Netflix | Release Date: November 21, 2018
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 649 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
526
Mixed:
55
Negative:
68
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
pomattovichNov 21, 2018
The best film I've seen this year, last year, probably the year before that, and probably next year too. The kind of masterpiece most auteur filmmakers have seemingly forgot how to make these days. Incredibly powerful and dramatic. NostalgicThe best film I've seen this year, last year, probably the year before that, and probably next year too. The kind of masterpiece most auteur filmmakers have seemingly forgot how to make these days. Incredibly powerful and dramatic. Nostalgic without being overly sentimental. Just as stunning on a technical level as Gravity was, without being nearly as showy. Simply flawless. Expand
22 of 37 users found this helpful2215
All this user's reviews
10
Film_ChaseFeb 25, 2019
Roma Review
By Chase M
Not only is Roma (2018) Alfonso Cuarnó’s most personal work, it’s also his best. The film grabs you from the first frame, and doesn’t let you go until the end of its 2:15 run time. Cuarón’s mastery of the camera is
Roma Review
By Chase M
Not only is Roma (2018) Alfonso Cuarnó’s most personal work, it’s also his best. The film grabs you from the first frame, and doesn’t let you go until the end of its 2:15 run time. Cuarón’s mastery of the camera is evident in scene. Every shot contains so much painstaking detail; you can’t help but feel the passion and commitment that went into this project. Roma, is the story of Cleo who works as a maid for a middle class family in the 1970s. The film documents a year in her life.
Before I discuss anything else, let me heap more praise onto what Cuarón did. To take these childhood experiences, and recreate them in such a loving way is something truly special. The writing in this film is simple yet moving. The film really made me care about, and connect with the character of Cleo. Cuarón’s cinematography is something to marvel at as well. Each shot is beautifully presented, and the lighting is top notch all the way through. I could go on about how great the camera work is, but I won’t. Just know it’s something special and go experience it.
The performances are all strong. Particularly those of Cleo and Sofía, played by Yalitza Aparicio and Marina de Tavira. Both embody the strong female figures that become the focus of the film. Aparicio as a first time actress is particularly impressive, she delivers a powerful performance full of emotion. The acting nominations for these two, were well deserved.
Roma is a masterpiece. It is the culmination of all the work Alfonso Cuarón has put in throughout his career. I was skeptical going in (mostly due to the fact that it’s a Netflix movie) but I loved every second of it. This movie is a victory for foreign film makers everywhere. It’s a shame the Academy didn't pick Roma as ‘best picture’, because it deserved it more than any of the other nominees. Regardless, Roma is exceptional in every sense of the word and deserves to be experienced by anyone who appreciates the art of cinema. 10/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZumbacinoApr 5, 2019
Alfonso Cuarón created a cinema masterpiece with Roma. Beautifully directed, excellent performances and cinematography. Cuarón balances nostalgia and sentiment just right without things getting overbearing but still gripping you. It’s aAlfonso Cuarón created a cinema masterpiece with Roma. Beautifully directed, excellent performances and cinematography. Cuarón balances nostalgia and sentiment just right without things getting overbearing but still gripping you. It’s a shame not more movies like this reach cinemas. In a world saturated by superhero movies and kid stuff one can only reminisce the good old times when cinema was truly in the hands of daring filmmakers with a vision. What does it say of our current movie going culture that everything is, so dumbed down? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
KeithDowDec 27, 2018
There are a few undeniable things about 'Roma.' It's amongst the most gorgeously shot black and white films on record, which is all the more impressive considering Alfonso Cuarón serves as the film's writer, director, AND cinematographer.There are a few undeniable things about 'Roma.' It's amongst the most gorgeously shot black and white films on record, which is all the more impressive considering Alfonso Cuarón serves as the film's writer, director, AND cinematographer. There's also no distinguishing between fiction and reality. In particular, the actors in the movie make this slice-of-life film feel like it's a biography. And finally, if 'Roma' indeed goes on to win the Oscar for Best Picture--right now it's certainly a contender--it'll eventually be saddled with the reputation of being undeserving of the honor, much like 'Crash' or 'Shakespeare In Love.'

The bottom line is that no matter how vividly shot a picture may be (*cough cough* Terrence Malick), without an engaging plot, everything else is just cinematic masturbation. Lastly, a point of privilege: one reviewer fawned over Alfonso Cuarón's camerawork, setting expectations rather high. However, while a number of sequences are indeed wonderfully shot, basic left-to-right or right-to-left pans aren't exactly innovative. For comparison, watch 'Shoplifters' while paying special attention to camera placement and movement. It's nothing short of extraordinary and likely the best camera work of any film this year.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
everettDec 16, 2018
I'm amazed that few, if any, critics have been talking about the great divide in this beautiful, poignant film: The disparity between men and women. It is a tribute to women - Cleo, the protagonist, but also all who prominently appear: TheI'm amazed that few, if any, critics have been talking about the great divide in this beautiful, poignant film: The disparity between men and women. It is a tribute to women - Cleo, the protagonist, but also all who prominently appear: The other housekeeper, Adela, as well as the two patrician women in the household (though they are flawed, they are kind and loving overall), right down to the female obstetrician. On the other hand, we have the men who abandon them and their families; the shooters; the posers like Fermin who show off to a point that becomes downright ridiculous (you will remember that scene); the ones in military bands who march through the streets for no apparent reason at all ... and who of course are flying the planes that intersect the sky throughout. In the big martial arts demonstration in the field, who among them is able to execute the pose demonstrated by the teacher? The martial arts students are all falling over, while (did I see this wrong? The movie begs repeat viewings) isn't it Cleo, among the women on the sidelines watching all this, who pulls it off? Is there one likable male character here at all?

The ultimate message I got was that it is women who know how to love, while men are absorbed in themselves, to the point of disruption, and the most profound effect of this disparity is on the children. Women save and nurture while men work against them. The betrayed and abandoned wife says bluntly that women are always alone. Here, they are in one sense - that men disrespect them and/or fail to even stick around; but the women actually aren't alone. It's love that binds them to each other, and to the children who could not thrive without them. What an homage to the women who made Cuaron such a sensitive director, and an exception to his gender (as he sees it) in doing so.
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
ThatFilmGuy20Jan 7, 2019
Cuaron's Roma is undoubtedly one of the best realistic films throughout history, I say this because you'll find yourself lost in Roma, so immersed with how things are happening in a tedious way, much like life itself, that aspect of realismCuaron's Roma is undoubtedly one of the best realistic films throughout history, I say this because you'll find yourself lost in Roma, so immersed with how things are happening in a tedious way, much like life itself, that aspect of realism is fully captured by Cuaron as he presents us with an insight so vivid and so clear and raw you could swear that you're watching a real-life events happening in front of you, it gives you the chance to observe and asses and more importantly feel and relate to strong emotions from pain to love and in a manner that is very genuine, in all honesty, Roma is something really special, I can't start to describe how into it I was, I loved how Cuaron chose his camera angels, to provide the maximum presence, it just flows naturally, again at times it feels all too real, and that right there is near impossible to capture in such manner, it takes and lot to make something so simple.

The acting is spectacular, almost half the film we're presented with articulate shots that speaks volumes and doesn't need any dialogue to explain it, an also, Cuaron's attention to the background which is a story in and of itself.

What I'm trying to say here is Roma is as pure as they come, it's like an untouched part of nature so beautiful and so wild, it demands admiration, so ultimately, Roma is a fine piece of craft and an extremely rare gem, I absolutely, completely, utterly, fully enjoyed and loved this film, the power of film doesn't get stronger than this.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
CosiMOLOGOFeb 13, 2019
Con una trayectoria que abarca 9 películas (incluyendo a esta) el director mexicano marcó un estilo definido y reconocible, en la fotografía y edición. Trajo escenas majestuosas como el plano secuencia final en Niños de Hombre o la escenaCon una trayectoria que abarca 9 películas (incluyendo a esta) el director mexicano marcó un estilo definido y reconocible, en la fotografía y edición. Trajo escenas majestuosas como el plano secuencia final en Niños de Hombre o la escena inicial en Gravedad. Pero con esta consolida ese estilo implantado sus anteriores realizaciones.

Lavar los platos o limpiar el corredor de una casa se vuelve hermoso y se siente real. Planos generales y pausados, mostrando la influencia que tiene de Emmanuel Lubezki con un trabajo excelente en la profundidad de campo, van envolviéndonos en la cotidianidad de una empleada doméstica de una familia medio acomodada durante los 70. La estupenda fotografía de Cuarón y la edición convierte a la película en una recordatorio fiel y con el mismo impacto de un documental sobre esa época, trayendo una experiencia sensorial pocas veces vista en una película.

No solo la recreación de la época sorprende, sino el retrato que hace sobre el rol de la mujer en la familia a través de Cleo, recordando y tributando con esperanza y deseos de reflexión. Cuarón toma momentos de su vida para construir este relato contemplativo y pausado que llega a un punto de clímax pasando por escenas que hipnotizan por su complejidad y belleza. La actuación de Yalitza Aparicio cautiva desde el inicio, sin impostaciones ni sobre-actuación, mostrando una imagen honesta sobre su condición y además la soledad y miedo al desamparo. La nueva actriz a logrado conmover y mostrado su talento en esta película, que seguro sera recordada como lo mejor del cine latinoamericano moderno.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
QLA92Nov 21, 2018
Roma is an astonishingly beautiful film filled to the brim with emotionally devastating and uplifting moments. Yalitza Aparicio and Marina de Tavira deliver Oscar-worthy performances, however the star of this spectacle is director, writer,Roma is an astonishingly beautiful film filled to the brim with emotionally devastating and uplifting moments. Yalitza Aparicio and Marina de Tavira deliver Oscar-worthy performances, however the star of this spectacle is director, writer, editor and cinematographer Alfonso Cuaron. Expand
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
10
ag6889Nov 21, 2018
Sublime, engrossing work. If you can't see it in theaters, lose yourself to a dark room, two hours on your laptop and a great pair of headphones.
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
10
VincentNov 24, 2018
Simply the movie of the year. A new renaissance of emotional film-making. There is one unnecessary scene that threatens to ruin the beauty of the rest of the movie, but I can forgive it because the rest of the movie is that good. OutstandingSimply the movie of the year. A new renaissance of emotional film-making. There is one unnecessary scene that threatens to ruin the beauty of the rest of the movie, but I can forgive it because the rest of the movie is that good. Outstanding film!

Update: Post-Netflix, the theater experience is superior to the television experience sadly. The sound is flat where in the theater it was immersive and 3D (such as the laundry scene and the hill scene with the animals), and the size and scale of the set really is not given its full due on a television screen. I can understand why people who saw this on their television might not get the hype, but it is so much more transporting when the sound/screen is done right. Still a great movie, but it is sad to see and understand why people are not getting the hype/why people are so fascinated and impressed with this film.
Expand
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
10
BeastJ18Dec 3, 2018
One of the best films of the 21st century and DEFINITELY the best film of 2018. This is a level of masterpiece that doesn't come around often. It is beautifully, emotionally and dauntingly shot, one of the most daring film scripts of recentOne of the best films of the 21st century and DEFINITELY the best film of 2018. This is a level of masterpiece that doesn't come around often. It is beautifully, emotionally and dauntingly shot, one of the most daring film scripts of recent times, completed by excellent performances. The direction of Cuarón balances subtle emotion and powerful sentiment in a rarely perfect manner, for any art form. It deserves to take home the majority of major Oscars this year, in; Best Picture, Best Director, Best Lead Actress, Best Original Screenplay, Best Cinematography and many more. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
10
LamontRaymondDec 9, 2018
At this point, it's either #1 or #2 on my movie-of-the-year list. There were a couple of moments in this film when the woman sitting next to me looked over because I unconsciously let out gasps. Incredibly emotional and beautifully shot.At this point, it's either #1 or #2 on my movie-of-the-year list. There were a couple of moments in this film when the woman sitting next to me looked over because I unconsciously let out gasps. Incredibly emotional and beautifully shot. Yalitza Aparicio as Cleo is incredibly good in the role. The hospital sequence and the beach sequence were two of the best scenes committed to film in recent years. I knew going in it had to be good when Joe Morgenstern called it the best movie he's ever seen (though I was a bit skeptical of that for a time - felt like hyperbole), and it absolutely lived up to the hype. This is a film that demands that you see it on the big screen with other people around you. It's a human film that requires your not seeing it along. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
10
ALEXJARAMILLONov 26, 2018
Beautiful, touching. Amazing cinematography.
A very smooth plot that makes the movie look like a short film how good is it.
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
8
CMCDec 1, 2018
The good: Lack of Hollywood superficiality and trite conventions. This is a film not a movie. There are many situations and moments inserted that are a bit strange and memorable.
The unfortunate: There is almost no character development, and
The good: Lack of Hollywood superficiality and trite conventions. This is a film not a movie. There are many situations and moments inserted that are a bit strange and memorable.
The unfortunate: There is almost no character development, and no certainly no arc to the story. As the film advances the story of the wife becomes important, but she oddly is left as a peripheral character. You come away without any insight into the main character, she is almost always an onlooker with little revealed.
The bad: For a film shot in black and white, it was flat- no deep blacks, and an overly warm grey palette. The cinematography was usually wide angle, which means no close-ups of faces and eyes, contributing to the visual lack of character development. It felt like the Director had a check-list of scenes drawn from mostly Italian and Italian Neo-Realism films. So while the film did not seem superficial, the effort was in the end more of a style exercise than emotional storytelling. I give it an 8 because movies today are so dreadful. This film is worth watching and discussing, but does not rise to be considered a truly great film.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
8
hoobokenkenDec 3, 2018
Very well done cinematically. Beautiful story but not terribly original. Entirely subtitled and therefore I assume it will be a Foreign Language contestant at the Oscars and not Best Picture.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
9
sps179Nov 21, 2018
Intellectualise all you wish about the black and white, the nostalgia, the sentiment, the script, or whatever. I challenge you not to be moved by the human force of this movie. Ace production design, and Cuaron himself as cinematographerIntellectualise all you wish about the black and white, the nostalgia, the sentiment, the script, or whatever. I challenge you not to be moved by the human force of this movie. Ace production design, and Cuaron himself as cinematographer getting great shot after great shot, this is one of the movies of the century. Loved the opening sequence, which is simply the maid sluicing the ceramic tiles - with the totally Cuaron exception of a tiny airplane reflection in the gleaming water. He's put his best soul into this, and will never equal it. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
7
AndrewBurgeDec 21, 2018
Alfonso Cuarón was always great at mixing visual proficiency with human emotions, often presenting the world (or outer space, in "Gravity") in a lush, pristine manned and making it interact with its characters.

So, in comes 'Roma', his
Alfonso Cuarón was always great at mixing visual proficiency with human emotions, often presenting the world (or outer space, in "Gravity") in a lush, pristine manned and making it interact with its characters.

So, in comes 'Roma', his latest release. Its premise its simple. It focuses on a middle-class family in Mexico City during the early 1970's. Yet for all its bitter-sweet humanity, the film feels slightly disconnected by having the potential of nearly every single scene absorbed by this prism of technical and visual marvel. Sure, it looks good, the atmosphere is present, but this mask, as nice as it might be, its too thick and often the film feels like a family slideshow. Its beautiful, but you do not really want to sit through it.

Alright, maybe not that bad. There are many scenes containing true emotional weight. The one in which the chaos on the streets breaks free, but more than that, the scene in which Cleo (Yalitza Aparicio) gives birth to her firstborn. That scene is presented with a personal purity which could have been this film's mark to greatness. The camera stays fixated, there is a sense of suppressed emergency and for the first time in nearly two hours, I felt truly connected. Not soon enough though, the film goes back to its habits.

Fortunately, this still is one of the most beautiful films I have ever seen. The Mexican new-wave directors really have a gift for presentation and an unmatched skill of polish when it comes to cinematography and editing. I also feel like mentioning Aparicio, who is a first-time actress at this point. She managed to hold her own as the lonely, troubled but loving maid.

In the end, I believe 'Roma' is more of a personal vision and nostalgic release for Cuarón rather than a traditional film. All this production, art-decoration, cinematography and editing is stunning to behold, too bad its such a thick emotional filter.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticDec 22, 2018
Roma is undoubtedly one of the best looking movies of the year and does a remarkable job at conveying a message through long shots of the world going on around our main characters. The thing that holds me back is I never could become investedRoma is undoubtedly one of the best looking movies of the year and does a remarkable job at conveying a message through long shots of the world going on around our main characters. The thing that holds me back is I never could become invested in the lead character and towards the end when the emotional pull of the film hits I still felt somewhat hollow. Overall a high to middle 7 a B+. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ledaumasJan 27, 2019
At first, I felt like I was watching a home movie about non-interesting things happening in a family's life. But then you notice how everyone interacts with Cleo, and how in many ways Cleo is central to the family, yet she's ignored andAt first, I felt like I was watching a home movie about non-interesting things happening in a family's life. But then you notice how everyone interacts with Cleo, and how in many ways Cleo is central to the family, yet she's ignored and always in the background taking care of them. The audience realizes that Cleo takes care of the bigger day-to-day family life duties that both parents are neglecting. Cleo tries to have her own life, but it fails in the worst way. Cleo is afraid of losing her job, but receives comfort and understanding from the family without judgment instead. It is the final incident when the entire family realizes what Cleo is to them. That's when Cleo can finally admit to them what she's been truly feeling and that's what causes the family to grow together. I hope these independent movies continue to grow because I'm really tried of seeing studio films where it's just one physical fight after another using special effects. The true battles in life are what's within us, and movies can help teach us how to make lives better. In this case, appreciating the contributions of an indigenous woman, and no matter her station in life, how she helps the family in so many ways besides housework. The family give her a job and out of poverty, and she in turn gives back much more than that in emotional support and love. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
mefirstoyJan 28, 2019
It is not because I am Mexican. It is not because I am a filmmaker. But this film is a work of art. It's a reminder of Fellini, Ford Coppola, Tornatore, Wiene, Murnau, Fernández, Buñuel, Chaplin, Scorsese, Scott, Del Toro, Kubrick... AIt is not because I am Mexican. It is not because I am a filmmaker. But this film is a work of art. It's a reminder of Fellini, Ford Coppola, Tornatore, Wiene, Murnau, Fernández, Buñuel, Chaplin, Scorsese, Scott, Del Toro, Kubrick... A reminder of the true beauty of cinema. A reminder that life, tragedy, pain... can look and feel so beautiful on screen, and touch your heart in a more meaningful way than life can sometimes do. This is Cuarón at his best: master filmmaker. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
michimichNov 21, 2018
Wow. I understand that this film won't appeal to every single viewer's sensibilities, but I am just incredibly surprised/entertained at some of the commenters who seek to dilute this film to nothing more than a fluff piece about theWow. I understand that this film won't appeal to every single viewer's sensibilities, but I am just incredibly surprised/entertained at some of the commenters who seek to dilute this film to nothing more than a fluff piece about the importance of maids. If one were to do a simple google search (I know, imagine having the gall to do something so simple!), they would know that Roma is a district in D.F. and not some highbrow reference or attempt at being avant-garde. Based on the first user review here, it's almost like asking "how DARE a filmmaker give insight into a piece of history/their own past and how it factored into the greater societal conflicts of the time????" I suppose we should only tell stories of westernized families who mostly resemble our own, correct? Or even better, how about we simply disregard every history book and biographical novel who explains a worldview/experience different from our own! The fact that some reviewers have the audacity to call Cleo a "weak" character reveals a failure to understand the ever fluctuating nature of a family's dynamics. There is no inherent hierarchy in Roma's family, as the familial roles ebb and flow based on the unexpected internal and external situations the family find themselves in. Losing one family member often translates to the rest of the family taking on new or unfamiliar roles and responsibilities. The long-term identity of a family (and ultimately, the values and identities of its children) is based on the members who become solidified in that family over several years. It's not about who the family started out with, it's about the members who stayed and formed the foundation. I wasn't aware that a film seeking to express and reflect on the development of a child's memory (Cuaron's own) would be considered "high-brow." Expand
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
9
netflicDec 10, 2018
"Roma" is the latest movie by a famous Mexican director Alfonso Cuaron.

Cuaron is not only the director of this movie but also the writer and cinematographer. The movie is a recollection of Cuaron's childhood years so it is to some degree
"Roma" is the latest movie by a famous Mexican director Alfonso Cuaron.

Cuaron is not only the director of this movie but also the writer and cinematographer.

The movie is a recollection of Cuaron's childhood years so it is to some degree autobiographical.

The main character of the movie is a live-in made Cleo who lives with a family of four kids, in a big house in Roma, an affluent neighborhood in Mexico City.

The movie is long and very artsy, made with lots of taste and style.

It is deliberately slow in the beginning showing a slice of life
of a family in a big city. The story develops and becomes more and more dramatic without phony pathos or flashy Hollywood tricks.

Overall, it is an incredibly good film, definitely Oscar material.
Shot in black-and-white.
Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
9
amheretojudgeDec 14, 2018
To Practice For Perfection.

Roma Cuaron's jaunting stay is frankly too practical to handle. Mumbling the mundane lifestyle of a maid in a mellow vocab, Cuaron has made his best film to date. First thing's first, the notable and yes loud
To Practice For Perfection.

Roma

Cuaron's jaunting stay is frankly too practical to handle. Mumbling the mundane lifestyle of a maid in a mellow vocab, Cuaron has made his best film to date. First thing's first, the notable and yes loud cinematography of his is hauntingly beautiful. No one ever points out the facts that goes behind the camera on screen like such and even though it eerily resonates with Anderson's symmetric camera work, it is a testament of its own for he himself was never able to speak effervescently like such. Speaking of it, there barely resides a stable conversation in here, the bickerings, the murmurings, the gossip, every bit of narration is piled under such pragmatic state of environment. Cuaron speaks through body language and physical sequences, to a point where they themselves become a character.

The sequence of a car being parked is so absorbing to encounter it on screen, which then enfolds into another layer of perspective to its intention and then another and then another. Cuaron keeps giving you reason- nay- he challenges you to get disengaged from this humble imbalanced world. And the host that he has selected to narrate this saga is a pure delight on terms of character development. Surprisingly, to write such a character is a daunting task. For its persistency ought to be justified and he does it in here as a mere distraction; kudos to him.

Each time the protagonist is helping the younger ones or her employers, Cuaron subconsciously maps out another milestone in your mind. The stillness of a scene staged in a room puts you right there on the spot among the actors, where you have to work your way through to concentrate the gossip or sort out the primary activity in a frame. Amongst many steps that constructs this ingenious behemoth monument called drama, personally that speaks to you is the sort-of-training-camp where Cuaron speaks honestly of his theme without any strings attached.

The cast has done a fabulous work, from the lead Aparicio as a humble supporter of this family and Tavira as the real supporter of Aparicio, along with the young cast which may resemble to the younger cast of Malick's The Tree Of Life. But Cuaron's dish is not spiced up with plethora of ingredients like Malick's, his sweetness is competent enough to tick for its course. Cuaron's span spent upon screen is a mesmerizing poem weaved out to clean and scrub a house properly.

And boy what a poem it is, dipped into a metaphorical tone, it soars just like those planes hovering around in the background. For the most part of it, Cuaron keeps the frame under the shades, teasing us to seek for the action going on and similar to it the storytelling too feeds on our imagination that is at brisk all the time, especially the last act that scares you with the closure that you are trying to achieve. Roma narrows down cinema to a better quality, Cuaron makes sure it isn't compromised for any reason whatsoever, not even for him.
Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
10
avr50Dec 14, 2018
¿Porqué no hay cineastas como Cuarón trabajando actualmente en México? Roma es una belleza de película desde principio a fin. La mejor película del año porque hace lo que muy pocas películas hacen, mostrarnos la belleza y la tristeza del día¿Porqué no hay cineastas como Cuarón trabajando actualmente en México? Roma es una belleza de película desde principio a fin. La mejor película del año porque hace lo que muy pocas películas hacen, mostrarnos la belleza y la tristeza del día a día. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Dec 15, 2018
This admittedly simple and straightforward, yet beautifully shot film follows a year in the life of a middle-class Mexican family in the 1970s. Directed by Alfonso Cuaron (director of films such as Children of Men, Gravity, and even the thirdThis admittedly simple and straightforward, yet beautifully shot film follows a year in the life of a middle-class Mexican family in the 1970s. Directed by Alfonso Cuaron (director of films such as Children of Men, Gravity, and even the third Harry Potter film), the film has such a natural eye and attention to detail and aesthetics throughout, and the portrayal of this family simply trying to live the best life they possibly can is tender and emotionally impactful. Overall, it does have moments where not much is happening, but the gorgeous black and white cinematography captures so many beautiful shots and easily makes up for those moments, and the film's simple yet completely natural approach to an average everyday family just trying to get by little by little proves surprisingly compelling and emotionally investing for the most part. And despite this being a Netflix film, I wouldn't at all be surprised if this film ends up in several major categories at the Oscars (even best picture!) Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeDec 15, 2018
Masterpiece! One of the best films of all time. Direction and fluid camera work is breath taking. Brilliant cinematography. The acting is flawless. Magical story of a family and their maid. Oscars for Alfonso Cuaron best film, director,Masterpiece! One of the best films of all time. Direction and fluid camera work is breath taking. Brilliant cinematography. The acting is flawless. Magical story of a family and their maid. Oscars for Alfonso Cuaron best film, director, screenplay, cinematography. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
petearellanoDec 14, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unfortunately, although the premise is universal and criticizes disparity in society, Roma is a film that can only be fully understood by a middle-class Mexican. That forgotten class that exists and struggles inside the Latin American country. Only a Mexican will identify the nostalgia of playing with hail during the rainy season or the stress posed by an incoming earthquake. Only a Mexican will remember the authoritarian rule of the PRI and the student repression ordered by the government. With long and depressing shots -such as everydayness- Cuarón portrays wonderfully the life of the domestic service in Mexico. Moreover, he plays with the nostalgia of daily life in Mexico City before the overpopulation of the incoming decades. A time long yearned by the old citizens of the largest metropolis in the Western Hemisphere. Peculiarly, most criticism to Roma is drawn by people who do not understand the dynamic of Mexican life. Cuarón's family is not a wealthy one, they can afford domestic service because one of the tragedies of the Latin American country is precisely the wages of this cruel benefit. Moreover, most of the people engaged in this servitude comes precisely from the largely marginalized indigenous communities of Southern Mexico. Roma is a must-see. Not only to appreciate another facet of the neighbor to the south but to understand that injustice is present in every social stratum. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Dec 16, 2018
17 años después de Y tu mamá también Alfonso Cuarón a México con una más personalizada e introspectiva, apoyado en un estupendo trabajo de fotografía y personajes absorbentes: la madre de familia y la empleada domesticada que deben17 años después de Y tu mamá también Alfonso Cuarón a México con una más personalizada e introspectiva, apoyado en un estupendo trabajo de fotografía y personajes absorbentes: la madre de familia y la empleada domesticada que deben sobrellevar, cada una a su modo, el abandono de un padre cobarde y desnaturalizado. Narrado en un bien reproducido ambiente de época entre el vintage y el retro, es una de las películas de 2018 que dejarán huella indeleble. Sin falta. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
Creeper3455Dec 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. SPOILERS for Roma,so please check the movie out before reading the review!


Alfonso Cuaron is an interesting filmmaker to discuss. Children Of Men was a “Story Setup Simmer” in a depressing future (until the 3rd Act),and Gravity taught me that the best experiences often don’t really need a story. Now with Roma (the new Netflix movie) he tackled something I wouldn’t expect (aside the technical aspect,but that’s for later): He made a movie that a director like Steve McQueen (Widows,Shame) would be proud.
In fact,the screenplay takes a bit too much time to set up a situation,for example,and get away with it really fast,and the presentation of this family feels like a metropolis at home,especially for the main character we’re following throughout the whole picture,Cleo (played by Yalitza Aparicio). And the screenplay sets her up to be a presence...Until the last half of the 2nd Act,where,aside from her presence,the screenplay dumps everything onto the garbage bin (for example,her best friend ignores her only to go in a more menacing road,the baby of hers was born dead...I mean,it goes deep in a heartbeat),only for that to be an excuse so that the family she works for loves her (and,in context,it makes sense,given that this family got separated from their father,who was basically an imbecile during its screen-time). I mean,what I said feels like another A+ Steve McQueen movie: slow buildup to a situation,the fact we follow this person for the whole movie,the fact that sometimes it feels like a short.
But that didn’t mean I was disappointed with the screenplay (as a whole),as the movie can be a great example of “Character Study”,since it sets Cleo up pretty fast instead of waiting 15-30 Minutes for a new character root. And it has a pretty emotional weight to it whenever it tries to take a break and let some characters breathe (when Cleo’s baby was considered dead,I was clenching my fists scared in the seat).
Alright,now for the technical aspect… This may be the best use of Dolby Atmos+Vision in a movie this year. The use of Dolby Vision was perfect in every frame,as this is bound to be one of the few inspirations for my comicbook drawings (since I’m trying to approach a style almost like that),and also because it definitely feels like a fantastic Throwback Thursday to the golden days of Black and White Movies. And sound mix in Dolby Atmos is flawless in every detail. Sound always flows in every speaker,and it manages to get really intense without having one of those bass-thumping moments. This may be the closest thing to a true 360° Sound Field (what Atmos is made for). Also,pay attention,because sometimes the mix will drop an important piece of story when you’ll be looking at the fantastic cinematography.
Look,I’m not saying Roma is bad or horrible as an Alfonso Cuaron movie,because there are some damn good things about it (and some inspirational ones,at times). Problem was just the fact that the screenplay was disappointing,because I didn’t expect such a grandiose screenplay that just feels like it’s in the wrong movie. Still,watch the movie. You’ll probably enjoy it better than me.
But ending just like “Children Of Men” with a “Shantih Shantih Shantih” was an awesome touch to the end credits.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
FlawlessasurnotDec 17, 2018
Esta película marca un hito definitivo en la carrera cinematográfica de Cuarón, poniéndolo entre los mejores hasta ahora. Viendo su buena producción, fotografía, sonido y la simultaneidad y casi perfección de cada acción, marca esta películaEsta película marca un hito definitivo en la carrera cinematográfica de Cuarón, poniéndolo entre los mejores hasta ahora. Viendo su buena producción, fotografía, sonido y la simultaneidad y casi perfección de cada acción, marca esta película como la mejor de este año y, quizás, de todos los tiempos. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
josecaioDec 21, 2018
Um filme no qual Cuarón tem a liberdade de dirigir, escrever e fazer a fotografia da própria obra, atingindo o seu ápice artístico entregando uma simples embora lindíssima história contada numa narrativa paciente, calma e poderosa.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
goncalocoutoDec 27, 2018
"Roma" tem um início (primeiros 30 minutos) lento, no entanto, a segunda parte do filme é simplesmente fenomenal. Em geral, o filme é belo, intenso e emocionante.
9/10
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
AndremaxDec 30, 2018
Roma is visually beautiful, absolutely touching and emotional and mixes these points to a precise Cuaron's direction, maintaining rhythm all over picture always holding watcher. Maybe 2018 year's movie.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
AlfonsoAVDec 30, 2018
Just can't explain how much I liked this movie. MUST see if you're into good camera handling and good shots. Quite slow movie but that makes you enjoy it more. 10/10 for me, absolutely.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Dec 31, 2018
“I like being dead.”

‘Roma’ is poetic film making at its finest. One of the beautiful and unique movies of 2018. Such an experience that after it was over, I struggled to utter a word. A masterful portrayal of joy, loss, betrayal, birth and
“I like being dead.”

‘Roma’ is poetic film making at its finest. One of the beautiful and unique movies of 2018. Such an experience that after it was over, I struggled to utter a word. A masterful portrayal of joy, loss, betrayal, birth and heartbreak.

I’m honestly flawed by this. I cherish these type of movies.

I love the long tracking shots that lets the audience soak in the environment and scan every corner of the frame. The cinematography is so stunning and evocative, it implanted a image forever stuck in my mindset. Every frame is so carefully precise, I could make a picture frame out of them and hang up on a wall.

None of it felt fake, just real and raw. Same thing with the performances from everyone. Yalitza Aparicio is absolutely fantastic in this movie. However, what surprised me is finding out that this is her first big role, because I, not for one second would have never guessed that. If you thought that was impressive, Aparicio was told at the last minute by Cuaron about the birth scene and how that escalates (without spoiling anything). This being her first role and given such a tricky task, which she effortlessly pulls off - it makes me question if there’s any point of going to drama school. Simply amazing.

Alfonso Cuaron is a gift to cinema. The forest fire and beach scenes proves he’s the Tarkovsky of this generation.

I won’t say no more. See it for yourself if you’re interested.

Happy New Year everyone!
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
ahmedaiman1999Dec 16, 2018
I admire movies of this kind; movies that feel simple and spontaneous, and have unrestrained plot. But I prepare myself before watching a movie of this kind; simply because I usually don't find myself connected emotionally with these movies.I admire movies of this kind; movies that feel simple and spontaneous, and have unrestrained plot. But I prepare myself before watching a movie of this kind; simply because I usually don't find myself connected emotionally with these movies. And I was ready to watch one of these art-house movies that I appreciate from the artistic and technical standpoint more than truly enjoying them. But Roma really took me off guard. Because I found out that Cuarón took this artistic approach in making this movie just to tie the somewhat loose plot of an ordinary story into an emphatic and heart-wrenching force.

Cuarón's audiovisual motifs find their way across the film, not for the sake of showing his masterful skills, but to represent metaphorically, or sometimes literally, the characters' feelings, characteristics, nature, express their relationships to each other, and to mark major turning points in the story. When he doesn't use metaphors, Caurón plays, literally, with the contrast between background and foreground, and therefore allowing us to witness the currently unfocused on characters. This give me an opportunity to experience what all characters feel at every moment, and not loosing touch with any one of them at all. Furthermore, this gave the movie some kind of vividness that elevated the experience of watching it even more.

By doing so, Cuarón didn't just give us a phenomenal piece of cinema, but he also subverted the art-house film genre, and proved that films can be as technically flawless and outstanding as they are thoroughly accessible and absorbing.

The first act is a combination of simplicity and innovative visual storytelling.
The third act showcases Cuarón at the top of his visual craft, and that's when his signature long takes were prevalent, and each was as masterful as the last. But there's one in particular that sent chills down my spine, and kept me on the edge of my seat.
The second act, however, is more artistically enthralling than emotionally. Flawless from the narrative and technical, of course, aspects, but it's more "Arthouse" and meditative than anything else. It has some of the most beautiful shots, and moments, of the movie, though. And I really can't say that the movie lost me even for a split second.

The story isn't the most original thing you'll ever encounter. Actually, the characters arcs are quite familiar, but that doesn't take away even the slightest hint of greatness from this masterwork due to the completely unorthodox and refreshing ways the film narrated, structured, shot, and edited in. That said, I couldn't help notice the stereotypical character arc of Sra. Sofía (Marina de Tavira's character) at the end of the movie. Cleo, on the other hand, has enough genuine nuances and twists in her character arc that breathed new life into the character, let alone Yalitza Aparicio's spellbinding performance. Nevertheless, Marina de Tavira's committed performance is nothing short of stellar.

I hope Roma will jump start a career for Yalitza Aparicio. I already knew that many critics praised her performance in this movie, claiming that she gave one of the best performances of the year, but I really didn't expect that her performance will fascinate me like it did. For as much as I admired Hamilton Morris's performance in Sweet Country, or Brady Jandreau's in The Rider, I appreciated them for their naturalism and authenticity more than anything else. But as for Yalitza Aparicio, I really can't make up my mind whether her performance or Emily Blunt's in A Quiet Place is the best performance by an actress I've seen this year so far. And the same goes with these two movies they starred in as well.

Alfonso Cuarón doesn't go with the flow neither by giving priority to politics over anything else, nor by squandering his creative vision for the sake of making Hollywood cash-grab blockbusters. He stays true to his idiosyncratic vision, and faithful to his jaw-dropping trademarks. And here he is making yet another masterpiece that is captivating, poignant, personal and subversive all at once. And easily one of the most accessible art-house films ever made! Roma is a daring simple film.

(9/10)
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
WaelDec 17, 2018
"Roma" is both a visual and a sentimental masterpiece. The direction is outstanding (Kudos to you, Alfonso Cuaron), and the characters are very lovable. I felt like I lived with them in that house for two hours. The film encapsulates so much"Roma" is both a visual and a sentimental masterpiece. The direction is outstanding (Kudos to you, Alfonso Cuaron), and the characters are very lovable. I felt like I lived with them in that house for two hours. The film encapsulates so much emotion, and delivers a strong near-to-ending sequence. One of the best films I've seen this year. 9/10. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
MetawalkerACDec 18, 2018
Understated and subdued, especially compared to hollywood blockbusters or typical award-far, but technically brilliant and full of wonderful moments that dazzle the senses.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
RuyWangDec 22, 2018
Roma gets off to a slow start, and some people might consider the first 30-40 minutes boring, but the 2nd half of this Cuaron film is as good as critics make it out to be. It's realistic and heartbreaking at times, with great directing and acting.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
carldamnitDec 15, 2018
Beautiful. I'm going to watch it ten more times before I decide whether or not I like the implications of the classist propaganda of the movie but it's so beautiful and so nuanced, I don't think it takes away from it being a great movie.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
movieducationDec 16, 2018
After bringing wonder and making me like a child - stunned - in Gravity, Alfonso Cuaron brings back the same ambition - to capture every frame beautifully, to transport, ROMA is worth every tears I’ve shed but this time I could not smell hisAfter bringing wonder and making me like a child - stunned - in Gravity, Alfonso Cuaron brings back the same ambition - to capture every frame beautifully, to transport, ROMA is worth every tears I’ve shed but this time I could not smell his ambition and that’s the highest feat. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
migdalorguyDec 26, 2018
This film is a masterpiece. I say this even though the film did not connect with me as deeply as it has for some. It is beautifully written, filmed, and acted. It doesn't fully connect for me precisely because it is yet another film writtenThis film is a masterpiece. I say this even though the film did not connect with me as deeply as it has for some. It is beautifully written, filmed, and acted. It doesn't fully connect for me precisely because it is yet another film written as a valentine by someone who grew up in relative comfort to the lower class nanny/au pere who raised them. As such, gritty as it can be, it is still the rich man's perspective on how the lower class lives and experiences life, and throughout watching the film I couldn't escape that feeling. I was watching another man's shockingly honest yet at the same time still rose-colored dream perspective of not only his own reality but that of those of a lower social class who helped raise him. All that being said, Cuaron can't help being who he is. This film is deserving of every accolade and award that it gets. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
DaniLoudDec 28, 2018
Roma is a masterpiece that works with a very quiet cinematography with touches of B&W that loves this Cuarón´s masterpiece. It's A tale to him family and a love letter to him women, it's fantastic.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewDec 27, 2018
It’s a delicate perspective that teaches the value of letting the mind drive the body, much like Roberto Benigni’s Life is Beautiful. Except now, it’s told through the eyes of a woman with minimal outward emotion expressed. Although it’sIt’s a delicate perspective that teaches the value of letting the mind drive the body, much like Roberto Benigni’s Life is Beautiful. Except now, it’s told through the eyes of a woman with minimal outward emotion expressed. Although it’s first important to know that this otherwise tremendous film in fact has a pretty bad screenplay; Roma is simply not personal enough with what it’s like for a single mother, considering nothing really happens to her, the grandmother, or the kids. They’re all emotionally distanced enigmas who pretty much just stand there as plot devices, not human beings.

Rather, the focus remains on the house maid, Cleo, whose mental state is shown to be crucial to success. Watching this production through her memory of serving this family has very intelligent establishments, even focusing in on a faucet dripping that connects back to Cleo’s shallow yet stern boyfriend using a shower rod for martial arts while he’s naked. Throughout these memories of a woman who only remembers the harsh, colorless moments as a maid, the creation of 1970’s Mexican culture is valuable for everyone to see. Inside the family’s walls, the television sets and cinema are both critical influences within this narrative. Outside the family’s walls, hail falls after a critical scene to pelt Cleo’s head until it melts into beads of sweat as she glistens during a stressful scene of labor.

It will be easy to remember these seemingly unimportant moments because director Alfonso Cuarón (Children of Men, Gravity) knows personally how crucial the brain is, so immediately during the opening credits, he commands total control within the screen by lingering on floor tile that becomes flooded with soapy water, which reflects an airplane in the sky. It’s a unique, provocative image specifically designed to be remembered, especially since that floor tile in the narrow driveway becomes a character that gives Cleo enough reason to enjoy being dead… truly amazing how Cuarón can do that. In the narrow driveway, Cleo first sees the father of the family, as introduced by his car before any face is revealed. While it consequently means nobody in the film is easy to connect with like a new close friendship, the soul breaks through to spark the memory of how several young women would see their father during dark trials.

Then Cuarón goes right from here to give information about the family through the young boys playing with guns, which seems like nothing at first, but carefully doses some foreshadowing toward an eventual street riot. Even when things get chaotic, Cuarón keeps quiet spectacle going louder than any James Bond movie, to the point when even the performances shine when the camera lingers on the details of the home. He doesn’t need all these closeups, but naturally keeps his actors on the same page as they make art out of the problematic script.

The tone remains quiet as the camera very slowly pans through Cleo turning off all the lights downstairs before bed, which makes a powerful ocean moment near the very end permanently impressionable. Many scenes, especially that one, are all in one long take that allows the lush black and white imagery to test your eyes. In the end, the imagery goes beyond just being mere pixels on a screen—but the memories shared in the same way somebody in Cleo’s predicament would remember it, making you and her one in body and spirit. That doesn’t mean this movie is for everybody. In fact, if you’re looking for something relatable in the instantly approachable sense, then the screenplay written by Alfonso Cuarón will not help. Unlike what the final moments of the film suggest, the idea never gets across that Cleo was ever a real sincere part of the family she serves. While it’s verbally communicated satisfactorily, it has much more potential than the final product. There are no real personal moments between Cleo and each of the family members to give you a clear sense of what their individual relationships are like, nor are there real personal moments between the sons and daughter, like this film pretends are there. It ultimately results in an incorrect message that humanity just exists without an end goal, that people might as well be passive since nothing we do really matters.

That henceforth categorizes Roma as a, “you either love it or you don’t” type of movie. That’s much what many of the old classics from the 1950s is like. For myself, after watching Roman Holiday, despite everyone calling it one of the greatest romantic comedies in history, I basically just went, “meh, now I can at least say I’ve seen it.” But there’s still an audience for it, as I know of an author in the UK who loves that movie! That’s how it will be for this film: If it doesn’t sound appealing, then you can look elsewhere for other experimental films that satisfy your taste buds.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Jan 4, 2019
Cuáron cria personagens profundos dos quais simpatizamos, odiamos, e muitas vezes torcemos por eles, e esperando que no fim, tudo de certo. Roma é um retrato sensível, as vezes cru e realista de uma década turbulenta, uma obra-prima que passaCuáron cria personagens profundos dos quais simpatizamos, odiamos, e muitas vezes torcemos por eles, e esperando que no fim, tudo de certo. Roma é um retrato sensível, as vezes cru e realista de uma década turbulenta, uma obra-prima que passa uma mensagem de uma época da qual, ainda se reflete nos dias atuais. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
VirgonoShakaJan 7, 2019
Well damn Cuaron, you did it again. Roma is not only a movie, it is an art exposition. Every shot, every moment is so well handled and filmed that a lot of the times I was thinking more about the how they did it than what was happening in theWell damn Cuaron, you did it again. Roma is not only a movie, it is an art exposition. Every shot, every moment is so well handled and filmed that a lot of the times I was thinking more about the how they did it than what was happening in the screen. Thankfully, I had a masterpiece of storytelling, with great performances and a humanity that is often missing in movies, to the point that I really felt I was a watching a real place in real time, with every person on screen (even the Extras) having a story, and at many times, stories that I wanted to see. I can't recommend enough, and it is my best movie of 2018 without a doubt. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
ViniciusBritoJan 7, 2019
Cleo works as a maid in a rich people's house, and together with them she goes into some travels, she does have her personal life relationship and goes through a lot of struggle in her life, while the mexican political situation isCleo works as a maid in a rich people's house, and together with them she goes into some travels, she does have her personal life relationship and goes through a lot of struggle in her life, while the mexican political situation is complicated in that time that the "El Halconazo" have happened. Directed and written by Alfonso Cuarón.
The best thing about this movie, is the outstanding technical part for sure, there are so many fantastic things in this movie about this that i don't think that it is possible to put in words, it is so giant and amazing the job that they have done with immersion, this is probably one of the movies that i have felt more immersed while watching it from all, the movie is slow, but this happens for you to hear every little thing that is happening in that place, to see and feel every little small and single thing. The photography in here is also gorgeous, the camera movimentation is so sweet, is so not intrusive, it feels that you are there, watching from far away, the way that the camera is positioned in this film, so as it is moved, quietly and slowly, all of those things together allows you to almost smell the place.
The choregography in some more agitated and with violence moments are also perfect, because you can't tell that there is one, everything feels so real, in a level that got scary.
The story in this film is, for sure the biggest problem, so as the biggest differential in here, is definely what separate people that gonna love it and find it a disgrace. The thing about the story is that first, it is really real, real in way that everything could be happening inside of your own house, or with your neighbor, so it don't have a big narrative, plot twists, a big construction, it is really simple in a way that, as i said, could be happening to anyone. Another thing about this narrative, the director wanted to make us immerse a lot in this film, wich worked 100%, but in other hand to do it so he had to use some time in order to let us feel the place, a lot of time is in simple things, like Cleo cleaning, or th owners of the house parking the car in the garage, so there a lot of time in really small things, that can make in some moments you get tired, but it works perfectly in the immersion aspect. The narrative overall being so slow does bothered me, in some moments i started having my mind somewhere else, but in others the realism really cought me, fascinated me how that could literally happening in next door.
The story does have different layers and aspects, it talks about the social difference between Cleo and the people that lives in that house, how do they treat her, and how her life is. There is the political aspect of Mexico at that time, with a lot of fights, war and death, moments that shocked a lot. And of course there is the way that Cleo sees all of that.
This is movie for me to be rewatched and get more and more, understand more and more what Cuarón was telling.
This is a story with a lot metaphors, one of the most real stories around there, really remarkable moments and scenes that i would say that already are in the history of movies.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
cameronhalmansJan 9, 2019
Roma doesn’t just capture you in the essence of its setting, it captures you with life itself. A film maticulously directed by Alfonso Cauron, that it feels like you’re a spectator in the actual events, not just cinema. A masterpiece.

100/100
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
9
AMFcriticJan 9, 2019
Alfonso Cuarón returns to emphasize with permanent down his talent and experience in the director's chair; With this tape, the Mexican gives us two hours and fifteen minutes of everyday life; simple, beautiful and distressing black and whiteAlfonso Cuarón returns to emphasize with permanent down his talent and experience in the director's chair; With this tape, the Mexican gives us two hours and fifteen minutes of everyday life; simple, beautiful and distressing black and white everydayness. 90.9 / 100 (9) Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
DDanteAlgJan 9, 2019
Es aburrida a ratos y la historia no tiene por donde agarrarse, es muy simple pero me encantan los escenarios, no me deja con ganas de mas pero su cámara y movimientos son hermosos, las actuaciones no me deja querer exigir algo mas, hasta losEs aburrida a ratos y la historia no tiene por donde agarrarse, es muy simple pero me encantan los escenarios, no me deja con ganas de mas pero su cámara y movimientos son hermosos, las actuaciones no me deja querer exigir algo mas, hasta los pequeños son geniales en esto y todo es tan bonito pero como digo, es aburrida y no me gusta al inicio no saber nada de que quiere hacer o a donde quiere ir, hasta la segunda vez que la vi pude darme cuenta de que el papa engañaba a la señora que interpreta Marina de Tavira que aun que todos resaltan a la joven principiante yo hoy decidí resaltar solamente la de Marina. Es genial pero no la mires esperando algo muy entretenido en acción o mucho drama, México si necesita cosas como estas. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
duanewilliamsJan 14, 2019
This is one of the slower movies of the year's awards nominees. It is well done, but it is also highly predictable. If action films are your favorite, you might want to skip this film. Its got a rather disturbing childbirth scene, which IThis is one of the slower movies of the year's awards nominees. It is well done, but it is also highly predictable. If action films are your favorite, you might want to skip this film. Its got a rather disturbing childbirth scene, which I hope is not realistic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
IsaacJJan 19, 2019
Alfonso Cuaron has made a name for himself as a stellar director but his passion project, 2018’s Roma, is an impressive feat even for this Oscar-winning heavyweight, who not only directs here, but writes, shoots and edits as well. Roma is anAlfonso Cuaron has made a name for himself as a stellar director but his passion project, 2018’s Roma, is an impressive feat even for this Oscar-winning heavyweight, who not only directs here, but writes, shoots and edits as well. Roma is an ode to Cuaron’s childhood in Mexico City, told through the eyes of a young housekeeper, Cleo (newcomer Yalitza Aparicio), whose life we see unfold against the backdrop of political turbulence.
Roma is a definite exercise in artistry; this film is absolutely gorgeous, shot in vintage black and white (a pretentious yet oddly fitting decision), full of wide and detailed shots that immerse us within the world. As well as beauty, there’s a phenomenal sense of authenticity to the film, whether it be in languid scenes that play out in real time or in the film’s intricate sound design, which favours the ambience of street noises over a stringed orchestra. The technical mastery of Roma, however, acts as both its greatest achievement and its pitfall. The film’s design somewhat overshadows its plot, hiding a flawed picture beneath its glossy exterior. Much of this movie, in particular the middle, is rather mundane, struggling to reach the high emotional stakes one expects. The narrative rambles and there are numerous points where the film feels restrained by its luscious presentation. The factor that prevents Roma from becoming simply a parade of pretentiousness is the clearly deep personal reasons behind which it has been made; though the film is not always consistent, Alfonso Cuaron is an attentive director and his intelligent and gentle screenplay is one of the film’s greatest strengths. In all truth, when Roma hits gold, it’s a subtle, yet deeply moving film; scenes in the third act particularly are very well done, serving that desired emotional resonance that the rest of the film desperately fails to deliver. Yalitza Aparicio gives a wonderfully natural performance as Cleo, but the real stand out performer of the film is Marina de Tavira as Sofia, the mother of the family. De Tavira produces the only performance that truly gripped me, never allowing herself to be overshadowed by the virtuous design of the film. Equally satisfying is Cuaron’s clever inclusion of political context that provides for the most pleasing dramatic moments.
Roma is likely to find great success in the awards season this year; credit should be given to the sheer flair of the film’s design and Cuaron’s astute writing and cinematography. However, beneath the art of Roma lies a lesser film, that only sporadically hits its targets of emotion and excitement.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JazzwazlerJan 20, 2019
9.3/10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jimmypowderJan 22, 2019
While I thought it was a good film with remarkable cinematography , I felt the movie really didn't do much character development. It was a review of the daily life of a poor Mexican servant who got pregnant by a guy who left her the minute heWhile I thought it was a good film with remarkable cinematography , I felt the movie really didn't do much character development. It was a review of the daily life of a poor Mexican servant who got pregnant by a guy who left her the minute he found out about the pregnancy. This certainly has happened in poor southern rural places in America numerous times
It just seems the director had to show this poor Mexican lady's life to make a underlying politcal point. It also didn't explain much about the political strife in Mexico at the time. That would have been nice. Overall , a good film but certainly not Pan's Labyrinth .
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
buddhalouFeb 15, 2019
Stunningly beautiful - truly a master class in cinematography. Dreadfully slow for much of it, though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AngeldsMar 8, 2019
Masterpiece, This film represents the life of a bigger part of the low class in Mexico, tha actuation is exquisit
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
UncleWillardMar 12, 2019
This is a beautiful film, and a fantastic achievement by Netflix, though I will say it was hard to connect with the characters. I always felt like I was looking at it through a telescope. I couldn't find a character to anchor to throughout,This is a beautiful film, and a fantastic achievement by Netflix, though I will say it was hard to connect with the characters. I always felt like I was looking at it through a telescope. I couldn't find a character to anchor to throughout, not even its lead, who was phenomenal. I though Shoplifters, another contender in Foreign Language at the Oscars was far better and more nuanced. It definitely deserved Best Picture over Green Book, as did a few other noms. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Vitor007Jan 23, 2019
Alfonso Cuarón managed to overcome himself after "Gravity". Again, he makes a spectacular screenplay and cinematography with this film. Because it is nothing conventional (consisting of black and white, having a history without any moreAlfonso Cuarón managed to overcome himself after "Gravity". Again, he makes a spectacular screenplay and cinematography with this film. Because it is nothing conventional (consisting of black and white, having a history without any more fantasy and not having been dubbed in countries whose Spanish language does not use) ends up "distracting" the attention of the public (despite attracting the attention of Experts and curious), but even with this concern, the performances in the technical and practical part, "Roma" makes it beautiful, consolidating itself as one of the best films of the year. 9.8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Jan 31, 2019
The kind of stick-to-your-ribs filmmaking with the potential to please any kind of movie fan. It's soulful enough to please the arthouse/indie crowd, emotionally broad and cathartic enough to please more Western-minded cinema-goers, andThe kind of stick-to-your-ribs filmmaking with the potential to please any kind of movie fan. It's soulful enough to please the arthouse/indie crowd, emotionally broad and cathartic enough to please more Western-minded cinema-goers, and technically proficient enough to get the fans of craft going as well. This really is a terrific example of personal filmmaking at its finest, as director Alfonso Cuaron basically bleeds himself, his history, and his worldview onto every frame in the picture. In short, it's a triumph. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SyklatFeb 6, 2019
Alfonso Cuarón için çok şahsi bir film olmuş Roma. Yönetmenin, 70'lerin Meksikasını bize yansıtmak için siyah beyaz yapmayı seçtiği filmin neredeyse her resminde geniş açıyı tercih etmiş. Seyirciyi filmin tam anlamıyla içerisine almak için deAlfonso Cuarón için çok şahsi bir film olmuş Roma. Yönetmenin, 70'lerin Meksikasını bize yansıtmak için siyah beyaz yapmayı seçtiği filmin neredeyse her resminde geniş açıyı tercih etmiş. Seyirciyi filmin tam anlamıyla içerisine almak için de pan ve dolly hareketlerini çok efektif biçimde kullanmış bence. Başından sonuna kadar sıradan ama sıcak bir hikaye işlenen filmin uzun ve tek planlı sahneleri filmin sanatsal yönünü de bir o kadar ortaya çıkarmaya yardımcı olmuş. Ayrıca uzun sahnelerdeki trafik de yönetmenin bu film için ne kadar titiz çalıştığını gösterir gibi. Cannes film festivaline, Netflix yapımı olduğu için alınmayan film bu sebeple bu sene oldukça konuşuldu. Bence de eğer bir festival bu sebeple film kabul etmiyorsa tüm kabul ettiği filmler bağımsız olmalı. Kısacası tam bir yönetmen filmi olan Roma, kesinlikle izlenmesi gerektiğini düşündüğüm filmlerden biri. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Wschmitty23Feb 9, 2019
Didn't know what to expect when I went into this movie but it turned out to be beautifully shot, heart warming, sad, exciting, lot of emotions going on it. Worth the watch, should probably win best picture
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LajaleaaFeb 11, 2019
"No puedo, estoy muerto."
.
( 72/100 ) . Roma es una colección de fotografías que evocan una memoria con un valor sensible increíble, pero, como dije hace un párrafo, no puedes planear una memoria, y Roma es una memoria muy bien planeada.
"No puedo, estoy muerto."
.
( 72/100 )
.
Roma es una colección de fotografías que evocan una memoria con un valor sensible increíble, pero, como dije hace un párrafo, no puedes planear una memoria, y Roma es una memoria muy bien planeada.
Cuaron no es un tonto y estoy seguro de que sabe cada una de las razones de sus decisiones y el alcance de ellas, lo admiro plenamente por ello. Sin embargo yo no me dejaré llevar tan fácilmente.
Roma relata uno de los fragmentos más importantes en la vida de Cleo, quien trata de darle vida al recuerdo de Libo, quien fue la sirvienta, cuidadora y nana de la familia de Cuaron. Cleo será quien nos transporte por la ciudad y las habitaciones; quien nos hable de las personas, de los romances y odios; las clases sociales, los paisajes, los niños, los adultos y, en sí, el panorama intimo de la sociedad mexicana en los 70's.
Cuaron reafirma su capacidad de hacer cine y su gran habilidad poética. Él se demuestra como una de las personalidades más responsables, humanas, emotivas y conscientes en su arte. Esto no es nuevo, pues en cada uno de sus proyectos sorprende narrativa, visual y simbólicamente. Sin embargo, Roma, como una carta personal a sus seres queridos, no lo siento como su mejor proyecto. A pesar de que cuida y detalla cada plano de sus tomas con paisajes, eventos y rostros, la película es pesada por el hecho de que pretende hacer que su público contemple lo más posible. Uno de los amigos con los que fui a verla mencionó al salir: "Siento que la película podría alargarse todo lo que sea y yo podría seguir viéndola a gusto." Le doy la razón, el nivel de encanto que el público le tenga a la película depende del nivel de atención que le preste a Cuaron, y la paciencia de cargar, no solo con la historia, sino con el lugar y tiempo mismo de la exposición. Dicha exposición es, repito, una colección de memorias fotográficas. La memoria no necesita de narrativa extra, de visualización extra, de buenas actuaciones, de un guión, de una dirección y de un elenco enorme para construir grandes y bellos espacios, sino al revés. El contexto, la actitud, la interacción y la situación están delimitadas por la misma memoria fotográfica. Y Cuaron tomó sus mejores fotografías, las recordó, construyó un escenario para recrearlas, escogió a la gente necesaria para representarla e, independientemente de la calidad, la presentó. Eso no solo es injusto, sino también un golpe bajo. Por eso hay gente enojada con Yalitza Aparicio y su falta de trayectoria; y Marina De Tavira y su falta de presencia comercial. Pero también es por eso que han sido muy merecidamente premiadas con sus nominaciones al Oscars.
El ingenio reside en que Cuaron ha escogido los retratos más bellos no de su vida, sino de la vida. Así como esas pequeñas brisas de paz que me acariciaron aquel día en el que estuve en el bote, él toma a todo su equipo y los pone frente a la cámara para reaccionar ante la belleza de la vida y sus diferentes significados. La belleza de hablar con un niño, la belleza del cuerpo, la belleza del llanto, la belleza un abrazo, de un temblor, tanto en el cuerpo como en el alma, de una abandono, de una búsqueda, de una lucha, de una muerte y una victoria. Cuaron sabe que hay belleza en la vida y lo usa a su favor, usa a la vida para expresarla en su película junto a un elenco que no necesita nada más que ser sensible a ella misma. Por lo tanto no importa que la fotografía tenga efectos especiales, o que el guión salte abruptamente a una resolución incoherente con la actitud de los personajes, personajes que no demuestran un estilo de vida extraordinario. Mientras todos los elementos sean bien advertidos de qué, lo que están haciendo no es actuar y trabajar, sino vivir, todo estará bien. No me quiero extender más. El film es hermoso, y está muy bien filmado, la esperanza que tiene Roma en que el público sea tan sensible, paciente, atento y melancólico es demasiada. Personalmente, tengo suficiente belleza en mi propia vida como para querer verla a través de las fotos de alguien más. Otros tendrán suficiente belleza en la suya como para apreciar la de alguien más. Otros carecerán de belleza en su vida como para ser capaces de admirar la de alguien más, o tal vez carecen tanto de ella que son incapaces de reconocerla aunque la vean en una película. Sea cual sea la situación, Roma es una belleza que no es difícil encontrar en la vida que cada uno de nosotros va fotografiando y coleccionando en su memoria.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DankiliciousFeb 16, 2019
Roma has all the trappings of a phenomenal piece of cinema. Gorgeous cinematography, emotionally gripping storytelling and great acting as well. It's also incredibly apparent the Cuarron is at his absolute best here which considering hisRoma has all the trappings of a phenomenal piece of cinema. Gorgeous cinematography, emotionally gripping storytelling and great acting as well. It's also incredibly apparent the Cuarron is at his absolute best here which considering his pedigree is almost unbelievable. However with all of that being said I did not enjoy the movie that much personally. I found it overall to be a very lonely and boring movie that just overall didn't have a lot of interesting things going on up until the last hour or so of the film. I'm almost sure this is somebody's cup of tea if you are a cinema connoisseur but I just found it hard to get through and had to watch it in about three different sessions. I'm quite sure this will be taking all the Oscars this year and I do think it's deserving of it because after walking away from it I found my still having an enormous amount of respect for it at the very least. Which is why despite my personal feelings about the movie I would be lying to not at least give it a solid 8/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NothingReviewsFeb 18, 2019
From the Director of one of my personal favorite movies of all time Children of Men because of it's an amazing concept, story, and of course, it's cinematography and everything is also in this movie, It talks about a story of this maid andFrom the Director of one of my personal favorite movies of all time Children of Men because of it's an amazing concept, story, and of course, it's cinematography and everything is also in this movie, It talks about a story of this maid and talks about her relationships around her. It's generally one of the best foreign films this year. Sound design is jaw-dropping from the music to the small sound effects. The world feels so real and lively and nobody is off and out of place. I love the black and white style filter, since taking place from 1970 to 1971. It makes feel like I'm there. Every actor and actress even the kids were fantastic, maybe because of the script (It's generally very real like actual people would say).

Please watch this film. It's one of the best Netflix movie I have seen before which is rare to come across. Thank you Alfonso Cuarón for writing and directing this masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
duckhostFeb 18, 2019
When I first heard of Roma I thought it was going to be just another oscar bait and a boring movie, I was far from wrong. This movie is great especially the photography that Cuarón did. First of all Cleo is a great protagonist, this movieWhen I first heard of Roma I thought it was going to be just another oscar bait and a boring movie, I was far from wrong. This movie is great especially the photography that Cuarón did. First of all Cleo is a great protagonist, this movie just deals with the contemporary lives of the family she is there as a maid to witness it. The movie starts a little slow but when Cleo discovers that she is pregnant the movie starts to pick up the pace and just scene after scene is a wonder to behold. There is a scene during a protest that is just a marvelous thing to behold, there are dozens of extras on multiple biuldings and streets but the scene just comes out so good that you just keep thinking: ''How the **** did so many people ended up doing this and not a single mistake?''. The final moments of the movie are so great and something happens with Cleo that you cry with her. Cuarón did a good job telling his childhood stories, this movies just tell the story of a common family and you can relate to them, hell even I did. This is my favourite for the best movie category and the best movie that I saw from 2018. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
1lixoFeb 20, 2019
p e r f e c t ! p e r f e c t ! p e r f e c t ! p e r f e c t ! the best movie concept i!ve ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Slovenly_MuseFeb 24, 2019
An enthralling love letter of a film whose story is told not just through dialogue, but through the rich symbolism that permeates every scene. Affectionate, restrained, and painfully present in every moment, "Roma" is a cinematic feast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AJGo85Feb 27, 2019
A movie like Roma does not come along too often. The new film by master filmmaker Alfonso Cuarón has the look and feel of an epic film and the intimacy and emotion of a small, personal film. From the trailer, plot description, and lavish,A movie like Roma does not come along too often. The new film by master filmmaker Alfonso Cuarón has the look and feel of an epic film and the intimacy and emotion of a small, personal film. From the trailer, plot description, and lavish, wordy praise it’s received from critics you might get the impression that Roma is the epitome of an arthouse movie. Perhaps it is, if that means it is also a beautiful, superbly crafted, and deeply affecting cinematic achievement. It’s hard to describe what makes Roma so special because it elicits such an emotional response in the people it connects with, myself included. Roma works on so many levels I suspect any viewer will connect with it in some way.
Cuarón’s screenplay is loosely based on his experiences as a boy in Mexico City in the early 1970’s, specifically on his relationship with the family maid/nanny. This is not a story about a young boy, however. Seeking to pay tribute to the women that raised him, Cuarón makes them the focus of the movie. He even dedicates this film to his real life nanny, Liboria "Libo" Rodriguez. We follow a year in the life Cleo, a servant for an upper-class family in the Mexico City district of Roma. She cleans the house (including endless amounts of dog poop), cares for the children, and is treated as lovingly as a servant can be by her employers. First time actress Yalitza Aparicioas Cleo is so good and feels so natural in her role that she’s earned an Oscar nomination for Best Actress. Marina deTavira has received a Supporting Actress nomination for her role as the family matriarch, Sofia.
Cleo’s eventful year begins when her boyfriend abandons her in a movie theater after she tells him that she is pregnant. At the same time, we gather from overheard snippets of conversations between Sofia and other adults that her husband has left the family. She tells her children that their father is on a long business trip in Canada. Sofia and Cleo do not necessarily become any closer, but Sofia and her mother are happy for Cleo and take her to see the doctor. The life events in Roma, both big and small, are episodic, but thankfully the story never meanders or feels aimless. Cleo accompanies the family to a relative’s estate, goes on a search for her wayward boyfriend, and goes with the family on a vacation to the beach. The outside world intrudes abruptly and harshly into Cleo’s day to day life though natural and man-made disasters. The focus is kept on Cleo throughout these events, which in a way makes them more real. A forest fire at a New Year’s party provides some of the film’s most memorable images. Just as the children are only marginally aware of the world of the adults until they feel a direct effect, so too are the adults with the larger world. Roma is not without some heavy-handed moments such as when a toast to someone’s doesn’t happen because the cup breaks, or when the characters go to see Marooned (I’m sure both Cleo and Sofia feel that they have been marooned by the men in their lives).
For Roma Cuarón did the cinematography himself, and it is safe to say that he learned a thing or two from his long-time cinematographer, the legendary Emmanuel Lubezki, who has won 3 Oscars in a row. Cuarón shot his picture in glorious black & white on 65mm cameras. This is what makes Roma so visually stunning and gives it the feel of an epic. Typically, 65mm cameras are used for big budget action films like Lawrence of Arabia, 2001: A Space Odyssey, and, most recently, Dunkirk. When a modern filmmaker uses black and white, they tend to emphasize shadows. Cuarón’s camera captures wonderful shadows but it is much more concerned with what light illuminates. Sunlight seems to make everything it touches have an ethereal and dreamlike glow. The black & white makes every image feel like an old photograph conjuring old memories and emotions. Whenever the camera moves it is slow and deliberate and long, unbroken shots are numerous. Cuarón does not use many, if any, close ups. Instead his camera keeps its distance acting like window into Cleo’s life. The emotions in this story are so universal that you don’t need tight close ups on faces to know what a character is feeling or share in their emotions.
I expect Roma will challenge Children of Men’s title as his masterpiece and make an appearance on the next round Best of the Decade lists.
Roma received a very brief theatrical release from its online streaming distributor, Netflix. It played in Austin in just one theater for two weeks and I was lucky enough to see it on a big screen. Seeing these images projected larger than life was a very enjoyable experience. I watched Roma again on my TV recently, and it is still visually and emotionally compelling. This is the sign of a truly great film. No matter how or when you see it, those sights and sounds will swirl around and take you on a journey.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
srtafozexMar 9, 2019
'Roma' is one of my favorite movies of 2018. 'Roma' is not just a movie, it's a work of art. It is sentimental without being mushy. Simply flawless
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KELEO2000Mar 10, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Roma la tan aclamada película que habla sobre una criada indígena en el año 1971,la película como tal no está mal.
Esta muy bien ambientada,pero el único problema que encuentro es que la primera hora es pesada y la escena del desnudo es tan irrelevante, pero fuera de eso la encuentro entretenida más no una obra de arte
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alvindinoMar 11, 2019
It feels difficult for other films to be able to match — or exceed — films like Roma. It's hard to compete with this amazing film in the seasons of film awards in the coming weeks. Beautiful cinematography, strong scripts, brilliant acting,It feels difficult for other films to be able to match — or exceed — films like Roma. It's hard to compete with this amazing film in the seasons of film awards in the coming weeks. Beautiful cinematography, strong scripts, brilliant acting, are only part of the greatness of this film. Roma, as a whole, is an amazing film and Netflix has successfully made elitist parties think again about the films released by Netflix. Netflix succeeded in proving that their own films could succeed in various film festivals with very positive remarks. No doubt, Roma is one of the best films of 2018 that cannot be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
smuroseMar 17, 2019
This movie was very well-made and did a good job capturing real life situations that can be difficult. It did a good job of tying in the political turmoil at the time in Mexico. The cinematography was superb and the plot and charactersThis movie was very well-made and did a good job capturing real life situations that can be difficult. It did a good job of tying in the political turmoil at the time in Mexico. The cinematography was superb and the plot and characters complemented each other nicely. I didn't really think it was the best movie I've ever seen though. That's why I gave it 7 stars. It was good but not that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LatinCritic13Mar 26, 2019
This film broke every boundary and obstacle in order to create a believable story that relates to today's society (it relates to me as well) and surprisingly enough, it's one of the best films ever crafted with such passion and realism thatThis film broke every boundary and obstacle in order to create a believable story that relates to today's society (it relates to me as well) and surprisingly enough, it's one of the best films ever crafted with such passion and realism that makes you shock and wonder all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrunoVn00Mar 31, 2019
This is an amazing visual masterpiece and a great example of wonderful cinematography. Director Alfonso Cuarón made an incredible and realistic representation of Mexico in the 1970s, there's so much attention to detail in every single shotThis is an amazing visual masterpiece and a great example of wonderful cinematography. Director Alfonso Cuarón made an incredible and realistic representation of Mexico in the 1970s, there's so much attention to detail in every single shot that really indicate that this movie is about the experience and not the plot.

By that, I'm saying that the weakest point of this movie, for me, at least, it's the weak and simplistic plot. If you tell to someone that hasn't seen the movie a basic plot summary, that person might not find it too interesting. Obviously I'm not expecting dumb action or explosions or whatever, I do appreciate slow-paced movies when they have interesting visuals and this is one of those movies, but you need to be lying if you don't say that the plot of this movie isn't anything special and if you watch it and you ONLY focus on the story and not on anything else, this movie might become boring for you.

The direction is fantastic with tons of dynamic and complicated shots and tons of style and attetion to detail. Believe it or not this is a big scale movie because there's always tons of things happening on screen to watch and talk about. The setting feels organic, feels massive and realistic, it honestly feels like the crew traveled back in time to film in actual 1970s Mexico.

The acting is fine. Nothing bad or nothing too great. There wasn't any actor that I felt that gave a bad performance, every actor seems to have made the best with the characters they were given and again, nothing too special, I honestly don't think Yalitza Aparicio's or Marina de Tavira's acting was something Oscar-worthy, not saying they gave a bad performance, but nothing great, either.

When I said this movie is about the experience is to appreaciate anything but the plot or the acting, this is not a film for everyone which, for me, it's something bad because I think that the greatest movies can appeal to almost everyone and not only film critics, film experts or film students or art-house lovers. There are tons of movies that can appeal to anyone and are at the same time great artsy movies.

I actually liked this movie, but I don't think it's anything outstanding.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JalemanyMay 3, 2019
Lovely tribute to a figure of Cuaron's childhood and to the landscapes that saw him grow. Sometimes an exercise on purposeful excess and studied tedium and often a poem of beautifully remembered images. The style won't surprise anybodyLovely tribute to a figure of Cuaron's childhood and to the landscapes that saw him grow. Sometimes an exercise on purposeful excess and studied tedium and often a poem of beautifully remembered images. The style won't surprise anybody familiar with mid 20th Century European film, although I can see how Roma could be an entry door into such tasty territory, for new generations of film viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SoulsRisingMay 27, 2019
This review is for the album "Music inspired by the film Roma" since the album is not on the website. This album is a brilliant musical restitution of the movie's atmosphere, that is eclectic and yet homogeneous. Stunningly gorgeous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AlinzparkJun 17, 2019
“Roma”, written, directed, edited, produced, and shot by Alfonso Cuarón (Children of Men, Gravity) is a plain and simple masterpiece. Set in 1970’s Mexico, the film follows Cleo (played by first-time actress Yalitza Aparicio), a middle maid“Roma”, written, directed, edited, produced, and shot by Alfonso Cuarón (Children of Men, Gravity) is a plain and simple masterpiece. Set in 1970’s Mexico, the film follows Cleo (played by first-time actress Yalitza Aparicio), a middle maid for a middle-class family. The film began streaming on Netflix December 14th of this year. The story of Roma is an unusual one as it seemingly has no narrative structure. It follows Cleo as she performs her duties as the surrogate mother of the family, goes on dates and hangs out with her friends. Despite the loose structure, the story is far from listless. It possesses a hypnotic pace; slowly drawing towards an emotional climax. The seemingly meandering plot turns out to actually be a meticulous set up for not one, but a sequence of gutwrenching payoffs towards the latter part of the film. This film is one of the few in Cuarón’s filmography that isn’t shot by longtime collaborator Emmanuel Lubezki with Roma rather being shot by Cuarón himself. That being said, the influence of Lubezki is certainly felt on the style of cinematography (though similarities to the 3-time Oscar-winner is hardly a bad thing). That isn’t to say the film lacks visual character. it’s shot in stunning black-and-white with the camera moving in a hypnotic, smooth manner; rarely interrupted by cuts. The acting is as excellent as one would expect, with Yalitza Aparicio being a standout. Because of this, it is unfortunate that Cuarón rarely gives his actors the opportunity to show off their skills, as the camera is often pulled extremely far out; not allowing for much expression. There is an unspoken rule in film criticism to be sparing with the word “masterpiece”. If one overuses the term, it loses its gravity. That being said, Roma is a film worthy of the title. It is a narrative and technical marvel. It is an absolute masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NoahboyJul 13, 2019
Perfect production design, cinematography, and directing, while there are little flaws like scenes going on for a tad too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MahmusAug 22, 2019
The visuals, the acting and the direction are absolutely outstanding. This is clearly a very personal film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TilluAug 31, 2019
Roma is Alfonso Cuaron's masterpiece. It's slow but no painfull, subtle yet makes a massive impact on the viewer, it is unique and spectacular. It's complete lack of musical score combined with Cuaron's long takes makes it a must see film of 2019.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ken-senpai-Nov 9, 2019
This movie is pure art, from a perspective of a Mexican resident I need to say that It represents in a perfect way how it was in that time although the direction, photography and acting it's pretty good, the movie is personal for Cuaron andThis movie is pure art, from a perspective of a Mexican resident I need to say that It represents in a perfect way how it was in that time although the direction, photography and acting it's pretty good, the movie is personal for Cuaron and it's reflected in the script as they show a real personal history and set aside the historical conflicts and events, and the movie became just anecdote Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ericrendeiroNov 24, 2019
Reality in it's purest form. There will always exist a story for every little thing in this world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paulwxsDec 14, 2019
O resultado de Roma é o melhor que Cuarón poderia ter dado ao público. Perfeito tanto em aspectos técnicos, quanto narrativos. A fotografia faz sentido com a história, levando o espectador a sentir exatamente o que deveria em cada cena.O resultado de Roma é o melhor que Cuarón poderia ter dado ao público. Perfeito tanto em aspectos técnicos, quanto narrativos. A fotografia faz sentido com a história, levando o espectador a sentir exatamente o que deveria em cada cena.
Deveria ter ganho o Oscar de melhor filme :')
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
veryhappy_yayJan 11, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A beautiful, loving family drama story. It can make you tear up in most instances, and it has such a lovely, beautiful ending that can almost make you as happy as your first walk. Cleo's journey throughout is rough, sad, and the fact that she lost her baby was very emotional. I recommend this movie a million times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PalpetineSheevMar 20, 2020
*Me looking at all the audience reviews*:
Say boring again! I dare you! I double dare you muthafu-!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Alex_PMar 30, 2020
Roma... is single handedly the most slow paced and boring movie I have ever watched. But it is also the most exciting, scary, thought provoking and interesting movie I've ever seen. It takes it's time to tell a story, and it makes that clearRoma... is single handedly the most slow paced and boring movie I have ever watched. But it is also the most exciting, scary, thought provoking and interesting movie I've ever seen. It takes it's time to tell a story, and it makes that clear in the first couple minutes of the film, where we watch a floor being washed for a solid 3 minutes, which doesn't seem like long but it drags on. The first two acts are interesting, sure, but slow and it drags out. Then all of a sudden, in the third act, BAM! everything happens, and we have been well prepared with the previous hour and 30 minutes of film to deal with it. It is definitely not everyone's movie, but wow, it's one hell of a snail ride.
The cinematography speaks for itself, as most people associate Roma with the cinematography. It is fantastic, probably the best I've seen, but people don't give enough credit to the sound editing. If you haven't seen it yet, do NOT watch this on a tv (unless itis widescreen surround sound) watch it on a big phone or tablet, with a wide screen and put high quality surround sound headphones in. Obviously It would of been ideal to watch it at the cinema, but it's too late now. You really need to pay attention to this movie, don't have it on in the background, you need to watch it and focus on it
The reviews speak for themselves, this is less of a movie, more like Art, with a Capitol A.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews