Lionsgate | Release Date: December 9, 2016
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2109 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,792
Mixed:
179
Negative:
138
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Rick-Mar 26, 2020
La La Land is majestic. Simplily, all stuff are perfect, the colors, dialogues, dances, and that final that Damien Chazelle did make in his movie it will be one of the most perfect in this era, like he did in 2014 with whiplash. Clearly aLa La Land is majestic. Simplily, all stuff are perfect, the colors, dialogues, dances, and that final that Damien Chazelle did make in his movie it will be one of the most perfect in this era, like he did in 2014 with whiplash. Clearly a cult movie in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GrachechkovskiMar 1, 2020
Wonderful love story with deep plot and luxury soundtracks,charming background and landscapes. Ruyan and Emma is great couple of actors
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KaustavdekaFeb 22, 2020
La la land is very different kind of a masterpiece. It's so free flowing and doesn't try hard at all. Its main heart are Ryan Gosling and Emma stone themselves and they drive the entire movie. The movie leads up to two amazing expressions andLa la land is very different kind of a masterpiece. It's so free flowing and doesn't try hard at all. Its main heart are Ryan Gosling and Emma stone themselves and they drive the entire movie. The movie leads up to two amazing expressions and eending from the start and will touch (or maybe even pierce your heart). It's a definite must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BornCrowsFeb 20, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The music is so great. Everything is beautiful. The ending made me cry hard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kaslousndFeb 17, 2020
This is the best movie I've ever seen in my entire life. I just love it. It connects with me on the highest levels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
keanexFeb 16, 2020
La La Land is a movie that affected me deeply from start to finish. Vibrant colors, beautiful songs, excellent acting, fantastic cinematography, and top-notch acting are aplenty in this film. The first time I viewed La La Land it took myLa La Land is a movie that affected me deeply from start to finish. Vibrant colors, beautiful songs, excellent acting, fantastic cinematography, and top-notch acting are aplenty in this film. The first time I viewed La La Land it took my breath away, and I don't mean that metaphorically, I literally did not think to breath for at least 10 seconds. I felt that the world had paused, it hit me hard with the brilliant ending sequence. I've since seen La La Land 3 more times and each time it still affects me emotionally, Damien Chazelle has done it again. I had no idea he directed this and Whiplash when I had first seen this, but I was a huge fan of Whiplash as another movie that affected me emotionally. La La Land is a masterpiece and has solidified itself as my favorite movie of all-time. It is beautiful in every capacity, vibrant and boisterous as much as it is melancholy. Thank you Damien for creating this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MalamarJan 24, 2020
La La Land is beautifully constructed with the mind set being how can we make a lovable story that has some modern problems in it but make it a musical. Some of the senses will have your jaw drop. Absolutely beautiful. With amazingLa La Land is beautifully constructed with the mind set being how can we make a lovable story that has some modern problems in it but make it a musical. Some of the senses will have your jaw drop. Absolutely beautiful. With amazing cinematography, score, and acting by Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling this is a must see movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KelvinSelimorJan 16, 2020
La La Land. My favorite and adored movie! The talented Damien Chazelle made a really beautiful picture of love, the desire for a dream and showed that sometimes you have to sacrifice the first to get the second.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheEventsOf1989Jan 10, 2020
"La La Land" does combine Chazelle's fun camerawork with good acting and an interesting musical tone, but it's story doesn't give us enough, and its music feels mostly average. Some of the pivotal moments in the story happen off-screen, and"La La Land" does combine Chazelle's fun camerawork with good acting and an interesting musical tone, but it's story doesn't give us enough, and its music feels mostly average. Some of the pivotal moments in the story happen off-screen, and the rest leaves us mostly unsatisfied, there can be a profound message in a lack of satisfaction, but it's story needs more context. The visuals are well done, the camera feels as though it dances with the characters in every scene, but the story and music leave a lot to be desired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vusal_iskandarOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The characters, the music, the dance, the romance, the view, the chemistry, the story. Worthy showcase! I liked it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MahmusOct 3, 2019
Beautifuly shot, perfectly acted, with great songs, amazing direction and of the best endings in recent years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LucasTSSep 23, 2019
Summary: Mia (Emma Stone), an aspiring actress, serves lattes to movie stars in between auditions, and Sebastian (Ryan Gosling), a dedicated jazz musician, scrapes by playing cocktail piano gigs in dingy bars, but as success mounts they areSummary: Mia (Emma Stone), an aspiring actress, serves lattes to movie stars in between auditions, and Sebastian (Ryan Gosling), a dedicated jazz musician, scrapes by playing cocktail piano gigs in dingy bars, but as success mounts they are faced with decisions that begin to fray the fragile fabric of their love affair, and the dreams they worked so… Expand Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pureoineSep 1, 2019
Emma Stone você é tudo pra mim, entenda isso!!!! ♡
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JPKJul 8, 2019
Absolutely Loved It
La La Land is by far one of the best movies of 2016 in so many ways.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrScallopsJun 19, 2019
"La La Land" is a colorful, stylish and nostalgic musical for the modern era with beautiful musical sequences, top-notch performances and a sympathetic plot.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
JoeCoolMay 22, 2019
I didn't like the story much. It has some good moments but not a lot. What the hell was I watching? Very overrated movie. I put off seeing it as I'm not really into musicals. I had to force myself to watch it all the way through and now II didn't like the story much. It has some good moments but not a lot. What the hell was I watching? Very overrated movie. I put off seeing it as I'm not really into musicals. I had to force myself to watch it all the way through and now I feel worse for having seen it. Universal acclaim, man, your opinion may differ. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
freeKade1kaMay 22, 2019
it looks like the best movie ever. plot, characters, music, dances, atmosphere, operator work, etc. is 10 out of 10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeMay 19, 2019
Gosling and Stone shines and as a result Chazelle marks his name on the wall.

La La Land Chazelle is on a strike. With successive jaw dropping projects coming out, his passion grows more intense and the cinema much larger. Coloring the 70mm
Gosling and Stone shines and as a result Chazelle marks his name on the wall.

La La Land

Chazelle is on a strike. With successive jaw dropping projects coming out, his passion grows more intense and the cinema much larger. Coloring the 70mm screen with rich mesmeric visuals, the director, Damien Chazelle is boasting his love with proper understanding of the Hollywood culture that he so blindingly adores. Not an inch goes by in the film that looks pretentious, working over a year on editing along with Tom Cross, Chazelle wishes you to understand the "if's" and "but's" of this show business in one note. And boy what a note it is. I am sorry but that hooked theme of Justin Hurwitz, whispered in every line of the film always sobers me up.

All hail the production team for carving out this desert as fresh as it looks, from clothes to designing and from locations to set pieces, the view gets better and better and so does the performance. And daunting as this task may sound, but Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling might be the new Woody Allen and Diane Keaton. But unlike them they aren't quirky but are goofy about the relationship and flirty about their first love. If Stone going over the montages of failed auditions is a threat, then Gosling on piano is her equal competitor.

I have always preferred them alone, one is happy being stubborn and intuitive- something that she later on adapts from him- and other being mature and hard on herself. Together, they would fall apart, they are meant to be, no matter how in sync are they while dancing and how pitch perfect are they while singing, their rhythm is too vacuumed by the outer world to float in one room, maybe they should have just stayed in that cinema hall, but despite of claiming it to be a La La Land, this is the reality, they had to get out.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
rubsomebacononiMay 9, 2019
This movie is the perfect mix between an homage to classic musicals and a modern take on film. The 4-season metaphor was remarkably meaningful looking back at the movie. The idea that life happens in seasons is powerful, and that sometimesThis movie is the perfect mix between an homage to classic musicals and a modern take on film. The 4-season metaphor was remarkably meaningful looking back at the movie. The idea that life happens in seasons is powerful, and that sometimes great things come to an end. The cute couple doesn't always end up together.
The music was the best I've ever heard. As I watched the opening scene play before me, I was inspired by their choreography and musical complexity. I was instantly entranced in the mood of the movie. La La Land takes a well-paced approach to the idea of Hollywood and shows the biting realism of life.
Overall, the movie mixes musical and instrumental prowess with skilled performances from Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling to make a film that felt more real than any I've watched before.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianApr 11, 2019
Pretty good musical film with a few good songs and decent acting. Gotta love musicals though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoVn00Mar 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. From the talented director of Whiplash, comes another musical masterpiece: La La Land. This movie is about the romance of aspiring actress Mia (Emma Stone) and Sebastian (Ryan Gosling), they both have great chemistry and they're one of the best movie couples in recent cinema, director Damien Chazelle had the talent to write and develop their relationship really well. As this is a musical, it obviously has many musical numbers throughout the movie and they're all fantastic and serve a purpose to the plot.

The Good:
-The performances are amazing.
-The script, dialogue and character development are great. The chemistry between the main characters is just wonderful.
-The score and music is memorable and beautiful.
-The ending scene is one of the best ending scenes I've seen in a long time and the message it tries to give is sad but true: That sometimes couples need to separate and both go in different ways to accomplish their dreams. It's a lighthearted, depressing yet satisfying ending and it's more tearjerking with the beautiful music, the last shot of the movie is Mia and Seb smiling to each other is an amazing ending, pretty refreshing to see a couple actually not ending together, it makes the ending unpredictable.
-Obviously the rest of the movie is as amazing as that last scene. The musical numbers are memorable, catchy and well choreographed.

The Bad:
-I think the only "bad" or not so good thing is Ryan Gosling's acting as Sebastian. He did a good job but he didn't really shine as much as other actors, specially his in-movie couple Mia (Emma Stone).

La La Land is a masterpiece of a movie, I could watch it over and over and nothing of it will ever get old at least for me.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
yadhukrishnaMar 25, 2019
the best musical comedy I had ever seen
simply outstanding
Emma, Ryan both had done great efforts to made mia and Sebastian alive
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobMar 18, 2019
I'm normally not a fan of musicals but I am a fan of this one. Gosling and Stone do a fantastic job and the journey their characters go through perfectly blends with the music. IMO, This should have won best picture over Moonlight.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LivingTribunalMar 3, 2019
Perfect dream! The music, The camera work, The actors … oh wow. It should have won the Oscar for real.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
dc127Jan 31, 2019
I still don't get why people went crazy over this film. It was . . . fine. The whole end sequence made me angry. They stopped dating because she was going to take a job away for a couple months? It wasn't like she was going there permanently.I still don't get why people went crazy over this film. It was . . . fine. The whole end sequence made me angry. They stopped dating because she was going to take a job away for a couple months? It wasn't like she was going there permanently. They have phones. And planes. He didn't have to give up his job. He could go visit her off and on until the film was done. Instead they just throw in the towel and she ends up with someone else and you get the "might have been sequence." Just give us the happy ending. The bittersweet one was just the director trying to get Oscar bait. It didn't make the movie better. Also in no way did she deserve an Oscar for her performance. It was good, but nothing different than any of her other movies. If anything Ryan was the standout role. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
porkandbeansJan 19, 2019
despite of having praises by movie critics, la la land is that musical film, a film that leave marks to the movie industry. we are all sure this will go down to be a classics because of the amazing performances of emma stone and ryan gosling.despite of having praises by movie critics, la la land is that musical film, a film that leave marks to the movie industry. we are all sure this will go down to be a classics because of the amazing performances of emma stone and ryan gosling. The movie is perfect, truly rare to find, we might heard that this is overrated but remove that kind of point of view— this movie is an absolute gem Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
etheronJan 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mucho mejor de lo esperado. La escena final es demasiado buena, con mas detalles de los que aparentemente tiene. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
BulgarianCriticNov 21, 2018
Holy Molly this was one of the most boring movies i have watched and the worse musical that i have seen in my entire life.Were the people who gave this movie an award blind and deaf?DO NOT WASTE YOUR PRECIOUS TIME ON THIS SNOOZEFEST
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
laltunaNov 13, 2018
The whole movie was made out of rip-offs from other musicals. Very nice topic, not-so-good acting (except Stone) and awful dancing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
harvdog03Nov 7, 2018
Seriously probably the most over hyped, overrated movies I have ever seen. This movie completely fails as a musical. I don't remember any songs or was even compelled to download them. Also Emma Stone's character blah and the ending wasSeriously probably the most over hyped, overrated movies I have ever seen. This movie completely fails as a musical. I don't remember any songs or was even compelled to download them. Also Emma Stone's character blah and the ending was dumb dumb dumb. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ihatelalalandOct 22, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. my friend nicky likes it and i dont, f lFn lanfoanfoailfafafafafafafafafafafa Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
goncalocoutoOct 20, 2018
"La La Land" talvez até não seria o mais adequado filme para ser indicado aos Óscares, mas foi um filme muito bom com uma história bem romântica.
10/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JafetMoraOct 11, 2018
Si si si yo digo que si, es muy very good, si si si yo digo que si.
pene pene pene
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IzagoJun 5, 2018
O melhor filme musical e um dos melhores filmes de todos os tempos, La La Land consegue fazer o que poucos filmes fazem, te prender e te colocar dentro do filme, e como quase nenhum faz, te faz olhar o quão é belo essa obra em todos osO melhor filme musical e um dos melhores filmes de todos os tempos, La La Land consegue fazer o que poucos filmes fazem, te prender e te colocar dentro do filme, e como quase nenhum faz, te faz olhar o quão é belo essa obra em todos os aspectos, atores atuando como se fossem apenas um, ambiente, roteiro, canção, trilha sonora, dança, filmagem tudo é simplismente espetacular, e esse filme mostra como realmente fazemos e pensamos, como poderia ser se é que me entende. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
hornysoulSep 22, 2018
É um filme simples, artístico, puro, talentoso e inteligente. As músicas são incríveis, bem como a história, as personagens, o drama, a fantasia e a teatrialidade envolventes. "La La Land" é muito emotivo, inspirador, romântico e diz-nos queÉ um filme simples, artístico, puro, talentoso e inteligente. As músicas são incríveis, bem como a história, as personagens, o drama, a fantasia e a teatrialidade envolventes. "La La Land" é muito emotivo, inspirador, romântico e diz-nos que nunca devemos desistir dos nossos sonhos. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ClariseSamuelsSep 18, 2018
Film musicals have a long and venerable history in Hollywood, although we see less of them now in this age of skepticism when viewers are slightly less inclined to be seduced by the magic and the illusion of the big screen. Films based onFilm musicals have a long and venerable history in Hollywood, although we see less of them now in this age of skepticism when viewers are slightly less inclined to be seduced by the magic and the illusion of the big screen. Films based on Marvel Comics, which now rule the industry, have succeeded in resurrecting some of that old wizardry that makes the audience forget themselves as they plunge into a make-believe world. Trying to make a magical musical in the twenty-first century that references the classics of the 40’s and 50’s is a risky business, but La-La Land has succeeded in charming its audiences with its song, dance and simple love story of two young people with a dream. Nevertheless, translating what is basically a stagecraft into a musical film is difficult. The forced artificiality of breaking out into song and dance (the phenomenon known as “I feel a song coming on”) is born of the architecture and design of stage and theatre, which is artificial in and of itself. Suspension of disbelief is required for performances limited by the spatial dimensions of the stage, but with live theatre, we are prepared for this practiced tradition of Western civilization going back to ancient Greece (although props and scenery were not invented until after 1600, and the position of scenic designer did not evolve until the 1920’s).


The risk of too much theatrical artificiality is a lurking threat behind this film, but it is to some extent salvaged by the performances of Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling. Their singing voices are so-so but they dazzle when they dance, and Gosling cuts an eloquent profile at any piano. He is the perfect picture of the artist as a young man—romantic, angry, frustrated, a loner who is misunderstood even by the one woman who loves him. From the moment the characters of Mia and Sebastian meet, setbacks, misunderstandings and financial concerns delay and frustrate their relationship until finally it fails. At the end of the film, a fantasy sequence replaying their entire romantic history in an idyllic version of how things might have been is a poetic testament to the harsh realities of life and how it interferes with the hopes and dreams of the individual. For the most part, the two lovers both achieve what they wished for, but the personal price was high. The poignant, old-fashioned nostalgia of the film is enhanced by the musical score, most especially the haunting refrains of the song “City of Stars,” sung by Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GabriperilloSep 5, 2018
this movie is almost perfect, every scene is beautiful great direction and plot. best soundtrack i've ever heard, i love this movie
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
BladeLover2049Aug 18, 2018
A film that provokes falsehood that results in an alienation that in the average viewer will cause happiness, but in some experienced people will achieve a mediatic nervous pulse of which only the symptoms of a presumptuous homage to theA film that provokes falsehood that results in an alienation that in the average viewer will cause happiness, but in some experienced people will achieve a mediatic nervous pulse of which only the symptoms of a presumptuous homage to the cinema will be seen; but that in reality is a Hollywood conquest towards the indie. A masked dictatorship in a homage. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
RidlerJul 14, 2018
No me gustan los musicales, pero para hacer una critica no importan mis gustos personales. Para comenzar la banda sonora es increible las canciones nos cuentan puntos de la trama y no solo eso los colores son vivos y hacen que una escena seNo me gustan los musicales, pero para hacer una critica no importan mis gustos personales. Para comenzar la banda sonora es increible las canciones nos cuentan puntos de la trama y no solo eso los colores son vivos y hacen que una escena se vea genial de verdad los diseños del escenario me gustaron mas que los de avatar. Esta forma de narrativa tambien tiene sus defectos porque si quieres transmitir emociones profundas o tristes no se lograra del todo puesto que el sonido ritmico y el escenario colorido de la pelicula te dira todo los contrario y aunque la iluminacion es bastante buena en otras escenas se pudo mejorar. En el resto de puntos la pelicula es muy simple la trama, el guion y movimiento de camara, se lleva un 11 de 10 en banda sonora y escenarios pero el resto es normal para una pelicula que toma mucha fuerza con lo ya antes mencionado. Es una gran pelicula pero soy de esos que esta de acuerdo con que Moonlight merecio el oscar, me hubiera gustado sentir sensaciones indescriptibles con la musica en La la lan pero falto muy poco ,de verdad casi lo consiguen. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JAVIIS7Jul 4, 2018
Sinceramente, a la hora de ver esta película, no tenía expectativas muy altas, pensé que sería un simple y tonto musical como otros, o incluso que sería una historia patética, pero logró convertirse en una de mis películas favoritas.
Es
Sinceramente, a la hora de ver esta película, no tenía expectativas muy altas, pensé que sería un simple y tonto musical como otros, o incluso que sería una historia patética, pero logró convertirse en una de mis películas favoritas.
Es perfecta por donde se la mire, una historia perfecta, actuaciones increíbles, gran dirección, fotografía, escenario, un guión de lujo, escenas divertidas, canciones muy deleitables, etc.
Una mención especial a la maravillosa Emma Stone, que se luce con su mejor papel hasta la fecha y la verdad, tiene bien merecido el Oscar que ganó
Otra mención especial a la creatividad del director y al cast de la dirección artística, también a los guionistas, quienes crearon una fiesta visual y auditiva.
Sinceramente esta debió ser la ganadora del Oscar en lugar de Moonlight.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
KevinChau5Apr 21, 2018
Must see this film! One of the greatest Musical films ever seen! Awesome performances by Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
manusbyrneApr 7, 2018
La La land is a musical that does not have good songs or a good story. The story follows a women who dream to be an actress but just can't get a movie role and a man who want to open a bar that plays jazz music. the story is not creative orLa La land is a musical that does not have good songs or a good story. The story follows a women who dream to be an actress but just can't get a movie role and a man who want to open a bar that plays jazz music. the story is not creative or interesting it is just so cliched.
the film doesn't know what tone it wants to go for. From the advertising and the trailers, you would think that this was going to be a happy musical but no it's a drama and not a good one. Despite of it being a drama most of the song in the movie is a very happy tone and once the songs are over the movie instantly goes back into a drama. Because of this the songs of the movie feel out of place. Not to say that the song is not good. They are actually very good, City of stars is the best song in the hole film it's well written and it's the only song in the hole film that fits in with the tone of the film.
So what about the drama if that is the main focus of the film. well, it's not only bad but it's stooped. The characters are always going back and forward of happy song and serious drama which just ruins the drama.
This film would just be alright if the ending was not terrible. does not make sense for the characters to do what they did at the end and nothing else makes sense about it.
that's why I give this a 4 out of 10
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
The3AcademySinsAug 5, 2017
If you are a fan of musicals, jazz or old Hollywood at all, La La Land is a must-see. Damien Chazelle knocks it out of the park AGAIN. This movie sweeps you off your feet and leaves a pleasant taste in your mouth. The soundtrack will be stuckIf you are a fan of musicals, jazz or old Hollywood at all, La La Land is a must-see. Damien Chazelle knocks it out of the park AGAIN. This movie sweeps you off your feet and leaves a pleasant taste in your mouth. The soundtrack will be stuck in your head for days after you see it! Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
spencieMar 15, 2018
A fun, charming, romantic, old-fashioned musical with great songs and perfect direction. Damien Chazelle is on his way to becoming a great director. La La Land is a fantastic movie, the performances are so great, the chemistry between EmmaA fun, charming, romantic, old-fashioned musical with great songs and perfect direction. Damien Chazelle is on his way to becoming a great director. La La Land is a fantastic movie, the performances are so great, the chemistry between Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling is great, the dance scenes are some of the best I've ever seen. This is a really great movie, it will go down as a classic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
vinicius96Mar 9, 2018
The greatest masterpiece of this century so far, sustained by Emma Stone's perfect performance
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
SilentTacticianFeb 23, 2018
Fantastic dance scenes and I really enjoyed the song "City of Stars". Liked the ending choice. Everything else is boring and dull.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
DaddyO3Feb 14, 2018
Neither I, my wife, or our kids got into this. We turned it off about half way through.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
kiankFeb 3, 2018
This is one of my favorite films of all time. The music is catchy, the story is very sweet, and the acting/dancing/singing is great. It isn't cliche at all and the the music is so amazing. My favorite songs include Someone in the Crowd,This is one of my favorite films of all time. The music is catchy, the story is very sweet, and the acting/dancing/singing is great. It isn't cliche at all and the the music is so amazing. My favorite songs include Someone in the Crowd, City of Stars, and Another Day of Sun. The ending is intense and unexpected. I also like how they go through the four seasons and Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone's on screen chemistry is amazing. Overall I would give this movie a 10/10! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
tamcwlmmJan 23, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I freaking love this movie from beginning to end. It's such a feel-good movie. When i watched i for a second time, i could sing along with all the songs, which are great as well. Every song stands out. The story is maybe not that Original: girl meets guy, fall in love, be in a relationship, break up. But it was put in another 'jacket' as i would say, which made the movie a whole new experience. Acting is great. You'll be smiling from minute one with the Original intro with 'Another day of sun' sung by a whole bunch of dancers dancing on the freeway. It ends a bit more sad, with the broken up couple looking back to the movie with some happy and sad music.
Great experience, if you didn't liked it the first time, be sure to give it a second try, changes your perspective and gives you a better look at the movie and its characters.
On of my all time favorites for sure.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
auburnnJan 16, 2018
So many references to 1950s and 1960s America. I just couldn't help but crying dreaming of love.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
trustyslothJan 15, 2018
This movie will forever prevale as a timeless classic, which is utterly hard to achieve. Beautiful to look at, the production design is mesmerizing. Beautiful to listen to, the original music is perfect in every way. Beautiful to read to, theThis movie will forever prevale as a timeless classic, which is utterly hard to achieve. Beautiful to look at, the production design is mesmerizing. Beautiful to listen to, the original music is perfect in every way. Beautiful to read to, the screenplay plays a huge part in this. Every bit is better than the last. La La Land achieves everything it once aspired to be and more. Congratulations Chazelle, only few people can make an iconic movie, and even more, form part of the iconic culture. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
luke100Jan 9, 2018
The relationship between the protagonists is fun and engaging, and the final sequence makes up for a huge part of the movie. But I found nothing interesting in the soundtrack, the musical numbers, the themes, the- well, almost nowhere,The relationship between the protagonists is fun and engaging, and the final sequence makes up for a huge part of the movie. But I found nothing interesting in the soundtrack, the musical numbers, the themes, the- well, almost nowhere, really. It just didn't thrill me at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TrailesqueJan 5, 2018
LLL works brilliantly on almost every level and deserves its status as the top movie of 2016. It is not flawless, but it looks and sounds great. Kudos to Damien Chazelle for taking a moribund genre (the Hollywood musical), updating it forLLL works brilliantly on almost every level and deserves its status as the top movie of 2016. It is not flawless, but it looks and sounds great. Kudos to Damien Chazelle for taking a moribund genre (the Hollywood musical), updating it for the 2010s, and giving it new life. Gosling and Stone, who are great together, play a couple of struggling artists (he, a disgruntled jazz musician, and she, an actress) who meet and fall in love. Parts of Los Angeles become key features in the movie and serve as wonderful backdrops for musical numbers. The ending for me is a little unsatisfying, and it left me scratching my head over what really happened between them, which isn't the best way to end a romantic musical - but this is still a lovely ride, and one with no peers that I know of. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
mrharrybeckDec 27, 2017
A musical masterpiece. La La Land is the kind of musical that non-musical fans will fall for.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
nutterjrDec 22, 2017
This year my love and I gathered a couple of dozen people on a warm summer night on the rooftop of a house in one of the beautiful Greek islands and projected the film onto a neighbour's wall we spent all afternoon painting bright white.This year my love and I gathered a couple of dozen people on a warm summer night on the rooftop of a house in one of the beautiful Greek islands and projected the film onto a neighbour's wall we spent all afternoon painting bright white. Any film that makes you want to dance, sing and love out loud is a film worth many re-watches and this re-watch was my favourite one. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JyroJyroSep 27, 2017
Apart from being stupidly cliche, everything is beautifully seamless in La La Land. The emotions flicker through the seasons, the songs skip & drag with the characters mood, and both Gosling & Stone deliver the performance of a lifetime.Apart from being stupidly cliche, everything is beautifully seamless in La La Land. The emotions flicker through the seasons, the songs skip & drag with the characters mood, and both Gosling & Stone deliver the performance of a lifetime. Everything is a metaphor in this silly, soulful throwback to Hollywood's infatuation with hope & desire. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
MiracSpectacDec 19, 2017
La La Land has quickly become one of my favorite movies of all time, if not my favorite. It's full of hope and challenge that is equal and pure to life. It encapsulates real emotion and ambition that I believe many dreamers can really relateLa La Land has quickly become one of my favorite movies of all time, if not my favorite. It's full of hope and challenge that is equal and pure to life. It encapsulates real emotion and ambition that I believe many dreamers can really relate to. All of this is told through a bold story and spellbinding music, making for what I would consider to be a near perfect movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
tiagomacedsDec 17, 2017
Um dos melhores musicais de todos os tempos. Roteiro guiado com ótimas músicas e ótimas interpretações, até quem não é fã de filmes desse gênero pode se encantar com La La Land
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ethanstapleyDec 15, 2017
An absolute masterpiece, grin inducing and tear jerking. Some of the most beautiful imagery ever seen in film and the stunning music that will stick in your head for days after watching. Instantly one of my favourite films and it'll be loved forever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
mrdr4gonDec 15, 2017
Class personified from beginning to end. This film is fantastically realized if a little formulaic. The performances, visuals and direction all come together to help this film rise above other romantic musicals. Great cinema.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Miles_SDec 5, 2017
La La Land is one my favorite movies ever. It includes impeccably choreographed dancing, great songs and an excellent score, along with excellent performances from Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone. Chazelle's direction is very assured and theLa La Land is one my favorite movies ever. It includes impeccably choreographed dancing, great songs and an excellent score, along with excellent performances from Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone. Chazelle's direction is very assured and the movie has excellent cinematography. It's visuals and excellent musical numbers allude to classic musicals with an upbeat, and dream-like tone. The movie can be interpreted in several ways, but for a less discerning viewer the subtle message of being willing to let go with each other to follow your dreams could be missed, if so i recommend a second viewing. Both Mia and Sebastian achieve their dreams but the movie shows a beautiful and heartbreaking montage of what could have been if their relationship was perfect. But the whimsical tone is contrasted with raw emotion and shows the reality of going to L.A. to achieve your dreams. La La Land was the best movie of 2016 and must be seen. I watched La La Land recently, my expectations weren't that high, I was expecting a good movie, but not a masterpiece on the level of this film. La La Land is an instant classic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ali20482Dec 1, 2017
فیلم را سه بار دیدم و موسیقیش را ده ها بار گوش داده ام لذا بیشتر از فیلم موسیقی آن برایم جذاب و گیرا بود اما جدا از شگفت انگیزی موسیقی آن و هماهنگی اعجاب آوری که با صحنه های فیلم داشت موضوع و ساخت فیلم هم خالی از جذابیت نبود یک فیلم موزیکالفیلم را سه بار دیدم و موسیقیش را ده ها بار گوش داده ام لذا بیشتر از فیلم موسیقی آن برایم جذاب و گیرا بود اما جدا از شگفت انگیزی موسیقی آن و هماهنگی اعجاب آوری که با صحنه های فیلم داشت موضوع و ساخت فیلم هم خالی از جذابیت نبود یک فیلم موزیکال خوش ساخت هرچند طولانی ادای دینی خوب به سینما و البته موسیقی جز و در نهایت عشق.
چیزی که بیش از همه در فیلم برایم جذاب بود تصور نویسنده و کارگردان از آرزوها در حالت ذهنی و آرزوها در حالت عینی بود که در بیست دقیقه آخر فیلم به نمایش گذاشته شد با فلش بکی به گذشته
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kergejoustikNov 26, 2017
I have been a big fan of musical films for many years. I recently watched a movie called "La La Land: California Dreams" again. For the first time, I saw this movie in the cinema last year when we went to see it with classmates. The genre ofI have been a big fan of musical films for many years. I recently watched a movie called "La La Land: California Dreams" again. For the first time, I saw this movie in the cinema last year when we went to see it with classmates. The genre of the film is a musical romantic, comedy and drama film, and the film was released on August 31, 2016. The film employ and location is in California. In the same year, the film also nominated for the Oscars.
Actress Mia tries to play a famous play where she wants to take part. She will work in the breakfast cafe otherwise there is a waitress. Because she has a sad mood the same evening, then she will have a restaurant in the evening and a muscian Sebastian, whom she will soon fall in love, will play the piano. The same night, Sebastian was fired from work, as the restaurant manager wanted to put his restaurant around for a band to listen to people. Sebastian goes to work on one of the record labels, and Mia begins to create her own play. The film employ is very fast-moving. At the end of the film, they admit to each other that while they care about each other, they will not be able to live together in the future.
It seemed to me that the film is light-hearted and there were different twists and turns in the film. There were a lot of different details and effects in the film that changed the film´s environment. This film had a big-budget, but it is a world-famous piece of musical.
My opinion about the film is very good, because people dance and sing a lot, and this make the movie a great one. I recommend this movie to people: first, who like musicals and secondly, dream far away from the world.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
POPandreamonetNov 24, 2017
i wish i could live in la la land my whole life. I try to keep away from unpleasant reality to make my life feel like it could feel more bearable for me
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
SrPepeNov 17, 2017
Me sorprendió para ser un musical, muy buenas actuaciones de los protagonistas. Sin embargo, una historia muy predecible, es la típica historia de amor con un final distinto.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
Having waited a year since its original release before I finally saw it meant that I could watch it without the typical Oscars hype that surrounded it. And frankly, I just don't get what the hype was all about.

The story is a somewhat
Having waited a year since its original release before I finally saw it meant that I could watch it without the typical Oscars hype that surrounded it. And frankly, I just don't get what the hype was all about.

The story is a somewhat muddled tale of a struggling actress and a jazz musician who fall in love, though they struggle to keep things together as they chase their dreams. Now, a plain story like this can usually be dressed up in a musical with flashy singing and dancing - neither of which are present here. The songs are repetitive, as it turns out that listening to the exact same chord progression repeated for two hours can become a bit tedious; and Stone and Gosling's "singing-in-the-shower" warbles certainly didn't dazzle this viewer. In fact, their restrained musical performances are an embarassment to the resplendant costumes and sets that surround them.

What's worst, however, is that its potential did shine through. There are two or three dramatic scenes between Stone and Gosling that are so well written and brilliantly acted, they genuinely show up the mediocrity of the rest. It's not a bad film, by any standards, just very painfully and shamefully average.

Finally, I watch enough Strictly Come Dancing to be irked by the poor shaping of Emma Stone's hands during her final musical number with Ryan Gosling. But that's being quite picky, isn't it?
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KalebKohoOct 29, 2017
La La Land is a stunning, gorgeous masterpiece of cinema. It's triumphant from start to finish. With excellent and charismatic performances from Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling, and visionary directing from Damien Chazelle, La La Land is the bestLa La Land is a stunning, gorgeous masterpiece of cinema. It's triumphant from start to finish. With excellent and charismatic performances from Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling, and visionary directing from Damien Chazelle, La La Land is the best picture of 2016. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
NikolayGOct 18, 2017
This movie was a good comfort movie, like a cup of hot chocolate. I was considering a 6 but I give it a low 7, which may be a bit too generous. There was one song that stood out, the one Emma Stone sings at her audition, but the rest wereThis movie was a good comfort movie, like a cup of hot chocolate. I was considering a 6 but I give it a low 7, which may be a bit too generous. There was one song that stood out, the one Emma Stone sings at her audition, but the rest were just OK. The dancing was competent but very unexceptional. This is not Ginger Rodgers and Fred Astaire. The story is average, except that the latter portion skips over a number of years without explanation and tells us nothing of what happened in between. It was rather strange and seemed like a shortcut to end the movie in a way that appeared modern and cynical, as if the writers felt they had to do that since the rest of the movie was so old fashioned. I wish they written a better final act. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
jesusleonOct 16, 2017
Amazing beautiful film, one of the best of last years... If this film doesnt deserve the best film oscar who knowns whats happening inside the academy...
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJOct 16, 2017
If this is not a masterpiece, then i don't know what is. The soundtrack, the plot and the directing were absolutely top notch! I believe its going to be remembered for many decades!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
adamako666Oct 12, 2017
The acting in this film from the two main leads in awesome. The music written by Justin Horowitz is also incredible. The ending scene is heart wrenching and yet strangely beautiful at the same time. Looking forward to more of Chazelles's inThe acting in this film from the two main leads in awesome. The music written by Justin Horowitz is also incredible. The ending scene is heart wrenching and yet strangely beautiful at the same time. Looking forward to more of Chazelles's in the future. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
golforooshOct 6, 2017
this movie was another version of the 500 days of summer movie and there were some better songs and better end ,but i prefer the 500 days of summer because of better story
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
TheWaffleSep 29, 2017
Great characters and direction are wasted in this magical outing for the simple fact that the music is utterly forgettable. For a film so focused on music and theater, it can't manage to pull together any creative effort that breaks the mold.Great characters and direction are wasted in this magical outing for the simple fact that the music is utterly forgettable. For a film so focused on music and theater, it can't manage to pull together any creative effort that breaks the mold. The great musical films have you walking out of the theater with a song in your head that you just can not get out of your mind: Singin' in the Rain, White Christmas, Moulin Rouge's Come What May. None of the songs in La La Land leave any kind of lasting impression. And though Stone and Gosling have good screen presence, it's hard to imagine that there weren't better dancers/singers on offer in LA's sprawling theater scene. Several of the dance scenes and songs seem limited by their talents, and the movie's core message about ambition and creativity would have been much more powerful if the film featured true no-names rather than a highly successful actor and actress. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
JahosafatsSep 17, 2017
I don't understand how this won awards. I was basically hoping is would end from the beginning. The singing and dancing were not that good nor was the story.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
GadlajkAug 24, 2017
This movie is so overrated that I had to run on my PC just to give it a rating it deserves. People are full of **** movie is pretty bland with terrible ending.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
TaborFeb 10, 2017
Damien Chazelle's Ode to Hollywood, "La La Land" is a thin and predictable mega musical. The love between Sebastien and Mia is cliched and overly dramatic as is the score, which has some unforgettable hooks but not much more. Damien ChazelleDamien Chazelle's Ode to Hollywood, "La La Land" is a thin and predictable mega musical. The love between Sebastien and Mia is cliched and overly dramatic as is the score, which has some unforgettable hooks but not much more. Damien Chazelle gives his all into this sweet non substantial flick, and does not get much out of it, as the relationship is going into a direction we've seen before, and the music relies on repitition to convey emotions. Go home and watch "The Broadway Melody" or "West Side Story" instead of this fun but tiring musical epic. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
Markarce1989Aug 21, 2017
La La Land is an extraordinary masterpiece among masterpieces, not only did it pay tribute to the Hollywood's classic musicals which the young generation doesn't give a damn, and the beautiful city of Los Angeles, it also showed a meaningfulLa La Land is an extraordinary masterpiece among masterpieces, not only did it pay tribute to the Hollywood's classic musicals which the young generation doesn't give a damn, and the beautiful city of Los Angeles, it also showed a meaningful lesson that real success in any type of work requires determination, passion, and an absolute crucial, sacrifice, which maybe hasn't been forgotten, but many times overlooked. La La Land, with or without the meaningless awards, definitely earned it place as an incredible movie and an excellent symbol of how the modern film making industry could and should be. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
iamepsAug 16, 2017
Beautiful Story!
The movie gives a lot of sense.
Start with excellent technique, then romantic and stunning scenes, above all the message.
This is a must see!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
thecriticbananaAug 11, 2017
La la land no es ni más ni menos que una obra original por parte del director Damien Chazelle, una película que te lleva tomada de la mano por la mayor parte del drama. Sin embargo, llega a un punto donde se torna un poco aburrido. En si, laLa la land no es ni más ni menos que una obra original por parte del director Damien Chazelle, una película que te lleva tomada de la mano por la mayor parte del drama. Sin embargo, llega a un punto donde se torna un poco aburrido. En si, la película está bien hecha (omitamos los errores, tal como cuando Mía (Emma Stone) se le cae su auricular y Esteban (Ryan Gosling) lo toma). Una película muy peculiar y buena. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
LeZeeJul 30, 2017
They'd crossed each others life while chasing their dreams.

I am not a big fan of modern musical films. So I was not expecting it to be a great or worst. The film opened with a song that I was not happy, because I did not like the verse or
They'd crossed each others life while chasing their dreams.

I am not a big fan of modern musical films. So I was not expecting it to be a great or worst. The film opened with a song that I was not happy, because I did not like the verse or the music. And again to say, the modern timeline does not suit for the musical theme, unless it is a fantasy or an Indian film. The best part of the film was, those song fades away as the film progresses. But I kind of liked the drama/story part and the climax track with the quick flashback (kind of). Till that scene I was considering it an average film, but that one scene changed my stance. So, now I think it is a good film, but winning 6 Oscars, I don't know it deserved that.

Yes, the director is known for making music and musical film, but he has not made many. He's young and so his career. Yep, I loved 'Whiplash'. One of my all time favourite. If that film had won 10 Oscars, I would have not surprised at all. After that flick, the people were anticipating, to exceed that success in this film. As it was received, no doubt for those people it was a different flick, but not for me. Especially if you watch lots of Indian films. By the way the film characters were nice, and so the story, but not the songs.

Gosling and Stone were performed well. The chemistry between them was great. The narration was going decently until the end, which reminded me 'Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya' ending that I was not happy about, yet something different than usual. Sometimes I am okay with cliché than this kind of conclusion, just to bring a change in storytelling. Overall an enjoyable film, most people would love it. Some like me would say it is a decent flick, but there's always a few who would never favour it. Yet worth a watch.

7/10
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
GleefulnessJul 30, 2017
Not as good as Jacques Remy film it rips off. End sequence was good but songs weren't that memorable and story didn't quite work. If you like this, check out Umbrellas of Cherbourg.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
potatoman222Jul 21, 2017
As vezes assistimos a filmes antigos que nos trazem brilho no olhar e ao mesmo tempo nos perguntamos: "Por que não fazem mais filmes assim?" La La Land é sobre isso. Um sentimento saudosista que mescla o melhor da era de ouro de Hollywood,As vezes assistimos a filmes antigos que nos trazem brilho no olhar e ao mesmo tempo nos perguntamos: "Por que não fazem mais filmes assim?" La La Land é sobre isso. Um sentimento saudosista que mescla o melhor da era de ouro de Hollywood, mas sem pesar demais na nostalgia, tornando-o assim, uma espécie de retro-futurista. Mia e Sebastian são dois sonhadores vivendo em Los Angeles. De um lado Mia (Emma Stone) sonha em ser uma atriz famosa, porém em meio a tantos testes, ainda não encontrou seu papel. Já Sebastian (Ryan Gosling) é um jovem apaixonado por Jazz que sonha em ter seu próprio clube, porém sofre com a falta de popularidade do gênero musical. Quando o destino dos dois se cruzam, temos o nosso filme.
La La Land é, a cima de tudo, sobre sonhos. A força de vontade e a paixão que os personagens tem seja pelo Jazz ou pela atuação, inspira o telespectador. Damien Chazelle triunfa ao mesclar elementos do cinema clássico com regalias modernas. A inspiração é clara no longa, mas em nenhum momento o filme se torna nostálgico demais, ele anda com as próprias pernas e cria sua identidade própria. Stone e Gosling já provaram sua perfeita sintonia em filmes como 'Crazy Stupid Love' e 'Gangster Squad' e agora, em sua terceira colaboração, os dois brilham juntos. Emma atua com sutilidade, seus gestos, sua voz, a dança...Tudo contribui para a construção de uma personagem que é ao mesmo tempo doce e atrevida. Stone é o coração de La La Land, ainda mais quando está junta com Gosling, que por sua vez, também não fica para trás. Ryan da vida com mestria para Sebastian, um personagem apaixonado e ao mesmo tempo apaixonante. Em todas as suas cenas juntos, Emma e Ryan conquistam um pouco mais o coração da audiência, suas vozes juntos criam um contraste agridoce que é tão agradável aos ouvidos quanto suas danças tímidas são agradáveis aos olhos. Mesmo não sendo profissionais em dança e canto como Gene Kelly e Debbie Reynolds por exemplo, é visível o esforço dos dois e seus passos acanhados e vozes suaves são mais que suficiente para relevar este pequeno detalhe. Tecnicamente falando, La La Land é irretocável. Chazelle brinca com as cores no longa, sempre podemos observar a presença de uma luz neon refletindo no rosto de um dos protagonistas. O figurino é sempre com cores primas, cores estas que estão sempre presentes na palheta do filme, o figurino é um dos grandes méritos do filme, pois é moderno e ao mesmo tempo retro, assim como diversas coisas no longa. A fotografia também se destaca. As cores vivas do céu contribuem para cenas espetaculares. O compromisso de fazer um trabalho bem executado gera resultados aqui. A explosão de cores, seja no céu ou no figurino gera reação imediata da audiência e ainda é um deleite para os olhos de quem assiste. Como dito a cima, a direção de Damian Chazelle atinge seu ápice aqui. Sua direção é extremamente competente. Logo na cena inicial do longa, vemos uma cena de musical em um engarrafamento onde todos os jovens saem de seus devidos carros e começam a dançar. Toda a cena é filmada em plano sequência com takes abertos e aí temos uma noção da excelência do diretor. La La Land é uma doce carta de amor para a era de ouro de Hollywood. Suas músicas doces e animadas ficam grudadas em sua cabeça e a beleza vista aqui vai muito além dos aspectos técnicos. Simplesmente um filme para ser eternizado.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
davidarandafJul 10, 2017
A full musical experience as we haven't seen it in years, La La Land manages to transmit a wide variety of pure raw emotions, including love, hate, disappointment and most of all, hope. The acting by the marvelous movie couple Emma Stone andA full musical experience as we haven't seen it in years, La La Land manages to transmit a wide variety of pure raw emotions, including love, hate, disappointment and most of all, hope. The acting by the marvelous movie couple Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling is astonishing and helps the audience connect and reflecte their own hopes and dreams in their characters. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
qJun 30, 2017
I finally gave in and rented La La Land from Redbox for $1.59 this evening. As I began to watch it, I kept waiting for it to get started and to develop some semblance of an engaging plot. As I forced myself to continue to watch it in theI finally gave in and rented La La Land from Redbox for $1.59 this evening. As I began to watch it, I kept waiting for it to get started and to develop some semblance of an engaging plot. As I forced myself to continue to watch it in the hope that I eventually would discover the qualities that caused it almost to win the Oscar for best movie, I began to wonder if it would ever end. Honestly, it was just plain weird in the artsy-fartsy sort of way that critics find appealing but many normal moviegoers find off-putting. Compared to the classic musicals of Broadway's heyday, it could not even begin to hold a candle. The one saving grace was the jazz music in the soundtrack, which was of a high quality musically. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
FolderMathJun 25, 2017
I'm a sucker for movies about music and art, so my rating's a bit higher than it probably should be. Ryan Gooooosling is great, and Emma Stone is even greater. Damien Gazelle has outdone himself again. It doesn't end happily (I was afraid itI'm a sucker for movies about music and art, so my rating's a bit higher than it probably should be. Ryan Gooooosling is great, and Emma Stone is even greater. Damien Gazelle has outdone himself again. It doesn't end happily (I was afraid it would), which I enjoyed. It made the movie feel more real, considering that it takes place in Hollywood. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
7
IM-NOT-DEADPOOLJun 24, 2017
Ehhh. I had to give it 7 out of 10. I would give it 9 out of 10,but theres too much purple.You know what I mean.Its too bright too. Just look at all those lights.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
avr50Jun 21, 2017
La La Land deserves the attention that has recieved because it is a movie musical that it´s not based on broadway or something else, but the script even when it´s not based in something, it´s not original. The music numbers and some scenesLa La Land deserves the attention that has recieved because it is a movie musical that it´s not based on broadway or something else, but the script even when it´s not based in something, it´s not original. The music numbers and some scenes are memorable, but when the movie is not given us that, we noticed that we´ve been haunted because of the good music and dance numbers, but the movie itself, it´s boring and predictable. Maybe, even with this problems, at the end you´ll be crying, and it will be deserve of it. At the end, La La Land may be a good movie, just for entertaining. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
BITESCREENJun 21, 2017
Drei Oscars gab es für das intensive Drummer-Drama Whiplash – entsprechend ambitioniert fällt Damien Chazelles nächste Regiearbeit La La Land aus: Zwar immer noch eine Ode an den Jazz, ist das mit Emma Stone und Ryan Gosling prominentDrei Oscars gab es für das intensive Drummer-Drama Whiplash – entsprechend ambitioniert fällt Damien Chazelles nächste Regiearbeit La La Land aus: Zwar immer noch eine Ode an den Jazz, ist das mit Emma Stone und Ryan Gosling prominent besetzte Musical primär eine ultra-opulente Liebesgeschichte vor der glitzernden Kulisse der Hollywood Hills. Hier träumen die Schauspielerin Mia und der Jazzpianist Sebastian gemeinsam vom ganz großen Durchbruch – bis die Realität das trällernde Traumpaar einholt. Eine große Geschichte erzählt Chazelle also eigentlich nicht, dafür ist La La Land eine inszenatorische Wucht: Die kalkuliert-künstlichen Bilder sind betörend wie ein Wes-Anderson-Film, die Sing- und Tanzeinlagen stilsichere Ginger-Rogers-und-Fred-Astaire-Zitate. Außerdem reizt die episodenhafte Erzählweise des durchweg unterhaltsamen Spektakels. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
KiSerinovJun 15, 2017
After watching this film at the Chicago International Film Festival, my original plan was to wait until closer to the film's actual release date to give my thoughts on it. However, after sitting with it for two days, with the images andAfter watching this film at the Chicago International Film Festival, my original plan was to wait until closer to the film's actual release date to give my thoughts on it. However, after sitting with it for two days, with the images and sounds still sweeping through my mind, I cannot help myself. I will be as vague as possible, because I do not want to ruin the experience of seeing it for the first time, but I have to talk about it. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
daviddelnorte23Jun 15, 2017
No creía que iba a ver esta película nunca, pero las buenas críticas y la fama de ser una de las películas del año, levantó mi curiosidad. Creía que iba a quitar la película a la mitad de metraje, pero no. Me encontré con una buena película,No creía que iba a ver esta película nunca, pero las buenas críticas y la fama de ser una de las películas del año, levantó mi curiosidad. Creía que iba a quitar la película a la mitad de metraje, pero no. Me encontré con una buena película, una película simpática para pasar el domingo y al final me gustó. Un grandísimo homenaje al "Hollywood" clásico que, el que la vea lo entenderá.

En cuanto a lo bien escrita que está y la interpretación de sus personajes por parte de E. Stone y Gosling, hace que ni te enteres de las dos horas del filme y te interese la historia. El final es BRILLANTE y de verdad que me encantó porque no me esperaba esa dureza/amargura. Muy bueno.

En definitiva, es una buena película que me gustó, a pesar, que odio el género y por su final y algunas situaciones de los personajes, estuve contento de haberla visto. Mi gusto aparte, es un peliculón en todo. Un 8.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
shoulderoforionJan 22, 2017
It was alright, there were some moments of joy/wonder in this homage to Hollywood golden era musical romantic comedy, but both the romance & comedy fell short. The "what if" montage was devastating. Better than bad, but in no way great.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
10
MightyZLordJun 2, 2017
Although La La Land was released in 2016, I figured "Why not make a quick review?" After all, it was my favorite film from that year, and that's saying something considering I've seen a lot of great movies from 2016.

Anyways, from the
Although La La Land was released in 2016, I figured "Why not make a quick review?" After all, it was my favorite film from that year, and that's saying something considering I've seen a lot of great movies from 2016.

Anyways, from the director who brought you Whiplash, (which right off the bat, basically explains how La La Land was such an amazing film), brings you a musical romance starring Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling as the two main protagonists of this film. And just a quick pointer, the chemistry between these two were terrific! Most scenes from La La Land, especially the epilogue, got me crying like a little A-Hole because of how beautifully this movie was directed! And how on earth could we forget about the soundtrack? Everything about La La Land was remarkable and I have not a single flaw.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
PluutozzMay 29, 2017
Very well crafted movie. Beautifully and thoughtfully shot. Well deserved Oscar for Cinematography. Great acting and music. However for me... it lacked a bit with the story elements. Nothing new there really. At points there were someVery well crafted movie. Beautifully and thoughtfully shot. Well deserved Oscar for Cinematography. Great acting and music. However for me... it lacked a bit with the story elements. Nothing new there really. At points there were some interesting drama but it kept me wishing for more at the end. Good film though, worth a watch. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
Abhishek16May 26, 2017
One of the most pathetic attempts at a musical.tell me damien, how do you go from an epic like Whiplash to a piece of garbage like this **** How almost everyone praises this movie is absolutely beyond me.Here's to hoping another Whiplash isOne of the most pathetic attempts at a musical.tell me damien, how do you go from an epic like Whiplash to a piece of garbage like this **** How almost everyone praises this movie is absolutely beyond me.Here's to hoping another Whiplash is in our way. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
sanyrubMay 24, 2017
I´m clonflicted on this one. I give it an 8 due to its beauty, charm, elegance and the perfect and very surprising cast. Emma Stone fits the role like a glove. She is the film in a way. Ryan Goslin is absolutely perfect in the role too, butI´m clonflicted on this one. I give it an 8 due to its beauty, charm, elegance and the perfect and very surprising cast. Emma Stone fits the role like a glove. She is the film in a way. Ryan Goslin is absolutely perfect in the role too, but he has way less to do in the film. The opening is so fresh and engaging. And I found the last 10 minutes to be perfect too. However, I was not that engaged in the story. Emma´s character is quite unlikeable. And Ryan´s character is cute, but still not engaging enough. For you to be really involved in a film you have to care about what happens. There are also a few moments where I lost the interest and got a little bored. It also had some stereotypes going on. I still give it an 8 for all the effort and the beauty in it, and the acting. I´d feel bad giving a film like this a lower rate. But it didn´t wow me, or move me. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
Rudolf8121997May 22, 2017
A masterpiece musical. Emma Stone is incredible (love "the fools who dream" performance), she deserves an Oscar! Wonderful, want to watch it again and again. Perfection!
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
SquaredRenMay 21, 2017
Hands down to Ryan Gosling & Emma Stones performances, they are deep and excellent on the role on this film. The music aspect is awesome, and that comes from someone who doesn't like musicals either this type of music. The plot overall isHands down to Ryan Gosling & Emma Stones performances, they are deep and excellent on the role on this film. The music aspect is awesome, and that comes from someone who doesn't like musicals either this type of music. The plot overall is good, but some aspects at the beginning felt a little rushed, but the plot ends up been very charming. Summing all up, it's a nice musical, an awesome performance by both actors that will leave you breathless, and a loving story with good music & dancing. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
badgerryan19May 19, 2017
I've been holding off on my top movies of the year list just for this film and Silence and thank god I did. This movie was beautifully made and not one flaw in it. The music was superb and the acting from Gosling and Stone was great asI've been holding off on my top movies of the year list just for this film and Silence and thank god I did. This movie was beautifully made and not one flaw in it. The music was superb and the acting from Gosling and Stone was great as always. The cinematography was fantastic too. I absolutely love the story as well with two young talented people trying to pursue and achieve there dreams. Damien Chazelle's first film Whiplash was superb and thus one surprisingly tops that. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
4
lancekozMay 17, 2017
I really, really can't believe the critical acclaim for this light thing. Sure, the singing is not great, I can deal with that, but also, it just isn't fun! Snipey and dark, with low chemistry. After suffering thru the beginning, I was aI really, really can't believe the critical acclaim for this light thing. Sure, the singing is not great, I can deal with that, but also, it just isn't fun! Snipey and dark, with low chemistry. After suffering thru the beginning, I was a little enthused by the 'pool party' scene, which was finally light, both visually and in mood. But then, it retreated into its marginally directed dirge-y-ness. The wildly over-worked planetarium romance scene looked hokey in this age of great effects... and we are led to believe that two gorgeous adults living in LA are ruminating about a kiss in a way some grade-schoolers might? In fact, that makes me realize, if this film was made based on junior-high students, it may've made a lot more sense. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
AkumaJackMay 16, 2017
The soundtrack is almost perfect. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone aren't good singers by any mean but they fit their role and aren't bad at singing at least. Someone criticised their dancing skills. Idk, didn't pay much attention to that (butThe soundtrack is almost perfect. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone aren't good singers by any mean but they fit their role and aren't bad at singing at least. Someone criticised their dancing skills. Idk, didn't pay much attention to that (but just because i don't like dancing in general). The plot is simple but well told, you get attached to Mia and Sebastian through the movie. There aren't secondary characters worth of noticing.
If you are not nitpicky on their dancind/singing skills this film is a must-see.
Because, i'd like to remark, they are not bad. They are just not that good at it.
They are actors, and they shine when they can play their roles.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews