Open Road Films (II) | Release Date: November 6, 2015
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 916 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
812
Mixed:
54
Negative:
50
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MglovesfunFeb 18, 2020
One of the best movies of the 21st century. If you love serious fact-based movies, this is as good as it gets. This is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gamal178Sep 22, 2019
Probably the best movie about journalism. What makes it special is the realism of the characters when faced with a horrible fact.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Jul 14, 2019
Following in the footsteps of other journalistic drama greats like "All The President's Men" and "The Insider" before it, this Best Picture winner takes an incredibly engrossing story of investigative passion and layers a thick coating ofFollowing in the footsteps of other journalistic drama greats like "All The President's Men" and "The Insider" before it, this Best Picture winner takes an incredibly engrossing story of investigative passion and layers a thick coating of moral intrigue and subtle, yet effective emotionality on top of it. Sure, "Spotlight" may lack the directorial panache and flair that other, admittedly more complete films would possess, but I'll be damned if the subject matter at hand doesn't elevate everything in play. I don't need this to be flashy or expressive. The message and story at hand do it all for me. And what a story it is, scripted beautifully by Josh Singer and director Tom McCarthy, featuring stellar dialogue, brilliantly vibrant scene dynamics, and -- again -- a call to action that'll knock you on your back. "Spotlight" shocked me in nearly every way imaginable. Not only is it a well-deserved candidate for the best movie of 2015, it's a well-deserved candidate for being one of the best movies of its kind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Mar 31, 2019
Outstanding cast in real fact drama of the controversial case of pederastriam in Catholic Church. With same spirit of All the President men, the plot is compelling all along the 128 minutes, following the tireless efforts for uncover aOutstanding cast in real fact drama of the controversial case of pederastriam in Catholic Church. With same spirit of All the President men, the plot is compelling all along the 128 minutes, following the tireless efforts for uncover a scandal who shock the Society. A must to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wevertonaguiiarFeb 13, 2019
Spotlight é um filme sem erros. Todas as promessas são entregadas; a investigação é interessante e a força do elenco e dos jornalistas é o que move o filme. O roteiro é excepcional e o elenco é primoroso. A direção é mecânica, pois elaSpotlight é um filme sem erros. Todas as promessas são entregadas; a investigação é interessante e a força do elenco e dos jornalistas é o que move o filme. O roteiro é excepcional e o elenco é primoroso. A direção é mecânica, pois ela precisa ser; seria injusto colocar planos e enquadramentos mirabolantes que nos tirasse um pouco dos dialogos, da investigação e das interpretações. Algo que pode passar despercebido, mas que é um ponto muito importante do filme é a edição: quando o filme precisa dar um salto no tempo, ela entra em ação e é simplesmente incrível. Spotlight é um filme excepcional, que trata de um assunto delicado mas sem apontar o dedo para a fé, apenas para a institucionalização da mesma. Mereceu o Oscar de Melhor Filme. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
carlossolracDec 19, 2018
I'm from Boston and Catholic and read the Boston Globe C2C (cover to cover) like the next guy. I used to like my crackers with wine but man O' man I'll never go to church again. I hope that makes sense. Lightning strikes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FallenVengeanceNov 14, 2018
This is a super great movie. It tells us about how the newspaper company is able to open up the hearts of the victims and Mark Ruffalo's great acting just made it a whole lot greater than it already is. A must-watch film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BerikNov 9, 2018
If you can understand the rapid talking and Mark Ruffalo's Acid indused moving, then you'll experience a great movie in spotlight. Simply excellent, i give it an 8/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bennewmanSep 13, 2018
One of the greatest movies ever made. That covers such a tragic topic so amazingly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Braquiador55Feb 6, 2016
Really good insight on a very worrying problem of our soceity, not a masterpiece but a really competent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jack101Jul 22, 2018
This is a match made of heaven. At first, I was indifferent and kinda bored, but getting deeper into the film will take you on a ride of powerful messages and serious situations. Definite reccomendation for those with the trained eye.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WigglejigJul 3, 2018
Spotlight is a good movie with an excellent story. It blends together the drama of a newsroom story with the intrigue of a investigative detective flick. It had excellent timing, with details of the plot unfolding just as fast as a viewerSpotlight is a good movie with an excellent story. It blends together the drama of a newsroom story with the intrigue of a investigative detective flick. It had excellent timing, with details of the plot unfolding just as fast as a viewer could want. The movie blended excellent dialogue between characters, as well as emotional moments only accompanied with music, depicting the silent understanding of what the city of Boston knew about these crimes. The parts in the movies were very well acted, with Ruffalo and McAdams doing a wonderful job showing their fear and anger towards the accused. The things I did not like about this movie were the “blah” use of color and symbolism. Even though docudramas do not require artistic color use and symbolism I felt that a movie about the Catholic Church (a group full of symbolism) could have used a splash. The only other real problem I had with the movie was the lack of fear and urgency I felt with the investigation, this movie would have been an excellent documentary, but as a docudrama the drama falls a tad bit flat. I was not worried about the characters, I did not, for a second, think the “villains” had the upper hand, and I certainly was not worried about the Catholic Church retaliating, I was more worried about rival newspapers getting to the story first.
The film is certainly worth the watch, the plot is very attractive, and the subject matter is important, timeless, and dark. The dialogue was good, emotionally charged, and powerful, with the crescendo of Ruffalo's “And people know about it.” The flaws that the film has are merely in presentation and suspense, but it should be noted that it was not written as a suspenseful thriller, but a docudrama.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YungKangJun 20, 2018
A better thriller than most thrillers nowadays, the pacing is expertly executed and keeps the audience engaged and riveted all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Hibah_977Apr 5, 2018
Right off the bat, this is one of the finest films I've ever seen, and it deserved that goddamn Oscar. But beyond that, Spotlight is the result of a journalism based film done right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ambermdFeb 21, 2018
This is a high quality film with a brilliant script, detailing the plot perfectly. It has a star studded cast and the topic is very interesting and gripping, although it could have been more entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SrPepeJan 5, 2018
Muy bien hecha, con excelentes actuaciones y un relato increíble que merece ser sabido por todos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tamcwlmmJan 3, 2018
I am speechless. I can't find the right words to describe the impact this movie had on me. It left me in shock and in awe. Best movie of 2015 hands down, deserved the Oscar it won for best picture. Acting is oscar worthy a well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vgates14Dec 30, 2017
By far the best movie of it's year Spotlight's veteran and talented cast give us an amazing detailed look at one of the biggest church scandals. Gripping and moving for it's entire duration spotlight reminds of how an independent and fearlessBy far the best movie of it's year Spotlight's veteran and talented cast give us an amazing detailed look at one of the biggest church scandals. Gripping and moving for it's entire duration spotlight reminds of how an independent and fearless press now more then ever, is so important. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JyroJyroAug 6, 2017
Sadly, this true story film highlights how 'doing the right thing' is often the most difficult thing (literally and emotionally). I also have to give credit to the impeccable writing and acting, in particular Michael Keaton & Mark Ruffalo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DomgwyDec 20, 2017
When discussing any ‘true story’ media it often becomes very difficult to seperate the telling of the story from the facts themselves.

The lasting impression of Spotlight is not the visuals, the performances or even the writing, it is the
When discussing any ‘true story’ media it often becomes very difficult to seperate the telling of the story from the facts themselves.

The lasting impression of Spotlight is not the visuals, the performances or even the writing, it is the truth upon which the film is based. Much like the outstanding documentary series Making a Murderer, Spotlight draws you in with the narrative of what happened and how it happened allowing the facts to speak for themselves.

The film tackles the challenging story of the Catholic Church abuse crisis that was brought to public attention in January 2002. The title refers to the investigative team of the Boston Globe who uncovered an astonishing history of abuse and negligence within the city of Boston and it’s institutions.

Played by Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo, Rachael McAdams and Brian d’Arcy James, the team takes on the story after a new editor is appointed to the paper in the form of Liev Schreiber’s Marty Baron.

From there the story unfolds through a series of powerful, yet underplayed scenes between the journalists, the lawyers and the victims involved in the case. Each member of the team has some personal connection to the story. As Bostonians born and raised they all have their own experiences with the Catholic Church and often have to face uncomfortable truths in their search for the facts.

If I was to delve into the case (or cases) themselves I would be here all day. To reduce the story to the numbers of priests or victims would be a disservice to those involved. These are not numbers on a page, these are people who’s faith was taken away from them in the worst possible way.

There is a distinct lack of Hollywood ego on display here. From writer-director Tom McCarthy to the outstanding ensemble cast, no one is in it for themselves. Despite the film’s undeniable awards potential, it feels like it has been made for the right reasons. A lesser film-maker would have distorted the facts, framing one particular journalist as a crusading hero and creating a vehicle for a ‘Best Actor’ Oscar bid.

One of the most commendable aspects of McCarthys script is it’s refusal to shrink away from the hard truths. In this case, there are no innocent parties, as Stanley Tucci’s Michael Garabedian puts it ‘If it takes a village to raise a child, it takes a village to abuse them.’ The writer-director confronts this concept head on and allows the Boston Globe themselves to share some of the blame. As evidence comes to light it becomes clear that something could have been done sooner by the paper, and this revelation is not easily dismissed as something a former employee may have overlooked.

Above all Spotlight gives a real sense of conviction in the film-making. From the on screen performances from Ruffolo, McAdams and Keaton it is clear that the actors feel just as passionately about the source material as the writers they are portraying. That is perhaps the greatest praise I could level at the cast as a whole, often you forget you are even watching actors playing parts, simply a group of journalists trying to do the best job they can.

The truth behind Spotlight is something that needs to be shared as much as possible. If, in 2016, the best way to spread this story is through an Oscar-worthy docudrama filled with big name actors, then so be it. Everyone should be aware of what happened, not to vilify the Catholic Church or to spark anger, but simply so that people understand the importance of community in an increasingly individual world. If everyone looks the other way, we may yet see another great institutional injustice in our time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Tss5078Dec 13, 2017
The truth is always stranger than fiction and that's why it makes for the best movies. Spotlight is the 2016 Academy Award Winner for Best Picture and it was well deserved. This star studded cast comes together to tell the true story of howThe truth is always stranger than fiction and that's why it makes for the best movies. Spotlight is the 2016 Academy Award Winner for Best Picture and it was well deserved. This star studded cast comes together to tell the true story of how the Boston Globe was finally able to breakthrough the decades long wall of silence, and expose the Catholic Church's child molestation scandal. Michael Keaton headlines this all-star cast and shows that while he's been out of the spotlight (pun intended) for some time now, he hasn't lost a beat. As the enigmatic leader of the newspaper's Spotlight section, Walter Robinson (Keaton) will not give up the fight for the truth, no matter the personal cost. Even when his own bosses tell him the story is dead and to give up, he refuses to let it go and he shows that one man with a mission really can change the world. This film doesn't simply shine a light on the Catholic Church in a way it would rather nobody ever had, but it also gives views an in depth, inside look at all the intricacies that go into investigative journalism. With all the reports of fake news and all of us who simply get our news from staring at a screen, it's hard to think about all the effort that goes into getting that information from real life to print and I personally found the process fascinating. This film has a lot going for it, from an inside look at a long forgotten industry to the mysteries behind a long hidden secret. It features some terrific writing and more than one outstanding performance. You don't get six Oscar nominations by accident. This is a great film and a great addition to our list of can't miss movies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Corky_RamirezJul 18, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very enjoyable film, it starts to slowdown near the middle but otherwise a wonderful film. Loved Michael Keaton's performance, one scene that stood out was Mark Ruffalo's "Oscar-bait" moment where Ruffalo yells "They did it to CHILDREN!", Keaton pulls the scene together by calmly retorting: "You, done?". Such a terrific ability to control the scene and hold it together thematically. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
flylexMay 25, 2017
Spotlight depicts a real story from a boston globe journalist group who investigated allegations of child abuse from the catholic church, the level of realism is impressive the cuts are subtle and well made and the plot is very well builtSpotlight depicts a real story from a boston globe journalist group who investigated allegations of child abuse from the catholic church, the level of realism is impressive the cuts are subtle and well made and the plot is very well built since it is a A film that passes a lot of information, papers, documents, the chance that the film becomes boring was great but the plot does not let that happen, the subject is very shocking and this gives a great mystery to the plot besides being fluid exploring very well The teamwork of journalists, the cast is perfect actors fit very well in their roles giving a very real sense of realism to the movie that sometimes looks like a documentary, all in a way are contained at a certain point what makes scenes where their emotions Appear to be much more impacting, in general in a film made not for the entertainment but to tell a good story infattering how the Catholic institution controls Everything and everyone and protects their even from acts like rape. The film tackles a real story and a seriously controversial theme very well and with mastery, in general there is not much that changes in him.note 100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
maAssassinMay 5, 2017
I watched without boring. and i had fun and got emotional. cool movie. u should watch. i don't know what can i say. i don't want to give you a spoiler but i can say this film is about the deep inside of journalism and what they are doing forI watched without boring. and i had fun and got emotional. cool movie. u should watch. i don't know what can i say. i don't want to give you a spoiler but i can say this film is about the deep inside of journalism and what they are doing for us. for everyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
juliankennedy23Mar 27, 2017
Spotlight ( 9 out of 10) Everyone has pet peeves when it comes to movies. We hate romantic comedies based entirely on misunderstandings, we hate horror films where no one's cell phone works, or we simply hate movies that have either theSpotlight ( 9 out of 10) Everyone has pet peeves when it comes to movies. We hate romantic comedies based entirely on misunderstandings, we hate horror films where no one's cell phone works, or we simply hate movies that have either the word Adam or Sandler on the poster.

I hate true story movies that simply make things up. You know the type. We need a bad guy so let's take a real person and turn him into a racist (Hidden Figures), a murderer (Titanic), or a woman (Patch Adams). We need to condense the timeline and change real historical events (Oscar-nominated Hidden Figures again). We need to change the character's sexuality so modern audiences can relate (The Danish Girl). We need facist slaveholders to talk about democracy and freedom (300). And the list goes on and on. This is without even mentioning Mel Gibson historical dramas that might as well have dinosaurs wandering through them.

One of my other pet peeves? Movies that take place in an office or business world made by people who clearly have never spent more than a day working in one. Like ahistorical true stories, this is ripe territory for rage. We have the office politics of Catwoman’s evil beauty cream manufacturer. Not to be outdone the less said about how Wayne Industries is run ( a publicly traded company mind you) in the Batman universe the better. It isn’t just superhero movies either. Romantic comedies often need a trip to HR and no making everyone an architect does not solve that. (Seriously do these movies even know what architects or museum directors or magazine publishers actually do during their work day?)

Spotlight easily could have fallen into both these traps. It simply doesn’t. The timeline is correct. The discussions between professionals sound well professional. There are no made up heavy’s to create drama, no fake romantic love interest, no surprise terrorist attack. Okay, it does have the last one but in all fairness, the movie’s timeline starts in August 2001 and runs through the end of the year. But even in that moment, the movie handles it with intelligence and in a realistic manner. There is a calmness and a professionalism in this movie that is refreshing. It rings true in both the big and small things. It is one of the best films I have seen this year.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SomePersonaJan 18, 2017
Spotlight is well-directed, well-written, and well-acted. The scenes feel like you're really with the journalists, and you're slowly given new information about the story just as the journalists are over time.

If there's anything bad about
Spotlight is well-directed, well-written, and well-acted. The scenes feel like you're really with the journalists, and you're slowly given new information about the story just as the journalists are over time.

If there's anything bad about the movie, it would have to be the score. The score is just BAD. It probably takes half the tension out of each scene it plays in.

But overall this movie's cool. Best film of the year? Nah.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ZachSchellerAug 14, 2016
Gripping and mesmerizing, Spotlight shines a bright light on one of the greatest cover ups of our day. The only bad part of this film is the subject matter; you wish it wasn't true.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyJul 23, 2016
Spotlight was a really interesting and cool movie. The casting choices are great and the cases explored throughout the film were very interesting. The only real problem I have with the film is how much talking is done and how little is shownSpotlight was a really interesting and cool movie. The casting choices are great and the cases explored throughout the film were very interesting. The only real problem I have with the film is how much talking is done and how little is shown of actual case witnesses and evidence. Most information is told through dialogue rather than shown. Maybe thats just a personal taste. I would still definitely recommend this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pjthexdjJul 22, 2016
Great cast, which normally doesn't mean a great movie, but this one holds true. Strange watching this where you already know the outcome but still root for Garrofalo and Keaton to get the bad folks. Yeah, its that good
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LHethJul 17, 2016
Despite directing Adam Sandler's 'The Cobbler' in the same year, Tom McCarthy managed to sweep that critical flop under the carpet with a powerfully understated biographical drama. Rather than create a melodramatic film with punchy moments,Despite directing Adam Sandler's 'The Cobbler' in the same year, Tom McCarthy managed to sweep that critical flop under the carpet with a powerfully understated biographical drama. Rather than create a melodramatic film with punchy moments, McCarthy opts to go for realism; the Boston Globe journalists investigate and respond as they would have done in real life. This may not sound particularly spectacular, but it makes for fascinating, immersive filmmaking.
The entire cast are individually perfect (and as an ensemble), but it is definitely Ruffalo who shines the most, adapting his voice and mannerisms ever so subtly to portray Michael Rezendes. When the cast receive credit, it isn't just the lead A-listers; right down to the small supporting roles are fleshed-out characters played with dignity. Even relative unknowns with only a handful of scenes have the ability to strike you right in the feelings as much as Keaton or McAdams.
The reason 'Spotlight' is essential viewing isn't just because of the methodical script, foreboding score or bleak cinematography. The technical achievement could be praised all day. The things it has to say about abuse is vital, and this film turns statistics and lists of locations into shocking reveals that will make your skin crawl.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGJul 14, 2016
Spotlight I recommend you check out (Although the majority of you already have I can assume. It is a cold film about the long complicated road of 'doing the right thing'.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
2016Jun 30, 2016
Spotlight shows us the dark side of the priests, a great movie with arguments to be nominated to the prizes Oscars, but I think that it should not have gained the prize to the best movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ScraperJun 26, 2016
Spotlight is water-tight in it's revelations about human nature during such a deep, affecting tragedy that leaves most speechless at first reveal. The emotional payoffs aren't dropped like an anvil, rather plainly told as each layer is peeledSpotlight is water-tight in it's revelations about human nature during such a deep, affecting tragedy that leaves most speechless at first reveal. The emotional payoffs aren't dropped like an anvil, rather plainly told as each layer is peeled away and have no less impact. This is great modern movie making. It lets the audience feel it's gravity as lies are told, secrets are revealed, and human nature, for better or worse, is acted out with undeniable clarity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheShrike222Jun 11, 2016
This is a fantastic movie. I've watched it multiple times and get something new out of it each time. Its hard to get a strong ensemble cast like this and they also got a lot of good character actors in the smaller parts. I love that theyThis is a fantastic movie. I've watched it multiple times and get something new out of it each time. Its hard to get a strong ensemble cast like this and they also got a lot of good character actors in the smaller parts. I love that they don't go for many dramatic film tricks, just let the material speak for itself. Some of the best moments are quiet where you get so absorbed that you almost forget to breathe. As a final note, it's wonderful to see Michael Keaton making a comeback. What a wonderful actor! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
''Spotlight'' is one of this years most powerful Oscar movies, with a great ensemble cast, great/powerful story, well-paced. There is not a single dull moment in this fine movie.

Spotlight is the true-story behind the 2002 expose into the
''Spotlight'' is one of this years most powerful Oscar movies, with a great ensemble cast, great/powerful story, well-paced. There is not a single dull moment in this fine movie.

Spotlight is the true-story behind the 2002 expose into the Catholic Church's cover-up of decades of sexual abuse and it is unflinching in its focus and animated by its outrage, which is the best and worst part of this awards-caliber movie. Spotlight is a terrifically scripted and performed journal thriller. The actors never seem like they want to overshadow the other, but instead all work towards the common goal of the film's story.
Mark Ruffalo is great while Michael Keaton and Rachel McAdams are decent. The cineomatography is smooth and the editing is tight. The screenplay is terrific and delivers an accurate representation of journalism. However the movie just feels so empty and simplistic. Stanley Tucci and Liev Schreiber are really good in the small amount of screen time they get. Overall while Spotlight is good but it isn't really anything special and failed to give the characters much depth. Not one character in the film apart from Mark Ruffalo's has any development or motivation to do what they do. The whole thing just feels shallow and completely forgettable.
I feel The Revenant was far more deserving of the Best Picture Oscar
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JurgenRamnballMay 8, 2016
Pros: Great story, great dialogue, great character development (in its proportions), great direction, great acting, Great photography.

Cons: Repetitive soundtrack, underdeveloped elements. Score: 9,6. I put 10 on metacritic because I am a
Pros: Great story, great dialogue, great character development (in its proportions), great direction, great acting, Great photography.

Cons: Repetitive soundtrack, underdeveloped elements.
Score: 9,6. I put 10 on metacritic because I am a positive person ;)
Want a flawless movie from 2015? Stick with Mad Max Fury Road.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 19, 2016
Incredibly directed, perfectly acted and beautifully executed, Spotlight is not only one of the best movies of the year, it is one of the most important movies I've ever seen. This is a film with touchy subject matter that is shown incrediblyIncredibly directed, perfectly acted and beautifully executed, Spotlight is not only one of the best movies of the year, it is one of the most important movies I've ever seen. This is a film with touchy subject matter that is shown incredibly well, being both understanding to the victims while still being impartial. No one is a hero in this film, but Spotlight is a marvel to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MEFzelderApr 14, 2016
Una de gran adaptaciones de eventos reales a la pantalla grande, "Spotlight" como historia supera a cualquier película del 2015, tiene un gran elenco en ella, varias frases memorables y un buen equipo de escritores que supieron llevar estaUna de gran adaptaciones de eventos reales a la pantalla grande, "Spotlight" como historia supera a cualquier película del 2015, tiene un gran elenco en ella, varias frases memorables y un buen equipo de escritores que supieron llevar esta trama a un compacto de 2 horas.
La película gira en torno a un grupo periodístico de investigación que se ve beneficiado por un cambio directivo para tratar un tema muy delicado como es el abuso infantil por parte de los párrocos de la iglesia, y del sistema que manejan las entidades para ocultar dichos casos.
Al momento de explicar el problema y exhibir a los afectados es donde tiene éxito "Spotlight", los relatos y experiencias son muy genuinos y evidencian en forma clara cuáles son los problemas, las causas y la falta de acción del Estado para detener el dilema.
La película es altamente muy recomendable, te permite descubrir una nueva perspectiva de un caso conocido y de paso homenajea a un grupo de personas que trabajaron y se arriesgaron para hacer público un gran problema que una fuerte entidad trata de ocultar.

Lo bueno: Guión, reparto y dirección.
Lo malo: Puede pasar desapercibido el paso del tiempo.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
daeneryswiftMar 30, 2016
it truly deserved the Oscar for Best Movie! good writing, good cinematography, good scripts, great actors! (Mark Ruffalo has been AMAZING!). we need more movies like this one, that expose the Church and its hypocrisy! can't wait to see it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
pureshoresMar 26, 2016
Reviews for this film are mixed, with some saying it wasn't hard-hitting enough. To me, it did what it was supposed to. It wasn't about asking people to get mad at the Catholic Church for all the atrocities it committed, somebody already didReviews for this film are mixed, with some saying it wasn't hard-hitting enough. To me, it did what it was supposed to. It wasn't about asking people to get mad at the Catholic Church for all the atrocities it committed, somebody already did that before. This one is about reminding everyone about what happened before, what we can learn from it and how we become better because of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
smiyamotMar 22, 2016
Well done movie. Unlike other newspaper movies I've seen, the director kept the tone subdued, like we were really watching reporters do their research and talking to each other. I was surprised there was not a stronger response from theWell done movie. Unlike other newspaper movies I've seen, the director kept the tone subdued, like we were really watching reporters do their research and talking to each other. I was surprised there was not a stronger response from the church to squash this story from the git go. This is a movie that will inspire writers to become journalists and inform us of what's going on in our world. Kinda like "Freedom Writers" would inspire you to become a teacher. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DonMegaMar 21, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An average rating of 8 is about right. Although this definitely isn't a best picture in any standards it does deserve the win for one simple fact. Everyone should watch it. This is an issue that has bugged me for years about the church and not many people take it seriously, winning best picture will make this movie viewed by many more people than it would have without.
One thing that I didn't like in the movie was that they didn't really show the push back that the real life reporters and editors received when working on this story. Sure in the movie we see some threats but otherwise it's smooth sailing for them and nothing really makes any impact on them.
The child abuse is a major aspect but they should have shown the more dirty tactics the church tried playing to cover the story from happening.
This movie will bring a tears and make you extremely angry, but I recommend everyone to see it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PapawalesMar 13, 2016
As most movies go I tend to watch, ponder and then forget. This movie however is not in this category. I was angry, upset, crying and totally distraught after this film. I have children and it made love and cherish even more. No film I haveAs most movies go I tend to watch, ponder and then forget. This movie however is not in this category. I was angry, upset, crying and totally distraught after this film. I have children and it made love and cherish even more. No film I have ever seen has moved me like this and I congratulate all involved in this compelling and wonderful movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJMar 11, 2016
Must watch!! People, don't ignore this movie! This is not a movie against religion! It's a movie against the church! God is not a ginnie who makes your dreams come true! God is a way of life! God is not in heaven! God is in us! And going toMust watch!! People, don't ignore this movie! This is not a movie against religion! It's a movie against the church! God is not a ginnie who makes your dreams come true! God is a way of life! God is not in heaven! God is in us! And going to the church won't remove your sins and won't make you a better person! The priests are also humans! Or... are they? :D Just kid'n. Watch this movie! A true masterpiece with great message to all journalists, priests and to the system! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
AliceofXMar 11, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The problem is that Spotlight is just not that good a film. If you take away the importance of its subject matter there is nothing noteworthy in this. Just a dull, boring movie that made me appreciate The Big Short a lot more.

The Silent Night song part was the worst scene in the film. After the entire movie failed to stir any emotion the film makers go for the old „play a sad song" as if that is a good substitute for a compelling plot.

The actors are good and each plays their part well. But since the plot doesn't really flesh them out they don't have much to do to make their characters more memorable. They come in, do their part and you don't really find out more about them as humans.

Now maybe if I had the opportunity to see this movie before the Oscars, or even the nominations, I could judge this movie more soberly but I can't. With such high achievements you naturally come into the movie theatre expecting something grand but the film just doesn't deliver. Overall Spotlight isn't bad by any means, but the best film of the year?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YellowKirbyMar 11, 2016
Spotlight is a powerful drama with brilliant performances from Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo and Rachel McAdams, a well-written script by Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, and a message that is still relevant today.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
joekazMar 9, 2016
When Mark Rufalo screams 'and people know about it" - he's speaking to us.
When Liev Scrieber wants to investigate to find out if it's 'systemic' - we know the answer.
Spotlight is, perhaps, the most brilliant movie even because it it so,
When Mark Rufalo screams 'and people know about it" - he's speaking to us.
When Liev Scrieber wants to investigate to find out if it's 'systemic' - we know the answer.
Spotlight is, perhaps, the most brilliant movie even because it it so, so Meta. Has any of us followed any trials of any Catholic priests? Liev, it's so systemic - even a feature film will prove that we as a society still don't know how to address molestation. The system is society. You don't need to be in Boston. For some reason, we who have been molested chose to carry the burden and the demons that come with. Dad, Mom nor anyone really cares! Spotlight is a movie that will never end. No other film is like it - and there may never be one like it in the future. >peace
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndrewLambertMar 6, 2016
Driven by outstanding yet understated performances from a hugely talented ensemble (with particular credit going to Ruffalo, Keaton and McAdams), Spotlight is a quietly driven, flawlessly executed, true to life drama that reasserts the powerDriven by outstanding yet understated performances from a hugely talented ensemble (with particular credit going to Ruffalo, Keaton and McAdams), Spotlight is a quietly driven, flawlessly executed, true to life drama that reasserts the power of investigative journalism while never exaggerating or inflating the drama and horror of its haunting subject, somehow making the final product all the more powerful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
cronleeMar 4, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am giving this low score because this movie bored me to tears. 90% of the screen shots are people working in offices, drinking coffee, carrying laptops around from office to office to restaurant ... reminded me of my days working as an office temp. The subject-matter I think is what got it the Oscar - but the
filming was, in addition to being office-bound, was not distinctive; the score has already been satirized in Burn After Reading (among others); the actors had zero charismal; and the plot was totally cliched [SPOILER ALERT] - down to the shots of the newspaper finally rolling out copies with the truth, which has been around since the 1930s: and actuallly were not that relevant to the post-9/11 era - shots of computer screens downloading the news would have been more a propos. You could have made a much more interesting movie if there had been more screen time devoted to the criminals, the victims, how the victims later organized, the reactions of the Cardinal and the hierarchy to unfolding events -- this fillm won for its good intentions, period. It is basically an unimaginative, tedious, predictable, and cliched work.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
NBNEMar 4, 2016
Important story, and think this only won Best Picture because of the subject matter. The acting was over the top - of course we are angry - but I felt never felt an emotional connection or outrage through the characters.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
nicholasbertMar 4, 2016
During a few moments you get the feeling of the tension actually building up, which then resolves in the same vaguely plain sense of fascination you had before. I would have much rather preferred they focused on the journalism part of itDuring a few moments you get the feeling of the tension actually building up, which then resolves in the same vaguely plain sense of fascination you had before. I would have much rather preferred they focused on the journalism part of it rather than the paedophilia part of it.

A particularly brilliant Mark Ruffalo.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CriviewerMar 2, 2016
Chillingly great. Touching, breath-taking and deeply moving.

The obsessive investigation and its intensive suspense are just the 2 preeminent features that distinguish the movie. The movie talks about values, and tackling big themes
Chillingly great. Touching, breath-taking and deeply moving.

The obsessive investigation and its intensive suspense are just the 2 preeminent features that distinguish the movie. The movie talks about values, and tackling big themes appeals greatly to an audience. It's so touching to see a relentless pursuit to uncover the truth, couple that with its deep understanding of where to strike (the system, and not the individuals), and the result just amazingly great.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
whooosaahMar 2, 2016
Solid, beautifully executed, intense and pretty exhilarating. Spotlight is a kind of movie that doesn't need an explosion to entertain the moviegoers, they can entertain us with a beautiful storytelling, great cinematography and stylishSolid, beautifully executed, intense and pretty exhilarating. Spotlight is a kind of movie that doesn't need an explosion to entertain the moviegoers, they can entertain us with a beautiful storytelling, great cinematography and stylish direction from McCarthy. Beside that, the acting from its cast is absolutely fantastic, especially from Mark Ruffalo. His character is really calm, but when he blow up, you can feel the anger from his gut. I'm glad this movie won the Best Picture category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Thejudge21Mar 2, 2016
A decent film with a powerfull subject matter, but it should never have been given best film at the oscars. Its no "All the presidents men". So many film critics gave this 100/100.. 90/100. Why? Its got a higher score on here than schindlersA decent film with a powerfull subject matter, but it should never have been given best film at the oscars. Its no "All the presidents men". So many film critics gave this 100/100.. 90/100. Why? Its got a higher score on here than schindlers list, lord of the rings, and many other classic films. It goes to prove one thing. Most of the so called film critics today and the panel at the oscars aint got a clue. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
wakeupamericaMar 1, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While ‘Spotlight’ took the Oscar as the best movie of 2015. The story about this movie and the Spotlight Office of the Boston Globe is regrettably not as scandalous nor as revealing about the sexual predatory conducts of catholic priests - since this is almost 900 years old evil offence, which has been a cover up by the church.

In 1992, while working for Coopers & Lybrand (today part of PWC) on a consulting assignment reviewing the financial of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Newark– the 3rd largest Archdiocese Catholic Church after the Brooklyn and Chicago, which at the time had an annual budget of $5 Billion (primarily made up of catholic charities). I came to know much about how the money came in and got out from the church. I was very surprised to find out from the CFO of the diocese, at the time many all the shenanigans committed – which was so wrong by any level of morality. Too little good was done for the poor people of those communities in Newark and its surrounding, while much wrong was committed and funded by the church.
The archdiocese had set aside $350 Million for self-insurance, since no single insurance carrier wanted to do business with them, since the Church was hiding an ugly truth. Moreover, almost $180 M was spent the prior yr. to settle / quiet down horrible sex abuses cases committed by priests, which many the diocese families and dozen young boys around Newark had been victimized by pedophile priests.

The Archdiocese of Newark was getting lawsuits with an average of 5 -6 cases /per month – with accusations against their priests 122 across its high schools and parishes. A full time legal stuff and a bunch of physiologists were retained on a full time basis, to handle these scandals.
Although my work and my team was focused on opportunities to optimize the dioceses operating expenditures across its various schools, cemeteries and Seton Hall University - I was curious to know why so much money from the diocese was tight up to short terms notes and Treasury bills, while it was carrying so much depth.

So I brought up several questions on my reports to the the client at the time - The head of Archdiocese (Monseigneur Dominic Anthony Marconi) – the name I could not forget since Marconi was an well know historical Italian engineer for its invention for long-distance wireless radio transmission. In any events, during couple of my meetings with Monseigneur Marconi – he seemed too casual and somehow at ease with no shame, telling me about the numerous cases, which in his mind was plaguing the Diocese and how the church had no choice setting aside that much $100 of Millions to handle settlement of these sexual abuse cases, as this it was another entry in the church OPEX. The church could not afford an open scandal as this would have been a serious blow to the charities and the properties it received from so many naïve members of the Catholics church – Many had promised to hand over the ownership of their home , business securities ..etc, which the church was named to inherit upon their death (~ 22 homes on average and 5 businesses were tuned over to the Newark Archdiocese every month from the death bed of many receiving their last right – believing that parting away by giving it all to the Church will gain favor with their maker and cleanse them from earthly sins – ignoring to name perhaps their own children and other family members as beneficiaries ..etc. 'Talk about a 2000 yr. old scam..

Till now no diocese can obtain any liability or even P&C insurance from a regular insurance carrier throughout the US – none will chance what everyone new - Hence the church could not afford to free up any of those self-insurance funds for general use. The leadership of the diocese knew plainly that that 1 out 4 priest recruited was himself abused as a child and many of them used the priesthood to hide their deviant pedophile behavior, which themselves continued carrying out against a new generation of poor children. Too many pedophile are joining the church under the guise of priesthood with the full knowledge of the church, for centuries - Getting someone to join has become an expensive proposition for the church – but that is the price it is willing to pay.
.
When I mentioned to several audit partners / colleague working with me at Coopers. It seems that this piece of news was known by everyone, but me, none seemed chocked or uncomfortable to even continuing serving the church ( why not – after all this was an old Audit client, which they had served for several decades at a profit – so why would such fact upset the relationship - This was viewed as an Old news, even this was an inconvenience – but the church is too holy to care about some abused boys ) - It seemed that New Jersey Department of Justice was very much aware of these cases and kept an blind eye, just as it was the case for the FBI - No one seemed interested to take on the church - too many cases w
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnMcQFeb 29, 2016
If there is an award for best investigative journalism film, it would have to go to this brilliant movie. Tom Mcarthy and Josh Singer execute this screenplay to such an incredible level it's quite special. The direction , acting and editingIf there is an award for best investigative journalism film, it would have to go to this brilliant movie. Tom Mcarthy and Josh Singer execute this screenplay to such an incredible level it's quite special. The direction , acting and editing are also worthy of much praise. This is the kind of film that may not get much attention at the box office but it one that will and should be remembered. The best film of the year, hands down! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DavidV293Feb 29, 2016
Believe it or not, I actually watched this film with my family before The Oscars. And I wasn't expecting it to win Best Picture. I watched 'Spotlight' like it was a regular movie and I absolutely loved it. I was surprised when it won. Guys,Believe it or not, I actually watched this film with my family before The Oscars. And I wasn't expecting it to win Best Picture. I watched 'Spotlight' like it was a regular movie and I absolutely loved it. I was surprised when it won. Guys, watch this film and just enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avan1976Feb 27, 2016
Well made and well acted movie about sexual abuse in the Catholic church in Boston. It is both informative and shocking. However, as a movie, it moves along at a single pace, slowly revealing the story of how the abuse was uncovered, which isWell made and well acted movie about sexual abuse in the Catholic church in Boston. It is both informative and shocking. However, as a movie, it moves along at a single pace, slowly revealing the story of how the abuse was uncovered, which is not such a big deal given this is how journalism work. However, the one knock on this film is that it lacks dramatic climaxes and anti-climaxes and a strong sense of urgency, especially towards the end. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
PrashunFeb 25, 2016
I liked this film, thought it was a well done solid film. But I am afraid I can't say anything more than that, it is very documentary like which can be it's biggest strength (a very fact driven plot heavy film) or it's biggest weaknessI liked this film, thought it was a well done solid film. But I am afraid I can't say anything more than that, it is very documentary like which can be it's biggest strength (a very fact driven plot heavy film) or it's biggest weakness (characters feel cold and distant and other than the plot nothing really impresses, also quite a bland in the visuals department). However the characters do start to show some life nearing the end of the film but by that time damage is done it can be hard if not impossible for viewers to differentiate between the reporters for nearly one and a half hour of the film, they all suffer from different faces but same objective syndrome and inadequate effort is made to separate one from the another. Also speaking of run-time, this film is a wee bit over two hours long, editing especially in the first half could have made this film a bit crispier. However I did like the accuracy level in the film regarding the cellphones, ads, electronics and the cars used in 2001; a lot of films these days are becoming very careless in this regard. I would compare it to last year's Foxcatcher another fact driven docu-drama film, solidly acted, but nothing special in the direction, editing and cinematography department, I would still recommend it but no way this film deserves a second watch, you can absorb everything there is to get in a single viewing. All in all, a solid well written docu-drama which will have it's time in the "spotlight" (pun!) this Oscar season and will become "oh that movie about pedo priests" by next year's Oscar season. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeFeb 24, 2016
Uncovering the sins committed by whom the millions of people believe in.

A documentary film would show the real faces of those offenders to shame them. That's the reason I desperately wanted it to be a documentary, then I would have
Uncovering the sins committed by whom the millions of people believe in.

A documentary film would show the real faces of those offenders to shame them. That's the reason I desperately wanted it to be a documentary, then I would have definitely given a maximum mark. There's no complaint about this movie, but adaptation means fakes acting, fake settings and awards goes to non real achievers. Anyway, this movie kind looked a semi documentary and liked the way it was made.

The movie exposed a very important scandal. If something is open for a debate in the US means, the rest of the world would follow the same route. That's where this theme was inspired by. It all begins with a group of journalists from the Boston Globe with their new editor instruct them to research on sexual abuse of children by priests. So their lead only gets bigger and puts them to recover more evidence in order to publish. How they come up with the story that shake up not only the nation, but the entire world is the remaining.

A collection of bunch fine performances. There's no lead actors in this. Everyone is in the supporting roles. Out of 6, it got nominated both male and female in the category of supporting role for the Academy Awards. I am very disappointed, Mark Ruffalo's performance in 'Infinitely Polar Bear' deserved another nominee. Anyway, this 15 year old story still looks a hot topic. It was a great comeback for the director after critics assaulted him with their words for his previous film 'The Cobbler' only to show their rage on Sandler. It is a must-must see. Beware, is is not your weekend entertainer, but based on the real.

8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UrbanlistenerFeb 23, 2016
An extremely intriguing and investing story, told the best way possible, with amazing performances, especially Mark Ruffalo who is mind-blowing in the film and a cinematography and soundtrack that make the movie reach unexpected heights.An extremely intriguing and investing story, told the best way possible, with amazing performances, especially Mark Ruffalo who is mind-blowing in the film and a cinematography and soundtrack that make the movie reach unexpected heights. Definitely a worthy contender for the Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dissy182Feb 21, 2016
This is a near perfect movie. Compelling, acting, direction and storyline. Although the cinematography isn't on the level of Reverent, it's perfect for the subject. The facts of the story are correct and told in an entertaining way. The movieThis is a near perfect movie. Compelling, acting, direction and storyline. Although the cinematography isn't on the level of Reverent, it's perfect for the subject. The facts of the story are correct and told in an entertaining way. The movie has more real life relevance than any movie of 2015. Maybe with the exception of The Big Short - but did you really understand the huge so-what there? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TributeManFeb 20, 2016
"Kościół to tylko Instytucja".

Spotlight jest filmem bardzo uniwersalnym, ponieważ jego historia mogła rozegrać się 100 lat temu lub teraz. Obowiązkowy do obejrzenia dla wszystkich dziennikarzy. Może znowu zaczną wykonywać swoją pracę
"Kościół to tylko Instytucja".

Spotlight jest filmem bardzo uniwersalnym, ponieważ jego historia mogła rozegrać się 100 lat temu lub teraz. Obowiązkowy do obejrzenia dla wszystkich dziennikarzy. Może znowu zaczną wykonywać swoją pracę należycie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AxeTFeb 18, 2016
Straightforward no frills, well acted, investigative journalistic procedural based on true story; heavy on dialogue as you'd expect but short on vigor, suspense, emotional payoffs, and an overall sense of urgency. Sorry but a tough subjectStraightforward no frills, well acted, investigative journalistic procedural based on true story; heavy on dialogue as you'd expect but short on vigor, suspense, emotional payoffs, and an overall sense of urgency. Sorry but a tough subject alone does not grant a pass for great movie. The craftsmanship is solid, though no flair for moviemaking is evident in this only mildly involving story. This same movie aesthetically could have come out in 2001 or in 1970, whether that's a problem or not is not the issue, but the low key to the point of nearly emotionless arch is. It is there however subtle making it more realistic but also less satisfying as movie artifice. It does not deserve Best Picture and is a prime example of serious content alone trumping form. Ruffalo does not deserve the nom any more than every other member of the ensemble, that is besides Rachel McAdams who is a good actress but any of literally hundreds of others could easily play this part to the same effect.
The basic problem with this movie and what most of the worthless dopey critics next door ignore because of their bias and incompetence is it's underwhelming!
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
kathytreeceFeb 18, 2016
I saw this movie at the Willow Creek in Plymouth. Action drama based on history. This movie held my attention for the full two hours. The actors were wonderfully believable and well-cast. The movie focused on the investigation ratherI saw this movie at the Willow Creek in Plymouth. Action drama based on history. This movie held my attention for the full two hours. The actors were wonderfully believable and well-cast. The movie focused on the investigation rather than the horrible deeds that they were investigating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobFeb 18, 2016
It's a pretty good drama that explores how a newspaper exposed the Catholic church for hiding years of abuse by their priests. It's pretty hard hitting and shows just how powerful they are by covering it up. It's well acted by the cast and IIt's a pretty good drama that explores how a newspaper exposed the Catholic church for hiding years of abuse by their priests. It's pretty hard hitting and shows just how powerful they are by covering it up. It's well acted by the cast and I say that as a total group effort because none of them really stand out above the other. Definitely one of the must watch films of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GamingNinjaFeb 16, 2016
Overrated movie getting overrated ratings because of fragile subject..
The movie is well acted and told but to praise to this level is nonsense..
It's an above average movie with a lot of dialog and little heart. Worth watching.. Sure.
Overrated movie getting overrated ratings because of fragile subject..
The movie is well acted and told but to praise to this level is nonsense..
It's an above average movie with a lot of dialog and little heart.

Worth watching.. Sure. Worth praising..? No.

7.5/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
LogrunnerFeb 15, 2016
What puzzles me is some of the negative reviews. I guess that you do need to feel some real emotional interest in the subject matter of clerical abuse, otherwise the whole premise of the film is lost. I also guess that if you go with a majorWhat puzzles me is some of the negative reviews. I guess that you do need to feel some real emotional interest in the subject matter of clerical abuse, otherwise the whole premise of the film is lost. I also guess that if you go with a major object being to see predictable performances of specific actors, then your expectations may not be met, good as the performances seemed to me.
The film had a fabulous, essentially true story, to tell and it met the challenge. It really captured the psyche of the Boston catholic community.
My criticism are that I struggled at times to hear the dialogue and was left wondering if the intention was that I should not capture it all. Also the functions of some of the characters was a little confusing eg a lawyer who represented victims but it seemed could not speak out as he was bound by legal settlements.
A must see film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KittyMackFeb 15, 2016
This is a magnificent film. I have to chuckle at those who found it "boring." The literate script, nuanced performances, true-to-life atmosphere and characterizations, and build of tension were perhaps a little too subtle or beyond theThis is a magnificent film. I have to chuckle at those who found it "boring." The literate script, nuanced performances, true-to-life atmosphere and characterizations, and build of tension were perhaps a little too subtle or beyond the grasp of certain movie goers who prefer the in-your-face graphics, sex, and violence. "Spotlight" is a breath of fresh air and clearly an Oscar worthy film on several fronts. Bravo to the writers, producers, director, and ensemble cast for this truly moving and memorable work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NedRyerson1Feb 13, 2016
Spotlight treats one of the biggest dilemmas that our society had been involved in and we are talking about something that day by day is testing the faith of lots of people, the magnitude that reaches is due to the falling of one of the mostSpotlight treats one of the biggest dilemmas that our society had been involved in and we are talking about something that day by day is testing the faith of lots of people, the magnitude that reaches is due to the falling of one of the most ancient pillar of civilization, religion. The movie develop two big topics, the first one is about predator priests molesting children and the hierarchy of the church covering up their actions; the second one is about investigative journalism and how we has mankind depend on it in order to reveal conspiracy and abuse to ourselves. The mixture between both results on a thrilling plot, full with suspense and that certainly will make you question the church as an organization all the way up the pope. This incurable illness plus the ineptitude of church authorities left a mark of self-esteem problems, personality disorders, trust issues and even suicidal behavior on hundreds of people. It reaches a point when society looks at the topic as a failing to place children out of priests, and not backwards, it assumes that is impossible in the other way. With an amazing cast, highlighting Michael Keaton, Stanley Tucci and Mark Ruffalo, clever script, precise camera positioning and firm direction, this film hooks you till the end. PS. Thanks Spotlight of the Boston Globe for having the persistence and courage of revealing the reality of this manipulating institution as is the church today. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TgExpressFeb 10, 2016
Wow what a movie, after the disappointment of the Revenant and the Hateful 8, this movie will redeem your faith in the industry. A powerful story told with incredible tension, I was so disappointed when it finished.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
gigiuzFeb 10, 2016
Liev Schreiber is one of the most underrated actor of his generation. He's impersonating Martin Baron with great ability and intelligence, you believe he's an experienced journalist from the first scene until the last shot. The other actorsLiev Schreiber is one of the most underrated actor of his generation. He's impersonating Martin Baron with great ability and intelligence, you believe he's an experienced journalist from the first scene until the last shot. The other actors are great, especially Billy Cudrup, Brian D'Arcy, Jamey Sheridan...and Stanley Tucci is as good as an old Italian wine! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
foxgroveFeb 10, 2016
Slow, surprisingly muted and almost overwhelmingly disappointing. This year’s Oscar front runner for best picture deals with The Boston Globe newspaper’s expose of the dirty dealings and hypocrisies of the Catholic Church. More specificallySlow, surprisingly muted and almost overwhelmingly disappointing. This year’s Oscar front runner for best picture deals with The Boston Globe newspaper’s expose of the dirty dealings and hypocrisies of the Catholic Church. More specifically it hones in on the sexual molestation of young boys by Catholic priests. However, despite this controversial hot potato of a subject the film seriously lacks any raw power or urgency. Instead it is content to have its leading investigators amble from meeting to meeting obtaining information rather too easily. Things aren’t helped by the lack of an emotional hook. The victims interviewed are all adults and come across as basic stock characters shouldering all the worst lines of dialogue like ‘Who can say no to god’. Lines like this are so phony that one winces with embarrassment. Anyone who has seen ‘All the President’s Men’ or Netflix’s current ‘Making a Murderer’ will know that films exposing evil or corruption can be nerve jinglingly tense and emotively powerful, but Mark Ruffalo’s annoying depiction of righteous anger just doesn’t cut it. Where the film does succeed is in keeping viewer interest in a subplot as to who in Spotlight’s department was responsible, and therefore complicit, in burying the story years earlier. Performance wise the Oscar nominated turns of both Ruffalo and Rachel McAdams seem quite conventional and uninteresting, whereas the actors in smaller parts; Liev Schreiber, Stanley Tucci, Billy Crudup and John Slattery all fare much better. The ‘Spotlight’, however, does shine on one person; Michael Keaton. For an actor who is often guilty of being way over the top he is here at his most understated. It is more than fair to say that he single handedly elevates ‘Spotlight’ to a level way above the mediocrity of the rest of the film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoFeb 8, 2016
Spotlight is an engaging and thought-provoking film with amazing performances and an excellent script. The actors were all amazing- Mark Ruffalo was great, Michael Keaton was great, Stanley Tucci was great... The list goes on! The scenes withSpotlight is an engaging and thought-provoking film with amazing performances and an excellent script. The actors were all amazing- Mark Ruffalo was great, Michael Keaton was great, Stanley Tucci was great... The list goes on! The scenes with the victims telling their stories were horrifying. It really opens your eyes. Of course, the movie might be too disturbing for some (and too talky for others) but if you like movies such as "All the President's Men" then this is the movie for you. A remarkable film, and one of the best of the year. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
roadwarrior234Feb 8, 2016
Spotlight is shocking and engaging. The whole cast is bringing everything to the table here, especially Mark Ruffalo who had a great performance. This movie is sad and tragic but needed. Spotlight is a great movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
rahuliamFeb 7, 2016
hey man you watched spotlight?
_ hell yeah!
you liked it? - why not,give me a reason. i heard this movie is boring and slow? - boring,absolutely not,but it's a little bit slow. i heard this movie nominated for six Academy Awards
hey man you watched spotlight?
_ hell yeah!

you liked it?
- why not,give me a reason.

i heard this movie is boring and slow?
- boring,absolutely not,but it's a little bit slow.

i heard this movie nominated for six Academy Awards including Best Film Editing, Best Supporting Actor: Mark Ruffalo, Best Supporting Actress: Rachel McAdams, Best Original Screenplay, Best Director, and Best Picture......your favorite choice?
- i don't know,maybe Mark Ruffalo...

what's your rating?
- 4.5 out of 5

this is probably one of the best newsroom drama i have ever seen...
must watch.....
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
papeadojhonFeb 6, 2016
It may be too harsh and unclear for some, but Spotlight focuses more on its characters as people first before heroes and the result is a well-acted and written film, one of the best that 2015 has to offer.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
kuzdiyenFeb 5, 2016
Spotlight was a truly important film. The subject matter this movie is about was one that needed guts to portray in a film and Tom McCarthy showed everyone that he had the guts and the cast to do the job. The story was told in a way thatSpotlight was a truly important film. The subject matter this movie is about was one that needed guts to portray in a film and Tom McCarthy showed everyone that he had the guts and the cast to do the job. The story was told in a way that never got boring but also never lost its seriousness. The movie also one of the few movies showed the journalists as the heroes they can be and really gave them the credit they deserve. The acting was perfect, with McAdams and Ruffalo possibly giving the best performances of their careers. There was just something so great about Spotlight and that's why I thought it was a perfect film that told a story that had to be told. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
owmynose9000Feb 5, 2016
Spotlight was a phenomenal film regarding the ongoing scandal surrounding the Catholic church and allegations of molestation committed by its priests around the world. Spotlight was about delivering a message and garnering attention towardsSpotlight was a phenomenal film regarding the ongoing scandal surrounding the Catholic church and allegations of molestation committed by its priests around the world. Spotlight was about delivering a message and garnering attention towards an issue that is in immediate need of it. There was no unnecessary drama, the movie focuses solely on the issue of the controversial story it tells so well. The emotional impact of this movie is so significant because of the reality that surrounds the actual cases that are portrayed. The film suffers from a few pacing issues during the first act but quickly recovers and doesn't slow down. The reality of the story being told is what makes this movie essential to watch. The importance of the the issues discussed throughout is never understated and every character plays their role to perfection in contributing to the unfolding of this unique and true series of events. Religion plays a role in this narrative as it naturally contrasts and opposes the scandalous nature of the cases highlighted in this movie. Religion and morality are constants throughout the film as they compliment the nuanced narrative and contrast the tragedy being focused on. Spotlight is an important film that deserves to be acknowledged for the role it plays in communicating the significance of a substantial and controversial story in need of attention and ongoing in the world even today. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
dollarsignFeb 5, 2016
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca31Jan 31, 2016
A grippingly powerful and intense movie, that has no problem holding your attention and hitting nerves for the entire movie. Handles the delicate subject matter very well with a perfectly chosen cast, particularly Michael Keaton and LievA grippingly powerful and intense movie, that has no problem holding your attention and hitting nerves for the entire movie. Handles the delicate subject matter very well with a perfectly chosen cast, particularly Michael Keaton and Liev Schreiber. Recommended for a one time viewing. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
NerdConsultantJan 31, 2016
I thought Spotlight was a really good film. It takes a very difficult subject matter and handles it very well. I think it could have gone one step further with it, but by the end it does feel like a very good movie. To borrow a quote fromI thought Spotlight was a really good film. It takes a very difficult subject matter and handles it very well. I think it could have gone one step further with it, but by the end it does feel like a very good movie. To borrow a quote from Kyle Kallgren from Brows Held High, the bravery showing the film is not the reporters breaking the story, but it’s the holding on of the story until they have all the facts straight so that they can really make a difference and I don’t think I could sum it up better myself, hence my borrowing that quote. It’s very well acted and its a decently written film. It has a couple of issues, particularly with it’s early pacing and it does feel a bit too much like it’s deliberately aiming for an Oscar, but it’s a lot better than many other films that fit that category. It’s a really good drama, however I wouldn’t recommend rushing to the cinema to see this one, you might want to wait for this one to come out on DVD. It’s just good, that’s what I would say. I’m not sure I would give it the Oscar for best picture, which I don’t suspect it will win, the bookies are predicting The Revenant at this point and they are probably right, but I wouldn’t mind if this one stole it on the day. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingJan 30, 2016
Spotlight handles its sensitive subject matter deftly, treating the victims well and not glorifying the heroes actions. The film itself is engrossing from start to finish.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 29, 2016
Okay, I'm like forced to review a movie like this one here because I'm like running out of ideas on giving movies positive ratings in. Spotlight is an amazing work that you'll watch non-stop.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SierpinaJan 24, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sus trailers prometen demasiado, la verdad es que la trama es buena pero pesada, a ratos la película es lenta y las actuaciones brillante no las vi en ningún lado. No debería ganar como mejor película. Discreta Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
NickJewelJan 23, 2016
I was so disappointed by "Spotlight." I'm usually a HUGE admirer of Ruffalo's work but instead I found his performance one-note and off-putting. I was bored throughout much of the movie. It was formulaic -- absolutely nothing interestingI was so disappointed by "Spotlight." I'm usually a HUGE admirer of Ruffalo's work but instead I found his performance one-note and off-putting. I was bored throughout much of the movie. It was formulaic -- absolutely nothing interesting or engaging in the way it was made. So disappointing because I figured with the Oscar nominations it received, it would be a great film. The one thing that stood out for me was the score, which was (unfortunately) the only thing moving the emotional narrative forward at all. Otherwise, it's one of the most dry, boring films I've seen in ages. I don't recommend it. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeJan 23, 2016
It's no easy task to take on a controversial story such as the one told in SPOTLIGHT. Writers Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, along with the entire cast, respectfully and passionately honor the real-life heroes and the victims of thisIt's no easy task to take on a controversial story such as the one told in SPOTLIGHT. Writers Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer, along with the entire cast, respectfully and passionately honor the real-life heroes and the victims of this disturbing time. SPOTLIGHT is a subtle, but detailed, adventure through investigative journalism with true dedication to share a story and passion worth telling. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moothemagiccowJan 21, 2016
Going in, I thought I knew what this movie was about. I had no idea. It is gripping. It's a revelation. I don't even care if Mark Ruffalo is pretending to be hispanic. It's that good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
The__ShowmanJan 21, 2016
'Spotlight' A backstory in investigative point of view of the journalists aiming their weapons on the Boston clergy. This movie is highly appreciative for its written work. Kudos to Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer who provided a very interesting'Spotlight' A backstory in investigative point of view of the journalists aiming their weapons on the Boston clergy. This movie is highly appreciative for its written work. Kudos to Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer who provided a very interesting screenplay. Initially, it is slightly boring with random dialogues and same old uninteresting direction and camera work, but as the time passes one can get highly involved in the movie due to its arresting screenplay and top notch performance from all the actors namely Mark Ruffalo, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Liev Schreiber, John Slattery and Stanley Tucci. Music by Howard Shore is pleasant and also cinematography, editing and production design etc is up to the mark. Keeping all the controversies aside, it is one of the top three best movies of 2015. I predict this movie is going win Oscar for its original screenplay. So don't miss this... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AquaMorphJan 21, 2016
I was skeptical of this movie at first because to me it looked like Oscar bait and while it might be that it is also a great film. The pacing of this film is nearly perfect minus a few awkward scenes. The story told is extremely interestingI was skeptical of this movie at first because to me it looked like Oscar bait and while it might be that it is also a great film. The pacing of this film is nearly perfect minus a few awkward scenes. The story told is extremely interesting and told in a gut wrenching manner which makes it unforgettable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
RvwFromUpHereJan 20, 2016
Who: Mark Ruffalo, Birdman, Roger Sterling, and the girl detective from the terrible season of True Detective as Sacha Pfeiffer
What: A much cooler movie than anything I watched in 8 years of Catholic school
Where: Boston, MA; 272 years
Who: Mark Ruffalo, Birdman, Roger Sterling, and the girl detective from the terrible season of True Detective as Sacha Pfeiffer
What: A much cooler movie than anything I watched in 8 years of Catholic school
Where: Boston, MA; 272 years before the events of Fallout 4
When (Can I watch again): When you want to annoyingly convince everyone all Catholics are evil, or when you want to annoyingly convince your parents why church "isn't for you"
Why: For better of the worse, this movie is gonna win best picture. You don't wanna be the person who goes to work the day after the Super Bowl not knowing who Left Shark is
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ProsmoothJan 18, 2016
One of the best movies about real journalism since All the President's Men. Breaking the story about the Catholic church's carousel of pedophile priests in Boston is the story told here--but even more frightening is that this was going on inOne of the best movies about real journalism since All the President's Men. Breaking the story about the Catholic church's carousel of pedophile priests in Boston is the story told here--but even more frightening is that this was going on in every city, town, village, and hamlet on planet earth. A sobering reminder of what power, money, religion can cover up--and how long it can be covered up. This had been going on for hundreds and hundreds of years. Sobering and frightening film. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
PrimeProjectorsJan 17, 2016
Interesting tid bit, I was a young Catholic boy when these events were taking place (Kind of). Started to fade out a bit when this overarching, all-power, deity can't decide whether gay marriage is a burden on the sanctity of marriage or allInteresting tid bit, I was a young Catholic boy when these events were taking place (Kind of). Started to fade out a bit when this overarching, all-power, deity can't decide whether gay marriage is a burden on the sanctity of marriage or all his children get his love equally. Or if murdering people grants me 15 infinity years on fire, or if I can come to his party bus if I just wish upon a star. Enough about questioning the Catholic religion let's talk about Spotlight. Going in I heard that this movie treated both sides, Catholic and reporters, equally. Also that it doesn't actually make you question the logistics of religion. Either that person was deliberately lying so I'd have a bigger reaction, or he accidentally walked into Alvin and the Chipmunks: Road Chip, without noticing. This film knows how to set up the sensitive subject, it attempts to "fairly" represent the Church's side in the beginning. We start with one incident of sexual assault, or rather the aftermath. It's a short scene and it doesn't show a mother weeping over her victimized child praying for the blood of the Pope, while a priest twists his handle bar mustache. It's just one of the head whatevers, talking to the kids saying the priest will be moved and never seen again. This scene cleverly, and decietfully, shows this as a one-time incident that the church regrets happened. Then we arrive with our main reporters Mike Rezendes (Mark Ruffalo), Walter Robinson (Michael Keaton), Sacha Pfieffer (Rachel McAdams), and Matt Carroll (Brian d'Arcy James) they all work for a reporting group called Spotlight. They are known at covering large stories and getting to the bottom of them. This movie spends a lot of time with these characters, but it's really hard to remember their actual names. Honestly it wouldn't be that ill advised to say these characters mean very little, at least as their personalities are concerned. But that's kind of the point; as they get deeper in they find themselves being completely, and unintentionally surrounded by the disgusting reality of what the church is doing. They are simply representations of the actual spotlight crew that found the truth as been around every person. This films likes doing reveals, appropriately. There are several instances where camera and editing choices reveal the true damage or gravity of this situation. Sometimes a character will just blurt out commentary over the imagery either right away, or late. Spotlight members relationships with other people can also be spelled out too much. Specifically with someone's (trying not to spoil) blood relative.Also when a Cardinal does something dastardly, the film just kind of shrugs it off. Those things hurt the film in my opinion. But this film does certainly do a good job of not saying some things, for example the emotional state of the reporters is tracked very fluently. When a character feels panicked, rushed, angry, or scared you feel the weight because what the film is saying is dramatic, and you've been following the characters emotions the whole time. Those are all the things in the actual writing and directing I really liked, but there is another reason to watch this film. It's subject. Films like these are important things to watch, we can really take away a lot from it. This film could very well piss you off, if you are a devote follower of God. It tells you that the Church is corrupt, has too much power, and is blindly followed. Or at least at this time it was. It's hard to deny the credibility of the film when you see the final statistics on display in the film. It reminds me of two things. One, Spike Lee's Do the Right Thing. I don't think this movie quite utilizes it's full potential like Do the Right Thing, but they both say something that is tough to swallow. They choose to show the world the state it is certainly in. We aren't perfect but we can at least try to do something. The second thing I am reminded of is a quote from Stanley Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange. Alex is watching brutal violence, rape, and the Nazi regime and he says "its funny how the colors of the real world, only feel really real when you vivid them on a screen". I think he mean we can only learn from what is in front of us. Well that's it God Bless you. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
JacobJan 17, 2016
Spotlight is a well made film. Nicely showing the struggle to expose the church combined with a great performance from Ruffalo. It doesn’t have the best cinematography and isn’t as riveting as All the President’s Men. Still that’s the thingSpotlight is a well made film. Nicely showing the struggle to expose the church combined with a great performance from Ruffalo. It doesn’t have the best cinematography and isn’t as riveting as All the President’s Men. Still that’s the thing with Oscar films they are well made but often not enjoyable. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
herndonrulesJan 17, 2016
One of the best major films of the year. Many will be familiar with at least some aspects of the story, but that doesn't matter since the movie tells the tale in an engrossing manner. Very strong ensemble cast with every actor giving aOne of the best major films of the year. Many will be familiar with at least some aspects of the story, but that doesn't matter since the movie tells the tale in an engrossing manner. Very strong ensemble cast with every actor giving a laudable performance. Schreiber, Keaton and Ruffalo stand out. It has pacing of the standard investigative journalism film, which could frustrate some viewers, yet never seemed slow or boring to me. Instead, the viewer is quickly drawn into a "cover up" of voluminous proportions and the reporters attempt to unravel a conspiracy. Although my family and I were deeply moved, the only minor criticism is that the film leaves opportunities to affect viewer's emotions even further on the table. More focus on the victims and the indelible scars left on both they and their families would have made for an even more affecting film. That written, the movie succeeds tremendously on every level and should be a must see for those who enjoy a good story which is well told, well acted and well filmed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
latinodirectorJan 15, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is interesting that the public give less credit than the "Critics" to this movie. I agree with the public.

Although it is a good movie, once you compared it to "All President's Men" you can feel that something is missing. A movie is not based on the conglomerate of good actors and good settings and a good director. It is the amusing combination of all of them that enchants the receptor. In this case though, it is the topic, and not the movie, what guides the spectator until the end.The topic itself: the gruesome case about those abused victims by sick priests and how the institution -and the society- managed the crime, and how the journal brought it to the light. Was the intention here the film of a crusade? the connection between a strong faith based community and a cruel reality? Was the disapproval of the Catholic Church "as an institution"? I am not so clear. In any case, the silence presence of the victims guide the movie.

I feel that Spotlight fails in one essential point -because of the subjects developed there: missing the opportunity to go deeply into the question of faith and free will. It touched it somehow, yes, but as a small advertising that you could find in any printed newspaper. It does not go there. And faith is for example what drove Rezendes to stop going to Church -no clear explanation why; what Sacha's relatives feel touched -no further inquiry about it; and what it is in the heart of the Bostonian community -no particular discussion about that. Only big names and a big newspaper.

The church is something different than faith, I agree; but if you are going to treat this particular subject as just "the institution" the result is like filming nature without showing wilderness.

Even the history was not well re-scripted; it seems that the journalists are driven by assignment not by guts; and guts is what you need to explore with more anguish as well as impecable touch this case to be considered an excellent movie. Also, I could not detached myself the entire movie from recognizing director's influences rather than an creative opera, it was like watching "The Social Network" applied to this well deserved better construction.

A good movie, not an excellent film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeJan 15, 2016
A journalistic fight against morality that, is more than a true & depressing story, its a need to know -- a story that’s well worthy of the Oscars. The realism & intensity of the plot is a stunning trace. It’s like a tense documentary withA journalistic fight against morality that, is more than a true & depressing story, its a need to know -- a story that’s well worthy of the Oscars. The realism & intensity of the plot is a stunning trace. It’s like a tense documentary with these diverse & well visualized characters that, tries to bring this incredible story to life, a story that will bring both suffering and horror to them. It’s a pure dialog-driven film that might be too plot-centric, and due to that fact are characters not given that much playground for any depth nor development. A fact-based drama like this flick isn't for everybody, but it is based on a true story -- just the realism, clever and flawless directing, might bring an Oscar to the ’Spotlight’.

Personal rating: 75/100
Critical rating: 96/100
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
trexJan 14, 2016
The only truly good and important feature film I've seen this year. Far from perfect, but solid writing and acting and a story that needs to be heard and paid attention to.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJan 13, 2016
It's obviously award bait at the highest order...great cast, style reminiscent of '70's procedural and a heavy topic. It's a good film and an illuminating one to boot, highlighting the cover up that permeate the Catholic Church as of late.It's obviously award bait at the highest order...great cast, style reminiscent of '70's procedural and a heavy topic. It's a good film and an illuminating one to boot, highlighting the cover up that permeate the Catholic Church as of late. Will probably win a lot of awards, but will anybody see it in the cinemas? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Jan 12, 2016
Spotlight is a tremendous piece of film making that will make you go completely speechless with some of the scenes in this movie. Michael Keaton, Brian d'Arcy James and Rachel McAdams all gave superb performances, as it was both convincingSpotlight is a tremendous piece of film making that will make you go completely speechless with some of the scenes in this movie. Michael Keaton, Brian d'Arcy James and Rachel McAdams all gave superb performances, as it was both convincing and realistic with their reactions. But Mark Ruffalo was absolutely phenomenal in this movie and he stole the show.

The director of this movie (Tom McCarthy) did the Adam Sandler film "The Cobbler". Now, let that sink in for a minute.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews