Paramount Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 1954
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 233 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
216
Mixed:
11
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
FilipeNetoFeb 21, 2018
Jeff Jefferies is a photographer who likes to spy on the lives of his neighbors through the rear windows, until it begins to suspect that one of them killed his wife. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock, is written by John Michael Hayes, with theJeff Jefferies is a photographer who likes to spy on the lives of his neighbors through the rear windows, until it begins to suspect that one of them killed his wife. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock, is written by John Michael Hayes, with the participation of James Stewart and Grace Kelly.

This is one of the most famous films of Hitchcock and has been several remakes target. Like many of the films of this director, it could almost be staged as a play, given that almost all the action takes place in the same place: the apartment of the protagonist. The script is excellent, although moments of too much predictability. The performance of the main actors is impeccable and striking, and I consider this one of the best films of Kelly's career. The photograph also deserves a very positive note. The rest (soundtrack, costumes, scenery etc.) is reasonable without surprise or particular attention.

I always heard people talk of this movie when it came in Hitchcock's name. But to see the film, I was of the opinion that this director did some more interesting and remarkable films. Either way, it's a good movie, it is worth to be seen and appreciated, and that will please a lot to most suspense fans or thrillers.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
KingCrasherFeb 3, 2018
Hitchcock challenges our moral scruples with this mysterious thriller. The very natural talent of Stewart plays L.B. Jefferies, an adventurous man confined to his New York appartment through injury. The incredibly talented Kelly, plays hisHitchcock challenges our moral scruples with this mysterious thriller. The very natural talent of Stewart plays L.B. Jefferies, an adventurous man confined to his New York appartment through injury. The incredibly talented Kelly, plays his frustrated but devoted girlfriend who Jefferies needs to convince that he has witnessed a serious crime from his window. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ScorsescockFeb 4, 2018
A very suspenseful, well thought out, together movie, which doesn't get too complex but still manages to provide an interesting story and unique directing techniques which will stand out as one of Hitchcock's masterworks.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MartyMcFlyOct 2, 2018
My score 100
Metascore / User score 100 / 90
Tomatometer / Audience score 100 / 95
IMDB 85
(95)
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
marcmyworksJul 7, 2018
Hitchcock is the master of creating one room set films, in which we the audience see through the mind and eyes of the main character. Jimmy Stewart excellently plays a photo journalist, bound to a wheelchair, suspecting his neighbour ofHitchcock is the master of creating one room set films, in which we the audience see through the mind and eyes of the main character. Jimmy Stewart excellently plays a photo journalist, bound to a wheelchair, suspecting his neighbour of murdering his wife. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
auburnnOct 7, 2018
Hitchcock built a whole universe out of an apartment complex... We then, as audience, are witnesses to a man who spends his time peeping his neighbor. And... Grace Kelly looks stunning...
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AaronCBSJul 16, 2018
I absolutely love this film. It's either the #1 or #2 Hitchcock movie on my list (competing with Vertigo). The story is so compelling, and the set is simply amazing. I always love watching the action on the New York City street that you canI absolutely love this film. It's either the #1 or #2 Hitchcock movie on my list (competing with Vertigo). The story is so compelling, and the set is simply amazing. I always love watching the action on the New York City street that you can see through the little alley between the buildings. Such wonderful attention to detail. This film definitely deserves to be at the top of the Best Movies list. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970May 26, 2019
¿What does a man when has to stay home due a sickness or handicap? Despite the slow passed, Hitchcock knew the best for catching the attention of viewer due the detective plot and the magnetism of James Stewart.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ilmi_Mar 12, 2018
Yang kasih rate 0-3 berarti sengaja menjatuhkan karya orang lain, lu pikir bikin film itu mudah ? lu pikir penilaian sebuah film bagus atau tidak cuma dinilai dari plot nya / ceritanya saja misalnya ? kalo mau kontribusi kasih rate yangYang kasih rate 0-3 berarti sengaja menjatuhkan karya orang lain, lu pikir bikin film itu mudah ? lu pikir penilaian sebuah film bagus atau tidak cuma dinilai dari plot nya / ceritanya saja misalnya ? kalo mau kontribusi kasih rate yang objektif lah, pertimbangkan aspek2 lain dalam film tersebut (unsur2 intrinsik film). Saya pribadi sangat tidak suka dengan orang2 yang tidak menghargai karya orang lain, dengan melakukan penilaian hanya dari aspek2 tertentu, tidak menilainya secara keseluruhan (semua aspek yg ada dinilai) serta memberikan penilaian secara obyektif, bukannya berdasarkan emosi/perasaan sendiri semata, alias subyektif. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cameronhalmansNov 10, 2018
Rear window is pretty much perfection, Hitchcock’s opening sequence introduces you into this world of neighbors and all the happenings around James Stewart. Such an expertly crafted way to tell this story. Superb in every sense of the word. 100/100
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
UncleWillardMar 12, 2019
One of those instances where the movie is outdated for me. I'm not young by any stretch, but I find difficulty in engaging these older films. I also think, dare I say it, Hitchcock is not a director I'd put on my top 10 list. I won't say IOne of those instances where the movie is outdated for me. I'm not young by any stretch, but I find difficulty in engaging these older films. I also think, dare I say it, Hitchcock is not a director I'd put on my top 10 list. I won't say I don't like his movies, but I'm not an avid fan. I got one of the box sets and found myself bored through most of the movies, this one included. Sure, the color themes are intriguing, but I've seen so much better use of color. This is the issue I have with these groundbreaking films; the ground was broken so long ago, they have been oft imitated. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JustDugganJan 28, 2020
I love everything about this film. It is, in my opinion Hitchcock's finest film. Also Jimmy Stewart is amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxFeb 4, 2019
Charming even after six decades, Rear Window is a example how Hitchcok's movies ages well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RalfbergsFeb 2, 2018
Even though this probably is not my favorite Hitchcock movie, it is still one of the greats. I only recently saw his best movies as before I somehow rarely watched that old movies, but even as this is more than 60 years old, it still isEven though this probably is not my favorite Hitchcock movie, it is still one of the greats. I only recently saw his best movies as before I somehow rarely watched that old movies, but even as this is more than 60 years old, it still is really good and the suspense is there and everything else you love Hitchcock for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxFeb 4, 2020
Bon alors, j'aimerais -une fois n'est pas coutume- commencer par une note positive : la gracieuse Grace Kelly et sa blondeur enivrante ainsi que ses yeux bleus comme l'océan et... Mais d'ailleurs il faut se méfier, car son prénom prononcé àBon alors, j'aimerais -une fois n'est pas coutume- commencer par une note positive : la gracieuse Grace Kelly et sa blondeur enivrante ainsi que ses yeux bleus comme l'océan et... Mais d'ailleurs il faut se méfier, car son prénom prononcé à l'anglaise, ça donne "graisse"... Et on ne veut pas de graisse, non, non, pas du tout !

Alors, il vaut mieux dire "Grâce" avec un gros accent circonflexe sur le "a" mais ne pas l'utiliser comme adjectif parce que sinon ça donne "grasse"... Et elle n'est pas grasse, bordel de merde ! Mais passons, car je me rends compte que je meuble comme un crevard et que je fais mon Hitchcock quelque part ; je me regarde donc le nombril, je me gave de Lexomil (c'est pour la rime) j'allume 3000 watts de projos et je commence à film... à faire de la merde.

Je laisse le fâlot James Stewart en roue libre, avec lui quoi qu'il arrive, on commence déjà à s'endormir et j'étire mon espèce de pièce de théâtre qui dure pas loin de deux plombes au maximum : elle plombe tout avec un aplomb sidérant, hypnotique et surtout soporifique. Je veille bien à ce qu'il ne se passe strictement rien tandis que tout le monde mate ces automates à travers les fenêtres grandes ouvertes... sauf à la toute fin que je m'efforce de rendre encore plus ridicule que tout le reste, ce qui n'est pas une mince affaire...

...mais j'y arrive toujours parce que je m'appelle Hitchcock et qu'il paraît que les bobos m'ont surnommé le "maître du suspense" !! putain qu'est-ce qu'on rigole quand même...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TMProofreader3Aug 23, 2019
The best, GREATEST thrilling mystery movie ever made! With 2 of the best movie characters ever portrayed: James Stewart as L.B. Jeffries and Raymond Burr as Lars Thorwald!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheRaggedFlygonJul 27, 2019
Rear Window is an absolute masterpiece. Alfred Hitchcock is well known for his ability to make entire films out of one room and no film exemplifies this better than Rear Window. Throughout the film there is a constant state of suspense thatRear Window is an absolute masterpiece. Alfred Hitchcock is well known for his ability to make entire films out of one room and no film exemplifies this better than Rear Window. Throughout the film there is a constant state of suspense that is aided by convincing performances from Jimmy Stewart, Grace Kelly, and Thelma Ritter. Although this film is often overshadowed by better known Hitchcock films such as Vertigo and Psycho, this film still remains a must see for anyone as an absolute classic that should be in consideration for the greatest film ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RyoHaragaJul 23, 2019
グレース・ケリーの圧倒的な美貌が際立つ。物語や演出も巧妙に仕立て上げられているといえるが、彼女がいなければこのような高評価は与えなかっただろうと思う。
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RollinAug 15, 2019
Before the movie played in my photography class I was expecting a black and white film that still has charm (similar to It's A Wonderful Life minus Christmas). What I got was way greater than I'd ever imagined. The film has interestingBefore the movie played in my photography class I was expecting a black and white film that still has charm (similar to It's A Wonderful Life minus Christmas). What I got was way greater than I'd ever imagined. The film has interesting characters, great suspense, and an interesting plotline all from one room. On top of that it still holds up really well for a film made 60+ years ago. The one point deduction is more of a personal profession, since there are other movies that I just enjoy watching more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
i_m_a_blowfishNov 8, 2019
Its the best crime thriller portraying a message of love at the heart of it strictly visually.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews