Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: October 4, 2019
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
76
Mixed:
18
Negative:
2
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LamontRaymondOct 20, 2019
What a beautiful film. It's an absolute must-see for anyone with a heart. It would be an injustice if Antonio were not nominated for Best Actor.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
PlasticsOct 19, 2019
Of course its not the best movie Almodovar has made, yet it is very satisfying that he is still in form after a decade of lost opportunities. Finally, a smart and watchable semi-biographical blues, the best one since the times he made abrazos rotos.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GreatMartinOct 18, 2019
I was so involved with who was playing who that the first 15 minutes of the movie is a blur to me! Was Antonio Banderas supposed to be Pedro Almodovar? Is Asia Exteandia supposed to be Banderas? Who the hell is Leonardo Sbaraglia who couldI was so involved with who was playing who that the first 15 minutes of the movie is a blur to me! Was Antonio Banderas supposed to be Pedro Almodovar? Is Asia Exteandia supposed to be Banderas? Who the hell is Leonardo Sbaraglia who could easily pass for Banderas? Was there truly a Cesar Vicente in Almodovar's early pre-pubescent? Then I forgot all that and just got into the movie's screenplay by Almodovar and the superb acting by the cast, especially Antonio Banderas!

I have been a huge fan of Pedro Almodovar since 1983 when I saw his "Dark Habits" and have seen about 15 of the 20 movies he has directed. This, without a doubt, is one of his best if for nothing else the writing and direction of a scene between Banderas and Julieta Mallo though this is just one of many scenes that grab and hold your attention. I defy you to take your eyes off the screen in the scene between Asier Flores, playing the young Salvador Mallo, and Cesar Vicente, a laborer with artistic abilities, that provides another scene with the older Salvador, played by Banderas, bringing back the past.

Many of Almodovar's films have featured and/or revolved around beautiful women with one being Penelope Cruz who in this film plays the young mother of Salvador but in this one it revolves around 4 beautiful men, including Banderas who grows better looking every day he grows older!

Talking about Antonio Banderas, there is no doubt in my mind he gives one of the best performances, not only of his career but, of this year. There are so many facets to this story of an old(er) man and his journey to where and who he is today and the actor deliveries in every scene. Whether in flashbacks or current day we follow him every step of the way and the complex life he has lead.

"Pain and Glory" is in many ways a perfect film but not an easy one to watch as there is a lot of pain and a little glory.

PS If for no other reason I will have to see it again and find out what I missed those first 15 minutes!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryOct 6, 2019
“Pain and Glory” is Pedro Almodovar’s 21st film and brings out the best in him, his writing and directorial talents as well as the acting performances of Antonio Banderas and Penelope Cruz. The film is difficult to summarize because it“Pain and Glory” is Pedro Almodovar’s 21st film and brings out the best in him, his writing and directorial talents as well as the acting performances of Antonio Banderas and Penelope Cruz. The film is difficult to summarize because it follows no traditional formula but, instead, takes us through the life of an aging film director victimized by depression, ill health and a feeling of failure despite the world bestowing upon him the accolades his body of work so richly deserves. Start engraving the Oscar statuettes with Mr. Banderas’ name on it for he will certainly be a leading contender for the Best Actor Award and don’t misspell Mr. Almodovar’s name on his when the Best Director Award is handed out. I give the film an 8.0 for it is truly a worthwhile theatrical experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
albertocastillaOct 6, 2019
Imprescindible para comprender el alma de uno de los directores mundiales más valorados. Técnicamente perfecta, la película propone una montaña rusa emocional que no deja indiferente.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
jude5420Oct 13, 2019
Poignant, elegant, mature, masterful filmmaking. This is a film for adults about revelation, reflection, forgiveness and contemplation. Aging, artistic process, sexuality, childhood, careerism and unrequited love are only but a few of thePoignant, elegant, mature, masterful filmmaking. This is a film for adults about revelation, reflection, forgiveness and contemplation. Aging, artistic process, sexuality, childhood, careerism and unrequited love are only but a few of the secondary narratives. I can't say enough about the enduring artistry that is Almodovar. Banderas and Cruz are, as always, seamlessly invested in their roles. Thank you Pedro. THANK YOU. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
wevertonaguiiarDec 20, 2019
Esse filme com certeza foi produzido nos confins mais profundos da alma humana. Que história bela; contada com a mais pura sensibilidade existente.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AvishanHOct 9, 2019
excellent movie from an excellent director.This movie is not made for winning Oscars or anything else.It's just pure art and made for us to appreciate art
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Oct 4, 2019
El más nuevo trabajo de Almodóvar tiene un cierto aroma a autobiografía, acerca de un director y sus conflictos con sus demonios internos y actores de cabecera. Bien por Banderas, que vuelve a trabajar con el hombre que llevó de aventón a laEl más nuevo trabajo de Almodóvar tiene un cierto aroma a autobiografía, acerca de un director y sus conflictos con sus demonios internos y actores de cabecera. Bien por Banderas, que vuelve a trabajar con el hombre que llevó de aventón a la cúspide. A ver. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
pberraOct 5, 2019
Yet another beautiful, well-crafted film from Almodóvar. It may seem a bit slow to your average moviegoer but I enjoyed every minute of it. Kudos to Antonio Banderas, Penelope Cruz, and the rest of the wonderful cast. Well done!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
Mauro_LanariOct 5, 2019
(Mauro Lanari)
In the category of self-referential, self-analytical and autobiographical art, I consider more interesting the comparison with other authors than those I found mentioned in the reviews at "Dolor y gloria". I didn't perceive it
(Mauro Lanari)
In the category of self-referential, self-analytical and autobiographical art, I consider more interesting the comparison with other authors than those I found mentioned in the reviews at "Dolor y gloria". I didn't perceive it as an accomplished film, I didn't get the impression that Almodóvar wanted or knew how to transfigure his very personal material. The beginning with the chapters "geography" and above all "anatomy", an animated list of the various ailments of health, promised a form of Trierian reworking, powerfully ingenious, sarcastic to the limit of autoparody, but they are not color tones that belong to Pedro's palette. Another notorious director for the tormented quest to extend his own navel to the human condition is Moretti, and his best film is that "Caro diario" (1993) in which he has bound himself to a classical structure like the Wolffian one (the same present also in "Antichrist", 2009). Here instead we are close to a stream of consciousness, liberating and cathartic more for those who express it than for those who receive it. In other words, I have some difficulty in identifying myself with this type of report of an eccentrically trivial life, too subjective and too little objective.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
picolandiaOct 4, 2019
Best Almodóvar's in years...or ever. Sweet and bitter, it's the work of a true master of filmaking. Banderas is beyond words in the best role of his life.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryNov 11, 2019
Unlike many of Pedro Almodóvar's early films, this semi-autobiographical reminiscence takes a more understated approach. Frequent star of his early films, Antonio Banderas, plays a director in his later years…without work and suffering for aUnlike many of Pedro Almodóvar's early films, this semi-autobiographical reminiscence takes a more understated approach. Frequent star of his early films, Antonio Banderas, plays a director in his later years…without work and suffering for a litany of physical and mental challenges. He reconnects with a number of people from his past career and early childhood (via memory). There are some beautiful moments of recollection and reconciliation with Banderas making a quiet impression in every scene. While this film never gets especially dramatic in its revelations, the images of restrained regrets and gentle acceptance paint a subdued portrait of an artist coming to terms with his life and art. (Spanish with subtitles) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
netflicOct 15, 2019
This is the latest movie from a famous Spanish director Pedro Almadovar.
Disclaimer: I never liked his movies in the past but I keep trying.
This film is semi-autobiographical. I have a feeling that type of movies becomes a fashion. Last
This is the latest movie from a famous Spanish director Pedro Almadovar.
Disclaimer: I never liked his movies in the past but I keep trying.

This film is semi-autobiographical. I have a feeling that type of movies becomes a fashion. Last year it was Cuaron's "Roma", this year it's Almadovar's turn.

This movie has everything: great actors (Antonio Benderas, Penelope Cruz to name just a few), excellent sound track, pleasant cinematography.

But I never felt any empathy toward any character in the film. For the most part of it I was bored. I respect the craftsmanship but I did not enjoy it much.

If you liked Almadovar's movies in the past, you will most likely enjoy this one as well.
But it is definitely not my piece of cake. Consistently...
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeOct 21, 2019
Pedro Almodóvar's brilliant "Pain and Glory", is a story of memory, your youth and its loss, and the concept an artist and his art. One of the best movies of 2019 and without a doubt one of the best movies of his career.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKOct 30, 2019
A wonderful film that is impossible to describe because it is so real. Antonio Banderas is completely convincing as a man of many ailments. I know that sounds weird, but it’s true and only a master like Almodovar could make a film like thisA wonderful film that is impossible to describe because it is so real. Antonio Banderas is completely convincing as a man of many ailments. I know that sounds weird, but it’s true and only a master like Almodovar could make a film like this work and perhaps only Banderas could make it convincing. It’s an amazing film and an amazing performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndremaxDec 3, 2019
Pain & Glory is emotional, touching and floats between soft and dense when it's necessary and plot twists works very well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Nov 9, 2019
It was a pretty simple and straightforward film, but it also contained a career-best performance from Antonio Banderas as a washed up Spanish filmmaker reflecting on his childhood and past, as well as attempting to make amends with someIt was a pretty simple and straightforward film, but it also contained a career-best performance from Antonio Banderas as a washed up Spanish filmmaker reflecting on his childhood and past, as well as attempting to make amends with some people in his present. It contains some touching scenes, but the story felt underwhelming to me and felt too familiar and similar to other stories like this that have been told. Overall, see it for Banderas' spot-on performance that certainly deserves awards recognition. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantOct 12, 2019
Despite a number of touching moments, fine performances by Antonio Banderas and Penelope Cruz, some inventive cinematography, and a captivating soundtrack, this introspective character study never quite gels into a cohesive whole, feelingDespite a number of touching moments, fine performances by Antonio Banderas and Penelope Cruz, some inventive cinematography, and a captivating soundtrack, this introspective character study never quite gels into a cohesive whole, feeling more like a series of random, mostly unrelated reflections than a fully finished and definitive work. Loosely based on the life of director Pedro Almodovar, this semi-autobiographical story about a filmmaker looking back on his life feels like it's going toward a destination at which it never quite arrives, despite a clever ending that provides a last-minute refreshing perspective on the work overall. I was disappointed, though, that the picture never quite led anywhere more meaningful or profound, despite a fervent hope that it would eventually do so. Fans of Almodovar's work will undoubtedly relish this love letter to his art and his audience (and some would say himself), but less ardent viewers of his films are likely to end up, as I have, seeing it as a generally inoffensive though ultimately lacking exercise. I'd be going too far if I were to call it self-indulgent, but there does seem to be a self-congratulatory element to it that overrides most anything else the film is trying to say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DeanomiteFeb 5, 2020
The latest from Almodovar, very nicely photographed-the best of his so far, best photography i have seen this year. Penelope Cruz has not aged a day in 15 years. Antonio Banderas gives the best performance i have seen of him. ProductionThe latest from Almodovar, very nicely photographed-the best of his so far, best photography i have seen this year. Penelope Cruz has not aged a day in 15 years. Antonio Banderas gives the best performance i have seen of him. Production values are highest of any Almodovar so far, the script is the weak spot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GLADIADORDec 20, 2019
Filme bom, mostra a vida dificil de salvador com todas as dores e reecontrando o passado, e o final me surpreendeu
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmreactiviewOct 19, 2019
PAIN AND GLORY is worth seeing Audience REACTIONS at its Canadian PREMIERE:
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
notor12Feb 8, 2020
I am going to go out on a limb and say this is actually Pedro Almodovar's best film. Possibly one of the best films I have ever seen.

Why is it his best? Because it captures in its simplicity and bareness the sublime beauty of life as can
I am going to go out on a limb and say this is actually Pedro Almodovar's best film. Possibly one of the best films I have ever seen.

Why is it his best? Because it captures in its simplicity and bareness the sublime beauty of life as can only be viewed through the veil of the pain and suffering we must all endure to be able to experience that beauty at all. The film finds meaning in suffering in a believable fashion.

I believe that there is no higher form of art than to speak to this simple personal truth which connects us all through the sincerity of one's own experience. And this film does speak truthfully and humbly to that very personal struggle each of us undertakes to find meaning. To the losses and the hurt but also the subtle joys in the trials and tribulations of life. And not only do we have important questions here, but important answers. Pedro Almodovar's story is not unique or special or different in any important way from many others that have been told, but it is astoundingly honest and simple and that is what makes this film so starkly beautiful.

Bad Education dealt with childhood trauma and the consequences from repressed sexuality and internalized homophobia. Many will cite that film as Almodovar's best....But this film felt so much more universal, wisened by age, and true to me.

I have rarely been so emotionally affected by a film. Pain and Glory indeed; that is all that life is and nothing more.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SoyHenryVNov 24, 2019
Auto-reflexiva, melancólica y llena de humanismo. Esta es una cinta que Almodóvar se escribe así mismo, entrega el cuerpo y alma en cada uno de sus personajes y de sus escenas. El final es hermoso.

Antonio Banderas está espectacular.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews