Lionsgate | Release Date: December 9, 2016
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2110 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,793
Mixed:
179
Negative:
138
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
danielrckstrJan 1, 2017
La La Land strikes the right chord in provoking emotion and thought towards any dreamer's ambition to succeed. The incredible dance sequences and catchy original songs will stay with you as soon as the credits roll. Emma Stone shines in thisLa La Land strikes the right chord in provoking emotion and thought towards any dreamer's ambition to succeed. The incredible dance sequences and catchy original songs will stay with you as soon as the credits roll. Emma Stone shines in this role and Ryan Gosling is charming as well and you grow to like their characters and believe in their chemistry that you root for them to succeed and hurt for when they are struggling. At times you do believe that you're watching a 1950's movie in modern times and it felt great. Definitely watch it! 10/10 Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
MohamedbecksJan 24, 2017
A movie for the dreamers,real movie lovers & for the people who appreciate art. Director/Writer Damien Chazelle is an artist with a beautiful soul. Amazing acting from the amazing duo Ryan Gosling & Emma Stone. It deserves all the nominationA movie for the dreamers,real movie lovers & for the people who appreciate art. Director/Writer Damien Chazelle is an artist with a beautiful soul. Amazing acting from the amazing duo Ryan Gosling & Emma Stone. It deserves all the nomination it got & deserves at least 5 Oscars ! Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
4
finnigan37Dec 26, 2016
The film is beautifully shot and the actors give it their best but in the end it's just kind of boring and unoriginal. Trying so hard for award recognition at the expense of doing something more interesting.
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
10
EliascJan 15, 2017
Without a doubt, 'LA LA Land' is the best film of the year and one of few films I plan on buying when the blu-ray is released. La La Land is an update to those Fred Astaire - Ginger Rodgers movies of the 1930's. Think 'Top Hat' or 'SwingWithout a doubt, 'LA LA Land' is the best film of the year and one of few films I plan on buying when the blu-ray is released. La La Land is an update to those Fred Astaire - Ginger Rodgers movies of the 1930's. Think 'Top Hat' or 'Swing Time'. Wonderful music and songs, great acting against a colorful backdrop of Los Angles locations. The quality of the cinematography, lighting, and set design is simply astonishing well done. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
danlapezoJan 10, 2017
После этого фильма вам дадут. 1200000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000/10.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
DatamariJan 12, 2017
La La Land is simply wonderful. You watch this movie and you just can't help but smile; it's such a heartfelt, sweet and uplifting movie about proving to the naysayers that you CAN do it. Gosling and Stone both play performers who fallLa La Land is simply wonderful. You watch this movie and you just can't help but smile; it's such a heartfelt, sweet and uplifting movie about proving to the naysayers that you CAN do it. Gosling and Stone both play performers who fall helplessly in love with each other, and while their performances aren't anything groundbreaking, it's their chemistry that makes them enjoyable to watch. Keep in mind, this isn't a movie about the struggles of making it in the music or actress business; this movie is meant to show the lighthearted side of life in L.A. The choreography is great, and the music is simply magical, City of Stars in particular is just beautiful. I guess my only real complaint is... well, Gosling can't sing, but that really doesn't matter, because Emma Stone makes up for it. La La Land is a fantastic film about dreams, passion and beauty, and it's by far my favorite film of 2016, and quite possibly one of the best of the decade. If you haven't seen this movie, what are you waiting for? Go experience it. Go dream.

La La Land gets a 10/10.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
9
JustJudyDec 26, 2016
"La La Land" is a thinker. The well put together dancing, singing and conversation interaction is truly a walk through life with support. Music and conversation entwined perfectly. No guns, No bombing, no fires, no cuss words for affect. I"La La Land" is a thinker. The well put together dancing, singing and conversation interaction is truly a walk through life with support. Music and conversation entwined perfectly. No guns, No bombing, no fires, no cuss words for affect. I would see it again." Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
TokyochuchuMar 16, 2017
There are many great movies out there to enjoy. But it's only occasionally that a movie can come along and totally shift your perceptions of a certain genre. La La Land is that movie for me and musicals. I hate musicals. All that unnecessaryThere are many great movies out there to enjoy. But it's only occasionally that a movie can come along and totally shift your perceptions of a certain genre. La La Land is that movie for me and musicals. I hate musicals. All that unnecessary singing and dancing and saccharine sweetness. No thank you. But La La Land legitimately blew my mind out the back of my skull. It takes you up to peaks of dizzy joy but also plunges you down into the abyss of heartbreak. It's an emotional rollercoaster ride of a film and all that unnecessary singing and dancing... I loved every second of it! La La Land is an absolute masterpiece and easily one of the best movies I've seen for a very long time. Plus the soundtrack is incredible! Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
MantisJan 12, 2017
The chemistry between Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone keeps amazing in this movie like no other. It has everything to make it a very enjoyable 2 hours of screen time of laughter, sadness, dancing, romancing, and life. Enjoy it!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
MaggothDec 19, 2016
Rather than being a merely another take on the musical genre, La La Land is a vivid and energetic cinematic experience, crossing borders between melodrama, comedy and coming-of-age story. Utilising near-perfect non-linear narrative, ChazelleRather than being a merely another take on the musical genre, La La Land is a vivid and energetic cinematic experience, crossing borders between melodrama, comedy and coming-of-age story. Utilising near-perfect non-linear narrative, Chazelle managed to create a modern fairytale, steering widely from the tacky, too-much-sugar approach to the subject matter. Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling are top-class and watching and listening to their singing is sheer pleasure. I am convinced that La La Land will turn out to be a masterpiece of the generation, although it so richly finds its inspiration in the classic Hollywood cinema. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
LinttaFlamingoJan 14, 2017
Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone are really giving their all and it shows. Their chemistry and the perfect musical score blended together make La La Land something very special and the whole theater was just jamming lol. The soundtrack is gonna beRyan Gosling and Emma Stone are really giving their all and it shows. Their chemistry and the perfect musical score blended together make La La Land something very special and the whole theater was just jamming lol. The soundtrack is gonna be on repeat for a while. La La Land is an easy recommendation. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Matin032Jan 28, 2017
You know what does "magic"really mean?to put a spell on someone and keep them from living their normal life??that`s what this movie has done to me.spending half of day watching and the other half listening(to soundtrack album)
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
PipeCJan 8, 2017
"La La Land" Is The Supreme Full-Length Feature Film of 2016 & The Most Sublime Musical Movie of The Last Two Centuries

"Whiplash—"winner of three Academy Awards, one Golden Globe, three BAFTAs, among others—was the shrewd introit of a
"La La Land" Is The Supreme Full-Length Feature Film of 2016 & The Most Sublime Musical Movie of The Last Two Centuries

"Whiplash—"winner of three Academy Awards, one Golden Globe, three BAFTAs, among others—was the shrewd introit of a filmmaker who categorically intended to shake superfluous and commercial Hollywood, a gallant American with a transcendent and irreplaceable film intellect which has to be perpetuated, praised and enjoyed in its entirety in these recession times, he is Damien Chazelle. It was the preliminary feature film of three of the most solemn festivals in cinema, now Chazelle manufactures a modern masterpiece that is going to live on perpetually since not exclusively sketches the reviving of a relegated genre out, but runs blindingly and naturally a romantic study aesthetically stunning, tunefully stunning, narratively stunning, and functionally sublime.

"La La Land" is titled the third film led by the director; this has stars Emma Stone, Ryan Gosling and J. K. Simmons—although with an unusual minor character—among its ranks. Several people have pigeonholed it as melodramatic thing with musical taps, nevertheless, the celluloid transcends its own confines, splitting events course within four branches (the four seasons), which accentuates nature of every chapter in the story; however, although we are witnesses visibly of a narrative segmentation, spectators will not take long to apprehend that it is distributed in three fields directed by different genres and themes, what ultimately leads us to say that they are three independent stories correlated each other.

The story relates idealistic couple's adventures who lives in the district where professional disillusions of the planet settle: Hollywood, an arbitrary fable which will split up our divergent players. She yearns to predominate intransigently in the city of dreams; nonetheless, her aspirations are crumbling and dying by the unsuccessful castings and his job as an assistant in a coffee shop into Warner Bros. (an unbearable face to her suffering). On the other hand, he's a pianist who makes shows at weddings and private bars in order to open his own pub, getting his biggest design: protecting and rekindling the jazz exhausted flame. Later, their lives are adventitiously connected after a nocturnal walk in finding their automobiles, which originates a passionate love, overtakes a series of individual troubles. Although each of them obtained whom they loved, the nature of the unexpected will be at risk and the intrinsic of their relationship will keep them to the edge of the cornice, what in Hollywood would signify a death foretold.

It's irrefutable that Chazelle does not perform a neophyte exercise about actions which unfold with sections accompanied by singing and dancing since in his directional debut "Guy and Madeleine on a Park Bench" in addition to run notably his first steps within the matter, also emerged victorious in emulsifying melodrama with dazzling spontaneities. The initial section focuses on setting us in context within the dominant air through choreographic assemblies exuding pure vintage, these performances are honest reminiscences from monumental MGM productions: "Top Hat," "Singin' in the Rain," "The Umbrellas of Cherbourg," "An American in Paris," and more were potential sources for revitalization of classic musicals. "Another Day of Sun" is the attention epicenter and an ineffable and arduous choreographic display takes place along the vehicle bridge, acts recorded in false long takes as if it were Iñárritu. A frantic and exciting prelude, which adjusts the environment where our main leads are going to get along. In the second part grandiose dances ala Broadway drastically lessen and are replaced by sentimental treatment; and what we cannot forget in a film by the director are the symphonic scores which are maintained potent, nevertheless, it provides gradually more preponderance on screen to jazz. This is where the narrative arcs obtained greater strength and Stone's and Gosling's roles shine with profound and authentic performances. After it moves through the crazy musical of the first part and the plausible dramatic affair of the second section, Chazelle concludes with a final flourish with a sudden, indefatigable, agile and the cunning mechanism in the concomitant of the events which transmute narrative in films; It makes you feel as if the tragicomedy would come to an end, but indeed one twist more is coming. Finally, choreographic ensembles break out again, but this time, we have not seen them with the same dynamism and explosiveness, dances are carefully chosen to express story grief. He provided an inspirational greeting with "Whiplash", with "La La Land" consolidates himself as one of the major American filmmakers, permitting Stone's and Gosling's performances and entire components of the celluloid to receive a guaranteed nomination at the Oscars for this love letter to Hollywood cinema.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoJan 24, 2017
"La La Land" was a fantastic film, music, songs, editing, cinematography, history, and performances by Ryan Gosling, and Emma Stone, I liked everything about the film, it would surely be one of the great classics Of cinema, really I loved it.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
amandacostaMar 1, 2017
Simplesmente perfeito, cenas dificílimas em plano sequencia, cores incríveis, ótima direção de arte, perfeito entrosamento entre atores, e a melhor trilha sonora de musical que já ouvi. Além de ser uma perfeita homenagem a Hollywood e aSimplesmente perfeito, cenas dificílimas em plano sequencia, cores incríveis, ótima direção de arte, perfeito entrosamento entre atores, e a melhor trilha sonora de musical que já ouvi. Além de ser uma perfeita homenagem a Hollywood e a vários filmes históricos. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
moviewithmegMar 7, 2017
I love magic. And that’s what I felt when I watch La La Land. Enchanted. There are a lot of complaints about this film, I assume mostly due to the never ending positive buzz it’s gotten. There was even an SNL skit about how widely (andI love magic. And that’s what I felt when I watch La La Land. Enchanted. There are a lot of complaints about this film, I assume mostly due to the never ending positive buzz it’s gotten. There was even an SNL skit about how widely (and overly) loved it is. But I can’t help it. I love Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling, I love a musical, and I love the classic style. You can tell me all day long about how Stone is breathy, Gosling looks at his feet when he dances, I don’t care. I liked the way it made me feel, and I left humming under my breath and dancing up the stairs. I went into the theater for my first viewing in the throes of an existential crisis (which come around every other week). I was immediately invested in the characters and cried for a majority of the second half. A few weeks later, I went in for another show time because I was worried I wasn’t in a stable mental state the first time around. I cried (slightly) less in my second showing, but it still felt as connected. Flat out it was a beautifully shot, exciting, catchy frolic through every young dreamer’s fantasy in LA. 9.8/10 Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
supercocomanApr 3, 2017
is the most big **** i ever seen ......................................................................................................................................................................................................................
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
5
AxeTDec 26, 2016
Yet again the obscene over-praise by jackass critics who join the herd because they are incapable of thinking for themselves! This is why they are critics to begin with. This little movie is fine but sure isn't greatness as reviewers mightYet again the obscene over-praise by jackass critics who join the herd because they are incapable of thinking for themselves! This is why they are critics to begin with. This little movie is fine but sure isn't greatness as reviewers might attempt to make you believe. This is the age we live in. "Grease" was a much better musical. "Swingers" was a wittier and far funnier similar tale of making it in Tinseltown. Yet of course those two movies were not nominated by The Academy. This will be by those sheep because of a sheer decline in standards, and simply because it's a stupid musical. A musical made by a dopey millennial with a dopey millennial sensibility where phony dialogue and dopey millennial slight humor pass for adult reality. This unoriginal film is thin on all important plot and story craft if not on visual style and the maturity of its theme. The leads are a Canadian who wears his watch on the wrong wrist and an actress playing an actress who is not all that attractive. The film does stay with you though which is an important signifier of any truly good movie. However too little and too late in its running time does any sort of poignancy develop astute as that aspect is. Expand
8 of 19 users found this helpful811
All this user's reviews
4
NedRyerson1Jan 21, 2017
La La Land is the new movie of Damien Chazelle, and after Whiplash the expectations are high, although is a musical, so obviously contains flash mobs, everybody singing at the stupidest situation and knowing perfectly the choreography.La La Land is the new movie of Damien Chazelle, and after Whiplash the expectations are high, although is a musical, so obviously contains flash mobs, everybody singing at the stupidest situation and knowing perfectly the choreography. Despite that, like I said before, the director in his previous work demonstrated all his potential, the problem is that in this film there is none of that. The complex protagonist that wants to reach a goal, making a path marked by obsession, that implies rupture of own canons and lot of sacrifice to finally find itself again in perfection, is lost. Here the protagonists are nothing but stereotypes, they are empty, circular, and there is no evolution at all. Also we have zero development of secondary roles, simple plot and predictable conflict. The outcome did surprise me, totally unexpected, but cannot save this mediocre picture. The songs are great and enjoyable, nothing to say about them, the performances are fine too, up to the occasion. This film is made in order that the viewer leaves the theater feeling well, but really is a setup to deceive the weak-minded. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
2
phildogApr 26, 2017
A terrible musical with horrific singing. I mean really, this musical makes GLEE sound good. I mean, dear god. Just Ugh. The main sins of this film include:

1. The obnoxious and distracting camera work. They try and look clever with all
A terrible musical with horrific singing. I mean really, this musical makes GLEE sound good. I mean, dear god. Just Ugh. The main sins of this film include:

1. The obnoxious and distracting camera work. They try and look clever with all these contentious shots. The issue is that ruins the pacing of each scene since it leaves no room for properly edited cuts.

2. The music, the singing and sound mixing are all atrocious. "Another Day of Sun" is possibly one of the single worst opening numbers I've witnessed. And I say witnessed, not heard, because you can't hear a damn thing. The music sounds like what you'd hear in an elevator. Competent but boring. The singing is the same, but none of the few decent singers this movie has can harmonise properly. It's hard to notice that problem though, when you can't hear them over the damn music. 3. Yeah... The "white guy trying to save Jazz" is problematic as hell. It's like how in RENT all the white people are being gentrified out of their neighbourhood by a black guy... Like, are you freaking kidding me? It doesn't bother me that much, but it's an issue.

Look, if you like this. Hey, that's great and.. No, I can't do this. Like, if you enjoyed this, I genuinely feel sorry you haven't been exposed to better musicals. I mean go look up Hairspray's opening on youtube. That's a song about Baltimore, yet it sounds more inviting than LA. Or go watch "Singing in the Rain". Sit down and listen to some of the musical numbers from Wicked or Hamilton or The Book of Mormon. Hell, if you're rich enough go see them while you still can.

There is a world of far, far, faaaaaaaar superior musicals out there for you to enjoy. La La Land is an insult to them all.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
psyberdelicApr 26, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good Not Great... Overrated. This film is OK but really uneven in tone, writing and acting. It starts off fine but by the time the leads get into a really stupid fight when Mia questions whether Sebastian is following his dream but he seems to be doing fine. They break up, he talks her into one last audition, which, of course, is her giant break. Five years get jumped with no explanation or back story and then we get treated to two different endings. Neither of which is satisfying. Maybe it was supposed to be clever but I found it really annoying and it spoiled the parts that were OK. I would call it a Hollywood Musical Light. Doesn't compare to the best (West Side Story, Seven Brides For Seven Brothers, Singin' In The Rain, etc.) Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Daniel17Apr 18, 2017
La La Land is a pure cinematic musical experience. It's one of the best musical films since Mary Poppins. All thanks to its charming story, likeable characters, brilliant acting including the performances of Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone,La La Land is a pure cinematic musical experience. It's one of the best musical films since Mary Poppins. All thanks to its charming story, likeable characters, brilliant acting including the performances of Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone, excellent cinematography, unique production designs and unforgettable songs. You should all go and see this movie. It's worth a watch. You'll have no regrets. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
toadvinesJan 19, 2017
This made a refreshing change from the usual sort of stuff I watch. I thought it could have been a heck of a lot better though – the song and dance routines were a bit bland and uninspiring if you ask me. The choreography in the openingThis made a refreshing change from the usual sort of stuff I watch. I thought it could have been a heck of a lot better though – the song and dance routines were a bit bland and uninspiring if you ask me. The choreography in the opening number seemed a bit ‘loose’. I’m not sure if this was intentional or not. The songs were….okay….it’s hard to really know after one listen. I have been humming the ‘City of Stars’ song all day though. Gosling and Stone are delightful. They really carry the film. Emma Stone is the best young actress around and she has a lovely singing voice. However the acting from John Legend is diabolical. He really is terrible every time he speaks. I don’t know why they gave him a speaking part in this film. But overall, I enjoyed my time with this movie and this would encourage me to go and see more musicals. I think musicals work much better in the movie theatre than at home. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
MSeguraUsuaFeb 26, 2017
This is not a romance. This is not a drama. This is not a musical. This is maybe one dream that I cannot make true. I agree, what a waste of lovely night. Here is to the fools who dream.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
2
Em_musicianFeb 27, 2017
I didn't know it was a musical going in, but that shouldn't have mattered. I love musicals. They just need to have great singers, dancers, and music. This one didn't. To be fair, I didn't watch the entire film. I couldn't sit through theI didn't know it was a musical going in, but that shouldn't have mattered. I love musicals. They just need to have great singers, dancers, and music. This one didn't. To be fair, I didn't watch the entire film. I couldn't sit through the whole thing. I didn't care about the characters, and I couldn't tolerate the musical performances. Did anyone leave the theater whistling one of the tunes? No, not memorable enough. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
Gerek verdiği aşk duygusu, gerekse müzikleri için bile bu film izlenir. Aşk duygusunu hissederken müzikler eşliğinde büyülendim. Normalde müzikal sevmeyen biri olarak, kesinlikle bu filmi izleyin diyorum.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
tthungMar 8, 2017
Doubtless, the cinematography, the plot, the score and songs cooperate well to deliver a beautiful, but heartbreaking story. Play the good actors and actresses, the characters lead us to feel their ambition and enthusiasm of being a big starDoubtless, the cinematography, the plot, the score and songs cooperate well to deliver a beautiful, but heartbreaking story. Play the good actors and actresses, the characters lead us to feel their ambition and enthusiasm of being a big star and a jazz player. This recounts the dying genre of jazz and the remote dream of a number of dreamer who hopes to live inside the screen, more importantly, it shows what arts truly are, and bring a new, refreshing movies that is rare nowadays. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
woodlandspiritsApr 17, 2017
This movie is a cliche with a wonderful soundtrack that moved me a lot, moreover, it makes a beautiful homage to the old/classic movies that we both love!
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
CalumRhysUKApr 9, 2017
Do I like musicals? Not really... but damn, 'La La Land' is a nostalgic, colourful, joyful marvel!

Damien Chazelle gained international acclaim and recognition from his masterful drama 'Whiplash', what were the chances that he could pull off
Do I like musicals? Not really... but damn, 'La La Land' is a nostalgic, colourful, joyful marvel!

Damien Chazelle gained international acclaim and recognition from his masterful drama 'Whiplash', what were the chances that he could pull off similar success two times in the row? Well, if 'La La Land' is anything to go by, then I'd say he did the job. With just three films under his belt as of 2016, Chazelle is slowly becoming the next big thing this movie industry has seen. His passion for classic movies and musicals is evident as he references and pulls influence from films like 'Singin' in the Rain', 'The Umbrellas of Cherborg' and even 'Rebel Without a Cause', the latter of which is one of my favourite films so seeing the nod to it was something I was pleased about.

The chemistry between Gosling and Stone is strong to say the least, after two previous collaborations, their already-strong bond helped them become one of modern-day cinema's finest couples. The music is bouncy and toe-tapping catchy, the cinematography is utterly stunning with gorgeous colours and impressive long takes, and the locations sum up the American dream and the passion the characters hold for Los Angeles. 'La La Land' is by far one of the finest cinema experiences I have had in the past 5-10 years, and although this isn't a film I would typically enjoy (genre-wise), Chazelle has instead crafted one of my favourite films of this decade. A film I would recommend everyone see in the cinema to truly witness the CinemaScope magic.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
GleefulnessJul 30, 2017
Not as good as Jacques Remy film it rips off. End sequence was good but songs weren't that memorable and story didn't quite work. If you like this, check out Umbrellas of Cherbourg.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
Markarce1989Aug 21, 2017
La La Land is an extraordinary masterpiece among masterpieces, not only did it pay tribute to the Hollywood's classic musicals which the young generation doesn't give a damn, and the beautiful city of Los Angeles, it also showed a meaningfulLa La Land is an extraordinary masterpiece among masterpieces, not only did it pay tribute to the Hollywood's classic musicals which the young generation doesn't give a damn, and the beautiful city of Los Angeles, it also showed a meaningful lesson that real success in any type of work requires determination, passion, and an absolute crucial, sacrifice, which maybe hasn't been forgotten, but many times overlooked. La La Land, with or without the meaningless awards, definitely earned it place as an incredible movie and an excellent symbol of how the modern film making industry could and should be. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
GreatMartinDec 30, 2016
I LOVE jazz, love stores and Hollywood musical movies so why is my reaction to "La La Land", which right now seems to be the one to beat for the Best Movie Oscar and Golden Globe, so blah? Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone have chemistry as theI LOVE jazz, love stores and Hollywood musical movies so why is my reaction to "La La Land", which right now seems to be the one to beat for the Best Movie Oscar and Golden Globe, so blah? Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone have chemistry as the lovers from the boy meets girl, boy loves girl, boy loses girl in the acting department but are sorely lacking in the singing and dancing department though Gosling acquits himself in piano playing.

Everything you read, including comments by the director and screenwriter Damien Chazelle, has remarks about it being a salute to old Hollywood movies and to Gene Kelly, Fred Astaire, Cyd Charisse, Judy Garland but,with no disrespect, unless this was a take-off of all mentioned, and even if Charisse's voice was dubbed, "La La Land" fails miserably. I have seen some talk about it saluting Jacques Demy and Michel Legrand's movies "The Umbrellas of Cherbourg" and "The young Girls of Rochefort" which it does in some departments such as the production design by David Wasco and the costume designs by Mary Zophres. Regarding the choreography by Mandy Moore the opening is really a winner but in other scenes she is let down by Stone and Gosling who just don't have it when it comes to doing the steps she has for them. There is one scene where they are dancing in the stars, at the Griffith Observatory planetarium after watching the James Dean movie "Rebel Without a Cause", that is more special effects than dancing.

The music by Justin Hurwitz with lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul sort of get lost except for the jazz music which comes across strong, melodic. The love theme lyrics are still somewhat a mystery to me though it is sung and played a few times.

The climax lasting about twenty minutes, a recap of what has taken place for the first 100 minutes, jell everything together but, for me, it was too late.I think I would have been much happier and appreciated the movie, Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone just seeing that section.

J.K. Simmons, who was in Chazells's "Whiplash" and won an Oscar for his role does a brief cameo here while John Legend does an extended one, neither adding or taking away from the movie.

The bottom line is that "La La Land", for me, was not worth the time though I am sure I am in a very small minority. It might have helped if I hadn't seen the Broadway version of "An American In Paris" in Miami this past Tuesday where the leads were amazing dancers and strong singers.

P.S. When will the fad of young actors wearing that 5 o'clock shadow stubble on their faces end? ARGH!!
Expand
11 of 28 users found this helpful1117
All this user's reviews
0
LisqJan 26, 2017
I DONT UNDERSTAND THAT! This movie is BORING. It is just a crap. It is a bad movie. The plot doesn't have any sense, the graphic/effects are POOR. Stone's smiles and eyes are ugly, but she's a decent actress. Gosling is a BAD actor, he hasI DONT UNDERSTAND THAT! This movie is BORING. It is just a crap. It is a bad movie. The plot doesn't have any sense, the graphic/effects are POOR. Stone's smiles and eyes are ugly, but she's a decent actress. Gosling is a BAD actor, he has one smile on his face during the entire movie, a smile of a poor dog. They sing only few songs and they don't even "sing". Stone moans, Gosling mumbles. The plot is cut into few pieces, the dialogues are **** the plot is boring and bad. There's been 10000 of similar plots - they met and hate each other, then they fall in love, then they break up just to come back again. Boring. I can't believe it receives golden globes, I can't believe Gosling and Stone won for "best actors". It's pathetic.If you want to see it - please DON'T. Expand
9 of 24 users found this helpful915
All this user's reviews
8
kathytreeceDec 30, 2016
How nice to see singing and dancing from our favorite young movie stars. Nice humor and romance. The story was confusing at times, but that is overshadowed by the wonderful music and dancing.
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
6
ShowPonyDec 17, 2016
B- Literally most overrated movie in film history. Expected 2nd coming of "Citizen Kane." Unfortunately, it's the "Hairspray Live" of movies. Technical perfection can't help paper thin script, ridiculous opening "traffic" dance mess (noteB- Literally most overrated movie in film history. Expected 2nd coming of "Citizen Kane." Unfortunately, it's the "Hairspray Live" of movies. Technical perfection can't help paper thin script, ridiculous opening "traffic" dance mess (note to directors & producers: if traffic is stopped on the on ramp, edit free flowing traffic on freeway out of scene - duh!). Gosling & Stone are amazing but chemistry is more brother-sister than smoldering passion. John Legend is awful. Thankfully brilliant final 10 minutes elevates movie to a B- from a barely average C. Expand
10 of 28 users found this helpful1018
All this user's reviews
2
subseqJan 14, 2017
My wife and I went to see this on a date night last Saturday, and was wowed by the opening scene, the wild and fun dance number on the overpass. Wonderful! Then the movie went right into the crapper. The instant the Emma Stone characterMy wife and I went to see this on a date night last Saturday, and was wowed by the opening scene, the wild and fun dance number on the overpass. Wonderful! Then the movie went right into the crapper. The instant the Emma Stone character flipped off the Ryan Gosling character from her car it was done. The rest of the movie was just as awful. And the next day this film went on to set a record for most Golden Globe awards. Who are these people who think this dreck is anything? It is another in a long line of pathetically pointless postmodern films, it has no direction, no depth, no dramatic tension, nothing to draw you into the story or the characters. Ryan Gosling's an okay actor (I liked him in Lars and the Real Girl and The Big Short) and Emma Stone's a poor one - she's just trying too hard and it was difficult to watch. What was this movie trying to be? A musical? A fantasy? A love story, comedy, drama??? Today's reigning postmodernism allows filmmakers to feel they can string a bunch of vacuous scenes together that appear to have some artistic novelty and think it's quality work. What is most scary is that Millennials eat this up. "Oh that part is so unique and special and it personally speaks to me because I myself have no direction or meaning in my life!" I see it in young adults' eyes everywhere. "There is no truth, I can make my own world, nobody can tell me what to do. And we can dance and sing to it!" Neither Gosling or Stone did those things very well, and the music was dreadful. It was agony to sit through this narcissistic adulation of nothingness. It got two Metacritic rating points here simply because of the first number. Expand
7 of 20 users found this helpful713
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantDec 24, 2016
It's been said "They don't make musicals like this any more," and hopefully they won't in the future, either. Director Damien Chazelle's big budget overlong, cliched production provides a showcase for his potentially stellar filmmakingIt's been said "They don't make musicals like this any more," and hopefully they won't in the future, either. Director Damien Chazelle's big budget overlong, cliched production provides a showcase for his potentially stellar filmmaking abilities, but its largely forgettable soundtrack, plodding pacing and lack of viewer emotional engagement doom it to unending mediocrity that will likely have you checking your watch in anticipation of its long-awaited conclusion (as it did with me). Granted, the film is technically brilliant and nice to look at and features fine performances, singing and dancing. But its unoriginal story line, all-too-obvious thematic elements, underwhelming humor and inability to get viewers to feel much of anything for its protagonists undermine whatever goodwill is earned by its few strengths. This one's a reach that tries way too hard and never really satisfies. Expand
7 of 20 users found this helpful713
All this user's reviews
6
endaugustDec 22, 2016
Didn't live up to the hype. A tribute or a gimmick? Hard to tell sometimes. The love story is shallow and thus all the rendered emotions feel artificial and pushed. Emma Stone is quite lovable and her acting is note perfect. Ryan Gosling is miscast.
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
5
pdw123Dec 30, 2016
Hollywood reflexive films have been done before, and please see the master named Woody Allen, to the viewers here, if you yet haven't--he was the master who did it the best. I agree with the other reviewer here saying that these days withHollywood reflexive films have been done before, and please see the master named Woody Allen, to the viewers here, if you yet haven't--he was the master who did it the best. I agree with the other reviewer here saying that these days with Kael and Ebert gone, you now have the AA sycophant reviewers giving stuff a pass, and "the Artist" and "Birdman" are simply prime examples, couldn't have said it better.

Chazelle's second film is simply not up to par with his brilliant work that absolutely floored me, "Whiplash". That work was totally original, inspired by personal experience obviously, and held my attention like I was sitting on a pin cushion throughout, and with a dramatic climax like none seen before. It is an amazing piece of work and needs to be listed under "great" films, and there's also NO comparison whatsoever between the JK Simmons performance in it (beyond brilliant) TO this current film--a mediocre bit part.

Gosling and Stone are multi-talented, I'll give them that, but Stone is overall a better actor, and Gosling came off too plastic and contrived throughout this. While there are a couple of belly laughs maybe worth 1/3 the price of admission, the overall film had me looking at the time and just dragged on and on waiting for it to end finally.

I thought given the fact that Chazelle was a "jazzer" with Gosling trying to transcribe the car radio piece in the first scene, that I would be in for an original treat. However, the bane of Hollywood trying to market films to too many interest groups e.g. Is it a reflexive film, a musical, a jazz film?? It was just trying to be too many things at once without a coherent vision, so better luck next time Damien, and I can't recommend it overall, and the 94 rating is just way way overhyped.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
9
DirigiblePulpJan 31, 2017
The perfect amalgamation of Hollywood past and present. The slow transition from the wistful allure of dreams to the tangible pop of reality. The music and the songs are instant classic (by the second viewing it felt like coming home they fitThe perfect amalgamation of Hollywood past and present. The slow transition from the wistful allure of dreams to the tangible pop of reality. The music and the songs are instant classic (by the second viewing it felt like coming home they fit so snugly and felt so right).

What's equally amazing is the character work, the re-molding of archetypes. How neither is an answer so much as a piece of a bigger puzzle. Seb's passion and devotion are his own undoing. He gets what he wants but he also is let down in nearly every other facet of his life. He doesn't "save" jazz. John Legend's Keith saves jazz (or at least starts to) and gets the best speech in the film when he tells Seb that he's too traditional and that jazz is about the future. But that's because Seb is selfish and he only cares about what he wants, at least insofar as it pertains to his dreams. He changes for Mia, but also realizes he has to let her go. Ironically this unselfish act leaves him alone. His passion, which we normally prize so much in films like this, doesn't make him big or famous, but instead leaves him small and alone. His type, the classic bold and passionate man with a dream who can't be stopped type, isn't real. But as an example to others it does (much like a good musical on our lives, more on that in a bit).

Mia in her empathy, grace and selflessness attains her dream and makes a family. Yet she doesn't have the person who helped her achieve all this. She tells Seb that his passion will become other people's if he believes in it enough, but it's his passion for pursuing A dream that affects her and causes her to write her play and sing a song and nail her audition. Her sensitivity is what makes her strong, a conduit for passions on screen and off.

What this movie could be suggesting, much like Whiplash's carefully constructed ideology about the costs and sacrifices of pursuing a dream, is that everyone needs a push. A push in the direction that you may not be capable of on your own. Mia developing a backbone, believing in herself because Seb does. Seb dropping his stubbornness and pride so that he can make money playing for a real gig so that he can open his club later. And that this is in effect the true beauty and romance of our lives. What the epilogue suggests is not "what could have been", so much as "what could never be." Life is a beautiful breathtaking musical of love and passion and romance and adventure, even if it doesn't end up how you think and doesn't follow a tightly scripted path. If you spend too much time worrying about why your life isn't a Hollywood fairy tale romance, you will miss out on the musicality and the truth of the present. Classic musicals are a state of mind not a state of being.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
chrisvbFeb 27, 2017
Wow, I knew this movie would be pretentious, but i thought it would at least be interesting. I was wrong. I actually fell asleep in the theater, the first time I've ever done that.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
ZybaneFeb 25, 2017
This movie was absolutely terrible. I took a date to see it as she wanted to see it (of course), I was bored out of my mind. The movie had absolutely no substance.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
Jess_HillJan 2, 2017
There are some delightful sequences here in what should have been a wonderfully serendipitous film, but sadly the overall experience is lacklustre. Stone and Gosling make magic on occasion, but both have singing voices which aren't suited toThere are some delightful sequences here in what should have been a wonderfully serendipitous film, but sadly the overall experience is lacklustre. Stone and Gosling make magic on occasion, but both have singing voices which aren't suited to a musical, and whilst their performances are polished, they're not good enough to save the storyline from fading into mediocrity. The cinematography again has a few shining moments, but these are hampered by intermittent framing issues, producing blurred or confused compositions which detract from what are some magnificent sets. Finally, the score which is of the highest importance in a musical is adequate throughout, with a few moments of exquisite crafting that ultimately and disappointingly fail to elevate this film to the soaring heights which I expected. 6.97/10 Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
GadlajkAug 24, 2017
This movie is so overrated that I had to run on my PC just to give it a rating it deserves. People are full of **** movie is pretty bland with terrible ending.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
TheWaffleSep 29, 2017
Great characters and direction are wasted in this magical outing for the simple fact that the music is utterly forgettable. For a film so focused on music and theater, it can't manage to pull together any creative effort that breaks the mold.Great characters and direction are wasted in this magical outing for the simple fact that the music is utterly forgettable. For a film so focused on music and theater, it can't manage to pull together any creative effort that breaks the mold. The great musical films have you walking out of the theater with a song in your head that you just can not get out of your mind: Singin' in the Rain, White Christmas, Moulin Rouge's Come What May. None of the songs in La La Land leave any kind of lasting impression. And though Stone and Gosling have good screen presence, it's hard to imagine that there weren't better dancers/singers on offer in LA's sprawling theater scene. Several of the dance scenes and songs seem limited by their talents, and the movie's core message about ambition and creativity would have been much more powerful if the film featured true no-names rather than a highly successful actor and actress. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
Spike21Apr 24, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. La La Land, not quite my tempo.

In general, I do not enjoy musicals, so I kept my expectations as low as possible before viewing this one.

I do not think I have ever been more bored in my life, and I have literally watched paint dry. I cared a little about Sebastian, because he was devoted in jazz, even in some weird way, but not at all about Mia, who wanted to become an actress but had not even watched "Rebel Without a Cause" and did not convince in any other way during the movie about her devotion in acting (e.g., saying something about her favorite scene or actress and how that made her feel, we just see her going through terrible auditions).

Someway along the movie we get our scheduled love-fight, meant to temporarily separate the couple, so that the plot can move on. The way the fight escalates is laughable. At this point I realized that the script might have been written by an AI and not a human being. But, anyway, Sebastian makes it up for her, and the couple is about to reunite, but they put their relationship in a pause in order for them to pursue their dreams. That is logical. It turns out that Mia meets someone else, marries him, and has a child. That is also logical and can happen in real life. What is not logical is the fact that they have not kept in touch during all those years and act all surprised when they meet by chance again after 5 years. Doesn't technology exist in this movie? Phone calls? E-mails? Airplanes? I would have fought nail and tooth to reunite with my loved one, and if failed, put some closure, within months, at most. This is so stupid!
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
TheGamerKnightMar 16, 2017
Presenting the most overrated movie anyone ever saw, Moonlight. Wait, hold on...La La Land. (See what I did there?)

La La Land is boring. It's incredibly dull, the plot seemed a little obvious, the music isn't even that good...it's overrated
Presenting the most overrated movie anyone ever saw, Moonlight. Wait, hold on...La La Land. (See what I did there?)

La La Land is boring. It's incredibly dull, the plot seemed a little obvious, the music isn't even that good...it's overrated as hell.

But hey, at least the performances are pretty good.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
maiyagygeryMar 9, 2017
La La Land is a Hollywood version of a Bollywood movie.
Too much singing, too much dancing, the plot is common, nothing special except the jazz music.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
lexymonApr 28, 2017
Omg, I just could not continue to watch it. I think it has been a looooong time since I've seen something that boring, uninteresting and just bad. Can't believe that movie was critically acclaimed almost everywhere. What's wrong with those people?
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
shoulderoforionJan 22, 2017
It was alright, there were some moments of joy/wonder in this homage to Hollywood golden era musical romantic comedy, but both the romance & comedy fell short. The "what if" montage was devastating. Better than bad, but in no way great.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
0
perlmaneDec 26, 2016
How can you make a musical where the stars can't sing or dance? This movie is made for people who want to be "stars". Other than the Jazz, the rest of the music is uninspired. Other movies are much better to see than this one. Horrible.
13 of 44 users found this helpful1331
All this user's reviews
0
lilkillpappyApr 18, 2017
Most overrated film in history. A musical with actors that can't sing or dance? A story that is flat and shallow. Music that is cringe worthy. This film has zero value, and I really like musicals, so don't even think I'm some hater.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksDec 30, 2016
Beautiful and mesmerizing. La La Land is what a modern musical should be; fun, colourful, dramatic and full of real life humanity. The third act starts to feel predictable and strained (like a real life musical), but luckily is saved by itsBeautiful and mesmerizing. La La Land is what a modern musical should be; fun, colourful, dramatic and full of real life humanity. The third act starts to feel predictable and strained (like a real life musical), but luckily is saved by its tremendous cast. Ryan Gosling becomes more of a heartthrob than he could have in "The Notebook" and Emma Stone's goofy heroine is just plain adorable. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
5
EludiumQ36Apr 26, 2017
Giving it a 5 is generous, mainly because of its casting and production values. But I called ToD on this 40-mins in. Its attempt at being a 50s or 60s musical about actors' lives was an epic fail and will only be of interest to those with anGiving it a 5 is generous, mainly because of its casting and production values. But I called ToD on this 40-mins in. Its attempt at being a 50s or 60s musical about actors' lives was an epic fail and will only be of interest to those with an LA zip code. This is NOT a mainstream film, but it'll be praised out the wazoo by those that, um, service the acting class and that's why you see a nearly 100% positive Critics' reviews here. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
TaborFeb 10, 2017
Damien Chazelle's Ode to Hollywood, "La La Land" is a thin and predictable mega musical. The love between Sebastien and Mia is cliched and overly dramatic as is the score, which has some unforgettable hooks but not much more. Damien ChazelleDamien Chazelle's Ode to Hollywood, "La La Land" is a thin and predictable mega musical. The love between Sebastien and Mia is cliched and overly dramatic as is the score, which has some unforgettable hooks but not much more. Damien Chazelle gives his all into this sweet non substantial flick, and does not get much out of it, as the relationship is going into a direction we've seen before, and the music relies on repitition to convey emotions. Go home and watch "The Broadway Melody" or "West Side Story" instead of this fun but tiring musical epic. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
7
IM-NOT-DEADPOOLJun 24, 2017
Ehhh. I had to give it 7 out of 10. I would give it 9 out of 10,but theres too much purple.You know what I mean.Its too bright too. Just look at all those lights.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
ALisandeDec 30, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've never walked out of a movie so unsure whether I liked it or not, and I can't explain why; the acting was decent (though the singing and dancing, not so much), and the story, while cliched, was ok. And the ending frustrated me. Maybe I'm just weird this way, but if I'd gone off to Paris to shoot a movie, I would have kept in touch with someone who had inspired me to reach my dreams, instead of haphazardly bumping into them 5 years later with no contact in the meantime. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
0
AnikyMar 21, 2017
Only music and dancing. Script missing. I don't like jazz, but i will talk to a random guy that was playing jazz on piano. Not predictable ending, just random scenes.
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
0
JMalikFeb 8, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the most OVERRATED FILM in the recorded history. GODAMNITT!! It is just pure BORINGG minutes of slowly death by absurd story and fantasy characters that sing and dance just because. My god this film could be done in 30 minutes top!!. Theres no sad or joyfull story its just a guy and a girl that get together and split, nothing else, the guy is mad bout jazz music and the girl wants to be a pro actress, apart from that nothing else. Its a film ment for adults to see but eventually its very childish and so boring. Ahh ryan gosling can not act , thats a fact. Also I was exhausted after hearing the same f***ing song on the piano that went like this...."city of starssssszzzzzzzzzzzz " go to sleep. no way this film can get an oscar.PERIOD Expand
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
0
BulgarianCriticNov 21, 2018
Holy Molly this was one of the most boring movies i have watched and the worse musical that i have seen in my entire life.Were the people who gave this movie an award blind and deaf?DO NOT WASTE YOUR PRECIOUS TIME ON THIS SNOOZEFEST
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
KaptenVideoDec 9, 2016
The dinner is served, girls and boys! Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone are here to dazzle you with this movie musical serving as ode to both 1950's musicals and screenwriter-director Damien Chazelle's love for jazz. The story is generic but cosyThe dinner is served, girls and boys! Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone are here to dazzle you with this movie musical serving as ode to both 1950's musicals and screenwriter-director Damien Chazelle's love for jazz. The story is generic but cosy as your favorite pillow: jazz pianist boy meets waitress / aspiring actress girl and they fall in love. And then a whole bunch of people dance and sing. The two lovely stars are both singing and dancing themselves, doing a good job at that. Still, personally I'd have chosen an actress with stronger onscreen presence to pair up with already-legendary Gosling. But you know, whatever.

I am not actually into musicals, so for me, by far the most impressive thing about this feel-good crowdpleaser is the boss man behind the screen: Damien Chazelle. The dude is only nearly 32 years old but he has done three movies already, always as a director and a sole screenwriter. You know him better as the author of 2014's majestic surprise hit "Whiplash".

So... go see it. If you like musicals, you will be pleased. If you don't care about them, there's still enough feel-good stuff to enjoy the ride for 128 minutes.

If you are a fan of "Whiplash" dying to get another dose of Chazelle, then be prepared for a nice surprise in the form of certain bald guy who should have a bigger role here for sure.
Expand
5 of 28 users found this helpful523
All this user's reviews
6
RazvJan 25, 2017
A pretty good romantic musical, but a pretty bland experience overall. The chemestry between the two characters is great, however the plot is incredibly predictable and the dialogues are often out of place. The soundtrack is spot on though.A pretty good romantic musical, but a pretty bland experience overall. The chemestry between the two characters is great, however the plot is incredibly predictable and the dialogues are often out of place. The soundtrack is spot on though. Overall not something to skip, but certainly not something to be baffled by. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
moviegoer1944Feb 26, 2017
La La Land is a poor attempt to copy 1950s era musicals; i.e., it's a musical wannabe, but that genre died out sixty years ago. Neither Gosling nor Stone can sing, but they're in a musical? The plot is impossible and very weak, and afterLa La Land is a poor attempt to copy 1950s era musicals; i.e., it's a musical wannabe, but that genre died out sixty years ago. Neither Gosling nor Stone can sing, but they're in a musical? The plot is impossible and very weak, and after suffering the insult to our intelligence and senses for about 30 minutes, we walked out on this movie, disgusted that we just spent a half hour of our lives we'll never get back - and spent it on a horrible movie that was not the least bit entertaining, memorable or worth twenty bucks. It wouldn't even be worth the time to download a freebie copy from the internet. Our recommendation on La La Land is to SAVE YOUR MONEY!! Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
0
thedaarkbattyJan 19, 2017
Absolute dog crap film. I have seen better stuff while watching youtube. If you want to plat a good musical plat the effing mariomovie. its more catchy then this!
3 of 22 users found this helpful319
All this user's reviews
0
Eastie_BeastieJan 21, 2017
This is the most overrated pile of crap i have ever seen in my life. It is so amatourish. Not to sure about the storyline as i gave up on it as it was just stupid. I cant think of anything more boring than this "movie(?????)" Uwe Boll moviesThis is the most overrated pile of crap i have ever seen in my life. It is so amatourish. Not to sure about the storyline as i gave up on it as it was just stupid. I cant think of anything more boring than this "movie(?????)" Uwe Boll movies seems to be much more entertaining than this. How come its 9.3 on metacritic. Backhanders maybe? This movie is bad. Expand
3 of 23 users found this helpful320
All this user's reviews
6
TheMetacritiqerDec 30, 2016
It's super overrated but a little better than average. Would have preferred if it was more of a throwback to the era of the songs at the pool party scene.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
0
ArgentSouLFeb 19, 2017
Is a stupid 2hs musical, I went to see it only cause of score.. but many people left while I stay there watching without a cause, and the male protagonist is a **** ... you can appreciate it in the first second you see him
2 of 25 users found this helpful223
All this user's reviews
0
cyndieJan 17, 2017
My wife and I went to see this on a date night last Saturday, and was wowed by the opening scene, the wild and fun dance number on the overpass. Wonderful!
2 of 31 users found this helpful229
All this user's reviews
6
ClariseSamuelsSep 18, 2018
Film musicals have a long and venerable history in Hollywood, although we see less of them now in this age of skepticism when viewers are slightly less inclined to be seduced by the magic and the illusion of the big screen. Films based onFilm musicals have a long and venerable history in Hollywood, although we see less of them now in this age of skepticism when viewers are slightly less inclined to be seduced by the magic and the illusion of the big screen. Films based on Marvel Comics, which now rule the industry, have succeeded in resurrecting some of that old wizardry that makes the audience forget themselves as they plunge into a make-believe world. Trying to make a magical musical in the twenty-first century that references the classics of the 40’s and 50’s is a risky business, but La-La Land has succeeded in charming its audiences with its song, dance and simple love story of two young people with a dream. Nevertheless, translating what is basically a stagecraft into a musical film is difficult. The forced artificiality of breaking out into song and dance (the phenomenon known as “I feel a song coming on”) is born of the architecture and design of stage and theatre, which is artificial in and of itself. Suspension of disbelief is required for performances limited by the spatial dimensions of the stage, but with live theatre, we are prepared for this practiced tradition of Western civilization going back to ancient Greece (although props and scenery were not invented until after 1600, and the position of scenic designer did not evolve until the 1920’s).


The risk of too much theatrical artificiality is a lurking threat behind this film, but it is to some extent salvaged by the performances of Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling. Their singing voices are so-so but they dazzle when they dance, and Gosling cuts an eloquent profile at any piano. He is the perfect picture of the artist as a young man—romantic, angry, frustrated, a loner who is misunderstood even by the one woman who loves him. From the moment the characters of Mia and Sebastian meet, setbacks, misunderstandings and financial concerns delay and frustrate their relationship until finally it fails. At the end of the film, a fantasy sequence replaying their entire romantic history in an idyllic version of how things might have been is a poetic testament to the harsh realities of life and how it interferes with the hopes and dreams of the individual. For the most part, the two lovers both achieve what they wished for, but the personal price was high. The poignant, old-fashioned nostalgia of the film is enhanced by the musical score, most especially the haunting refrains of the song “City of Stars,” sung by Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianApr 11, 2019
Pretty good musical film with a few good songs and decent acting. Gotta love musicals though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
JoeCoolMay 22, 2019
I didn't like the story much. It has some good moments but not a lot. What the hell was I watching? Very overrated movie. I put off seeing it as I'm not really into musicals. I had to force myself to watch it all the way through and now II didn't like the story much. It has some good moments but not a lot. What the hell was I watching? Very overrated movie. I put off seeing it as I'm not really into musicals. I had to force myself to watch it all the way through and now I feel worse for having seen it. Universal acclaim, man, your opinion may differ. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
dc127Jan 31, 2019
I still don't get why people went crazy over this film. It was . . . fine. The whole end sequence made me angry. They stopped dating because she was going to take a job away for a couple months? It wasn't like she was going there permanently.I still don't get why people went crazy over this film. It was . . . fine. The whole end sequence made me angry. They stopped dating because she was going to take a job away for a couple months? It wasn't like she was going there permanently. They have phones. And planes. He didn't have to give up his job. He could go visit her off and on until the film was done. Instead they just throw in the towel and she ends up with someone else and you get the "might have been sequence." Just give us the happy ending. The bittersweet one was just the director trying to get Oscar bait. It didn't make the movie better. Also in no way did she deserve an Oscar for her performance. It was good, but nothing different than any of her other movies. If anything Ryan was the standout role. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
Having waited a year since its original release before I finally saw it meant that I could watch it without the typical Oscars hype that surrounded it. And frankly, I just don't get what the hype was all about.

The story is a somewhat
Having waited a year since its original release before I finally saw it meant that I could watch it without the typical Oscars hype that surrounded it. And frankly, I just don't get what the hype was all about.

The story is a somewhat muddled tale of a struggling actress and a jazz musician who fall in love, though they struggle to keep things together as they chase their dreams. Now, a plain story like this can usually be dressed up in a musical with flashy singing and dancing - neither of which are present here. The songs are repetitive, as it turns out that listening to the exact same chord progression repeated for two hours can become a bit tedious; and Stone and Gosling's "singing-in-the-shower" warbles certainly didn't dazzle this viewer. In fact, their restrained musical performances are an embarassment to the resplendant costumes and sets that surround them.

What's worst, however, is that its potential did shine through. There are two or three dramatic scenes between Stone and Gosling that are so well written and brilliantly acted, they genuinely show up the mediocrity of the rest. It's not a bad film, by any standards, just very painfully and shamefully average.

Finally, I watch enough Strictly Come Dancing to be irked by the poor shaping of Emma Stone's hands during her final musical number with Ryan Gosling. But that's being quite picky, isn't it?
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
luke100Jan 9, 2018
The relationship between the protagonists is fun and engaging, and the final sequence makes up for a huge part of the movie. But I found nothing interesting in the soundtrack, the musical numbers, the themes, the- well, almost nowhere,The relationship between the protagonists is fun and engaging, and the final sequence makes up for a huge part of the movie. But I found nothing interesting in the soundtrack, the musical numbers, the themes, the- well, almost nowhere, really. It just didn't thrill me at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
laltunaNov 13, 2018
The whole movie was made out of rip-offs from other musicals. Very nice topic, not-so-good acting (except Stone) and awful dancing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
keanexFeb 16, 2020
La La Land is a movie that affected me deeply from start to finish. Vibrant colors, beautiful songs, excellent acting, fantastic cinematography, and top-notch acting are aplenty in this film. The first time I viewed La La Land it took myLa La Land is a movie that affected me deeply from start to finish. Vibrant colors, beautiful songs, excellent acting, fantastic cinematography, and top-notch acting are aplenty in this film. The first time I viewed La La Land it took my breath away, and I don't mean that metaphorically, I literally did not think to breath for at least 10 seconds. I felt that the world had paused, it hit me hard with the brilliant ending sequence. I've since seen La La Land 3 more times and each time it still affects me emotionally, Damien Chazelle has done it again. I had no idea he directed this and Whiplash when I had first seen this, but I was a huge fan of Whiplash as another movie that affected me emotionally. La La Land is a masterpiece and has solidified itself as my favorite movie of all-time. It is beautiful in every capacity, vibrant and boisterous as much as it is melancholy. Thank you Damien for creating this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MalamarJan 24, 2020
La La Land is beautifully constructed with the mind set being how can we make a lovable story that has some modern problems in it but make it a musical. Some of the senses will have your jaw drop. Absolutely beautiful. With amazingLa La Land is beautifully constructed with the mind set being how can we make a lovable story that has some modern problems in it but make it a musical. Some of the senses will have your jaw drop. Absolutely beautiful. With amazing cinematography, score, and acting by Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling this is a must see movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kaslousndFeb 17, 2020
This is the best movie I've ever seen in my entire life. I just love it. It connects with me on the highest levels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KelvinSelimorJan 16, 2020
La La Land. My favorite and adored movie! The talented Damien Chazelle made a really beautiful picture of love, the desire for a dream and showed that sometimes you have to sacrifice the first to get the second.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pureoineSep 1, 2019
Emma Stone você é tudo pra mim, entenda isso!!!! ♡
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GrachechkovskiMar 1, 2020
Wonderful love story with deep plot and luxury soundtracks,charming background and landscapes. Ruyan and Emma is great couple of actors
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vusal_iskandarOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The characters, the music, the dance, the romance, the view, the chemistry, the story. Worthy showcase! I liked it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MahmusOct 3, 2019
Beautifuly shot, perfectly acted, with great songs, amazing direction and of the best endings in recent years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LucasTSSep 23, 2019
Summary: Mia (Emma Stone), an aspiring actress, serves lattes to movie stars in between auditions, and Sebastian (Ryan Gosling), a dedicated jazz musician, scrapes by playing cocktail piano gigs in dingy bars, but as success mounts they areSummary: Mia (Emma Stone), an aspiring actress, serves lattes to movie stars in between auditions, and Sebastian (Ryan Gosling), a dedicated jazz musician, scrapes by playing cocktail piano gigs in dingy bars, but as success mounts they are faced with decisions that begin to fray the fragile fabric of their love affair, and the dreams they worked so… Expand Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheEventsOf1989Jan 10, 2020
"La La Land" does combine Chazelle's fun camerawork with good acting and an interesting musical tone, but it's story doesn't give us enough, and its music feels mostly average. Some of the pivotal moments in the story happen off-screen, and"La La Land" does combine Chazelle's fun camerawork with good acting and an interesting musical tone, but it's story doesn't give us enough, and its music feels mostly average. Some of the pivotal moments in the story happen off-screen, and the rest leaves us mostly unsatisfied, there can be a profound message in a lack of satisfaction, but it's story needs more context. The visuals are well done, the camera feels as though it dances with the characters in every scene, but the story and music leave a lot to be desired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BornCrowsFeb 20, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The music is so great. Everything is beautiful. The ending made me cry hard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KaustavdekaFeb 22, 2020
La la land is very different kind of a masterpiece. It's so free flowing and doesn't try hard at all. Its main heart are Ryan Gosling and Emma stone themselves and they drive the entire movie. The movie leads up to two amazing expressions andLa la land is very different kind of a masterpiece. It's so free flowing and doesn't try hard at all. Its main heart are Ryan Gosling and Emma stone themselves and they drive the entire movie. The movie leads up to two amazing expressions and eending from the start and will touch (or maybe even pierce your heart). It's a definite must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rick-Mar 26, 2020
La La Land is majestic. Simplily, all stuff are perfect, the colors, dialogues, dances, and that final that Damien Chazelle did make in his movie it will be one of the most perfect in this era, like he did in 2014 with whiplash. Clearly aLa La Land is majestic. Simplily, all stuff are perfect, the colors, dialogues, dances, and that final that Damien Chazelle did make in his movie it will be one of the most perfect in this era, like he did in 2014 with whiplash. Clearly a cult movie in the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews