Walt Disney Studios | Release Date: September 20, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1665 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,546
Mixed:
37
Negative:
82
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
xiaolumetaMar 29, 2020
A magical trip. Not surprised why it's so well received in the western world and it definitely is an amazing film. The art direction, the sound, the magic of this film is one for the books. The screenplay is incredible but I personally feelA magical trip. Not surprised why it's so well received in the western world and it definitely is an amazing film. The art direction, the sound, the magic of this film is one for the books. The screenplay is incredible but I personally feel that some moments and motivations aren't stretched/cut short enough, but like Park Chan-wook's Oldboy if taken at face it will blow you away.

One of the greats and a very influential film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TriadMar 27, 2020
Miyazaki made and absolute animation masterpiece. Watched 4 times, still amazed by the beauty of that move.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SrGusMar 6, 2020
First of all: Wow! I'm speechless right now. Second: I need to have words to build a review. > < I love Japanese animation because they still use 2D animation. The people involved in projects of this size are just incredible. They have greatFirst of all: Wow! I'm speechless right now. Second: I need to have words to build a review. > < I love Japanese animation because they still use 2D animation. The people involved in projects of this size are just incredible. They have great patience to make each painting by hand. The story is very well written and the protagonist's journey is well developed and very noticeable from the ways that she demonstrates throughout the journey. The characters have charisma and are very original in their own constructions. The world in which the entire film is set is so rich in mythology that we ask several questions, but the film is under no obligation to answer them and this is very pleasant because it makes it full of possibilities. It is a story with a beginning, middle and end, but with short pauses that make us breathe at the right time and make us reflect on the previous event. It's amazing how you identify with the character and that is because she is like us. And because of that fact, we grew up with it. (How nice to see Chihiro's growth.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NERo0oMar 14, 2020
One of the best anime films of all time. Hayao Miyazaki is just a master and he has proved it several times: My Princess Mononoke, The wind rises... And this one, Spirited Away, which I think is his best work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoVn00Mar 8, 2020
No words coming from me could ever describe how I feel about this masterpiece of film animation. People who say that this is the best animated movie of all time or one of the best are not exaggerating, they are totally right. There'sNo words coming from me could ever describe how I feel about this masterpiece of film animation. People who say that this is the best animated movie of all time or one of the best are not exaggerating, they are totally right. There's something about this movie that makes me watch it again and again...I don't understand! This movie is actually pretty straight forward and the story is easy to understand. I mean, after all it's a kids movie, it has to be easy to understand, but what I'm referring to is that despite being a simple story,it has so much to say and t has so many themes and underlying messages (some more subtle than others). I don't know what to like more: The complex and well developed characters, the gorgeous look of the movie, the beautiful score, the genius writing and direction...Really, it has it all.

This movie is a journey, a simple yet fantastic journey that takes us to a creative new world full with so many unique characters while also making us think and see the metaphors and allegories.

This isn't just a movie, this is an experience. I highly doubt there's going to ever be another masterpiece like this in a long time. A 10/10 is just not enough, hell, even an 11/10 isn't enough.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ArthuuMar 2, 2020
I believe there's really not much to say here. A must watch, visual masterpiece
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxFeb 21, 2020
Not one of the best animations ever made, but one of the best MOVIES ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YesterJan 24, 2020
I had no interest in watching this movie, but I'm glad someone sat me down and got me to give it a shot. I still don't know why I like this movie, but I do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheEventsOf1989Jan 5, 2020
Immersive films like "Spirited Away" are great for a family movie, and while its clean and silly, the film has a lot of metaphors for the adults to ponder about. I can see how for some it might be a bit slow, I didn't feel this way though.Immersive films like "Spirited Away" are great for a family movie, and while its clean and silly, the film has a lot of metaphors for the adults to ponder about. I can see how for some it might be a bit slow, I didn't feel this way though. The entire world is quite detailed and visually appealing, so I think it would be very easy for all audiences to enjoy most aspects of the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxDec 25, 2019
J'espère qu'on ne fait pas voir ce genre de truc à nos chères têtes blondes parce que c'est crade et dégueulasse... mais est-ce vraiment destiné aux enfants ? j'ai comme un doute, car c'est putain de malsain. Et quand ça ne l'est pas, c'estJ'espère qu'on ne fait pas voir ce genre de truc à nos chères têtes blondes parce que c'est crade et dégueulasse... mais est-ce vraiment destiné aux enfants ? j'ai comme un doute, car c'est putain de malsain. Et quand ça ne l'est pas, c'est tout simplement de mauvais goût.

Les grosses métaphores sont juste énormes de maladresse, dénonçant grossièrement quelques uns des sept péchés capitaux (arrête de te goinfrer comme un goret, tu vois bien que c'est pas bien...) mais ici mélangés ou plutôt arrangés à la sauce shintoïste des esprits multiples pervertis par les bas penchants typiquement humains. On doit ajouter également les préoccupations écolos du film, bien balourdes elles aussi (la pollution, les allusions au pétrole, tout ça... et gnagnagni et gnagnagna). Sans oublier la glorification du stakhanovisme de l'usine-prison (on est chez Mao là ou quoi ?!). Mouais bref, cause toujours, tu m'intéresses.

Tout ce merdier est long comme un jour sans pain, la musique est japoniaise jusqu'à l'indigestion et l'ensemble est très décousu ainsi que souvent aberrant... L'animation reste ce qu'elle est dans ce genre de dessin animé nippon en 2D, c'est-à-dire assez pénible à voir ; seuls les décors sont peu près corrects... Un voyage à éviter en tout cas !
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
StolowNov 3, 2019
This is my Favourite Film. That's all that needs to be said. From the crisp, gorgeous animation, to the quirky plot that has a mind of its own, to the fun characters who each are multi-layered and endearing. If you haven't seen it, justThis is my Favourite Film. That's all that needs to be said. From the crisp, gorgeous animation, to the quirky plot that has a mind of its own, to the fun characters who each are multi-layered and endearing. If you haven't seen it, just find it and watch it. A transcendent unforgettable experience that you makes you want to never give those 2 hours back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
s666aOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best Animated films I have ever seen in my life! I watched it several times and I can watch it 100 times more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MahmusOct 3, 2019
A masterpiece. One of the most beautiful movies ever made and a must see for anyone interested in animation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NehemiahSep 6, 2019
Being the only anime to win an Oscar, this movie by Miyazaki has a high bar to fill when compared to others such as Evangelion 2.0 or Akira. Yet it proves to be a great watch nonetheless even after almost two decades have passed. While itBeing the only anime to win an Oscar, this movie by Miyazaki has a high bar to fill when compared to others such as Evangelion 2.0 or Akira. Yet it proves to be a great watch nonetheless even after almost two decades have passed. While it doesn't have the bewitching vibrancy of towns and fields in Howl's Moving Castle or the historical homage to history and nature from Japan's Princess Mononoke, it does the viewer justice by simply leading them down the path of a little girl abruptly lost without the guidance of her parents. Along her journey the viewer is brought to realities about gluttony and greed and how a child-like nature can remain pure in the face of such brilliant trances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TootsieWootsyAug 29, 2019
Beautiful Art. Beautiful Scenery. Beautiful Music. This is a beautiful movie. I was captivated by the story line. I was taken in by the character. I got absorbed into this movie. Every aspect of this movie was done far above par. I can'tBeautiful Art. Beautiful Scenery. Beautiful Music. This is a beautiful movie. I was captivated by the story line. I was taken in by the character. I got absorbed into this movie. Every aspect of this movie was done far above par. I can't think of another Anime, much less an animated movie that even comes close to this one. It is a modern day Alice in Wonderland, that has something for everyone. Adults and children, critics and average viewers, anime lovers and anime haters will find something in this movie that grabs them deep down and drags them along through the whole thing Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lord_batmanAug 20, 2019
Not only is this from Studio Ghibli, but it's also their magnum opus and most likely the greatest anime movie of all times. Anyone rating this below 10 did not understand the intricacies of this masterpiece. Trust me, this movie would beNot only is this from Studio Ghibli, but it's also their magnum opus and most likely the greatest anime movie of all times. Anyone rating this below 10 did not understand the intricacies of this masterpiece. Trust me, this movie would be worth even more than a 10 if the rating system allowed it. Expand
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
10
ImaginaryCriticJul 28, 2019
I recently just watched this film and I gotta say its definitely in my top 10 like deeply. I took the story, characters, and the animation to heart. A beautiful film. Really wish I would've known about this film a long time ago.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sebastianaliJul 21, 2019
This movie is one of the best animated movies i have ever seen, or i could be.... But i heavily criticize the holes in the story, added to all the "mysteries" that surround practically all the characters. It seems as if they have notThis movie is one of the best animated movies i have ever seen, or i could be.... But i heavily criticize the holes in the story, added to all the "mysteries" that surround practically all the characters. It seems as if they have not developed them out of laziness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WonderWomenJul 12, 2019
brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliantbrilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant brilliant , also it's perfect. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SinaGhaderiJul 7, 2019
An unbelievable piece of Japanese art. It makes you to watch it again and again
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
death12123Jun 1, 2019
Spirited Away is probably the only Hayao Miyazaki movie I think is decent. The art is really the only thing that saves it for me since I couldn't get a feel for the characters outside the animals and minor ones. It just falls flat in manySpirited Away is probably the only Hayao Miyazaki movie I think is decent. The art is really the only thing that saves it for me since I couldn't get a feel for the characters outside the animals and minor ones. It just falls flat in many parts to me especially with Haku. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TyranianApr 8, 2019
Easily the best anime film I've seen with strong visuals and design and an intelligible plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gOct 8, 2016
One of the first films to have outstanding animation like any other films like Finding Nemo, Treasure Planet and others but Spirited Away is still two dimensional but everybody will know there are three dimensional graphics that has beenOne of the first films to have outstanding animation like any other films like Finding Nemo, Treasure Planet and others but Spirited Away is still two dimensional but everybody will know there are three dimensional graphics that has been hidden inside two dimensional if Miyazaki doesn't like showing surreal three dimensional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UncleWillardMar 12, 2019
I love anime, and this is one of my favorites. That is saying a lot. The fact that it is one of my favorite Studio Ghibli movies is saying even more. There's nothing to improve on this film. There's nothing anyone could change to make itI love anime, and this is one of my favorites. That is saying a lot. The fact that it is one of my favorite Studio Ghibli movies is saying even more. There's nothing to improve on this film. There's nothing anyone could change to make it better. The only other movie that edges slightly above it is My Neighbor Totoro. It's just so iconic of the studio and Hayao Miyazaki. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
LeventhanMar 10, 2019
A Japanese animation classic. Must-watch for people both new to anime and to veterans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OffTheDeepEndMar 6, 2019
I'm a bit biased because it's very special to me. I remember first seeing it at 8. And I don't often cry, almost never have, but I bawled my eyes out. The animation quality alone gives it at least a 5, let alone the beautiful storytelling.I'm a bit biased because it's very special to me. I remember first seeing it at 8. And I don't often cry, almost never have, but I bawled my eyes out. The animation quality alone gives it at least a 5, let alone the beautiful storytelling.
100/10, would totally recommend if you have any taste.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
flynnTDDec 17, 2018
This is a great children's adventure movie. The music, animation, story are all fantastic. This is a movie that will stand the test of time and I highly recommend showing it to your kids as they will love it straight on through to adulthood.This is a great children's adventure movie. The music, animation, story are all fantastic. This is a movie that will stand the test of time and I highly recommend showing it to your kids as they will love it straight on through to adulthood. Rating it a 10 as there is nothing I would change about this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
juancorderoDec 14, 2018
Probably one of the best anime films of all time. Hayao Miyazaki is just a master and he has proved it several times: My Neighbour Totoro, Princess Mononoke, The wind rises... And this one, Spirited Away, which I think is his best work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paperaquariumSep 6, 2018
I initially was drawn to this movie because it had my favourite trope: young girl who finds herself in a strange, new world; it's a cliche at this point. But this film is so much more than that. It sucks you in with a relatable main characterI initially was drawn to this movie because it had my favourite trope: young girl who finds herself in a strange, new world; it's a cliche at this point. But this film is so much more than that. It sucks you in with a relatable main character and an interesting premise, keeps you entertained with strange and amazing creatures, and makes you think about life, change and growing up. The animation is nothing like I've seen before as a Westerner- you can feel all the painstakingly hard work that must have gone into every frame to make each one simply breathtaking. And the story just flows so dreamlike and effortless. TLDR: it's just so well done, I can't NOT give it a 10. The one thing I must say is that it isn't really for children below 8/10 cos there are some scary sequences. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
McJopplesAug 10, 2018
This movie's Endless creativity,spectacular animation and beautiful soundtrack make it one of the most stunning animated films ever. all the while the film perfectly presents themes of entering the real world and coming of age.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lindenanakin696Jul 27, 2018
This was a fantastic film by Hayao Miyazaki. Animation and characters were beautiful please don't miss this one. score 90/100 = A
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nestoryavithJun 12, 2018
Gorgeously drawn as it is masterfully written, this fairy tale will have you captivated the entire time. From its amazing world building details to its engaging and amazing characters. Hayao Miyazaki's work at its finest. 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewBurgeJun 10, 2018
This is my third attempt at starting to write this review. Simply because I feel like nothing I could write would manage to encapsulate the transcendent beauty of this picture. Staring at a blank page, though, I felt this is what HayaoThis is my third attempt at starting to write this review. Simply because I feel like nothing I could write would manage to encapsulate the transcendent beauty of this picture. Staring at a blank page, though, I felt this is what Hayao Miyazaki must have encountered during his work. Yet, unlike me, for him that did not feel as a burden, but rather an opportunity.

Pictures speak louder than words in 'Spirited Away', a landmark for animation; a piece of art so ravishingly beautiful that even the juggernauts from Disney or Pixar should bask in its glory. The story revolves around Chihiro, a 10 year-old innocent girl lost into a magic world ruled by gods, spirits and witches. But she does not enter there though some fancy flashy portal. It is clear that Miyazaki completely masters the power of animation and of story-telling. The way in which this surreal world is designed is by being constructed by elements from reality. There are buildings, resorts, oceans, villages, trains and train stations. Yet through masterful concepts, it feels surreal not because of how it looks, but rather because of the beings encompassing it and its unusual rules. It is a landmark way of portraying fantastic elements almost like a parallel realm of existence suspended over reality.

Indeed, Chihiro often finds herself gazing towards the sunset and far-away villages from her prison-like resort where she is obliged to work as a staff member for tired spirits. And while these creatures are of great and terrible variety, as incredible as they are, I often found myself staring at the set decoration behind them which is painted with such awe, love and dedication that it often feels as if Miyazaki loses himself in this surreal world by crafting amazing artful and detailed backgrounds, inviting you to wonder and ask yourself what other secrets it holds.

But, with 'Spirited Away', beauty is not only skin-deep. Every single inhabitant of this world is carefully designed to represent his/her personality, the resort in itself being a metaphorical cleansing of one's soul. But in this magical world, Miyazaki weaves animation like no one else does. Emotions like greed, hatred, love, happiness and sadness materialize into weird but beyond-perfectly crafted drawings with bold black lines and color. You can see one's greed literally consuming people when a so-called No Face spirit shows up and begins devouring everything in its sight, even the staff! Also, Chihiro's parents being transformed by their gluttony into pigs... literally! Yet, Chihiro, through her childish innocence remains pure, and is her purity which guide her through this insane realm by befriending every single inhabitant of it.

I could go on forever, but I know my limits in writing. If I was as good at expressing myself as Hayao Miyazaki is at animation, this review would have been able to comprehend this film's greatness. But I am not, and so I will stop and encourage you to experience it for yourself.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
PimNFeb 28, 2018
Some of Ghibli's finest work. This very movie has opened up the world of Japanese animation to me. Even now, having watched most Ghibli movies, I still can't get myself to watch other 'over the top' Anime, but lucky for me, Ghibli moviesSome of Ghibli's finest work. This very movie has opened up the world of Japanese animation to me. Even now, having watched most Ghibli movies, I still can't get myself to watch other 'over the top' Anime, but lucky for me, Ghibli movies aren't that. Like most other Ghibli movies, Spirited Away has a fine plot with a main character that you can emotionally attach to. The animation quality is top-notch. A must watch, even for people that do not think they will like Japanese animation (like I thought). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
davd123Jan 25, 2018
What at dream. It was probably the first anime movie I saw. And it was stunning. What I loved about it the most that it has no boundaries everything could have happened in this movie and that shows the power of creativity. LOVE IT BOTTOM OFWhat at dream. It was probably the first anime movie I saw. And it was stunning. What I loved about it the most that it has no boundaries everything could have happened in this movie and that shows the power of creativity. LOVE IT BOTTOM OF MY HEART... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nielsnableJan 5, 2018
Undoubtedly one of the greatest films of all time. Its charmingly colorful animation, enchanting music, and exciting story will surely arrest all your senses. Everything about Spirited Away is just meticulously and intelligently crafted. ItUndoubtedly one of the greatest films of all time. Its charmingly colorful animation, enchanting music, and exciting story will surely arrest all your senses. Everything about Spirited Away is just meticulously and intelligently crafted. It brought me to a whole new realm of magic, spirits, and shapeshifters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsDec 21, 2017
Spirited Away is a masterpiece in cinema by creator Hayao Miyazaki. This coming of age story is truly inventive, wonderful, suspenseful, sad, and leaves you with a bittersweet feeling in your heart. This is truly an animated masterpiece thatSpirited Away is a masterpiece in cinema by creator Hayao Miyazaki. This coming of age story is truly inventive, wonderful, suspenseful, sad, and leaves you with a bittersweet feeling in your heart. This is truly an animated masterpiece that is not to be missed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
tiagomacedsDec 17, 2017
Este filme é com certeza uma das melhores animações que já foram criadas. Sua história além de mágica consegue ser muito emocionante, é simplesmente marcante
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DiogoOliveiraNov 27, 2017
ATEMPORAL, melhor animação já feita, tocante, emocionante, singela, inrestaurável, irretocável, uma lição de cinematografia, um tapa na cara de quem acha que só existe PIXAR, Disney. Studio Ghibli esta dando aula de como se faz animação,ATEMPORAL, melhor animação já feita, tocante, emocionante, singela, inrestaurável, irretocável, uma lição de cinematografia, um tapa na cara de quem acha que só existe PIXAR, Disney. Studio Ghibli esta dando aula de como se faz animação, minha total admiração. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ridigitalmediaNov 23, 2017
Spirited Away is one animation movie really stands out the crowd. The director Hayao Miyazaki's imagination and story telling with signature visual sequence of flying scene is phenomenal. The sky and cloud is something he always depict. He isSpirited Away is one animation movie really stands out the crowd. The director Hayao Miyazaki's imagination and story telling with signature visual sequence of flying scene is phenomenal. The sky and cloud is something he always depict. He is really detailed in depicting small scenes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AginagalaNov 5, 2017
Probably one of my favorite films of all time. I remember watching this as a kid and falling in love with it only to watch it again and again now and still enjoying every minute of it every single time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Edwin64dsOct 29, 2017
Una película excelente que vivirá por siempre, la historia es impredecible, la música es de lo mejor, y te deja una sensación imposible de olvidar, se lo recomiendo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xDlleoSep 29, 2017
O melhor filme de animação de todos os tempos. Emocionante, brilhante e excepcionalmente contagiante, sem dúvida o melhor filme de animação do milênio!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorSep 19, 2016
Spirited Away's victory on the Academy Awards isn't casualty: Animation, storytelling, and characters couldn't be more complex and surprisingly impressive. Hayao Miyazaki's Alice in Wonderland is simply a masterpiece that will definitely blowSpirited Away's victory on the Academy Awards isn't casualty: Animation, storytelling, and characters couldn't be more complex and surprisingly impressive. Hayao Miyazaki's Alice in Wonderland is simply a masterpiece that will definitely blow audience's minds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Feb 26, 2017
The biggest opus of Hayao Miyazaki. A dazzling experience with some taste to Alice in Wonderland with uncanny characters. A rare gem that deserves seen once and again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aidan404Feb 8, 2017
Extremely addictive to watch. A true masterpiece, with a lesson. This movie is one of those anime movies that represents the good spirit of anime, and made them gloom to the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
itchipodOct 2, 2016
Still one of the best animated movies of all time. Very nostalgic, engaging and not one scene will bore you. I appreciate how Sen solver her problems all the way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
papeadojhonAug 21, 2016
Spirited Away is undeniably eccentric, but, even that way, it's hard to find a flaw in one of the most thoughtful, imaginative, extremely interesting and entertaining movies I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ashu_ajAug 7, 2016
Blown Away, Spirited Away is an soul soothing ghost full journey, which all starts with a shortcut route.an movie with sheer ecstatic screenplay and wonderfully written and perfectly depicted. make no mistake this movie has to be the greatestBlown Away, Spirited Away is an soul soothing ghost full journey, which all starts with a shortcut route.an movie with sheer ecstatic screenplay and wonderfully written and perfectly depicted. make no mistake this movie has to be the greatest anime of all time,a movie with complete perfection drives it viewers and keeps them engage the movie time Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Antgiog1202Jun 2, 2016
WOW! This film was spectacular. Spirited Away was such a magical thrill-ride that I just can't get enough of. It leaves your mind spinning in wonder and your heart pounding with love. Hayao Miyazaki has proven to me that he is the greatestWOW! This film was spectacular. Spirited Away was such a magical thrill-ride that I just can't get enough of. It leaves your mind spinning in wonder and your heart pounding with love. Hayao Miyazaki has proven to me that he is the greatest hand-drawn animator out there.

Rating: 10/10

A+ = 10
A = 9
A- = 8
B+ = 7
B = 6
B- = 5
C+ = 4
C = 3
C- = 2.5
D+ = 2
D = 1.5
D- = 1
F = 0
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
An over the top, messy, crazy, incoherent, poorly structured, japanese take on ''Alice in Wonderland''
Except the beautiful animation (like with every Miyazaki film) there really is nothing here for me to like
2 of 28 users found this helpful226
All this user's reviews
9
MordoReviewerMay 21, 2016
Everytime you think in a anime movie, this is always the first option
I love this movie, i love the hand drawing animation it has and i love the characters, the drama, the backgrounds, the render they use, the voice acting ifselfs, the
Everytime you think in a anime movie, this is always the first option
I love this movie, i love the hand drawing animation it has and i love the characters, the drama, the backgrounds, the render they use, the voice acting ifselfs, the script, everything on this movie is perfect.
One of the bests works of Miyazaki.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
night4Apr 5, 2016
I appreciate the monumental effort that went into this movie. It's the kind of movie where, after watching it, you spend the next afternoon reading everything you can possibly get your hands on to better understand each and every detail.I appreciate the monumental effort that went into this movie. It's the kind of movie where, after watching it, you spend the next afternoon reading everything you can possibly get your hands on to better understand each and every detail.

However, it so blatantly and bluntly denounces "greed" that it loses all credibility. I know, it's meant for children. But the message seems to be if you have, want, or somehow acquire ANY money, ever, you're evil.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
GaoshangSandyFeb 23, 2016
Beguiling and breathtakingly crafted, one of the best animation creators living today, Japanese filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki has done it again by creating another master piece after his well-known film Princess Mononoke with his new animationBeguiling and breathtakingly crafted, one of the best animation creators living today, Japanese filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki has done it again by creating another master piece after his well-known film Princess Mononoke with his new animation Spirited Away. This animation Spirited Away conveys its audience to another realm and universe to edify us, on how to find our true selves.
As breath-taking as it is, this animation is often compared to an animation we all know, “Alice in Wonderland”. This animation revolves around a sullen, whinny ten year old girl named Chihiro who wanders to a different realm of spirits, gods and mysterious creatures. Chihiro enters the realm when she flees after seeing her parents turn into pigs after they had devoured some spirit food they had randomly found in an abandoned town. As she runs away from all the bizarre events happening, she meets her first friend, Haku (a river god) who later helps her find a job at the Bath house. It is important to keep in mind that the bath house is the main setting for this animation, therefore it holds a lot of significances of how Chihiro finds her true self.
Working in the bath house and having to lose her name “Chihiro” to Yubaba (the spirit owner of the bath house), Chihiro has to take on a new moniker of “Sen” and learn how to not be a jackanapes girl she used to be when her parents was there to spoil her. Being “Sen” Chihiro does not forget her real name, therefore she is not like Haku who does not remember his name, as a result of forgetting his name, he is under the control of Yubaba making himself who he really is not.
One of the messages that Hayao Miyazaki wanted us to get out of the animation itself is never forget your identity, who you are or you will become someone who you aren’t like Haku. Hayao Miyazaki also uses the Bath house as a symbol of the Japanese identity so that the Japanese people do not forget their history and who they are. Another Message that we get from this animation is greed. In this animation we see many forms of greed but Chihiro never showed any greed and at the end, she was better off than those who were greedy in the animation.
I want to say that this is by far this is one of the best animations created. Why? The reason is how this film was made. Instead of using and relying on computers and technology to help draw the frames of the animation, Hayao Miyazaki draws each and every one of the thousand frames there is by hand. It is also amazing how the Japanese voice actors Miyu Irino (Haku), Rumi Hiiragi (Chihiro), Mari Natsuki (Yubaba and Zeniba) and Bunta Sugawara (Kamaji) can put the liveness into this animation. To record animations, it takes a lot of skills. Why? Because the cast has to be able to match the characters mouthing with their vocals to make it seem as if the characters are actually talking. In general, the Japanese cast does an amazing job by portraying their emotions and vocals into these characters therefore, this animation to me was one of the many animations that I found amusing and enchanting.
In Most of his animations, Hayao Miyazaki focuses on the theme spirituality. As this animation Spirited Away progresses, we as the audience may get enchanted into this realm along with Chihiro and be able to find our true selves. Through Spirited Away Hayao Miyazaki provides his audience with a light that will help us guide our way to find our true selves through the dark. By finding our true selves, we can fully understand our true identity, and open the doors to self-acceptance.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 9, 2016
Spirited Away is a well-worth applause to Disney for translating a Japanese movie to an English movie making it enjoyable and not off-track with different languages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UniqueUsernameJan 29, 2016
I rarely watch anime, but since I heard such great things about this movie, I decided to check it out, and it was a mesmerizing experience. This movie exceeded my expectations in every way. Brilliant story, amazing characters, wonderfulI rarely watch anime, but since I heard such great things about this movie, I decided to check it out, and it was a mesmerizing experience. This movie exceeded my expectations in every way. Brilliant story, amazing characters, wonderful visuals, and beautiful music. The life lessons and symbolism found in the film was a magnificent touch. No person can exceed Hayao Miyazaki's ability to make you feel inside his world, and feel that everything that is happening is natural. It doesn't feel as if you're watching drawings move around, voiced by voice actors, it feels as if you're spectating this natural and realistic world, just like Chihiro is. I never knew an animated movie could feel so real, and it truly does blow me away. This movie is a masterpiece. Whenever you are into anime or not, this is a must-see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
xenogamer21Jan 21, 2016
I LOVE THIS MOVIE SO MUCH!!! The first time i saw this was on cartoon network when i was little, and i instantly fell in love with it. The fact that a little girl goes off into the spirit world was just......WOW!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksJan 17, 2016
Probably one of the greatest animated movies ever made. The simple story of a young girl who gets trapped working in the spirit world to free her parents. I loved the touching characters and the appreciation for the simple things in life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieBetterIsDec 24, 2015
A Viagem de Chihiro é um dos melhores filmes que eu já vi. Um dos pontos altos da cinematografia oriental! Uma animação espetacular que tem um roteiro impecável e uma história linda, cativante e instigante. Esse filme consegue agradar aA Viagem de Chihiro é um dos melhores filmes que eu já vi. Um dos pontos altos da cinematografia oriental! Uma animação espetacular que tem um roteiro impecável e uma história linda, cativante e instigante. Esse filme consegue agradar a (quase) todos. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BrieGNov 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many people believe that cartoons are strictly made for children. However there are plenty of films out there that inspire child-like imagination that are not only for the young ones but also for the young of heart. This cues in for the Fantasy/Mystery genre animated feature, Spirited Away, that is directed by Academy award winning animator and director Hayao Miyazaki.

Originally aired in 2001, Spirited Away has an original plot line that includes many fun bends and turns plus a climax that will leave the majority of its audience overcome with emotion. The movie itself seems to be based in the modern era until a sudden twist of events gets the protagonist thrown into a bizarre situation that she has to overcome with the help of her acquired friends.

The cast for the english version of the film include voice actors Daveigh Chase, Suzanne Pleshette, and Jason Marsden who play as Chihiro the protagonist, Yubaba the antagonistic owner of the hot springs, and servant boy Haku, respectively. The development seen in all the characters throughout the movie is intensely delightful and it feels as though viewers truly get to know the story as if they themselves were a part of the original work.

Not only is the plot a masterpiece, but the detail including the soundtrack with the sound effects put into the animation is enough reason to watch this flick. The music, composed by artist Joe Hisaishi, grips viewers with its beautiful symphonies from the orchestra and accompaniment of the piano. The english translation flows so effortlessly that, if not for the hand drawn style of Miyazaki, it would have been difficult to tell that the original version was made in a Japanese format beforehand.

Since it is the year 2015, many people may say that this flick is severely outdated especially because of the near 14 year gap from the day it was created. Although the clever way the story was made, makes time appear irrelevant especially if one takes the time to look at the timeline that Miyazaki set up for his movies and how each progresses from the next. If you are looking for an adventure that helps open the mind to the wonderful and bizarre then Spirited Away is definitely recommended for people of all ages!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BeThatCatNov 3, 2015
Love it. I am probably the epitome of the meaning of the word "otaku" and when I say Studio Ghibli outdid themselves with this movie I totally mean it. The only reason I haven't given it a ten is because I have seen better, (in my opinion).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BoogeeFilmGuyAug 8, 2015
In my opinion, to have a good film, you need the balance of a good story, characters that audiences can relate to and good, strong (acting) performances, as well as all the pretty pictures. Spirited Away has the perfect balance of all of thatIn my opinion, to have a good film, you need the balance of a good story, characters that audiences can relate to and good, strong (acting) performances, as well as all the pretty pictures. Spirited Away has the perfect balance of all of that combined. Its a visually stunning experience that I won't soon forget. I was walking around in a DVD rental store when I saw a strange looking film in the kids section. I picked it up and said, "Hey, why not? If it sucks, I can at least laugh at it!" the word sucks will not be used anymore in this review, just to clarify. Anyway, I slapped it into the DVD player, and clicked play. While the Studio Ghibli logo was running, I looked at the back and saw "One of the greatest animated films ever made."- John Lasseter. This made me even more curious. Anyway, I watched the film, and it all went so fast. When it finished, I was left drooling for more. This is my response every time I watch this film. I feel as though its a film everyone should watch. Miyazaki's magnum opus, in my personal opinion.
Easily gets a 10/10. One of my favourite movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AriseAndBeAug 7, 2015
One of my favourite things about this movie is the amazing amount of character development that Chihiro goes through as the story progresses. She really grows from this bratty kid to a confident and loving girl which not many films haveOne of my favourite things about this movie is the amazing amount of character development that Chihiro goes through as the story progresses. She really grows from this bratty kid to a confident and loving girl which not many films have accomplished. The visuals of course are stunning and the soundtrack ranks as one of the best out of all Ghibli's movies in my opinion. It is an almost perfect movie and it definitely deserved that Academy Award. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KiaraFNSJul 26, 2015
This movie was my very introduction to anime. Featuring an intricate and lovely plot, great characters and smooth drawing.
That aside, the movie can bring joy and fun to all ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DokaluJun 30, 2015
Ok, hands down to the best animated movie I have seen in my entire life. This is one of those real gems that is capable of taking you out of this world and transport you to a whole new reality, all through simple drawings. It is beautiful,Ok, hands down to the best animated movie I have seen in my entire life. This is one of those real gems that is capable of taking you out of this world and transport you to a whole new reality, all through simple drawings. It is beautiful, astonishing, very original, wonderful, imaginative, sweet, and a simple perfect masterpiece from one of the best filmmakers of our era. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Epik_NinnjaMay 25, 2015
Spirited Away is an imaginitve movie about a young girl who is separated from her parents and ends up in a mystical world that crosses over with her own. It's one of my favorite animated movies due to its memorable characters and interestingSpirited Away is an imaginitve movie about a young girl who is separated from her parents and ends up in a mystical world that crosses over with her own. It's one of my favorite animated movies due to its memorable characters and interesting story, with themes of loss and finding one's self. It's movies like this that make a Japanese movie producer famous over seas. This is a movie that adults can enjoy as well as kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 19, 2015
A masterpiece a monumental landmark for the fields of animation,

a screen gem, its an amazing tale about the triumph of the human spirit, beautifully well-paced, and perfectly written and carefully animated, its a rare power within the
A masterpiece a monumental landmark for the fields of animation,

a screen gem, its an amazing tale about the triumph of the human spirit, beautifully well-paced, and perfectly written and carefully animated, its a rare power within the screen that is resurrected with these amazing elements that leaves a beautiful feeling with the entire family, a film about courage against the odds through the eyes of a young girl spirited away into a bizarre fantasy world never imagined from the mind of animation pioneer Hayao Miyazaki

An animation that by the time you watch it you will never forget, wonderful work of art and genuinely valuable, I'm glad to have seen this film this one was so imaginative hilarious, suspenseful, and compelling, that I'm sure I will never forget and tend to watch it over and over again maybe one day I'll recommend it to my children.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
InspectorJApr 7, 2015
The most original film I have ever seen, 'Spirited Away' is a beautiful animation that truly delivers unique and memorable characters, a wondrous animation style and a plethora of themes that are still relevant to this day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
asjklasjklasMar 5, 2015
The cultural significance of Japanese animation has many, many historical gems within its filmography, however, Spirited Away has to be one of the finest of them all. Hayao Miyazaki has been one of animation’s most vital directors since theThe cultural significance of Japanese animation has many, many historical gems within its filmography, however, Spirited Away has to be one of the finest of them all. Hayao Miyazaki has been one of animation’s most vital directors since the late-‘70s and an example of his greatness rests in the heart, mind and spirit of this classic. The coming-of-age themes surrounding its protagonist’s character development, the dazzling animation, the imaginative designs of the spirits and landscapes, it’s a Holy sight nobody, child or elder or in between, should miss. It’s an inspiration from the first minute to its very last. And for once, I’d recommend it in English dubs or subs, as Walt Disney made an excellent attempt to match it with its Japanese counterpart almost entirely and the English voice actors are just as memorable as the original actors. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Arthur_S_PoeFeb 11, 2015
Chihiro was actually my first with Hayao Miyazaki, the great anime director that put us through so much joy with his works. Watching it at a very young age, I was certainly a little confused by the plot, not being to comprehend it fully, asChihiro was actually my first with Hayao Miyazaki, the great anime director that put us through so much joy with his works. Watching it at a very young age, I was certainly a little confused by the plot, not being to comprehend it fully, as it is quite symbolic and profound. But, after re-watching it several years later, I can only say that this certainly is Miyazaki's best work.

It offers everything - a brilliant story, that precise Miyazaki-specific animation we all love, a profoundly magical atmosphere, meaningful symbolism and a an unforgettable experience that will draw you into a magical world where you can enjoy the full potential of human imagination. Miyazaki truly is a master and 'Spirited Away' truly is a master-piece in every aspect.

The topics it analyzes through it's symbolism are practically endless and you can find a series of interesting topics for you to analyze and debate. There is nothing you can actually complain about this magical world, an innocent adventure that defies boundaries in such a manner that could only be narrated through the story of a child. As it is the case with almost all of Miyazaki's characters, they are exceptionally likable and you will certainly grow fond of them as you watch the movie.

To conclude, 'Spirited Away' is sure to amaze you in every aspect and it is certainly a movie that will both bring out that specific nostalgia and make you want to watch it again and again.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bmaster4616Jan 17, 2015
Best animation movie of all time. It shows Hayao's fantastic art direction, storytelling, characters, etc. Nothing can stand in front of it and nothing can hold up to these standards. Masterpiece of brilliant intelligence.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
andrebarrosoJan 3, 2015
The first time I watched Hayao Miyazaki's "Spirited Away", I was 4. I admit that I hated it completely. Couldn't sleep for weeks, and I promised myself that I would never watch an anime ever again. I fulfilled that promise for 11 years, untilThe first time I watched Hayao Miyazaki's "Spirited Away", I was 4. I admit that I hated it completely. Couldn't sleep for weeks, and I promised myself that I would never watch an anime ever again. I fulfilled that promise for 11 years, until my friends convinced me to watch the movie again. It was a complete different experience.
With careful drawings and a marvelous screenplay, Miyazaki teaches us all kinds of social lessons. A movie that should not be ignored. Never.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Dec 23, 2014
I will give this anime credit for being visually stunning and deeply creative. But, visuals aside the plot is really bland and very bare. Lots of folklore references to keep the geeky entertained, lots of bright colors and weird creatures forI will give this anime credit for being visually stunning and deeply creative. But, visuals aside the plot is really bland and very bare. Lots of folklore references to keep the geeky entertained, lots of bright colors and weird creatures for the kiddies, and a simple enough story for the "mom and dads" to enjoy.

However, the movie is just to overpraised for what it is. A colorful simple folktale.

If it wasn't for the notoriety this movie has in the anime community, I might have been more lenient. But this movie is clearly riding on Studio Ghibli's reputation and doing everything it can to look and act the part. Which is a shame as it clearly could have been allot more if released from Ghibli's formulaic storytelling.

Overall:
Spirited Away is still charming and fun to watch. But don't expect some marvel in storytelling. Just expect a Studio Ghibli film. In that regard it succeeds in every category.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NerdConsultantDec 12, 2014
this film is a masterpiece and should be on every list of films to see before you die. the animation is gorgeous, the voice actors do an amazing job and the plot is both original, heartfelt and epic. if miyazaki hadn't received the oscar itthis film is a masterpiece and should be on every list of films to see before you die. the animation is gorgeous, the voice actors do an amazing job and the plot is both original, heartfelt and epic. if miyazaki hadn't received the oscar it would have been a travesty and it was this film that made him my favourite director Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OpinionatedGuyDec 3, 2014
Confession time: I have never seen a Studio Ghibli movie until last week. That first Studio Ghibil movie is the one that made them famous. You guess it right, it’s Spirited Away.

The hype surrounding Spirited Away does not disappoint me.
Confession time: I have never seen a Studio Ghibli movie until last week. That first Studio Ghibil movie is the one that made them famous. You guess it right, it’s Spirited Away.

The hype surrounding Spirited Away does not disappoint me. It’s no wonder why most people love it so much. This is the best animated movie I have ever seen since The Lion King.

The animation style in this movie is so beautiful to watch. This is the beauty of 2D animation that 3D animation cannot capture.

I watched this movie on English dub but I liked how the dubbed voices do not irritate me. The voice actors did a good job dubbing the characters that I believe them as Japanese people speaking English. It does not feel dubbed at all to be honest. I liked how their voices did not go out of sync of the characters speaking.

The plot was great from start to finish. I liked how Chihiro/Sen is used as an audience surrogate as I am confused and curious just like her.

The feel of this movie gave me the Alice in Wonderland vibes, which it’s the best part of the entire movie for me.

The direction from Hayao Miyazaki is brilliant in this movie. He cares about even the littlest of details in this movie. He put all of his huge effort into directing this movie. It’s no wonder why so many people praise him so much.

Spirited Away is the best animation movie since The Lion King thanks to its beautiful animation style, a great plot, a nice Alice in Wonderland vibes and the direction from Hayao Miyazaki.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Ali_MarashianNov 20, 2014
a gripping Alice in Wonderland-like movie, Spirited away is by far Hayao Miyazaki's best masterpiece. the movie was so moving and deep that I couldn't stop my mind analysing it all day! about alienation,if Chihiro's name(as a symbol ofa gripping Alice in Wonderland-like movie, Spirited away is by far Hayao Miyazaki's best masterpiece. the movie was so moving and deep that I couldn't stop my mind analysing it all day! about alienation,if Chihiro's name(as a symbol of identity)slips her mind,she won't find the way home.and about Yubaba as a symbol of Capitalism and her twin sister Zeniba in front of her. and my favourite character No face as a symbol of life, which likes those who are not greedy and emotions are relations are more important to them. and a pure love between Chihiro and Hako. There are many other things to think about which are still mysterious and this is how the movie takes you.In my opinion, It's the best animation of all time. Some of you may find this complexity of the story irritating, But believe me, When you realise the purpose of the plot, you can't deny how strong and powerful Hayao Miyazaki is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
DalekOct 3, 2014
Spirited Away is great in terms of it's weird, imaginative characters, and somewhat confusing storyline but the voice acting (English dub) is just really cheesy, and bad.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
NitishSep 30, 2014
oh dear god, what the man has created..!! i feel high watching this more than i do feel when i smoke weed, it's magical..!! This movie is a whole new world of imagination and still so beautiful and simple ..!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mgweeksSep 23, 2014
In case I say anything negative, let me start with Amazing! I first saw this movie when my daughter was very young. I didn't buy it for her, I bought it for me! I disagree with anyone who thinks of it as just a movie for children. From theIn case I say anything negative, let me start with Amazing! I first saw this movie when my daughter was very young. I didn't buy it for her, I bought it for me! I disagree with anyone who thinks of it as just a movie for children. From the beginning, I could see my daughter in the character of Chihiro (Sen) so vividly that it tore me apart to feel her terror and confusion. Then to see her coming to terms with her new environment and struggle to regain her identity gave me a sense of pride. I see all this in my daughter as she has grown up and learned to deal with life. I finally let her see the movie and it's one of her favorites as well. I agree with those who talk about how real the characters are and how the emotions and story line are portrayed in such a beautiful fashion. I think this movie is anything but predictable. Perhaps those who don't understand it may be too used to simplistic modern movie fare where everything is handed to you on a platter. Spirited Away can be approached on many levels which, to me, just made it all the more interesting and enjoyable. I'd have to say it is definitely one of my favorite movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AnnatarYoungSep 11, 2014
A truly beautiful piece of cinema. This film should appeal to people beyond the realms of those who are already a fan of Japanese animation and easily stands alone as a fantastic animated children's film, complete with a beautiful score, aA truly beautiful piece of cinema. This film should appeal to people beyond the realms of those who are already a fan of Japanese animation and easily stands alone as a fantastic animated children's film, complete with a beautiful score, a touching story, a fantastically avant garde artistic direction, a rather obscure look in to Japanese folklore and culture and many strong moral undertones throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
f3l1p3Sep 9, 2014
A Viagem de Chihiro é espetacular. O filme é incrível, o enredo e a história são impecáveis, tem algumas coisas bizarras, o que torna o filme um pouco engraçado, e ainda há valor nesse filme. Uma essência do filme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mr_RoseAug 15, 2014
The magical, mysterious atmosphere as well as the wonderfully, thoroughly genius plot makes this animation movie a masterpiece not only beyond animation or anime movies, but the movie industry in general. Miyazaki created an undisputedThe magical, mysterious atmosphere as well as the wonderfully, thoroughly genius plot makes this animation movie a masterpiece not only beyond animation or anime movies, but the movie industry in general. Miyazaki created an undisputed masterpiece that will not lose its magic and beauty any time soon. It will always be my Number 1 favorite movie of all times. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gus_jahnAug 5, 2014
Simply magical. This has to be one of the most enchanting and nostalgic movies ever made. Spirited away submerges you on a journey which fills you with awe. The journey is filled with wise quotes and characters that you care about. The musicSimply magical. This has to be one of the most enchanting and nostalgic movies ever made. Spirited away submerges you on a journey which fills you with awe. The journey is filled with wise quotes and characters that you care about. The music was fantastic, the animation was superb, the story line, out of this world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YewSpell8314Jun 26, 2014
"Spirited Away" is simply the greatest animated film my eyes have ever laid on. It flawlessly blends comedy, mystery, fantasy and drama into something unbelievably good and satisfactory. Although it is considered a family film, I love the"Spirited Away" is simply the greatest animated film my eyes have ever laid on. It flawlessly blends comedy, mystery, fantasy and drama into something unbelievably good and satisfactory. Although it is considered a family film, I love the moments of bitter-sweetness and melancholy writer/director Hayao Miyazaki has put into his masterpiece. And the amount of creativity in "Spirited Away" can not be put into words. A flawlessly executed film it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieReviewsJun 19, 2014
Spirited Away is just magical. In this magic fest, we fallow the story of Shihiro, a typical nagging 9 year old or so on her move to a new house, while her dad takes a wrong turn and end up lost in an abandoned amusement park, it is all up toSpirited Away is just magical. In this magic fest, we fallow the story of Shihiro, a typical nagging 9 year old or so on her move to a new house, while her dad takes a wrong turn and end up lost in an abandoned amusement park, it is all up to Shihiro to save her family and get out after being sucked into a word where monsters live in a bathing house. If it wasn't for Coraline (2009), this would've been my favorite movie of all time. The movie is most obviously masterfully crafted, it is filled with magical color scheme, powerful characters and just overall this is one of the most strongest/epic/magical and unforgettable movies ever made, I just love this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheHonestJackMay 23, 2014
MIYAZAKI IS AN ANIMATION GOD. Spirited away gets an 11/10. Best animated film I've ever seen in my entire life, and if you haven't seen it, you have not lived.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Munck96May 12, 2014
I remember seeing this movie as only a kid. It had been around for an enough amount of time for it to be broad-casted on TV, and I remember thinking that this movie was just something I dreamed about.
This film is absolutely one of the best
I remember seeing this movie as only a kid. It had been around for an enough amount of time for it to be broad-casted on TV, and I remember thinking that this movie was just something I dreamed about.
This film is absolutely one of the best I have ever seen. It is a misconception to just call this a film or a movie, this is an actual work of art performed by Hayao Miyazaki. Without a doubt, I will recommend this film to anyone at any age. An easy 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Zeus99Apr 24, 2014
Magical, creative, fantastical, I just cannot imagine why or how you could dislike this film....It was good when i was a child and it remains my favorite movie as an adult
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NAQURATORApr 2, 2014
A must watch for every age, every country and every race, everyone should have seen this movie, it's llike no other. Ghibli made a monumental piece of art here. I remember watching this as a kid and being blown away, if you have kids, showA must watch for every age, every country and every race, everyone should have seen this movie, it's llike no other. Ghibli made a monumental piece of art here. I remember watching this as a kid and being blown away, if you have kids, show them this movie!!!!! and as an adult I could watch it a million more times, really fantastic! full of emotions, fantasy warmth and mystery this is probably the best drawn movie I'll ever see. Time and time again it takes me to another world, romantic/art at it's best, total loss of reality for 2 hours. I could go on forever, but really just watch it your self, even if you're 99 years old it won't dissapoin you!!!

Just my opinion
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JudgeMathewMar 20, 2014
There's no better way to explain this...the film Spirited Away is absolutely amazing. Being a huge fan of Studio Ghibli, it doesn't mean that their films are perfect. Spirited Away captures your attention and will keep you glued to yourThere's no better way to explain this...the film Spirited Away is absolutely amazing. Being a huge fan of Studio Ghibli, it doesn't mean that their films are perfect. Spirited Away captures your attention and will keep you glued to your screen for the entirety of the session. The characters and story are some of the best I've ever seen. May be a bit scary for young children under five, though definitely great for the whole family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Divine_UchihaMar 17, 2014
My personal favorite film by Miyazaki and probably one of the greatest animated films of all time. The animation is beautiful as well as the storytelling and even the style of the film continues to captivate me even to this very day. I wouldMy personal favorite film by Miyazaki and probably one of the greatest animated films of all time. The animation is beautiful as well as the storytelling and even the style of the film continues to captivate me even to this very day. I would recommend this film to anyone who lives animation, anime, or just great films in general. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
steveexplodesJan 12, 2014
Unbelievable. This movie left me in an infatuated daze a week after viewing it. Great characters, great story, AMAZING designs, and, in my opinion, the best animation I've ever seen. The great thing about it is that it is so good at showingUnbelievable. This movie left me in an infatuated daze a week after viewing it. Great characters, great story, AMAZING designs, and, in my opinion, the best animation I've ever seen. The great thing about it is that it is so good at showing little vignette-like moments that pace unbelievably well. Aside from one little nitpick that is dwarfed by the rest of the movie, this is my favorite film of all time. The only negative is that it has made every movie after it a slight disappointment. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JwvJan 9, 2014
For starters, and because the movie is originally Japanese, I have to speak of my admiration for the work of the voice acting department who did a great job in translating the movie for English audiences. I applaud in particular the work ofFor starters, and because the movie is originally Japanese, I have to speak of my admiration for the work of the voice acting department who did a great job in translating the movie for English audiences. I applaud in particular the work of Daveigh Chase who lends her voice to Sin, and performs very convincingly.

The animations in Spirited Away are probably the best I have ever seen. They are simple yet beautiful, and the creators have a real knack for detail. They succeed in making Sin feel very believable and lifelike in her actions as a teen girl.

The world Spirited Away presents is weird, and even after sitting through the whole movie, more questions will remain a mystery than answered. Although this can be seen as a deficiency, I see it as a pro. The world is so magically beautiful and unknown that, having answered no questions, it will stick in your head a long time after watching keeping you wondering.

The story doesn't amount as much to the magnificence of this movie as the animations and fantastical world do, and is a mere classical child narrative. The protagonist heroine gets in trouble because of a mistake, is brought into a prickly situation by an evil character, but the resilience of the good-natured heroine and some good-natured helpers win out over evil. The story is not bad, considering Spirited Away has a child audience, and even add enough nuance in its characters to make them more interesting than black-and-white stereotypes.

The use of the theme of love and it's effect on the story is cliché here and will not surprise anyone in any way, but is not mellow and its subtle enough to be enjoyed by an older audience.

Spirited Away is a top-notch movie for children and can equally be enjoyed by an older audience. It successfully connects with a dual audience and should be applauded for that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Iky009Jan 2, 2014
O mundo de Chihiro fantásticamente fabuloso, com seus seres exóticas, uma história fascinante e uma trilha sonora de arrancar suspiros, um dos melhores de Miyazaki.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moonman1994Nov 20, 2013
Beautifully drawn and beautifully scored. Spirited Away is intriguing and innovative and can definitely stand strong not only in the animated film genre but against all films in general. It's plainly a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
metacritiqNov 18, 2013
I loved it. Very dreamy, beautiful scenes, some heavy themes. I'm not sure what age the target audience is, but I could easily see children and adults both loving it for different reasons, or maybe the same reasons. Worth a watch, goodI loved it. Very dreamy, beautiful scenes, some heavy themes. I'm not sure what age the target audience is, but I could easily see children and adults both loving it for different reasons, or maybe the same reasons. Worth a watch, good movie to put on just before bed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewGuyXOct 12, 2013
LouisH's review sucked. You didn't understand the movie because you are too close-minded to open yourself to any new ideas.

Spirited Away is definitely one of the most commanding pieces of animation I have ever seen. It carefully portrays
LouisH's review sucked. You didn't understand the movie because you are too close-minded to open yourself to any new ideas.

Spirited Away is definitely one of the most commanding pieces of animation I have ever seen. It carefully portrays the transition of Chihiro's maturity through a sequence of dire events and occasions that make this movie enchanting and rather dark too.

I remember this movie was screened to one of my disinterested Japanese classes. Obviously, reception was great because they would of rather watched some dodgy teen movie. What a bunch of LouisH's...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eggOct 3, 2013
This is one of the very best movies I have ever seen. No exaggeration. I won't lie, I can see why people wouldn't like it. I can see how it would completely go over some people's heads, but this is a movie which you don't need to keep up on.This is one of the very best movies I have ever seen. No exaggeration. I won't lie, I can see why people wouldn't like it. I can see how it would completely go over some people's heads, but this is a movie which you don't need to keep up on. You can simply sit back and let it happen. But, it can also make you think about it too. There are numerous ways which you could watch this film. The story depth is fantastic. It delivers a complex plot which can sometimes be hard to keep up on, while still delivering a clear simple message whenever you watch it. The art and the animation is just stunning. There are too many ways to describe this movie. Yes. The hype is true. Watch it and find out for yourself. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
lordpainSep 12, 2013
At first I was skeptical about watching a movie with a 10 year old girl as the protagonist, but I'm glad I did watch it, it was truly a great movie...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hardkor33Jul 23, 2013
An easy 10/10. Spirited Away is not only my favorite anitmated/anime movie, but is one of my favorite movies of all time. A work of art and simply a masterpiece that makes me smile and happy everytime I watch it. Everything is beautiful aboutAn easy 10/10. Spirited Away is not only my favorite anitmated/anime movie, but is one of my favorite movies of all time. A work of art and simply a masterpiece that makes me smile and happy everytime I watch it. Everything is beautiful about this movie, from the story, to the music, rightdown to the artwork itself. I mean the attention to detail in this movie is quite amazing. Thanks to the wonderful and brilliant mind of Hayao Miyazaki, this beautiful art work of a film will forever hold a special place in my heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews