Netflix | Release Date: November 6, 2019
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 401 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
339
Mixed:
24
Negative:
38
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
PdfortuneDec 27, 2019
It’s a poor mans version of Kramer vs Kramer. It doesn’t have the tension of Kramer. It is too amicable for me. Adam Driver can’t get away with just being a pretty face like Johansson. he has a constant sadness which makes the movieIt’s a poor mans version of Kramer vs Kramer. It doesn’t have the tension of Kramer. It is too amicable for me. Adam Driver can’t get away with just being a pretty face like Johansson. he has a constant sadness which makes the movie worthwhile. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
mrc_brnDec 9, 2019
Didn't like the pace with numerous scenes protracted without adding much, if anything, to the story. Acting was really good, but I didn't care for the characters much. Felt that the husband's character was somewhat disjointed. Egocentric andDidn't like the pace with numerous scenes protracted without adding much, if anything, to the story. Acting was really good, but I didn't care for the characters much. Felt that the husband's character was somewhat disjointed. Egocentric and detached on one side, in denial and fighting for custody for some reason on the other. Overly long, sad and actually boring. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
LamontRaymondNov 9, 2019
The acting is solid all around (though Scarlet J may have been a bit out of the rest of their league), but I felt like I've seen this movie before. It feels like a Los-Angeles-i-fied Kramer vs. Kramer, but without the true stakes. There are aThe acting is solid all around (though Scarlet J may have been a bit out of the rest of their league), but I felt like I've seen this movie before. It feels like a Los-Angeles-i-fied Kramer vs. Kramer, but without the true stakes. There are a couple of excellent scenes in this film, but the rest of it is only so-so. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
5
svegressNov 24, 2019
Look, the professional critics are right: beautiful script, well acted and directed. However, I'm afraid I have seen enough Woody Allen movies about the problems of LA/NY relationships to last a lifetime. Didums, address some real issuesLook, the professional critics are right: beautiful script, well acted and directed. However, I'm afraid I have seen enough Woody Allen movies about the problems of LA/NY relationships to last a lifetime. Didums, address some real issues instead of navel gazing...again Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
fra92Nov 6, 2019
Heartfelt, incredible movie. Noah Baumbach has always created wonderful movies, but this is his peak
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
tropicAcesNov 6, 2019
Some people may like the ending, for me it wasn't fully satisfying, but that is about the only complaint I have about this perfectly acted, randomly hilarious and fantastically scored film. One of 2019's best.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
YeetusMcGeetusNov 16, 2019
Simply stunning. Maybe the best movie of the year. If you like dramas, you will be missing out if you do not see Marriage Story!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
LvcasCardosoDec 20, 2019
Filme Oscar Bait preso em uma narrativa que já vimos no cinema. Colocar humor em momentos que não deveria está e levando muito a serio situações triviais. Um filme bem canastrão para pessoas que batem palma para qualquer coisa com umaFilme Oscar Bait preso em uma narrativa que já vimos no cinema. Colocar humor em momentos que não deveria está e levando muito a serio situações triviais. Um filme bem canastrão para pessoas que batem palma para qualquer coisa com uma roupagem indie e cool Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
JPenguinEsqJan 14, 2020
I don't think I have ever gotten through one of Baumbach's depressing movies. The Squid and the Whale, Greenberg, turned them both off 30 minutes in. This looks like more of the same. It's HEAVY and SAD, therefore it must be DEEP. I know II don't think I have ever gotten through one of Baumbach's depressing movies. The Squid and the Whale, Greenberg, turned them both off 30 minutes in. This looks like more of the same. It's HEAVY and SAD, therefore it must be DEEP. I know I will hate it so I will not watch it. Because Baumbach's movies suck. But hey. Knock yourself out. :) Waiting for Wes Anderson's and the Coen Brothers' next movies to come out. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
MurrayT57Dec 12, 2019
If this movie is nominated for anything, it should be for the most boring movie of the year.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
nocofosterDec 20, 2019
Remake Millenials de Karmer Vs Kramer.
Extremamente chato e sem vida. Laura Dern faz mais do mesmo , ScarJo aprendeu a usar colírio para simular choro e o roteiro beneficia covardemente o Adam Driver.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
PauloRicardo12Nov 8, 2019
Excellent movie, with the best performances of the year, and with a direction that brings a strongly exciting movie. Best movie this year.
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
0
NightKingArmyDec 9, 2019
Except from Adam & Scar Jo (10 min Oscar-Worthy Performance), this movie is absolutely pointless & mediocre.Waste of time.One of the most Overrated & Overhyped movie of 2019.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
BHBarryNov 9, 2019
“Marriage Story” was written and directed by Noah Baumbach (“The Squid and the

Whale”) and is, like his prior work, semi autobiographical, as he tells the story of a failed marriage and the lingering affection and feelings that remain
“Marriage Story” was written and directed by Noah Baumbach (“The Squid and the

Whale”) and is, like his prior work, semi autobiographical, as he tells the story of a failed marriage and the lingering affection and feelings that remain throughout the issues and problems facing a divorcing couple with a child they both love.

Scarlett Johannson was never better as she interacts with her ex-husband- to- be exceptionally well played by Adam Driver. Remembering that Mr.Baumbach’s background as a child of two divorced parents and the ex-husband of Jennifer Jason Leigh, it is easy to understand where his allegiance lies amidst the two parents vying for the affection of their son. As is so often the case where the writer and director are one in the same, this film could easily have used the input of a third party to edit and minimize lengthy scenes and dialogue as well as a choice in casting (since some of the characters appear to be more like stereotypes than real life individuals). One might argue that these lengthy oratorical performances by the characters gives them an opportunity to exhibit their acting wares and, true as that may be, it adds to the length of the film which could be shorter than its 2 and ¼ hours. All that being said, I give the film a 9.0 because it is a heartfelt and brilliant dissection of the divorce process, those who exploit it and those who are victims of it as written and directed by one of its vital participants.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
ScraperDec 7, 2019
An intimate and well-acted film about a journey from marriage to divorce that isn't really more than a high-end documentary. Marriage Story aspires to show the viewer the real emotions and situations of what can actually happens in divorce soAn intimate and well-acted film about a journey from marriage to divorce that isn't really more than a high-end documentary. Marriage Story aspires to show the viewer the real emotions and situations of what can actually happens in divorce so you're not going to get a plot twist. The movie essentially sides with the wife as they add the unforgivable bombshell that he has cheated on her. It also never lets him respond to the allegations that he is a smothering, self-involved idiot. She is portrayed as completely justified in blowing up the marriage and dude has to suck on the pain.

It's mostly depressing. Any joy or comedy is quickly snuffed out with a new sorrowful revelation. Marriage Story revolves around the emotions and I cannot help but forever process the reasons and details which seemed one-sided and flaky.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
frankrog29Nov 6, 2019
Marriage Story is an instant classic and the best film I’ve seen in years. Everything about this film blew me away. Adam Driver and Scarlet Johansson have turned in career-best performances. Laura Dern is a revelation, and Ray Liotta is quiteMarriage Story is an instant classic and the best film I’ve seen in years. Everything about this film blew me away. Adam Driver and Scarlet Johansson have turned in career-best performances. Laura Dern is a revelation, and Ray Liotta is quite good too. And then there’s writer-director Noah Baumbach, who truly has outdone himself (I have not seen all of his films, but this is by far the best that I have seen). The direction is outstanding. Perhaps the most exceptional quality of the film is the writing, which is truly ingenious. Not only is the screenplay really moving, but it’s also hilarious; I laughed out loud frequently. I also love how unpredictable and quirky the screenplay is, which serves to make the action and dialogue more realistic, believable, and endearing. The writing and direction remind me a lot of Woody Allen, yet Mr. Baumbach manages to forge his own unique style. This film also reminds me a lot of Kramer vs. Kramer, but I think Marriage Story is superior. This film is sure to be honored at most, if not all, of the awards ceremonies. I for one think that it should win Best Picture, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, and at least three of the acting categories (actor, actress, and supporting actress). Obviously, I have not seen all 2019 awards show contenders yet, but I will be very surprised if a film comes out during the remainder of the year that is better. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99Nov 14, 2019
LIFF33 2019 #1

“I never really came alive for myself; I was only feeding his aliveness.” I’ve said some harsh things about Netflix movies in the past, but recently I’m starting to warm up to them. ‘Marriage Story’ was absolutely excellent.
LIFF33 2019 #1

“I never really came alive for myself; I was only feeding his aliveness.”

I’ve said some harsh things about Netflix movies in the past, but recently I’m starting to warm up to them.

‘Marriage Story’ was absolutely excellent. A devastating portrayal of divorce that can bring out the ugly in people, especially with child custody. But it’s not all doom and gloom. It’s incredibly heartfelt with plenty of humorous moments. I guess you have to find the comedy during the difficulties in life. Lets just say my cheeks wasn’t dry afterwards.

And yes, I wept.

Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson both gave masterclass performances. And I do mean some power house acting. Driver plays Charlie, a competitive and undaunted theatre director that he is very clear about what he wants. Johansson plays Nicole, a mother who’s a delightful presence and loves to play, but is also a dedicated actor. This is the best I’ve seen from Johnasson. Her character delivers a monougle where she’s explains the issues in her life that’s all shot in one take, which brilliantly displays her acting chops where she naturally shifts from emotion to emotion - it was impeccable.

The supporting cast were all fantastic. Lauren Dern, Ray Liotta, Merritt Wever, Julie Hagerty, and Alan Alda were all brilliant and really bounce off the energy from Driver and Johansson. Even the child actor held his own between these juggernauts of actors.

Not only are the performances the strongest element of the movie, but so is the writing. Every character is so uniquely fleshed out that the conflict feels so incredibly raw. It’s one of the reasons why I was so glued to the movie from start to finish. One of the best screenplays of the year.

This is the first Noah Baumbach movie I’ve seen from him and I am aware of his other work, just haven’t got around to watching them. However, I feel like this was the best introduction to him as a director, because he crafted such a sympathetic look on marriage dissolving away. We don’t see the full relationship, but we do get to hear Nicole and Charlie individually describe what their love about each other, while there’s a montage that flash’s through their routine life together with their son. Nothing visually striking in the presentation, but not once did it feel stale.

The score from Randy Newman was terrific and fitted wonderfully with the movie. I loved the aspect ratio as it added a lot to the overall mood of the movie. When the two go head to head in the custody battle - that doesn't mean they’re enemies. They still talk to each other as if they are still a thing. It’s also hard to pick aside, because you understand where each of them are coming from, and even if you do choose, you still feel bad for either one.

Overall rating: Any other relationship movie aint sh*t compared to this.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsNov 16, 2019
Marriage Story is one of Noah Baumbach's best films, and perhaps one of the best movies of 2019. Everything about this movie is incredibly compelling. I laughed. I cried. I was on the edge of my seat as I watched the best and worst of a humanMarriage Story is one of Noah Baumbach's best films, and perhaps one of the best movies of 2019. Everything about this movie is incredibly compelling. I laughed. I cried. I was on the edge of my seat as I watched the best and worst of a human relationship unfold over the death of a marriage.

The element of Marriage Story that shines above the rest of the movie is the acting performances. Scarlett Johansson and Adam Driver give the best performances of their careers, and Adam Driver in particular proves that he is one of the best actors alive today. His portrayal of a father going through the ringer in an attempt to protect his son broke my heart. He goes through every possible emotion flawlessly, and he is so vulnerable you can't help but feel for the guy.

The script is a work of art. There are no good guys or bad guys. No one is right or wrong. Everything is a very human shade of grey, and the story just made me think about how I view my own romantic relationships. The score is beautiful, with a very surprisingly well utilized Stephen Sondheim ballad that anyone with any theatre history will recognize immediately.

The cinematography is pure kino. The way space and barriers are used is just beautiful. Its very subtle, but its there. Its implemented wonderfully.

This is one of the best dramas of 2019. It's definitely get some acting award buzz. I think this movie will resonate and remain relevant well into the future. I've already made plans to see it again.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Jan 25, 2020
Yet another movie featuring a filmmaker baring their soul for the audience to celebrate, lament and understand, Noah Baumbach's "Marriage Story" follows in the footsteps of movies like "Lady Bird," "Roma" and the very recent "Honey Boy" inYet another movie featuring a filmmaker baring their soul for the audience to celebrate, lament and understand, Noah Baumbach's "Marriage Story" follows in the footsteps of movies like "Lady Bird," "Roma" and the very recent "Honey Boy" in that it's not just an undeniably personal exercise. It's also a supremely well-executed artistic experience on a structural, dramatic, thematic, and technical level. It's rare to have a film operate so meticulously in its characterization process, yet remain so fascinating and emotionally impressive. In many other films, you'd label it a potential issue to have your average scene length be somewhere between 7-10 minutes, and to have most of those scenes involve characters simply talking to one another. But these are very carefully constructed moments of build-up, allowing the audience to breathe these characters in and empathize with every action taken and word spoken, no matter how hurtful or diabolical it may seem on the surface. At the end of the proverbial day, we find we're dealing with nuanced human beings trying desperately to navigate their respective ways through a tragic phase of existence (a kind of death, as the movie so aptly puts it). It's sad, heartwarming, brilliant, and earnest -- an experience I know I'll carry with me for some time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
gracjanskiJan 18, 2020
so boring movie, I could bear it for 30 minutes. So many political correct stuff so far = feminism, a lot of time for the perspective for the woman. The man is the bad guy and so on, the usual stuff. In addition there is so much talking aboutso boring movie, I could bear it for 30 minutes. So many political correct stuff so far = feminism, a lot of time for the perspective for the woman. The man is the bad guy and so on, the usual stuff. In addition there is so much talking about nothing, female talking. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
wevertonaguiiarDec 7, 2019
Um dos principais problemas do filme está direção: os planos escolhidos não fazem sentido para as cenas e constantemente deixar a cena no rosto de um personagem se torna cansativo; este elemento só funciona quando é pontual e o elenco estáUm dos principais problemas do filme está direção: os planos escolhidos não fazem sentido para as cenas e constantemente deixar a cena no rosto de um personagem se torna cansativo; este elemento só funciona quando é pontual e o elenco está perfeito... O elenco aqui é bom, mas não o suficiente. Em alguns momentos os dialogos entre o casal parecem desconectados com a própria; parecem falas jogadas no ar e que não demonstram uma construção plausível e orgânica. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
GrachechkovskiJan 28, 2020
Beautiful movie with no new morality for me. Impressive actor's play, macro-position for shooting and deep story of marriage life that many couple may have. Also, this is one of new picture for remining about basic rule of relationship
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JuicyAndrewFeb 3, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wonderful,stunning,striking,outstanding perfomances. I won`t get tired of telling how great 2019 for films. I can`t say that there is a great screenplay or plot,but nevermind,there is an ordinary plot and screenplay.It focused on perfomances ,which are realy outstanding . Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
Mauro_LanariFeb 2, 2020
(Mauro Lanari)
Since statistics show that "arranged marriages" last longer than "love marriages", this nineteenth-century and Victorian invention of ours would deserve at least a minimum of deepening. The suggested hypothesis is that
(Mauro Lanari)
Since statistics show that "arranged marriages" last longer than "love marriages", this nineteenth-century and Victorian invention of ours would deserve at least a minimum of deepening. The suggested hypothesis is that interpersonal affective relationships can't not fail because, before that, there would be an unresolved infrapersonal conflict, the "Spaltung" a.k.a. inner splitting. Therefore a mumblecore that merely describes the phenomenology of such failure as already too many previous film is just useful to mitigate the frustration of those who identify with the couple of protagonists.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ajzeg01Jan 31, 2020
Well, at least Adam Driver was in one good movie in 2019. This is a really solid Netflix Original drama. It’s really well-acted, the writing is excellent and the story is engaging. It deals with some pretty tough subject matter, it’s about aWell, at least Adam Driver was in one good movie in 2019. This is a really solid Netflix Original drama. It’s really well-acted, the writing is excellent and the story is engaging. It deals with some pretty tough subject matter, it’s about a couple going through a divorce, but it also has light moments of comedy. It feels very realistic. It’s also really well-shot and well-edited. This is one of those rare movies where there really isn’t anything bad about it at all. Well, maybe the score is a little weird and distracting sometimes. It’s composed by Randy Newman and sounds right out of a Pixar movie. Wallace Shawn of The Incredibles and Toy Story fame is even in it. It seems out-of-place sometimes, but the rest of the movie is so good I think I can overlook it. Overall, this movie is a must-see and I hope it wins some Oscars! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GapingVagetaDec 9, 2019
Wonderfully written with superb acting. Unexpectedly funny in all the right places.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
leveeDec 28, 2019
This movie unearths a range of emotions from both the main stars, Johansson and Driver. Although it is a divorce the movie focuses on, it is not all that it contains, as it ebbs and flows throughout different moods and feelings of bothThis movie unearths a range of emotions from both the main stars, Johansson and Driver. Although it is a divorce the movie focuses on, it is not all that it contains, as it ebbs and flows throughout different moods and feelings of both parents, bringing the audience along with them. It makes the audience switch allegiances with every word each scene, and leaves us feeling just a little helpless. It has many beautiful moments and meaning in almost every scene, and it is undoubtedly a must-see. If this movie does not get Oscar-nominated, then the world doesn't make sense anymore. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
m1chaJan 19, 2020
Less is more. Emotional and devastatingly real. Best performance. Greatly written.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Weastside94Jan 30, 2020
9/10. The only part that upset me was the ending. But honestly the ending really went along with the realism of the movie. These 2 actors should do many films together they were wonderful together. I obviously love Scarlett j. I even named9/10. The only part that upset me was the ending. But honestly the ending really went along with the realism of the movie. These 2 actors should do many films together they were wonderful together. I obviously love Scarlett j. I even named my daughter after her. And I remember Charlie on Girls. Which I love his style in acting hes very good and deserves more recognition. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CPNJan 30, 2020
Fantastically truthful acting. Director has a very unique style which I really enjoyed. Didn't quite reach the height of emotion I thought it would be I think that restrained version was the point. Great movie
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ThejaywhipDec 8, 2019
The term overrated definitely comes to mind. Besides Adam Driver's performance this is a mediocre movie at best. They are getting a divorce, we get it. It's frustrating and painful to watch like nails on a chalkboard. Yet doesn't have much toThe term overrated definitely comes to mind. Besides Adam Driver's performance this is a mediocre movie at best. They are getting a divorce, we get it. It's frustrating and painful to watch like nails on a chalkboard. Yet doesn't have much to say other than our laws and process for divorce are terrible. It's quite disgusting how the process typically plays out in these cases. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
DrBlahBlahNov 24, 2019
One of the best films of the year - if not THE best - it is also one of Baumbach's finest.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
amheretojudgeDec 6, 2019
Noah had me choked up for the entire runtime of his thundering masterpiece. This profound experience is so rare, that it has happened to me only once. In Marriage Story.

Marriage Story The writer and director, Noah Baumbach is spewing love.
Noah had me choked up for the entire runtime of his thundering masterpiece. This profound experience is so rare, that it has happened to me only once. In Marriage Story.

Marriage Story

The writer and director, Noah Baumbach is spewing love. Not the usual way of expressing. But then, miscommunication is a major factor in this film. He is sugar-coating or bitter-coating a love story, by deconstructing, reverse-engineering a love story. Although that is what it seems at first. The film, above all, wonder me the most, is when it balances both sides of the coin. Every now and then, I think about what happened, why we are here, just as those characters do. It all makes sense and nothing fits despite the description, the definition. And still you don't feel cheated. And Noah dodged that bullet so effortlessly that you- at certain points in the film, even when there is no particularly emotional hurdle to cross- melt with a cathartic smile and tears, in its simple wittiness. The film deliberately follows Adam Driver's perspective. Now, that is a perfect choice, considering he "is walking on" something that he doesn't fully understand, just like us, the audience. Hence, he comes off warm and even pitiful at times, more than he actually might be or should. For following Scarlett Johanson would have come off calculative rather than spontaneous. Not something that the film wants to put out. It is vulnerable phenomena to be in. And to experience it, you should be out of control. Desperation is what drives the greed. And greed, something you keep it off the table from Day 1, is what it will come to. Not materialistic but philosophical. You'd want to be how you think of yourself to be. And in these scenarios where you are highly conscious of your decisions and acts. Legacy (Henry, in their case) is what you hold on to or at least fight for, now that you are sober.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
FilipeAlbertDec 14, 2019
Great screenplay, jaw-dropping performances, memorable score... everything here’s just so beautifully made that it’s hard not to love this movie. Please, give Driver, Johansson and Dern their Oscars!
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
StephenCromeDec 9, 2019
Last night I watched the first twenty minutes of Marriage Story. I love everyone involved in the movie so expectations were very high. But immediately, (IMMEDIATELY) the intrusive, BUSY musical score started to drive a nail into my head. HereLast night I watched the first twenty minutes of Marriage Story. I love everyone involved in the movie so expectations were very high. But immediately, (IMMEDIATELY) the intrusive, BUSY musical score started to drive a nail into my head. Here were two monologues; letters written by the lead characters about each other. They were smart (if a little precious) and heartfelt and full of nice details. However, the entire time Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson were speaking, this wall to wall orchestra kept sawing away, frolicking and gamboling like a Rossini overture underlining the moments with 'whimsy' and the promise of 'heartache.' Like a bright yellow highlight pen, the music left no room for independent thought: I was being told exactly how to feel about every second. But I got through the opening bits; although I didn't quite buy any of the director/actor theatre scenes- Why is that no one ever seems to be able to capture the truth of what it's like to do small theatre? Those ridiculous rehearsal scenes were painful in their ostentatious inauthenticity...and don't get me started on the actual performance of the play. It was almost exactly like that old SNL sketch "Bad Conceptual Theatre" - If only Dan Aykroyd had stepped out as Leonard Pinth Garnell to give a review - Even more hilarious was the discovery in a later scene that this awful slice of "high art" was slated for Broadway. In what universe? But I stuck with it until the scene where Scarlett Johansson reminds her husband that she finds it difficult to cry onstage only to walk into her bedroom and burst into tears. This is a moment that should've wrecked me. It's beautifully set up, and would have been totally unexpected and rending. But at she walks through the hallway towards her bedroom, the score whips up into a Soap Opera ready string-filled cry of anguish so generic it could have been used for that old Carol Burnett sketch As The Stomach Turns. The camera pulls in to show Scarlett's tear-filled face - but any empathy is immediately sucker-punched to the ground by the hideously OVER THE TOP music.

Cut to: this morning as I scanned through the Golden Globe Nominations. Not only is that exercise in bathos and banality actually nominated for Best Original Score... It was written by none other than Randy Newman. Bummer.

If I make it through the movie it will be with the sound off and the subtitles on. I like to decide how I feel about things. I don't need to be smothered in kisses to know I am loved. And I don't need to be swaddled in a treacly, syrupy, honey-laden, jokey, telegraphing soundscape in order to understand that sadness or joy are on display. I'm pretty sure I'm smarter than that. My CATS are definitely smarter than that. It's no coincidence that Bennett coughed up three yards of hairball during the first thirty seconds of the movie.
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
6
netflicDec 3, 2019
I would rather call this move "Divorce Story": it is more about marriage falling apart that about marriage per se. I was looking forward to watching this film as both critics and audience seem to love it. Plus I like Scarlet Johansson andI would rather call this move "Divorce Story": it is more about marriage falling apart that about marriage per se. I was looking forward to watching this film as both critics and audience seem to love it. Plus I like Scarlet Johansson and Adam Driver. Maybe my expectations were a bit too high. Or maybe one to have to live though a diverse themselves to have an empathy. Because I did not have much.

I enjoyed a few episodes but not the movie as a whole. It felt like director-writer's own experience which I am not sure was true. Performance-wise I liked Scarlet's and Laura Dern's but not as much Adam Driver's. His singing was better than his playing but I don't think it was his fault.

Not to say that the movie was not good but the hype is definitely not justified.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
RatedRexDec 8, 2019
Great performances by Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson. Some very good dialog. There a couple of unnecessary scenes. And it drags in a couple of spots. But, overall, it is a very good cinematic experience.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
carldamnitDec 6, 2019
There's still an hour and thirty minutes left but I'm here because I feel sad in my not liking this so far. So thumbs down away! I was excited to see this because of the trailer, but I'm pretty sure everything in the trailer has alreadyThere's still an hour and thirty minutes left but I'm here because I feel sad in my not liking this so far. So thumbs down away! I was excited to see this because of the trailer, but I'm pretty sure everything in the trailer has already happened and now it's like this, people saying how they feel like it's interesting when it's not. I can't pay attention to anything they're saying, I just keep thinking: straight people problems. I was worried this might happen, seeing how I hate straight people. But I definitely hate these straight people. Spoiler alert! Her mom's exhusband is not only gay, she caught him blowing a guy, which is an example of how the jokes work here too, not just some kind of... it's not homophobia. It's just like.... you know, those straight people I hate who make fun of gay people because they're friends with gay people. It's the gaffer character who says he feels comfortable saying what he does because he was raised by two women, only it's like that guy wrote a movie about marriage called Marriage Story and now I'm not watching it because it's so boooooooring these poor rich straight people have so many problems. I'd rather be watching Love Island at least they're self-aware about how **** what they're saying is **** life Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
1
Desiree25Nov 7, 2019
No me gusto la pelicula, me dormi a la mitad de ella y desperte casi para el final que ugh...
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryDec 8, 2019
Adam Driver plays a promising New York theatre director and Scarlett Johansson is his actor/wife. When she gets an offer to work in LA, it makes their impending separation much more stressful. There's more focus on the husband, perhapsAdam Driver plays a promising New York theatre director and Scarlett Johansson is his actor/wife. When she gets an offer to work in LA, it makes their impending separation much more stressful. There's more focus on the husband, perhaps because his situation is more disruptive or because writer/director Noah Baumbach based this on his own experience. As a result, Driver is given the bulk of the heavy lifting and his character's dilemma (and his performance) is absolutely heart breaking. Johansson also does a fine job, along with a wonderful supporting cast, esp. Laura Dern and Alan Alda. It's good that they both play their attorneys, because the legal angles tend to drag down the emotional development. As their young son, Azhy Robertson is exceptionally natural. The film is slightly longer than it needed to be, but the subtle, excellent performances and Baumbach's skilled observations combine to create an affecting examination of the pains of divorce. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
imthenoobDec 16, 2019
It very much is a performance-driven film that may not be for everyone so take it with a grain of salt. I think what I like most about it is that neither parent is shown in a positive light. Both had flaws that inevitably caused the demise ofIt very much is a performance-driven film that may not be for everyone so take it with a grain of salt. I think what I like most about it is that neither parent is shown in a positive light. Both had flaws that inevitably caused the demise of the relationship. It was a satisfying movie, at least to me, that was capped off by an amazing performance by Adam Driver. Phoenix was my pick for best actor this year but I think Driver is gonna give him a run for his money. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MattyiceDec 6, 2019
Marriage Story is a haunting and powerful look into divorce, love, and the human experience of balancing family and career. Noah Baumbach's direction is spectacular, while all the performances (specifically Driver's though) are superb. TheMarriage Story is a haunting and powerful look into divorce, love, and the human experience of balancing family and career. Noah Baumbach's direction is spectacular, while all the performances (specifically Driver's though) are superb. The story this film tells is heartfelt and truly relatable to anyone who lost any kind of love at any point in their life and even more so for those who've experienced a divorce firsthand. I was left with teary eyes by the end and although some are unsatisfied with the ending, I feel it was rather cathartic and human, as things cannot be wrapped up in a neat bow in life. I was amazed by Marriage Story and I certainly hope it gets the credit it so rightfully deserves come awards season. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Dec 1, 2019
In this drama from director Noah Baumbach, Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson play an embittered couple on the cuff of a spiteful divorce. Driver plays a New York-based theatre director traveling back and forth from there to LA whereIn this drama from director Noah Baumbach, Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson play an embittered couple on the cuff of a spiteful divorce. Driver plays a New York-based theatre director traveling back and forth from there to LA where Johansson's character primarily lives as an actress that started out in film but now does theatre to support Driver. Any film that deals with divorce automatically hits close to my heart, as I come from divorced parents. I'm always interested to see how it will be portrayed differently in each film. And I gotta say, I think the last time I watched a divorce film that was so raw and honest about divorce was 'Blue Valentine' from 10 years ago starring Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams. And while this one isn't quite as dismal and bleak as that one was (there are some endearing moments to be found in this one), this one still managed to portray all of the nitty gritty details and pitfalls that accompany long and bitter divorces. On top of that, Driver and Johansson deliver what I'd easily consider to be Oscar-worthy performances. Laura Dern also particularly shines as Johansson's divorce lawyer. Overall, while it's certainly not the first film to deal with divorce in great detail, it still gives a pretty unflinching look at the toll it takes, and that was more than enough to make it stand out to me. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
eagleeyevikingJan 17, 2020
Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson deliver Oscar-worthy performances in the relatable and heartbreaking "Marriage Story".
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheWaffleDec 28, 2019
Marriage Story is a great display of acting as Driver and Johansson put on a clinic in this film. For two hours, you watch them go through every conceivable emotion, and you believe them in every moment. The supporting cast is great as well.Marriage Story is a great display of acting as Driver and Johansson put on a clinic in this film. For two hours, you watch them go through every conceivable emotion, and you believe them in every moment. The supporting cast is great as well. The plot is simple, but that doesn't really hold the film back. My only complaint is that both characters are so financially successful that the money doesn't really come into the picture, except for a few lines where Driver complains about how much money he's spending on his lawyers. I would have liked to see the two of them making some really difficult financial decisions, like the ones people would face in a real divorce. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Dec 30, 2019
An incredibly real look at a how a marriage ends and how a divorce can effect people. Adam Driver, Scar Jo, Laura Dern and Ray Liotta were incredible in this wonderfully directed story of a failed marriage, the affection and feelings thatAn incredibly real look at a how a marriage ends and how a divorce can effect people. Adam Driver, Scar Jo, Laura Dern and Ray Liotta were incredible in this wonderfully directed story of a failed marriage, the affection and feelings that remain throughout as well as the issues and problems with a child involved that they both love and want to spend time with. It even shows how even the most amicable separations can be complicated by lawyers with agendas and how even throughout all this, a family can remain. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
atakanovskiDec 8, 2019
Ne yazsam bilemedim, övülecek o kadar çok şeyi var ki, başyapıt olmuş, oscarları toplar gibime geliyor.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ismacinefiloDec 7, 2019
Amazing movie. A must watch for everybody who had live a long relationship.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantDec 7, 2019
While some have somewhat correctly said that this film covers ground that's been addressed before and that it occasionally tends to play like both a therapy session and a legal consult, writer-director Noah Baumbach's latest neverthelessWhile some have somewhat correctly said that this film covers ground that's been addressed before and that it occasionally tends to play like both a therapy session and a legal consult, writer-director Noah Baumbach's latest nevertheless offers viewers an engaging mix of heartache and humor, showing the pain and utter absurdity that goes into the dissolution of a marriage. The truly superb ensemble cast, with excellent performances by Scarlett Johansson, Adam Driver, Ray Liotta, Julie Hagerty, Alan Alda and, especially, Laura Dern, coupled with a razor-sharp script, makes for a dynamite combination that reaches out, grabs and holds audience attention from beginning to end. Arguably Baumbach's best film, this offering is more than deserving of all the praise that it has rightfully had heaped upon it. You'll laugh, you might cry and you'll definitely feel the heart strings tugged with this one, but the picture assuredly earns the reactions it evokes. Go see it in the theater or catch it on Netflix. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
riordanpettDec 15, 2019
Best film I’ve seen in a while and my favourite from 2019 so far. Way more realistic, captivating, gut-wrenching and well paced than say, The Irishman, for example. That film was a nice piece of rich storytelling, slightly over-indulgent inBest film I’ve seen in a while and my favourite from 2019 so far. Way more realistic, captivating, gut-wrenching and well paced than say, The Irishman, for example. That film was a nice piece of rich storytelling, slightly over-indulgent in its duration, but Marriage Story just resonated with me more. To be honest, I don’t think 2019 has been a great year for film. Preferred last year’s releases (Roma, The Favourite, A Star Is Born, Green Book, etc) I’m hoping on this Marriage Story winning big at the Oscars. It’s superbly acted, that conflict scene at around 1:30hr in to the film was top class. Excellent writing, directing, and yes, the ending was a beautiful end to the journey witnessed onscreen. I don’t get how anyone couldn’t like it, but then again, I found the ending to The Sopranos and Breaking Bad great. Both are polarising endings. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulDec 17, 2019
Historia de un Matrimonio (2019)

Sinopsis: Un director de teatro y su mujer, actriz, luchan por superar un divorcio que les lleva al extremo tanto en lo personal como en lo creativo. Mi opinión: Fácilmente es una de las mejores películas
Historia de un Matrimonio (2019)

Sinopsis:

Un director de teatro y su mujer, actriz, luchan por superar un divorcio que les lleva al extremo tanto en lo personal como en lo creativo.

Mi opinión:

Fácilmente es una de las mejores películas del año, creo que muestra una realidad mas cruda de lo que parece, el divorcio y como este afecta al ya disuelto matrimonio como a la familia e hijos de este y como el dúo protagonista quiere llevar todo en buenos términos sin lastimar al otro y a su hijo es magníficamente emotivo y empático.

Scarlett Johansson y Adam Driver se lucen con sus crudas y excelentes actuaciones, dignos de ser nominados y premiados por la Academia, varias de las escenas que ambos comparten en solitario me hicieron derramar lágrimas por lo crudas y reales que se sienten, quizás seré muy sensible, pero realmente sentí verdadera empatía por ambos personajes.

Mi valoración:

5 ⭐ de 5 ⭐
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
hugoferreiraDec 30, 2019
Such a good fill, will leave you wondering. The representation in this film is so good that is breathtaking, such an accurate representation of reality and it shows the lack of communication humans are felling lately. How messy does a divorceSuch a good fill, will leave you wondering. The representation in this film is so good that is breathtaking, such an accurate representation of reality and it shows the lack of communication humans are felling lately. How messy does a divorce process can gets and in the end kids always get "punished" in a way. Both starring actors are on point, however Adam Driver does go up a notch from a little blend performance of Scarlet, which is still amazingly good. The only drawback is that you won't get to experience this film in a movie theater. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SrPepeDec 29, 2019
Muy buena película, entretenida con una linda historia, muy bien interpretada por Adam Driver y Scarlet Johansoon. La escena de la discusión es muy buena.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Aldemir_LDec 12, 2019
Beautiful movie. Probably without intending it, shines a light on the concept of happiness, and how one's own happiness should never be based on another person or thing, given the changing nature of everything outside ourselves. Apart fromBeautiful movie. Probably without intending it, shines a light on the concept of happiness, and how one's own happiness should never be based on another person or thing, given the changing nature of everything outside ourselves. Apart from this, it is also a good reflection material for divorced and non-divorced alike. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Dec 29, 2019
Maybe is slow as turtle but the chronicle about how a marriage made in heaven slide down to zero is absorbing so bittersweet, making the viewer all the feelings of the wife so the husband; Adam Driver singing is smashing. One of big shots ofMaybe is slow as turtle but the chronicle about how a marriage made in heaven slide down to zero is absorbing so bittersweet, making the viewer all the feelings of the wife so the husband; Adam Driver singing is smashing. One of big shots of winter 2019. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kmac73Dec 6, 2019
Outstanding. Go ahead and give the Oscars to both Driver and Johansson. Best domestic film of the year.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Dec 6, 2019
I will not be the person who says that this is a bad film because it's not but apparently many people forgot that Kramer vs. Kramer exists and it's actually better.
I mean it's funny because when I read about Marriage Story and watched the
I will not be the person who says that this is a bad film because it's not but apparently many people forgot that Kramer vs. Kramer exists and it's actually better.
I mean it's funny because when I read about Marriage Story and watched the trailers, Kramer vs. Kramer was the first movie I thought of.

Does that mean Marriage Story lacks originality? No, but that's mainly due to the fact that the root of its story is centered on gender imbalance.
The recurring case in couples of: what I do became less important than what you do and it's quite evident that this is the main reason for the separation the film tolds. Maybe other things did their harm but that's the key point.

The thing is the film walks again and again on that line without achieving a more interesting balance and especially for the little that both characters grow during their hard journey. Especially Charlie, Adam Driver's character. Ironically, although it seems that Baumbach wanted to show more balance between both sides, he does not succeed, especially because even though he allows Nicole (Scarlett Johansson) to express her frustrations at the same time as her personal and professional ambitions beyond her family life, when the time comes for the court fights, Baumbach turns Nicole's voice in court into a kind of villain. Her lawyer, which is ironic because her lawyer is someone who is really understanding what Nicole is expressing.
I always felt the film was more inclined towards Charlie's side. For the rest, well I can say that I don't deny that both Driver and Johansson's performances are pretty good and I certainly believe that they will get into the Oscar nominations but their work is not really the reflection of the background of their characters or the story for that matter, because as I said, this film is not bad at all but its strengths lie in updating the subject in our times, nothing more, yet something like divorce we know that not only encompasses the issues we see here.

This was a really good film to close this year and another success for Netflix and its catalog but honestly I keep saying that Baumbach is credited with merits that I simply do not see in him.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
mellonheadDec 16, 2019
The acting and cinematography are great, but its biggest strengths might be efficiency - considering the run time is 136 minutes and there's a lot that should be, and is, covered. It never really feels rushed with individual scenes, but toThe acting and cinematography are great, but its biggest strengths might be efficiency - considering the run time is 136 minutes and there's a lot that should be, and is, covered. It never really feels rushed with individual scenes, but to make that possible, important background details are glossed over and so are the characters. The characters aren't especially generic, but still somewhat shallow and predictable. The plot certainly offers some surprises, but is also mostly predictable for someone familiar with divorce outside of a fictitious context. Ultimately, the movie is thin in terms of portraying the course of a marriage and divorce, but there's something to be said for its success on that front given the run time. The movie has its surprising moments of humor as well, but that's important because even with humor, I came out feeling more pessimistic about marriage, relationships, and people. But this movie didn't opt for the feel-good, sugar-coated route like most movies of this type do. It argues that things aren't really ever going to be black-and-white and doesn't give us one answer to the issues explored in the movie because there isn't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MallRat15Feb 6, 2020
A surprise of the year for me. Never intended to watch this movie but after all the buzz and Oscar nominations I had to give it a shot and man was I surprised. Some of the best performances of the year and a wonderful screenplay. A movie thatA surprise of the year for me. Never intended to watch this movie but after all the buzz and Oscar nominations I had to give it a shot and man was I surprised. Some of the best performances of the year and a wonderful screenplay. A movie that everyone can watch and enjoy. Adam Driver and Scarlet are both amazing and deserve many awards for their roles. A heartfelt story told masterfully never a dull moment with this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Faizannaeem71Dec 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Never seen such an enduring and beautiful film, since Kramer vs. Kramer and A Separation on divorce drama. Everything about MS is breathtaking, the film is as perfect as it can come close to anything being perfect. A job well done by all of the crew - directing, acting, writing, music, and technical aspects of MS is just matchless, Noah has topped Woody Allen on such films. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ali_khunaiziJan 13, 2020
I don't feel like i have the best words to express my experience here, for that i am overwhelmed by this masterpiece of art, It's one of thee most well produced in the history of filming, i assure you... Magnificent performance by all theI don't feel like i have the best words to express my experience here, for that i am overwhelmed by this masterpiece of art, It's one of thee most well produced in the history of filming, i assure you... Magnificent performance by all the actors, all of them have done the best here, including the compars (i'm not sure if i'm spelling it correctly),
Noah has done his greatest job ever as a director, and surely deserve the Oscar for it, It's a most see movie indeed.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
abrendeDec 9, 2019
The music score carries you through all the complex emotions of this film. Top notch acting performances by Scarlett and Adam.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ValBalDec 8, 2019
Well crafted story about the complexity of relationships during a very difficult time. Everyone in the film is amazing but I must say I am seriously considering re-watching the movie, even though I've just seen it, just so I could see AdamWell crafted story about the complexity of relationships during a very difficult time. Everyone in the film is amazing but I must say I am seriously considering re-watching the movie, even though I've just seen it, just so I could see Adam Driver again. His performance in this movie is absolutely phenomenal. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
theredskyDec 11, 2019
Wow. What a great story about relationships and the beginnings and endings of them. Marriage Story is a flawless, heartbreaking story led by two of some of the best performances of the year. Adam Driver is phenomenal. Most people know himWow. What a great story about relationships and the beginnings and endings of them. Marriage Story is a flawless, heartbreaking story led by two of some of the best performances of the year. Adam Driver is phenomenal. Most people know him from the new Star Wars Trilogy but people should really see some of his other films. He usually does a great job but in this film, he is 100% dedicated to the role. They are certain scenes in the film where it doesn’t feel like he is acting. It feels as if he is actually this character and going through all of these troubles. He puts so much emotion into his performance that it is heartbreaking yet mesmerizing. Scarlett Johansson gives yet again another fantastic performance. While her performance isn’t as mesmerizing as Driver’s performance, it’s still perfect. She also conveys a huge amount of emotion with her role but adds a slightly more comedic and relaxed atmosphere to Driver’s serious and hardworking atmosphere. Both actors play off each other perfectly, even in scenes where their characters are fighting with each other. Every other performance in the film is pretty great, especially from Laura Dern. The script for Marriage Story is fantastic. It compliments the performances and feels very natural. It knows how much the characters need to say to get a point across or when to restrict them. The music and cinematography are great. The music is done by Randy Newman (Toy Story) and fits the depressing tone the film is going for. The film makes the good choice of not using music during certain dramatic scenes which helps make those scenes more emotional. The cinematography isn’t groundbreaking by any means but there are a lot of beautiful shots. Towards the beginning of the movie, there is a 5 minute uncut shot of Scarlett Johansson talking about why she stopped being in love with Adam Driver’s character and it’s great. There is one sequence in the film that is perfectly shot, acted, and scripted and it’s the argument scene. I felt sad and a smidge emotional for the characters throughout the film but this one scene made me feel a whole lot. It’s one of the best scenes in cinema this year. Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson completely disappear in this scene. It doesn’t feel like acting. It feels like the filmmakers just filmed real people breaking apart. The emotion displayed in this one scene is off the charts. It cemented for me that Adam Driver is a masterclass actor that people should pay more attention to besides being known as “the guy from Star Wars”. The rest of the film has its emotional moments but they don’t top that scene. The film’s plot is pretty straightforward but the way the characters interact makes the film feel unpredictable. Noah Baumbach used his direction to make a straightforward story feel unique. I’m going to start paying more attention to Baumbach from here on out. Overall, Marriage Story is a fantastic film about relationships and divorce with some of the best performances of the year, an outstanding screenplay, unique direction, and some great cinematography and music. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
ThatFilmGuy20Dec 7, 2019
"Marriage story" is a true description of married life is all about, the good parts and bad ones alike, Noah Baumbach the director is a master at capturing dialogues realistically and naturally, thus helping the narrative to have a sort of"Marriage story" is a true description of married life is all about, the good parts and bad ones alike, Noah Baumbach the director is a master at capturing dialogues realistically and naturally, thus helping the narrative to have a sort of essence that's very undeniable and very gripping, the words just flow effortlessly in a way that makes you so invested in what's being said, there's waste in scenes, everything means something and ultimately affects the surroundings, very much like life itself, it is extremely refreshing to be a witness of that. Having said all of that, the story itself is very poignant and it feels like that as well, as we are presented with a situation no one wants to be in, it's a back and forth of pain and pleasure that goes a long way at times, "Johanson" opposite "Driver" is a sight to behold, their interactions are pure and honest but more importantly real, you don't get to take sides in their problem as well as they both make a good case and put forth good arguments to their difficulties, one other thing I noticed is that it invites you to understand but never forces you to accept it in any way, all of this comes together to describe or at least try to understand the intricacies of a loving marriage. After the credit rolled out, I found myself clapping at the screen almost involuntary, it sparked a reaction out of me, arguably Johanson and Driver best performances to date and I hope they get rewarded for it, This is original filmmaking at its finest, outstanding and brilliant film and I very much loved it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DerekReideJan 11, 2020
Easily one of the best films in 2019. It's a gut-wrenching, emotional story. The acting is absolutely Oscar-worthy and there were different sequences that got me on the verge of tears. Incredible direction, brilliant acting, and an overlyEasily one of the best films in 2019. It's a gut-wrenching, emotional story. The acting is absolutely Oscar-worthy and there were different sequences that got me on the verge of tears. Incredible direction, brilliant acting, and an overly realistic, compelling story drive this film to a great height. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoVn00Jan 22, 2020
This movie is all about the wonderful performances and the engaging story. The directing, cinematography and overall presentation are fine but it's a very entertaining and well written story, with complex and realistic characters with bothThis movie is all about the wonderful performances and the engaging story. The directing, cinematography and overall presentation are fine but it's a very entertaining and well written story, with complex and realistic characters with both pros and flaws that will make almost impossible to see who is the "hero" and who is the "villain". This is not a movie about two people yelling at each other it's much more than that. To make it short: Brilliant writing, brilliant characters, entertaining story and masterful performances. The only thing I didn't like as much is the score. I mean, the score is not bad but sometimes I think it didn't fit the movie. Without context, the score itself is amazing but when it's played during the movie I couldn't stop thinking about Toy Story.

Overall, I highly recommend it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
zNeverSleepingDec 19, 2019
É difícil sair desse filme sem se impressionar com a complexidade de cada personagem. Em pouco tempo você se vê completamente entretido e vidrado porque tudo parece muito real e acabamos por, facilmente, nos imaginarmos em tal situação. ForaÉ difícil sair desse filme sem se impressionar com a complexidade de cada personagem. Em pouco tempo você se vê completamente entretido e vidrado porque tudo parece muito real e acabamos por, facilmente, nos imaginarmos em tal situação. Fora toda a situação do divórcio/advogados que claramente sai do controle. Um dos melhores filmes desse ano e uma surpresa muito agradável por parte do diretor e roteirista Noah Baumbach, e pelas atuações de Adam Driver e Scarlett Johansson, que impressionam por conseguir passar toda a carga dramática que o filme exige de maneira maestral. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ger89Dec 6, 2019
Historia de un matrimonio es una película divertida, y con cierto aire de suspenso, que gira en torno a un matrimonio muerto, pero vivo en potencia como carga emocional. La posibilidad de entendimiento, y la cuestión de lo masculino yHistoria de un matrimonio es una película divertida, y con cierto aire de suspenso, que gira en torno a un matrimonio muerto, pero vivo en potencia como carga emocional. La posibilidad de entendimiento, y la cuestión de lo masculino y femenino, aparece en toda la película y recorre sus fronteras del drama Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Jp117Dec 25, 2019
Outstanding movie real cinema it will make you laugh, cry care about your own relationship a bit more love it!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Barbara_BarusJan 17, 2020
Marriage Story is an incredible drama, but nothing else
Dialogs and acting performances are the best in 2019
Personal thanks for Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson But it's not 10 out of 10 because of some stupid jokes and almost no
Marriage Story is an incredible drama, but nothing else
Dialogs and acting performances are the best in 2019
Personal thanks for Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson But it's not 10 out of 10 because of some stupid jokes and almost no soundtrack(I mean I almost didn't hear it)
I hope that I will cry, but this movie s far from it
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ArthuuDec 22, 2019
Impressive piece that came out of nowhere, great play featuring Scarlett Johansson with Adam driver's peak work yet. Very relatable, serving mix of emotions making it to my top 3 movies this year
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RSilveira6Dec 23, 2019
Great movie, outstanding acting, good direction, really amotional tells the real story of the divorce from the inside. A must see.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FilmreactiviewNov 30, 2019
Raw & deeply real portrayal of love, divorce, & family. A timeless story with original execution. Audience REACTIONS at its Canadian PREMIERE:
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
gustavoriquelmeDec 7, 2019
Marriage Story is the amazing combination of a good direction and incredible performances in a heartbreaking plot. A must-see, definitely one of the best films of 2019.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Adriano12GADec 8, 2019
SCARLETT & ADAN give us magnificent perfomances that make us to be focus on the Screen and to don't miss any Shot!!! Monologues in this Film are really well filmed and acted, The long shots are delicious, very memmorable and enjoyable movie.SCARLETT & ADAN give us magnificent perfomances that make us to be focus on the Screen and to don't miss any Shot!!! Monologues in this Film are really well filmed and acted, The long shots are delicious, very memmorable and enjoyable movie.

I'm sure we will see Starring actors ADAM and SCARLETT in the Awards season next year.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Sierra-117Jan 23, 2020
Superb acting, excellent writing and a very realistic sense of sadness and desperation. Really reminded me of my parents divorcing when I was a kid, filling me with both sadness and relief when it was over.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gcatharinoDec 12, 2019
The movie seems to be running on stage, like Broadway. Great acting in long and tense scenes, a very good screenplay and a some comic relief for a solid drama movie. Top 3 in 2019.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DMLYxCriticDec 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With riveting performances from its two main casts, Marriage Story is a deep dive into modern-day marriages and divorces. Funny, hysterical, and heartbreaking. Definitely an Oscar contender. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Bowman210Dec 9, 2019
This will be a short review but I felt like I needed to get a review in for this amazing movie. This movie gave me the feelings of divorce and stubbornness that I have not went through yet in my life but I could see and feel so clearly in theThis will be a short review but I felt like I needed to get a review in for this amazing movie. This movie gave me the feelings of divorce and stubbornness that I have not went through yet in my life but I could see and feel so clearly in the movie. The characters played by Scarlett and Adam seemed perfect couple at first glance, then you dive into the relationship and see the cracks within. Throughout the movie I felt for Adams's character most of the time, feeling like Scarlett's just wanted to run away from a great family life in NY. After seeing her point of view and her family situations, I could totally understand why she felt so entrapped and needed to spread her wings and make decisions because she wanted to and wanted to feel in control. The ending makes it all feel so streamlined and connects back with the start of the film in a good way showing that maybe if she read her letter, all of this could of been fixed. The acting is what makes this movie and I have to say that is some of the best acting Ive seen in the big fight scene between the ex-couple. Great movie that makes you feel what the characters are feeling throughout the movie without saying it word for word explaining the emotions. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AncientAmberDec 8, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The performances of the two leads in this film are virtuosic. We've always known ScarJo is an excellent actress but I think this is her peak so far. Many times the actors portray the subtext of a conversation or half-hidden feelings in a more true-to-life manner than I've seen almost anywhere else; so that we feel as though we are on the titanic, watching an iceberg emerge from the darkness with dread inevitability. When those feelings do come to the surface, it is with simultaneous relief and crushing loss.

I often found myself thinking that the marriage could have been saved and that is why this only gets a 9. I wasn't sold on the idea that their marriage was that bad. This is either the fault of the writer for not conveying the misery of the marriage (although one could argue that this is outside the scope of the film, and the viewer is simply to take this for granted), or due to the selfishness of either one or both of the characters. The fact that I don't know which of these is the cause is either a minor stroke of genius or a minor annoyance, hence the -1. Being a romantic, I found the film quite wrenching. I recommend it to all who enjoy good acting and being put through the wringer. Some films hurt-so-good, but this one kinda just hurts.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dpoveda02Dec 9, 2019
Magnifico Scarlett Johansson y Adam Driver merecen la nominación y hasta ganar el Oscar por esta película de Noah Baumbach que en dirección es magnifico y guion extraordinario la ame Una verdadera joya de Netflix, Terminando está década
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
asad5566Dec 9, 2019
Great movie with best actors .i love it.
Many stars are same as i wrote about them in my site.
biography
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JamesBurtonDec 9, 2019
One of the greatest films of all time. It is clear to the viewer that the story was very close to Noah Baumbach's heart, and that he directed in meticulously to perfection. The performances by Driver, Johansson, and Dern are incredible withOne of the greatest films of all time. It is clear to the viewer that the story was very close to Noah Baumbach's heart, and that he directed in meticulously to perfection. The performances by Driver, Johansson, and Dern are incredible with all three of them having some of their greatest performances of their careers. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
paulwxsDec 14, 2019
A realidade nua e crua de um divórcio representada com extrema delicadeza. A fotografia é bem simplista, o que faz o espectador emergir no sentimentos dos personagens; brilhantemente interpretados, o filme não seria a obra que é sem ScarlletA realidade nua e crua de um divórcio representada com extrema delicadeza. A fotografia é bem simplista, o que faz o espectador emergir no sentimentos dos personagens; brilhantemente interpretados, o filme não seria a obra que é sem Scarllet e Adam. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jamesdare08Dec 14, 2019
Marriage Story is one of the best films I've seen. It is shot and edited in a different way than most other films which is very refreshing. The acting from Driver and Johansson is absolutely superb. Julie Hagerty brings a lovely change ofMarriage Story is one of the best films I've seen. It is shot and edited in a different way than most other films which is very refreshing. The acting from Driver and Johansson is absolutely superb. Julie Hagerty brings a lovely change of pace to the film with a comedic touch to the otherwise deep and meaningful storyline. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Gustavo2003Dec 16, 2019
Ótimo filme, emocinante. Direção e roteiro do Noah Baumbach impecável, Adam Driver, Scarlett Johansson e Laura Dern arasam nas atuações .Além da trilha sonora muito boa!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Lucas_tJan 4, 2020
This movie is just perfect. If Adam Driver and Scarlett Jonhanson don't win an Oscar for their performances in this movie, I'm going crazy!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
leoterraDec 29, 2019
Marriage Story is a movie that will touch many people around the world. People who have been through difficult separation situations will be very moved by this story. It's an emotional movie, with excellent performances by Scarlett JohanssonMarriage Story is a movie that will touch many people around the world. People who have been through difficult separation situations will be very moved by this story. It's an emotional movie, with excellent performances by Scarlett Johansson and Adam Driver, (both are at their best work in their careers), they deserve an Oscar nomination. Noah Baumbach's direction is quite simple, but at the same time manages to entertain the viewer with the story being told. The cinematography is interesting, the editing work is decent and the soundtrack is very well mounted to the progress of the film. Laura Dern's performance can also be cited, a very good performance and full of emotion, she deserves an Oscar nomination for best supporting actress. Marriage Story has long scenes that further demonstrate the brilliance of the editing and script, which is very well written. In addition, the movie has memorable performances and unforgettable moments, is a great movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Samydubat7Jan 5, 2020
Exellent film porté par des acteurs , actrices et musiques excellentes. Ce film est un chez d'œuvre d'une beauté et d'une justesse rare.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
aliciaherefordJan 10, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A beautifully written film, with dialogue that has the entire audience on the edge of their seat and engrossed completely in the story and the characters. Every scene felt like a piece of art in and of itself, drawing you in and then slapping you in the face with its sheer brilliance. There is no villain or hero and the movie never takes a side. And yet the climax of the movie—that is, the big fight scene—feels more personal and intense than anything. Just, watch this movie. It’s incredible. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
mobiyoo2Jan 10, 2020
I loved this movie with all my heart
I recommend this to everyone Adam and Scarlett's performances are absolutely incredible.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
iLe2Jan 10, 2020
First post ever on is site. I have seen good movies but never have I been this moved to actually want to herald a movie the way I’m doing now. How i wish there was more of what I see. Was awesome and sad at the same time. Awesome in that IFirst post ever on is site. I have seen good movies but never have I been this moved to actually want to herald a movie the way I’m doing now. How i wish there was more of what I see. Was awesome and sad at the same time. Awesome in that I watched a brilliant movie in a very long time; sad that it usually means it’s going to be ages till there is something as brilliant to watch on tv. Pure story and emotion and not a single cliche!!! Thoroughly impressed. Well done from Director right down to cast Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
WAengusDec 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Marriage Story scored an extraordinary 94 on Metacritic and 96 on Rotten Tomatoes. One critic declared it is 'easily the most compelling divorce story since Kramer V Kramer.' I suppose it depends on what you consider compelling. There are plenty of other films about divorce but the one that springs to my mind is Todd Haynes' 2015 film, Carol, impeccably cast, acted and shot. Carol received a 10 minute standing ovation at Cannes that year and scored 95 on Metacritic, just one point more than MS (though Carol is a far superior film in every sense). There are a good deal of curtain-chewing and adult tantrums in MS but these don't disguise the fact that there is very little 'story'. MS is well acted but the characters don't really have much to work with. Their marriage has real problems, certainly, but good grief, what marriage doesn't? Basically, they need to talk more; she needs to be more assertive and he needs to listen and make compromises. Instead, they wind up paying absurd amounts of money for something that could easily have been worked out with more mediation. No doubt this happens all the time, but do we really need to witness the histrionics? Put simply, Marriage Story is mush in the same way that the weakest Woody Allen movies are mush. If you engage with that kind of jump-improv, indulgent, pseudo-self-analysis; if you like watching dewey-eyed, beautiful couples who have an almost perfect relationship talk themselves apart (leaving their oddly untraumatised child apparently saner and happier than either of them) then break out the popcorn and paper hankies. You're in for a treat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
etoppFeb 9, 2020
It's hard to believe that this overlong, meandering and rather dull family "drama" got nominated for Best Picture. Why Adam Driver wants custody of his annoying brat of a son is frankly unbelievable. The less said about the bizarre musicalIt's hard to believe that this overlong, meandering and rather dull family "drama" got nominated for Best Picture. Why Adam Driver wants custody of his annoying brat of a son is frankly unbelievable. The less said about the bizarre musical numbers at the end the better. Avoid Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AndremaxJan 7, 2020
Marriage Story is a sanguine and spontaneous representation of a modern coulpe's life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
92rossDec 23, 2019
While the first twenty minutes were a bit of a struggle I ended up enjoying the rest of the film a lot. There are some incredibly long takes where the main characters acting skills shine through. The movie really shows just how ridiculousWhile the first twenty minutes were a bit of a struggle I ended up enjoying the rest of the film a lot. There are some incredibly long takes where the main characters acting skills shine through. The movie really shows just how ridiculous things are in our world when lawyers get their blood sucking tentacles wrapped around people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
fifi3Jan 16, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The acting in this movie from both Driver and Johannson was superb and deserving of the Oscar nominations they got. It also is thought provoking look into the ugliness of a divorce. Still, I thought the ending was a bit cheesy and lacked nuance. A random change of heart. The character development and relationship dynamic both seemed to fluctuate way too quickly for me, to the point where it was confusing that that would ever happen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rcc10galaxyFeb 16, 2020
Beautiful, sad and emotional. Two of the best performances I have ever seen (Adam Driver and Scarlet Johanson).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CityOfGeekFeb 10, 2020
It took me to Oscar weekend to watch. Late, I know. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to put myself through the no-doubt emotional ringer of Baumbach’s story of the dissolution of a marriage. It was a hard film, but a damned fine one. It had anIt took me to Oscar weekend to watch. Late, I know. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to put myself through the no-doubt emotional ringer of Baumbach’s story of the dissolution of a marriage. It was a hard film, but a damned fine one. It had an honest script that only a few times felt like it wasn’t truly drawn from life – mostly when we get speeches. I think I’m the only one who didn’t care for Laura Dern’s Mary/motherhood speech. Took me out of the naturalness in everything else. Adam Driver and ScarJo where wholly believable. And screw Ray Liotta’s character. That guy ruined everything, as I honestly cared for both of our leads. While I feel the movie is more in Charlie’s side, the film is mostly balanced as not not be good-guy/bad-guy and important as through everything Charlie and Nicole love each other and that’s important. I don’t think it’ll crack my top ten when I update but comes darn close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews