Netflix | Release Date: November 6, 2019
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 433 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
369
Mixed:
25
Negative:
39
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
LvcasCardosoDec 20, 2019
Filme Oscar Bait preso em uma narrativa que já vimos no cinema. Colocar humor em momentos que não deveria está e levando muito a serio situações triviais. Um filme bem canastrão para pessoas que batem palma para qualquer coisa com umaFilme Oscar Bait preso em uma narrativa que já vimos no cinema. Colocar humor em momentos que não deveria está e levando muito a serio situações triviais. Um filme bem canastrão para pessoas que batem palma para qualquer coisa com uma roupagem indie e cool Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
JPenguinEsqJan 14, 2020
I don't think I have ever gotten through one of Baumbach's depressing movies. The Squid and the Whale, Greenberg, turned them both off 30 minutes in. This looks like more of the same. It's HEAVY and SAD, therefore it must be DEEP. I know II don't think I have ever gotten through one of Baumbach's depressing movies. The Squid and the Whale, Greenberg, turned them both off 30 minutes in. This looks like more of the same. It's HEAVY and SAD, therefore it must be DEEP. I know I will hate it so I will not watch it. Because Baumbach's movies suck. But hey. Knock yourself out. :) Waiting for Wes Anderson's and the Coen Brothers' next movies to come out. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
MurrayT57Dec 12, 2019
If this movie is nominated for anything, it should be for the most boring movie of the year.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
nocofosterDec 20, 2019
Remake Millenials de Karmer Vs Kramer.
Extremamente chato e sem vida. Laura Dern faz mais do mesmo , ScarJo aprendeu a usar colírio para simular choro e o roteiro beneficia covardemente o Adam Driver.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
NightKingArmyDec 9, 2019
Except from Adam & Scar Jo (10 min Oscar-Worthy Performance), this movie is absolutely pointless & mediocre.Waste of time.One of the most Overrated & Overhyped movie of 2019.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
3
ScraperDec 7, 2019
An intimate and well-acted film about a journey from marriage to divorce that isn't really more than a high-end documentary. Marriage Story aspires to show the viewer the real emotions and situations of what can actually happens in divorce soAn intimate and well-acted film about a journey from marriage to divorce that isn't really more than a high-end documentary. Marriage Story aspires to show the viewer the real emotions and situations of what can actually happens in divorce so you're not going to get a plot twist. The movie essentially sides with the wife as they add the unforgivable bombshell that he has cheated on her. It also never lets him respond to the allegations that he is a smothering, self-involved idiot. She is portrayed as completely justified in blowing up the marriage and dude has to suck on the pain.

It's mostly depressing. Any joy or comedy is quickly snuffed out with a new sorrowful revelation. Marriage Story revolves around the emotions and I cannot help but forever process the reasons and details which seemed one-sided and flaky.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
gracjanskiJan 18, 2020
so boring movie, I could bear it for 30 minutes. So many political correct stuff so far = feminism, a lot of time for the perspective for the woman. The man is the bad guy and so on, the usual stuff. In addition there is so much talking aboutso boring movie, I could bear it for 30 minutes. So many political correct stuff so far = feminism, a lot of time for the perspective for the woman. The man is the bad guy and so on, the usual stuff. In addition there is so much talking about nothing, female talking. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Mauro_LanariFeb 2, 2020
(Mauro Lanari)
Since statistics show that "arranged marriages" last longer than "love marriages", this nineteenth-century and Victorian invention of ours would deserve at least a minimum of deepening. The suggested hypothesis is that
(Mauro Lanari)
Since statistics show that "arranged marriages" last longer than "love marriages", this nineteenth-century and Victorian invention of ours would deserve at least a minimum of deepening. The suggested hypothesis is that interpersonal affective relationships can't not fail because, before that, there would be an unresolved infrapersonal conflict, the "Spaltung" a.k.a. inner splitting. Therefore a mumblecore that merely describes the phenomenology of such failure as already too many previous film is just useful to mitigate the frustration of those who identify with the couple of protagonists.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ThejaywhipDec 8, 2019
The term overrated definitely comes to mind. Besides Adam Driver's performance this is a mediocre movie at best. They are getting a divorce, we get it. It's frustrating and painful to watch like nails on a chalkboard. Yet doesn't have much toThe term overrated definitely comes to mind. Besides Adam Driver's performance this is a mediocre movie at best. They are getting a divorce, we get it. It's frustrating and painful to watch like nails on a chalkboard. Yet doesn't have much to say other than our laws and process for divorce are terrible. It's quite disgusting how the process typically plays out in these cases. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
0
StephenCromeDec 9, 2019
Last night I watched the first twenty minutes of Marriage Story. I love everyone involved in the movie so expectations were very high. But immediately, (IMMEDIATELY) the intrusive, BUSY musical score started to drive a nail into my head. HereLast night I watched the first twenty minutes of Marriage Story. I love everyone involved in the movie so expectations were very high. But immediately, (IMMEDIATELY) the intrusive, BUSY musical score started to drive a nail into my head. Here were two monologues; letters written by the lead characters about each other. They were smart (if a little precious) and heartfelt and full of nice details. However, the entire time Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson were speaking, this wall to wall orchestra kept sawing away, frolicking and gamboling like a Rossini overture underlining the moments with 'whimsy' and the promise of 'heartache.' Like a bright yellow highlight pen, the music left no room for independent thought: I was being told exactly how to feel about every second. But I got through the opening bits; although I didn't quite buy any of the director/actor theatre scenes- Why is that no one ever seems to be able to capture the truth of what it's like to do small theatre? Those ridiculous rehearsal scenes were painful in their ostentatious inauthenticity...and don't get me started on the actual performance of the play. It was almost exactly like that old SNL sketch "Bad Conceptual Theatre" - If only Dan Aykroyd had stepped out as Leonard Pinth Garnell to give a review - Even more hilarious was the discovery in a later scene that this awful slice of "high art" was slated for Broadway. In what universe? But I stuck with it until the scene where Scarlett Johansson reminds her husband that she finds it difficult to cry onstage only to walk into her bedroom and burst into tears. This is a moment that should've wrecked me. It's beautifully set up, and would have been totally unexpected and rending. But at she walks through the hallway towards her bedroom, the score whips up into a Soap Opera ready string-filled cry of anguish so generic it could have been used for that old Carol Burnett sketch As The Stomach Turns. The camera pulls in to show Scarlett's tear-filled face - but any empathy is immediately sucker-punched to the ground by the hideously OVER THE TOP music.

Cut to: this morning as I scanned through the Golden Globe Nominations. Not only is that exercise in bathos and banality actually nominated for Best Original Score... It was written by none other than Randy Newman. Bummer.

If I make it through the movie it will be with the sound off and the subtitles on. I like to decide how I feel about things. I don't need to be smothered in kisses to know I am loved. And I don't need to be swaddled in a treacly, syrupy, honey-laden, jokey, telegraphing soundscape in order to understand that sadness or joy are on display. I'm pretty sure I'm smarter than that. My CATS are definitely smarter than that. It's no coincidence that Bennett coughed up three yards of hairball during the first thirty seconds of the movie.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
2
carldamnitDec 6, 2019
There's still an hour and thirty minutes left but I'm here because I feel sad in my not liking this so far. So thumbs down away! I was excited to see this because of the trailer, but I'm pretty sure everything in the trailer has alreadyThere's still an hour and thirty minutes left but I'm here because I feel sad in my not liking this so far. So thumbs down away! I was excited to see this because of the trailer, but I'm pretty sure everything in the trailer has already happened and now it's like this, people saying how they feel like it's interesting when it's not. I can't pay attention to anything they're saying, I just keep thinking: straight people problems. I was worried this might happen, seeing how I hate straight people. But I definitely hate these straight people. Spoiler alert! Her mom's exhusband is not only gay, she caught him blowing a guy, which is an example of how the jokes work here too, not just some kind of... it's not homophobia. It's just like.... you know, those straight people I hate who make fun of gay people because they're friends with gay people. It's the gaffer character who says he feels comfortable saying what he does because he was raised by two women, only it's like that guy wrote a movie about marriage called Marriage Story and now I'm not watching it because it's so boooooooring these poor rich straight people have so many problems. I'd rather be watching Love Island at least they're self-aware about how **** what they're saying is **** life Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
1
Desiree25Nov 7, 2019
No me gusto la pelicula, me dormi a la mitad de ella y desperte casi para el final que ugh...
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
1
WAengusDec 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Marriage Story scored an extraordinary 94 on Metacritic and 96 on Rotten Tomatoes. One critic declared it is 'easily the most compelling divorce story since Kramer V Kramer.' I suppose it depends on what you consider compelling. There are plenty of other films about divorce but the one that springs to my mind is Todd Haynes' 2015 film, Carol, impeccably cast, acted and shot. Carol received a 10 minute standing ovation at Cannes that year and scored 95 on Metacritic, just one point more than MS (though Carol is a far superior film in every sense). There are a good deal of curtain-chewing and adult tantrums in MS but these don't disguise the fact that there is very little 'story'. MS is well acted but the characters don't really have much to work with. Their marriage has real problems, certainly, but good grief, what marriage doesn't? Basically, they need to talk more; she needs to be more assertive and he needs to listen and make compromises. Instead, they wind up paying absurd amounts of money for something that could easily have been worked out with more mediation. No doubt this happens all the time, but do we really need to witness the histrionics? Put simply, Marriage Story is mush in the same way that the weakest Woody Allen movies are mush. If you engage with that kind of jump-improv, indulgent, pseudo-self-analysis; if you like watching dewey-eyed, beautiful couples who have an almost perfect relationship talk themselves apart (leaving their oddly untraumatised child apparently saner and happier than either of them) then break out the popcorn and paper hankies. You're in for a treat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
bigmoDec 10, 2019
I love this movie because it was fantastic and interesting and very scary when i watched it and it was kind of a chickflick because it was so girly
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Dre286286Feb 14, 2020
Should be called Divorce Story. It's boring unless you like turds. Too long and funny of nothing but petty nonsense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DarkWizardryFeb 15, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great acting but there were major plot holes and it really stretches so much that even the best acting can’t save the storyline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews