A24 | Release Date: October 21, 2016
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1530 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,110
Mixed:
146
Negative:
274
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
Platformmaster1Feb 28, 2017
what a terribly boring film. I'm sorry but this is absolutely not deserving of best picture and will be forgotten quickly. Politically relevant? Yes. Entertaining and engaging cinema? No. Nothing performances with flat faces andwhat a terribly boring film. I'm sorry but this is absolutely not deserving of best picture and will be forgotten quickly. Politically relevant? Yes. Entertaining and engaging cinema? No. Nothing performances with flat faces and mistaking silence for subtlety. It checked all the oscar boxes and got its reward but forgot a script and performances. Expand
27 of 39 users found this helpful2712
All this user's reviews
5
BeeceeJan 9, 2017
There is, somehow, an interesting story here, as well as some good acting. There are also some good scenes (particularly those involving his "adopted" father). However, the cinematography and direction bear resemblance to the average homeThere is, somehow, an interesting story here, as well as some good acting. There are also some good scenes (particularly those involving his "adopted" father). However, the cinematography and direction bear resemblance to the average home movie. There is also a huge gap in the story between an incident that happens in high school and Chiron as an adult. What passions does Chiron have other than the fact that he is gay? What does he even do for a living as an adult? Most of these characters are stereotypes rather than well-drawn human beings. Expand
18 of 26 users found this helpful188
All this user's reviews
3
AxeTFeb 3, 2017
As far as Academy Award affirmative action handout recipients in this year's nominations, this is the other end of the spectrum from the much more watchable, commercial and accomplished "Hidden Figures". This artsy, European and Asian cinemaAs far as Academy Award affirmative action handout recipients in this year's nominations, this is the other end of the spectrum from the much more watchable, commercial and accomplished "Hidden Figures". This artsy, European and Asian cinema influenced personal story is a very small low budget film of slight accomplishment. That doesn't make it less worthy though. What does is the fact it is a far lesser effort than so many others and has no particular brilliance. Just because a story is personal does not qualify it for production nor a wide audience. Everyone has a story, and most are not cinematic enough to be told. Sorry. Yet still, there is nothing wrong with telling a little story from your life. It's good the film was made and has its merits for some. What is wrong is the sick deranged mass over praise by shallow crying to be noble critics for a very slow, arty for art's sake, little film that doesn't deliver on story craft or emotion to any degree remotely close to a great personal film with similar subject matter of growing up in a rough city setting like "Boyz n the Hood". What is downright corrupt and disgraceful is The Academy's biased pc/racial/sexist/diversity driven endorsement by handing this slight effort 8 nominations simply because of its black gay identity! Expand
20 of 33 users found this helpful2013
All this user's reviews
10
cwongxOct 22, 2016
This film is so real. It treats its characters with so much care and sensitivity. This is an epic recapturing of adolescent and early adult life similar to epics like Boyhood and Yi Yi, only it's on a different level of filmmaking, becauseThis film is so real. It treats its characters with so much care and sensitivity. This is an epic recapturing of adolescent and early adult life similar to epics like Boyhood and Yi Yi, only it's on a different level of filmmaking, because this really exemplifies laser-focused storytelling, from its beautiful cinematography to its masterful dialogue. I felt so many raw emotions watching this as Chiron (the protagonist) takes each of his steps transitioning into adulthood, forming his identity with regards to race, masculinity, and sexuality. To see it all unfold the way it did made me feel lucky to be on the viewing seat instead of being in the type of environment Chiron was forced to live in. This film is definitely a heavy one, but despite its rawness I think I'm still going to see it again in theaters just to appreciate all of the poignancy and detail in it in how it addresses the tougher aspects with regard to masculinity, sexuality, race, etc. Overall, definitely a must-see. Expand
45 of 81 users found this helpful4536
All this user's reviews
3
jmmarchDec 21, 2016
A gay movie for people who don't want to be bothered by actual gay sex. A movie full of gay movie cliches and half-baked characterizations. The biggest disappointment of 2016.
28 of 51 users found this helpful2823
All this user's reviews
3
swingJan 10, 2017
For me, it was realistic and well acted, but lacked any entertainment value at all. The story was simple. The dialogue was sparse. There was no humor. There was really very little drama. I waited for something to happen, but after theFor me, it was realistic and well acted, but lacked any entertainment value at all. The story was simple. The dialogue was sparse. There was no humor. There was really very little drama. I waited for something to happen, but after the first 40 min., I knew I'd be waiting until the end of the movie. But there was no end and no real message. I've seen Hidden Figures, Fences, and Manchester by the Sea. Moonlight isn't in the same class as far as movie entertainment. I can sincerely say, I am sorry I saw it. I am not sure why it's getting awards. Expand
21 of 39 users found this helpful2118
All this user's reviews
8
RatedRexJan 2, 2017
This is easily the best directed, best written and best acted movie of the year. Its too bad that the subject matter isn't more appealing to a wider audience. Moonlight examines how we protect our inner being by camouflaging our exteriorThis is easily the best directed, best written and best acted movie of the year. Its too bad that the subject matter isn't more appealing to a wider audience. Moonlight examines how we protect our inner being by camouflaging our exterior self. With all the kiddy stuff these days, it is refreshing to see a great adult saga. An Academy Award nominations for Best Picture is virtually assured. Expand
25 of 49 users found this helpful2524
All this user's reviews
0
Morphine_ODDec 23, 2016
A movie that is rated usually by it's "social significance", that is catered specifically to Oscar wins, predictable and prosaic, it doesn't deserve to be among the best movies ever made. Alas, the year is 2016 and the regressive left need aA movie that is rated usually by it's "social significance", that is catered specifically to Oscar wins, predictable and prosaic, it doesn't deserve to be among the best movies ever made. Alas, the year is 2016 and the regressive left need a space to vent. Expand
28 of 63 users found this helpful2835
All this user's reviews
1
DOUGKNov 27, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible movie, no reason to watch. It is depressing and unrealistic in many ways. Unbelievable that so many critics and people here are giving this movie favorable reviews. Nothing good about it. "real" "sensitive" Please!!! It is some idiots idea of a realistic movie with stereotypical characters and a nonsensical plot. Save your time and money. Expand
17 of 45 users found this helpful1728
All this user's reviews
9
thaklosDec 11, 2016
This treats as people characters whose stories have more often been reduced to preconceptions, and attempts to crumble monolithic archetypes into a life lived. The success of this endeavour is apparent, this is a beautifully constructedThis treats as people characters whose stories have more often been reduced to preconceptions, and attempts to crumble monolithic archetypes into a life lived. The success of this endeavour is apparent, this is a beautifully constructed character study that drifts through time so that it can hold onto a single thread of its protagonist's experience relentlessly, forcing us to see the ripples of circumstance play out across various presents. Expand
20 of 54 users found this helpful2034
All this user's reviews
10
hornysoulSep 22, 2018
Este filme é tão real, pois trata as suas personagens com muito cuidado e sensibilidade. Eu senti as emoções do Chiron, que dá os seus passos para a idade adulta, formando a sua identidade (relacionando a sua raça, masculinidade eEste filme é tão real, pois trata as suas personagens com muito cuidado e sensibilidade. Eu senti as emoções do Chiron, que dá os seus passos para a idade adulta, formando a sua identidade (relacionando a sua raça, masculinidade e sexualidade). Este filme é definitivamente pesado e, em termos gerais, um must-watch. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
annbdMar 22, 2018
To start with the bad or the good criticism? 'BAAAD', okok. The movie start phlegmatic, very watery and you can't orientate much. There is one a little bit weird protagonist, which story and reasons for that silent, outsiderish essence areTo start with the bad or the good criticism? 'BAAAD', okok. The movie start phlegmatic, very watery and you can't orientate much. There is one a little bit weird protagonist, which story and reasons for that silent, outsiderish essence are unclear. In my opinion - an important pass. Anddd there were some unnecessary s*** in this movie, I must admit. Anyway, as I said, the beginning is perceived to be slightly phlegmatic, but suprisingly you get used to it - the atmosphere and the time. The protagonist performance was brilliant, no doubt. Basically, except some passes, at times confusion and the whole time too stretched story, I like it, I don't know, it was touching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
zrhumphreyJan 15, 2019
Great direction, cinematography, and performances but the story was lacking and it really did not stick with me. Well-crafted but overrated.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
SEROJMar 22, 2018
Putting the acting aside - this is one of the most overrated movies in the history of cinema. I'm not homophobic but the plot is just worthless. I don't think i'll ever waste my time on watching this again.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
homer4presidentApr 12, 2017
For an accolade wining movie, this movie falls short in depicting the depth you would otherwise expect. The characters fail to be fully fleshed out to realize their potential. While the topic itself is a goldmine for exploring in the AfricanFor an accolade wining movie, this movie falls short in depicting the depth you would otherwise expect. The characters fail to be fully fleshed out to realize their potential. While the topic itself is a goldmine for exploring in the African American community, it falls painfully short of reaching out to the human element in it. The lead while growing in the movie does not grow as a character. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
weirdoomovieJan 13, 2017
Saw it last night. Didn't know a thing about it before walking in to the theater, except for the awards. Gripping drama about the broken homes and neglected children that contribute to the way things are. The film didn't develop muchSaw it last night. Didn't know a thing about it before walking in to the theater, except for the awards. Gripping drama about the broken homes and neglected children that contribute to the way things are. The film didn't develop much beyond the first half , became slow and tedious. Characters didn't delevop much either. Had great potential, but didn't get there. Overated by critics. Why? Expand
13 of 18 users found this helpful135
All this user's reviews
0
ScraperDec 15, 2019
Great cinematography. Devoid of entertainment value. Terrified to step up the pace. It's an extreme challenge to take dialogue away from a main character by making them quiet by nature. Moonlight leans into it. Little dialogue, slow pace,Great cinematography. Devoid of entertainment value. Terrified to step up the pace. It's an extreme challenge to take dialogue away from a main character by making them quiet by nature. Moonlight leans into it. Little dialogue, slow pace, frustratingly dull picture. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
The3AcademySinsAug 4, 2017
Moonlight is a highly ambitious and extremely hyped arthouse flick. I have to say, I had to see the movie twice in theaters to really wrap my head around it. There is some amazing acting and cinematography in Moonlight, and it really doesMoonlight is a highly ambitious and extremely hyped arthouse flick. I have to say, I had to see the movie twice in theaters to really wrap my head around it. There is some amazing acting and cinematography in Moonlight, and it really does stand out as an above average queer film. It's a solid first film, and I can't wait to see what the writer and director do next! My biggest complaint is the performance of Naomi Harris. Her character is so unbelievable that it really took me out of the film. It wouldn't have bothered me so much if her character hadn't played such a big role. I can't honestly give this film higher than a 6, that's how badly it bothered me. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
AlmostCriticSep 5, 2017
Told in three parts, this story follows the life of Chiron from childhood to adulthood as he struggles with both the trauma of having a drug addict mother and his own sexuality. I will always appreciate a film that shows a demographic thatTold in three parts, this story follows the life of Chiron from childhood to adulthood as he struggles with both the trauma of having a drug addict mother and his own sexuality. I will always appreciate a film that shows a demographic that doesn't get much mainstream representation. It is a beautifully made film with some of the best use of colour and cinematography of any film last year. However, I felt that the technique of skipping ahead to different stages in Chiron’s life while interesting meant missing out on his development and results in a lack of connection to the character and dulled the plot. I thought that the beauty of this film both in its message and aesthetic made it deserving of the Best Picture win although I was sure that La La Land was going to take it and I was rooting for Manchester by the Sea or Hell or High Water. It's a good film. Not entirely entertaining or exciting but well made and well acted. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
JeffKnoxFeb 23, 2017
I don't understand the hype behind this movie. I felt like there was going to be a good message behind it but in the end it felt very lacking in substance. If the movie was about a straight white guy it wouldn't be getting much attention andI don't understand the hype behind this movie. I felt like there was going to be a good message behind it but in the end it felt very lacking in substance. If the movie was about a straight white guy it wouldn't be getting much attention and would be seen as mediocre at best.
I think the reason it got the attention is only because the subject matter was about a gay black guy. If we've had a few movies like this already nobody would be looking at this like it was something special. I get that people might like seeing this subject matter but that doesn't excuse the fact that there's hardly any substance to it.

By the end I was left feeling like I was supposed to be impacted somehow but any message that it had fell extremely flat. Again, I think if it wasn't for the subject matter most people would recognize this as a mediocre movie.
Expand
13 of 20 users found this helpful137
All this user's reviews
4
DzimasMar 2, 2017
Great start but none of the three chapters were long enough to get any more than a feel for the main character. What you have is a highly impressionistic film that doesn't even attempt to get to the root causes of Chiron's problems, turningGreat start but none of the three chapters were long enough to get any more than a feel for the main character. What you have is a highly impressionistic film that doesn't even attempt to get to the root causes of Chiron's problems, turning out pretty much as you expect. Why all the 100s and 10s I have no idea, other than the theme beguiled reviewers who could pretty much insert whatever feelings they have on the subject into the movie. Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobFeb 19, 2017
All hype imo. I expected so much more from such a critically acclaimed film. I thought the whole adult section was a disappointment. He becomes his harden criminal and yet he is so easy to forgive his mother, a junkie who treated him likeAll hype imo. I expected so much more from such a critically acclaimed film. I thought the whole adult section was a disappointment. He becomes his harden criminal and yet he is so easy to forgive his mother, a junkie who treated him like garbage, and rekindle the love he had with his friend, whom he had a one off encounter with before going to jail. It just doesn't really feel satisfying to me.

Also, I think it would have been more interesting seeing him in his Teen/Adult years. To see how he got into the world of drugs and how he became the man he is today. That would have been really interesting to see. This film has easily been the most overrated film I've seen since Avatar.
Expand
12 of 20 users found this helpful128
All this user's reviews
1
koconnorSep 3, 2017
One of the strangest movies I've seen. Brokeback mountain meets The Wire. But, I have to admit, it did make me think. Like, was there a plot in this movie? Or, how did this ever win best picture?
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
FortifierJan 28, 2017
I think the reviewers only gave this film the extremely high rating it got because otherwise they would be called "homophobic" by the SJW community...

Lets be honest, though; this film is a 3/5 at its best. While it does tackle a rather
I think the reviewers only gave this film the extremely high rating it got because otherwise they would be called "homophobic" by the SJW community...

Lets be honest, though; this film is a 3/5 at its best. While it does tackle a rather difficult subject and has great performances, its really how overly simple and average the story and cinematography itself is compared to other similar films. There have been similar films such as this which go through a boy's life as they grow up in a rather messed-up part of the world/family; examples include "City of God", "Do The Right Thing" and "Gran Torino", yet this film is nowhere close to the aura and sheer beauty of these films.
Expand
13 of 22 users found this helpful139
All this user's reviews
5
jimbox666Feb 26, 2017
One of the best acted movies of the year, which unfortunately does not make up for how boring it was. I fear that we once again fallen prey to political correctness whereby you are labelled a homophobe and racist if you do not like thisOne of the best acted movies of the year, which unfortunately does not make up for how boring it was. I fear that we once again fallen prey to political correctness whereby you are labelled a homophobe and racist if you do not like this movie. I am neither. I just did not think it was a very good movie. Expand
12 of 21 users found this helpful129
All this user's reviews
6
niknacksJan 24, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm pretty surprised by how positive this movie has been reviewed. Many of the character relationships make little to no sense based on what is occurring in the movie. This is a dark coming of age tale, but loses much of it's believability early on in the movie. To start, the bullies of the movie recognize the main character as gay long before he himself does, almost making it seem as though because they call him gay he then turns gay. It is hard to care overmuch about the main character as he has maybe 25 lines in the entire movie, and anytime he does talk it's 4-5 word sentences followed by long stretches of silence. I guess this was supposed to be an interesting character trait, but when the movie contains nothing but dialog and the main character doesn't talk it seems like a bit of a problem. It's exacerbated by the fact that every other character in the movie constantly points it out. The best friend/lover is equally confusing throughout the movie. His sexuality is seemingly fluid ranging from dude bro misogyny to handjibbers at the beach. At least the friend/lover was charismatic and for me the only redeeming actor in the movie. Every other character could have been played by anyone, the mom especially lacked presence in the film with the exception of the scene in which she forcibly takes money from her son. Not a bad movie, but it left much to be desired. The music and cinematography were strong, but total lack of likeable characters, and odd character choices felt like it detracted from the any real entertainment value that could have been found here. The biggest problem was the main characters arc, troubled gay kid in broken home beats the **** out of bully, disappears, comes back as a drug peddler. In the interim has not touched another person man or women, comes back and I guess gets back with his childhood hand jibber giver for love ever after? This is a story that takes place over a 20+ years of a persons life, but quite literally goes nowhere in all that time. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
7
thedaywalkerFeb 4, 2017
I really didn't expect the great directing and how great it was shot, Mahershala Ali gives a good performance a well, but i really feel that the that a slightly better score could have made some moments more watchable as some scenes wereI really didn't expect the great directing and how great it was shot, Mahershala Ali gives a good performance a well, but i really feel that the that a slightly better score could have made some moments more watchable as some scenes were really awkward to watch, but overall i would say a pretty decent movie Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
4
Nifty2gMar 31, 2017
If I open my history I can find at least 10 gay porn films featuring black couples that has a more compelling story line than this film. I watched for about 15 minutes 2 gay black dudes drink wine in a diner talking about the most boring crapIf I open my history I can find at least 10 gay porn films featuring black couples that has a more compelling story line than this film. I watched for about 15 minutes 2 gay black dudes drink wine in a diner talking about the most boring crap you could imagine that ended up leaving me blue balled. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
5
ubuntomFeb 15, 2017
Everything is so predictable in this movie that it keeps you waiting for something upsetting to happen, but it never does. The more it tries to fight against stereotypes, the more it revels in them. It certainly has its lyrical and touchingEverything is so predictable in this movie that it keeps you waiting for something upsetting to happen, but it never does. The more it tries to fight against stereotypes, the more it revels in them. It certainly has its lyrical and touching moments, but it lacks honesty and character depth, and it's too abrupt in the kid-boy-adult evolution of the protagonist. Reviews outside the US are far from rave. Expand
11 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
6
cxmtlJan 29, 2017
Aren't we all hot moths in search of light and warmth? This was the feeling this movie left me with, passing through the film reel and reaching directly over. It was just a feeling though, and it stayed with me for just a couple of seconds.Aren't we all hot moths in search of light and warmth? This was the feeling this movie left me with, passing through the film reel and reaching directly over. It was just a feeling though, and it stayed with me for just a couple of seconds. Everything else was not so memorable. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
8
3ebfan511Feb 9, 2017
Good, but slightly over-rated by media hype. Starts off very well and then loses steam as it goes along. The first 45 minutes or so were great and the last 45 minutes were just OK and very slow...it was almost boring really at times. I didGood, but slightly over-rated by media hype. Starts off very well and then loses steam as it goes along. The first 45 minutes or so were great and the last 45 minutes were just OK and very slow...it was almost boring really at times. I did like it, as I like artistic film but I certainly wouldn't call it a masterpiece as it has a number of problems, and is just a good, but not "great" film. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
8
Rebecca31Jan 24, 2017
Moonlight depicts the story of a young man growing up in a rough neighbourhood in Miami. Spanning from childhood to adulthood he embarks on the difficult journey of self-discovery and all the struggles that come with that. In many ways thisMoonlight depicts the story of a young man growing up in a rough neighbourhood in Miami. Spanning from childhood to adulthood he embarks on the difficult journey of self-discovery and all the struggles that come with that. In many ways this movie is exceptional, the first two acts that deal with childhood and the teenage years of Chiron are perfectly told. Scenes so emotional and distressing with brilliant acting from the entire cast, particularly Mahershala Ali. Although a little underused he certainly gives an Oscar worthy performance. The dialogue between the actors feels so natural you really start to believe what you’re watching is real. The soundtrack is as unique and original as the movie, suiting it perfectly.
This film has tackled an issue that no other film has really dealt with and for that it deserves your attention. Now if you’re sensing a big negative coming then you’d be right. Unfortunately for me the third act of this movie really let it down, the high standard set in the first two acts dropped significantly and I found my mind wandering on too many occasions. For a film to hold my attention effortlessly and then to have the story and the pace drop was hugely disappointing. A regretfully unsatisfying conclusion to an otherwise terrific movie. I’m still recommending Moonlight but the third act turned a five star movie into a four star movie.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
AkumaJackMay 10, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is bad.
Is well directed and played by the actors but the plot is just bad, badly told and mildly racist. The characters had a game where they just beat the **** out of each other.
WHY? Is just because they are black? And they are all "stupid".
All they talk about is "YO **** I SLAINED DAT **** They love story is just awful.
This gay drug dealer that has been in prison for YEARS because a guy got forced to break his face when he comes out just say "Oh well, haven't been gay in a while. Lets go back to a guy that hit me, just bc he jerked me off 10 years ago." 10 years. He didnt forget, he didnt fall in love with someone else. Someone might say is because they love each other.
No, they don't. Or at least it isn't show in the film in any way. They are close friends but they talk like 3 times in the **** film. And once is just kevin (one of the two) saying "YO **** I SLAINED DAT POSSEEEE".
I don't know. I think this film is a scam.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
Star_ScreamNov 9, 2019
How to win oscar with average movie: Make it about black homosexual guy. One of the most overrated movies of all time
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
tiagomacedsDec 17, 2017
Este filme é tão real. As três fases vívidas por um jovem negro e gay que passa por diversos problemas em sua vida nos faz ter um olhar de uma outra realidade
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxOct 21, 2018
Moonlight is a Boyhood that works. Chiron's story for itself is already more interesting to make a forming novel. A black and homossexual kid/teen/man is a theme with too much to explore in. And film makes it masterfully. There's moments thatMoonlight is a Boyhood that works. Chiron's story for itself is already more interesting to make a forming novel. A black and homossexual kid/teen/man is a theme with too much to explore in. And film makes it masterfully. There's moments that makes you cry, angry and thinkful. For a low budget movie, Moonlight is quite beautiful and competent. Tense scenes are really tenses and raw. Everything in a concise story that finises in less than 2 hours, opposite of Boyhood. A beautiful picture that is a punch in the face at the same time. A enriching experience. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
eva3si0nJun 2, 2017
You looks at ratings, you looks at responses of critics, then you watches the movie and you catches facepalm. What so praise the movie for? Well the stylistics of the movie are allocated, 3 stories aren't badly registered, each hero isn'tYou looks at ratings, you looks at responses of critics, then you watches the movie and you catches facepalm. What so praise the movie for? Well the stylistics of the movie are allocated, 3 stories aren't badly registered, each hero isn't similar to previous. But the 3rd part with Black escapes from a plot, too fragmentary history has turned out. And the most important, I watched the movie for the sake of disclosure of a subject of love of gays. After all such films are shot seldom, but I haven't received it. Simply good cinema, about a difficult life of the ordinary guy gay. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
KaptenVideoMar 21, 2017
One of this award season's hottest movies, eventually winning the best picture Oscar. The black boy is "different" (turning out to be gay) and doesn't know what to do about it. There are three stories, portraying him as a youngster, teen andOne of this award season's hottest movies, eventually winning the best picture Oscar. The black boy is "different" (turning out to be gay) and doesn't know what to do about it. There are three stories, portraying him as a youngster, teen and a grown-up.

The movie is good but never exceptional and thus not really worth all the hype it has gotten so far. Sure, it's quality work but not reaching some dazzling heights that 224 movie awards and 204 nominations are hinting at.

I am disappointed by Mahershala Ali getting a best supporting actor Oscar for this. I mean, I really like the man – especially in Netflix's "Luke Cage" –, but his screen-time is so limited that he's barely in the movie! Is it really worthy of the Oscar?
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
fraterangJan 6, 2019
Moonlight packs an emotional and visually stunning punch to an audience that would normally expect mediocrity.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
chrisvbFeb 27, 2017
I didn't really like it. But then again, I don't like being preached at. I prefer a movie that entertains me as opposed to one trying to send a message (whether or not I agree with the message).
11 of 23 users found this helpful1112
All this user's reviews
6
GreatMartinNov 12, 2016
Once again I think I fell for the hype and found myself disappointed in a movie when I actually saw it. “Moonlight” is not your ordinary movie in that it tackles the subject of a Gay, Black 9 year old kid/teenager/adult as he goes throughOnce again I think I fell for the hype and found myself disappointed in a movie when I actually saw it. “Moonlight” is not your ordinary movie in that it tackles the subject of a Gay, Black 9 year old kid/teenager/adult as he goes through discovering who he is. It is not a ‘Gay’ and/or ‘Black’movie meant only for a minority as it gets into the many feelings all human beings go through.

Chiron (Alex Hibbart as the 9 year old, Ashton Sanders, the teenager and Trevante Rhodes as the adult) goes from being an alienated, bullied boy to a muscled drug dealer who nobody fools with and in a way has followed the path of his mentor and surrogate father, Juan (Mahershala Ali), who taught the kid how to swim and discover himself.

We also meet his friend Kevin (played at the three same stages as Chiron by Jadin Piner, Jharrel Jerome and Andre Holland), his mother (Naomie Harris) and Juan’s girlfriend (Janelle Monae) who offers Chiron a place to stay whenever he needs one.

Chiron, as many gay kids, of any color, becomes a loner, is beaten up by schoolmates and accepts whatever kindness he receives. It was interesting following his path and where it goes. The scene in the diner is a love story unto itself though nothing is said about love except for a record playing on the jukebox.

The film failed me in that certain sections the jargon, vernacular, made it difficult for me to hear what was being said though I understood what was being done just as I didn’t quite understand the relationship between Juan and Chiron and how it became about and took the turn it did. Also a few very interesting characters just disappear from the film. I wasn’t aware the N word was used so much between Blacks as it is here at a certain level.

All 3 actors playing Chiron are outstanding as is the oldest Kevin. The arch of Chiron’s life holds your interest though at times moves too slowly. Ali’s Juan is an imposing figure and the two women, Harris and Monae, especially the former are strong in their portrayals. The direction and screenplay by Barry Jenkins, based on his life, tackles a rarely told story in the movies but it is also about loneliness and trying to answer the question “Who am I?” Some scenes are held too long, others don’t finish the thoughts being expressed. There are two powerful scenes I don’t think I will forget though they may go over the heads of others.

I do recommend “Moonlight” but don’t go in with high expectations as I did and approach it as going to see a good film with a new story.
Expand
10 of 21 users found this helpful1011
All this user's reviews
4
moothemagiccowJan 29, 2017
I love a good drama, but this could have been condensed to about 40 minutes. Yeah, the subject matter is important, the character types are not common enough, but the story itself is a snoozefest.
6 of 13 users found this helpful67
All this user's reviews
8
MantisFeb 5, 2017
This movie shows us a boy growing up with an addicted mom, and how high school can be hell for some kids, and how he deals with this situation. It's heart wrecking at times but it's a beautiful coming of age story worth seeing. TerrificThis movie shows us a boy growing up with an addicted mom, and how high school can be hell for some kids, and how he deals with this situation. It's heart wrecking at times but it's a beautiful coming of age story worth seeing. Terrific movie, great acting and some beautiful filming. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
ActionJacksenMar 6, 2017
How did that movie even get nominated for a "best picture"? It was slow, boring and nothing happened, oh and lots of the camera work will actually make you feel dizzy. Was it real? Yes, but who cares... nothing ever happens.
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
1
goodninja3Mar 4, 2017
Below you'll find people who say how "real" the film was and how empathetic it was to the social context of our times. This IS the problem.

Not only does this movie unrealistically fantasize gay culture, it is also wets the dreams for virtue
Below you'll find people who say how "real" the film was and how empathetic it was to the social context of our times. This IS the problem.

Not only does this movie unrealistically fantasize gay culture, it is also wets the dreams for virtue signalling critics. This movie tries hard to be so-called "realistic" but falls into the same predictable tropes and frameworks of usual love drama. The only Oscar-worthy thing about this movie is its homosexual sprinkles to cover a repetitively overcooked cake. But this is not just any cake...this cake is chocolate brown

And with the political climate of race-baiting and un-grounded claims of discrimination; its no wonder the film industry drones bow down to the masses. This movie is a pass for anyone looking for something remotely interesting. You'll get bored out of your mind with Moonlights cliched characters and plot.
Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
0
sancho947Mar 6, 2017
This is the worst movie I have ever had to sit through. If there was a plot I didn't get it. No action just a good movie to fall asleep to. zzzzz. The only thing that was nice to look at was the drug dealer's girl friend now she wasThis is the worst movie I have ever had to sit through. If there was a plot I didn't get it. No action just a good movie to fall asleep to. zzzzz. The only thing that was nice to look at was the drug dealer's girl friend now she was beautiful. It was never clear that this kid was gay his friend however was. Expand
7 of 17 users found this helpful710
All this user's reviews
6
jgzegerFeb 24, 2017
A well-directed and well-acted film, but if you're not African-American or gay, you might have difficulty identifying with any of the characters in this movie.
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
3
TriggatomicMar 11, 2017
At first it was wrongly given to la la land, and truly, it should have stayed there. The Oscar ceremony started cracking by all the errors committed and it is also cracking by the nomination of such movie. During watching the movie I haveAt first it was wrongly given to la la land, and truly, it should have stayed there. The Oscar ceremony started cracking by all the errors committed and it is also cracking by the nomination of such movie. During watching the movie I have asked myself many times why it won the oscars. It was so boring, dull, and pointlessly slow. It was missing so much to be a good movie. Getting off my seat was the best part. The actors acted very good, but the whole story is not worth it in the oscars. This won the oscars because of liberal and PC reasons. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
2
AndyChaplinMar 8, 2017
Seems to get more an more boring as the film progresses. Is street-corner drug dealing ever like it is portrayed in this film? For a child that is supposed to be neglected he has the cleanest shirts and schoolbag that I have ever seen.Seems to get more an more boring as the film progresses. Is street-corner drug dealing ever like it is portrayed in this film? For a child that is supposed to be neglected he has the cleanest shirts and schoolbag that I have ever seen. Small but significant indications that there seems to be no quality control or active editing involved with this film. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
10
MatSnowieFeb 9, 2017
It's best described by its beautiful poster. This is a close-up portrait of a single character portrayed by three actors, who manage to convey one of the most realistic and uniform character arcs portrayed by different actors over differentIt's best described by its beautiful poster. This is a close-up portrait of a single character portrayed by three actors, who manage to convey one of the most realistic and uniform character arcs portrayed by different actors over different ages. It's closest contemporary is Boyhood, which required its lead actor to play the part over 12 years to achieve the same effect.

The supporting parts are all elegantly written around the central character of Little/Chiron/Black, and fill up most of the dialogue. Chiron himself is a man of few words and the performances are more mesmerizing as a result.

As a complete piece of art, this film is a rare example of no weak links. There are no objective flaws to reduce the 10/10 score. People who do not like this film were not the target audience because the truth is not every film is for everyone. But the particular story of a gay black man in the south, told as an intimate character study, has now been told, and it has been told perfectly.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
1
vmassoud1985Mar 3, 2017
This movie is not even average its not at all. When i heard that this is a "must watch" movie i couldn't wait to see it . However i am surprised that got so much publicity .
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
7
drambuie_Feb 25, 2017
I feel that this movie took so great reviews just because of the homosexeual mixed with the race theme. It was a good standing movie, the performances were strong , i loved the photography and the sound i must say but i just didnt feel it.I feel that this movie took so great reviews just because of the homosexeual mixed with the race theme. It was a good standing movie, the performances were strong , i loved the photography and the sound i must say but i just didnt feel it. Any of it, any of the struggle of the heroes.I just watched the trailer again i liked it more that the movie itself, i excected so much more. The scene at the beach ,camera half in the water ok just marvelous! And also i am sorry but i cant see why Mahershala Ali is nominated for an oscar, Naomie Harris did sooo much better bravo! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
JodleMar 1, 2017
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooring and complete pointless movie. This movie is good only if you cant sleep than you watch this movie and you will sleep after 5-10 minutes.
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
0
tmzmonkoMar 1, 2017
Bad, boring, overrated, senseless... Thumbs DOWN for this one, it has nothing new, not original, a true story ok... but just like a million others. Didn't like it at all.
9 of 23 users found this helpful914
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleNov 12, 2016
A beautifully moving film, Moonlight certainly bears resemblances to Boyhood, one of the best films of 2014. Both show a main character grow up and undergo otherwise mundane experiences, but those experiences are things that leave anA beautifully moving film, Moonlight certainly bears resemblances to Boyhood, one of the best films of 2014. Both show a main character grow up and undergo otherwise mundane experiences, but those experiences are things that leave an indelible mark on him for the rest of his life. Moonlight, however, is different in scope. It is a journey of self-discovery undertaken by a man who is decidedly "other". He is black and living in the inner city with a drug addict mother and a drug dealing man who looks after him a bit. He is - as he will discover - gay. This is tough as a whole, but especially in the hypermasculine environment in which he lives. For Chiron, life is a minefield and one he must navigate or simply be consumed by it, all while figuring out who he is and what he wants.

Barry Jenkins' film gracefully slides through Miami with Chiron and his life, while properly giving weight to each significant moment in his life. Jenkins let's the camera linger, while Chiron - never much of a talker - rarely ever says anything. This allows the moment to really land on the audience, which makes Moonlight a film that is entirely heartbreaking. From a bullied youngster who first experiences being called a **** to a teen who has his first gay experience while finally fighting back against the bullies to an adult who has become everything he once stood against, Moonlight is an enriching and tragic film.

However, Moonlight is equally a look at the black experience in America, particularly in the inner city. Chiron's father is gone. His mother, Paula (Naomie Harris), is a drug addict. The only people who show him any love are Juan (Mahershala Ali) and his girlfriend Teresa (Janelle Monae). However, Juan is a drug dealer and sells to Chiron's mother. Clearly, his life is far from neat. When introducing his sexuality, his relationship with Kevin is all the more complicated by both's need to display masculinity on the outside, which leads to them physically hurting one another often. There is a connection between them - highlighted by the brilliant acting of both's final version, Trevante Rhodes as Chiron and Andre Holland as Kevin - but it is not one that can be explored due to the barriers between them. The look Kevin gives Chiron reveals all you need to know about how they feel about one another. Yet, it is hardly an option for either due to the need to look tough.

In all areas, Jenkins' script is phenomenal. Truly nuanced character development, which allows all characters to show growth and a variety of dimensions and faces they show to the world. However, one of the greatest accomplishments is Juan. Mahershala Ali is being mentioned for an Oscar nomination and he certainly deserves one, but the writing is equally good. A sensitive, yet hard nosed drug dealer, Juan helps out Chiron whenever his mom kicks him out. He defends him and opens his home to him, while acting as a father figure for this lost child. Yet, he is a drug dealer. In reality, Juan is a foreshadowing of what Chiron will become. This is incredibly tragic and certainly something Chiron is aware of by the end. He knows his life is not built to last due to dealing drugs, but he is there because he never knew who he was and could never figure it out, because of his own thoughts on how a black man from the inner city should act. Juan reveals a lot of this, merely through his interactions with a young Chiron, especially his solemn regret when Chiron calls him out for selling drugs to Chiron's mother. The similarities between the two (the doo-rag, the poor relationship with their mother, drug dealing, etc.) are numerous and often quite subtle. However, it reveals their connection and why they were drawn to one another.

Moonlight is also beautifully shot, essentially relying upon the light of the moon to give sequences at night this sort of magical glow. Each scene at night is obviously quite dark, but the faces of the actors are glistened with this sort of hazy glow that really defines the look of this film. And what a look it is. Moonlight is a beautifully shot film with tremendous lighting and this beauty equally matches the beauty of its journey.

A tale of self-discovery and losing yourself to your environment, Moonlight is a moving and tragic film that will stick in your mind for weeks to come. All of the acting is tremendous and to pick a standout performance would be far too difficult. Every actor brought an authentic quality to their role, which is fantastic to see given the tremendously written characters.
Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
8
NedRyerson1Feb 2, 2017
Moonlight is a movie of self-discovering like you never seen before. The story is told by chapters, portraying the protagonist in three moments of his life, as he grows up. The plot is simple, little actions but center on its characters. AsMoonlight is a movie of self-discovering like you never seen before. The story is told by chapters, portraying the protagonist in three moments of his life, as he grows up. The plot is simple, little actions but center on its characters. As Chiron interacts with his mom, a couple of strangers that welcomes him and his school friend, the viewer discover the theme of the film, the search for identity as a whole, understanding of one’s emotions, clearing the brainstorm of thoughts in order to comprehend who you really are. The thing is that all these are endangered by a sexual identity that it’s still developing, so the outcome is very unique and beautiful on its way. The direction is precise, the screenplay cunningly fragmented, accurate score, the three actors that created the protagonist nailed it, but all the credits are for Naomie Harris and Mahershala Ali, both gave sublime performances. And the movie title just perfect: running alone at night in the moonlight, symbolizing the solitude of growing up in the streets. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
jogloFeb 28, 2017
One of the best drama movies. Beautiful, natural, and very humanist. As the movie, this is almost perfect. I don't know, why many people don't like this movie. May be they need to wacth more oscar nomination movies and various genres, variousOne of the best drama movies. Beautiful, natural, and very humanist. As the movie, this is almost perfect. I don't know, why many people don't like this movie. May be they need to wacth more oscar nomination movies and various genres, various year of realeased movies so they can compare it. Good movie is not just incredible story, twisty plot,entertaining, complicated scenes, or perfect action. the important things are originality, how to deliver the meaning of the story, as natural as posible like we just watch the real life. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroFeb 27, 2017
I had a hard time staying awake. It was really hard to follow because of the ghetto slang (which I hope was only used in this movie, and not in real life, because if it is, here you have the one reason ghetto residents will never get a realI had a hard time staying awake. It was really hard to follow because of the ghetto slang (which I hope was only used in this movie, and not in real life, because if it is, here you have the one reason ghetto residents will never get a real job). This is a movie for a very small audience, I have no idea why it won best actor. Expand
11 of 30 users found this helpful1119
All this user's reviews
0
WAAAMar 3, 2017
This is a very boring, slow movie. I don't know why it won an award??? I agree with Samuel L. Jackson the movie is "Oscar Bait". 2 Thumbs DOWN!! BOOO!!
8 of 22 users found this helpful814
All this user's reviews
3
Ivan665Mar 2, 2017
I would give it less if it didnt have characters so real and believable, that feel like Ive know them since forever. But the good points end here. The move has no plot, nothing intriguing or exciting. Its just a series of sentimental,I would give it less if it didnt have characters so real and believable, that feel like Ive know them since forever. But the good points end here. The move has no plot, nothing intriguing or exciting. Its just a series of sentimental, realistic snippets of a losers life. But I personally care not about the miserable, dumb, lazy part of society, so I could not relate. And maybe thats just what some people want, modern "art", stupid things to be excited about, but I say move along, nothing to see here... Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
3
ourtimehascomeApr 5, 2017
Moonlight may think it's unique, but in fact it is incredibly trite. The entire plot is simply about how the main character deals with being a homosexual. There is no plot. It is a two and a half hour film about a boy discovering his sexualMoonlight may think it's unique, but in fact it is incredibly trite. The entire plot is simply about how the main character deals with being a homosexual. There is no plot. It is a two and a half hour film about a boy discovering his sexual identity. His drug dealing patriarchal mentor, drug addicted mother, and childhood bullying are all elements which have been done a million times before. There was so little payoff in a lackluster ending. The camerawork is all over the place, like it was directed by two different people. The only thing I liked about the film was its attention to realism such as the relationships between students. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
0
jjakubMar 3, 2017
Cultural marxism at its best. Last year's Spotlight, now Moonlight. It is outrageous to see these pure examples of leftist propaganda are getting so much acclaim. The sign of today's corrupted world.
10 of 28 users found this helpful1018
All this user's reviews
0
raefonFeb 28, 2017
This movie is simple and absolute load of rubbish. There is not a single redeeming feature to suggest it should even be a TV release little own an Oscar winner. Even from an artistic crap point of view this is more like a pro hart or abstractThis movie is simple and absolute load of rubbish. There is not a single redeeming feature to suggest it should even be a TV release little own an Oscar winner. Even from an artistic crap point of view this is more like a pro hart or abstract mess thrown together with little ability to go anywhere or achieve anything but the masses have to find some substance and worth as to why they wasted money making it and then why they indeed watched it so they somehow come to the conclusion its a master piece and you just don't understand.

Oh I understand alright, your sheep that like this just so you can believe you are cultured somehow.

Child please !!! this movie is a suicide hotline. If your not depressed before it you will definitely want to kill yourself afterwards as it is just such ****
Expand
9 of 26 users found this helpful917
All this user's reviews
10
darkyogaNov 4, 2016
Brilliant film. Incredibly moving, lovingly shot, a masterpiece. I think A.O Scott's review explains it best. Definitely a film that should be seen by any lover of film.
7 of 21 users found this helpful714
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Feb 6, 2017
Stimulating story in three episodes of a lonely boy who looks his reasion to be. Remarkables roles and photography, and warming score. One of best choices of year. Not for all tastes.
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
10
azhar_Feb 28, 2017
One of the best drama movies. Beautiful, natural, and very humanist. As the movie, this is almost perfect. I don't know, why many people don't like this movie. May be they need to wacth more oscar nomination movies and various genres, variousOne of the best drama movies. Beautiful, natural, and very humanist. As the movie, this is almost perfect. I don't know, why many people don't like this movie. May be they need to wacth more oscar nomination movies and various genres, various year of realeased movies so they can compare it. Good movie is not just incredible story, twisty plot,entertaining, complicated scenes, or perfect action. the important things are originality, how to deliver the meaning of the story, as natural as posible like we just watch the real life. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
4
ThiagoGonMar 7, 2017
I understand the importance of this theme and the fact that gay black man are rarely portrayed in films. But this movie has no interesting plot. We only get to see flashes of Chiron's life. The third act is extremely boring and disappointing.I understand the importance of this theme and the fact that gay black man are rarely portrayed in films. But this movie has no interesting plot. We only get to see flashes of Chiron's life. The third act is extremely boring and disappointing. The first two are better and have great performances. Even though, that was not a pleasing movie to watch, as it goes nowhere. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
6
SquaredRenApr 27, 2017
To start and make it clear, this movie has some of the best acting ever on a film. The film itself had some big flaws, at least for my taste. The 1st & 2nd acts felt so organic, it presents situations that people may feel related to, becauseTo start and make it clear, this movie has some of the best acting ever on a film. The film itself had some big flaws, at least for my taste. The 1st & 2nd acts felt so organic, it presents situations that people may feel related to, because it was very well made and close to real life situations. Once the 3rd act starts, there is a little "situation" involving the encounter of two characters. That "situation" felt too unreal, & cheap. It's something that just doesn't happen in real life, and felt forced so that these two characters meet each other. That organic feeling from the first two acts just felt destroyed by that 3rd act and made me feel disconnected & angry by a long time. Therefore, I just felt very underwhelmed by that and it destroyed my experience watching the film. Honestly not worthy of the Oscars best film, but still worth to watch & judge by yourself. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
GottaLoveItMay 30, 2017
Yes, it ain't much happening in this movie but it doesn't have to! This movie isn't about happening a lot but feeling a lot. Deep suffering from the burden of being a gay man in a black community, being lost on the journey to your heart, notYes, it ain't much happening in this movie but it doesn't have to! This movie isn't about happening a lot but feeling a lot. Deep suffering from the burden of being a gay man in a black community, being lost on the journey to your heart, not knowing the answer to the question "who am I?". The film doesn't just show all this but make you feel it in a very special way.
What makes this movie special is how it so touching without much happening and how it tells so much without showing a lot.
The visuals (especially the light) are as great as the actors and the story. For me there couldn't be an more deserving oscar winner.

But this movie isn't for everyone. If you want a movie which surprises you with it's many plot twists, which shocks you or anything with a high tension, this movie isn't for you.
The plot is predictable, the tempo is slow but the film gives you something different sympathy and empathy for this black homosexual man growing up. If you don't care about people this movie isn't for you
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
daylaneJun 29, 2017
The cast worked very well, the actors who interpret the Chiron has a look so deep that broke my heart, my desire was to pick up and take home. Go with him, mr. Harris is impeccable, Mahershala Ali also is wonderful being that father figureThe cast worked very well, the actors who interpret the Chiron has a look so deep that broke my heart, my desire was to pick up and take home. Go with him, mr. Harris is impeccable, Mahershala Ali also is wonderful being that father figure pro Chiron. But the highlight is the small Alex R. Hibbert that does an amazing job, and phase Little is perhaps the most beautiful of the entire movie. Barry Jenkins did a lovely job and sensitive. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Brent_MarchantOct 28, 2016
A powerful, sensitive look at the "conflicted" views of the gay lifestyle within the African-American community, as told through the coming of age story of a young man in Miami. The picture's phenomenal ensemble cast (featuring manyA powerful, sensitive look at the "conflicted" views of the gay lifestyle within the African-American community, as told through the coming of age story of a young man in Miami. The picture's phenomenal ensemble cast (featuring many first-time performers), incisive writing and creative camera work make a potent, impactful combination that breathes life into a well-told, deftly handled story. This is an important film, one well deserving of all the accolades it has received -- and of the awards it's worthy of winning. Expand
8 of 25 users found this helpful817
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Nov 16, 2016
A rather subtle yet raw, honest, and unflinching film. This is without a doubt the most genuine-feeling film I've seen all year. Many times the film isn't too dialogue-heavy, but that isn't a problem as the characters in the film often timesA rather subtle yet raw, honest, and unflinching film. This is without a doubt the most genuine-feeling film I've seen all year. Many times the film isn't too dialogue-heavy, but that isn't a problem as the characters in the film often times say so much without saying anything at all. The emount of emotional communication in the film is huge and really speaks volumes and went a long way for me. The actors brought each of their characters to life so well that they felt so real and I forgot that they were acting the whole time while watching the film. Needless to say that this is easily the best character study of the year as well. Director Barry Jenkins really knew what he was doing with this film. Huge props to him for handling the film and its characters and subject matter with so much maturity and love. Overall, my only minor note is that the film is told a little too straightforward and conventional sometimes, but other than that, this really was a near-perfectly crafted and executed film! Expand
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
10
UlysseBFeb 11, 2017
The best movie of the year. I don't give movies 10/10 ratings often, but Moonlight is one of those films that just connects with you. It's characters are fleshed out to the point that it feels as if one is looking into someone's actual life.The best movie of the year. I don't give movies 10/10 ratings often, but Moonlight is one of those films that just connects with you. It's characters are fleshed out to the point that it feels as if one is looking into someone's actual life. The film's beautiful score, cinematography and brilliant characters come together to form at piece of art. The most human film of the year, as well as the best. Expand
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
10
guciFeb 28, 2017
One of the best drama movies. Beautiful, natural, and very humanist. As the movie, this is almost perfect. I don't know, why many people don't like this movie. May be they need to wacth more oscar nomination movies and various genres, variousOne of the best drama movies. Beautiful, natural, and very humanist. As the movie, this is almost perfect. I don't know, why many people don't like this movie. May be they need to wacth more oscar nomination movies and various genres, various year of realeased movies so they can compare it. Good movie is not just incredible story, twisty plot,entertaining, complicated scenes, or perfect action. the important things are originality, how to deliver the meaning of the story, as natural as posible like we just watch the real life. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
0
YeetusMcGeetusOct 24, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really not worthy of the praise it gets. Boring, poorly acted, and the script meanders and changes on a dime. Also, the way the kill off Mahershala Ali, arguably the best character and actor, is lazy! Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
10
JohnMcQFeb 18, 2017
As a piece of cinema it's breathtakingly accomplished. As a piece of social commentary it's soul bearing. As a piece of writing it's near perfection. All together you have not just a beautiful work of art but an important one, one that isAs a piece of cinema it's breathtakingly accomplished. As a piece of social commentary it's soul bearing. As a piece of writing it's near perfection. All together you have not just a beautiful work of art but an important one, one that is almost essential viewing in life. This is a proud black film and rightfully so. Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
10
flylexMay 17, 2017
It is not surprising how the critical notes and the normal users are different moonllight is a film difficult to understand often with a heavy tone even for a drama in this type, and it is very gratifying to see the evolution of chiron duringIt is not surprising how the critical notes and the normal users are different moonllight is a film difficult to understand often with a heavy tone even for a drama in this type, and it is very gratifying to see the evolution of chiron during the 3 acts Of the film all three actors that interprets it are many good, carry with themselves the weight and the motivations of the character but they are never equal that leaves the special film since the acting until the boy that stars in the first part of the film is phenomenal, The performances in general are perfect the soundtrack composed by classical music is phenomenal and the evolution of the plot is very good, the film shows what it is like to be a man in black society prejudice, homosexuality, and how two people can follow similar paths but a lot Different at the same time, a great deserving of the Oscar who won, note 100 Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
9
MattyiceFeb 14, 2017
Moonlight is a fascinating tale that explores the sexuality of a questioning man Chiron in three different tales. It's beautifully shot, acted, scored and written. My only con has to be its relatively slow pace. Barry Jenkins knows how toMoonlight is a fascinating tale that explores the sexuality of a questioning man Chiron in three different tales. It's beautifully shot, acted, scored and written. My only con has to be its relatively slow pace. Barry Jenkins knows how to steal the emotion right from the viewer and this film is absolutely worthy of its best picture nomination. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
9
foxgroveNov 18, 2016
A beautifully written story delineating the burgeoning sexuality of Chiron from boy to man told via three different time periods. Beautifully acted by its entire cast and directed with confident restraint by Barry Jenkins. Add to this theA beautifully written story delineating the burgeoning sexuality of Chiron from boy to man told via three different time periods. Beautifully acted by its entire cast and directed with confident restraint by Barry Jenkins. Add to this the gorgeous glow the cinematography exudes and you have a major masterpiece in a minor key. It's every bit as impressive as was 'Brokeback Mountain' eleven years ago. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
10
TobyFlendersonDec 6, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm Gay. And Black...Black Gay. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
10
Seymour_MoviesNov 27, 2016
Absolutely phenomenal movie. The directing, editing, and sound were spot on. The performances throughout the movie were excellent, although I suspect the directing and editing carried that. I can't wait to see what movies come next from thisAbsolutely phenomenal movie. The directing, editing, and sound were spot on. The performances throughout the movie were excellent, although I suspect the directing and editing carried that. I can't wait to see what movies come next from this director. Easily in my top 3 this year. Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
0
PEJOMAN1234Oct 31, 2017
Now i see that oscars are joke if movie like this gets Oscar LOL . This is boring that hurt .
This movie qualitaty is like some episode from medicore Tvg series.
5 of 20 users found this helpful515
All this user's reviews
9
AquaMorphDec 21, 2016
This movie is easily one of the best films of the year. Moonlight is subtle and understated in a way that makes the film engaging. The cinematography is driven with purpose and has some techniques that fit the mood but would be gimmicks in aThis movie is easily one of the best films of the year. Moonlight is subtle and understated in a way that makes the film engaging. The cinematography is driven with purpose and has some techniques that fit the mood but would be gimmicks in a lesser film. The film has faith in the intelligence in the audience with is a breath of fresh air in 2016 where blockbusters assume the audience is brain dead. Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
10
badhairdayFeb 26, 2017
This is the most beautiful film I have ever watched. Cinematography, acting, directing, script, subject matter. A24 has solidified themselves as THE publishing house at the top of Hollywood. Absolutely magnificent.
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
4
xoaMar 1, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ====================================================
Please don't lynch me SJW and BLM protestors
====================================================
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
6
LeZeeFeb 26, 2017
Blue is the warmest colour.

This is an exceptional film, but only from one perspective and that is, LGBT. I totally respect that, because I'm a big supporter. But apart from that, particularly from the filmmaking aspect I did not like it. I
Blue is the warmest colour.

This is an exceptional film, but only from one perspective and that is, LGBT. I totally respect that, because I'm a big supporter. But apart from that, particularly from the filmmaking aspect I did not like it. I felt like this film took place somewhere in Africa, but the accent was American. Because I could not find a single white or any other race people, even in the background.

The happy parts are, it is surprisingly a very interesting theme. I loved the storyline. The three phases of a man's life. How things around us can influence to build a personality. Sometimes in a good sense, but according to this film, there are some dramatic turns. Though the end was very simple, but I liked the first episode. It had potential to be a message film, but the later parts turned differently. Most importantly realistic narrative.

More like it is about the life cycle. Feels like a short and suburban version of 'Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter and Spring'. All the actors were so good. The screenplay was adapted from a book. Looks like it's a breakthrough for the director. I hope he keeps up the momentum and gives us the best products in the future. This film is not for everyone, mainly because of the theme. Initial parts were okay, but the latter developments were unexpected. It is one of the good films of the year, not the best.

7/10
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
ArkantosHJJul 30, 2017
Moonlight é o melhor filme de 2016, a musica do filme é simplesmente perfeita, assim como a fotografia que está sempre brincando com tons diferentes de azul.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
CherryVictorinoMar 5, 2017
Chiron é uma criança negra, classe baixa e que mora com uma mãe viciada em drogas. Sofre bullying na escola e, apesar de novo, é uma criança completamente independente. Com várias dúvidas a respeito de sua sexualidade, um dia ele sai de casaChiron é uma criança negra, classe baixa e que mora com uma mãe viciada em drogas. Sofre bullying na escola e, apesar de novo, é uma criança completamente independente. Com várias dúvidas a respeito de sua sexualidade, um dia ele sai de casa e, ao fugir das crianças que o maltratavam, ele conhece Juan (Mahershala Ali). Juan o ensina a ser uma boa pessoa, o encontrando escondido diversas vezes e lhe dando diversos conselhos. O menino, que mal consegue falar mais de 10 palavras, cresce dividido em uma família que não é a sua de verdade e com sua mãe, que por causa das drogas não lhe dá a devida atenção e diversas vezes mostra não se importar muito com o filho se preocupando apenas em conseguir dinheiro para comprar mais drogas.
Ele tem uma amizade muito forte com Kevin, um garoto do qual ele começa a perceber um sentimento diferente e começa a se questionar. 
Resumidamente, é sobre isso do que se trata o filme. Ouvi e li muitas críticas negativas pois pessoas conservadoras não gostaram do que viram, pois se sentiram incomodadas. 
Agora eu pergunto, incomodadas com o que? Por se tratar de um filme que mostra o amor de verdade entre dois homens negros?
Uma historia emocionante que nos mostra a construção completa do personagem Chiron (criança, adolescente e adulto) nos mostrando diversas vezes o preconceito das pessoas em relação aos homossexuais.
O filme também nos mostra também a desconstrução da mãe, Paula (Naomie Harris) que com o tempo começa a se sentir culpada por tudo o que fez pelo filho, alegando que Teresa (Janelle Morae - esposa de Juan) lhe educou melhor justificando que Chiron passava mais tempo com a outra família do que em casa e que, muitas vezes, preferia conversar com Teresa do que com sua própria mãe.
A relação de Kevin e Chiron foi bem construída do começo do filme até o final, te fazendo criar não só apego pelos personagens mas também se emocionando junto com Chiron. Assistir a este filme e não se sentir, nem que seja um pouco, comovido com todo o sofrimento que Chiron passou, algo está bem errado.
Não vamos entrar aqui com questões religiosas e/ou sobre pessoas conservadoras. O preconceito vai acabar quando as pessoas olharem isso e acharem 'normal'. Observarem que o filme inteiro foi feito com atores excelentes, com um roteiro que te prende do começo ao fim e uma direção de arte impecável. 
Moonlight ganhou o oscar de melhor ator coadjuvante (Mahershala Ali) que, em minha opinião, poderia sim ter aparecido mais algumas vezes durante o filme. Também ganhou melhor roteiro adaptado e melhor filme. 
Foi merecido ter ganho o oscar de melhor filme. Não seria justo um filme como esse não ter ganho. É uma crítica social feita por negros. Uma história que acontece todos os dias com várias pessoas. É um aviso de que, infelizmente vivemos em um mundo preconceituoso e racista. 
Pessoas conservadoras e religiosas deveriam sim ver esse filme.
Deveriam sim observar como a maldade do ser humano pode destruir a vida de uma pessoa.
Não sou crítica. Faço isso apenas por diversão. Mas Moonlight foi um dos melhores filmes de 2016 e não tem como negar isso.
Estou aplaudindo de pé Barry Jenkins.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
moviewithmegMar 7, 2017
When people ask me, “What was your favorite movie of the year?” I don’t say Moonlight. When people ask me “What was the best film of the year?” I say Moonlight. This is a dark, gritty story that felt like it wasn’t being told because anyoneWhen people ask me, “What was your favorite movie of the year?” I don’t say Moonlight. When people ask me “What was the best film of the year?” I say Moonlight. This is a dark, gritty story that felt like it wasn’t being told because anyone decided to tell it, but more like fate had been leading Barry Jenkins and company towards this their whole lives. The obvious comparison would be Boyhood, and it feels that grand in scope, but more timely. If you had told me that they filmed all of the iterations of the main character, Chiron, over a twenty year span with the same actor, I would have believed you. However, if there is one thing I will remember from Moonlight down the line (because it is a little heavy for a regular spot in the rotation), it will be Mahershala Ali. I loved Dev Patel’s performance in Lion, and in many ways it was more athletic, but I would have turned off the Academy Awards after the first card had Ali not won. The scene at the dinner table could have been his only scene in the movie, and he would have earned that Oscar. That is all. 9.2/10 Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
VsantosJun 17, 2017
This is the most beautifull and trully story i every heard.. This is my favorite movie.. Thanks God that the critics give this movie what here deserve.. This is a original story... la la land it is copy to the others movies.. I love la laThis is the most beautifull and trully story i every heard.. This is my favorite movie.. Thanks God that the critics give this movie what here deserve.. This is a original story... la la land it is copy to the others movies.. I love la la land but i hate the stories. I love moonlight for the history and the aaway that the director works. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
arg23Nov 19, 2017
omg_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
ScarlettMiNov 25, 2016
Going into this movie, I'd expected a good character-based drama and it definitely was that. I hadn't been anticipating how beautifully directed and shot it would be. Barry Jenkins' direction and James Laxton's cinematography is somethingGoing into this movie, I'd expected a good character-based drama and it definitely was that. I hadn't been anticipating how beautifully directed and shot it would be. Barry Jenkins' direction and James Laxton's cinematography is something really special here. There's such poetry and artistry in this movie in its performances, its script, and the visuals. It was a beautiful movie and one of the best I've seen all year. Expand
4 of 17 users found this helpful413
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryNov 15, 2016
The lead character is called by 3 names, each for different time in his life. Three actors play him as a boy, a teen and a man and they're all exceptional, finding the character's soul with few words and expressive eyes. Our heart breaks asThe lead character is called by 3 names, each for different time in his life. Three actors play him as a boy, a teen and a man and they're all exceptional, finding the character's soul with few words and expressive eyes. Our heart breaks as he struggles with his addicted mother, bullying classmates and his own sexuality. First time writer/director Barry Jenkins let's every scene play out with compelling quiet: Simple and underplayed, but with an underlying intensity that's achingly bittersweet. This is a somber, poetic film experience with tender, yet powerful performances . An unexpected drama from an insightful and gifted director. Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
9
chwNov 23, 2016
Moonlight is the most emotional film I've seen all year. Just about everyone could say the same (as long as they aren't trying to bash the film over overratedness). Almost everything is perfect in this film. This was so close to being a 10Moonlight is the most emotional film I've seen all year. Just about everyone could say the same (as long as they aren't trying to bash the film over overratedness). Almost everything is perfect in this film. This was so close to being a 10 from me, but a small amount of shots were a bit out of focus, so if I could give decimal ratings I'd give it around a 9.6. Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
9
cine1Dec 27, 2016
A film focusing on one life from boyhood to adulthood. What is mesmerizing is seeing three different actors playing the same character at three different ages and fully believing that it is the same person though the character changes soA film focusing on one life from boyhood to adulthood. What is mesmerizing is seeing three different actors playing the same character at three different ages and fully believing that it is the same person though the character changes so greatly. We see the root of certain characteristics in the boy that eventually blossoms in the adult version of the man. It's a testament to Barry Jenkins' attention to detail and his ability to work with actors and elicit honest and moving portrayals. A quietly moving and occasionally stark film that packs powerhouse moments and an aching beauty that courses through every frame. I highly recommend this one and for fans of Wong Kar Wai, there are a few stylistic and visual homages to the great Hong Kong director. Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
9
WaelJan 22, 2017
One of the best movies of 2016. The slow-paced nature of the sequences is a quality that adds up to beautiful acting from literally all of the cast to make the film really worthwhile and very enjoyable. The story is also a highlight, and theOne of the best movies of 2016. The slow-paced nature of the sequences is a quality that adds up to beautiful acting from literally all of the cast to make the film really worthwhile and very enjoyable. The story is also a highlight, and the moral essence about finding yourself and standing up for yourself and being proud of who you are really builds up. This one is a chef d'oeuvre! Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
LamontRaymondNov 16, 2016
Just a beautiful film. There's not a ton of action to it, but it's an elegantly told story, and the acting is pitch perfect. Kudos to the director and to all three actors playing Little/Black.
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
10
JorgeLestreJan 17, 2017
One of the most sincere and honest films of the year. It has raw emotion, incredible rising talents and a story so powerful it draws us directly into the core of Chiron's life as if it was our own.
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
9
DirigiblePulpDec 14, 2016
A singular and personal vision. An expression of a feeling, a mood, a time and place that together form empathy, understanding, and art. It's a film of moments, moments weighted with the unseen and the deeply felt with the help of threeA singular and personal vision. An expression of a feeling, a mood, a time and place that together form empathy, understanding, and art. It's a film of moments, moments weighted with the unseen and the deeply felt with the help of three different superb actors at different times, having to convey all that's changed and unchanged without any exposition.

The soundtrack is gorgeous, capturing the sublime and the superficial, the life and the atmosphere of the piece.

I want to nitpick the ending but it's not yet time for that. Maybe I just wanted more, but that doesn't necessarily mean the film is at fault. I would simply ask, "What's the message here, if any? It gets better...eventually and kinda randomly?"
Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
9
dti79Dec 5, 2016
Such a beautifully made movie. The acting, the story, the evolution of the characters all make for an arresting experience. Me and my girlfriend were thinking and talking about the movie for days.
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews