CJ Entertainment | Release Date: October 11, 2019
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1104 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,015
Mixed:
45
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
marbie73Jan 29, 2020
I have heard film critics rave about this movie since the Cannes movie festival in May of 2019.I have to say I was quite disappointed by this film.I thought the first hour was slow and quite average.There was one great 10 minute scene in thisI have heard film critics rave about this movie since the Cannes movie festival in May of 2019.I have to say I was quite disappointed by this film.I thought the first hour was slow and quite average.There was one great 10 minute scene in this movie but after that the film just falls apart.I have to say that Parasite and The Irishman were two critics favorites that I thought were mediocre films. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
5
BHBarryOct 20, 2019
“Parasite” is a South Korean film co-written and directed by Joon-ho Bong. It tells the story of two families whose fates and directions intersect and become interwined in a series of plot twists and turns that sometimes boggle the ability of“Parasite” is a South Korean film co-written and directed by Joon-ho Bong. It tells the story of two families whose fates and directions intersect and become interwined in a series of plot twists and turns that sometimes boggle the ability of the viewer to enjoy the film. This is a movie that just can’t seem to make up its mind…is it a comedy…or is it a tragedy…or is it both. Also confusing and somewhat annoying are the English titles that seem to clash against and appear inconsistent with the words being spoken by the actors. At a minimum this recurring inconsistency between the titles and the spoken words became for this writer, at least, a major distraction.

Rarely have I seen a film receive such unwarranted and undeserving praise and accolade by the critics who I can’t believe saw the same movie I did. I found the scenes in the film to be drawn out and the movie itself to be unnecessarily long, again the penalty for having the writer/director charged with editing (or failing to edit) his own work product. I give the film a 5.0 rating and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice nap in a movie house..
Expand
10 of 20 users found this helpful1010
All this user's reviews
4
romathJan 14, 2020
Korean satire about social class differences turns into slapstick comedy implicitly contemptuous of working class and poor as schemers, scammers and pointlessly violent. That is, pointless relative to the social class satire it seeks toKorean satire about social class differences turns into slapstick comedy implicitly contemptuous of working class and poor as schemers, scammers and pointlessly violent. That is, pointless relative to the social class satire it seeks to portray. The film ends with a stereotypical working class dream, stereotypical from the standpoint of the wealthy. The last half of the film drags. Well filmed and acted, it is nonetheless at its core a vastly overrated movie. Just enough for wealthier liberals to feel a bit good, to think there's something here that isn't. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
3
Fatbond0007Feb 17, 2020
What a waste of time. Can't see what everyone is going on about. The synopsis is very vague and so is the film, as nothing happens and everything is blown out of proportion and nothing is explained or makes any sense.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
artardmosheaFeb 7, 2020
Funny premise that goes places but completely over-hyped.

Can't help but feel that people are celebrating the message rather than the movie which is disturbing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeOct 26, 2019
Bong Joon Ho's most recent movie is nothing short than a masterpiece. With great acting performances, beautiful cinematography, an interesting story and weirdly likable characters and a very satisfying third act, Parasite is an instant classic.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Sigfrid0sFeb 10, 2020
La película es buena, pero el final tira por la borda todo lo que forma durante al inicio. Lamentablemente no se puede juzgar una película solo por el comienzo sino que el desenlace es casi tan importante como el inicio, es justamente elLa película es buena, pero el final tira por la borda todo lo que forma durante al inicio. Lamentablemente no se puede juzgar una película solo por el comienzo sino que el desenlace es casi tan importante como el inicio, es justamente el final el que no demuestra estar a la altura del resto del film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
yelenaFeb 14, 2020
The film is very good but not a masterpiece. It says a lot about the state of art now if a film with so many flows is considered genius. It is not. Actors are excellent but actors are excellent everywhere now days. The script is a problem, asThe film is very good but not a masterpiece. It says a lot about the state of art now if a film with so many flows is considered genius. It is not. Actors are excellent but actors are excellent everywhere now days. The script is a problem, as it is the problem in 99% of films. The film begins very well, picks up speed but then loses momentum. The flood spoils it especially. It was not needed to convey the message, it was too much, too obvious, too in your face. But still, it is a courageous film, which dared to address the problem rarely addressed. It has no real love story, thanks God. Overall, it is great just falls short of a masterpiece some critics claim it to be. it is also very funny at times and definitely universal. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
gxm143Feb 8, 2020
Not at all impressed. Whether sad or uplifting, or both, I want to leave the theatre with a new perspective on life. Parasite left me flat, in spite of trying too hard to capture me. I was hoping we would be blessed with 2 consecutive OscarNot at all impressed. Whether sad or uplifting, or both, I want to leave the theatre with a new perspective on life. Parasite left me flat, in spite of trying too hard to capture me. I was hoping we would be blessed with 2 consecutive Oscar winners - Green Book and 1917- made to simultaneously entertain and enlighten audiences. Now I fear that the artsy crowd has its "The Artist", "Birdman", and "No Country for Old Men", unwatchable trash that won't rate higher than a test pattern on overnight TV. If Parasite wins Best Picture, might as well put sticks of bubble gum in next year's envelopes. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
3
August49Feb 10, 2020
Gratuitous sex, totally unnecessary to the plot...excessive violence, again not really necessary to the plot. The story was interesting but not compelling. Cannot live up to high expectations for an oscar-winning best film.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
3
REAPER007Feb 13, 2020
Another poor-made korean "masterpiece" has been born into this world bringing light of the genius hand of its' makers into unwashed masses, showing true colors of reality, bringing wisdom and ..... freaking clowning.
Just like most of the
Another poor-made korean "masterpiece" has been born into this world bringing light of the genius hand of its' makers into unwashed masses, showing true colors of reality, bringing wisdom and ..... freaking clowning.
Just like most of the korean TV series a.k.a. doramas - this movie is nothing more than an idiotic grimace for the real world/human relationships/money idiology and lots of other stuff which, by passing through the prism of the director, turned into a giant pile of .... (let your imagination work here).
Da movie strips' plot trudges around pathetic attempts of its "geniuuuuus" creators trying to show poor korean folk, more known as "money crased" (dumbasses), on the contrary side bringing the "money elite" which will oppose and confront our parasites and bla-bla. Script - smelling like a bio toilet after its' 1000's usage without being washed nor cleaned, brings tons of ridiculously stupid situations in which characters could make a different (more obvious and more convenient for mentally healthy person) choice that could just cut most of the crap of this movie out, or, numerous scenes obviously overplayed and thus brought to the overstate of their original form, causing my logical tool to erase itself out of the hdd of my brain forever.
Actors bum gang - drastically faking and dramatizing every emotion - feels like this is their first acting exp, which is a common sensation after observing korean doramas, so it's ok ;). But the top of this IQ-deprived company are the arisrocrats. Bossy&pumpous to the point where they become dull, supernaive, and even outistic regarding the situations they're currently in or other characters they're currently interacting with - they performed key roles in this circus of idiots.
...and it was supposed to show realities of life, kick people out of their apathy or at least look like a movie survival manual for modern homo sapiens too lazy/not lucky enough to get a job, but to me it looked like a cheep clowning overexaggerated to the point where it becomes disgusting to watch and can only cause me to put on a dissappointed face and with a deep sigh say "F**CK YOU OSCARS"!
P.S. Mom signed under each word.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
Sobergirl6Feb 1, 2020
There we things that I liked about the movie and things I didn't. It was interesting and the actors were very good. The choreography was very good as well. But the story was slow and drawn out. I wish there pace was faster and more urgent.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
bwad3000Feb 9, 2020
Disappointingly overrated - the screenplay and directing was frequently painfully heavy-handed and awkwardly overzealous in its attempts to be a meaningful and important film about class. Reading though Korean explanations about the attemptsDisappointingly overrated - the screenplay and directing was frequently painfully heavy-handed and awkwardly overzealous in its attempts to be a meaningful and important film about class. Reading though Korean explanations about the attempts at symbolism in the film that non-Koreans would miss reinforced this conclusion. But the film is worth watching for some well-acted scenes depicting different levels of Korean life which were enjoyable. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
DevilTriggerFeb 11, 2020
I don’t understand this movie at all. Pardon me If I’m not a millennial. But movies that revolve around politics really bore me.
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielJan 26, 2020
Incredibly overrated. It is basically a Korean take on the Japanese movie "shoplifters", that tries so hard for satire with exagerated characters, scenes and plot lines. The goal is to shock not to create real art.
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
1
ThomassJan 18, 2020
Basically bad to very bad. Humorous first half turns violent and disgusting. I get that it’s railing against the system, but do we really need buckets of blood to say that? Would avoid .
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
1
Vasi78Feb 15, 2020
Boring
Worst movie I have seen all year, people who said good reviews need to wake up
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
kmac73Dec 6, 2019
I liked Snowpiercer, didn’t care for Okja but Parasite was about as perfect as a film can be. A hilarious and brutal depiction of inter and intra class struggle. Must see; not just best of the year but one of the best of all time.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
Daniel_PopescuFeb 13, 2020
A disappointing (shocking, absurd, illogical) ending to a classic yet beautifully constructed plot. For me, this is “the movie that could have been”. Or “the glass half full”. At half point, the story gets so complicated that there is no wayA disappointing (shocking, absurd, illogical) ending to a classic yet beautifully constructed plot. For me, this is “the movie that could have been”. Or “the glass half full”. At half point, the story gets so complicated that there is no way of redressing it. Pity. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
fckrianjohnsonJan 15, 2020
Overrated AF,the first half of this movies is amazing but then becomes just unfunny and predictable.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
2
dpromanoJan 1, 2020
The first hours of Parasite is a whirlwind of fun, fascinating, and engaging ideas. Beautiful and inspiring cinematography. The second hour, plus, devolves into a repetitive, rude, ignorant, and self-absorbed malfunction of a movie andThe first hours of Parasite is a whirlwind of fun, fascinating, and engaging ideas. Beautiful and inspiring cinematography. The second hour, plus, devolves into a repetitive, rude, ignorant, and self-absorbed malfunction of a movie and screenplay. Bong should have stopped while he was ahead. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
0
MarkitozFeb 2, 2020
Simply OVERRATED, first hour it's ok, but the second it's repetitive and boring
4 of 20 users found this helpful416
All this user's reviews
3
HenrynatorNov 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Es una película buena, pero sobrevalorada. Pensé que había algo más oculto en la película que no me había dado cuenta, así que busqué más información y reviews, pero no hay nada más. La verdad es una película que entretiene, a pesar de ser muy larga, pero no tiene nada especial. No es de sorprender que esté tan sobrevalorada por la crítica, porque la crítica ha evolucionado para mal, ahora son más doble-moral que nunca, estigmatizan unas películas y sobrevaloran otras. Entonces, yo recomiendo que la vean y saquen sus conclusiones, pero hay tantos cabos sueltos en la película, que es absurda, además la película lleva una línea interesante, a la cual se le da un giro inesperado, muy bueno, pero el hilo inicial se pierde, luego comenzamos a ver un montón de cosas agregadas que tampoco es normal, muy absurdas diría yo. :::Alerta de Spoiler:::
El final es totalmente estúpido, el asesinato al padre del niño por un gesto, se supo que pasaría en ese momento por la tensión de la película, ¿Pero no es totalmente absurdo?. Nunca hubo algo que hablara del resentimiento del señor por su condición, así que fue algo sin base, además ¿A dónde se iría a esconder? Hasta un niño de 5 años pudo deducirlo, pero no la policía, al parecer son muy ineptos en esa ciudad. Pero no en colmo con eso, añaden una parte final de un supuesto futuro, en el que el mejor plan para recuperar a su padre y dejarlo impune, es hacerse millonario y comprar la casa donde está escondido; La idea más idiota de todas.
Expand
3 of 17 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
3
GreatMartinNov 8, 2019
After 10 minutes I was ready to leave "Parasite" but I can count on one hand how many movies I have walked out on so I decided to stay and find out why word of mouth was being so positive about the film.

Basically it is the story of how a
After 10 minutes I was ready to leave "Parasite" but I can count on one hand how many movies I have walked out on so I decided to stay and find out why word of mouth was being so positive about the film.

Basically it is the story of how a very poor family of 4, parents, son and daughter scams their way into the home of a very wealthy family of 4 consisting of the parents, daughter and son. Really can't talk about the movie itself without giving spoilers, though none of them jolted and/or surprised me.

The movie is 2 hours and 13 minutes of which 13 minutes could have been cut very easily or spent in explaining some relationships that are sort of glossed over.

"Parasite" takes place in Korea and the differences between the classes are made immediately. The film has subtitles that took me a few minutes to get used to but to which I adapted fairly quickly.

I left the theatre glad I didn't walk out but at the same time I really can't see recommending it while, on the other hand, Allen thought it was a classic whodunit.
Expand
5 of 29 users found this helpful524
All this user's reviews
0
JWalshJan 5, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Did I watch the parody of the "Parasites" movie that gets such glorious reviews? The rich family had believable characters, but all the grifters in the story were absolutely not believable. The brutally graphic ending was comical, an over exaggerated blood bath mirroring the graphic ending in Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (which by the way I loved). The scene was just that absurd. If I had gone solo, I'd have walked out. As it was, I had to force myself to stay with my date as the urge to leave kept waving over me. Expand
5 of 29 users found this helpful524
All this user's reviews
5
KpoeticsOct 13, 2019
Disturbing but such a unique story with twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat.
4 of 25 users found this helpful421
All this user's reviews
3
netflicOct 28, 2019
This is South Korean movie from a famous Korean director Bong Joon Ho.
I saw a few movies made by him, a drama "Mother" and a SciFi "Snowpiercer" and I liked both of them.
This latest movie "Parasite" won the most prestigious prize at Cannes
This is South Korean movie from a famous Korean director Bong Joon Ho.
I saw a few movies made by him, a drama "Mother" and a SciFi "Snowpiercer" and I liked both of them.
This latest movie "Parasite" won the most prestigious prize at Cannes festival, Palme d'Or this year. My expectations were mixed: on one hand, both critics and audience *loved* the movie.
On the other hand, it's a black comedy: not my thing.
So I went to see it.
What can I say? Maybe I am missing something here.
I found it not funny at all.
Performances were poor.
The script - ridiculous.
The movie is long: more than two hours. I felt an urge to leave after one hour but I fought it. After an hour and a half I finally left, I could not stand it any longer.
I feel like I am not supposed to rate it since I haven't seen it in its entirety but if I had to, it would be 3 out of 10.
Once again, I am probably missing something here since it is not my genre.
If you usually like black comedies, you may enjoy it as so many people do.
Expand
6 of 48 users found this helpful642
All this user's reviews
9
foxgroveFeb 11, 2020
A Feast for the eye and ear. This 4 Oscar winning film is compelling and ingenious. Do not be put off by the subtitles as this is both quality film making and also accessible to a mainstream audience. The less you know about the story theA Feast for the eye and ear. This 4 Oscar winning film is compelling and ingenious. Do not be put off by the subtitles as this is both quality film making and also accessible to a mainstream audience. The less you know about the story the more enjoyment you will get from the movie. Just be assured this is a real treat! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
djpooriaDec 4, 2019
Everything is new . This movie was bloody fantastic. A strong and unpredictable script. The camera moves along with the cast and storytelling. Different and shocking ending. I enjoyed watching this movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
SoakerCityMar 3, 2020
I was very surprised that this film won the Oscar for Best Film. Its not a great film, just a good one. It started interestingly enough, but moved from amusing and potentially thought-provoking, to melodramatic and violent. I thought it wasI was very surprised that this film won the Oscar for Best Film. Its not a great film, just a good one. It started interestingly enough, but moved from amusing and potentially thought-provoking, to melodramatic and violent. I thought it was all quite pointless in the end. Forgettable, and possibly the worst Oscar selection ever. Crash was a better, more memorable movie that was similarly overrated and won Best Pic. There were numerous better films made in 2019, Joker, 1917, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, First Man....Even whatever Marvel movie came out this year was likely more interesting and memorable. This is not the years best picture, at all, it most likely won the award because the director is "Diverse", much like the sycophancy surrounding Black Panther. The hype is similarly political. This movie is not required watching for any reason. The star of the movie is ruthless Korean housecleaning. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
naufri27Jan 2, 2020
Sin ser la película redonda que la crítica parece hacernos creer, sí que la he disfrutado en el cine debido a ese toque de realismo en el comportamiento humano y, sobre todo, a su crítica social que, sin ser demasiado profunda, siempre seSin ser la película redonda que la crítica parece hacernos creer, sí que la he disfrutado en el cine debido a ese toque de realismo en el comportamiento humano y, sobre todo, a su crítica social que, sin ser demasiado profunda, siempre se agradece que se tenga en cuenta. La interpretación de todo el reparto cumple sobradamente y nos ayuda a situarnos tanto en la primera mitad de la película, más amable, como en la segunda mitad más cruda. Las dudas que pueda plantearte quedan disueltas con un final brillante. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mariohenriqueFeb 29, 2020
tudo nesse filme é perfeito... a fotografia, a edição, a atuação, a direção... assistir Parasita incomoda, principalmente àqueles que não entendem sua principal mensagem. Já assisti 2 vezes e assistiria mais
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
electronicoffeeMar 3, 2020
I'm a huge fan of Joon-ho Bong's works. The Host and Mother are two of my all time favorite films. Not even joking. Mother made me cry more than any movie ever has. That said, this movie sucks. Beautifully shot but terrible pacing, acting,I'm a huge fan of Joon-ho Bong's works. The Host and Mother are two of my all time favorite films. Not even joking. Mother made me cry more than any movie ever has. That said, this movie sucks. Beautifully shot but terrible pacing, acting, scripting, and really seems to care more about shoving class differences down your throat and focusing on shock value over actual storytelling. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
louistperfctFeb 10, 2020
é bom demais! chega ser um hino de tão bom!

assista. vale a pena! Eu adorei
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
kirkenderJan 14, 2020
Parasite is a wonderful experience. It's grounded in the amazing realism of our actual world, but given a bit of a push into the surreal. What if the 99% infiltrated each others lives to get closer to something like the lives of the 1%? It'sParasite is a wonderful experience. It's grounded in the amazing realism of our actual world, but given a bit of a push into the surreal. What if the 99% infiltrated each others lives to get closer to something like the lives of the 1%? It's a tasty premise fully realized. The acting is fantastic, and its funny as hell. I'm sure everyone will take something different from it, it's one of those truly skilled works of art that most filmmakers can only hope to attain after a lifetime of creating. Watch it. The audience I saw it with was highly confused and you probably will be too. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SylamanJan 7, 2020
Good movie to spend an evening with your friends. A little comedy here is fine, but you won't laugh a lot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BukyxJan 13, 2020
La película es magnífica, la historia es narrada desde el punto de vista de la clase baja y lo hace de una forma muy profunda.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
masoud2aghaFeb 4, 2020
موضوع فیلم خوب بود اما پایان داستان را بسیار ناشیانه تموم کردن
مفاهیم داخل فیلم و پرداختن به مسئله فقر بسیار عالی بود
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Gamedude051Feb 19, 2020
Filme vermelho mais vermelho que o tapete oscar, recomendo antes de críticas o sistema da Coreia do Sul visitar o "paraíso vermelho" da Coreia do Norte.
Obrigando;).
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
6
mrangjunboon017Feb 24, 2020
Your Review Must Be At Least #075 Characters Long. Review: A Mixed Feeling.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJan 11, 2020
Bong Jon-ho and the rest of Korean cinema is giving Hollywood a run for its money, and this film is a proof of that. The fact that Western audiences praises this flick like its the second coming is a little too much. Yes, it is highlyBong Jon-ho and the rest of Korean cinema is giving Hollywood a run for its money, and this film is a proof of that. The fact that Western audiences praises this flick like its the second coming is a little too much. Yes, it is highly original, and yes, it shifts its tone from broad comedy to thriller with incredible ease, but Korean cinema has been doing that for the last 2 decades or so. If it takes this flick for film fans to be aware of this incredible film industry, then so be it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeNov 18, 2019
Electrifying! Top five movie of the year. Lives up to the rave reviews. Deservedly won Best Film at Cannes Festival. Director at the top of his form! Black comedy, satire, thriller, amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gracjanskiDec 22, 2019
The black humour and some scenes are so funny, that they make the movie already very good. But it is also clever in the beginning, where it shows, how the parasite family is getting into the rich family. Fortunately the movie doesnt show theThe black humour and some scenes are so funny, that they make the movie already very good. But it is also clever in the beginning, where it shows, how the parasite family is getting into the rich family. Fortunately the movie doesnt show the rich family as evil, but they seems to be too simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wayne_poshJan 21, 2020
Bong Joon Ho’s 2019 release opens with a sub-ground level view out of a semi-basement window outlooking the alleyway of a Korean slum that will play the setting for most of the first act of the film. As the camera settles on this view, HangulBong Joon Ho’s 2019 release opens with a sub-ground level view out of a semi-basement window outlooking the alleyway of a Korean slum that will play the setting for most of the first act of the film. As the camera settles on this view, Hangul characters discreetly faze into frame and are quickly translated to the American title: Parasite. This seemingly menacing title (for who has any good memories of a parasite?) is in stark contrast to the equally seemingly innocuous backdrop. This opening frame acts as the films first (of many) contradictions that keeps the viewer intrigued and constantly guessing what will happen next all the way up to its thrilling and touching finale.

The film centers around the Kim family: a hard-on-their luck family existing (just barely) amongst the previously mentioned alleyways of the slums that make up the bedrock of this unnamed Korean metropolitan. The family is shown as goofy, well-meaning, cheap, and ultimately entirely relatable. The interesting characters are brought to life by the apparently impeccable talents of the entire main cast. Kang-ho Song acts as patriarch to the Kim family but never acts as the boss. Each family member has a strength to balance any apparent weaknesses they may have. The performances are broad yet nuanced and the dialogue reaches every emotion on the spectrum while always maintaining a hint of comedy. Every character is given a chance to pine as well as get a laugh. If the trailers and posters scare or baffle you, know this: the acting in this movie is worth the cost of admission on its own. The cinematography and writing are all icing on this character-driven cake.

That’s not to say the look and writing of this film are not high points on their own. American viewers will automatically find the Korean setting to be a breath of fresh air with great shots of modern architecture contrasting the dreary shambles of the slums. In every frame of the film, the filmmaker attempts to make the background just as important a character as the people delivering lines. And as the viewers become more accustomed to the diverse settings, the plot constantly creates doubt in our securities and hints at something sinister behind every corner. At the moment you feel most safe, Bong introduces something new that shakes and upturns every notion you built up to that point. This all culminates in a showdown that both strips the viewer of all safety while at the same time establishes a new hope. Walking into the cinema as this film begins, the viewer has a pretty good idea of what kind of film they are in for. But as each scene shifts and every conversation is had in the film, the viewer is treated to something completely new and equally satisfying. The viewer will laugh and cry, cheer and gasp, all while cringing and gripping their seats and this is not an experience offered often to a modern audience. In an age of paint-by-numbers blockbusters, this gem offers a shining example of how great storytelling can be different and completely unsafe. Bong Joon Ho’s own concern about Western audiences reservations about subtitled films rang even more resonant after my viewing as Parasite offers one of the best reasons to hurdle that 1-inch barrier.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingJan 25, 2020
A sharp social satire and a tense and funny thriller at once, Bong Joon Ho's "Parasite" is a contemporary classic that will be remembered fro years to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
deanableFeb 17, 2020
certainly, the best foreign film and I have no problem with the palm de or , but best director, original screenplay, and best picture? I don't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
glen8pFeb 23, 2020
A must see? Nah. Interesting, unpredictable, funny, dark, original, tense, and even Shakespearean, so it's good. Bit I think this is the dori of movie that people "want" to line. Cinematically I don't know how Mendes was passed up for BestA must see? Nah. Interesting, unpredictable, funny, dark, original, tense, and even Shakespearean, so it's good. Bit I think this is the dori of movie that people "want" to line. Cinematically I don't know how Mendes was passed up for Best Director...I don't set what justifies that. And Bessy Picture? I reserve that for the kind of movies are worth repeating. Without the element of surprise I don't see the need here. Watch it. But a must see? Only if you see Old Boy first. THAT is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
everettDec 18, 2019
Brilliant. The writing, acting and directing combine for a social satire that I still can't get out of my mind. The images will haunt you, and bring home the real divide that exists across the world - that of class - and its cost in human terms.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CptTitforceJan 29, 2020
I would like to give it a 10/10 but small things just barely make me give it a 9. Overall a masterpiece in cinema
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AxeTFeb 14, 2020
The somewhat rare genre bender that works, it is clever and unpredictable up to a point, masterfully crafted, and an overt social commentary on class. It is not this masterpiece classic to be the jackass critics and sheep Academy sing theThe somewhat rare genre bender that works, it is clever and unpredictable up to a point, masterfully crafted, and an overt social commentary on class. It is not this masterpiece classic to be the jackass critics and sheep Academy sing the overpraises of. The casual cursing by a family to each other throughout is oh so typical liberal depravity that artists think is fine but it's not. It debases the culture however subtly over time. The big take away of this film is affirmation there's a reason these crazy goofs can never be allowed to get a nuclear weapon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bcdserraJan 11, 2020
You may be 14, you may be 40. You may be Korean, Russian or Belgian. None of those matter because there is one certitude: You will LOVE this masterpiece and it's universal, original story. On top of that it has great actors, beautifulYou may be 14, you may be 40. You may be Korean, Russian or Belgian. None of those matter because there is one certitude: You will LOVE this masterpiece and it's universal, original story. On top of that it has great actors, beautiful cinematography, it's fantastically paced and just a lot of fun really. Realising what the fuss was all about after watching it is a twist in itself. Enjoy ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
avr50Jan 15, 2020
Parasite is the kind of movie that needs to be seen by everyone. This film is funny, is suspenseful, is a satire, it has everything. Bong Joon Ho has created a complete masterpiece fill with amazing performances, great cinematography,Parasite is the kind of movie that needs to be seen by everyone. This film is funny, is suspenseful, is a satire, it has everything. Bong Joon Ho has created a complete masterpiece fill with amazing performances, great cinematography, excellent music and a screenplay that will be studied for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TaywinDec 14, 2019
This movie forces me to make this review. It's a masterpiece, watch it, you will never forget it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca31Feb 5, 2020
I felt so many emotions watching Parasite and I'm dying to see it again. There is a reason you've heard so much about this film. Yes, it's true some movies that receive a lot of hype end up not quite living up to it but in this case do not beI felt so many emotions watching Parasite and I'm dying to see it again. There is a reason you've heard so much about this film. Yes, it's true some movies that receive a lot of hype end up not quite living up to it but in this case do not be afraid to believe the hype. It's an original story with superb acting. I've never seen anything like it, one of the best films I've seen in years. Film fans this is not to be missed its phenomenal and will stay with you long after it has ended.

An unemployed family (the Kims) take a very keen interest in the wealthy and glamorous Parks family, quickly integrating themselves into their lives despite the stark contrast in social status. That's all I'm going to say about the plot because the less you know about Parasite the better. It's incredibly unexpected and does not play out the way you think it would at all. It gives you moments of extreme awkwardness and hilarity. There are times where you have to laugh just to release the ever building tension. It's a comedy, drama and horror all rolled into one masterful movie. Bleak, violent, a dark and twisted story that will constantly keep you guessing.

Director and writer Bong Joon Ho has truly outdone himself with this masterpiece. Parasite is one of those rare films you can't stop thinking about after you leave the cinema. It's so profoundly disturbing and bizarre I'm still trying to process it. I understand not everyone takes the time to see subtitled films and to them I can only say you honestly don't know what you're missing. Foreign language films have the extra edge to them, and if you don't believe me then just take the time to see The Host, The Raid or Pan's Labyrinth. Very few foreign language films have the potential to finally break the record by winning a Best Picture Oscar but if anything can do it Parasite can.

Unpredictable and highly provocative, I cannot recommend this highly enough. If you only see one film this year let it be Parasite. What else do I need to say? Are you still reading this? Well stop, get yourself to a cinema and see it, you won't be sorry.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GerryBlueFeb 13, 2020
As one other reviewer said, all the accolades have to do more with the idea other than the actual movie. TEchnically it is very well crafted, great cinematography, great acting, but personally I think overhyped. In a day an age whereAs one other reviewer said, all the accolades have to do more with the idea other than the actual movie. TEchnically it is very well crafted, great cinematography, great acting, but personally I think overhyped. In a day an age where everything is political and has to do with social issues, a movie that very blatantly shows the disparages between rich and poor, (a little bit too stereotipically, I might add) is bound to get great reviews. Actors and their 200k bags of face creams like to feel they are connected to the poor massess, and social justice folk of Twitter feel they have been done jsutice, even if only for two hours on a theater. Hollywood wants to be that White Knight, and last year it paraded in their red carpet Mexican Native Yalitzia Aparicio, this year it was the Korean actors, I'll bet next year it will be another troupé. Like the rich family in the movie, minorities and other cultures are nothing but parasites to Hollywood, useful and good while they serve their purpose, stink bugs that have to be fumigated when they don't. Watch the movie for yourself and make your own mind, I don't think it is the 10 everybody is saying but its political message has provided the fuel to skyrocket it. Beware though, last 10 minutes are quite gross and gory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulDec 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mi punto de vista e impresiones:

Una sátira sobre las clases sociales que en definitiva no dejará indiferente a nadie.

Es difícil encasillar a esta película en un género porque realmente tiene de todo.

Leí excelentes críticas que la calificaban como una de las mejores películas del año y de la década y ahora que acabo de verla, es completamente cierto, en mi opinión tiene todos los méritos para ubicarse en el primer puesto de la mejor película del año, disculpando a Joker y a Midsommar que hasta el momento compartían el primer puesto, pero me tomaré el atrevimiento de ubicarlas a ambas en el segundo lugar y a Parasite no hay nada que la saque del primer puesto y saben el por qué? La trama es interesante, los personajes son fabulosos y muy ingeniosos, el ritmo es atraparte y el guión y dirección son absolutamente increíbles, ambos son sumamente inteligentes, mordaces y por sobre todo sublimes, estoy realmente fascinado por la película que acabo de ver, se las recomiendo a todo dar.

Sobra decir que le doy 5 ⭐ de 5 ⭐
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HipsterDufusDec 10, 2019
I actually think this may be the best movie I've seen this year. Very well done, its funny, dark, emotional, intriguing and definitely will keep you on your toes for what happens next which is very unpredictable. A very good story line andI actually think this may be the best movie I've seen this year. Very well done, its funny, dark, emotional, intriguing and definitely will keep you on your toes for what happens next which is very unpredictable. A very good story line and well directed. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nayecriticFeb 17, 2020
oh, wow. .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SrPepeJan 23, 2020
De las mejores películas de 2019, si bien empieza medio lento, se crea un nudo sensacional y cierra en un final muy pero muy memorable. Los actores son todos brillantes, no hay uno que haga mal su trabajo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mitokioDec 17, 2019
Not a fan of the director (I loathed Snowpiercer) and movies with this must critical acclaim usually suck. But by far the movie of the year. In tone, in terms of black humor/crime/thriller it "feels" like the same world as Joker. AmazingNot a fan of the director (I loathed Snowpiercer) and movies with this must critical acclaim usually suck. But by far the movie of the year. In tone, in terms of black humor/crime/thriller it "feels" like the same world as Joker. Amazing visuals and lots of interesting layers to sift through. I think you can watch it just as a movie and enjoy it. It's not supposed to be realistic, but stylized, so go in knowing that. But pay attention and this movie is deeply rewarding. The disgust the rich people have for what was found in the car and how they use it in role play later on... the father telling his son that planning life doesn't work and then the ending... the subtle and clever aspects of the class struggle and how the house plays into it. So many layers if you want to look for it. This is an astonishing piece of well crafted fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BandicootFeb 13, 2020
Filme muito bom, ganhou o oscar não foi por acaso, com personagens muito bem desenvolvidos e com uma historia muito bem escrita com diversas metáforas e reviravoltas no ponto certo, acredito que os pontos positivos qualquer um consegue acharFilme muito bom, ganhou o oscar não foi por acaso, com personagens muito bem desenvolvidos e com uma historia muito bem escrita com diversas metáforas e reviravoltas no ponto certo, acredito que os pontos positivos qualquer um consegue achar em tudo, mas falar dos pontos negativos é um pouco mais difícil, na minha concepção pelo fato de ser um filme coreano e não estarmos tao familiarizados com a interpretação deles, em muitos momentos parecia muito forçado algumas interpretações de forma que o filme parecesse muito mais cômico do que deveria, isso pelo fato das mensagem do filme ser clara (apesar de muitos culparem um lado ou outro, ideia errado ja que ambos os lados são culpados por suas atitudes), outro ponto negativo ao meu ver é o final que se estendeu de uma forma desnecessária ao ponto de deixar as coisas ainda mais confusas, e por fim outro ponto negativo e talvez o mais importante foi que na primeira metade do filme tudo pareceu muito previsível, todavia vale ressaltar que a segunda metade tomou um caminho completamente diferente causando a todo minuto duvidas do que aconteceria em seguida Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DeanomiteJan 13, 2020
The reputation this has developed as movie of the year is well earned, it is beautifully photographed, perfectly acted and scripted. There is not much else to add, i bet there is an american remake on the way, it will win best picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DubeauFeb 21, 2020
Parasite is hard to qualify. The story is related to class of citizens. The movie is kind of dark funny and somewhat insidious. I felt it was too slow in the middle. The actors are excellent. The photography and filming is well done, with aParasite is hard to qualify. The story is related to class of citizens. The movie is kind of dark funny and somewhat insidious. I felt it was too slow in the middle. The actors are excellent. The photography and filming is well done, with a lot of nice angles. I give it 85%. This is a movie that can be in the corner of your mind for a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
freeKade1kaFeb 12, 2020
Best in 2019, i don't thought korean movies could impress me so much, ending is awesome
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JokohamaJan 19, 2020
Such incredible thriller with attractive flow of story. This is a must-see movie of 2019.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KuggzFeb 13, 2020
This movie covers all the film genres as well as all the themes of our lives it is truly amazing although I could see it going over the heads of closed minded people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
d0vla11Feb 19, 2020
Definitely deserved Best Picture award. The movie features incredible cast and screenplay. It has delivered in almost all fields of filmmaking.

However, even that i understood the film's message, i feel the plot could have been done even
Definitely deserved Best Picture award. The movie features incredible cast and screenplay. It has delivered in almost all fields of filmmaking.

However, even that i understood the film's message, i feel the plot could have been done even better. I had higher expectations from it.

Watch it anyway! :)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SoulWarfareFeb 23, 2020
I don't know what to say about this film apart from how this film is masterful film making. I don't even want to give a synopsis for this film as this film is best experienced with no knowledge whatsoever.

The plot is amazing and extremely
I don't know what to say about this film apart from how this film is masterful film making. I don't even want to give a synopsis for this film as this film is best experienced with no knowledge whatsoever.

The plot is amazing and extremely gripping with every twist and turn. Likewise, the way it tackles the social themes is so intriguing and done so extremely well even if the theme has been done many times before. The entire cast is amazing and honestly not even one of them getting a nomination for best acting is quite the robbery. Huge praise to Song Kang-ho and Park So-dam especially, they gave amazing performances. The cinematography/set design is also impressive and uniquely correlates with the ongoing story. The use of staircase and lines to tackle the ongoing theme, while not subtle, is done extremely well. The soundtrack, while not exactly memorable, manages to elevate the tense atmosphere and keep people on the edge of their seats. Finally, the film is absolutely entertaining with the way it incorporates contrasting genres, black comedy and thriller, into one surprisingly cohesive and exhilarating movie. THIS IS A MUST WATCH! It deserves best picture for a reason.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eded9999Dec 30, 2019
Very good.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DOLLAR_376Jan 22, 2020
An instant classic that keeps you hooked from beginning to end. It is easy to watch, but deep and ambiguous at the same time, with outstanding performances and excelent direction by Bong Joon Ho.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
XV_Jan 14, 2020
I can't recommend enough this movie to anybody, it has amazing rhythm and editing that it makes it look like it is easy. The plot slowly but surely unveils and it gives you enough clues for you to uncover a lot of its themes beforehand, notI can't recommend enough this movie to anybody, it has amazing rhythm and editing that it makes it look like it is easy. The plot slowly but surely unveils and it gives you enough clues for you to uncover a lot of its themes beforehand, not that is predictable mind you, but is not unfair or cheap, so several views are recommended.

I don't want to speak a lot of the plot so I won't spoil anything, but is not only an extremely well done and entertaining movie, it also serves as an actual social commentary about the poor and the wealth, it is also so well written that it doesn't tell you a moral, it makes you question yours. Please see it with an open mind and make your own conclusions.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mepnrcFeb 14, 2020
Kesinlikle harika bir film. Günümüzün sosyal değerlerine ve sınıf ayrımcılığının ne kadar itici bir şey olduğuna çok güzel dokundurmalar yapan şahane bir yapıt. Komedi, dram ve suç ancak bu kadar iyi harmanlanabilirdi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bertaut1Feb 20, 2020
An uncategorisable masterpiece

What is one to make of the utterly uncategorisable and impossible-to-define Parasite? Part comedy of manners, part social satire, part heist film, part thriller, part horror, part family drama, part farce, part
An uncategorisable masterpiece

What is one to make of the utterly uncategorisable and impossible-to-define Parasite? Part comedy of manners, part social satire, part heist film, part thriller, part horror, part family drama, part farce, part economic treatise, part social realism, part tragedy, part allegory. What is certain is that it's exceptional in just about every way – screenplay (co-written by director Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won), directing, cinematography, mise en scène, editing, production design, sound design, score, acting. There's not a weak link here, in a film that achieves that rarest of things – it lives up to the hype.

The Kim family are down on their luck. Father Ki-taek (Song Kang-ho), mother Chung-sook (Chang Hyae-jin), daughter Ki-jeong (Park So-dam), and son Ki-woo (Choi Woo-shik) reside in a tiny basement apartment eking out a meagre living folding pizza boxes. However, their fortunes change when Ki-Woo bluffs his way into working as an English tutor for the daughter of the wealthy Park family. Father Dong-ik, (Lee Sun-kyun), mother Yeon-gyo (Cho Yeo-jeong), daughter Da-hye (Jung Ji-so), and son Da-song (Jung Hyeon-jun) welcome Ki-woo into their home, and upon discovering just how wealthy the Parks are, the Kims hatch an elaborate scheme to oust the Park's current domestic staff and take their places. However, it doesn't take long before things start to go very, very awry for both families.

As thoroughly entertaining (and funny) as Parasite is, it remains an economic treatise, albeit with a savagely satirical quality. This is far from the first time Bong has dealt with issues of class, but never before has he been this caustic and acerbic, but so too compassionate and witty. One of the most deftly-handled elements of the film is his avoidance of the clichés one so often finds in films dealing with economics – the Kims are by no means a victimised family immediately worthy of sympathy, whilst the Parks are by no means a callous family immediately worthy of scorn. Rather, the Parks are depicted as perfectly friendly and pleasant whilst the Kims are shown to be liars and scoundrels.

Bong is uninterested in trucking in heroes and villains because such rigid diametrics aren't the norm in the real world. For all their scheming and lying, the Kims merely con their way into menial jobs, whilst the Parks' greatest crime is allowing their wealth to insulate them from the world of families such as the Kims. At the same time, the Kims are depicted as a far more loving family than the Parks. Although all four Kims often occupy the same frame, we never see the four Parks together in the same shot. Important here is the title. A simple reading is that the Kims are the parasites and the Parks are the hosts, with the Kims feeding off the Parks' wealth and status. However, Bong depicts the Parks as parasitic as well, feeding off of the labour of their servants. Just as the Kims feed off the Parks, the Parks feed off the Kims, in what is a symbiotic relationship.

Aesthetically, Hong Kyung-pyo's cinematography is magnificent. Hong also shot the superb Beoning (2018), and the camerawork here has a similar smoothness and restlessness, gliding through the Parks' house like it's a fifth member of the Kim family. Lee Ha-jun's production design is also praise-worthy, with the Kims' cluttered and dilapidated apartment contrasted with the Parks' pristine post-modernist semi-open plan house.

It's also in relation to production design wherein one of the film's best metaphors is to be found. As a story at least partly in the tradition of the "upstairs/downstairs" subgenre, Bong literalises the separation between those above and those below by using stairways as a recurring motif. The Kims' apartment has no stairs, indicating their inability to rise socio-economically. On the other hand, the Parks' home has two stairways – one going up to the bedrooms where the four children spend an increasing amount of time, cut off from their parents, and one going down into the cellar. Bong shoots this stairway like he's suddenly directing a horror film, bestowing upon it an ominousness that, at first, makes little sense, but ultimately reveals itself to be a spectacular bit of foreshadowing.

Parasite is a masterpiece, with Bong never putting a foot wrong. It could have been a self-serving and didactic message-movie – a homily to the honour of the poor or a deconstruction of the unhappiness of the rich – but Bong is far too talented for that, avoiding rhetorical cant. Quite unlike anything I've ever seen, it works as allegory just as well as it works as social realism just as well as it works as comedy just as well as it works as tragedy and so on. This is cinema as art, a film which has proven itself very much a game-changer and completely deserving of every bit of praise it's received.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
godisawomanFeb 14, 2020
This movie is absolutely amazing, one of the best movies I’ve seen in my life. It literally shocked me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
invinciblexJan 14, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. insane of ths 2019.
The best movie of 2019 has everything: great acting, fabulous screenplay, with funny, tense and plot-twist moments, excelent directing, social critics and acid jokes
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MycoldpatrolFeb 16, 2020
It deserved the oscar wins, it's a fantastic movie, it's deep but also entertaining
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LEGEND17Feb 12, 2020
Parasite is soo engaging during every minute of watching it I was waiting for the next minute to come that how excited this movie got me, it's a true masterpiece that will live on for ages and truly oscar worthy
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AJGo85Feb 9, 2020
It’s rare for a foreign film to gain as much popularity with American audiences as the South Korean film Parasite has done. It’s even rarer for a foreign film to earn Academy Awards nominations for Best Foreign Language (now calledIt’s rare for a foreign film to gain as much popularity with American audiences as the South Korean film Parasite has done. It’s even rarer for a foreign film to earn Academy Awards nominations for Best Foreign Language (now called International) film and Best Picture, but Parasite has managed to join this exclusive club. Director Bong Joon-ho has long been turning out top quality, intriguing work (I’m a big fan of his melancholy 2003 film Memories of Murder, about a years long hunt for a serial killer). Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin-won’s Oscar nominated original screenplay switches tones and even genres so abruptly and successfully, it makes Parasite a unique movie to say the least. Combined with a stellar cast, excellent cinematography, production design, and pacing, Parasite becomes a thoroughly engrossing, extraordinary experience. Movies like this in any language are rare indeed.

Parasite begins as a dark comedy and sharp satire about economic inequality and class disparity. The Kim family lives in a shabby basement apartment. The street level window provides them a view of ankles and urinating drunks. They work short term odd jobs and hunt around their apartment for a spot with Wi-Fi. A change in luck comes when a friend of their teenage son recommends him as a tutor for the daughter of a wealthy family, the Parks. The son, Ki-woo, reluctantly accepts though he is under qualified. Soon the Kim family schemes to replace each of the Park family servants with themselves though they pose under false identities. The 20-ish Kim daughter, Ki-jeong, provides the family with false credentials. Things take a fateful and irreversible turn when the Kims decide to have a night in luxury while the Parks are away for the weekend.

That plot description seems to make the title describe the Kim family. As you watch them work their way into the home of the Park family, you may find the title applies more to the Parks whose lifestyle requires people like the Kims. The differences between a family that is oblivious of their wealth and a family that schemes to get stable, working-class jobs is apparent. But then, the film reveals layers and depth that make it truly profound. When the film becomes a riveting thriller, it does not eschew its themes and substance. I cannot recall the last time I had no idea where a film was going, not because of incompetence, but because I was watching the work of a master filmmaker.

The entire ensemble is terrific. Each role is well cast and there’s a great chemistry between the members of the respective families. The stand outs for me, however are Song Kang-ho as the Kim family patriarch and Park So-dam as his clever daughter. Cho Yeo-jeong as the daffy and gullible Park matriarch is great comic relief.

What sets Parasite a step above other socially conscious films is it does not sacrifice entertainment for the sake its social commentary or vice versa. It never pontificates or pretends to have any didactic solution. It is like a classic Twilight Zone episode, up front about its themes but in such a way that doesn’t speak down to audience and feels detached and immediate simultaneously. There is not a single pandering moment in the entire film. Parasite uses the real problems and concerns of modern society to tell a compelling and universal story that causes us to reflect on our world. That can be the definition a great film and great art.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JuicyAndrewFeb 3, 2020
One of the best 2019 films.This is a really great film with interesting plot and great actors` perfomances .In my opinon,everybody has to see this masterpiece by genius from Korea.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KordamaFeb 14, 2020
For me it always come down to one big thing that dictates whether a movie is "good" or "great" and that's the moment you look back and realize whether or not you've been thinking about that same movie days after you've watched it or not.For me it always come down to one big thing that dictates whether a movie is "good" or "great" and that's the moment you look back and realize whether or not you've been thinking about that same movie days after you've watched it or not. Parasite is a movie you will think about for days afterwards. I don't really want to say anything else considering this movie is best viewed blind. But you need to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoesFeb 10, 2020
La primera película asiática nominada al Oscar y con justa y merecida razon
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoVn00Jan 22, 2020
I love how this manages to be a crowd-pleasing, straight-forward and accesible film but also a thought-provoking, well shot, incredibly well written and acted movie. It's so much in so little time. This movie achieves to be in like fiveI love how this manages to be a crowd-pleasing, straight-forward and accesible film but also a thought-provoking, well shot, incredibly well written and acted movie. It's so much in so little time. This movie achieves to be in like five different genres and never feels inconsistent. The transition from a standard drama to a comedy, then to a horror film, then to back to a drama, back to a comedy and so on feels so natural and never took me away from the movie. This might be one of the most funny non-comedy films of 2019, one of the best acted, one of the best written and one of the most entertaining yet complex films I've seen in 2019. There wasn't a single moment that felt slow or boring, the movie never stops and constantly moves forward to show us something new about the characters and the story and does it in an incredibly entertaining and engaging way. This movie is also really intense. It creates tension so well while also making you laugh or feel scared or disturbed. It's just too much to handle. It's a complete cinematic experience that I think I didn't get with any other movie I saw last year and I've at least seen all the Best Picture Oscar nominations and I have to say that this is the best out of all of them. Like the director said in his Golden Glibes speech: "Once you overcome the 1-inch-tall barrier of subtitles, you will be introduced to so many more amazing films" and he's absolutely right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zNeverSleepingDec 17, 2019
Um dos melhores filmes de 2019, sem sombras de duvidas!

Uma surpresa que me pegou em cheio. Talvez esse seja o filme mais completo que já assisti. Ele tem diversos gêneros, mas não assume nenhum. Tem diversos dilemas e reflexões, mas não se
Um dos melhores filmes de 2019, sem sombras de duvidas!

Uma surpresa que me pegou em cheio. Talvez esse seja o filme mais completo que já assisti. Ele tem diversos gêneros, mas não assume nenhum. Tem diversos dilemas e reflexões, mas não se abstêm deles. Contém um finale tão impressionantemente imprevisível que é de té tira o ar. Fora as atuações que estão perfeitamente bem alocadas.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LucaCriticsMar 28, 2020
Parasite Movie Review: 10/10
Simply an amazing, breathtaking movie that deserves the Oscar for its original script, great actors and an incredible, creative storyline with many metaphors and attention to detail.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joaogabriNov 26, 2019
Perfeito, o melhor filme do ano e não tem discussão. Direção, roteiro e montagem no máximo. Bong Joon-ho está em outro nível.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dja230197Dec 16, 2019
The most fun and surprising film of the decade. A crowd-pleaser for critics and the general public alike. One of the finest works of Bong JoonHo and his amazing cast. An almost faultless film, with nothing but attention-grabbing scenes fromThe most fun and surprising film of the decade. A crowd-pleaser for critics and the general public alike. One of the finest works of Bong JoonHo and his amazing cast. An almost faultless film, with nothing but attention-grabbing scenes from start to finish. A mix of dark comedy, drama, thriller, and themes on social class make this film enjoyable and interesting without any particular protagonist or antagonist in the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GoodMorningAssFeb 11, 2020
An unpredictable film full of intrigue and plot twists, you have to watch it without knowing anything about it, which will make you enjoy much better
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DiptanshuFeb 20, 2020
Speechless! Extravaganza...words are worthless to define such Great piece of cinema! Right from the start we were too much into the story that I was shocked the movie is over like 15 mins only!such smooth screenplay with simple but effectiveSpeechless! Extravaganza...words are worthless to define such Great piece of cinema! Right from the start we were too much into the story that I was shocked the movie is over like 15 mins only!such smooth screenplay with simple but effective score with an hinge of doubts it was sure a classic cinema! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
paulomartinsFeb 12, 2020
Just brilliant. A look at the consequences of capitalism. The script is very well done and it is very difficult to understand where the film is going, which puzzles you all the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
anuj1234Feb 20, 2020
Absolutely mind-blowing. Expect the unexpected. The film is thoroughly enjoyable and equally thought provoking
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GabrielPazFeb 12, 2020
Eu amei tanto esse filme...................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SangarRajanDec 10, 2019
Congrats To Director To Pick This Story For The Genre ! It Changes My Mind That Cheating Is Not Bad If The Purpose Is Survival ! This Movie Also Shows Slaverysm And Racism In Reality As No People Shows It Directly To Our Face ! Acting IsCongrats To Director To Pick This Story For The Genre ! It Changes My Mind That Cheating Is Not Bad If The Purpose Is Survival ! This Movie Also Shows Slaverysm And Racism In Reality As No People Shows It Directly To Our Face ! Acting Is Excellent ! Cameraman Deserves An Award ! Ending Was The Best ! Plot Twist Also Attratcts The Audience ! This Story Is So Difficult To Be Done In A Fast Screenplay ! But They Convey The Feelings Successfully Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TiuLobitsFeb 15, 2020
Amazing! A film full of metaphors, social criticism, minute details, a direction that takes control of the entire film from beginning to end. A film that is worth seeing again, again, and again, you notice details that the first time I didn'tAmazing! A film full of metaphors, social criticism, minute details, a direction that takes control of the entire film from beginning to end. A film that is worth seeing again, again, and again, you notice details that the first time I didn't notice for lack of information, but that now make sense and give even more richness to this work. Simply fascinating! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gcatharinoDec 12, 2019
The best movie of 2019 has everything: great acting, fabulous screenplay, with funny, tense and plot-twist moments, excelent directing, social critics and acid jokes. A monumental (but easy-to-consume) piece of art that satisfies allThe best movie of 2019 has everything: great acting, fabulous screenplay, with funny, tense and plot-twist moments, excelent directing, social critics and acid jokes. A monumental (but easy-to-consume) piece of art that satisfies all audience's tastes. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AShinyGiratinaFeb 7, 2020
I'm going to refer to this as "The Movie" from now on until I find something fully encapsulates what cinema can achieve in a better fashion. We certainly haven't seen something that could surpass this in the decade before it was released.I'm going to refer to this as "The Movie" from now on until I find something fully encapsulates what cinema can achieve in a better fashion. We certainly haven't seen something that could surpass this in the decade before it was released.
This was simply perfection.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AdrianNieveJan 20, 2020
Lo primero que vemos en Parasite es la ventana de un sótano que da a ras de suelo de una calle iluminada por el sol. Y nos quedamos con esta imagen hasta que se da el primer movimiento de cámara del filme, cuando ésta desciende y, sentado enLo primero que vemos en Parasite es la ventana de un sótano que da a ras de suelo de una calle iluminada por el sol. Y nos quedamos con esta imagen hasta que se da el primer movimiento de cámara del filme, cuando ésta desciende y, sentado en el suelo del sótano, vemos a uno de los protagonistas de esta última producción de de Bong Joon-ho. Solo con eso, el director y el cinematógrafo han establecido el tema principal de la película, que será desarrollado a lo largo de 132 minutos: el lugar que ocupan los pobres y los marginados. Bong Joon-ho es un cineasta muy sencillo. Sus películas cuentan historias complejas, de profundo contenido social, pero siempre utilizando los recursos cinematográficos más básicos para reforzarlos. Sus películas son, para el ojo entrenado, lo que una sinfonía de Bethoveen es para un oído entrenado: sublimes. Y lo mejor de todo es que no necesitas años de entrenamiento tipo conservatorio para apreciar lo sublime en los filmes de Joon-ho. Solo necesitas mirar con atención.

Todo está en los ángulos y los movimientos de cámara. Es con ellos que Bong Joon-ho deletrea los aspectos más importantes de su trama, mientras el guion y las actuaciones se encargan de desarrollarla. Para eso el director coreano se vale de un control absoluto de lo que muestra, cómo lo muestra y a qué ritmo lo muestra. Hay que pensar en sus películas como coreografías entre el elenco y la cámara, llenas de escenas en las que cada movimiento importa porque todo relata o refuerza algo. Por eso Joon-ho nunca se complica demasiado con su cinematografía –aunque sí con los objetos, la profundidad y los colores de su diseño de escenarios–, y más bien mantiene sus ángulos y movimientos de cámara dentro de lo básico y consistente. De esta forma, una vez que entramos en ritmo, podemos bailar con su filme, tal como el elenco está danzando con la cámara.

Y eso nunca fue más cierto que en Parasite (2019), donde Bong Joon-ho refina su habilidad de ser leve en el caos y oscuro en la levedad. Como dije ya, la película comienza con un movimiento de cámara que nos introduce a la pobreza de un hogar de gente que tiene que hacer de todo para conseguir dinero y sobrevivir. A lo largo del filme los veremos abajo, intentando ascender y lográndolo a medida que la película es una divertida y perversa comedia en la que esta familia pobre se infiltra como la servidumbre de un lujoso hogar de gente adinerada. Es tan básico y consistente el lenguaje visual de Joon-ho que a esta familia adinerada la muestra siempre arriba: ubica su hogar en las colinas, los separa de su servidumbre por líneas naturales del escenario, los pone en espacios iluminados y abiertos para remarcar la claustrofobia en la que viven los otros, los marginados.

Parasite es un filme que está en constante diálogo consigo mismo. Cada acto, cada escena, tienen una consecuencia a lo largo de una película cuyo giro pareciera cambiarla por completo. Bong Joon-ho es un maestro del tono, puede hacerte reír en un momento oscuro y despertar un miedo dentro de ti en el momento más ridículo. Pero en Parasite esto es más intenso. De una comedia perversa pasamos a un caos contundente, a algo tan extraño y tan violento que seguramente es cierto. Y en realidad es un giro de trama que no hace más que reforzar el tema principal: el lugar de la pobreza en la sociedad, cómo funciona la división de clases o, en palabras del mismo Joon-ho, cómo en una sociedad capitalista la unión solo es posible en cómo una clase utiliza a la otra. ¡Y el elenco! Cada actor y actriz encarnan a sus personajes de una manera tan efectiva, que no dudamos de ellos ni cuando la historia da su giro. Joon-ho ha trabajo con grandes como Tilda Swimton, Jake Gyllenhall, Ed Harris, Chris Evans y los resultados son increíbles, pero habla muy bien de él que pueda hacer lo mismo y hasta tal vez más con un elenco de su Corea del Sur natal –entre ellos su actor mimado Song Kang-ho– desconocidos para una gran mayoría. Para cuando llega el final de la película –ese final delirante que nos deletrea la imposibilidad de ascender que tienen la clase baja y hasta la clase media–, el elenco ha hecho tan buen trabajo que ese último golpe de la trama a los personajes, es también un golpe a nosotros, a nuestras propias fantasías económicas, es un llamado a mirar de nuevo como dividimos las clases en nuestras sociedades.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kozel1Jan 4, 2020
A very pleasant surprise of how to combine something mysterious, and something with great horror elements but keeping it light with perfect black humor and not to give away too much at any point. The movie has this soft tension build up allA very pleasant surprise of how to combine something mysterious, and something with great horror elements but keeping it light with perfect black humor and not to give away too much at any point. The movie has this soft tension build up all throughout story progression and never really settles down on one tone.

Shortly after the start you kind of get the idea where things go, but you have no clue what is going to happen after that and how the protagonists are going to deal with the difficulties they are facing. The script was very cleverly written, makes you face a decision who you are rooting for. I could sympathize with either the “good guys” or the “bad guys” at any given point during the movie.

This movie should be a great example to Hollywood how to write and direct an original title, this is a Korean gem that will go down as one of the best in its genre and category.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheEventsOf1989Dec 28, 2019
When you see "Parasite" your eyes will be so glued to the screen that they will feel sore if you take them off, this film is a near perfect conglomeration of social-political satire, heist film tension, and superb tonal shifts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
leoterraJan 13, 2020
This movie really left me speechless. Parasite is probably the most different movie of recent times. The plot is light at first, but it becomes increasingly bizarre. The direction of Bong Joon-Ho is very simple, ensuring the viewer a veryThis movie really left me speechless. Parasite is probably the most different movie of recent times. The plot is light at first, but it becomes increasingly bizarre. The direction of Bong Joon-Ho is very simple, ensuring the viewer a very comfortable experience. The script is intriguing and curious, can keep the viewer completely glazed in the story. These are very good performances by Koreans, which show true performances. The movie ends up getting a little lost in the final act, but nothing that spoils the experience. It is very worth it. Parasite is a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ChrisM1979Jan 22, 2020
I thought it was really good and really well done. The only thing that brought it down for me a little bit was that the resolution dragged on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews