Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2007
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1738 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,574
Mixed:
105
Negative:
59
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SabrinaM.Jun 30, 2007
It's been a while since I can just enjoy a movie, believe in the make-believe fantasies, and indulge myself in being touched without having to dip into any dialectical discussions of a film's philosophy and aesthetics...Ratatouille It's been a while since I can just enjoy a movie, believe in the make-believe fantasies, and indulge myself in being touched without having to dip into any dialectical discussions of a film's philosophy and aesthetics...Ratatouille is beautifully animated and surprisingly touching. Surely, there are the make-believe messages that may have seemed far-fetched in reality but totally in line with the objectives of Disney pictures, such as how the whole clan of rats (starring Remy's brother and father, who lack taste in food, or trust in humans--initially) creates a beautiful meal towards the end, or the worn out ideals of pursuing one's dreams as long as one invests passion (Gusteau says, "Everyone can cook"), or even just how Linguini can communicate with Remy; or, consider the ludicrous images of American cross-culturalism in a French context (the kitchen staff is all mixed with people of different backgrounds or ethnicities), and of all the French English accent. Yet, this film works because it opens one's eyes to the beauty of creativity and, to me personally, because it succeeds in bringing forward inspiring thoughts on the issue of criticism. In many ways, Anton Ego, the critic with a big ego, mirrors myself. A long, emanciated face and a menacing voice, his critique is sharp and pungent, making his opinion effective to the extent that it filters out the nonsense; his acute taste, while working to the advantage of offering judgments, hinders him in being open and positive about that which he is evaluating. When asked by Linguini why a critic who likes food looks so skinny, he says dogmatically, "I don't like food, I love food. If it's food that I don't love, I don't swallow it". The question is, what kind of a love for food is this? What does he love? How much is he appreciating food for food itself, or aware of the value of that which he chooses to spit out and grimace about? What is key is that there is an implicit downside in the nature of criticism if its focus is primarily on digging out the negative sides of the subject matter. After savoring the beautifully crafted ratatouille sensation that Remy and his clan put together, served by Linguini the cook/ waiter on wheels, he reevaluates his criteria for critique; after the unfortunate termination of the restaurant's business due to its unhygienic conditions (N.B. the rats), his credibility is damaged, but he is seen in Linguini's new bistro, enjoying the famed ratatouille, his occupation as a critic something of the past and the mean look of criticism gone from his face. Just as how his face lit up in childhood reminiscence of his mother's ratatouille when he first tastes Remy's creation, now he is rid of the need to be faultfinding, is broadening his love for food and, in that way, is closer to it. The phenomenal human touch at the end of this film touches me to open up myself, and reminds me that the critical taste of an individual comes not only with the act of opting for what is good, but also with embracing what may have seemed bad. To reject something when it does not seem good enough ("If it's food that I don't love, I don't swallow it") ruins the prospects of discovering something better to come, because that negative energy fails to give due credit to anything and alienates one from that which one professes to love. Note: Ratatouille is a vegetable dish from southen France, made out of eggplants, onions, garlic, green peppers, tomatoes, zucchini, with a variety of spices, simmered in olive oil. Have got to try this dish, and this film has got to be seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
E.B.Jun 30, 2007
Pixar had a lot to live up to with the release of their new film. They succeeded! It is so great to see a "Family Film" do so well in the theater, instead of all the trash that is out there. Long live Pixar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BibliotechaSanchezJul 1, 2007
Yeah, it was a great movie. The kids will love it. Anyone can cook. I never go to animation movies but this was good and I highly recommend it. It Does seem like 1940s Disney, back when Disney was at an imaginative peak and The Disney was Yeah, it was a great movie. The kids will love it. Anyone can cook. I never go to animation movies but this was good and I highly recommend it. It Does seem like 1940s Disney, back when Disney was at an imaginative peak and The Disney was runnin the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewG.Jul 10, 2007
This is surely one of the films from the 21st century that will be remembered, studied, and watched in 2107. Everything about this movie is perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanFJul 1, 2007
Genius! Just a brilliant, heartwarming, eloquent film from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeD.Jul 13, 2007
A good movie, but not among Pixar's best, in my opinion. There were no real surprises in the plot (the trailers give you pretty much all the clues you need about the major themes), and not nearly as much subtle humor as in, say, A good movie, but not among Pixar's best, in my opinion. There were no real surprises in the plot (the trailers give you pretty much all the clues you need about the major themes), and not nearly as much subtle humor as in, say, Monsters Inc. or Toy Story. What I mean by that is that Pixar's movies tend to really be two movies in parallel: one for kids made of colorful, funny, interesting characters following relatively simple plot lines; and one which only comes out through the dialogue, for parents who brought the kids (or kidless adults). Ratatouille had plenty of the former, little of the latter. Still, a good movie and worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
stevetJul 20, 2007
One of the best movies -- not animated movies, not rated-G movies -- I have seen. It is entirely captivating and after it was done, I knew I loved it but couldn't say exactly why. It wasn't just the voices or the artistry or the One of the best movies -- not animated movies, not rated-G movies -- I have seen. It is entirely captivating and after it was done, I knew I loved it but couldn't say exactly why. It wasn't just the voices or the artistry or the story. In the end, it was the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
scottJul 2, 2007
Oh hell yeah. Another home run for Pixar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlisaHJul 22, 2007
When this movie was first advertised, I said, "Wonderful ANOTHER shallow toddler movie!". I was mistaken. This movie has earned its rank of Universal Acclaim, it reminded me of classics like the Lion King, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, you When this movie was first advertised, I said, "Wonderful ANOTHER shallow toddler movie!". I was mistaken. This movie has earned its rank of Universal Acclaim, it reminded me of classics like the Lion King, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, you know, movies that aren't really made anymore. It had an engaging storyline with enough humor to make sure the mood doesn't get too dark, but it didn't keep everything light moodwise and that impressed me even more because sometimes you don't see that much at all. Honestly, I can't wait to see this again and am satisfied with it beyond measure, show it to your kids, heck show it to your entire family, it's worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JadeBJul 26, 2007
This is a nice movie. It isn't brilliant. Its cute, it isn't hilarious. Its mildly touching, it isn't transcendent. This movie seems to have gotten such rave reviews just because it isn't another convoluted summer mess. This is a nice movie. It isn't brilliant. Its cute, it isn't hilarious. Its mildly touching, it isn't transcendent. This movie seems to have gotten such rave reviews just because it isn't another convoluted summer mess. Director Brad Birds other movies, The Iron Giant & The Incredibles are easily superior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.H.H.Jul 2, 2007
An excellent film; not just an excellent kids film or an excellent animation film, an excellent film period. Wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DF.Jul 31, 2007
A fine film, full of witty lines and memorable characters. Although, not a classic like Toy Story or Finding Nemo, it sure to delight people of all ages
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanP.Jul 3, 2007
Fantastic movie, once again Pixar did it, and better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LineaJul 3, 2007
Oh man, it was definitely my favorite movie ever. There actually is a very good plot, and Linguini's character was done very well. The short before is hilarious!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnL.Jul 3, 2007
great movie!!! Beautifully crafted. Visually satisfying. And a lot of fun too!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZeeMJul 30, 2007
One Of My Favorite Original Animation Movie I have ever seen...Great Animation, wonderful and a touching story line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeonduP.Jul 3, 2007
The best animated movie I have ever seen. My kids and wife loved it too. Fantastic animation, and fantastic story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielC.Jul 4, 2007
George, it's a kids movie, not the godfather. Sure it doesn't make complete sense but it is a joy to watch. Kids will lap this one up. 4 stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScooterLJul 5, 2007
More intelligent and sophisticated than 95% of adult films. And it's a blast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkK.Jul 6, 2007
A well-spent 2 hours! Our kids liked it; I liked it; my wife liked it. Its only downside is that it could be trimmed to the more kid friendly 90 minutes. Still, 'Ratatouliie' is great fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneRJul 6, 2007
What an amazing film. I forgot it was animated and was as involved int he plot as I would have been with real actors. this is truly a gem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeT.Jul 7, 2007
In the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit I have not seen an animated film since 1999's Toy Story 2. Nevertheless, I can say with great certainty that this is one of the best movies I've seen in theaters in my life In the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit I have not seen an animated film since 1999's Toy Story 2. Nevertheless, I can say with great certainty that this is one of the best movies I've seen in theaters in my life (1985-). The animation was flawless, the vocal performances (especially Oswalt's and O'Toole's) were excellent, and the food looked good enough to eat! Though I've seen a number of good films in the past 7 years, the only ones to leave me feeling this uplifted were the Lord of the Rings and Batman begins (excellent company for any film to me). I can also say that Pixar has officially become what Disney's traditional animation used to be (up to 1994). As a side note, the Wall-E teaser was absolutely adorable and i look forward to it being the next Pixar masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClayTJul 8, 2007
A great movie. I was surprised by the amount of adult humor in the film. Kudos on making a movie that everyone can enjoy. I just hope Pixar doesn't lose it's focus and start putting out watered down versions of itself. Dreamworks A great movie. I was surprised by the amount of adult humor in the film. Kudos on making a movie that everyone can enjoy. I just hope Pixar doesn't lose it's focus and start putting out watered down versions of itself. Dreamworks replaced the wittiness of Shrek with poop and burp in Shrek the Third. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mercedesm.Aug 12, 2007
i can't actually believe that so many critics gave this 100. I found it quite boring and predictable. I wouldn't ever choose to watch it again or advise anyone to watch it. I didn't feel connected to any of the characters and i can't actually believe that so many critics gave this 100. I found it quite boring and predictable. I wouldn't ever choose to watch it again or advise anyone to watch it. I didn't feel connected to any of the characters and the ending was a disappointment. I was being kind giving this film 6. I don't know how this film managed to get 96 when Finding nemo only got 89. Finding Nemo can be watched over and over again and can never become boring. After pixar creating such a great film as finding nemo I was very disappointed with this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WynnJ.Aug 18, 2007
It reminded me so much of Babette's Feast, that great Danish film from the 80s. It's an ars poetica, in that it illustrates how art (food) is created and how it nourishes even the harshest of souls. The best film I've seen It reminded me so much of Babette's Feast, that great Danish film from the 80s. It's an ars poetica, in that it illustrates how art (food) is created and how it nourishes even the harshest of souls. The best film I've seen since last year's Pan's Labyrinth, and the best animated film since The Incredibles. Bravo Pixar! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleNAug 21, 2007
This movie was great! Very heartwarming and inspiring! Definitely lived up to my expectations and made me view rats in a whole new light!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackB.Aug 23, 2007
A good movie with great visuals and a good story, but younger kids wouldn't really get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarshaQ.Aug 20, 2007
I took my preschooler to see this movie and we both couldn't wait for it to be over. I was very disappointed in how slowly the storyline begins and drags on before it finally gets to the point of the movie. I don't believe this is I took my preschooler to see this movie and we both couldn't wait for it to be over. I was very disappointed in how slowly the storyline begins and drags on before it finally gets to the point of the movie. I don't believe this is worthy of being associated with Disney. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WeepstahW.Aug 27, 2007
Brad Bird is the best director working in Hollywood today. As good as The Incredibles, which is saying alot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThePlatypopeAug 9, 2007
I love movies. I am bold enough to say that, at certain times in my 16 years of being on this planet, I have lived for movies. Now, this is the best movie of the year thus far, by far. It's simply amazing the effort Pixar puts into I love movies. I am bold enough to say that, at certain times in my 16 years of being on this planet, I have lived for movies. Now, this is the best movie of the year thus far, by far. It's simply amazing the effort Pixar puts into their movies making them the one of most competent film studio around. The plot, silly? Yes. Genius? Yes. Sure the animation was good and all, but that was to be expected. The message of the film is that "change is good." Highlighted in the trip to the pest control window, the rat and his father take. If only all change could amount to a brilliant film such as this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnG.Sep 13, 2007
Being an adult, I'm usually pessimistic about watching animated cartoons.... but ever since Pixar first came out, they have captivated me. A combination of great voice acting, a delightful plot, and computer animation makes Pixar one of Being an adult, I'm usually pessimistic about watching animated cartoons.... but ever since Pixar first came out, they have captivated me. A combination of great voice acting, a delightful plot, and computer animation makes Pixar one of my favorite companies. Each year, they get better and better.....and this year, they topped the cake. Ratatouille must be one of my favorite movies this year so far... From the very beginning, it captured my attention, and kept it from beginning to end. It's a film for everyone, and a must see. I highly recommend this movie. Bon Apetit! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BroderickG.Sep 18, 2007
I've already seen it multiple times, but this movie just won't leave me. There is no one in the industry like Pixar, and after Ratatouille, I doubt anyone will ever get close.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EleanorSep 25, 2007
Cameron A. who gave Ratatouille a rating of 0 obviously cannot appreciate sophisticated humor. Considering that review demonstrates an inability to spell and use correct grammar, I'm sure you'll forgive me for not taking it Cameron A. who gave Ratatouille a rating of 0 obviously cannot appreciate sophisticated humor. Considering that review demonstrates an inability to spell and use correct grammar, I'm sure you'll forgive me for not taking it seriously. Ratatouille conveys humor through many subtle channels that you don't see very often in both "adult" or "children" films these days. The facial expressions and hand gestures say as much as the actual dialogue and is another demonstration of Pixar's high animation quality. Ratatouille leaves you feeling warm and happy. Not to mention a craving for the actual dish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MihailsB.Sep 3, 2007
Top professional and good movie. Just super.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattA.Jan 12, 2008
This film is so beautiful it honestly brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkRJan 14, 2008
Brad Bird is the man. This an the Incredibles truly are masterpieces of character driven animation. How is it that Pixar are SO FAR ahead of anyone else? Outstanding and long may they continue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrederikP.Mar 1, 2008
The most beautiful movie i have ever seen. I love the message of Ratatouille.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyM.Mar 7, 2008
At first when I saw the ad on TV for this film, I really had a strong doubt that I would have enjoyed it as much as Toy Story, or Bugs Life, and I will I didn't. But the movie still deserved a flat out 10. Pixar had not let us down. The At first when I saw the ad on TV for this film, I really had a strong doubt that I would have enjoyed it as much as Toy Story, or Bugs Life, and I will I didn't. But the movie still deserved a flat out 10. Pixar had not let us down. The animation was great, and the conflict was something that I had NEVER seen before. It was a total breath of fresh air. Watch this movie as soon as you get the chance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisSMay 4, 2009
This is a very good movie and visually stunning but lets not get carried away on it being a masterpiece or anything of that nature
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayA.Aug 10, 2009
The rat scenes are great; but the chefs are cliched and the dust boy Linguni kills the film with his over done voice and constant screaming. I can't believe it has such high critical acclaim.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KyleRJan 25, 2010
I liked this movie its a work of art pixar is does it again, good stuff... now for everyone wondering why this is rated top movie of all time status.. SPOILER.. a character in this movie has strong ties and relates to critics.. may be why I liked this movie its a work of art pixar is does it again, good stuff... now for everyone wondering why this is rated top movie of all time status.. SPOILER.. a character in this movie has strong ties and relates to critics.. may be why critics love this.. if i ever make a movie ill be sure to give a critic a main role lol but i could be wrong this is a good movie its just not 10 worthy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AudrianaJan 4, 2010
I give this a 10!! I captivated me from the start of the movie to the credit role!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jahazielfFeb 24, 2010
One of the most charming movies ever made. no company in the world knows how to approach making a character, and remy is one of their best. this movie has everything. it has a great story, wonderful charm, clever humor throughout, even a One of the most charming movies ever made. no company in the world knows how to approach making a character, and remy is one of their best. this movie has everything. it has a great story, wonderful charm, clever humor throughout, even a couple of action sequences. also, if you're watching it on blu-ray in 1080p, this will one of the most breathtaking visual feasts you will ever come across. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackCApr 17, 2010
Such a great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
stoshwNov 11, 2007
Maybe this was a case of expectations having been raised far too high before I saw this movie , but it was just OK. Technically brilliant , but it felt slow and draggie to me and I was just never caught up in it. I was glad when it ended and Maybe this was a case of expectations having been raised far too high before I saw this movie , but it was just OK. Technically brilliant , but it felt slow and draggie to me and I was just never caught up in it. I was glad when it ended and I can't believe that kids would be that taken with it. As someone already mentioned , it's not a movie that would be fun to watch a second time like finding Nemo or the Toy Stories. Maybe I'm not foodie enough , but I actually think giving it a 7 is pretty generous on my part. Your tastes may vary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanaG.Nov 27, 2007
The best movie of pixar!! i love remy! ... Very fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VinothT.Nov 3, 2007
i find it interesting because it has used new technique such as the fog and the place where the Gasteau is situated the cartoon (or more like a film ) shows why is the Pixar company a leading company in animated movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KhoiNNov 6, 2007
Surprisingly good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyC.Nov 7, 2007
One of the best films of 2007.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
turtle360Nov 8, 2007
I haven't actually seen the movie, but my friends told me it was really good. The reason I'm posting is to clear something up for some retards. METACRITICS DOES NOT RATE MOVIES. So, for the people(Ratatouille & Cameron) that gave I haven't actually seen the movie, but my friends told me it was really good. The reason I'm posting is to clear something up for some retards. METACRITICS DOES NOT RATE MOVIES. So, for the people(Ratatouille & Cameron) that gave it a horrible score and blame metacritics, don't. I mean, have you people even seen a movie get a score by metacritics? No. All what they do is grab all the rating from other critics and give an avarage of what they're giving it. Yeah, so please stop being so retards. Thank you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LulaM.Jun 29, 2007
The rapturous reviews are right on target - not only is the movie completely delightful, it makes use of every inch of the big screen. It's really worth going out of your way to see this in best theater you can find. The visuals may be The rapturous reviews are right on target - not only is the movie completely delightful, it makes use of every inch of the big screen. It's really worth going out of your way to see this in best theater you can find. The visuals may be state of the artist, but the story-telling is completely classic. In every other sense, this movie could have been written and made in 1939 - and I mean that as the highest compliment of all. Do no miss! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Jun 30, 2007
Like the great animated movies before it (A bugs Life, Monster Inc, Sharks Tale), this movie captures the same fun and creativity. I'm not much for kids films but a story of a rat that cooks is a brilliant idea that turned out to be a Like the great animated movies before it (A bugs Life, Monster Inc, Sharks Tale), this movie captures the same fun and creativity. I'm not much for kids films but a story of a rat that cooks is a brilliant idea that turned out to be a enjoyable 2 hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueP.Jun 30, 2007
It's excellent!!!!!! one of the best animated films i have ever seen. is amazing how a rat can get into a human heart being so ugly. I expected less from it and it really capt my attention at all. I hope it wins an oscar and a lot of It's excellent!!!!!! one of the best animated films i have ever seen. is amazing how a rat can get into a human heart being so ugly. I expected less from it and it really capt my attention at all. I hope it wins an oscar and a lot of awards. Its a new story, something new and excelent!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColetteC.Jun 30, 2007
Pure sensory delight! Ratatouille is an enthralling tale, beautifully animated -- a real masterpiece. You know it's good because it doesn't rely on the same 'ol worn out stuff: nudity, crudity and rudeness. It's sweet and Pure sensory delight! Ratatouille is an enthralling tale, beautifully animated -- a real masterpiece. You know it's good because it doesn't rely on the same 'ol worn out stuff: nudity, crudity and rudeness. It's sweet and delicious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BudW.Jul 1, 2007
a foodie's delight. we're just back from paris, eating high on the hog. Wish I knew about the bistro.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Odilonc.Jul 1, 2007
Very creative movie. Finally a different ending in a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanTJul 1, 2007
Pixar never disappoints.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnJul 1, 2007
What can you say about a masterpiece? This movie draws your attention from the start and takes you along for a wild ride. It is easily one of the best animated movies I have ever seen (which is saying a lot when you compare it to 'The What can you say about a masterpiece? This movie draws your attention from the start and takes you along for a wild ride. It is easily one of the best animated movies I have ever seen (which is saying a lot when you compare it to 'The Lion King'). Do yourself a favor and see a classic in the movie house with your family. And if you don't have a family, sneak in behind one. You won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimDJul 1, 2007
This is one of best movies I've ever seen--so much to learn from it, no ridiculous violence or language, great messages, and my kids LOVED it too--I couldn't ask for more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Jasons.Jul 12, 2007
Very fun to watch! this is a comlete movie. it seems animation movies are a more complete movie then most of these blockbuster films, as far as story, charecter, and detail etc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KayleeC.Jul 10, 2007
After reading the extremely positive AND the extremely negative, I wanted to comment on the movie as well. I didn't get a chance to look at Metacritic before seeing the movie earlier today, and I have a feeling that my opinion would be After reading the extremely positive AND the extremely negative, I wanted to comment on the movie as well. I didn't get a chance to look at Metacritic before seeing the movie earlier today, and I have a feeling that my opinion would be different if I had. A score of 95 universal acclaim is...rather high. I suppose the reason I loved this movie so much is that I had no previous expectations. So yes, I loved it - I'd say that it is the most visually appealing of all Pixar films, when all of them are amazing to the eye. I would also say that the story - an major factor in the success of a film - was better than Cars, and even The Incredibles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sujals.Jul 15, 2007
This was the best Pixar movie ever, and to me that means something. I thought the story was awesome, the acting was good, and the animation was downright amazing. Go see this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieSJul 21, 2007
Will rank as one of Pixar's very best films. It's not a fast paced "action cartoon", so the youngest kids might get a little bored. I'd say it's for the 8 and up crowd, the dialog is very adult in several ways so Will rank as one of Pixar's very best films. It's not a fast paced "action cartoon", so the youngest kids might get a little bored. I'd say it's for the 8 and up crowd, the dialog is very adult in several ways so don't expect a "kiddie film", it's not. The clever story is full of creative twists and turns, one of those rare films you forget about time and become deeply involved in the "story". Visually, it's the best animated film so far, but can you really call it animated when it all appears so real? In sum, go see it now on a Large Screen... while the DVD will be great, seeing this one in a theater is well worth the money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TristanF.Jul 2, 2007
Fantastic! The best Pixar film yet. The animation is absolutely breathtaking. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelAJul 2, 2007
Dare I say, better than The Incredibles, Finding Nemo, AND Toy Story!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KNS.Jul 2, 2007
There's so much in this world that is sad or horrible or disgusting or tragic, so when something comes along and gives you so much joy and beauty and hope, it's time for celebration. And celebrate is what I'm doing after There's so much in this world that is sad or horrible or disgusting or tragic, so when something comes along and gives you so much joy and beauty and hope, it's time for celebration. And celebrate is what I'm doing after seeing Ratatouille. I cannot think of another film that was so full of life and emotion presented in such a stunningly beautiful way. Whodathunk a rat in a kitchen could be a promising premise for a movie? But with this particular rat in this particular kitchen in the hands of this particular film maker in this particular studio it WORKS! Ratatouille teaches us about fulfilling your potential and following your dreams, and ultimately shows us the joy that comes with excellence (which could be the story of Pixar itself). Yes, I now believe a rat can indeed be a great chef! It is the stuff dreams are made of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterJ.Jul 27, 2007
Ratatouille is one of the best if not the best movies I have seen in my life. The animation, voice acting, and storyline all come together to make what is now one of my favorite movies. It is a movie that children or adults can enjoy. If Ratatouille is one of the best if not the best movies I have seen in my life. The animation, voice acting, and storyline all come together to make what is now one of my favorite movies. It is a movie that children or adults can enjoy. If your looking for a fantastic movie, you must see Ratatoulie!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenM.Jul 4, 2007
Pixar proves that anyone can make a CG movie, but only they can tell a good story and amke you forget that you're watching animation to begin with. Walking out of the moive, it struck me that DIsney is back, after years of mediocrity; Pixar proves that anyone can make a CG movie, but only they can tell a good story and amke you forget that you're watching animation to begin with. Walking out of the moive, it struck me that DIsney is back, after years of mediocrity; they have chosen the true succesor, and that is Pixar. Dreamworks, Sony, et al. have lessons to learn. Story is more important to a kids film that cute animations and sly jokes and innuendo aimed at the parents. A good movie is a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshCJul 4, 2007
Absolutely stunning in this movie. Spectacular story, characters are well done. Absolute triumph of animation of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanJ.Jul 4, 2007
A unique and surprisingly sophisticated animated film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HomanM.Jul 4, 2007
This is by far the best animation of all time. the graphics are so stunningly amazing that I basically forgot I was watching an animation. In addition, the sweet and sour moments of the film along with the amazing originality make it the This is by far the best animation of all time. the graphics are so stunningly amazing that I basically forgot I was watching an animation. In addition, the sweet and sour moments of the film along with the amazing originality make it the best animation of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnC.Jul 5, 2007
Everything works. The best Pixar/Disney yet. The kids loved it. People applauded - and sat through the credits - always good signs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackL.Jul 5, 2007
I think it is a great animation movie and it deserves a 95 score. The movie has a lot to tell to us, especially to the American culture nowadays. These days, in movie (specially in kid's movies), television or on radio, we are told to I think it is a great animation movie and it deserves a 95 score. The movie has a lot to tell to us, especially to the American culture nowadays. These days, in movie (specially in kid's movies), television or on radio, we are told to believe that we can achieve anything that we desire if we try hard enough; or that we have to dream BIG and we will go far. These positive or optimistic messages, asides from its good effect, can create in the minds of young children a harmful illusion that they CAN make dreams come. But In Ratatouille, we can find a better ground to believe in that SOMETIMES, in life, we would never succeed in the field that is not suited our talents; and that we should do what fits our talents and passion. Look at Linguini, he was not born for cooking, and in the end, even knowing his father was a great chef, HE DOES NOT TRY TO BECOME A CHEF but rather sticking to what he does best, serving the tables. I think that a really good point that the movie makes. You do not need to choose a big career, such as a chef, a singer, an actor or actress, to have a chance to be called "great" or "talented". Besides this, the movie also make a really good point on the nature of criticism, and mankind in general. We, especially the critics, usually try to point out the mistakes, both minors and majors, that exist in others, movies or people. If someone shows us a blank, white paper with a small black dot in the middle and ask : "what do you see?", most of us will naturally respond that "I see a black dot." We always focus on the black dot that we again naturally forget to see and enjoy the whole white paper. In George H's criticism as well as some others, I see some mistakes that they point out such as why do they have microwave dinners in the 50's, DNA test, or why do most of the chefs have English-French accent in such a famous French restaurant, etc. It is good to point out these but these for me are unimportant. I think the whole staff of the movie-makers, there must be at least one notice that why in a French restaurant in the 50's do the chefs have English-French accent. But they let it go so that they can make their message loud and clear on criticism's nature. People will surely point out those mistakes and thinking that they the critics themselves are "great" for seeing and focusing on such mistakes. And George also saying that "How the rat - whatever his name was - comes to communicate and control the kid's bodily function is entirely ludacriss (correction: ludicrous) and makes no sense". It is the movie George!!! It is creativity and imagination. Why does in Cinderella, the mice can become such a beautiful horses, or why does a wolf can disguise as a grandma.? I mean it is imagination and imagination is NOT "weak" or "ludicrous". One more thing, the characters have their name!!! However, I understand that it is hard to remember the names when one's mind is so focusing on the mistakes. Anyway, GREAT MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimGJul 6, 2007
Delightful. Visually exciting, simple sweet story. Everything you want in an summer animation escape. A little troubling that Disney still equates villains with strong ethnic features. What is up with that? Also confusing that the "lovable" Delightful. Visually exciting, simple sweet story. Everything you want in an summer animation escape. A little troubling that Disney still equates villains with strong ethnic features. What is up with that? Also confusing that the "lovable" characters all speak in American dialects whereas anyone else has a heavy accent. Strange. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JYJul 6, 2007
Pure fun! The movie began, and the laughter in the theater never stopped. The kids absolutely loved it, so did all the adults. After the movie, I heard a woman's voice go "it's such a good movie".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErikHAug 10, 2007
I absolutely loved it! My favorite film of the year thus far!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeoJ.Aug 16, 2007
best hit of the year, no doubt about it. Ian Holm and Peter O'Toole had rocked me to my core!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GraceC.Aug 17, 2007
A heartwarming movie which harks back to the glory days of disney animation. After a long string of contrived, cutesy efforts which insult the intelligence of the viewers, it is truly refreshing to see a film which matches the sheer heart A heartwarming movie which harks back to the glory days of disney animation. After a long string of contrived, cutesy efforts which insult the intelligence of the viewers, it is truly refreshing to see a film which matches the sheer heart and magic of treasured classics like The Little Mermaid and Beauty and The Beast. The animation, storyline and comic timing are impeccable and the charm undeniable. Definitely a cartoon that will appeal to both kids and adults. Hopefully Pixar will continue to roll out gems like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AliM.Aug 17, 2007
This film was really funny and the plot was suprisingly good too. however, its rating of 96 (made up mainly of the publicity and attention craving 'critics') puts it above the majority of great classics. If you actually honestly This film was really funny and the plot was suprisingly good too. however, its rating of 96 (made up mainly of the publicity and attention craving 'critics') puts it above the majority of great classics. If you actually honestly believe that Ratatouille is better than; Schindlers List, Shawshank Redemption, Lord of the Rings etc then thats fine. Its just that, somehow, I don't think you do... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlaS.Aug 19, 2007
These movie is one of the best any studio has produced in the last couple of years. Not only is it technically superb but the story line, the depth and complexity of the characters, the rythm of the events, every single part of this movie These movie is one of the best any studio has produced in the last couple of years. Not only is it technically superb but the story line, the depth and complexity of the characters, the rythm of the events, every single part of this movie makes it a true contemporary master piece. It is so enjoyable that my dad (59) and myself (32) have watched it three times already at the movie theatre. It is a beautiful work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleHAug 2, 2007
You know, it is said that movies aren't made like they used to be. While this is very true for Ratatouille in the sense that computer-generated 3D animation was not around back in the day, Pixar has mostly proven the saying wrong. There You know, it is said that movies aren't made like they used to be. While this is very true for Ratatouille in the sense that computer-generated 3D animation was not around back in the day, Pixar has mostly proven the saying wrong. There is just something so classy about the films they make and Ratatouille is no exception. It is cute and funny and all-around enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeS.Aug 25, 2007
This movie is one of the best ive seen, and probably THE BEST ANIMATED MOVIE EVER!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RavenX301Aug 27, 2007
I still dont think Bard Birds films stay with me as long as John Lasster.....there missing a spiecal kid like charm with an adult mind. Still Bard bird is one of our greatest directors and thank god for Pixar.....could you image if all the I still dont think Bard Birds films stay with me as long as John Lasster.....there missing a spiecal kid like charm with an adult mind. Still Bard bird is one of our greatest directors and thank god for Pixar.....could you image if all the animation films were from the 'new' dinesy? YUCK! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyV.Aug 29, 2007
A film that moves with gusto and wit, Ratatouille far exceeded my expectations. The best animated movie I've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sheeceAug 29, 2007
A must watch for dreamers and people who love great dialogues. The movie is crafted well - the best character for me though is Anton Ego - the food critic. He has the best lines.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
G-RadAndrewSep 3, 2007
It's not like Finding Nemo or The incredibles, this one is different and a little bit of a change for Pixar. But the changes I liked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanPSep 30, 2007
Really great. All you really have to say is Pixar and the review is written.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GinnyOct 17, 2008
Cute. But no matter how much a rat washed himself, I don't think I'd let it near food. Yuck.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BLOct 17, 2008
This movie gets better each time you watch it. Beautiful! If you "didn't get it" you probably don't have a soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GordSJan 26, 2008
For shear entertainment value, the best movie my wife and I have seen in a very long time. Not only is it very funny and charming, but it is visually superb. Every scene is perfectly executed. I never buy DVDs but I am definitely considering For shear entertainment value, the best movie my wife and I have seen in a very long time. Not only is it very funny and charming, but it is visually superb. Every scene is perfectly executed. I never buy DVDs but I am definitely considering this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnB.Jan 4, 2008
Absolutely brilliant. The level of detail on the animation, and nuance in the story line and characterizations, make this the one all future 3d-animated movies must aspire to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpikeS.Feb 12, 2008
This was, without a doubt, an awesome film, but why are some people who thought it sucked blaming Metacritic for the rating when all they do is average out the reviews given by other companies? They must be nuts...or lonely!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimR.Feb 26, 2008
I guess I'm missing something. Maybe I waited to long to see this movie and the hype just killed it. It was a fine movie. Beautiful, funny, charming. But I don't get the rave. I thought Finding Nemo was much more entertaining and I guess I'm missing something. Maybe I waited to long to see this movie and the hype just killed it. It was a fine movie. Beautiful, funny, charming. But I don't get the rave. I thought Finding Nemo was much more entertaining and much less predictable. This is a nice movie, but a 96 puts it ahead of Lord of the Rings, Schindler's List and Star Wars. I think not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomP.Mar 17, 2008
I agree completely with Jim R. He nailed it. Nice, just not THAT nice, and certainly not Pixar's best movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MelSMar 6, 2008
It's long, but worth the surprise at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VidhiT.Apr 13, 2008
Simply awesome! It has the perfect mix of everything. A truly inspirational movie for those who seek to make a memorable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamT.Apr 25, 2008
A charming, funny, memorable and beautifully animated film that deserves your immediate watching and re-watching. Pixar have done it again and they show no signs of getting tired.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.Apr 3, 2008
Simply perfect
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrevorM.May 11, 2008
One of those movies where seeing it again just makes it better. After 4 or 5 viewings, I am totally in awe of the subtlety and artistry that's captured over and over again. Some of the sequences are, as one review puts it, balletic. And One of those movies where seeing it again just makes it better. After 4 or 5 viewings, I am totally in awe of the subtlety and artistry that's captured over and over again. Some of the sequences are, as one review puts it, balletic. And Paris rarely looked so good - even if it IS generated in a computer. Anyone who tells you this is a kid's movie... is kidding themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlyssaC.Jun 15, 2008
The story plot was unique. I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful