Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2007
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1723 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,560
Mixed:
104
Negative:
59
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
davenbettridgeNov 7, 2011
Its very very difficult to get food appetizing in a cartoon and the animators did a great job in this movie. I enjoyed the culture of the film but the overall story was a little too predictable and standard, perhaps the movie needed moreIts very very difficult to get food appetizing in a cartoon and the animators did a great job in this movie. I enjoyed the culture of the film but the overall story was a little too predictable and standard, perhaps the movie needed more laughs. It's not Pixars best but Ratatouille was a fun and worth while animated movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Oct 9, 2011
Out of all 12 Pixar films, Ratatouille has to be the finest if only because it is one of the most visually stunning movies ever made. While other films try to show off the majestic look of Paris (Midnight in Paris, Taken and Monte Carlo) theyOut of all 12 Pixar films, Ratatouille has to be the finest if only because it is one of the most visually stunning movies ever made. While other films try to show off the majestic look of Paris (Midnight in Paris, Taken and Monte Carlo) they never really succeed and its odd that the film that finally pulls it off isn't even live action. If anything Ratatouille is the most grown up of the Pixar fold (even Up) with the story being remarkably layered and engrossing. Sure the beginning is a bit slow but the slow build works because when Remy finally crawls out upon the magnificent vista that is Paris the film takes flight. It is a fast paced story of a rat named Remy (Voiced by Patton Oswald) who has always wanted to be a chef despite his obvious limitations He finally gets that chance thanks to an inept yet lovable human named Linguini (Lou Romano). There are some truly stunning parts of Ratatouille but you I won't ruin them because they really are fantastic. Of course it is a film for both child and adult as every other Pixar film but the thing that holds it up above all the others is the fact that the film builds as it goes. Unlike Up which has a brilliant opening sequence but doesn't live up to it, Ratatouille gets better as it goes with one moment near the end with Peter O'Toole's Ego being a brilliant piece of film despite the fact there are absolutely no words spoken. It is a classic film that gave me lots to think about after I watched it and even more after I watched it again. A real masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RaulM.Sep 23, 2009
In my opinion, THE greatest animated film of all time, and one of the greatest all-around films of all time. It's perfect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JessicaG.Dec 7, 2007
It seems so sad that some of the the fan written reviews written on this site are below the score of a 10. This movie is so appealing to the eye and has such a wonderful story that I do not understand the horrible reviews the fans have been It seems so sad that some of the the fan written reviews written on this site are below the score of a 10. This movie is so appealing to the eye and has such a wonderful story that I do not understand the horrible reviews the fans have been giving it? Are you all just trying to be different because everyone seems to like the movie and you have some kind of problem with an animated pixar film? Suffice it to say, whomever have scored this movie in the yellow or red are officially morons. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
not my favorite movie, but it has great entertainment, great writing, and most of all: great animation.

Rating: 85%
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TitaniumDragonJun 6, 2016
This movie hits an excellent balance of humor and emotion. Remy is a great protagonist, the kitchen staff is fun, and the critic has the single best monologue of any character in any Pixar film. The movie isn't perfect, but it is definitelyThis movie hits an excellent balance of humor and emotion. Remy is a great protagonist, the kitchen staff is fun, and the critic has the single best monologue of any character in any Pixar film. The movie isn't perfect, but it is definitely good enough to earn a 10/10; the slower moments are made up for by the quality of the rest of the film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of Pixar's best movies yet. Remy the rat wants to become a chef and his dream comes true when he accidentally ends up in Paris and and discovers a 5-star restaurant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Apr 9, 2013
Ratatouille has more life, meaning and intelligence then almost every film out there. Pixar has always done a fantastic job of reaching out to children, while drawing adults in and Ratatouille is no exception.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettAug 23, 2015
Simple and genius in one pot. Good example of flawless quality of Pixar movies. Good for any ages, almost 2 hours of good laugh and relaxing watching guaranteed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 19, 2013
Even though it's rated G, this film has such an adult way of playing out and is very sophisticated. It is a melting pot of a movie. You get a little bit of French cooking, the secret ways of how a restaurant operates, you get a feel forEven though it's rated G, this film has such an adult way of playing out and is very sophisticated. It is a melting pot of a movie. You get a little bit of French cooking, the secret ways of how a restaurant operates, you get a feel for 1930's Paris, and most importantly you feel the clique between Linguine and Collette. All of these elements come together in one helluva movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jollyjoe1000Nov 25, 2015
This one of the reasons pixar is great.They can make anyone or anything lovable. Evan if it is a rat. Remmy is a good black sheep,and every time I watch this movie it makes me hungry.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
maninderkaurMar 16, 2018
This is the best animated movie I have ever see, Ideal for kids. Fantastic and fabulous are the only words I can say. Entertainment + Emotions + Inspiration + Soothing Music = Ratatouille Best I've seen so far!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ValerieWJul 19, 2007
This is a Pixar film that really appeals to both children and adults. The beautiful animation, the humor, the look inside a French restaurant kitchen are for the grown-ups. And there's also plenty of silliness and excitement for the This is a Pixar film that really appeals to both children and adults. The beautiful animation, the humor, the look inside a French restaurant kitchen are for the grown-ups. And there's also plenty of silliness and excitement for the kids. And this animated Paris is breathtaking - I wanted to jump right on a plane. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful
10
JawsPapi87Aug 12, 2011
This movie is the start of a flawless four film streak by Pixar from 2007's Ratatouille to 2010's Toy Story 3. This one is one the especially strong Pixar efforts in terms of Comedy. There's also a pure artistic appeal to the whole film,This movie is the start of a flawless four film streak by Pixar from 2007's Ratatouille to 2010's Toy Story 3. This one is one the especially strong Pixar efforts in terms of Comedy. There's also a pure artistic appeal to the whole film, wether it's the animation itself, the French sets or the whole animated city of Paris, this movie seems like one of the most delicately executed and thought out films of 2007 Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Ratatouille is funny, original, heartfelt, well voice acted and beautifully animated. As Pixar makes more and more movies they make just fantastic films like Ratatouille. I give this film 96%.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Apr 7, 2011
Let me just say that I hate and have no respect for Patton Oswalt whatsoever for reasons I'd rather not discuss. But watching this movie, I could easily forget he's the voice of Remy, becuase I loved everything about this movie. As alwaysLet me just say that I hate and have no respect for Patton Oswalt whatsoever for reasons I'd rather not discuss. But watching this movie, I could easily forget he's the voice of Remy, becuase I loved everything about this movie. As always Pixar, great job! Expand
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
10
DiegoFAug 17, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Pixar film? Maybe, Best 2007 film? definitely!! Ratatouille is a masterpiece that everyone will love. The characters, the humor, the memorable moments and basically everything in this movie is exellent. A delicious buffet.

Note: Sorry for my english, im from Costa Rica.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
AaronS.Jun 30, 2007
Another wonderous achivement from Pixar that marks a major return to from after last year's 'Cars' came up short. A rich blend of comedy and pathos. Technically accomplished and visually stunning at times, Another wonderous achivement from Pixar that marks a major return to from after last year's 'Cars' came up short. A rich blend of comedy and pathos. Technically accomplished and visually stunning at times, 'Ratatouille' never forgets it's a story first and foremost. Bird and co. have lavished just as much attention to the script as they did the animation. The very reason Pixar is so far ahead of the pack. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MylesM.Jul 5, 2007
The fact that a 3-year-old, a 6-year-old, and three adults can sit for two hours and be mesmerized by this wonderful movie says it all. Each Pixar movie gets better. This one is the best. Nothing was trite, nothing was too hip to keep it The fact that a 3-year-old, a 6-year-old, and three adults can sit for two hours and be mesmerized by this wonderful movie says it all. Each Pixar movie gets better. This one is the best. Nothing was trite, nothing was too hip to keep it from being timeless, and nothing was formulaic other than the mild relationship to "Ben and Me". Just when you thought it was over, you say, "Wait; what about Ego the food critique?". And so it goes. Animation was magical and spectacular, and the character development was first-rate. I have already reserved a copy for me and for my grandkids from Amazon when its out for distribution. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KatherineS.Jul 2, 2007
This movie was a total delight, from start to finish. Unlike most "children's" movies, there was no annoying sidekick character playing the buffoon; the humor was wonderful--both kids and adults were hooting all around me; and the art This movie was a total delight, from start to finish. Unlike most "children's" movies, there was no annoying sidekick character playing the buffoon; the humor was wonderful--both kids and adults were hooting all around me; and the art of it was unbelievable--scratches on the copper pots, bubbles in the soup, realistic details everywhere. And in Paris, I enjoyed the "special" details cleverly tucked into the background--the "no smoking" poster in French, the traffic, the Bateaux Mouches, the Notre Dame rose window. I have loved movies my entire life, and this one is clearly in My Favorite Top 10! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Nadie....Jul 8, 2007
Not an animated film, a great movie. Well written, funny, well directed. This is what movies are all about.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AsepD.Nov 15, 2007
While children will doubtless find this entertaining, there are much deeper issues permeating the latest PIXAR masterpiece. This is a film speaking directly to the adults in the audience while keeping the children occupied. The clumsy While children will doubtless find this entertaining, there are much deeper issues permeating the latest PIXAR masterpiece. This is a film speaking directly to the adults in the audience while keeping the children occupied. The clumsy surface antics and clever dialogue will keep people in stitches while Bird and company tell a story about art, passion, and what drives people to create in the face of adversity. It's about following dreams, heeding the heart, and how perseverance can lead to triumph. Told and presented in a flawless technical skill, through characters and situations only PIXAR could deliver. This is a form of perfection, and do not deny yourself the experience. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ARGHARGHAug 24, 2009
One of the best Pixar films ever made. Beautiful to behold; it's a masterpiece.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DougN.Nov 12, 2007
Very good, but a little too sweet for my liking.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
Annoymous1Jul 10, 2013
Watching it gets me hungry, and it has its fun moments and great appeal. If you don't like it, thats just shocking then. Because this is the best Pixar film by far
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Ratatouille" is a movie created for only the Westerners and ends up appealing to both western and eastern people.
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
4
spielbrick90Oct 19, 2011
I really didn't enjoy this film, i'm a bit disappointed actually. I was looking forward to seeing it, I mean, the advert was quite good. But after watching the film I realised that the bits that were in the advert were the only good bits inI really didn't enjoy this film, i'm a bit disappointed actually. I was looking forward to seeing it, I mean, the advert was quite good. But after watching the film I realised that the bits that were in the advert were the only good bits in the film, and that's not that many. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
OfficialNov 15, 2013
"Ratatouille" is a classic Pixar animation and a fantastic accomplishment. The animation is brilliant (as usual), it's well-directed, the script is intelligent and is consistently humorous. Pixar movies are textbook examples on how to make"Ratatouille" is a classic Pixar animation and a fantastic accomplishment. The animation is brilliant (as usual), it's well-directed, the script is intelligent and is consistently humorous. Pixar movies are textbook examples on how to make films for both kids and adults. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
CameronA.Sep 23, 2007
I can't believe this movie got 96 when i feel a sleep because i was so bored. This movie was supposed to be better then all the pirates, transformers, and lord of the rings. NO WAY! 6th best movie ever. Metacritic is unreliable and has I can't believe this movie got 96 when i feel a sleep because i was so bored. This movie was supposed to be better then all the pirates, transformers, and lord of the rings. NO WAY! 6th best movie ever. Metacritic is unreliable and has low movie ratings for all teen movies and good ratings for all adult movies and boring kids movies! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
aaronpaul121Jan 16, 2012
This movie is really outstanding! The graphics were excellent, the theme is great, the plot is mesmerizing, the characters were amazing. Everything in this film were fantastic. This is a true masterpiece...
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
GagaForGhibliJun 3, 2012
Simply One Of The Best Movies Of 2007!
One Word For This Movie: Amazing
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
JayBJul 20, 2007
Beautifully animated, poorly written. Some of the most uncomfortable, cliched, awkward script moments ever. The movie seemed to try to go in two different directions and failed to give the audience a sense of completeness. Was it about Beautifully animated, poorly written. Some of the most uncomfortable, cliched, awkward script moments ever. The movie seemed to try to go in two different directions and failed to give the audience a sense of completeness. Was it about Linguini's romantic struggle? Or was it about a rat who could cook? I had to dull out my brain in order to bear some of the inconsistencies in the movie. I am not surprised this movie got high ratings however. These days people will take anything shiny and distracting. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful
5
RégisM.Jun 14, 2010
Good ideas. Visually excellent. But not very funny. And worst : Again and again in an US movie about France, the action is in the present, but the Paris you see is like the 60's. Black and white TV, cars of 60's... I was disappointed.
2 of 10 users found this helpful
3
DianaM.Jul 27, 2007
the best part of this movie is its soundtrack--and it's not even a musical. the score is the only element with range (ooooh and every transition is seamless!), while the characters are underdeveloped and (...wait for it...wait for the best part of this movie is its soundtrack--and it's not even a musical. the score is the only element with range (ooooh and every transition is seamless!), while the characters are underdeveloped and (...wait for it...wait for it...) flavorless--ha!, and the colors are as dazzling as the arc de triomphe in fog. hell, even janeane garofalo manages total insipidity! her covert vocals are wondrous to be sure, but only magnify that Colette (a fair-weather feminist) does nothing to jazz up her wet noodle, Linguini (yukyuk), who in turn gives the evil Ego less than zilch to bounce off of. now, please don't think me hard-hearted. i am a vegan who's been madly in love with three people, angus, matty and pouter--a scotch terrier and two cats. nothing makes me happier than to see animated creatures with personalities, facial tics and accents just as disparate and human as their real-life inspirations. oooooh, inspiration...where's that on the menu? Expand
2 of 17 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Dec 16, 2007
There are moments in "Ratatouille" that works on us in a primal way, like Ego who remembers the titular dish that his mother served him as a child. The pompous critic remembers why he loves food, as this dazzling comedy(you forget There are moments in "Ratatouille" that works on us in a primal way, like Ego who remembers the titular dish that his mother served him as a child. The pompous critic remembers why he loves food, as this dazzling comedy(you forget you're watching an animated picture) reminds us why we love the movies. "Ratatouille" is so sophisticated, there's an extra tier of sophistication that will fly under the radar of most moviegoers. "Ratatouille", to my utter disbelief, has references to the Canadian filmmaker Atom Egoyan and his film "Felicia's Journey". Ian Holm, who voices the role of Skinner, the chef in exile, was in Egoyan's "The Sweet Hereafter". This is such tremendous fun for cineastes because we can't understand why it's there in the first place. This piece of trivia is irrelevant to enjoying "Ratatouille", but the references are there, nevertheless. In an ordinary film, it's Linguini(voiced by Lou Romano) who'd be delusional(that a rat is actually doing the cooking), but in "Ratatouille", it's the delusion(from Skinner's point-of-view(he's the first person to see the rat); Skinner, who reminds me of that single person who sees the duck in those Aflac commercials) who has delusions(Chef Gusteau is Remy's muse). "Ratatouille" also has references to Carol Emschwiller's novel "The Mount" and Gary Larson's "The Far Side". And if you remember Ralph Fiennes' wine cellar speech to Embeth Davidtz in "Schindler's List", "Ratatouille" can be interpreted as a fantastical parable that sutures the rift between Jews and Germans. "Ratatouille" is a truly extraordinary movie that makes you laugh, cry, and most importantly, think. This is Pixar's high-water mark, and that's really saying something. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkC.Jun 30, 2007
A fabulous movie. I took my daughter and was amazed. I love to cook and the film captured the rapture of cooking, paris and well rapture. I loved the visual and musical depictions of Flavour which reminded me of old Canadian National Film A fabulous movie. I took my daughter and was amazed. I love to cook and the film captured the rapture of cooking, paris and well rapture. I loved the visual and musical depictions of Flavour which reminded me of old Canadian National Film Board cartoons. It was a fantastic movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewGJun 30, 2007
Ridiculously good. I liked it better than both The Incredibles and Cars.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TracyB.Jul 1, 2007
We did not like this movie- visually impressive but should have been a 5-10 minute cartoon.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
1
JustinL.Aug 17, 2007
It was miserable, How could it get a 96, it was terrible.
0 of 7 users found this helpful
3
WayneHJun 16, 2008
This movie just aint that good. It kinda bored me!
0 of 4 users found this helpful
1
Ratatouilleisc***Oct 17, 2007
How can u be so stupid (or, poopid) , Metacritic? ra-ta-too-ee should have got like 15% instead of being da 6th best film EVER! I agree with Cameron A. HOW CAN EVERYONE BE SO STUPID?!?!? I'm starting to feel that metacritic is slightly How can u be so stupid (or, poopid) , Metacritic? ra-ta-too-ee should have got like 15% instead of being da 6th best film EVER! I agree with Cameron A. HOW CAN EVERYONE BE SO STUPID?!?!? I'm starting to feel that metacritic is slightly dumb. IDIOT!!! Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
2
GeorgeHJun 30, 2007
Beautiful to look at but such a big jumbled mess!A huge, unfocused and bloated script with plot twists and devices that a five year old could have written. I am amaed this movie has gotten such high ratings. Biggest gripes? Here goes! 1) I Beautiful to look at but such a big jumbled mess!A huge, unfocused and bloated script with plot twists and devices that a five year old could have written. I am amaed this movie has gotten such high ratings. Biggest gripes? Here goes! 1) I hate it when a movie establishes it's time period and then throws in anachronisms that make your mind go, "Huh?" For example, t's set in the '50's so how could Gusteau's be selling microwave dinners? And a major plot point is solved with DNA profiling? 2) The kid - whatever his name was - looks to be all of 10 years old and then we're supposed to a romantic subplot with him and the severe French chick? Kinda felt gross to me. 3) One too many villians. It's as if Pixar was trying to stuff as many evil plot twists into this script as possible and there was no focus. 4) How the rat - whatever his name was - comes to communicate and control the kid's bodily function is entirely ludacriss and makes no sense. I can suspend my disbelief with no problem but this "human steamshovel" idea was way too weak. 5) When it comes down to it, no matter how cute you try to make them look seeing hundreds of rats scamper on stage and especially watching them take over the kitchen and cook is more sickening than cute. The audience I saw the movie with was creeped out, the kids were restless for 3/4 of it and many kids were yelling, "I wanna go home". Some families left but I like a fool just sat there and said, "This is the WORST CGI/annimated film in many years! A 95 rating? Folks, look closer and don't be carried away by the phsical beauty of the film. It's very, VERY poorly written! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
ChrisR.Jul 5, 2007
The animation was great. The story, pretty good. The movie is definitely better then 'Cars' where I was bored to tears. This is the third pixar movie in a row, however, where I can't help but looking at my watch and wonder The animation was great. The story, pretty good. The movie is definitely better then 'Cars' where I was bored to tears. This is the third pixar movie in a row, however, where I can't help but looking at my watch and wonder when it will be over. The ending is predictable. I think Pixar needs to worry about becoming too formulaic. Just because Pixar changes from the sea, to the racetrack, now to the French kitchen, does not mean all these moves are incredibly original. In my opinion, they are the same story over and over again. Of course, maybe I was expecting something dramatically different due to the 95! overall score... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
LuisA.Aug 4, 2007
Sorry but the movie is poor. Certainly I would not recommend this film for kids. Although the scrip is original the movie is predictable and the end is poor
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MikeKAug 8, 2007
Yawn. Advanced technology isn't enough to hold a movie together. This movie lacks true creativity. It's a perfect example of how lame and unimaginative mainstream movie-making has become. And the rave reviews by the critics Yawn. Advanced technology isn't enough to hold a movie together. This movie lacks true creativity. It's a perfect example of how lame and unimaginative mainstream movie-making has become. And the rave reviews by the critics illustrate how they're completely fooled by BIG production that has no soul. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PrinsM.Mar 6, 2008
I could barely watch the whole thing. Boring, repetitive, completely devoid of humor. Not exactly atrocious in any way, just dull and unfunny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JamieS.May 7, 2008
A very mediocre movie and overrated movie. Almost all of it's humour is Jerry-Lewis-esque --- IE strange bodily contortions, (When the chef is throwing his arms around) or funny faces pulled during various scenes. If you like that sort A very mediocre movie and overrated movie. Almost all of it's humour is Jerry-Lewis-esque --- IE strange bodily contortions, (When the chef is throwing his arms around) or funny faces pulled during various scenes. If you like that sort of thing, or indeed if you find Jerry Lewis funny, fine. I found it puerile,and I suspect most adults would. The thing is, it DOES have some truly beautiful imagery -- IE the scenes of paris at night -- and some really nice music. But this is a COMEDY. It's nice to look at and listen to, but as a comedy, it fails. It's just not funny. Not to mention the characters are tired modern stereotypes -- the hopeless, sappy nerdish male, and the confident, successful,powerful female who loves him in spite of himself. For christ's sake, writers, half of your audience is male. Stop alienating us. Bottom line - young children will probably enjoy it. Adults best avoid it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
DenzelW.May 7, 2008
I can't believe this is on the top ten of all time list. Yes the animation is phenomenal but I wouldn't even rate it in the top ten of Pixar releases (including shorts) let alone any best ever list. The storyline and I can't believe this is on the top ten of all time list. Yes the animation is phenomenal but I wouldn't even rate it in the top ten of Pixar releases (including shorts) let alone any best ever list. The storyline and characterisation are very poor and as for humour... was there any? Just average. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidSMar 18, 2010
Quite honestly, I'm amazed and disappointed that this film is rated as highly as it is. Nearly every part of Rattatouille has been recycled from past Pixar films. Sure, the animation looks great... in fact visually, Rattatouille is Quite honestly, I'm amazed and disappointed that this film is rated as highly as it is. Nearly every part of Rattatouille has been recycled from past Pixar films. Sure, the animation looks great... in fact visually, Rattatouille is beautiful. But shouldn't we be interested in telling a story, not showing a tech demo? Or is our society so bland and unintelligent that we find a mouse learning to cook more entertaining than the Lord of the Rings Trilogy? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JoshR.Nov 19, 2007
Great FX. Lame story. I mean, why do these Pixar films sell so well and get good reviews? This was a clunky who cares type story where the main character was an idiot, and the rat was not much better. I get the point and understand the Great FX. Lame story. I mean, why do these Pixar films sell so well and get good reviews? This was a clunky who cares type story where the main character was an idiot, and the rat was not much better. I get the point and understand the story, just seems like it could have been an after school special made for Disney kids. Just because they spend multi-million dollars on a film and the CGI sets the standard - I just don't get why our culture enjoys a movie about a French cooking rat over movies like Rescue Dawn or other "real" heartfelt films that actually take more than the actor coming into the studio for a day to voice over. The new Beowulf is another example of this. All it is is eye candy, and the story and character development seems to be fading with our short attention spans. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
PrestonMNov 8, 2007
The name Linguine Alfredo?? Dig a little deeper, please. It's set in Paris not Italy. And although Linguine's character redeems himself slightly in the end, most of the time he's too clumsy to watch or listen to. And the plot The name Linguine Alfredo?? Dig a little deeper, please. It's set in Paris not Italy. And although Linguine's character redeems himself slightly in the end, most of the time he's too clumsy to watch or listen to. And the plot is reminiscent of plenty of animated movies. See Fieval movies and Flushed Away(2006). There is some kind of conspiracy amongst reviewers and animated children's movies. I think they should be in a whole different class. Imagine deciding between "The Godfather" and "Ratatouille" as the best movie in your library. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
GregM.Jul 7, 2007
This movie proves that Disney/Pixar can't take an original idea, keep it simple, and let it shine. The film that could have been a charming story and a visual treat sinks under the weight of fairy-tale plotting, an unnecessary morality This movie proves that Disney/Pixar can't take an original idea, keep it simple, and let it shine. The film that could have been a charming story and a visual treat sinks under the weight of fairy-tale plotting, an unnecessary morality tale about the strength of family, and worst of all, Disney's archaic racial sterotyping and general xenophobia. For a company that is so constantly hearlded for it's originality, Pixar still hasn't made a film that is free from all of the qualities that make most family entertainment unbearably dull. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
4
PianocomposerAug 19, 2007
My wife and I saw this film and simply did NOT understand the high ratings that reviews were giving it. The plot is implausible and breaks its own rules by being logically inconsistent within its own fantasy world. I didn't care about My wife and I saw this film and simply did NOT understand the high ratings that reviews were giving it. The plot is implausible and breaks its own rules by being logically inconsistent within its own fantasy world. I didn't care about the characters. I wanted to walk out after the first 20 minutes but stuck with it. There was a minor pay off at the end that was weak, at best. I felt I had lost 2 hours of my life and this shook my faith in reviewers to the core. With weak characters, shaky plot and broken rules, it was really a terrible film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
LeeP.Feb 19, 2008
The animation is perfect as with all Pixar films but unlike The Incredibles or Toy Story the characters are not very strong or in fact very likable. I didn't think that this was as good as some of the earlier Pixar films. This one lacks The animation is perfect as with all Pixar films but unlike The Incredibles or Toy Story the characters are not very strong or in fact very likable. I didn't think that this was as good as some of the earlier Pixar films. This one lacks the visual impact of Finding Nemo or Monsters Inc. If you are a collector I'd wait till this one is a little older and then perhaps you can pick it up for less then its retailing at the moment! In a word I found this one disappointing from Pixar and hope that WALL-E will bring Pixar back to form! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ColinB.Mar 3, 2008
While this was an enjoyable movie experience, it hardly warrants a 96. The plot became too mechanical, the characters were so thin you could cut through them with dull scissors, and my God...I would find much pleasure stomping Remmy into While this was an enjoyable movie experience, it hardly warrants a 96. The plot became too mechanical, the characters were so thin you could cut through them with dull scissors, and my God...I would find much pleasure stomping Remmy into oblivion with a large boot, Although visually, this is an accomplishment. I'll give Pixar kudos for that. But a 96... And if Academy voters actually went and saw Persepolis, we'd all be stomping Remmy into oblivion with our large boots, instead of handing over our dignity in the form of a naked gold statue. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AlexL.Apr 5, 2008
I hate this movie.
0 of 12 users found this helpful
4
AnonymousMCNov 15, 2007
Seeing the critics' rave reviews, I had very high expectations of this film. Suffice it to say I got so bored I had to stop half way through watching it. No laughs for 50' is also not a good sign for a so called animated comedy.Seeing the critics' rave reviews, I had very high expectations of this film. Suffice it to say I got so bored I had to stop half way through watching it. No laughs for 50' is also not a good sign for a so called animated comedy. Everything seemd fake about the characters, including the French accent which is done so poorly. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
KevinDNov 7, 2007
Not bad but by the end I was wishing it was over. As overrated as the new Radiohead album 'In Rainbows'.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BarelR.Nov 7, 2007
BORING movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ETJun 13, 2008
I get it now.. most reviewers here seem to be voting on the Trailer, not the Movie. The Trailer gets a 10.. the concept sounds good and the animation is top notch. The Movie gets a 2.. it is tiresome to watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
StaciaM.Dec 22, 2007
I have no idea what people see in this movie. I didn't think it was funny or even heartfelt. The animation is probably the best I've seen, but the story is boring, unfunny, and predictable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
shaunmedJan 10, 2011
By far one of the weakest recent animation films. The story is predictable and the script is banal without a hint of cleverness. Great for 10 year olds and Disney sycophants.
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
9
OptixalNov 1, 2012
Another great computer-animated film for Walt Disney! A different, and more unusual plot compared to typical happy-ending movies. The movie also presented and gave viewers a sense of how dynamic the kitchen in a restaurant is. A littleAnother great computer-animated film for Walt Disney! A different, and more unusual plot compared to typical happy-ending movies. The movie also presented and gave viewers a sense of how dynamic the kitchen in a restaurant is. A little unrealistic, but overall a well done. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989May 7, 2013
This is certainly up there with some of Pixar's finest work, and its only the second time I've seen it but I enjoyed it much more second time around. Its such a creative concept and whoever thought of a rat cooking was pretty creative :P TheThis is certainly up there with some of Pixar's finest work, and its only the second time I've seen it but I enjoyed it much more second time around. Its such a creative concept and whoever thought of a rat cooking was pretty creative :P The characters are very likable and the clever storyline flows well throughout. There is also enough for both adults and kids to enjoy here and there is a nice medium for the both. Overall a very enjoyable film I would certainly recommend Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
ipiapJul 22, 2013
This film is a visual masterpiece, no question about it, but the tremendous work put into it is completely wasted because of the boring and mindless plot. It's about a rat who reads French cookbooks (I assume he can read in countless otherThis film is a visual masterpiece, no question about it, but the tremendous work put into it is completely wasted because of the boring and mindless plot. It's about a rat who reads French cookbooks (I assume he can read in countless other languages too). The ghost of a deceased chef haunts our cute creature. (How did he stumble upon a rat in the first place?) Remy learns a lot from the chef's recipes, and shares his immense knowledge with a nerd with no talent whatsoever, using him as a puppet, and this bizarre double act self-evidently outdo any well trained cook in Paris. Moreover, the food critic whose devastating review made the former chef of the restaurant (our strange ghost) commit suicide, is enchanted with the dish based on the recipe of aforementioned chef, but prepared by our nerd who is guided bye the highly literate rat. This goofy mess of a story could still be partly compensated by a decent amount of jokes, but there is hardly any trace of them. All we left with is the stunning animation. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
5
MariofanFeb 9, 2015
One of Pixar's weakest films. I didn't like it that much. The animated people look ugly. The storyline is okay. The voice acting was fine. I only laughed once. I found Ratatouille pretty boring but it's your choice if you want to watch it or not.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffMar 17, 2015
If I had to choose my favorite Pixar filmmaker that isn't John Lasseter, it's definitely going to have to be Brad Bird. He has shown such enthusiasm for the motion pictures, I find it hard not to like him.

'Ratatouille' is the second
If I had to choose my favorite Pixar filmmaker that isn't John Lasseter, it's definitely going to have to be Brad Bird. He has shown such enthusiasm for the motion pictures, I find it hard not to like him.

'Ratatouille' is the second Disney-Pixar project directed by him, and to be honest, I had my doubts, for reasons obviously.

First of all, this movie is released after Pixar's first mediocre (but not terrible) effort 'Cars' (2006), the one Disney-Pixar film nobody raved about, and it fared well with critics and audiences, but it isn't universally loved like 'Toy Story' (1995) or 'Finding Nemo' (2003). Plus, Brad Bird's earlier effort was 'The Incredibles' (2004) which EVERYBODY (including myself) loved and to go from superheroes, to making a movie about a rat who cooks in a kitchen and everybody eats the food seems like a downgrade.

Yes, you heard right, the premise for this movie is a rat that cooks in a kitchen and everybody eats the food. If you pitched this idea to anyone else, including live-action filmmakers, they would laugh in your face. Ratatouille is an example and a demonstration of how there is no limit to the imagination when it comes to the art form of animation. You could come up with something outrageous or obnoxious, and animation will always be there to make it possible.

Patton Oswalt voices a rat named Remy, who, with his family, is always looking out for food, you know, like most rats. He discovers one day that food can taste amazing when you combine two different flavors that complement each other.

He is in France and learns that his favorite chef Gusteau (voiced by Brad Garrett) has passed away and the legacy of his restaurant is owned by an evil chef who cannot be trusted. Remy runs into a young, new employee at the restaurant named Linguini (Lou Romano) and they sort of come to an agreement that Linguini can prove himself to work at the restaurant as long as Remy does the cooking, underneath his hat.

When Remy starts treating Linguini like some ventriloquist by tugging on his hair, this leads to some funny sequences where he often trips and moves with such flexibility thanks to the art form of animation.

Peter O'Toole voices the fearsome food critic Anton Ego, who can get Gusteau's restaurant shut down if he criticizes the next dish and gives it a bad name.

Obviously Remy's family of dirty rats isn't happy with what he's doing so far, his father is unsure and uncomfortable about him working with humans due to the fact that we can kill rats since they're small creatures we can easily stamp on. Remy's brother Emile (Peter Sohn) is a very funny comic relief for the movie the same way Dory was for 'Finding Nemo' (2003).

'Ratatouille' is easily one of the best films of 2007, and that's saying something. It's funny because this movie left me craving for a sequel, which I will accept will probably never get made, but if it does, I'm hopping into the front seat.

For a movie that's about a rat who cooks in a kitchen and everybody eats the food, I did find it to be more intelligent than...say 'Transformers'? But that's just me.

Brad Bird really is a gift at Disney-Pixar.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
LeMemeFedoraMay 1, 2015
I hsdbxuvjxbsfcvhjv gxcghvn xhjvxjhbv xjhb nukjb j ufuunkl nkvhuivhzixgvucvgxukcb jbnjbbh bg b khvbxgjygvsdxcbhfsvdxcbhvcjhcxbhksbjkfkbjvbjdvbjfzbxcfxvxv
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
JustMy2May 7, 2016
This is one of Pixar's best movies, and arguably the one with the biggest heart. I find it to be thoroughly enjoyable and near flawless in execution. The only reason I give it a 9, is because there are two other Pixar movies I love even more!This is one of Pixar's best movies, and arguably the one with the biggest heart. I find it to be thoroughly enjoyable and near flawless in execution. The only reason I give it a 9, is because there are two other Pixar movies I love even more! Gotta leave some headroom in my reviewing scores for them! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: Brad Bird directs the characters well, and the animation is great
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: 'Ratatouille' actually offers very little in terms of plot, pace, excitement or interesting dialogue to keep children or adults entertained
WHAT I LIKED: Brad Bird directs the characters well, and the animation is great
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: 'Ratatouille' actually offers very little in terms of plot, pace, excitement or interesting dialogue to keep children or adults entertained
VERDICT: It's commended for it's character, but what really lets it down is the lack of ingredients to make you excited.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
manningn15Jun 13, 2019
The story is definitely fantastic and the characters are really cute and I love how they make rats so l loveable. The animation was excellent and beautiful. The voice overs were fantastic and the best ones were from Patton Oswalt, Lou Romano,The story is definitely fantastic and the characters are really cute and I love how they make rats so l loveable. The animation was excellent and beautiful. The voice overs were fantastic and the best ones were from Patton Oswalt, Lou Romano, and Janeane Garofalo. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RobdscdsvcJul 6, 2007
Visually stunning, classic characters, 100% original, and simply amazing. This just may be the greatest movie i have EVER seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentMar 5, 2009
This truly is Disney/Pixar's Magnum Opus. Excellent script, good graphics and nice character development. Brad Bird out-did himself here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marktApr 2, 2010
Amazing.........PIXAR have done it again and it's one of there best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkJ.Oct 5, 2007
I've since become a professional chef. Thank you Ratatouille.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RethunkReviewOct 5, 2007
Pixar made a movie about rats and food. Rats. Food. It is without a doubt the most entertaining movie about either subject. The hero is a gray rat with a gift for cooking. The villain of the piece is a food critic whose pen and sarcasm are Pixar made a movie about rats and food. Rats. Food. It is without a doubt the most entertaining movie about either subject. The hero is a gray rat with a gift for cooking. The villain of the piece is a food critic whose pen and sarcasm are his only weapons. This bears repeating: the ultimate conflict in this movie concerns a rat that cooks and a snooty gourmand, AND IT WORKS. What production companies can pull this off? Perhaps only Pixar. That said, this movie may not be for everyone. If you like predictability and mediocre pop tunes in your animation films, and if you don't mind variability in the quality of production, then by all means rent The Lion King instead. If you want to see a remarkable production from storytellers who elevate simplicity to elegance, than Ratatouille may be the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenNOct 8, 2007
One word WOW!!! and i only say that to very little movies but if you have not seen it yet SEE IT!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyR.Jun 29, 2007
Saw this at a sneak preview a couple of weeks back; my love for this movie hasn't diminished one bit since then. Sure, everyone's mentioned the look and animation, of the food particularly; but no review I've seen has Saw this at a sneak preview a couple of weeks back; my love for this movie hasn't diminished one bit since then. Sure, everyone's mentioned the look and animation, of the food particularly; but no review I've seen has mentioned to spot-on animation of the rats. Believe me, I know my rats, and the Pixar crew did a beautiful job of making them completely convincing. The swim like rats, they use their 'hands' like rats, everything. A well crafted triumph; maybe the best Pixar movie to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HH.Jun 30, 2007
It's refreshing to see a movie that doesn't rely on violence and swearing to tell an incredible story as enjoyable for adults as well as children.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewL.Jun 30, 2007
Not just the best Pixar film ever--the best CG animated feature ever. It's coupling of universal appeal and superior quality is both rare and very welcome. It's excellence transcends any flaws it may have, and makes negative Not just the best Pixar film ever--the best CG animated feature ever. It's coupling of universal appeal and superior quality is both rare and very welcome. It's excellence transcends any flaws it may have, and makes negative criticism seem downright petty. Its been a long time since a film--or any work of art--has so inspired and fulfilled me. I can't wait to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshE.Jul 1, 2007
A magical and technically astounding film, Brad Bird's Ratatouille definitively shows that all other non-Pixar CGI films nothing more than gimmick and contains more humanity than most traditional films. Some of the images in this film A magical and technically astounding film, Brad Bird's Ratatouille definitively shows that all other non-Pixar CGI films nothing more than gimmick and contains more humanity than most traditional films. Some of the images in this film are so powerful, they take your breath away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamJul 10, 2007
Pixar's best? Absolutely. The year's best? It's a draw between 1408, but it doesn't change the fact that this movie is simply astounding. It could have been a run-of-the mill and cliched "believe in yourself" story, and Pixar's best? Absolutely. The year's best? It's a draw between 1408, but it doesn't change the fact that this movie is simply astounding. It could have been a run-of-the mill and cliched "believe in yourself" story, and while it is a "believe in yourself" movie, it's done in a never-before seen way. It's simply stunning, as well. I loved, loved, loved Peter O'toole's character (it basically screams 'Tim Burton' at times) as well as Brad Garret's character. They're like opposites and they're part of the reason this movie is so entertaining. But it wouldn't be the same with Remy, Linguini, or Skinner. Their characters are so key and preposterously lovable (yes, I thought Skinner was a lovable character, sue me). They're so full of life that they keep this bloat floating. Touche, once again, Pixar. Touche. (P.S. Anybody else pumped about Wall-E?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattC.Jul 12, 2007
Simply perfect in every way... Best animated film yet? You bet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarynP.Jul 2, 2007
I can think of one word that sums up Ratatouille - DELIGHTFUL. Pixar has once again blended their unique and flawless animation style with a charming and simple story that will satisfy any audience. They've brought toys, bugs, fish, and I can think of one word that sums up Ratatouille - DELIGHTFUL. Pixar has once again blended their unique and flawless animation style with a charming and simple story that will satisfy any audience. They've brought toys, bugs, fish, and cars to life in the past. And best of all, they've made them endearing. Kudos to them for adding rats to that list. Next year, it will be robots. I can't wait. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJul 2, 2007
Original, original, original, original...the whole genre has been re-engineered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseY.Jul 2, 2007
Inspiring, a pretty much Disney movie for the whole family but specially for the small ones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Jul 3, 2007
The animation was great, acting more than decent, and the story cohesive. Over all I'd say it was a pretty good movie. Definitely kid friendly though I thought some of the dialog too complex for a youngster. I did not mind a bit but the The animation was great, acting more than decent, and the story cohesive. Over all I'd say it was a pretty good movie. Definitely kid friendly though I thought some of the dialog too complex for a youngster. I did not mind a bit but the lead seamed quite heady, even for a rat that could cook and manipulate people simply by pulling on their hair strings. As for the laughs there were only a couple of really good ones. Most of the time I sat with a slight grin. And there was one laugh concerning Ego the critic I will not soon forget. Is this a master piece no. But it is definitely worthy of a view. Whether you think it is theater or DVD worthy, well, that's up to you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleC.Aug 26, 2007
Ratatouille lives up to its near universal acclaim. A full two months after the release date, two cynical New York City adults had trouble getting seats in a packed house on a Saturday afternoon. Rightly so. The film is visually stunning. Ratatouille lives up to its near universal acclaim. A full two months after the release date, two cynical New York City adults had trouble getting seats in a packed house on a Saturday afternoon. Rightly so. The film is visually stunning. The voice casting was spot-on, all out inspired. The uinstory was clearly loved by children, and appreciated by the many adults many in the audience without kids in tow. Pixar has created a winner! Run, don't walk to see this film. You'll be glad you did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoC.Sep 18, 2007
Ratatouille was without a second thought the best animated movie that I have seen in almost every aspect from the mini animation at the beginning until the interesting ending. Everyone from the family can enjoy and only Adults is fine too. Ratatouille was without a second thought the best animated movie that I have seen in almost every aspect from the mini animation at the beginning until the interesting ending. Everyone from the family can enjoy and only Adults is fine too. It dint have a single dull moment, the best timing (important factor to consider with comedy) and the most lovable characters. Pixar is in the track to make us all adults believe (at last!) that animation can be for adults with great ease. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHJan 1, 2008
My favorite Pixar film since The Incredibles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CaptainYesJan 3, 2008
WOW! What a great movie. Stunning visuals, great story, and a main character who's faced with real decisions. I would highly recommend this to anyone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndyM.Jun 30, 2008
It's a good movie, a really good movie, in fact. But was it as good as Finding Nemo? As good as Wall-E and the other Pixar classics? Perhaps, but not nearly as memorable. This movie just felt like... another. I can't find anything It's a good movie, a really good movie, in fact. But was it as good as Finding Nemo? As good as Wall-E and the other Pixar classics? Perhaps, but not nearly as memorable. This movie just felt like... another. I can't find anything wrong with it, really. I can find things wrong in the other memorable Pixar films, but... those films had an air of charm and awe to them, which this unfortunately lacked. It may be the best reviewed of the Pixar movies, but not the most memorable in the slightest. And since I gave Wall-E a 9 and it was better than this, I have to give this one an 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleB.Jan 6, 2009
I loved the movie, its the only movie that my family and I can all agree to watching, and even if there is a rat cooking it still makes us want to eat afterwards. Two thumbs up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnweshPFeb 23, 2010
Ratatouille incredibly convinces. It is great entertainment. Brad Bird rules!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesL.Oct 2, 2007
A truly beautiful movie. Kids will like it, but adults will love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 28, 2007
This movie is amazing! I just loved it! It had a lot of meaning, the idea was original, and very creative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidDOct 8, 2007
Hey Cameron, it is not metacritic that rates these movies. They just accumulate the ratings of all the other critics. But i guess if you would try and stay awake and pay attention, you would know that. The movie was not the greatest but it Hey Cameron, it is not metacritic that rates these movies. They just accumulate the ratings of all the other critics. But i guess if you would try and stay awake and pay attention, you would know that. The movie was not the greatest but it was a very good all around movie for adults and kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Jun 29, 2007
This is on the low end of a 9...I wasn't blown away, as I was hoping after seeing the 95 metascore, but nevertheless, the animation was superior and the story was good and endearing in parts. A little on the long side...this might be a This is on the low end of a 9...I wasn't blown away, as I was hoping after seeing the 95 metascore, but nevertheless, the animation was superior and the story was good and endearing in parts. A little on the long side...this might be a better pick for video, if you have restless wee ones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SeriousMovieGoerJun 29, 2007
Ratatouille is special in it's CGI potrayals of Paris, although it lacks something from previous Pixar movies. You can't say that the people don't look amazingly real, but not one character delivers something so funny that Ratatouille is special in it's CGI potrayals of Paris, although it lacks something from previous Pixar movies. You can't say that the people don't look amazingly real, but not one character delivers something so funny that you'll choke on your popcorn. Ratatouille is a good movie for the kids, but I can't guarantee that you won't snore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SidneyT.Jun 30, 2007
On par with the Incredibles and Finding Nemo....even better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful