots of people, the magnitude that reaches is due to the falling of one of the mostSpotlight treats one of the biggest dilemmas that our society had been involved in and we are talking about something that day by day is testing the faith of lots of people, the magnitude that reaches is due to the falling of one of the most ancient pillar of civilization, religion. The movie develop two big topics, the first one is about predator priests molesting children and the hierarchy of the church covering up their actions; the second one is about investigative journalism and how we has mankind depend on it in order to reveal conspiracy and abuse to ourselves. The mixture between both results on a thrilling plot, full with suspense and that certainly will make you question the church as an organization all the way up the pope. This incurable illness plus the ineptitude of church authorities left a mark of self-esteem problems, personality disorders, trust issues and even suicidal behavior on hundreds of people. It reaches a point when society looks at the topic as a failing to place children out of priests, and not backwards, it assumes that is impossible in the other way. With an amazing cast, highlighting Michael Keaton, Stanley Tucci and Mark Ruffalo, clever script, precise camera positioning and firm direction, this film hooks you till the end. PS. Thanks Spotlight of the Boston Globe for having the persistence and courage of revealing the reality of this manipulating institution as is the church today. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobFeb 18, 2016
It's a pretty good drama that explores how a newspaper exposed the Catholic church for hiding years of abuse by their priests. It's pretty hard hitting and shows just how powerful they are by covering it up. It's well acted by the cast and IIt's a pretty good drama that explores how a newspaper exposed the Catholic church for hiding years of abuse by their priests. It's pretty hard hitting and shows just how powerful they are by covering it up. It's well acted by the cast and I say that as a total group effort because none of them really stand out above the other. Definitely one of the must watch films of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GreatMartinNov 26, 2015
“Spotlight” is a MUST SEE for many reasons first being that if you think you know everything, or just a lot, about the cover-up regarding the Catholic church and the pedophilia priests this film will show you that you don’t. This is the best,“Spotlight” is a MUST SEE for many reasons first being that if you think you know everything, or just a lot, about the cover-up regarding the Catholic church and the pedophilia priests this film will show you that you don’t. This is the best, if not better, newsroom movie since “All The President’s Men” and shows investigative reporting as it is done and what it accomplishes. The cast is an evenly matched crew of actors in their prime and though all should get an Oscar for best ensemble, there is a scene with Mark Ruffalo that will make you hold your breath not wanting to miss a word.

Ruffalo is one member of a team consisting of editor Michael Keaton who is the leader and Rachel McAdams along with Brian d’Arcy James who answer to managing editor John Slattery and they all have a new Jewish, single, editor-in-chief previously of New York and Miami Live Schreiber.

This is not a pounding on the desk, “STOP THE PRESSES” but an even moving film of reporters doing research, asking inquisitive, invasive questions. There are quiet but very effective scenes like that between Schreiber and Len Cariou as Cardinal Law or the reporters interviewing survivors such as Neil Huff , or Richard O’Rourke, a priest who molested children but saw nothing wrong with it and in both cases no histrionics. Whether it is lawyers like Jamey Sheridan and Stanley Tucci or members of the church like Paul Guulfoyle or supporting players such as Billy Crudup and Michael Cyril Creighton among others all deliver the goods.

Screenwriters Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, the latter also directed, make a mystery and create suspense tale of a fairly well known Pulitzer Prize winning story that will get you deeply involved.

“Spotlight” is definitely one of the best movies of the year!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
trexJan 14, 2016
The only truly good and important feature film I've seen this year. Far from perfect, but solid writing and acting and a story that needs to be heard and paid attention to.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleNov 25, 2015
The second best journalism-based film ever made after All the President's Men, Spotlight is a brilliant work that brings tension, drama, and true hardcore emotion, to a very sensitive topic that it handles gracefully. Director Tom McCarthyThe second best journalism-based film ever made after All the President's Men, Spotlight is a brilliant work that brings tension, drama, and true hardcore emotion, to a very sensitive topic that it handles gracefully. Director Tom McCarthy does not shy away from the hard-hitting and tough to listen to facts that surround this case. The acting here is phenomenal. Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery, Billy Crudup, Stanley Tucci, Brian d'Arcy James, Neal Huff, Paul Guilfoyle, Len Cariou, and the list goes on. Everybody who had any single line in this film was great. This film is built around the powerful performances delivered by these talented people and the passion their real life counterparts brought to their job, which really shines through. This film has power in spades and as the onion is peeled back, you are left stunned at this true story. A film that makes you overwhelmed and needing a long bath to try and cleanse all the grime of the world off of you, Spotlight is a great work that deserves all of its forthcoming accolades. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeFeb 24, 2016
Uncovering the sins committed by whom the millions of people believe in.

A documentary film would show the real faces of those offenders to shame them. That's the reason I desperately wanted it to be a documentary, then I would have
Uncovering the sins committed by whom the millions of people believe in.

A documentary film would show the real faces of those offenders to shame them. That's the reason I desperately wanted it to be a documentary, then I would have definitely given a maximum mark. There's no complaint about this movie, but adaptation means fakes acting, fake settings and awards goes to non real achievers. Anyway, this movie kind looked a semi documentary and liked the way it was made.

The movie exposed a very important scandal. If something is open for a debate in the US means, the rest of the world would follow the same route. That's where this theme was inspired by. It all begins with a group of journalists from the Boston Globe with their new editor instruct them to research on sexual abuse of children by priests. So their lead only gets bigger and puts them to recover more evidence in order to publish. How they come up with the story that shake up not only the nation, but the entire world is the remaining.

A collection of bunch fine performances. There's no lead actors in this. Everyone is in the supporting roles. Out of 6, it got nominated both male and female in the category of supporting role for the Academy Awards. I am very disappointed, Mark Ruffalo's performance in 'Infinitely Polar Bear' deserved another nominee. Anyway, this 15 year old story still looks a hot topic. It was a great comeback for the director after critics assaulted him with their words for his previous film 'The Cobbler' only to show their rage on Sandler. It is a must-must see. Beware, is is not your weekend entertainer, but based on the real.

8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGJul 14, 2016
Spotlight I recommend you check out (Although the majority of you already have I can assume. It is a cold film about the long complicated road of 'doing the right thing'.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews