CJ Entertainment | Release Date: October 11, 2019
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1007 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
921
Mixed:
41
Negative:
45
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BENNEBOct 11, 2019
To sum this movie it up, it is a black comedy, a thriller, a horror and a social satire in 2 hours. Seems like a lot in 2 hours, but not only is the message of class division clear, Bong presents it in the most accessible and humorous wayTo sum this movie it up, it is a black comedy, a thriller, a horror and a social satire in 2 hours. Seems like a lot in 2 hours, but not only is the message of class division clear, Bong presents it in the most accessible and humorous way while being able to shock his viewer; and everything from the performance of the cast, to the script, to the cinematography and to the production is flawless and jaw dropping.

Calling it a great movie is an understatement. Bong has created a masterpiece and what could possibly his best film so far. Go watch the movie as soon as possible. If you love cinema, this is one movie you have to watch. It will leave you speechless at the end.
Expand
21 of 24 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
10
theredskyOct 30, 2019
Parasite is a modern day masterpiece even though it’s not one of my favorite films nor is it my favorite film of the year. I have one tiny issue with the film but it is more of a nitpick. The film’s message is a little on the nose but I don’tParasite is a modern day masterpiece even though it’s not one of my favorite films nor is it my favorite film of the year. I have one tiny issue with the film but it is more of a nitpick. The film’s message is a little on the nose but I don’t have a huge issue with it but it is noticeable. Other than that, this film is perfect. There is not one bad performance in the movie. Cho Yeo-jeong, Park So-dam, and Kang-Ho Song are standouts from the film. All 3 of them have some of the best acting of the year. Their work with a fantastic script that is incredibly well written and clever makes their performance so much more enjoyable. Another aspect I loved was the cinematography. The film’s slow camera movements and slow tracking shots look absolutely beautiful which go along great with the fantastic production design. The film’s story and themes make this film incredible. The story of this poor family slowly infiltrating a rich family only to find out that their house is not what it seems. It’s so incredibly tense. You never know what is going to happen next and it’s always surprising to see what eventually happens. The film has themes of class divide and class warfare throughout which are very profound. The rich family says these lines about how great their life is while the opposite is happening to the poor family. Every time this occurs, you see how the poor family reacts and makes the scene and film itself dramatically more tense. Another thing I liked about the film was the score by Jung Jaeil. His score adds so much more to the tension. I know I’m using the word tension a lot but that’s what this film is. A constant build up of tension scene by scene until it all culminates in the finale. For me, each passing scene left me more and more on the edge of my seat. One final aspect I want to touch on is the humor. Most of the jokes are cleverly written and while some of the jokes may not be that funny, I do appreciate how they were cleverly inserted instead of incredibly forced. Except this film to be on a bunch of Top 10 lists at the end of the year. Overall, Parasite is a fantastic film with great acting, great cinematography, and a powerful story about class divide even if its message may be a little too on the nose. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
JLuis_001Nov 15, 2019
I wasn't sure what I would find with Parasite beyond the expectations I had for the excellent reviews it has received so far.

But if I should emphasize something about it is its unpredictability in a story that thematically emanates an
I wasn't sure what I would find with Parasite beyond the expectations I had for the excellent reviews it has received so far.

But if I should emphasize something about it is its unpredictability in a story that thematically emanates an amazing dramatic darkness and at the same time manages to balance it with a touch of black comedy and certain elements of a mystery thriller.

Parasite is a film completely controlled and designed to be unraveled delicately while you consume its social commentary and understand both sides of the social spectrums of both families and the ending leaves a bitter lesson and yet nothing lacking reality.
You will talk about it quite a bit after finishing it

Parasite is the kind of cinema that is always welcome and always necessary.
Disturbing, dramatic, funny and unpredictable: A triumph.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
m15964Oct 13, 2019
Absolutely magnificent movie from a great great filmmaker that always send the audience to a place that could just say: "WoW, whatafuq...!"
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Joemama13Nov 15, 2019
Such a good movie. Probably one of the best films ever created. Takes you on a roller coaster of emotions
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
moviemitch96Nov 2, 2019
This is a Korean film that I can't quite categorize! I don't know whether to consider it a comedy, drama, thriller, dark comedy, etc., as it contains so many elements of all these genres. One thing I do know is certain though, this is such anThis is a Korean film that I can't quite categorize! I don't know whether to consider it a comedy, drama, thriller, dark comedy, etc., as it contains so many elements of all these genres. One thing I do know is certain though, this is such an interesting and unbelievable film in virtually every way possible! Winner of the Palme d'Or (the French equivalent of an Academy Award) earlier this year at the Cannes Film Festival, this film follows a poor Korean family that attempts to insert themselves into the lives of a rich, upper-class suburban family by getting themselves hired for various jobs for the family, such as a math tudor, chauffeur, cook, etc. They seem intent on even replacing the family and claiming the house for themselves if possible, until they stumble upon something shocking and unexpected within the house. And to say too much else beyond that would ruin the amazing experience of viewing this film for the first time! Really, all I can say is this: No other film this year had me laughing so much during one moment, and then completely on the edge of my seat during another, with certain scenes even leaving me absolutely breathless and speechless! The acting, writing, and dialogue were all so brilliant and razor-sharp as well! The film is layered with so many unexpected twists and turns! I never knew where this film was going or what it'd morph or evolve into next, as each scene and moment always felt so radically different and unpredictable than the last! On top of all that, the film undeniably provides a unique subtext on class, social status, the lengths some will go to for prosperity, and how people within certain classes are often perceived. Overall, I can't even begin to heap enough praise towards this masterpiece of a film! It had just about everything to offer, combined so many favorite elements and genres of mine, and left me flabbergasted by the end to the point where I sat through the entire credits and then some in order to properly process and sit with what I'd just watched! This is far and out one of the best films of the year, maybe even the decade! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
BulgarianCriticNov 10, 2019
This movie was really good.The cinematography was incredible and every shot that was filmed was done so masterfully.The film also does great with mixing comedy,tragedy and suspenfullness.I have barely watched any Korean movies(except trainThis movie was really good.The cinematography was incredible and every shot that was filmed was done so masterfully.The film also does great with mixing comedy,tragedy and suspenfullness.I have barely watched any Korean movies(except train to busan) but i can see that Koreans are making really good movies so i will have to keep an eye on their movies since they really do emotional movies great. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MarkHReviewsNov 2, 2019
In “Parasite,” Writer/Director Bong Joon Ho continues his critique of capitalist economies that, in his judgment, inevitably create economic divides resulting in class warfare. In his earlier films “Okja” (2017) and “Snowpiercer” (2013),In “Parasite,” Writer/Director Bong Joon Ho continues his critique of capitalist economies that, in his judgment, inevitably create economic divides resulting in class warfare. In his earlier films “Okja” (2017) and “Snowpiercer” (2013), Bong used a platform of science fiction to soften the message. With “Parasite,” he employs slapstick and dark humor to leaven a story that, in lesser hands, might have become painfully didactic.

Setting his story in Seoul, Bong has the benefit of dealing with class warfare and economic inequality without the complication of race. South Korea is one of the most ethnically homogeneous countries in the world – 96% of the population is Korean.

Bong’s pacing of his story is impeccable. In Act One, we are introduced to the Kim family, literally and figuratively living in the lower reaches of the city, the parents unemployed and struggling, the kids getting by on street smarts. When workers come by spraying white clouds of pesticide in their rodent-infested section of the city, the father advises to leave the windows open: “It’s free extermination.” At the other end of the economic spectrum is the Park family, wealthy beyond reason and totally reliant on others to do anything requiring physical or mental heavy lifting. Bong underlines his premise by conveying clearly that, while they have great wealth, the Parks are not endowed with a particularly high level of intelligence, common sense or self-awareness.

When a wealthy friend of the Kim son creates an opportunity for him to tutor the Park daughter, the Kims use this entry point as leverage, creating jobs for every member of the family within the Park household. So far, the story, is light, bright and slapstick, with only a small vein of dark humor. This tone offers opportunities for non-threatening exposition. Remarking on the Parks’ unlined faces, Mr. Kim intones: “Money is like an iron. It smooths the creases out.”

In Act Two, the story takes a darker turn, initially by exploring the consequences of the Kims’ actions on one of the displaced workers. By the end of the film, class warfare has escalated from bland observations (Mr. Park observes that those who ride on the subway have a “special smell”) to full-on emotional and physical violence. For me, Bong’s thoughtful, subtly-crafted story invoked a fair amount of thought and introspection.

“Parasite” won the top prize at this year’s Cannes Film Festival and is South Korea’s entry for Best International Feature Film at the Oscars. It’s one of the finest films of the year.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MurphyBrandonDec 21, 2019
Parasite is satirical, but it's not meant to make you laugh hysterically. It's more sophisticated than that. It takes some unexpected turns that kept it interesting throughout. There is a turning point in the film when everything clearlyParasite is satirical, but it's not meant to make you laugh hysterically. It's more sophisticated than that. It takes some unexpected turns that kept it interesting throughout. There is a turning point in the film when everything clearly starts heading towards a chaotic finish, and it delivered well. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
gobagOct 22, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think my life is like that, it was a very deep and content film, thank you. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
DerekReideDec 20, 2019
Well...This film is almost a masterpiece, for its genre. Visually stunning, brilliant acting, amazing direction by Bong Joon Ho, and a captivating story drive this film to incredible heights. I’m never too keen on foreign-language films as IWell...This film is almost a masterpiece, for its genre. Visually stunning, brilliant acting, amazing direction by Bong Joon Ho, and a captivating story drive this film to incredible heights. I’m never too keen on foreign-language films as I can’t really understand them even with the captions, but this just glorified them. The only thing I’d say about this film that doesn’t really drive the movie down for me is the pacing was a tad slow, but that would be me nitpicking for any mistakes. Overall, one of 2019’s best for sure. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
AvishanHOct 16, 2019
Here it is.My favorite movie from Asian cinema this year.Good Acting,good script and a good directing... Thank you Bong Joon-ho
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ArthuuOct 24, 2019
A totally unexpected movie, left me disturbed. It's so good that it feels kind of unreal to be created in 2019. Masterpiece & best one of the year.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AvaresseDec 14, 2019
I usually don't watch movies, my attention span is simply just too short for so many of them. Its for that sole reason I stick mainly to just thrillers and suspense, productions that will keep me at the edge of my seat. And oh boy ParasiteI usually don't watch movies, my attention span is simply just too short for so many of them. Its for that sole reason I stick mainly to just thrillers and suspense, productions that will keep me at the edge of my seat. And oh boy Parasite does not disappoint in that aspect in any way whatsoever. Its a movie full of twists, one wont know what hit 'em.. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ajzeg01Nov 30, 2019
This movie was amazing!!! This is the latest movie from South Korean director Bong Joon-ho, director of The Host, Okja, Snowpiercer and more. This is only the second movie of his that I have seen and it really makes me want to watch more!This movie was amazing!!! This is the latest movie from South Korean director Bong Joon-ho, director of The Host, Okja, Snowpiercer and more. This is only the second movie of his that I have seen and it really makes me want to watch more! This movie is about a poor family who all get jobs working for a rich family as part of a scheme, and it just gets crazier from there. The performances are excellent, the story is interesting, it looks beautiful, it has comedy, it has suspense, it has horror, it has romance, it has everything! My only complaints are that the movie is a little slow in the first act and that sometimes the dialogue went by too fast for me to read the subtitles. This is good writing, and I feel like I missed some of it. I’m a pretty slow reader though, so your experience may differ. And yeah, the movie is presented in its original language and subtitled. If that’s an issue for you, don’t see it. You won’t enjoy it. Otherwise, if you want an exciting and well-made movie that is completely original, go see this movie! It’s one of the best of the year! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Odedy777Oct 15, 2019
Definitely worth watching and for my opinion the best foreign film of the year,
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
opinion_haverNov 30, 2019
This movie has a little something for everyone; comedy, drama, thriller. A full palette of emotions, masterful cinematography and an immersive and believable story. I'd recommend this to anyone who is willing to anyone who is willing to watchThis movie has a little something for everyone; comedy, drama, thriller. A full palette of emotions, masterful cinematography and an immersive and believable story. I'd recommend this to anyone who is willing to anyone who is willing to watch a movie with subtitles. One of the best films I've seen all year. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
bkorrasNov 23, 2019
You know a movie's good when you wind up having a dream about it. The last movie that affected me that way was Akira Kurosawa's Ran. The latest to affect me that way is Bong Joon Ho's Parasite. The only other movie I've seen from Bong isYou know a movie's good when you wind up having a dream about it. The last movie that affected me that way was Akira Kurosawa's Ran. The latest to affect me that way is Bong Joon Ho's Parasite. The only other movie I've seen from Bong is Snowpiercer, a film that dealt with the issues of class inequality, in Parasite he returns to this theme, but this time he plays it from a very realistic angle. Bong captures the tension of class disparity superbly, blending grittiness, humour and horror, and striking imagery that completely immerses you in the world he created. The actors all do a superb job, especially Kang Ho-Song, who best exemplifies through his performance, what it feels like to be on the less-fortunate end of the class spectrum. The writing is superb too, in particular how it portrays the struggle to move up the class ladder, using both the optimistic practicality of "planning" and pessimistic impracticality of "dreaming", in a hard-hitting way. This movie forces you to ride the wave with our main characters, all the way up, and down.

The cinematography is beautiful, and the images composed superbly. The way the cinematography captures the architecture of our more-fortunate characters home is breathtaking, so is their lifestyle. No wonder our main characters plot and dream of being in that position, who wouldn't want to be?. The score stands out too. At times it gets super eerie and spacy and combined with the imagery, it helps produce the feeling that you are in a fever dream, and trust me, when the sh*t hits the fan in this, it's a fever dream and then some. I highly recommend this hard-hitting bit of cinema.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AaronANov 30, 2019
I rarely log in to write a review.

This move made me instantly log in to post one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKOct 29, 2019
A great film that deserved to win the Palme D’Or at Cannes. In a strange way, it’s a Korean version of Upstairs, Downstairs, but much more cutthroat and much more fun. You never quite know what will happen next with such wily servants andA great film that deserved to win the Palme D’Or at Cannes. In a strange way, it’s a Korean version of Upstairs, Downstairs, but much more cutthroat and much more fun. You never quite know what will happen next with such wily servants and such clueless and pampered rich people. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
willlolOct 27, 2019
Um dos melhores filmes desse século até o momento, sem dúvidas! Apenas assistam e procurem saber o menos possível para terem uma experiência surreal de vida.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Brent_MarchantOct 24, 2019
Dissecting the struggle between the classes through the lens of innate human nature -- regardless of class status -- provides the foundation for this rip-roaring black comedy/social satire, one of those rare films that grabs your attentionDissecting the struggle between the classes through the lens of innate human nature -- regardless of class status -- provides the foundation for this rip-roaring black comedy/social satire, one of those rare films that grabs your attention and holds it from start to finish without letting go. Building on themes explored in such previous works as "Snowpiercer," writer-director Bong Joon Ho serves up a riveting, ruthless offering that makes its point clearly but without being heavy-handed or cartoonishly over the top. In doing so, the filmmaker dishes out a wealth of utterly hilarious humor about subjects that ultimately prove to be no laughing matter. Easily one of the year's best, sufficiently award-worthy in many respects, especially in its superb writing, the fine performances of its excellent ensemble cast and a thought-provoking message that should give us all a lot to think about. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TakoxNov 3, 2019
The biggest surprise of the year. I went to watch the movie without knowing very well what I was going to find, and I left delighted. The artistic direction is 10/10, and the mix of drama, comedy and thriller make the two hours and peak thatThe biggest surprise of the year. I went to watch the movie without knowing very well what I was going to find, and I left delighted. The artistic direction is 10/10, and the mix of drama, comedy and thriller make the two hours and peak that the movie lasts by flying. Totally recommended. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GiesonDec 2, 2019
Easily the best movie of 2019. A great movie, it entertains, it thrills and it shocks, thanks to a perfect direction by Bong and some incredible performances from the cast.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Dec 31, 2019
From South Korea, the movie that will be the worst nightmare of Almodovar and Scorsese. Dark comedy, drama and suspense in the vein of Hitchcock are mixed masterly in the story for a family of phonies and his dastardly art of getting awayFrom South Korea, the movie that will be the worst nightmare of Almodovar and Scorsese. Dark comedy, drama and suspense in the vein of Hitchcock are mixed masterly in the story for a family of phonies and his dastardly art of getting away with it, or almost. Unexpected twists and an unpredictable end will make this one be tattoed in the memory of viewer. Rush! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SlackerkingOct 20, 2019
It’s never less than interesting and watchable but in the end for me there are so many better Korean movies that it doesn’t live up to the hype of my expectations.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman1999Oct 12, 2019
MIND-PARASITIZING!

One of the most exquisitely directed, and well-crafted, films of the decade. Give Joon-ho Bong an Oscar from now! (8.5/10)
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MovieRiffingJan 6, 2020
Parasite stands atop the rest of the competition as the best film of 2019. Director Bong Joon-ho delivers his masterpiece, a film that has you hooked from the very beginning. Over the course of Parasite's runtime, it draws you deeper andParasite stands atop the rest of the competition as the best film of 2019. Director Bong Joon-ho delivers his masterpiece, a film that has you hooked from the very beginning. Over the course of Parasite's runtime, it draws you deeper and deeper into its world, demanding more and more of your attention. Just when your investment in the characters peaks, Bong Joon-ho takes Parasite off the rails and delivers a striking message on the innate struggles between classes. Add in fantastic performances and cinematography, and you have the must-see film of 2019. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
lurcasJan 11, 2020
Parasite is one the best movies I have watched hands down! Highly recommended
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Bruno85309Dec 24, 2019
Incrível, fenomenal, sucesso total. Uma verdediera obra de 2019, filme traz toda uma relevância para o debate atual sobre qualidade de vida, desigualdade social, luta de classes, violência.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ScotlandSlagDec 5, 2019
Amazing film. Authentic, real, and a story I have never seen put to film before. Highly recommend. 10/10
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
622495905229283Jan 9, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is the best of the year.
There will always be movies like this Befitting oscar
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
mintloFeb 12, 2020
It didn't do anything for me. I didn't find it compelling, funny, didn't like any of the characters. I heard all this hype about the movie - not my cup of tea l.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
AndremaxDec 3, 2019
Parasite is funny and clever at the same time. Through trickster reality, plot is developed under a lot of intelligence and it's almost impossible doesn't hold yourself until movie's end. Probably this year's best movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dragonbadJan 12, 2020
this movie so cool. for those who dont like thriller its ok. all thriller on near ending, the quality overall is good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
yelenaFeb 14, 2020
The film is very good but not a masterpiece. It says a lot about the state of art now if a film with so many flows is considered genius. It is not. Actors are excellent but actors are excellent everywhere now days. The script is a problem, asThe film is very good but not a masterpiece. It says a lot about the state of art now if a film with so many flows is considered genius. It is not. Actors are excellent but actors are excellent everywhere now days. The script is a problem, as it is the problem in 99% of films. The film begins very well, picks up speed but then loses momentum. The flood spoils it especially. It was not needed to convey the message, it was too much, too obvious, too in your face. But still, it is a courageous film, which dared to address the problem rarely addressed. It has no real love story, thanks God. Overall, it is great just falls short of a masterpiece some critics claim it to be. it is also very funny at times and definitely universal. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KcandresFeb 24, 2020
I think a ten film is one that you enjoy in the moment, but it stays with you after. I’ll be thinking about this movie for days and will continue to get more out of it as I do so. I thought I would be let down after all they hype and this isI think a ten film is one that you enjoy in the moment, but it stays with you after. I’ll be thinking about this movie for days and will continue to get more out of it as I do so. I thought I would be let down after all they hype and this is not the case. My only complaint is that it does feel a little long at points, although I don’t know what they could have cut. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
loadingrandeOct 11, 2019
everything about this movie is outstanding. saw it a couple months ago (and rewatched today) and it never got out of my mind. easily the best movie of the year. one of the bests of the decade, or even of the century. Bong is extraordinary.everything about this movie is outstanding. saw it a couple months ago (and rewatched today) and it never got out of my mind. easily the best movie of the year. one of the bests of the decade, or even of the century. Bong is extraordinary. the performances are legendary. the script, production, everything - it will leave u speechless. totally recommend. if it isn't nominated for best picture at the oscars i think imma go insane Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
10
kayhamedOct 10, 2019
A film that finally satisfied me after many years. thank you Bong joon-ho. :)
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
10
incleyoonOct 11, 2019
okay but this is the BEST movie of 2019!!!! thank you bong joo, this movie is art
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
carlosloboOct 11, 2019
a **** Masterpiece, deserve all the awards, the best of 2019 without questioning
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
Jep_GambOct 12, 2019
Best Movie I’ve seen this year. So thrilling and clever. Please watch it in the Theaters.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
MarcDoyleOct 11, 2019
I've seen a ton of movies this year, and this one is clearly in my top group. The storytelling is phenomenal, the visuals are beautiful, and even though things get a touch "heavy" in the final third with regard to driving the theme home,I've seen a ton of movies this year, and this one is clearly in my top group. The storytelling is phenomenal, the visuals are beautiful, and even though things get a touch "heavy" in the final third with regard to driving the theme home, it's just an amazing film. The actors are uniformly fantastic. What starts as sort of a grift/heist/scheme that's light and hilarious turns touching, and emotional. It's not as momentous as last year's Roma, but if there's justice, this one will get a Best Picture nod, and will actually have a shot to win. Of course, I'm not staking anything of value on that... I have a feeling that academy voters don't watch many of these films. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
thenakedmoleOct 14, 2019
Unpredictable, unique story, fantastic cinematography, and great acting. I can't recommend enough. At the moment this is easily my favorite movie of 2019.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
YeetusMcGeetusOct 25, 2019
Absolutely beautiful, disturbing, and politically timely. I was blown away by Parasite! Go in blind, with no expectations, and you will be shocked to your core!
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
FarheenOct 13, 2019
Insanely good. I'm still shaken by it and deeply touched at the same time.

I have no idea how Meta and Rotten tomatoes' rated Black Panther higher than this. Clearly something off.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
BeastJ18Oct 25, 2019
The best film of the year, maybe the best film of the decade. Just one of the best films in general. Joon-ho Bong balances a social thriller, satire and drama, perfectly and effortlessly. The cinematography is as good as I've ever seen in aThe best film of the year, maybe the best film of the decade. Just one of the best films in general. Joon-ho Bong balances a social thriller, satire and drama, perfectly and effortlessly. The cinematography is as good as I've ever seen in a film; the editing keeps it highly engaging; the production design adds the impactful disparity between the classes; the score and sound design adds significant character and emotion to each scene; and the performances are powerfully executed from the whole cast. Parasite deserves all the high praise it is receiving from critics and somehow, it deserves more. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
wevertonaguiiarOct 11, 2019
Claramente o melhor filme de 2019, até então. Uma obra de arte que trata sobre assuntos delicados sem parecer exagerada. Nos faz pensar e ver os detalhes. O roteiro e a direção de Bong Joon-ho estão entre os melhores trabalhos que eu já vi.Claramente o melhor filme de 2019, até então. Uma obra de arte que trata sobre assuntos delicados sem parecer exagerada. Nos faz pensar e ver os detalhes. O roteiro e a direção de Bong Joon-ho estão entre os melhores trabalhos que eu já vi. Simplesmente incrível. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
bokchoi1018Oct 15, 2019
We are in 2019, and yet there is a movie that from the start till the end, I cannot predict what is going to happen. The most unique Korean movie, and definitely one of the best Korean movies and Bong Joon Ho's best directed movie I have ever seen.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
PlasticsOct 19, 2019
Fantastic filmmaking. One the most revolutionary Golden Palms in recent history. An exquisite popcorn flick that contains all your favorite genres in a two-hour long roller-coaster social satire
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
matthewmirlianiOct 15, 2019
Parasite is a twisty, energetic ride at the movies, balancing a light-heartedness with thriller-like tension. Aside from its enjoyability as a film - largely due to its superb cast and writing - Parasite makes a visually stunning statement onParasite is a twisty, energetic ride at the movies, balancing a light-heartedness with thriller-like tension. Aside from its enjoyability as a film - largely due to its superb cast and writing - Parasite makes a visually stunning statement on class and society in the modern age. It’s not always perfect, and may stretch itself to wild extremes, but it’s a cinematic experience you’ll want to come back to again and again, and one of 2019’s definite must-sees. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
AnotherBRgamerOct 11, 2019
Uma obra prima do cinema coreano e um dos melhores filmes de 2019. Sem mais.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
NG89Oct 18, 2019
"What happens to a dream deferred?" (L. Hughes) Parasite creator Bong Joon-Ho agrees with Hughes that it could dry up, rot, stink, sag like a heavy load, and explode, but more importantly it devastates. A (probably) once charismatic and"What happens to a dream deferred?" (L. Hughes) Parasite creator Bong Joon-Ho agrees with Hughes that it could dry up, rot, stink, sag like a heavy load, and explode, but more importantly it devastates. A (probably) once charismatic and driven father, Ki-taek, reduces himself to a man with no plan. Further, he reveals to his son that this is the best plan of all - as you can't get let down that way. Classism rules the screen as the Philistine Park family does South Korea. They know no true love, no appreciation for art, and no hobbies, but their money buys them pseudo-happiness- at the expense of Ki-taek's family and the rest of the poor who share his scent. The director adds family dynamics, humor, suspense, gore, and scenery to a film that can only be categorized as art. Best film of the year! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
sasaimaOct 24, 2019
Parasite lives up to all the hype. It's funny, it's thrilling, it's heartbreaking, it's fun.
Bong Joon Ho blew my mind. This film will probably remain in my mind forever.
The must see movie of 2019!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
bonnie1Oct 27, 2019
The best movie ever! Really amazed by the movie and the actors. Happy to see Koreans making good movies.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
doodlermanOct 14, 2019
Absolutely incredible. One of Bong Joon-Ho's best. It's darkly funny, loaded with suspense, and has a deep socio-economic statement that's timely and deep. The cast is awesome, the direction is awesome, the music, the cinematography -Absolutely incredible. One of Bong Joon-Ho's best. It's darkly funny, loaded with suspense, and has a deep socio-economic statement that's timely and deep. The cast is awesome, the direction is awesome, the music, the cinematography - everything is awesome. PARASITE, thus far, is easily my favorite film of the year. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Black-TemplarOct 15, 2019
I have zero interest in Kdrama series, Kpop or just K-musical and cinema industry in general.

But this movie, God damn that it's a must watch!
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsOct 25, 2019
This movie is arguably the best thriller I have seen in years. I was on the edge of my seat for the entire runtime, and I can honestly say I never knew what was going to happen next. I am not going to spoil any plot elements in this review,This movie is arguably the best thriller I have seen in years. I was on the edge of my seat for the entire runtime, and I can honestly say I never knew what was going to happen next. I am not going to spoil any plot elements in this review, because I believe you should be as shocked as I was by the time the credits rolled!

Every single element that went into crafting Parasite is flawless. The composition of every single shot was immaculate. The soundtrack was intense and beautiful. The acting was out of this world phenomenal. The direction is beautiful. The writing is very well done, and, a lot like Joker, is political without being political. Parasite has a lot to say about classism, and it touches on the relationship of North and South Korea with a perspective that was completely new to me as an outsider. This is a masterfully crafted film, and I hope everyone who can see this movie does.

This is truly Bong Joon-Ho's best work. I was sucked into this movie, and I couldn't believe how good it was. I'm not the best at Oscar predictions or anything like that, but this movie won the Palme d'Or, very deservedly I might add! I think this will be a shoo-in for Best Foreign Language Film in all of the USA awards this year.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
mickdipsNov 6, 2019
The most prominent aspect of the movie that appealed to me personally, was how the camera takes its time revealing a scene. Just like someone who is watching something unfold in front of them but not completely grasp what they are seeing. ItThe most prominent aspect of the movie that appealed to me personally, was how the camera takes its time revealing a scene. Just like someone who is watching something unfold in front of them but not completely grasp what they are seeing. It takes on the role of a curious bystander watching it knowing something big is about to happen but not knowing when. In a few words, the movie is - Hilarious, Tragic, Scary and Thrilling at the same time. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
KaituneOct 11, 2019
I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this movie. A definite must see for everyone.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
GrantD243Nov 15, 2019
"Parasite" is about as close to perfect as a film can possibly get. I have zero complaints. Nothing. Give it the Oscar. This is the film that people who have tried to make a case for "Us" as a Film of the Year contender should watch. It"Parasite" is about as close to perfect as a film can possibly get. I have zero complaints. Nothing. Give it the Oscar. This is the film that people who have tried to make a case for "Us" as a Film of the Year contender should watch. It achieves a lot of the same goals while being far better. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
jibbawattNov 5, 2019
This is not only the best movie of 2019. This is the best movie of the decade. Just go see it.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
AlexTkillerNov 23, 2019
Una pelicula impredecible, llena de intriga y giros argumentales, tienes que verla sin saber nada de ella, eso hará que disfrutes mucho mejor
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ThatFilmGuy20Nov 25, 2019
As I write this, I want to describe my raw initial state after I finished the film, I'm in a state of complete awe, staring into the wall kind of awe, Parasite is truly a work of art, a sheer masterpiece.
This film oozes with mastery, every
As I write this, I want to describe my raw initial state after I finished the film, I'm in a state of complete awe, staring into the wall kind of awe, Parasite is truly a work of art, a sheer masterpiece.
This film oozes with mastery, every little detail tells a story of its own, I was drawn to it like a moth to a flame, it grips hard and it never lets go, it sways between genres gracefully, it offers comedy both dark and light, drama, horror, thrill, and it's all packaged so seamlessly, conveyed to us throughout breathtaking performances across the board, I've watched my share of Korean Cinema to know that's a common thing but Parasite takes it to a whole other level, it materializes thoughts and ideas, things words can not communicate, it is extremely rare to experience such a thing in film, I can only name a small number of movies that actually made me feel this way, just incredible. Director Bong Joon Ho proves that he is a master within his own cross-genre domain, he takes charge and you actually feel like you're in safe hands watching this, he shapes the scenes perfectly, A true master of his trade, Thank You.
In all honesty, I feel like I went through an experiment where the time went still and I experienced a piece of art such as this, I absolutely, wholeheartedly loved every single second of this film, MINDBLOWING.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
scarcytyOct 14, 2019
A delicious movie that keeps on serving every minute of its runtime. With gorgeous shots and incredible acting from the cast, this film will be remembered for years.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
firstloveOct 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. __
___
____
_____
_______
________ ______________
_________________

Between rank and stairs...
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
JamesCollierOct 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 'Parasite' is without question one of the best films of 2019 and I can see why Joon ho-Bong's film won the prestigious Palme d'Or prize at the Cannes film festival. This is the first film of his that I have seen and I undoubtedly have to watch more of them as I have been meaning to for some time. The film follows a family of a father, mother, son and daughter who are largely down on their luck and unemployed, living in a basement type flat with a low view onto a street usually occupied with a man who gets drunk and urinates down the street in full view of the family. Ki-woo (Woo-sik Choi) who is the son has a college friend called Min (Seo-joon Park) who visits his home and leaves the family a large rock that Min states will bestow wealth upon the family. Min tells Ki-woo that he is going abroad for study and asks him whether he would like to take over as English tutor for this young rich girl he has been tutoring himself. Ki-woo unsure of how he could considering he is not in college nor an english teacher is told by Min that his knowledge is better than most of his college friends and for him not to worry. Ki-woo is hired by the girl's mother Yeon-kyo Park (Yeo-jeong Jo) after he displays his ability to the mother, and this sets in motion a film that offers such varying emotions and surprises throughout that only a few directors of a very able nature could direct a film of this standard. A fantastic ensemble performance with I think particular praise going to Kang-ho Song as Ki-taek Kim the father. His transitions from comedy to drama are seamless as is the film itself and this blend of comedy and drama always lends a hand in making a film great when it is done well as it is in this case. The cinematography by Kyung-pyo Hong was perfect and you can tell when you have an ensemble crew who are masters of their field. It is good to see an East Asian film garnering so much attention and awards buzz. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
JeremySlatherOct 27, 2019
It is plain and simple the best movie of this year. Parasite keeps evolving and changing while being always engaging and fun. It is one of the best movie watching experiences you will ever experience - a must-see.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
SoyHenryVNov 24, 2019
¿La mejor película del año? - Posiblemente. ¿Obra maestra? - Totalmente.


Esta es la primera película del 2019 que se convertirá en un clásico y un gran referente para los cineastas de aquí en adelante.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodDec 1, 2019
This is the best film of the year. It is beautiful. thought-provoking, and truly is the most shocking/surprising gems that have been created. The plot centres around a family struggling to get buy and make ends meet. That is all I'll say inThis is the best film of the year. It is beautiful. thought-provoking, and truly is the most shocking/surprising gems that have been created. The plot centres around a family struggling to get buy and make ends meet. That is all I'll say in regards to the plot. It's something to experience and watch unfold. I didn't know anything about the film walking in and was blown away. Totally recommended. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Oct 29, 2019
With a first act that unfolds like something of a cheeky Aesop fable for the 21st century, a third act that feels like something straight out of a true crime novel, and a second act that somehow ties these two disparate bookends together,With a first act that unfolds like something of a cheeky Aesop fable for the 21st century, a third act that feels like something straight out of a true crime novel, and a second act that somehow ties these two disparate bookends together, "Parasite" effortlessly skyrockets into the heights of memorability for not only this year, but for the past few years, as this is one movie I'm going to have a hard time shaking for days, if not weeks from now. There's so much to every layer of this movie, and co-writer/director Bong Joon-Ho's refreshingly specific vision is the fulcrum of it all. The narrative is so unique, featuring a latter half that's chock-full of events you absolutely can't see coming. The imagery and colors within each frame grow in terms of vibrance as the film goes on. And the overall tone is so brilliantly difficult to pin down to just one note, ultimately giving this movie one of the most incredibly specific voices I've heard in a theater for quite some time. It is, without a doubt, one of the year's greatest feats to behold. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
AoneDec 19, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. House under water and tent over the water. The movie PARASITE is the reality we do not want to see. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
hugoferreiraOct 31, 2019
I am speechless. It doesn't get any better than this. This film is a masterpiece and I can't see any better coming this year. Joon-ho Bong keeps on getting better and it's one of the best storytellers of our times, with this film being hisI am speechless. It doesn't get any better than this. This film is a masterpiece and I can't see any better coming this year. Joon-ho Bong keeps on getting better and it's one of the best storytellers of our times, with this film being his Magnum Opus. It touches so many aspects of life with geniality and a dash of dark humor. All is a metaphor and all is explicit, genius. After only one week of it's premier, in my country, I went to one of the few theaters were this film was actually available. Expecting to have a room for myself, this little theater was full, completely full. It just demonstrates that people look also for something more than all the regurgitated bull**it that Hollywood has to offer. Don't miss this film and enjoy it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
GLADIADORNov 18, 2019
É um filme interessante, algumas piadas funcionam mais a maioria não, e ele é muito longo e cansativo, mais o plano da familia para serem contratados foi bom
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Remus23Oct 13, 2019
My first korean movie, one of the best movies I saw this year, a simple comedic concept which goes into a complex development, amazing acting, emotional and excellent camera work, frame composition and color. I think its a 10 I'm not a criticMy first korean movie, one of the best movies I saw this year, a simple comedic concept which goes into a complex development, amazing acting, emotional and excellent camera work, frame composition and color. I think its a 10 I'm not a critic and for me it felt refreshing and proved once again that asian know movies. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
Sobergirl6Feb 1, 2020
There we things that I liked about the movie and things I didn't. It was interesting and the actors were very good. The choreography was very good as well. But the story was slow and drawn out. I wish there pace was faster and more urgent.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
KeithDowNov 3, 2019
There's an unmatched clarity and precision to Bong Joon Ho's filmmaking. Parasite doesn't fit neatly into a genre box--it's part drama, part thriller, and part mystery--and the overall spectacle is indeed a worthy winner of Cannes FilmThere's an unmatched clarity and precision to Bong Joon Ho's filmmaking. Parasite doesn't fit neatly into a genre box--it's part drama, part thriller, and part mystery--and the overall spectacle is indeed a worthy winner of Cannes Film Festival's top prize, the Palm d'Or. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
marbie73Jan 29, 2020
I have heard film critics rave about this movie since the Cannes movie festival in May of 2019.I have to say I was quite disappointed by this film.I thought the first hour was slow and quite average.There was one great 10 minute scene in thisI have heard film critics rave about this movie since the Cannes movie festival in May of 2019.I have to say I was quite disappointed by this film.I thought the first hour was slow and quite average.There was one great 10 minute scene in this movie but after that the film just falls apart.I have to say that Parasite and The Irishman were two critics favorites that I thought were mediocre films. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
4
romathJan 14, 2020
Korean satire about social class differences turns into slapstick comedy implicitly contemptuous of working class and poor as schemers, scammers and pointlessly violent. That is, pointless relative to the social class satire it seeks toKorean satire about social class differences turns into slapstick comedy implicitly contemptuous of working class and poor as schemers, scammers and pointlessly violent. That is, pointless relative to the social class satire it seeks to portray. The film ends with a stereotypical working class dream, stereotypical from the standpoint of the wealthy. The last half of the film drags. Well filmed and acted, it is nonetheless at its core a vastly overrated movie. Just enough for wealthier liberals to feel a bit good, to think there's something here that isn't. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
3
ShiningLionFeb 11, 2020
As a fan of Bong Joon-ho's other films that I've seen, I thought this film would be up to the same quality. I was left quite disappointed, as nothing really "stuck" with me after viewing it, aside from how uncomfortable it made me feel. ThisAs a fan of Bong Joon-ho's other films that I've seen, I thought this film would be up to the same quality. I was left quite disappointed, as nothing really "stuck" with me after viewing it, aside from how uncomfortable it made me feel. This film won Best Picture over Joker at the Academy Awards. While there are probably others in the category that might have deserved it better, these are the only two nominees I've seen and I disagree with the choice. There's a difference between addressing the elephant in the room (which Joker did) and stating the obvious (which is what Parasite does). This film does not give any insights about wealth inequality that don't warrant a "yeah, no sh*t" response. Furthermore, the film fails on several basic levels, particularly in that it's just hard to care about the main characters and hard to care what happens to them (surprising, considering I felt that both Okja and The Host did a great job of making me care for the protagonists). At first I did, then as the film ticks along you are given plenty of reasons not to. This film is simply overrated as hell and metaphorically impotent on par with Jordan Peele's "Us" (in a word: pretentious), too far-reaching to lead to any actionable solutions or helpful change of mindset among the viewers. Compare this to films from the same two directors like Okja and Get Out, which each target a specific topic, one that is culturally relevant and which viewers have the potential to make actionable changes to affect. Those films work where this one doesn't. Parasite basically says that the dream of escaping poverty in an honorable manner just by working hard is nothing but a fantasy, yet it offers no solution to that. It also mischaracterizes the poor as conniving and cutthroat with dishonesty and competition among each other being the only way "up". I guess this film was made so that woke filmmakers like Joon-ho can sleep at night, in their gated communities, feeling like they're justified in living in their upper world, and have done something significant to help the poor just by stating the obvious about us, that ourr lives are hard and filled with struggles the rich won't have to endure. If this film had reminded viewers that the sky is blue it would have been equally insightful.

Why 3 points and not 0? Cinematography was great. Opening act of the film was compelling mostly. Some scenes were thrilling or humorous, and there was decent suspense and dread when needed. However, all that said, there were some serious pacing issues, and one of the all-time most annoying suspense/horror no-nos pertaining to strange visitors in the night and what you should probably not do if one shows up.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Oct 14, 2019
"You know what kind of plan that never fails? No plan. No plan at all. You know why? Because life cannot be planned."

'Parasite' is absolutely fantastic. I'm still buzzing how good this movie is. Unpredictable and nuts. You know, this summer
"You know what kind of plan that never fails? No plan. No plan at all. You know why? Because life cannot be planned."

'Parasite' is absolutely fantastic. I'm still buzzing how good this movie is. Unpredictable and nuts. You know, this summer I was starting to get a little worn out with the endless sequels, remakes and soulless crash grabs, so I find it refreshing we get movies like this once awhile.

I admire Bong Joon-Ho as a director, especially his Korean movies. Not to say I dislike his English language films like 'Snowpiercer' and 'Okja', but in my personal opinion those don't match the same quality as his Korean movies and there isn't a sex pest trying to control his work. Anywhere, Bong Joon-Ho is one of the best working directors alive and 'Parasite' proves it.

The movie perfectly blends drama and comedy so effortlessly, it basically breaks the impossible. And the comedy is actually hilarious and well written with the execution being sold on the actors. The thing I love so much is how funny, thrilling and intense the movie can be, hijacking all senses and emotions all wrapped into one - only a few directors can pull something this unique.

The performances from everyone was brilliant and there's so much depth to each character, they make the movie as captivating as it is. The cinematography was beautiful, the music was remarkable, and the movie says so much it's the reason why I was engaged throughout.

I highly recommend people to avoid knowing anything before going in, because trust me it will add to your experience.

Overall rating: Finally, a breath of fresh air. My second favorite movie of this year.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
umaumaiJan 29, 2020
I’ve been waiting for the hype train to slow down to watch this movie so I could try to go into it without any expectations. I will say everything I’ve heard and read has been very positive about the experience of watching it from friends,I’ve been waiting for the hype train to slow down to watch this movie so I could try to go into it without any expectations. I will say everything I’ve heard and read has been very positive about the experience of watching it from friends, users and critics alike. I’ve seen all of Joon-Ho Bong’s films and while I’ve never out right hated any of them, I’ve never thought that they were for me. They tend to be unpleasant and have an obsession with being locked away both physically and emotionally from the outside world. This movie is probably the one I’ve liked the least on first viewing. I didn’t feel like any character was particularly clever and no one had any redeeming qualities. In the end I just didn’t care what happened to anyone in the movie. While that seems to be what Bong is trying to incite, the main thrust of the movie was just too boring and left me unimpressed. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryNov 3, 2019
The Park family is struggling financially, when the son gets a job teaching English to the daughter of the rich Kim family. In a short time, he brings his parents and sister to work for them…then things take a very dark turn. The film is aThe Park family is struggling financially, when the son gets a job teaching English to the daughter of the rich Kim family. In a short time, he brings his parents and sister to work for them…then things take a very dark turn. The film is a bit slow in the first 3rd (maybe straining to make sure the financial inequality theme is clear), but once the twists start, it departs into unexpected areas (literally and figuratively). Director Bong Joon Ho (best known for Snowpiercer) continues to showcase his skills at creating unique and disturbing storytelling. The combo of humor, suspense and violence lends this film an intelligent, yet visceral quality that's sure to stimulate and surprise. (Korean with subtitles) Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
bwad3000Feb 9, 2020
Disappointingly overrated - the screenplay and directing was frequently painfully heavy-handed and awkwardly overzealous in its attempts to be a meaningful and important film about class. Reading though Korean explanations about the attemptsDisappointingly overrated - the screenplay and directing was frequently painfully heavy-handed and awkwardly overzealous in its attempts to be a meaningful and important film about class. Reading though Korean explanations about the attempts at symbolism in the film that non-Koreans would miss reinforced this conclusion. But the film is worth watching for some well-acted scenes depicting different levels of Korean life which were enjoyable. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
artardmosheaFeb 7, 2020
Funny premise that goes places but completely over-hyped.

Can't help but feel that people are celebrating the message rather than the movie which is disturbing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeOct 26, 2019
Bong Joon Ho's most recent movie is nothing short than a masterpiece. With great acting performances, beautiful cinematography, an interesting story and weirdly likable characters and a very satisfying third act, Parasite is an instant classic.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Sigfrid0sFeb 10, 2020
La película es buena, pero el final tira por la borda todo lo que forma durante al inicio. Lamentablemente no se puede juzgar una película solo por el comienzo sino que el desenlace es casi tan importante como el inicio, es justamente elLa película es buena, pero el final tira por la borda todo lo que forma durante al inicio. Lamentablemente no se puede juzgar una película solo por el comienzo sino que el desenlace es casi tan importante como el inicio, es justamente el final el que no demuestra estar a la altura del resto del film. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
Daniel_PopescuFeb 13, 2020
A disappointing (shocking, absurd, illogical) ending to a classic yet beautifully constructed plot. For me, this is “the movie that could have been”. Or “the glass half full”. At half point, the story gets so complicated that there is no wayA disappointing (shocking, absurd, illogical) ending to a classic yet beautifully constructed plot. For me, this is “the movie that could have been”. Or “the glass half full”. At half point, the story gets so complicated that there is no way of redressing it. Pity. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Fatbond0007Feb 17, 2020
What a waste of time. Can't see what everyone is going on about. The synopsis is very vague and so is the film, as nothing happens and everything is blown out of proportion and nothing is explained or makes any sense.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
BHBarryOct 20, 2019
“Parasite” is a South Korean film co-written and directed by Joon-ho Bong. It tells the story of two families whose fates and directions intersect and become interwined in a series of plot twists and turns that sometimes boggle the ability of“Parasite” is a South Korean film co-written and directed by Joon-ho Bong. It tells the story of two families whose fates and directions intersect and become interwined in a series of plot twists and turns that sometimes boggle the ability of the viewer to enjoy the film. This is a movie that just can’t seem to make up its mind…is it a comedy…or is it a tragedy…or is it both. Also confusing and somewhat annoying are the English titles that seem to clash against and appear inconsistent with the words being spoken by the actors. At a minimum this recurring inconsistency between the titles and the spoken words became for this writer, at least, a major distraction.

Rarely have I seen a film receive such unwarranted and undeserving praise and accolade by the critics who I can’t believe saw the same movie I did. I found the scenes in the film to be drawn out and the movie itself to be unnecessarily long, again the penalty for having the writer/director charged with editing (or failing to edit) his own work product. I give the film a 5.0 rating and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice nap in a movie house..
Expand
9 of 19 users found this helpful910
All this user's reviews
3
August49Feb 10, 2020
Gratuitous sex, totally unnecessary to the plot...excessive violence, again not really necessary to the plot. The story was interesting but not compelling. Cannot live up to high expectations for an oscar-winning best film.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
ThomassJan 18, 2020
Basically bad to very bad. Humorous first half turns violent and disgusting. I get that it’s railing against the system, but do we really need buckets of blood to say that? Would avoid .
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
2
gxm143Feb 8, 2020
Not at all impressed. Whether sad or uplifting, or both, I want to leave the theatre with a new perspective on life. Parasite left me flat, in spite of trying too hard to capture me. I was hoping we would be blessed with 2 consecutive OscarNot at all impressed. Whether sad or uplifting, or both, I want to leave the theatre with a new perspective on life. Parasite left me flat, in spite of trying too hard to capture me. I was hoping we would be blessed with 2 consecutive Oscar winners - Green Book and 1917- made to simultaneously entertain and enlighten audiences. Now I fear that the artsy crowd has its "The Artist", "Birdman", and "No Country for Old Men", unwatchable trash that won't rate higher than a test pattern on overnight TV. If Parasite wins Best Picture, might as well put sticks of bubble gum in next year's envelopes. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
DevilTriggerFeb 11, 2020
I don’t understand this movie at all. Pardon me If I’m not a millennial. But movies that revolve around politics really bore me.
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
5
fckrianjohnsonJan 15, 2020
Overrated AF,the first half of this movies is amazing but then becomes just unfunny and predictable.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
REAPER007Feb 13, 2020
Another poor-made korean "masterpiece" has been born into this world bringing light of the genius hand of its' makers into unwashed masses, showing true colors of reality, bringing wisdom and ..... freaking clowning.
Just like most of the
Another poor-made korean "masterpiece" has been born into this world bringing light of the genius hand of its' makers into unwashed masses, showing true colors of reality, bringing wisdom and ..... freaking clowning.
Just like most of the korean TV series a.k.a. doramas - this movie is nothing more than an idiotic grimace for the real world/human relationships/money idiology and lots of other stuff which, by passing through the prism of the director, turned into a giant pile of .... (let your imagination work here).
Da movie strips' plot trudges around pathetic attempts of its "geniuuuuus" creators trying to show poor korean folk, more known as "money crased" (dumbasses), on the contrary side bringing the "money elite" which will oppose and confront our parasites and bla-bla. Script - smelling like a bio toilet after its' 1000's usage without being washed nor cleaned, brings tons of ridiculously stupid situations in which characters could make a different (more obvious and more convenient for mentally healthy person) choice that could just cut most of the crap of this movie out, or, numerous scenes obviously overplayed and thus brought to the overstate of their original form, causing my logical tool to erase itself out of the hdd of my brain forever.
Actors bum gang - drastically faking and dramatizing every emotion - feels like this is their first acting exp, which is a common sensation after observing korean doramas, so it's ok ;). But the top of this IQ-deprived company are the arisrocrats. Bossy&pumpous to the point where they become dull, supernaive, and even outistic regarding the situations they're currently in or other characters they're currently interacting with - they performed key roles in this circus of idiots.
...and it was supposed to show realities of life, kick people out of their apathy or at least look like a movie survival manual for modern homo sapiens too lazy/not lucky enough to get a job, but to me it looked like a cheep clowning overexaggerated to the point where it becomes disgusting to watch and can only cause me to put on a dissappointed face and with a deep sigh say "F**CK YOU OSCARS"!
P.S. Mom signed under each word.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
kmac73Dec 6, 2019
I liked Snowpiercer, didn’t care for Okja but Parasite was about as perfect as a film can be. A hilarious and brutal depiction of inter and intra class struggle. Must see; not just best of the year but one of the best of all time.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
dpromanoJan 1, 2020
The first hours of Parasite is a whirlwind of fun, fascinating, and engaging ideas. Beautiful and inspiring cinematography. The second hour, plus, devolves into a repetitive, rude, ignorant, and self-absorbed malfunction of a movie andThe first hours of Parasite is a whirlwind of fun, fascinating, and engaging ideas. Beautiful and inspiring cinematography. The second hour, plus, devolves into a repetitive, rude, ignorant, and self-absorbed malfunction of a movie and screenplay. Bong should have stopped while he was ahead. Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
0
OlivierPielJan 26, 2020
Incredibly overrated. It is basically a Korean take on the Japanese movie "shoplifters", that tries so hard for satire with exagerated characters, scenes and plot lines. The goal is to shock not to create real art.
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
3
HenrynatorNov 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Es una película buena, pero sobrevalorada. Pensé que había algo más oculto en la película que no me había dado cuenta, así que busqué más información y reviews, pero no hay nada más. La verdad es una película que entretiene, a pesar de ser muy larga, pero no tiene nada especial. No es de sorprender que esté tan sobrevalorada por la crítica, porque la crítica ha evolucionado para mal, ahora son más doble-moral que nunca, estigmatizan unas películas y sobrevaloran otras. Entonces, yo recomiendo que la vean y saquen sus conclusiones, pero hay tantos cabos sueltos en la película, que es absurda, además la película lleva una línea interesante, a la cual se le da un giro inesperado, muy bueno, pero el hilo inicial se pierde, luego comenzamos a ver un montón de cosas agregadas que tampoco es normal, muy absurdas diría yo. :::Alerta de Spoiler:::
El final es totalmente estúpido, el asesinato al padre del niño por un gesto, se supo que pasaría en ese momento por la tensión de la película, ¿Pero no es totalmente absurdo?. Nunca hubo algo que hablara del resentimiento del señor por su condición, así que fue algo sin base, además ¿A dónde se iría a esconder? Hasta un niño de 5 años pudo deducirlo, pero no la policía, al parecer son muy ineptos en esa ciudad. Pero no en colmo con eso, añaden una parte final de un supuesto futuro, en el que el mejor plan para recuperar a su padre y dejarlo impune, es hacerse millonario y comprar la casa donde está escondido; La idea más idiota de todas.
Expand
3 of 16 users found this helpful313
All this user's reviews