CJ Entertainment | Release Date: October 11, 2019
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1104 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,015
Mixed:
45
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarcDoyleOct 11, 2019
I've seen a ton of movies this year, and this one is clearly in my top group. The storytelling is phenomenal, the visuals are beautiful, and even though things get a touch "heavy" in the final third with regard to driving the theme home,I've seen a ton of movies this year, and this one is clearly in my top group. The storytelling is phenomenal, the visuals are beautiful, and even though things get a touch "heavy" in the final third with regard to driving the theme home, it's just an amazing film. The actors are uniformly fantastic. What starts as sort of a grift/heist/scheme that's light and hilarious turns touching, and emotional. It's not as momentous as last year's Roma, but if there's justice, this one will get a Best Picture nod, and will actually have a shot to win. Of course, I'm not staking anything of value on that... I have a feeling that academy voters don't watch many of these films. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
doodlermanOct 14, 2019
Absolutely incredible. One of Bong Joon-Ho's best. It's darkly funny, loaded with suspense, and has a deep socio-economic statement that's timely and deep. The cast is awesome, the direction is awesome, the music, the cinematography -Absolutely incredible. One of Bong Joon-Ho's best. It's darkly funny, loaded with suspense, and has a deep socio-economic statement that's timely and deep. The cast is awesome, the direction is awesome, the music, the cinematography - everything is awesome. PARASITE, thus far, is easily my favorite film of the year. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
PlasticsOct 19, 2019
Fantastic filmmaking. One the most revolutionary Golden Palms in recent history. An exquisite popcorn flick that contains all your favorite genres in a two-hour long roller-coaster social satire
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Black-TemplarOct 15, 2019
I have zero interest in Kdrama series, Kpop or just K-musical and cinema industry in general.

But this movie, God damn that it's a must watch!
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
JoeCoolFeb 15, 2020
I saw this movie for the third time now. I'm still trying to think of a movie that's better than this one and coming up short. The first ever non-English spoken movie that won the best movie oscar, simply because it was the best movie. It'sI saw this movie for the third time now. I'm still trying to think of a movie that's better than this one and coming up short. The first ever non-English spoken movie that won the best movie oscar, simply because it was the best movie. It's an amazing story with a twist and an ending that I really didn't see coming. A drama/comedy balance with social commentary that works surprisingly well. The acting is simply great and I think it'll be a while before something better comes to the big screen. It's just really, really good, even after seeing it three times I still love every second of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
keanexFeb 18, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An incredible story of a poor family who scams their way into working for a rich family, each taking on a separate role. The movie moves forward and becomes more intense as each moment occurs, culminating in a finish that is thrilling. A fantastic movie that feels fresh and full of new thoughts and ideas even 2 hours in. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AaronANov 30, 2019
I rarely log in to write a review.

This move made me instantly log in to post one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeNov 18, 2019
Electrifying! Top five movie of the year. Lives up to the rave reviews. Deservedly won Best Film at Cannes Festival. Director at the top of his form! Black comedy, satire, thriller, amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodDec 1, 2019
This is the best film of the year. It is beautiful. thought-provoking, and truly is the most shocking/surprising gems that have been created. The plot centres around a family struggling to get buy and make ends meet. That is all I'll say inThis is the best film of the year. It is beautiful. thought-provoking, and truly is the most shocking/surprising gems that have been created. The plot centres around a family struggling to get buy and make ends meet. That is all I'll say in regards to the plot. It's something to experience and watch unfold. I didn't know anything about the film walking in and was blown away. Totally recommended. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
BENNEBOct 11, 2019
To sum this movie it up, it is a black comedy, a thriller, a horror and a social satire in 2 hours. Seems like a lot in 2 hours, but not only is the message of class division clear, Bong presents it in the most accessible and humorous wayTo sum this movie it up, it is a black comedy, a thriller, a horror and a social satire in 2 hours. Seems like a lot in 2 hours, but not only is the message of class division clear, Bong presents it in the most accessible and humorous way while being able to shock his viewer; and everything from the performance of the cast, to the script, to the cinematography and to the production is flawless and jaw dropping.

Calling it a great movie is an understatement. Bong has created a masterpiece and what could possibly his best film so far. Go watch the movie as soon as possible. If you love cinema, this is one movie you have to watch. It will leave you speechless at the end.
Expand
22 of 25 users found this helpful223
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Oct 29, 2019
With a first act that unfolds like something of a cheeky Aesop fable for the 21st century, a third act that feels like something straight out of a true crime novel, and a second act that somehow ties these two disparate bookends together,With a first act that unfolds like something of a cheeky Aesop fable for the 21st century, a third act that feels like something straight out of a true crime novel, and a second act that somehow ties these two disparate bookends together, "Parasite" effortlessly skyrockets into the heights of memorability for not only this year, but for the past few years, as this is one movie I'm going to have a hard time shaking for days, if not weeks from now. There's so much to every layer of this movie, and co-writer/director Bong Joon-Ho's refreshingly specific vision is the fulcrum of it all. The narrative is so unique, featuring a latter half that's chock-full of events you absolutely can't see coming. The imagery and colors within each frame grow in terms of vibrance as the film goes on. And the overall tone is so brilliantly difficult to pin down to just one note, ultimately giving this movie one of the most incredibly specific voices I've heard in a theater for quite some time. It is, without a doubt, one of the year's greatest feats to behold. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKOct 29, 2019
A great film that deserved to win the Palme D’Or at Cannes. In a strange way, it’s a Korean version of Upstairs, Downstairs, but much more cutthroat and much more fun. You never quite know what will happen next with such wily servants andA great film that deserved to win the Palme D’Or at Cannes. In a strange way, it’s a Korean version of Upstairs, Downstairs, but much more cutthroat and much more fun. You never quite know what will happen next with such wily servants and such clueless and pampered rich people. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
willlolOct 27, 2019
Um dos melhores filmes desse século até o momento, sem dúvidas! Apenas assistam e procurem saber o menos possível para terem uma experiência surreal de vida.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
wayne_poshJan 21, 2020
Bong Joon Ho’s 2019 release opens with a sub-ground level view out of a semi-basement window outlooking the alleyway of a Korean slum that will play the setting for most of the first act of the film. As the camera settles on this view, HangulBong Joon Ho’s 2019 release opens with a sub-ground level view out of a semi-basement window outlooking the alleyway of a Korean slum that will play the setting for most of the first act of the film. As the camera settles on this view, Hangul characters discreetly faze into frame and are quickly translated to the American title: Parasite. This seemingly menacing title (for who has any good memories of a parasite?) is in stark contrast to the equally seemingly innocuous backdrop. This opening frame acts as the films first (of many) contradictions that keeps the viewer intrigued and constantly guessing what will happen next all the way up to its thrilling and touching finale.

The film centers around the Kim family: a hard-on-their luck family existing (just barely) amongst the previously mentioned alleyways of the slums that make up the bedrock of this unnamed Korean metropolitan. The family is shown as goofy, well-meaning, cheap, and ultimately entirely relatable. The interesting characters are brought to life by the apparently impeccable talents of the entire main cast. Kang-ho Song acts as patriarch to the Kim family but never acts as the boss. Each family member has a strength to balance any apparent weaknesses they may have. The performances are broad yet nuanced and the dialogue reaches every emotion on the spectrum while always maintaining a hint of comedy. Every character is given a chance to pine as well as get a laugh. If the trailers and posters scare or baffle you, know this: the acting in this movie is worth the cost of admission on its own. The cinematography and writing are all icing on this character-driven cake.

That’s not to say the look and writing of this film are not high points on their own. American viewers will automatically find the Korean setting to be a breath of fresh air with great shots of modern architecture contrasting the dreary shambles of the slums. In every frame of the film, the filmmaker attempts to make the background just as important a character as the people delivering lines. And as the viewers become more accustomed to the diverse settings, the plot constantly creates doubt in our securities and hints at something sinister behind every corner. At the moment you feel most safe, Bong introduces something new that shakes and upturns every notion you built up to that point. This all culminates in a showdown that both strips the viewer of all safety while at the same time establishes a new hope. Walking into the cinema as this film begins, the viewer has a pretty good idea of what kind of film they are in for. But as each scene shifts and every conversation is had in the film, the viewer is treated to something completely new and equally satisfying. The viewer will laugh and cry, cheer and gasp, all while cringing and gripping their seats and this is not an experience offered often to a modern audience. In an age of paint-by-numbers blockbusters, this gem offers a shining example of how great storytelling can be different and completely unsafe. Bong Joon Ho’s own concern about Western audiences reservations about subtitled films rang even more resonant after my viewing as Parasite offers one of the best reasons to hurdle that 1-inch barrier.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviemitch96Nov 2, 2019
This is a Korean film that I can't quite categorize! I don't know whether to consider it a comedy, drama, thriller, dark comedy, etc., as it contains so many elements of all these genres. One thing I do know is certain though, this is such anThis is a Korean film that I can't quite categorize! I don't know whether to consider it a comedy, drama, thriller, dark comedy, etc., as it contains so many elements of all these genres. One thing I do know is certain though, this is such an interesting and unbelievable film in virtually every way possible! Winner of the Palme d'Or (the French equivalent of an Academy Award) earlier this year at the Cannes Film Festival, this film follows a poor Korean family that attempts to insert themselves into the lives of a rich, upper-class suburban family by getting themselves hired for various jobs for the family, such as a math tudor, chauffeur, cook, etc. They seem intent on even replacing the family and claiming the house for themselves if possible, until they stumble upon something shocking and unexpected within the house. And to say too much else beyond that would ruin the amazing experience of viewing this film for the first time! Really, all I can say is this: No other film this year had me laughing so much during one moment, and then completely on the edge of my seat during another, with certain scenes even leaving me absolutely breathless and speechless! The acting, writing, and dialogue were all so brilliant and razor-sharp as well! The film is layered with so many unexpected twists and turns! I never knew where this film was going or what it'd morph or evolve into next, as each scene and moment always felt so radically different and unpredictable than the last! On top of all that, the film undeniably provides a unique subtext on class, social status, the lengths some will go to for prosperity, and how people within certain classes are often perceived. Overall, I can't even begin to heap enough praise towards this masterpiece of a film! It had just about everything to offer, combined so many favorite elements and genres of mine, and left me flabbergasted by the end to the point where I sat through the entire credits and then some in order to properly process and sit with what I'd just watched! This is far and out one of the best films of the year, maybe even the decade! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
everettDec 18, 2019
Brilliant. The writing, acting and directing combine for a social satire that I still can't get out of my mind. The images will haunt you, and bring home the real divide that exists across the world - that of class - and its cost in human terms.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AoneDec 19, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. House under water and tent over the water. The movie PARASITE is the reality we do not want to see. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Brent_MarchantOct 24, 2019
Dissecting the struggle between the classes through the lens of innate human nature -- regardless of class status -- provides the foundation for this rip-roaring black comedy/social satire, one of those rare films that grabs your attentionDissecting the struggle between the classes through the lens of innate human nature -- regardless of class status -- provides the foundation for this rip-roaring black comedy/social satire, one of those rare films that grabs your attention and holds it from start to finish without letting go. Building on themes explored in such previous works as "Snowpiercer," writer-director Bong Joon Ho serves up a riveting, ruthless offering that makes its point clearly but without being heavy-handed or cartoonishly over the top. In doing so, the filmmaker dishes out a wealth of utterly hilarious humor about subjects that ultimately prove to be no laughing matter. Easily one of the year's best, sufficiently award-worthy in many respects, especially in its superb writing, the fine performances of its excellent ensemble cast and a thought-provoking message that should give us all a lot to think about. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mariohenriqueFeb 29, 2020
tudo nesse filme é perfeito... a fotografia, a edição, a atuação, a direção... assistir Parasita incomoda, principalmente àqueles que não entendem sua principal mensagem. Já assisti 2 vezes e assistiria mais
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
bcdserraJan 11, 2020
You may be 14, you may be 40. You may be Korean, Russian or Belgian. None of those matter because there is one certitude: You will LOVE this masterpiece and it's universal, original story. On top of that it has great actors, beautifulYou may be 14, you may be 40. You may be Korean, Russian or Belgian. None of those matter because there is one certitude: You will LOVE this masterpiece and it's universal, original story. On top of that it has great actors, beautiful cinematography, it's fantastically paced and just a lot of fun really. Realising what the fuss was all about after watching it is a twist in itself. Enjoy ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
avr50Jan 15, 2020
Parasite is the kind of movie that needs to be seen by everyone. This film is funny, is suspenseful, is a satire, it has everything. Bong Joon Ho has created a complete masterpiece fill with amazing performances, great cinematography,Parasite is the kind of movie that needs to be seen by everyone. This film is funny, is suspenseful, is a satire, it has everything. Bong Joon Ho has created a complete masterpiece fill with amazing performances, great cinematography, excellent music and a screenplay that will be studied for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TaywinDec 14, 2019
This movie forces me to make this review. It's a masterpiece, watch it, you will never forget it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca31Feb 5, 2020
I felt so many emotions watching Parasite and I'm dying to see it again. There is a reason you've heard so much about this film. Yes, it's true some movies that receive a lot of hype end up not quite living up to it but in this case do not beI felt so many emotions watching Parasite and I'm dying to see it again. There is a reason you've heard so much about this film. Yes, it's true some movies that receive a lot of hype end up not quite living up to it but in this case do not be afraid to believe the hype. It's an original story with superb acting. I've never seen anything like it, one of the best films I've seen in years. Film fans this is not to be missed its phenomenal and will stay with you long after it has ended.

An unemployed family (the Kims) take a very keen interest in the wealthy and glamorous Parks family, quickly integrating themselves into their lives despite the stark contrast in social status. That's all I'm going to say about the plot because the less you know about Parasite the better. It's incredibly unexpected and does not play out the way you think it would at all. It gives you moments of extreme awkwardness and hilarity. There are times where you have to laugh just to release the ever building tension. It's a comedy, drama and horror all rolled into one masterful movie. Bleak, violent, a dark and twisted story that will constantly keep you guessing.

Director and writer Bong Joon Ho has truly outdone himself with this masterpiece. Parasite is one of those rare films you can't stop thinking about after you leave the cinema. It's so profoundly disturbing and bizarre I'm still trying to process it. I understand not everyone takes the time to see subtitled films and to them I can only say you honestly don't know what you're missing. Foreign language films have the extra edge to them, and if you don't believe me then just take the time to see The Host, The Raid or Pan's Labyrinth. Very few foreign language films have the potential to finally break the record by winning a Best Picture Oscar but if anything can do it Parasite can.

Unpredictable and highly provocative, I cannot recommend this highly enough. If you only see one film this year let it be Parasite. What else do I need to say? Are you still reading this? Well stop, get yourself to a cinema and see it, you won't be sorry.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulDec 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mi punto de vista e impresiones:

Una sátira sobre las clases sociales que en definitiva no dejará indiferente a nadie.

Es difícil encasillar a esta película en un género porque realmente tiene de todo.

Leí excelentes críticas que la calificaban como una de las mejores películas del año y de la década y ahora que acabo de verla, es completamente cierto, en mi opinión tiene todos los méritos para ubicarse en el primer puesto de la mejor película del año, disculpando a Joker y a Midsommar que hasta el momento compartían el primer puesto, pero me tomaré el atrevimiento de ubicarlas a ambas en el segundo lugar y a Parasite no hay nada que la saque del primer puesto y saben el por qué? La trama es interesante, los personajes son fabulosos y muy ingeniosos, el ritmo es atraparte y el guión y dirección son absolutamente increíbles, ambos son sumamente inteligentes, mordaces y por sobre todo sublimes, estoy realmente fascinado por la película que acabo de ver, se las recomiendo a todo dar.

Sobra decir que le doy 5 ⭐ de 5 ⭐
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HipsterDufusDec 10, 2019
I actually think this may be the best movie I've seen this year. Very well done, its funny, dark, emotional, intriguing and definitely will keep you on your toes for what happens next which is very unpredictable. A very good story line andI actually think this may be the best movie I've seen this year. Very well done, its funny, dark, emotional, intriguing and definitely will keep you on your toes for what happens next which is very unpredictable. A very good story line and well directed. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nayecriticFeb 17, 2020
oh, wow. .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hugoferreiraOct 31, 2019
I am speechless. It doesn't get any better than this. This film is a masterpiece and I can't see any better coming this year. Joon-ho Bong keeps on getting better and it's one of the best storytellers of our times, with this film being hisI am speechless. It doesn't get any better than this. This film is a masterpiece and I can't see any better coming this year. Joon-ho Bong keeps on getting better and it's one of the best storytellers of our times, with this film being his Magnum Opus. It touches so many aspects of life with geniality and a dash of dark humor. All is a metaphor and all is explicit, genius. After only one week of it's premier, in my country, I went to one of the few theaters were this film was actually available. Expecting to have a room for myself, this little theater was full, completely full. It just demonstrates that people look also for something more than all the regurgitated bull**it that Hollywood has to offer. Don't miss this film and enjoy it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
loadingrandeOct 11, 2019
everything about this movie is outstanding. saw it a couple months ago (and rewatched today) and it never got out of my mind. easily the best movie of the year. one of the bests of the decade, or even of the century. Bong is extraordinary.everything about this movie is outstanding. saw it a couple months ago (and rewatched today) and it never got out of my mind. easily the best movie of the year. one of the bests of the decade, or even of the century. Bong is extraordinary. the performances are legendary. the script, production, everything - it will leave u speechless. totally recommend. if it isn't nominated for best picture at the oscars i think imma go insane Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
10
GiesonDec 2, 2019
Easily the best movie of 2019. A great movie, it entertains, it thrills and it shocks, thanks to a perfect direction by Bong and some incredible performances from the cast.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsOct 25, 2019
This movie is arguably the best thriller I have seen in years. I was on the edge of my seat for the entire runtime, and I can honestly say I never knew what was going to happen next. I am not going to spoil any plot elements in this review,This movie is arguably the best thriller I have seen in years. I was on the edge of my seat for the entire runtime, and I can honestly say I never knew what was going to happen next. I am not going to spoil any plot elements in this review, because I believe you should be as shocked as I was by the time the credits rolled!

Every single element that went into crafting Parasite is flawless. The composition of every single shot was immaculate. The soundtrack was intense and beautiful. The acting was out of this world phenomenal. The direction is beautiful. The writing is very well done, and, a lot like Joker, is political without being political. Parasite has a lot to say about classism, and it touches on the relationship of North and South Korea with a perspective that was completely new to me as an outsider. This is a masterfully crafted film, and I hope everyone who can see this movie does.

This is truly Bong Joon-Ho's best work. I was sucked into this movie, and I couldn't believe how good it was. I'm not the best at Oscar predictions or anything like that, but this movie won the Palme d'Or, very deservedly I might add! I think this will be a shoo-in for Best Foreign Language Film in all of the USA awards this year.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Dec 31, 2019
From South Korea, the movie that will be the worst nightmare of Almodovar and Scorsese. Dark comedy, drama and suspense in the vein of Hitchcock are mixed masterly in the story for a family of phonies and his dastardly art of getting awayFrom South Korea, the movie that will be the worst nightmare of Almodovar and Scorsese. Dark comedy, drama and suspense in the vein of Hitchcock are mixed masterly in the story for a family of phonies and his dastardly art of getting away with it, or almost. Unexpected twists and an unpredictable end will make this one be tattoed in the memory of viewer. Rush! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
mitokioDec 17, 2019
Not a fan of the director (I loathed Snowpiercer) and movies with this must critical acclaim usually suck. But by far the movie of the year. In tone, in terms of black humor/crime/thriller it "feels" like the same world as Joker. AmazingNot a fan of the director (I loathed Snowpiercer) and movies with this must critical acclaim usually suck. But by far the movie of the year. In tone, in terms of black humor/crime/thriller it "feels" like the same world as Joker. Amazing visuals and lots of interesting layers to sift through. I think you can watch it just as a movie and enjoy it. It's not supposed to be realistic, but stylized, so go in knowing that. But pay attention and this movie is deeply rewarding. The disgust the rich people have for what was found in the car and how they use it in role play later on... the father telling his son that planning life doesn't work and then the ending... the subtle and clever aspects of the class struggle and how the house plays into it. So many layers if you want to look for it. This is an astonishing piece of well crafted fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kmac73Dec 6, 2019
I liked Snowpiercer, didn’t care for Okja but Parasite was about as perfect as a film can be. A hilarious and brutal depiction of inter and intra class struggle. Must see; not just best of the year but one of the best of all time.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
DeanomiteJan 13, 2020
The reputation this has developed as movie of the year is well earned, it is beautifully photographed, perfectly acted and scripted. There is not much else to add, i bet there is an american remake on the way, it will win best picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeastJ18Oct 25, 2019
The best film of the year, maybe the best film of the decade. Just one of the best films in general. Joon-ho Bong balances a social thriller, satire and drama, perfectly and effortlessly. The cinematography is as good as I've ever seen in aThe best film of the year, maybe the best film of the decade. Just one of the best films in general. Joon-ho Bong balances a social thriller, satire and drama, perfectly and effortlessly. The cinematography is as good as I've ever seen in a film; the editing keeps it highly engaging; the production design adds the impactful disparity between the classes; the score and sound design adds significant character and emotion to each scene; and the performances are powerfully executed from the whole cast. Parasite deserves all the high praise it is receiving from critics and somehow, it deserves more. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
freeKade1kaFeb 12, 2020
Best in 2019, i don't thought korean movies could impress me so much, ending is awesome
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kayhamedOct 10, 2019
A film that finally satisfied me after many years. thank you Bong joon-ho. :)
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
10
KuggzFeb 13, 2020
This movie covers all the film genres as well as all the themes of our lives it is truly amazing although I could see it going over the heads of closed minded people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wevertonaguiiarOct 11, 2019
Claramente o melhor filme de 2019, até então. Uma obra de arte que trata sobre assuntos delicados sem parecer exagerada. Nos faz pensar e ver os detalhes. O roteiro e a direção de Bong Joon-ho estão entre os melhores trabalhos que eu já vi.Claramente o melhor filme de 2019, até então. Uma obra de arte que trata sobre assuntos delicados sem parecer exagerada. Nos faz pensar e ver os detalhes. O roteiro e a direção de Bong Joon-ho estão entre os melhores trabalhos que eu já vi. Simplesmente incrível. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
KaituneOct 11, 2019
I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this movie. A definite must see for everyone.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
SoulWarfareFeb 23, 2020
I don't know what to say about this film apart from how this film is masterful film making. I don't even want to give a synopsis for this film as this film is best experienced with no knowledge whatsoever.

The plot is amazing and extremely
I don't know what to say about this film apart from how this film is masterful film making. I don't even want to give a synopsis for this film as this film is best experienced with no knowledge whatsoever.

The plot is amazing and extremely gripping with every twist and turn. Likewise, the way it tackles the social themes is so intriguing and done so extremely well even if the theme has been done many times before. The entire cast is amazing and honestly not even one of them getting a nomination for best acting is quite the robbery. Huge praise to Song Kang-ho and Park So-dam especially, they gave amazing performances. The cinematography/set design is also impressive and uniquely correlates with the ongoing story. The use of staircase and lines to tackle the ongoing theme, while not subtle, is done extremely well. The soundtrack, while not exactly memorable, manages to elevate the tense atmosphere and keep people on the edge of their seats. Finally, the film is absolutely entertaining with the way it incorporates contrasting genres, black comedy and thriller, into one surprisingly cohesive and exhilarating movie. THIS IS A MUST WATCH! It deserves best picture for a reason.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thenakedmoleOct 14, 2019
Unpredictable, unique story, fantastic cinematography, and great acting. I can't recommend enough. At the moment this is easily my favorite movie of 2019.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
AnotherBRgamerOct 11, 2019
Uma obra prima do cinema coreano e um dos melhores filmes de 2019. Sem mais.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
DOLLAR_376Jan 22, 2020
An instant classic that keeps you hooked from beginning to end. It is easy to watch, but deep and ambiguous at the same time, with outstanding performances and excelent direction by Bong Joon Ho.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
XV_Jan 14, 2020
I can't recommend enough this movie to anybody, it has amazing rhythm and editing that it makes it look like it is easy. The plot slowly but surely unveils and it gives you enough clues for you to uncover a lot of its themes beforehand, notI can't recommend enough this movie to anybody, it has amazing rhythm and editing that it makes it look like it is easy. The plot slowly but surely unveils and it gives you enough clues for you to uncover a lot of its themes beforehand, not that is predictable mind you, but is not unfair or cheap, so several views are recommended.

I don't want to speak a lot of the plot so I won't spoil anything, but is not only an extremely well done and entertaining movie, it also serves as an actual social commentary about the poor and the wealth, it is also so well written that it doesn't tell you a moral, it makes you question yours. Please see it with an open mind and make your own conclusions.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GrantD243Nov 15, 2019
"Parasite" is about as close to perfect as a film can possibly get. I have zero complaints. Nothing. Give it the Oscar. This is the film that people who have tried to make a case for "Us" as a Film of the Year contender should watch. It"Parasite" is about as close to perfect as a film can possibly get. I have zero complaints. Nothing. Give it the Oscar. This is the film that people who have tried to make a case for "Us" as a Film of the Year contender should watch. It achieves a lot of the same goals while being far better. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
mepnrcFeb 14, 2020
Kesinlikle harika bir film. Günümüzün sosyal değerlerine ve sınıf ayrımcılığının ne kadar itici bir şey olduğuna çok güzel dokundurmalar yapan şahane bir yapıt. Komedi, dram ve suç ancak bu kadar iyi harmanlanabilirdi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
godisawomanFeb 14, 2020
This movie is absolutely amazing, one of the best movies I’ve seen in my life. It literally shocked me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
invinciblexJan 14, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. insane of ths 2019.
The best movie of 2019 has everything: great acting, fabulous screenplay, with funny, tense and plot-twist moments, excelent directing, social critics and acid jokes
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NG89Oct 18, 2019
"What happens to a dream deferred?" (L. Hughes) Parasite creator Bong Joon-Ho agrees with Hughes that it could dry up, rot, stink, sag like a heavy load, and explode, but more importantly it devastates. A (probably) once charismatic and"What happens to a dream deferred?" (L. Hughes) Parasite creator Bong Joon-Ho agrees with Hughes that it could dry up, rot, stink, sag like a heavy load, and explode, but more importantly it devastates. A (probably) once charismatic and driven father, Ki-taek, reduces himself to a man with no plan. Further, he reveals to his son that this is the best plan of all - as you can't get let down that way. Classism rules the screen as the Philistine Park family does South Korea. They know no true love, no appreciation for art, and no hobbies, but their money buys them pseudo-happiness- at the expense of Ki-taek's family and the rest of the poor who share his scent. The director adds family dynamics, humor, suspense, gore, and scenery to a film that can only be categorized as art. Best film of the year! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
MycoldpatrolFeb 16, 2020
It deserved the oscar wins, it's a fantastic movie, it's deep but also entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LEGEND17Feb 12, 2020
Parasite is soo engaging during every minute of watching it I was waiting for the next minute to come that how excited this movie got me, it's a true masterpiece that will live on for ages and truly oscar worthy
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YeetusMcGeetusOct 25, 2019
Absolutely beautiful, disturbing, and politically timely. I was blown away by Parasite! Go in blind, with no expectations, and you will be shocked to your core!
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
Remus23Oct 13, 2019
My first korean movie, one of the best movies I saw this year, a simple comedic concept which goes into a complex development, amazing acting, emotional and excellent camera work, frame composition and color. I think its a 10 I'm not a criticMy first korean movie, one of the best movies I saw this year, a simple comedic concept which goes into a complex development, amazing acting, emotional and excellent camera work, frame composition and color. I think its a 10 I'm not a critic and for me it felt refreshing and proved once again that asian know movies. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
jibbawattNov 5, 2019
This is not only the best movie of 2019. This is the best movie of the decade. Just go see it.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
AlexTkillerNov 23, 2019
Una pelicula impredecible, llena de intriga y giros argumentales, tienes que verla sin saber nada de ella, eso hará que disfrutes mucho mejor
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
theredskyOct 30, 2019
Parasite is a modern day masterpiece even though it’s not one of my favorite films nor is it my favorite film of the year. I have one tiny issue with the film but it is more of a nitpick. The film’s message is a little on the nose but I don’tParasite is a modern day masterpiece even though it’s not one of my favorite films nor is it my favorite film of the year. I have one tiny issue with the film but it is more of a nitpick. The film’s message is a little on the nose but I don’t have a huge issue with it but it is noticeable. Other than that, this film is perfect. There is not one bad performance in the movie. Cho Yeo-jeong, Park So-dam, and Kang-Ho Song are standouts from the film. All 3 of them have some of the best acting of the year. Their work with a fantastic script that is incredibly well written and clever makes their performance so much more enjoyable. Another aspect I loved was the cinematography. The film’s slow camera movements and slow tracking shots look absolutely beautiful which go along great with the fantastic production design. The film’s story and themes make this film incredible. The story of this poor family slowly infiltrating a rich family only to find out that their house is not what it seems. It’s so incredibly tense. You never know what is going to happen next and it’s always surprising to see what eventually happens. The film has themes of class divide and class warfare throughout which are very profound. The rich family says these lines about how great their life is while the opposite is happening to the poor family. Every time this occurs, you see how the poor family reacts and makes the scene and film itself dramatically more tense. Another thing I liked about the film was the score by Jung Jaeil. His score adds so much more to the tension. I know I’m using the word tension a lot but that’s what this film is. A constant build up of tension scene by scene until it all culminates in the finale. For me, each passing scene left me more and more on the edge of my seat. One final aspect I want to touch on is the humor. Most of the jokes are cleverly written and while some of the jokes may not be that funny, I do appreciate how they were cleverly inserted instead of incredibly forced. Except this film to be on a bunch of Top 10 lists at the end of the year. Overall, Parasite is a fantastic film with great acting, great cinematography, and a powerful story about class divide even if its message may be a little too on the nose. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
ThatFilmGuy20Nov 25, 2019
As I write this, I want to describe my raw initial state after I finished the film, I'm in a state of complete awe, staring into the wall kind of awe, Parasite is truly a work of art, a sheer masterpiece.
This film oozes with mastery, every
As I write this, I want to describe my raw initial state after I finished the film, I'm in a state of complete awe, staring into the wall kind of awe, Parasite is truly a work of art, a sheer masterpiece.
This film oozes with mastery, every little detail tells a story of its own, I was drawn to it like a moth to a flame, it grips hard and it never lets go, it sways between genres gracefully, it offers comedy both dark and light, drama, horror, thrill, and it's all packaged so seamlessly, conveyed to us throughout breathtaking performances across the board, I've watched my share of Korean Cinema to know that's a common thing but Parasite takes it to a whole other level, it materializes thoughts and ideas, things words can not communicate, it is extremely rare to experience such a thing in film, I can only name a small number of movies that actually made me feel this way, just incredible. Director Bong Joon Ho proves that he is a master within his own cross-genre domain, he takes charge and you actually feel like you're in safe hands watching this, he shapes the scenes perfectly, A true master of his trade, Thank You.
In all honesty, I feel like I went through an experiment where the time went still and I experienced a piece of art such as this, I absolutely, wholeheartedly loved every single second of this film, MINDBLOWING.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
KordamaFeb 14, 2020
For me it always come down to one big thing that dictates whether a movie is "good" or "great" and that's the moment you look back and realize whether or not you've been thinking about that same movie days after you've watched it or not.For me it always come down to one big thing that dictates whether a movie is "good" or "great" and that's the moment you look back and realize whether or not you've been thinking about that same movie days after you've watched it or not. Parasite is a movie you will think about for days afterwards. I don't really want to say anything else considering this movie is best viewed blind. But you need to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoesFeb 10, 2020
La primera película asiática nominada al Oscar y con justa y merecida razon
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gobagOct 22, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think my life is like that, it was a very deep and content film, thank you. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
scarcytyOct 14, 2019
A delicious movie that keeps on serving every minute of its runtime. With gorgeous shots and incredible acting from the cast, this film will be remembered for years.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoVn00Jan 22, 2020
I love how this manages to be a crowd-pleasing, straight-forward and accesible film but also a thought-provoking, well shot, incredibly well written and acted movie. It's so much in so little time. This movie achieves to be in like fiveI love how this manages to be a crowd-pleasing, straight-forward and accesible film but also a thought-provoking, well shot, incredibly well written and acted movie. It's so much in so little time. This movie achieves to be in like five different genres and never feels inconsistent. The transition from a standard drama to a comedy, then to a horror film, then to back to a drama, back to a comedy and so on feels so natural and never took me away from the movie. This might be one of the most funny non-comedy films of 2019, one of the best acted, one of the best written and one of the most entertaining yet complex films I've seen in 2019. There wasn't a single moment that felt slow or boring, the movie never stops and constantly moves forward to show us something new about the characters and the story and does it in an incredibly entertaining and engaging way. This movie is also really intense. It creates tension so well while also making you laugh or feel scared or disturbed. It's just too much to handle. It's a complete cinematic experience that I think I didn't get with any other movie I saw last year and I've at least seen all the Best Picture Oscar nominations and I have to say that this is the best out of all of them. Like the director said in his Golden Glibes speech: "Once you overcome the 1-inch-tall barrier of subtitles, you will be introduced to so many more amazing films" and he's absolutely right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zNeverSleepingDec 17, 2019
Um dos melhores filmes de 2019, sem sombras de duvidas!

Uma surpresa que me pegou em cheio. Talvez esse seja o filme mais completo que já assisti. Ele tem diversos gêneros, mas não assume nenhum. Tem diversos dilemas e reflexões, mas não se
Um dos melhores filmes de 2019, sem sombras de duvidas!

Uma surpresa que me pegou em cheio. Talvez esse seja o filme mais completo que já assisti. Ele tem diversos gêneros, mas não assume nenhum. Tem diversos dilemas e reflexões, mas não se abstêm deles. Contém um finale tão impressionantemente imprevisível que é de té tira o ar. Fora as atuações que estão perfeitamente bem alocadas.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LucaCriticsMar 28, 2020
Parasite Movie Review: 10/10
Simply an amazing, breathtaking movie that deserves the Oscar for its original script, great actors and an incredible, creative storyline with many metaphors and attention to detail.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ger89Feb 9, 2020
El guión es impresionante, como puede generar entramados de historias, tantos círculos conectados. desde la familia por un lado, desde la ciudad por otro. desde el hogar, desde la calle. desde el suelo, desde la tierra. desde los parásitos yEl guión es impresionante, como puede generar entramados de historias, tantos círculos conectados. desde la familia por un lado, desde la ciudad por otro. desde el hogar, desde la calle. desde el suelo, desde la tierra. desde los parásitos y los parasitados. hay muchos binomios Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
joaogabriNov 26, 2019
Perfeito, o melhor filme do ano e não tem discussão. Direção, roteiro e montagem no máximo. Bong Joon-ho está em outro nível.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dja230197Dec 16, 2019
The most fun and surprising film of the decade. A crowd-pleaser for critics and the general public alike. One of the finest works of Bong JoonHo and his amazing cast. An almost faultless film, with nothing but attention-grabbing scenes fromThe most fun and surprising film of the decade. A crowd-pleaser for critics and the general public alike. One of the finest works of Bong JoonHo and his amazing cast. An almost faultless film, with nothing but attention-grabbing scenes from start to finish. A mix of dark comedy, drama, thriller, and themes on social class make this film enjoyable and interesting without any particular protagonist or antagonist in the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GoodMorningAssFeb 11, 2020
An unpredictable film full of intrigue and plot twists, you have to watch it without knowing anything about it, which will make you enjoy much better
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieRiffingJan 6, 2020
Parasite stands atop the rest of the competition as the best film of 2019. Director Bong Joon-ho delivers his masterpiece, a film that has you hooked from the very beginning. Over the course of Parasite's runtime, it draws you deeper andParasite stands atop the rest of the competition as the best film of 2019. Director Bong Joon-ho delivers his masterpiece, a film that has you hooked from the very beginning. Over the course of Parasite's runtime, it draws you deeper and deeper into its world, demanding more and more of your attention. Just when your investment in the characters peaks, Bong Joon-ho takes Parasite off the rails and delivers a striking message on the innate struggles between classes. Add in fantastic performances and cinematography, and you have the must-see film of 2019. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DiptanshuFeb 20, 2020
Speechless! Extravaganza...words are worthless to define such Great piece of cinema! Right from the start we were too much into the story that I was shocked the movie is over like 15 mins only!such smooth screenplay with simple but effectiveSpeechless! Extravaganza...words are worthless to define such Great piece of cinema! Right from the start we were too much into the story that I was shocked the movie is over like 15 mins only!such smooth screenplay with simple but effective score with an hinge of doubts it was sure a classic cinema! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paulomartinsFeb 12, 2020
Just brilliant. A look at the consequences of capitalism. The script is very well done and it is very difficult to understand where the film is going, which puzzles you all the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
anuj1234Feb 20, 2020
Absolutely mind-blowing. Expect the unexpected. The film is thoroughly enjoyable and equally thought provoking
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GabrielPazFeb 12, 2020
Eu amei tanto esse filme...................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ArthuuOct 24, 2019
A totally unexpected movie, left me disturbed. It's so good that it feels kind of unreal to be created in 2019. Masterpiece & best one of the year.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
lurcasJan 11, 2020
Parasite is one the best movies I have watched hands down! Highly recommended
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AvaresseDec 14, 2019
I usually don't watch movies, my attention span is simply just too short for so many of them. Its for that sole reason I stick mainly to just thrillers and suspense, productions that will keep me at the edge of my seat. And oh boy ParasiteI usually don't watch movies, my attention span is simply just too short for so many of them. Its for that sole reason I stick mainly to just thrillers and suspense, productions that will keep me at the edge of my seat. And oh boy Parasite does not disappoint in that aspect in any way whatsoever. Its a movie full of twists, one wont know what hit 'em.. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
dragonbadJan 12, 2020
this movie so cool. for those who dont like thriller its ok. all thriller on near ending, the quality overall is good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
incleyoonOct 11, 2019
okay but this is the BEST movie of 2019!!!! thank you bong joo, this movie is art
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
carlosloboOct 11, 2019
a **** Masterpiece, deserve all the awards, the best of 2019 without questioning
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
Jep_GambOct 12, 2019
Best Movie I’ve seen this year. So thrilling and clever. Please watch it in the Theaters.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
firstloveOct 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. __
___
____
_____
_______
________ ______________
_________________

Between rank and stairs...
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
FarheenOct 13, 2019
Insanely good. I'm still shaken by it and deeply touched at the same time.

I have no idea how Meta and Rotten tomatoes' rated Black Panther higher than this. Clearly something off.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
bokchoi1018Oct 15, 2019
We are in 2019, and yet there is a movie that from the start till the end, I cannot predict what is going to happen. The most unique Korean movie, and definitely one of the best Korean movies and Bong Joon Ho's best directed movie I have ever seen.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
JamesCollierOct 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'Parasite' is without question one of the best films of 2019 and I can see why Joon ho-Bong's film won the prestigious Palme d'Or prize at the Cannes film festival. This is the first film of his that I have seen and I undoubtedly have to watch more of them as I have been meaning to for some time. The film follows a family of a father, mother, son and daughter who are largely down on their luck and unemployed, living in a basement type flat with a low view onto a street usually occupied with a man who gets drunk and urinates down the street in full view of the family. Ki-woo (Woo-sik Choi) who is the son has a college friend called Min (Seo-joon Park) who visits his home and leaves the family a large rock that Min states will bestow wealth upon the family. Min tells Ki-woo that he is going abroad for study and asks him whether he would like to take over as English tutor for this young rich girl he has been tutoring himself. Ki-woo unsure of how he could considering he is not in college nor an english teacher is told by Min that his knowledge is better than most of his college friends and for him not to worry. Ki-woo is hired by the girl's mother Yeon-kyo Park (Yeo-jeong Jo) after he displays his ability to the mother, and this sets in motion a film that offers such varying emotions and surprises throughout that only a few directors of a very able nature could direct a film of this standard. A fantastic ensemble performance with I think particular praise going to Kang-ho Song as Ki-taek Kim the father. His transitions from comedy to drama are seamless as is the film itself and this blend of comedy and drama always lends a hand in making a film great when it is done well as it is in this case. The cinematography by Kyung-pyo Hong was perfect and you can tell when you have an ensemble crew who are masters of their field. It is good to see an East Asian film garnering so much attention and awards buzz. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Bruno85309Dec 24, 2019
Incrível, fenomenal, sucesso total. Uma verdediera obra de 2019, filme traz toda uma relevância para o debate atual sobre qualidade de vida, desigualdade social, luta de classes, violência.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
sasaimaOct 24, 2019
Parasite lives up to all the hype. It's funny, it's thrilling, it's heartbreaking, it's fun.
Bong Joon Ho blew my mind. This film will probably remain in my mind forever.
The must see movie of 2019!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
opinion_haverNov 30, 2019
This movie has a little something for everyone; comedy, drama, thriller. A full palette of emotions, masterful cinematography and an immersive and believable story. I'd recommend this to anyone who is willing to anyone who is willing to watchThis movie has a little something for everyone; comedy, drama, thriller. A full palette of emotions, masterful cinematography and an immersive and believable story. I'd recommend this to anyone who is willing to anyone who is willing to watch a movie with subtitles. One of the best films I've seen all year. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JeremySlatherOct 27, 2019
It is plain and simple the best movie of this year. Parasite keeps evolving and changing while being always engaging and fun. It is one of the best movie watching experiences you will ever experience - a must-see.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
bonnie1Oct 27, 2019
The best movie ever! Really amazed by the movie and the actors. Happy to see Koreans making good movies.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
TiuLobitsFeb 15, 2020
Amazing! A film full of metaphors, social criticism, minute details, a direction that takes control of the entire film from beginning to end. A film that is worth seeing again, again, and again, you notice details that the first time I didn'tAmazing! A film full of metaphors, social criticism, minute details, a direction that takes control of the entire film from beginning to end. A film that is worth seeing again, again, and again, you notice details that the first time I didn't notice for lack of information, but that now make sense and give even more richness to this work. Simply fascinating! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gcatharinoDec 12, 2019
The best movie of 2019 has everything: great acting, fabulous screenplay, with funny, tense and plot-twist moments, excelent directing, social critics and acid jokes. A monumental (but easy-to-consume) piece of art that satisfies allThe best movie of 2019 has everything: great acting, fabulous screenplay, with funny, tense and plot-twist moments, excelent directing, social critics and acid jokes. A monumental (but easy-to-consume) piece of art that satisfies all audience's tastes. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Joemama13Nov 15, 2019
Such a good movie. Probably one of the best films ever created. Takes you on a roller coaster of emotions
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
AShinyGiratinaFeb 7, 2020
I'm going to refer to this as "The Movie" from now on until I find something fully encapsulates what cinema can achieve in a better fashion. We certainly haven't seen something that could surpass this in the decade before it was released.I'm going to refer to this as "The Movie" from now on until I find something fully encapsulates what cinema can achieve in a better fashion. We certainly haven't seen something that could surpass this in the decade before it was released.
This was simply perfection.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SoyHenryVNov 24, 2019
¿La mejor película del año? - Posiblemente. ¿Obra maestra? - Totalmente.


Esta es la primera película del 2019 que se convertirá en un clásico y un gran referente para los cineastas de aquí en adelante.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
NeutralAsianFeb 19, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is an art and full of mysteries that will always keep you busy wondering what will happen next. No cliches or any nonsense. Straight story telling and great acting. The Director is really good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ScotlandSlagDec 5, 2019
Amazing film. Authentic, real, and a story I have never seen put to film before. Highly recommend. 10/10
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AdrianNieveJan 20, 2020
Lo primero que vemos en Parasite es la ventana de un sótano que da a ras de suelo de una calle iluminada por el sol. Y nos quedamos con esta imagen hasta que se da el primer movimiento de cámara del filme, cuando ésta desciende y, sentado enLo primero que vemos en Parasite es la ventana de un sótano que da a ras de suelo de una calle iluminada por el sol. Y nos quedamos con esta imagen hasta que se da el primer movimiento de cámara del filme, cuando ésta desciende y, sentado en el suelo del sótano, vemos a uno de los protagonistas de esta última producción de de Bong Joon-ho. Solo con eso, el director y el cinematógrafo han establecido el tema principal de la película, que será desarrollado a lo largo de 132 minutos: el lugar que ocupan los pobres y los marginados. Bong Joon-ho es un cineasta muy sencillo. Sus películas cuentan historias complejas, de profundo contenido social, pero siempre utilizando los recursos cinematográficos más básicos para reforzarlos. Sus películas son, para el ojo entrenado, lo que una sinfonía de Bethoveen es para un oído entrenado: sublimes. Y lo mejor de todo es que no necesitas años de entrenamiento tipo conservatorio para apreciar lo sublime en los filmes de Joon-ho. Solo necesitas mirar con atención.

Todo está en los ángulos y los movimientos de cámara. Es con ellos que Bong Joon-ho deletrea los aspectos más importantes de su trama, mientras el guion y las actuaciones se encargan de desarrollarla. Para eso el director coreano se vale de un control absoluto de lo que muestra, cómo lo muestra y a qué ritmo lo muestra. Hay que pensar en sus películas como coreografías entre el elenco y la cámara, llenas de escenas en las que cada movimiento importa porque todo relata o refuerza algo. Por eso Joon-ho nunca se complica demasiado con su cinematografía –aunque sí con los objetos, la profundidad y los colores de su diseño de escenarios–, y más bien mantiene sus ángulos y movimientos de cámara dentro de lo básico y consistente. De esta forma, una vez que entramos en ritmo, podemos bailar con su filme, tal como el elenco está danzando con la cámara.

Y eso nunca fue más cierto que en Parasite (2019), donde Bong Joon-ho refina su habilidad de ser leve en el caos y oscuro en la levedad. Como dije ya, la película comienza con un movimiento de cámara que nos introduce a la pobreza de un hogar de gente que tiene que hacer de todo para conseguir dinero y sobrevivir. A lo largo del filme los veremos abajo, intentando ascender y lográndolo a medida que la película es una divertida y perversa comedia en la que esta familia pobre se infiltra como la servidumbre de un lujoso hogar de gente adinerada. Es tan básico y consistente el lenguaje visual de Joon-ho que a esta familia adinerada la muestra siempre arriba: ubica su hogar en las colinas, los separa de su servidumbre por líneas naturales del escenario, los pone en espacios iluminados y abiertos para remarcar la claustrofobia en la que viven los otros, los marginados.

Parasite es un filme que está en constante diálogo consigo mismo. Cada acto, cada escena, tienen una consecuencia a lo largo de una película cuyo giro pareciera cambiarla por completo. Bong Joon-ho es un maestro del tono, puede hacerte reír en un momento oscuro y despertar un miedo dentro de ti en el momento más ridículo. Pero en Parasite esto es más intenso. De una comedia perversa pasamos a un caos contundente, a algo tan extraño y tan violento que seguramente es cierto. Y en realidad es un giro de trama que no hace más que reforzar el tema principal: el lugar de la pobreza en la sociedad, cómo funciona la división de clases o, en palabras del mismo Joon-ho, cómo en una sociedad capitalista la unión solo es posible en cómo una clase utiliza a la otra. ¡Y el elenco! Cada actor y actriz encarnan a sus personajes de una manera tan efectiva, que no dudamos de ellos ni cuando la historia da su giro. Joon-ho ha trabajo con grandes como Tilda Swimton, Jake Gyllenhall, Ed Harris, Chris Evans y los resultados son increíbles, pero habla muy bien de él que pueda hacer lo mismo y hasta tal vez más con un elenco de su Corea del Sur natal –entre ellos su actor mimado Song Kang-ho– desconocidos para una gran mayoría. Para cuando llega el final de la película –ese final delirante que nos deletrea la imposibilidad de ascender que tienen la clase baja y hasta la clase media–, el elenco ha hecho tan buen trabajo que ese último golpe de la trama a los personajes, es también un golpe a nosotros, a nuestras propias fantasías económicas, es un llamado a mirar de nuevo como dividimos las clases en nuestras sociedades.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SrGusFeb 3, 2020
The film made me feel different things while watching it, like anguish, anger, fear and even joy. It is amazing how the film can change so much from beginning to end without realizing it, and when we notice it, we are already very euphoricThe film made me feel different things while watching it, like anguish, anger, fear and even joy. It is amazing how the film can change so much from beginning to end without realizing it, and when we notice it, we are already very euphoric waiting for future events. The film is full of super well done scenes. It is usually a discreet angle of the camera that gives us the view of grandeur or claustrophobia. The perfect montage along with the soundtrack, which causes us a lot of anxiety and magnifies the main characters' wooden face, or a big turnaround in the script, containing once again, a montage, soundtrack and performances collaborating so that the scene is quite harmonious . I never thought I'd be in any doubt if I hoped someone would do well or badly in the story. I loved the experience, I loved the film and the social criticism it proposes about class difference, showing in a very discreet way the privileges of some and the lack of privileges of others. Parasite (Gisaengchung), for sure, is one of the best films I've ever seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WItsavaJJan 9, 2020
This movies make me sad.
I just thought why everything in this world be like this why humen be like this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews