Netflix | Release Date: November 21, 2018
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 645 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
523
Mixed:
55
Negative:
67
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
writergal9825Dec 28, 2018
Baffled by the positive reviews. This was one of the MOST BORING films I've ever seen! The main character shows almost no emotion throughout the movie. In one scene where she is rejected you think she'll FINALLY show some emotion but theBaffled by the positive reviews. This was one of the MOST BORING films I've ever seen! The main character shows almost no emotion throughout the movie. In one scene where she is rejected you think she'll FINALLY show some emotion but the camera does not show her reaction! Unbelievably tedious and boring and I kept wanting the movie to end, as I'll never get back the time I wasted watching it. Expand
16 of 21 users found this helpful165
All this user's reviews
0
AvidDivaNov 21, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am shocked at the reviews of this thing called Roma. First off, I have no idea what ROMA actually is. Is ROMA a person? A place? A terrible film? All of the above? This moving photograph will mean nothing to anyone other than a critic looking for a high brow concept with a low brow delivery. All I came away from the screening of this thing was #MaidsLivesMatter and... so what. The flimsy story is constructed around beautiful images, that more rightful belong in a photo album and not on a movie screen. I was appalled at the lack of reality in the substance of the characters. Also, I do not believe that the ending is in any way plausible. The character who was the weakest suddenly becomes superhuman and stronger than a riptide. I call bollocks. Any one who isn't trying to blow something up someones somewhere, will not like this movie, and that is most everyone. Expand
21 of 77 users found this helpful2156
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinMar 1, 2019
I fail to see why "Roma" is getting all the raves and awards it has been getting. In many ways, it reminded me of films from the 1950s and 1960s from European directors, mainly Italian, such as "Bitter Rice", "The Bicycle Thief", "Open City",I fail to see why "Roma" is getting all the raves and awards it has been getting. In many ways, it reminded me of films from the 1950s and 1960s from European directors, mainly Italian, such as "Bitter Rice", "The Bicycle Thief", "Open City", Michelangelo Antonioni, Robert Rossellini and Victoria De Sica. The main differences are that these films and directors didn't take 2+ hours to tell their stories or linger too long even by a second on a scene whether it be a boy looking out a car window or a dog jumping up against a gate. They brought new cinematography to the screen and more depth to their stories.

Maybe it has been a long time since critics/people have seen such films that reflect life between the classes or maybe "Downton Abbey" has given them a false picture of the same. There are little passions or emotions shown by the director/screenwriter Alfonso Cuaron.

The surprising aspect of "Roma" is the acting debut of Yalitza Aparicio as a maid who has a warm connection to the children of her employers and though she is a presence throughout the film it only comes alive when it concentrates on her trials and tribulations.

With the exception of maybe 15 minutes, I was bored during most of the 2-hour 18-minute "Roma".
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
DarrylTanJan 6, 2019
Roma is quite underwhelming. Its not for everyone, those in the comments below who raves about this movie probably saw something in it that i couldn't see. If we are going sentimental, there are better movies out there that portrays thatRoma is quite underwhelming. Its not for everyone, those in the comments below who raves about this movie probably saw something in it that i couldn't see. If we are going sentimental, there are better movies out there that portrays that emotion. This one doesn't seem to give it enough... impact. It could be the black and white scheme it went for, it could be something else. Just my opinion. Im don't watch many of these types of films, but some that i do watch has etched an impression on me. This doesn't seem to have. Good cinematography but bland protagonist and a story ive definitely seen or heard before a hundred times. Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
3
NavyBeanJan 1, 2019
I guess it depends why you go to the movies. I like movies that have a story. Apparently critics and the self-important art-house crowd only care how a film is shot. I even read one review that called it a "masterpiece" but also said it hadI guess it depends why you go to the movies. I like movies that have a story. Apparently critics and the self-important art-house crowd only care how a film is shot. I even read one review that called it a "masterpiece" but also said it had "not much of a story." Another, which was one of the lower rated, said something to the effect of "no one would care about this as much if it was done by another director." I shrugged my shoulders after the credits came on and will likely never independently think of this film again. Expand
12 of 15 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
3
czesiarudaJan 4, 2019
Bored AF. Boring,boring,boring and boring. There's raelly NOTHING going on. Only one scene in this movie is worth watching. ONE!And it's 135 minutes long!
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
2
Jkc3Jan 3, 2019
I'm Mexican I know all the movie talks about and all the places, and as much as I tried to like the movie it just doesn't. One thing good about this movie tho; the photography, really beautiful shot.
Now.... The actual history behind the
I'm Mexican I know all the movie talks about and all the places, and as much as I tried to like the movie it just doesn't. One thing good about this movie tho; the photography, really beautiful shot.
Now.... The actual history behind the movie is predictable, boring and poorly written. I never got to connect with any character, thanks to a very lack of emotions from them they are just cast into a one dimensional role, and they never get out of it. If he tried to portrait the maid as they are in Mexico (I mean very submissive and so desperate that they accept any circumstances) then all the other characters should have a large array of emotions so there's contrast. But there's just no contrast they're all superficial stereotype persons.
A lot of scenes could have also been removed and we could have ended up with a much shorter and less tedious movie instead we have a very long, predictable with a lot of useless scenes movie, might it repeat again there are some beautiful shots tho. I hope it doesn't get the Oscar because there are just so many better narrated and well shot movies out there.
I will end my review doing this comparison;
Roma is like a picture of some delicious food that you see it and it looks just so good, but then cut the picture and realize it was nothing but emptiness and regret to ever tried
Expand
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
3
SergioMaJan 9, 2019
Another Black and white? Can someone explain reasons? Some scenes are just there just to prove the director is an intellectual! However the birth scenes was a success, in contrast to the rest that feels excessively orchestrated!
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
3
WillCraigDec 23, 2018
My wife and I see a lot of movies every year -- over 100. Usually the critics are helpful in finding the good ones. They blew it on this one. Collectively! Some good photography, but usually not interesting material. No characterMy wife and I see a lot of movies every year -- over 100. Usually the critics are helpful in finding the good ones. They blew it on this one. Collectively! Some good photography, but usually not interesting material. No character insights. A waste of time. Expand
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
0
donkzJan 17, 2019
Using tabus to overwhelm human emotions into getting you a critical acclaim is a cheap way of making movies. I hate everything about movies like this. It's a masterpiece from the point of cinematography , but the story and its elements areUsing tabus to overwhelm human emotions into getting you a critical acclaim is a cheap way of making movies. I hate everything about movies like this. It's a masterpiece from the point of cinematography , but the story and its elements are straight up disgusting and unacceptable because all they meant to do to stir up the very core of your soul with sadness and empathy. Some might get off on this. I personally think movies like these should not exist, or only exist for those who seek them. Solid 0 in my book Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
3
imthenoobDec 19, 2018
Roma deals with a lot of filler, Such as characters doing these repetitive mundane tasks, and a painfully unoriginal plot that strikes almost every cliche possible: A young woman who recently broke up with her lover, An older woman dealingRoma deals with a lot of filler, Such as characters doing these repetitive mundane tasks, and a painfully unoriginal plot that strikes almost every cliche possible: A young woman who recently broke up with her lover, An older woman dealing with marriage issues and then the children dealing with their parents having problems. And all of this just so happens to take place in the same household. It's something I've seen hundreds of times before and it makes for a rather uninteresting watch, which is made even worse by all the nonsense filler. Roma is a typical Oscar-bait film, Plain and simple. Expand
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
1
ZlatanJan 20, 2019
Artsy movie that gets critics all fired up. In reality roma is a hollow and booring movie.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
3
banda89Jan 9, 2019
Una película que dividió opiniones en todos lados. Algunos la consideran una obra de arte, otros la clasifican como un intento de ser una película intelectual, cuando indudablemente no lo es.
Yo soy del tipo de personas que gusta de ir al
Una película que dividió opiniones en todos lados. Algunos la consideran una obra de arte, otros la clasifican como un intento de ser una película intelectual, cuando indudablemente no lo es.
Yo soy del tipo de personas que gusta de ir al cine y ver una historia en la pantalla. Como se desenvuelve y como llega a un clímax y a una conclusión.
No soy para nada un experto en cine, ni mucho menos. Ni tampoco soy amante de Derbez u Omar Chaparro, como muchos de los simpatizantes de Cuarón gustan etiquetar a los que no piensan igual que ellos.
Hablando objetivamente, la película tiene una fotografía increíble, como todas las películas de Cuarón (obviamente este es su fuerte, no la trama. Como ejemplo, tenemos Gravity).
Yalitza como Cleo hizo un buen trabajo considerando que no es una actriz.
Pero de ahí en mas creo que intenta demasiado ser una película "inteligente" de "arte" con su filtro en blanco y negro que no agrega nada. En fin. Cuarón una ves mas demuestra que su fuerte solamente es en lo visual, en lo que a historia respecta es aburrida y nada especial. No por nada la mejor película de Cuarón es Harry Potter 3, porque tuvo un gran material para trabajar.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
riordanpettDec 14, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing short of groundbreaking! Quality cinema. And no wonder it’s taken every award for Best Cinematography - so many beautiful shots, from the smashed mug on the floor to waves on the beach, to Cleo literally brushing up dog ****
Great acting, a good pacing, that can sometimes feel like a slow-burn but it all just comes together!

Now, my removal of 3 points may bare unpopular opinion, but I honestly felt like not a lot happened. It was a great film, with a pensive portrayal of the life of a beloved maid in 70s Mexico. Definitely one of the best films I’ve seen in ages, but I couldn’t tell what the climax was - the baby arriving or the kids drowning. While not every film needs a “climax” to sum up a great story, I just felt this was a slightly less enjoyable watch than A Star Is Born or even The Favorite. Roma is a film with a meticulously curated series of shots that cleverly cover a thin story. A film which the critics love but the audience may struggle to enjoy. I enjoyed it... It can take every Best Cinematography award, it’s unmatched this year, but Best Picture? Not too sure.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
OlivierPielDec 15, 2018
Critics fall over themselves for another slick foamy soapy film from Cuaron, with very simple cinematographic tricks. It is obviously copying Zerkalo (The Mirror) by Tarkovsky but with far less ingenuity, creativity and poetry. WhereasCritics fall over themselves for another slick foamy soapy film from Cuaron, with very simple cinematographic tricks. It is obviously copying Zerkalo (The Mirror) by Tarkovsky but with far less ingenuity, creativity and poetry. Whereas Tarkovsky makes his life and his memories interesting by cleverly destroying time and space, blurring the lines between reality and dream, and making us think, think, think about our own memories, Cuaron serves a linear, egotistical, boring diaporama of his own life that didn't touch me at all. All this of course with a heavy dose of sentimentality and "humanism" that can't go wrong with middle-class critics.
But what about the cinematography?
The initial slow constant circular movement of the camera is obviously designed to clash with the perpetual zig-zagging of the little bee worker, create this extra tension and the rest is just like that. The scene of the fire is completely in line with his work in "children of men" with camera shifting from different points of foci in the same frame. All this is probably well crafted, and different from Hollywood, but doesn't inspire any beauty or even elicit any form of intellectual reflection.
It's better than Gravity, but that doesn't say much!
Expand
12 of 22 users found this helpful1210
All this user's reviews
3
Brent_MarchantDec 7, 2018
OK, I'll say it -- when it comes to this film, the emperor is indeed naked. I'll admit that the film's stunning black-and-white cinematography is exquisite and that the scenes introducing the picture's final act are emotionally mesmerizingOK, I'll say it -- when it comes to this film, the emperor is indeed naked. I'll admit that the film's stunning black-and-white cinematography is exquisite and that the scenes introducing the picture's final act are emotionally mesmerizing (or maybe it's just that I was glad that something interesting was finally happening on the screen). Unfortunately, those are about the only redeeming qualities this release has to offer. The rest is a big, bloated, underdeveloped bore that tries the patience of even the most tolerant cinephile. It's obvious this was a heartfelt project for director Alfonso Cuaron, and his personal passion is written all over it. But, given that he's dealing with uninteresting characters in largely unexplained circumstances in a time frame for which little to no context or back story is provided, he's not giving the audience much to work with other than a glib implication that essentially says "This is authentic -- just trust me on this." Also, the picture's anemic attempts at incorporating philosophical and metaphysical themes show the filmmaker's got some brushing up to do in terms of effectively conveying his meaning in a comprehensible way. If you're willing to risk the time watching this, be sure to pack a pillow and a lunch. Expand
14 of 26 users found this helpful1412
All this user's reviews
0
mikebakuninDec 23, 2018
Every now and then a movie comes along that reviewers who want to appear sophisticated and "in the know" feel compelled to heap all kinds of praise upon. This is one of those movies. Boring, slow, tedious, and lame don't begin to describe it.Every now and then a movie comes along that reviewers who want to appear sophisticated and "in the know" feel compelled to heap all kinds of praise upon. This is one of those movies. Boring, slow, tedious, and lame don't begin to describe it. Hate is a strong word, but it is the only appropriate one to describe my feeling towards this waste of film. I honestly don't see how any real human being could like or enjoy this movie, and I suspect that very few actually did, despite their phony reviews. Expand
11 of 21 users found this helpful1110
All this user's reviews
2
ProteusJan 5, 2019
Character. Writing. Photography. Acting. These things make critics swoon. I prefer entertainment, excitement, originality, imagination, intensity, emotion, drama and comedy. Roma has none of those things.

If you are quite young, or naive, or
Character. Writing. Photography. Acting. These things make critics swoon. I prefer entertainment, excitement, originality, imagination, intensity, emotion, drama and comedy. Roma has none of those things.

If you are quite young, or naive, or a film critic who goes gaga on the story of a normal sensitive young women you may like this film. If you want entertainment go elsewhere. Boring movie.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
adyescuFeb 18, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the worst films I've ever watched in my entire life. I kept waiting for something to happen.

A complete waste of time…
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
leobrodskyJan 10, 2019
This is the most boring and dull movie I had ever watched. This movie may lead only to depression. Now I fully understand Donald Trump, who wants to build wall between USA and Mexico.
2 of 23 users found this helpful221
All this user's reviews
0
FrostyGammaDec 30, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What makes Roma an incredibly boring film? It is not for lack of plot; a lot happens to Cleo and the family for which she works. It is a misplaced focus. There is an enormous amount of screen time given to bands marching down the street and to street musicians, with whom the characters show no notice. There are numerous long shots of the courtyard, where you are left with counting how many piles of dog poop are there today. Only in a couple of scenes does anyone interact with the poop. There are numerous scenes of being careful not to let the dog out or to run after it, but in only one scene does anyone interact with the dog. There are scenes of the children playing and fighting that have nothing to do with the plot. When something dramatic does happen, all the emotion is drained out of the scene. It's like watching staged figurines covered in bubble wrap. It takes a skill to film scenes like a deadly riot, a stillbirth and a near drowning and leave the audience unmoved. Cleo manages to deliver the line about not wanting the baby to be born as if she's reading a news report. Was she ashamed, relieved, guilty? We'll never know. It's one thing to portray a stoic character, but that's not what is going on here. She seems robotic at the most dramatic times; she could show some emotion on her face and the director could capture that.

Frankly, part of me was hoping Cleo would drown saving the kids as I was so incredibly tired of watching her character and it might bring the film to a close sooner.

I kept watching the film to the end, hoping it would improve, but it never did. It is a self-indulgent bore and a waste of over two hours.
Expand
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
2
josefinayanezhJan 23, 2019
Boring black and white film. There is nothing interesting. The boring life of a domestic worker.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
SSH83Jan 25, 2019
A film for elitists to feel good about themselves. Liking this film is a way for them to feel like they're doing something for the little guys without actually doing anything. It's a slow, mostly boring, 100% predictable film that seek toA film for elitists to feel good about themselves. Liking this film is a way for them to feel like they're doing something for the little guys without actually doing anything. It's a slow, mostly boring, 100% predictable film that seek to conform than to stand out. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
MarkmantJan 26, 2019
This film is more seeing an exhibit of black and white photos in an art gallery rather than a movie. Pretty, but not much going on. To say that the pace is glacial would be an insult to the comparative fleetness of those rivers of ice. TheThis film is more seeing an exhibit of black and white photos in an art gallery rather than a movie. Pretty, but not much going on. To say that the pace is glacial would be an insult to the comparative fleetness of those rivers of ice. The plot is mundane, dialogue sparse, and action is almost non-existent. If you enjoy watching a maid do dishes, pick up dog poop, and do the laundry by hand, this is the movie for you. Go see Green Book, A Star is Born, or BlackkKlansman if you are looking for a best picture nominee to scratch off your list. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
9339Feb 3, 2019
The script was poorly written. Much of the acting overdone. I kept waiting for some redeeming value. I can't understand why the movie received any rating above 30.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
3
XV_Feb 17, 2019
Aside from the photography that looks great, there are a lot of issues within this movie, the passing, the plot, is pretentious and unfocused. On the other hand, there are certain things that seem 'empowering' but they are the other wayAside from the photography that looks great, there are a lot of issues within this movie, the passing, the plot, is pretentious and unfocused. On the other hand, there are certain things that seem 'empowering' but they are the other way around, sure it depicts a lot of issues like racism and social classes which is OK but my problem is that by the end of the movie it kind of have a racist and social message within itself, I don't think that it was intentional but is there. If you don't mind that, I hope you are prepared to lose like 2 hours of your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SrPepeFeb 23, 2019
No entiendo la increíble puntuación a está película, me pareció muy aburrida y lenta, con actuaciones poco destacables y una historia HORRIBLE. Tampoco entiendo el nombre de la película, que o quién es un Roma? Los sucesos a lo largo del filmNo entiendo la increíble puntuación a está película, me pareció muy aburrida y lenta, con actuaciones poco destacables y una historia HORRIBLE. Tampoco entiendo el nombre de la película, que o quién es un Roma? Los sucesos a lo largo del film son mega irrelevantes, no tiene nada de cinematográfico la vida de Cloe. Ojalá no gane el oscar porque es una película horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
hegyitahoFeb 24, 2019
Excellent cinematography but nothing worth seeing storywise. A film about nothing like Boyhood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
cristiansv12Mar 28, 2019
Extremely overrated movie. Plenty of scenes that are fillers and don't particularly go anywhere. I found some parts patronizing/ condescending, trying to show the "poor girl that faces plenty of difficulties in life" and "she is a minority!!Extremely overrated movie. Plenty of scenes that are fillers and don't particularly go anywhere. I found some parts patronizing/ condescending, trying to show the "poor girl that faces plenty of difficulties in life" and "she is a minority!! look at her, so poor!" kind of thing. It is like watching the life of a regular person, with ups and downs, and nothing more. The ending is abrupt, showing that there is really no real message, nothing concrete. It is a mash-up of things that can happen to anyone's life but what can be attractive to some is that it is not what many people might have lived in their lives. It is like a person that wants to go to a "poor country to appreciate life more" kind of thing. Maybe the "there is people in worst situations than me, why am I complaining about what I have?" message is understood as the "feel-good" part or "touching" and some people have said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
lmorinApr 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was memorable primarily for the tedium it brought to the screen. The subject matter has marginal merit--there are millions of such stories, mostly mundane such as this one--but most do not involve lengthy segments of material irrelevant to the focus of the movie (unless, of course, I just missed it; but that raises another issue...). What was the street battle all about? Why drag a weirdo ex-boyfriend back into the film after he had left the scene? Many minutes of screen time were spent on him and extraneous events related to him. There were many other tidbits which, when all are linked together, made this movie unpalatable and a waste of time. If you like art films, by all means, indulge yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
meadowstreamJul 20, 2019
This movie was a huge disappointment. The male characters are monochromatic and uniformly negative. The story is uninteresting. Most of the characters, regardless of gender, are self-absorbed and inaccessible. Personally, I appreciatedThis movie was a huge disappointment. The male characters are monochromatic and uniformly negative. The story is uninteresting. Most of the characters, regardless of gender, are self-absorbed and inaccessible. Personally, I appreciated insight into culture and class in Mexico City...but there was not enough of that and too much hating on males and highlighting of class inequalities. My wife and daughter, sophisticated people, were shocked that this was highly rated by critics - and it was their choice to watch. They wanted to stop after 30 minutes but I was convinced it had to get better. It didn’t. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
KoLudoNov 30, 2019
After watching this film I was moved to make an account.

If artsy black and white footage of cleaning up dog **** is your thing, you will love Roma. For everyone else, this is the emperor's new clothes of films. Dull, self indulgent, tripe.
After watching this film I was moved to make an account.

If artsy black and white footage of cleaning up dog **** is your thing, you will love Roma.

For everyone else, this is the emperor's new clothes of films. Dull, self indulgent, tripe. The cinematography is occasionally beautiful, but the story and characters are slow and dull. Very little happens, and that very little happens veeeerrrrry slowwwwwwwly.

I stopped watching after about 90 minutes. I don't remember the last film that was so bad I didn't want to finish it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
cagrierhanJan 3, 2020
Overrated.The story was disconnected from the flow but the shooting techniques and the acting were good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
SynapticAcidJan 9, 2020
This movie was terrible... so boring and pointless I couldn't even finish watching it. I cannot understand all the praise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheClownPrinceFeb 18, 2020
One of the most boring and pointless films I’ve ever seen. And I’m someone who enjoys “slow” movies but this takes it to an entirely new level. If you have interest in watching what feels like a documentary about a very nice yet uninterestingOne of the most boring and pointless films I’ve ever seen. And I’m someone who enjoys “slow” movies but this takes it to an entirely new level. If you have interest in watching what feels like a documentary about a very nice yet uninteresting person where nothing happens at all, here you go. She basically just climbs stairs slowly and cleans up dog poop over and over. Drink plenty of coffee if you have any intention of finishing this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews