Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 2004
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 514 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
347
Mixed:
78
Negative:
89
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
FilipeMOct 19, 2009
Actually, it's a 6.5! Totally overrated by critics, if I'd seen the movie without reading the reviews, I'd give it a 8, but I got very disappointed for a 94 metarating. The type of movie that doesn't have funny jokes, but Actually, it's a 6.5! Totally overrated by critics, if I'd seen the movie without reading the reviews, I'd give it a 8, but I got very disappointed for a 94 metarating. The type of movie that doesn't have funny jokes, but funny storylines. If you want to watch because you're depressed, you'll just get bored to hell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TrinimanNov 20, 2004
Sideways is receiving a lot of critical praise and it is one of the better films of the year, so far. Two friends head out to California's wine country, to spend a week together before one of, Jack, gets married. Jack is a former TV Sideways is receiving a lot of critical praise and it is one of the better films of the year, so far. Two friends head out to California's wine country, to spend a week together before one of, Jack, gets married. Jack is a former TV actor, still handsome in his forties, but now relegated to voice overs. He's intellectually lacking but also charming and fun in an immature, carefree way. Miles is a divorced English teacher who is obviously full of hang-ups, not the least of which relate to his divorce. He is a wine connoisseur and becomes even more driven to drink, when, on the trip, he discovers that his ex-wife remarried and will be bringing her new husband to the wedding. Jack's main mission for the week, though, is to get laid before he gets hitched. Along the way, they meet two ladies who appear to fit the bill for each of them. Stephanie (Sandra Oh) is a wild and free spirit, like Jack, while Maya (Virgina Madsen) is more laid back and happens to be another wine connoisseur. Madsen's character is also an intellectual like Miles and the two have an obvious but somewhat tentative attraction to each other. The camera loves Virginia Madsen. Seeing her through Miles' eyes, you can't help but be intrigued and captivated by her. In one scene, they both explain their attraction for some specific wine and through her explanation, she cleverly reveals how she's attracted to Miles. You can pretty much guess who the awkward Miles responds. What makes this film work is the realistic tension exhibited by Miles. He's tired of his job and is a hoping to be picked up by a publisher as a first time author. Paul Giamatti's performance is never dull because we can relate to his bruised self- esteem and he doesn't conveniently end up in unrealistic happy situations. The scenery in the valley was attractive enough to have some of the audience comment on how they would like to go there on a wine-tasting tour. This is another film where you're not positive what will happen next but you watch because the film stays within realistic parameters. There's nothing outrageously far-fetched about it, save for the wallet retrieval scene, which is really funny. Sideways isn't as funny as the trailers tried to suggest but it brings up bittersweet emotions without gratuitous "crutches" that most films rely on, in the absence of a quality script or direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GeorgeSNov 17, 2005
The only question I have for the esteemed critics is this... Where is the list for the most overhyped movies of all time? cause I think this would be somewhere around the top 20 or so. It has everything in it to appeal to VERY particular The only question I have for the esteemed critics is this... Where is the list for the most overhyped movies of all time? cause I think this would be somewhere around the top 20 or so. It has everything in it to appeal to VERY particular people the whole movie seems like it is designed with the movie critic in mind NOT the consumer. So of course you find the movie legendary they deliberately placed anything and everything that appeals to critics in it. Meanwhile I never fall asleep during movies and fell asleep around the last twenty minutes it just couldnt hold my interest It does have some very funny events but its not a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMNov 19, 2005
It's hard to believe that films such as Sideways exist: films that make the viewer laugh and cry, be shocked and be out of breath, and make them horrified and simultaneously unable to control their laughter. It's a film that takes It's hard to believe that films such as Sideways exist: films that make the viewer laugh and cry, be shocked and be out of breath, and make them horrified and simultaneously unable to control their laughter. It's a film that takes the viewer in for two hours and drains them of energy as the events that befall the characters become increasingly unpredictable, severe, and often hilarious. Sideways is a film that should be seen by everyone. Regardless of the fact that it was made merely a year ago, it is one of the greatest films ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RileyB.Oct 19, 2005
The problem with 'Sideways' is not the acting, story, direction, or production. But it's all the positive reviews that it's getting. Traditionally, when a movie gets a great review - regardless of the topic - John Q runs The problem with 'Sideways' is not the acting, story, direction, or production. But it's all the positive reviews that it's getting. Traditionally, when a movie gets a great review - regardless of the topic - John Q runs out to see it. Then John Q hates it because it (the film), even though it was great, was not his sort of movie. Feeling let down by the critics - and having wasting so much money - John Q rips the movie to shreds in his own mind, badmouthing it whenever he gets the chance. This happened to 'Sideways'. I have many friends who went out saw, rented, or bought this movie - based on Metacritic and other review sites. They aren't exactly ones to sit through a movie like this, and I told them that. But no, they didn't want to read up on the plot or anything else about the movie. They went and watched it, and hated it. Now they rant about how "ghey" it was. I saw this film and loved it. Why? Because I like movies like this. This was a grade 'A' film with a great story. What I'm trying to say is read up on a movie before you see it, if you've never sat through a movie like this before - just because it gets good reviews doesn't mean you can sit through this one. It a matter of education, that's the only reason this movie has a 6:9 (+/-) ratio with critics to readers. A matter of education. Oh, and Richards - hate to bother you and all but I'm not a natural borne "American" nor do I follow "American" humor (I despise films like 'Eurotrip', childish s...). But, I loved this film. So go ahead and ostracize me from your chic-Euro-click. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipJ.Dec 11, 2005
Original and entertaining, i can't see why people give this film below 6.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickK.Dec 12, 2005
I really dont know why the critics rated this film so highly, unless they were voting for the most boring film of the year. Its a likeable enough story but I found it extremely dull, the characters are all bland and there isnt any excitement I really dont know why the critics rated this film so highly, unless they were voting for the most boring film of the year. Its a likeable enough story but I found it extremely dull, the characters are all bland and there isnt any excitement or anything challenging throughout the whole film. In my opinion the film could be summed up as Bloke visits vineyards and drinks wine ad nauseum, he must have had the most boring stag do ever! I bought this film on DVD based on its reviews and think it was a waste of money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
katieh.Dec 12, 2005
This is not a movie that I could sit through in one shot. I had to stop, and come back to it. To be fair, though, there are several quotable moments and humourous scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
I give it 2 stars because cast did a ok job.but movie overall sucked.going to work is more fun then this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BlisterfishCafeSep 14, 2005
Can't say enough bad things about this film. The only reason I gave it a "1" is because I love wine. Paul Giamatti sucks...Thank you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesE.Oct 12, 2006
Fantastic. Alexander Payne is one of the best filmmakers alive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LanceB.Dec 16, 2006
This movie reminded me of a really bad Seinfeld episode, and that's not a rip on Seinfeld but there were some bad Seinfeld episodes and this was like a 2 hr version of one of those.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AndrewC.Apr 12, 2006
Quite possibly the most overrated film in hte last 10 years. Crap. THe main character was nothing short of annoyingly depressed and BORING. THe entire movie is him taking pity upon himself and crying over his failures in life. I'm Quite possibly the most overrated film in hte last 10 years. Crap. THe main character was nothing short of annoyingly depressed and BORING. THe entire movie is him taking pity upon himself and crying over his failures in life. I'm giving it a generous 3 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GracePApr 17, 2006
Contrary to all the good reviews being written about this movie,it is utter crap...I had such high expectations,but watching the movie was sheer torture.There is nothing great about this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DanielF.Apr 21, 2006
Overrated. Metacritic has this movie up there with the Godfather Dr.Strangelove and Pulp Fiction which all deserve their spots. Now I like those movies and i'm pretty open minded. Hey I liked Lost in Translation just because it made me Overrated. Metacritic has this movie up there with the Godfather Dr.Strangelove and Pulp Fiction which all deserve their spots. Now I like those movies and i'm pretty open minded. Hey I liked Lost in Translation just because it made me cry. This movie is not horrible just overrated. Sorta reminds me of fargo with out the charm and murder. Well anyway don't expect a spectacular movie and you won't be disapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
IanM.May 15, 2006
Very good movie...but not great. Users giving this film low scores are probably only impressed by cutting edge special effects or a constant stream of pyrotechnics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricG.Aug 27, 2006
This movie brings out the emotion of the everyman. The ups and the downs of life crashing and rising one day to the next.To understand this movie would take nothing more than knowing the compassion of mankind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenW.May 23, 2007
Its totally unfair to complain about this movie. I loved it!!!!! it was just so great all the way through. Im only 16 so i dont know if that has anything tgo do with it but its really fantastic
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PlanRJun 25, 2008
I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it so i didnt really know what to expect... This is one great little movie. This is a buddy- road trip movie that works on many levels. Not that unlike Midnight Run (minus the action) or I didn't know much about this movie before seeing it so i didnt really know what to expect... This is one great little movie. This is a buddy- road trip movie that works on many levels. Not that unlike Midnight Run (minus the action) or Y Tu Mama Tambien (minus the subtitles). I've never understood the need to have likable characters in a movie like this, this isn't Spiderman. All the characters need to be is interesting, and these guys are nothing if not interesting. The humor here is mostly subtle but there are several laugh out loud moments. If you have any sort of attention span and can appereciate a well acted, smart, grown-up script, then this might become one of your favorite movies, it certainly is one of mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ShahpoorIApr 26, 2009
Expected a bit more out of the movie.. It was also a bit slow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
jasonpottsNov 18, 2004
I could only wish to have had bowel cramps during the scence in which Maya and Miles talk about wine. That would have given me an excuse to escape to the bathroom and not listen to two contrived, altogther obvious, and decidedly uneroticI could only wish to have had bowel cramps during the scence in which Maya and Miles talk about wine. That would have given me an excuse to escape to the bathroom and not listen to two contrived, altogther obvious, and decidedly unerotic rambles in which an extended metaphor is run into exhaustion. For the record, I thought _Election_ was terrific, but none of the sharpness of that movie is apparent here. And I'll spare you what I think of those of you who continue to try to review the reviewers on this site rather than the movie itself Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KristenR.Nov 14, 2005
I wouldn't say this is a bad movie, per say....just OVER-rated. To see it as number six on the all-time best movies is just ridiculous. "Sideways" has an interesting take on life for middle-aged men, yes, and it introduced thousands of I wouldn't say this is a bad movie, per say....just OVER-rated. To see it as number six on the all-time best movies is just ridiculous. "Sideways" has an interesting take on life for middle-aged men, yes, and it introduced thousands of people to Pinot Noir.....but is it a fabulous movie? No. I feel like this is one of those movies where it is just hip to like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeBDec 22, 2005
This is what movies should be: well-acted, well-directed, and with great pacing. Though not laugh-out-loud funny, it had subtle humor for the real thinker. Not the 'every man's movie,' but the best movies never are. Certainly This is what movies should be: well-acted, well-directed, and with great pacing. Though not laugh-out-loud funny, it had subtle humor for the real thinker. Not the 'every man's movie,' but the best movies never are. Certainly worthy of its reviews. An excellent character study. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
robuglyDec 28, 2005
I also don't understand why this movie rates so high. It is just a movie about a couple of guys going around drinking wine. The whole time I kept wondering what this movie was going to be about, then it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SpangleAug 19, 2016
A journey of discovery, Sideways is a slice of life film from Alexander Payne that does not quite reach the heights of his other works due to some iffy pacing at times, but is still funny, romantic, touching, and thoroughly depressing. PaulA journey of discovery, Sideways is a slice of life film from Alexander Payne that does not quite reach the heights of his other works due to some iffy pacing at times, but is still funny, romantic, touching, and thoroughly depressing. Paul Giammati and Thomas Haden Church are terrific in this wine-obsessed film that uses wine and literature as expertly hidden exposition as to who these two characters are. Truly brilliant writing on the part of Payne brings these men to life, along with all of their hidden motivations and baggage without a series of monologues to accomplish the same thing. As mentioned, however, the film does slack at times and can be slightly off-putting by focusing on some detestable main characters. Due to this, Sideways is held back a bit and not as good as Payne's other works. That said, nobody captures the true essence of his characters like Payne and Sideways is entirely character driven. Overall, it packs a lot of emotion and will really hit hard if you let it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
baldarovApr 9, 2015
This was a ridiculously boring movie that made me feel like I wasted 2 hours of my life. The supposedly "smart" comedy made me groan out loud as to how stupid it was. Everyone that I've talked to about it didn't care for it either. People sayThis was a ridiculously boring movie that made me feel like I wasted 2 hours of my life. The supposedly "smart" comedy made me groan out loud as to how stupid it was. Everyone that I've talked to about it didn't care for it either. People say its an age thing. I'm almost 40. It was a dreadfully boring movie and many people I know agree on this. To me, it came off as one of those dreadfully boring movies that people say they like so they can say they're smart and they "totally get it". It felt like some made-for-cable-TV artsy flick that came out in the 90's or something. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tim73034Apr 12, 2018
This is my favorite movie of all time.. Ive watched it about 75 times and ive just gotten started!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleJun 4, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The way I see Miles and Jack is as Sideways in their own lives. At a point where it's kind of a midlife crisis, but they're both at completely different relationship places, with an impending wedding and a semi-recent divorce. Their story is told in such a way that they both seem pretty screwed up. This is Payne's way – telling the most screwed-up story possible with it still being funny and he definitely succeeds once again this time around.

One of the most striking relationships to me was that of Miles and his mother. He only went to visit her to steal her money and she was more interested in his washed-out actor friend than her own son. Mutual disinterest? Anyway, Miles seems to use wine as a crutch in his friendships, his relationships, and he's so obsessed that this is the way Payne shows the humor. Jack's humorous side is the constant desire to ruin the real relationship in his life by multiple different affairs right before his wedding. They're screwed up and we all know it. Miles's "relationship" with Maya is so odd because neither of them is straightforward to talk about anything other than wine, yet they both want it. This transpires throughout.
Miles is so into his wine, that we kind of see this parallel between life and wine (or Pinot) because there is a peak, a certain complexity to each bottle, and an eventual decline. It reminds me of Miles's life, but everyone else's as well. There's really only one thing that Miles wants other than Pinot. That's to get published. But it ends up that it doesn't work out and "The world doesn't give a **** what I have to say. I'm unnecessary." Same. And what else should we expect with Alexander Payne – everything that can go wrong will go wrong. Stephanie finds out about the wedding, Jack gets his face busted up, Miles has a mental breakdown. They're just trying to survive and get their consolation prizes. A wedding (built on lies) and a call from Maya, yet the ending is uncertain, just like the end of his book.

I think Sideways was impeccably executed, the cinematography was gaudy and accurate, and the characters were unique and intriguing. As always, intelligently funny & exactly my sense of humor.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 25, 2016
Some people don't know real comedy when they actually see one lying just right there on their faces. Don't get away with giving this a negative rating, users. I know this is actually the best comedy I've ever seen in 2004.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
night4Apr 5, 2016
If you need lots of action, you shouldn't watch this movie.

If you want to see a real, believable human story, then maybe you should. I imagine if you like "Better Call Saul", where each scene is simply bursting with non-verbal
If you need lots of action, you shouldn't watch this movie.

If you want to see a real, believable human story, then maybe you should. I imagine if you like "Better Call Saul", where each scene is simply bursting with non-verbal communication and subtext, you'll like this movie. Or vice versa.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ourtimehascomeJan 2, 2018
I've never seen so many fake positive reviews for a film. Sidways tries to be a comedy, but actually has more in common with a stale drama, but fails on both counts. Giamatti gives an interesting performance, but his depression is boring.I've never seen so many fake positive reviews for a film. Sidways tries to be a comedy, but actually has more in common with a stale drama, but fails on both counts. Giamatti gives an interesting performance, but his depression is boring. Nothing happens in the film. He doesn't change or undergo some sort of transformation. The irony is his character is a failed writer. But even as a novel this story would fall on its back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeJun 15, 2018
a free spirit trip that walks miles rather than flying..

Sideways The premise walks on familiar path and offers the same rudimentary process that is created by the usual structure that such genre consists, and it still finds a way to stand
a free spirit trip that walks miles rather than flying..

Sideways

The premise walks on familiar path and offers the same rudimentary process that is created by the usual structure that such genre consists, and it still finds a way to stand alone in its self-created journey and the primary reason to that would be the chemistry among the cast which is stronger, meaningful and not charming or cheesy. The adaptive screenplay is smarter and keeps the audience engaged not because of its grip on the characters but the constant concrete material it offers. Alexander Payne; the screenwriter and director, has done a tremendous work on executing the anticipated vision on screen where he speaks more volume that any other with an amazing camera work; it is shot beautifully. Paul Giamatti is convincing in his lead role and is supported decently by his on screen partner Thomas Haden Church. It is short on technical aspects like background score and sound department, although is edited perfectly. The minor crisis in here would be the build-up of high pitched dramatic scenes which could have been given more importance to create much greater impact. Sideways is a free spirit trip that walks miles rather than flying with the help of its pragmatic characters that keeps it grounded.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews