Paramount Pictures | Release Date: September 8, 1960
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 295 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
286
Mixed:
5
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
mahdimeshkateeMar 23, 2020
probably one of the greatest movies of all time with such brilliant and innovative plans and scenes and... put together by the beautiful mind of mr.hitchcock. dont miss this for the world
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BeatrixKiddoMar 8, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although films like this, they're not my cup of tea, i really enjoyed this one. The atmosphere, the music, the cinematography, Perkin's acting.. all perfect! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MglovesfunJan 8, 2020
The plot, direction, dialogue and Anthony Perkins's performance all contribute to this Hitchcock masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Rayman67Oct 26, 2019
I watched this movie for the first time recently and this is the most borring movie ive ever seen
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NehemiahSep 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the first noted thrillers in American cinema history, this movie sent chills up the spines of theater goers of the time leaving them outraged as they left the film. Hitchcock's movie centers around a young man who runs a hotel and a woman who falls upon his company in hopes of finding a safe-haven for the time being. While the movie wasn't overtly violent, it pioneered cinema by focusing on the psychological complex of a deranged individual who in this case had his psyche broken with the loss of his mother. The most notorious scene, the shower scene, reminds me of when I was in a haunted house with my sister and lost it when a guy opened a curtain holding a fake knife. It was the only time I didn't tell her to calm down and got defensive instead. But it was that slow, impending danger of the curtain opening like that in the movie. Except in the film you were in the eyes of the killer which upset early audiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HorrorseekerAug 29, 2019
Based on the novel Alfred Hitchcock made a wonderful masterpiece here especially the films surprise ending
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Aug 4, 2019
Welcome to Bates Motel, the only in wide world with room service direct to the shower courtesy of lone, meek owner Norman Bates. Here is where Hitchcock developed a turning pint for suspense genre. Without Psycho maybe would not existWelcome to Bates Motel, the only in wide world with room service direct to the shower courtesy of lone, meek owner Norman Bates. Here is where Hitchcock developed a turning pint for suspense genre. Without Psycho maybe would not exist Halloween. A must to see before you die. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JPKJul 14, 2019
Completely Perfect
Psycho is suspenseful, scary, and outright f*cking amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrScallopsJun 19, 2019
In what is arguably Hitchcock's finest film, creepy and unsettling "Psycho", audiences are greeted by timelessly brilliant performances, amazing visual direction and an unforgettable villain.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TomtagMay 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Psycho was directed by Alfred Hitchcock and was released on June 16th 1960. It was such an iconic scene which made Hitchcock known as a master of making such a horror masterpiece. It wasn’t just a horror movie, it was also a thriller and a mystery which made us really curious about the crimes. We always wanted to know who commited it, who was the victim and what clues were left behind. It was about a Phoenix secretary embezzles forty thousand dollars from her employer's client, goes on the run, and checks into a remote motel run by a young man under the domination of his mother. Hitchcock’s Studio, Paramount Pictures, wasn’t sure enough and disliked the film so they denied him a proper budget and the it was $800,000. The movie was in black and white. They even built a Bates Motel mansion at Universal. Psycho was Hitchcock’s best work while he had done some thrillers and horrors like Rear Window (1954), Vertigo (1958) and The Birds (1963). All of those were one of Hitchcock’s greatest works. Hitchcock also made rules for audiences for watching this film. “You must see PSYCHO from the very beginning. Therefore, do not expect to be admitted into the theatre after the start of each performance of the picture. We say no one -- and we mean no one -- not even the manager's brother, the President of the United States, or the Queen of England (God bless her)!" -Alfred Hitchcock- They were really strict and lucky for me, I’m not a person from the 60s so I can watch whenever I want. The performances were excellent and I mostly like Anthony Perkin’s role of Norman Bates. Perkins was good-looking and that’s exactly how Hitchcock wanted it to be just like that so Bates would look like a very likeable person with a charming character and made audiences believe him. They would think about him. Bates even disguised before he kill so that the victims would think it wasn’t Bates maybe? He could have not dress because the victims would be dead and they wouldn’t know. The way the iconic scene: the shower scene was pretty scary with its noise and when Marion Crane opened her eyes dying made the scene more terrifying and the way she was buried in the swamp was mostly frightening. She was naked and her things were in there. I knew it would be a good idea to bury your victim like that. What a genius! The story was told in a unique way. Even though the movie didn’t have much violence, but the mystery were also dreadful and made us worry about what really had happened. It’s also a great idea to shoot this movie not in technicolor but still remained black and white. That way would make Psycho a horror masterpiece no one could make like that. Psycho was really influential, the greatest work of Alfred Hitchcock and also the greatest horror movie and it still deserved that title until today, it’s still terrifying and scared a lot of audiences. It’s also a combination of horror, terror, violence, mystery and thriller. I would recommend this a must-see for horror fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxFeb 4, 2019
Directing a story so propitious with everything there's genre has in its better, it comprehensive why Hitchcock was called master of thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Highlander372Jan 20, 2019
Psycho is a timeless classic and it will always be a timeless classic. This is the movie that started the slasher genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ViniciusBritoJan 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Based in the book Psycho, from Robert Bloch. A woman, Marion Crane, that have a regular life with a hidden boyfriend. In one day, at her job, she steals a large amount of money and decides to run away into a new life. So she got out of the city and during her travel, ended up at the Bates Motel in a rainy night, when she got attended by Norman Bates, a young boy that apparentely lives with his mother and is very sympathethic. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock and written by Joseph Stefano.

The storytelling and the atmosphere in here are everything. The whole set up of this film is really great, since the very begining you just got that some characters really like eachother justifying some actions that are way more ahead in the film, and that works, the dialogues works and the chemistry works for you to believe that Sam would go after Marion in that Motel. The whole sequence from Marion Stealing that money and reaching to the Motel is amazing, it is tense, you can feel the burden with her, she not knowing exactly what to do and being tense of each little thing that can happen. That creepy cop that shows up while she is sleeping is another very tense aspect, he keeps staring to her and making questions and neither you or her know if he knows that she have stolen the money or if he is trying to help or do something bad, after he starts to stalk her and watch her from far away things got even more creepy. The fact that when she arrives at the Bates Motel she is still worried about the money, trying to solve her problems and to accept somethings while we all know that there is something bigger wrong, is really well done. That whole sequence since when she arrives there we can see the atmosphere, the place, how detailed the dialogues are to make we understand the characters and to get into the situation. The giant plot twist, for nowdays i found it very predictable, like, we never get a clear shot of his mother's face, never seeing them moving together, but the fact is that for 1960, it was probably a big hit, at that time people probably got really surprised, so as they killing the apparent protagonist in the middle of the film, so there is some really different things for that time that are great. The turning point of the story from the Marion character, after her death, to focus more in Norman, the turning feels really nice and not forced.
The acting is one giant good point for this film. Anthony Perkins is crazy in here, he does have so many layers that consists in his character that it is really great, he is first very cozy and welcoming, you not sure if he is just trying to be ok with the guests or if he wants some company because he is lonely. During on his conversations we can notice that somethings get him pumped, some principle of rage and insecurity, but small and going each by each you can totally tell that the guy is mad. During the very end with that monologue, the way that he reacts to what is being said and the way that he looks to the camera at the end is for sure one of the creepiest scenes in cinema history, that look and that smile starring right at you, that is really remarkable. Janet Leigh also did a really nice job, before the motel parts, you can totally see that she is distressed and not sure on what to do, her minimal details during dialogues with Norman really did evolve some moments. Vera Miles and John Gavin did a very nice duo, i bought that they really cared about Marion enough to do what they did. Martin Balsam is also really nice, he works like a fine noir detective with intriguing dialogues, going for the details in what people say.
The cinematography in this movie is great. First the great decision to put this film in black and white, it totally makes sense on creating the atmosphere for this film, investigation and thriller moments work perfectly with this, the way you see the castle from down seeing it with the rain and lights on with shadows, that all was so well done. There camera positions and moviments that are realy very nice and it all helps to make the film more immersive. The soundtrack is amazing, the composition by Bernard Herrmann is really intriguin and scary as hell, it is the perfect kind of slasher music, wich, i'm sure, inspired some other great tracks in future.
The film does have a nice dialogue from a psychiatrist about double personalities, how that work and what is happening in the mind of the person, that whole monologue was really intriguing and some good learns came from there.
This is a very paranoic film, with a very nice narrative that will really out you in some thriller moments, very nice noir investigative and atmosphere situations, and a very memorable character.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vetorDec 11, 2018
Is a classic of the excellent director Hithcock with a sensational plot Twist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MartyMcFlyOct 2, 2018
My score 100
Metascore / User score 97 / 94
Tomatometer / Audience score 97 / 94
IMDB 85
(94.5)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OhhaiimarkSep 13, 2018
Phenomenal. Just utterly phenomenal. The suspense, the horror and surprisingly the examination of conscience and mentality. Incredibly well-acted and directed. One of the few movies I have seen with no problems whatsoever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mohid1Sep 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am 13 and I would rate this movie a 9 because psycho is a classic movie and it has a nice story before she gets to bates motel and when she does get there it only gets better. The movie is probably one of Alfred Hitchcock's best movies ever and the way Anthony Perkins plays Norman Bates is absolutely brilliant. I couldn't think of anyone better to play Norman Bates and the shower scene along with the music is absolutely terrifying. This is my favourite horror movie ever and the twist of this movie is in the top 5 greatest twists ever. The end of Psycho where his mother's voice is playing in his head is terrifying and brilliant. I recommend this movie to anyone and everyone(by a 13 year old kid) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Vulf001Jun 14, 2018
This film isn't a slasher film. It's the best horror movie I have ever seen. Nothing can top this. The real horror in this movie is left in our imagination. That's some real horror!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeastJ18Apr 22, 2018
Classic does not always mean great. In this case, Psycho has stood the test of time to be one of the most gripping and chilling films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cinemabonApr 8, 2018
To understand the art of editing, you must study Hitchcock and this film in particular. No one could take film theory seriously without studying the way George Tomasini and Hitch cut this movie. Then you add a score from Bernard Herrmann andTo understand the art of editing, you must study Hitchcock and this film in particular. No one could take film theory seriously without studying the way George Tomasini and Hitch cut this movie. Then you add a score from Bernard Herrmann and you have one of the important films in cinema history. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
mattkerr494Apr 8, 2018
Watched Feb 23, 2018

A friend once told me this was better than both Vertigo and Rear Window. I hope my strong disagreement with this doesn't stem from some deep-rooted desire to be contrarian.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FilipeNetoFeb 24, 2018
This film revolves around a small roadside motel run by Norman Bates, a seemingly nice man who lives under the undisputed authority of his mother. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock, this film, considered by many his "magnum opus", has a screenplayThis film revolves around a small roadside motel run by Norman Bates, a seemingly nice man who lives under the undisputed authority of his mother. Directed by Alfred Hitchcock, this film, considered by many his "magnum opus", has a screenplay by Joseph Stefano and a cast led by Anthony Perkins and Vera Miles.

I don't consider this film a horror movie, although its considered as such by most of people. It doesn't scare me, but let me uncomfortable, holding me to the screen. And I think that's what Hitchcock wanted to achieve. He was the master of suspense and knew how to hold the public, causing shivers of discomfort without putting the audience screaming in fear. The plot is brilliant, but the beginning doesn't show it, is intentionally unattractive in an effort to bring the public completely at ease... until Norman comes in. Norman Bates is one of the most psychologically complex characters I've ever seen, and was developed to the extreme by the director and the artist who gave him life. It looks like a nice guy, who even flirts with the attractive woman he just met. The bathroom scene is perhaps one of the most famous in the film (I read somewhere that liquid chocolate was used to give the color that Hitchcock intended for the blood in the tub), and the incidental soundtrack used in that scene has become an icon for itself. But the end of the film is even better, with an absolutely staggering climax that makes all the audience feel that it was worth seeing the movie (even if you already know the whole story). The photograph, in black and white, makes a decisive contribution to increasing tension in the audience, and I am sure that this was a conscious and deliberate choice of Hitchcock to achieve that, showing again the great quality and talent of this director.

Nominated for four Academy Awards for Best Art Direction in Film Black and White, Best Cinematography in Black and White, Best Direction and Best Supporting Actress, this film didn't win any of them, which shows us that, sometimes, the Academy also makes mistakes. But "Psycho" doesn't need an Oscar to be a tremendous success. It is, and will remain, a milestone in film history, a cult film for Hitchcock lovers, for thriller lovers and for any lover of good movies. Movies like this one never dies, they are art... in its purest form.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RalfbergsFeb 2, 2018
I think this is one of my favorite Hitchcock movies. Even though I saw it just recently (I know, I don't know how I have been living without seeing it either) and I knew many of the scenes before so it was a bit spoiled for be beforehand, II think this is one of my favorite Hitchcock movies. Even though I saw it just recently (I know, I don't know how I have been living without seeing it either) and I knew many of the scenes before so it was a bit spoiled for be beforehand, I still enjoyed it and the suspense felt oh so real, even though this movie is made more than 50 years ago. I think this is the masterpiece in sense how you can build up the suspense. Definitely worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
daviddelnorte23Jan 18, 2018
Ojo, esta película ya son palabras mayores. Podemos estar ante la mejor película de terror de la historia, o al menos esa es la sensación que me dió al acabar de verla. Los giros y la maestría de cada fotograma que imprime el maestro delOjo, esta película ya son palabras mayores. Podemos estar ante la mejor película de terror de la historia, o al menos esa es la sensación que me dió al acabar de verla. Los giros y la maestría de cada fotograma que imprime el maestro del suspense es digno de admiración por parte de cualquier cinéfilo. Si tuviera que hacer una lista de las 10 mejores de la historia (sí, MEJORES) probablemente esta película estaría dentro del ranking. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
user12Dec 25, 2017
Eerie, mysterious, exciting, captivating, thrilling, and disturbing, Psycho is a brilliant film, and a must-watch. I can't say too much about it without giving anything away, it's much better if you watch it without reading anything about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sharathegde1995Dec 23, 2017
Hitchcock's finest achievement till date and he wouldn't even harm a fly.
Eerie, suspenseful flick from the Master Of Suspense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyOct 14, 2017
Psycho is a chilling psychological horror that will disturb you long after you first initially watch it. There is a reason it is such a classic. It has a unique and surprising story that slowly unfolds, keeping you in mystery wondering whatPsycho is a chilling psychological horror that will disturb you long after you first initially watch it. There is a reason it is such a classic. It has a unique and surprising story that slowly unfolds, keeping you in mystery wondering what the truth is. It is backed up by great performances and music that truly make this one of the best movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews