Lionsgate | Release Date: December 9, 2016
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2110 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,793
Mixed:
179
Negative:
138
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
nilsyJan 28, 2017
During more then half of the musical parts i was checking the clock and wondering if it was worth it to finish the movie even. Nothing wrong with the instrumental music its the songs that i dislike, which is a shame as visually it wasDuring more then half of the musical parts i was checking the clock and wondering if it was worth it to finish the movie even. Nothing wrong with the instrumental music its the songs that i dislike, which is a shame as visually it was stunning throwback towards the golden age of hollywood musicals. The songs emma and ryan are forced into trying to sing are demanding stuff that a skilled singer could really make something out of sadly that was not to be. If these actors had tried to audition for american idol neither ryan or emma would stand a chance of getting in. Yet somehow nobody cares they are lead in a hollywood musical they are still praised to high heavens for la la land its beyond me why all the critics set the bar so incredible low for hollywood actors singing. Maybe modern critics simply arnt used to judging singers and think average is good enough its afterall a movie and not a album. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
4
lancekozMay 17, 2017
I really, really can't believe the critical acclaim for this light thing. Sure, the singing is not great, I can deal with that, but also, it just isn't fun! Snipey and dark, with low chemistry. After suffering thru the beginning, I was aI really, really can't believe the critical acclaim for this light thing. Sure, the singing is not great, I can deal with that, but also, it just isn't fun! Snipey and dark, with low chemistry. After suffering thru the beginning, I was a little enthused by the 'pool party' scene, which was finally light, both visually and in mood. But then, it retreated into its marginally directed dirge-y-ness. The wildly over-worked planetarium romance scene looked hokey in this age of great effects... and we are led to believe that two gorgeous adults living in LA are ruminating about a kiss in a way some grade-schoolers might? In fact, that makes me realize, if this film was made based on junior-high students, it may've made a lot more sense. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
6
natanfkJan 25, 2017
Totally average. Technically it's great, but it misses content. A lot of it. It's the kind of movie that it's like a dog. It will sit, lay and roll to gain a cookie (oscar).
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
5
BarryRDec 31, 2016
Mediocre singing, mediocre dancing.
The opening scene was full of colour and should've zinged. But it was thin. Maybe too many dancers, each doing too little.
Contrived plot.
The only exciting bit was John Legend. He could sing!
11 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
4
mandm1951Jan 16, 2017
I was disappointed. I didn't fully engage with the characters or plot. Instead my mind wandered to thoughts such as, "Best picture of the year? What am I missing?" -- Not a bad film imo, but I was hoping for more given the hype.
12 of 20 users found this helpful128
All this user's reviews
4
johnsonjohnsonJan 17, 2017
有時則是指在伦敦西区上演的戏剧。光業的役所浩二勝俣博山约百老汇剧院經常共同被看作光業的役所浩二勝俣博山是英语世界中最高水平的商业剧院代表。观赏伦敦西区的演出已经成为觀光業光業的役所浩二勝俣博山的役所浩二勝俣博山崎健藺生小林高水平的商业剧院代表。观赏伦敦西区光光業的役所浩二勝俣博山業的役所浩二勝俣博山。有時則是指在伦敦西区上演的戏剧。光業的役所浩二勝俣博山约百老汇剧院經常共同被看作光業的役所浩二勝俣博山是英语世界中最高水平的商业剧院代表。观赏伦敦西区的演出已经成为觀光業光業的役所浩二勝俣博山的役所浩二勝俣博山崎健藺生小林高水平的商业剧院代表。观赏伦敦西区光光業的役所浩二勝俣博山業的役所浩二勝俣博山。
6 of 10 users found this helpful64
All this user's reviews
4
manusbyrneApr 7, 2018
La La land is a musical that does not have good songs or a good story. The story follows a women who dream to be an actress but just can't get a movie role and a man who want to open a bar that plays jazz music. the story is not creative orLa La land is a musical that does not have good songs or a good story. The story follows a women who dream to be an actress but just can't get a movie role and a man who want to open a bar that plays jazz music. the story is not creative or interesting it is just so cliched.
the film doesn't know what tone it wants to go for. From the advertising and the trailers, you would think that this was going to be a happy musical but no it's a drama and not a good one. Despite of it being a drama most of the song in the movie is a very happy tone and once the songs are over the movie instantly goes back into a drama. Because of this the songs of the movie feel out of place. Not to say that the song is not good. They are actually very good, City of stars is the best song in the hole film it's well written and it's the only song in the hole film that fits in with the tone of the film.
So what about the drama if that is the main focus of the film. well, it's not only bad but it's stooped. The characters are always going back and forward of happy song and serious drama which just ruins the drama.
This film would just be alright if the ending was not terrible. does not make sense for the characters to do what they did at the end and nothing else makes sense about it.
that's why I give this a 4 out of 10
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
CheetahiceFeb 2, 2017
I think that this movie has a very unbelievable plot line and I also think that the musical was a little over the top. The only thing that they did great for my opinion was that they got a talented cast. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone cameI think that this movie has a very unbelievable plot line and I also think that the musical was a little over the top. The only thing that they did great for my opinion was that they got a talented cast. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone came together to make an okay film that won too many awards. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
cine1Jan 28, 2017
The dance numbers, inside nods to the city of LA and Ryan Gosling's quirky, charming bravado carry this film through its first half. Then, the fantastical dance sequences quickly lose its charm and the second half of the film becomes quiteThe dance numbers, inside nods to the city of LA and Ryan Gosling's quirky, charming bravado carry this film through its first half. Then, the fantastical dance sequences quickly lose its charm and the second half of the film becomes quite dull. Plus, it seems Gosling and Emma Stone aren't very good singers, which I get is part of their characters, but is hard to listen over long stretches in a feature film. "What's wrong with being romantic," Gosling's character asks in the beginning of the film. Nothing, and this film is romantic and charming but I do like to see some development between characters past the visually pleasing song and dance numbers that are really just flashes in the pan. A light, enjoyable film but more style than substance. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
6
DaBlazeyekFeb 19, 2017
I think it's definitely film NOT for Oscar. Generally film was OK, but in 2016 there was so much better films. "La la land" should have Oscars only for music. Then, Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling played rather for Gold Raspberries, not for "theI think it's definitely film NOT for Oscar. Generally film was OK, but in 2016 there was so much better films. "La la land" should have Oscars only for music. Then, Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling played rather for Gold Raspberries, not for "the greatest film awards". And plot was not oryginal, even banal. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
6
21gramsJan 16, 2017
Painfully average movie and it's getting hyped because hey - it's musical. The story is cheesy and you've seen it like a billion times, yes it's trite. As a musical it's so inconsistent - the beginning is just cheap musical theater that hasPainfully average movie and it's getting hyped because hey - it's musical. The story is cheesy and you've seen it like a billion times, yes it's trite. As a musical it's so inconsistent - the beginning is just cheap musical theater that has thematically absolutely nothing in common with what is going in the movie - it's cheap and lazy and only later on a few jazz pieces and ones with John Legend kinda save they day from absolute disaster. The cast is not not amazing but it does the job and I kinda feel sorry for Ryan Gosling - he is way better than this, but apparently for some mysterious reasons his career is going downhill. I'm sorry, but if this get's best motion picture of year, then academy awards can go to hell, since those are going garbage more and more every year. It's not a bad movie, but it's not great either. It's just painfully average with a lot inconsistencies. I loved the Whiplash but with this one Chazelle felt flat to me, in music terms "it was out of tune". Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
6
twall3Jan 30, 2017
The opening scene made me embarrassed to have asked my wife to see this movie. "What is this - High School Musical?" she asks. There were scenes that I really liked - maybe even loved. Emma was great as a down-to-earth quirky actress. Some ofThe opening scene made me embarrassed to have asked my wife to see this movie. "What is this - High School Musical?" she asks. There were scenes that I really liked - maybe even loved. Emma was great as a down-to-earth quirky actress. Some of the dialogue was borderline brilliant. Her discussion w/ Ryan about him giving up on dreams was wonderful and real. I understand why people love this movie but too many of the dance numbers just seemed too sugary, whimsical and fake for my taste. Less is more - less musical numbers used more strategically and my score would have been an 8 or 9. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
6
StevieGJDFeb 9, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked this movie and knew my mother would love it. She and my sister then saw it and mom did indeed love it. I thought it was pretty good, by no means great. My wife hated it, which I think is a bit strong. This is a throwback to musical films of the past, the ones my mother loved and had the soundtrack albums for when I was growing up. Though it most closely resembles The Umbrellas of Cherbourg, I suspect most of the user reviewers never saw that 1964 French film, which I liked more than La La Land. There are moments in the movie when I got the feeling it was about to start getting really good then it would stall again for me. Neither of the lead actors can sing or dance particularly well, though Emma Stone is better at both than Ryan Gosling. Their acting and chemistry are great. The travelogue of Los Angeles aspect of the film is very appealing and fun. But, ultimately, this is a movie about two beautiful people whose career choices take them in different directions, which is fine, but not that interesting. It is pure escapist entertainment, which, if done right, can be excellent. The story of a mid 20s actress who is giving up and going home to live with her upper middle class parents and the white guy who is going to save traditional jazz music from the likes of John Legend is not that appealing to me. I get why most people really like this movie. I really do. I knew my mom would. I'd rather rewatch The Umbrellas of Cherbourg. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
4
JamesLJan 30, 2017
I see why the critics rave as it is original and breaks away from the same old themes we get every time. That said, I was bored and could not wait for it to end. From the first scene on the freeway, I knew I would not enjoy this. The problemI see why the critics rave as it is original and breaks away from the same old themes we get every time. That said, I was bored and could not wait for it to end. From the first scene on the freeway, I knew I would not enjoy this. The problem is more me and my lack of enjoyment for musicals and jazz. The plot and character development is wafer thin and it troughs in Legend to try and keep your attention. When I saw Silence just two weeks ago ,I was clued to the chair as the subject matter really has been on my mind since I was a little kid. It is all a matter of taste. This film does not satisfy or interest me. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
astrowhizApr 30, 2017
I like musicals, but I left La La Land slightly disappointed. Ryan and Emma are good in their roles, but unfortunately they're only so-so singers and dancers. I did like the chemistry between them though. The movie only has one good song,I like musicals, but I left La La Land slightly disappointed. Ryan and Emma are good in their roles, but unfortunately they're only so-so singers and dancers. I did like the chemistry between them though. The movie only has one good song, which I think the film-makers recognized as it's used again and again in the film. The cinematography is good, but the staging and direction are very safe and unoriginal. I'd contrast it with a movie like Chicago, which was very inventive with how to present the music in each scene. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
EdeltraudJan 28, 2017
Sure good, if you like musicals. But like most films now about 30 minutes too long. Too many numbers with just Gosling & Stone -- why not get more background dancers involved especially with the backdrop of jazz clubs? Pool scenes were lostSure good, if you like musicals. But like most films now about 30 minutes too long. Too many numbers with just Gosling & Stone -- why not get more background dancers involved especially with the backdrop of jazz clubs? Pool scenes were lost opportunity to do a brief Esther Williams tribute. Neither star has great vocal chops, which is OK, as it makes their characters down to earth -- still, would have enjoyed better skills - kind of thin singing & I got bored with the repetition of the theme song. Also would have been fun to have more fully developed secondary characters -- i.e. Gosling's sister shows up for 30 seconds as a foil to his messed up life but then she just disappears. Stone has all these roommates who could have provided a counterpoint to her experience but who just serve as props. A nice fantasy romance & yes it's nice to see a musical but really not quite up to all these raves -- still, miles above Mama Mia. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
Darksabre812Feb 27, 2017
Look, I get it. Its a solid film. It has everything it needs to win Oscars, it pulls on the nostalgia strings in the correct way, it mirrors familiar scenes from old movies. In other words, it is a giant pat on the back to the movie industry.Look, I get it. Its a solid film. It has everything it needs to win Oscars, it pulls on the nostalgia strings in the correct way, it mirrors familiar scenes from old movies. In other words, it is a giant pat on the back to the movie industry. Much like the Artist, it focuses on characters that are hard to relate to for regular movie goers. Go ahead and see it. I'm sure you'll like it, but I guarantee you in three years you won't be thinking about this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
gameplayer85Jan 15, 2017
Wanted too see what all the hoopla was about seeing how this was supposed too be the movie of the year. Gosling was good as always. The musical numbers didn't blow me away. Neither of thier singing voices will blow you away. Could haveWanted too see what all the hoopla was about seeing how this was supposed too be the movie of the year. Gosling was good as always. The musical numbers didn't blow me away. Neither of thier singing voices will blow you away. Could have definitely used more people of color in main cast roles in this film. It's supposed to be L.A. but it feels more like some unmapped area of whitetown. Wish they would have cast someone other than emma stone. Her acting wasn't solid, singing was mediocre at best and the whole time all i could wonder is when was the last time she has eaten a good meal because her rail thin body distracted me the entire time. I felt like if a big gust of win came along she would get blown off set! All in all the movie is watchable but it's not going to blow you away like the wind might do to Ms. Stone. Want to watch a good musical film? Go watch Across the Universe with the uber talented Evan Racheal Wood. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
4
finnigan37Dec 26, 2016
The film is beautifully shot and the actors give it their best but in the end it's just kind of boring and unoriginal. Trying so hard for award recognition at the expense of doing something more interesting.
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
5
AxeTDec 26, 2016
Yet again the obscene over-praise by jackass critics who join the herd because they are incapable of thinking for themselves! This is why they are critics to begin with. This little movie is fine but sure isn't greatness as reviewers mightYet again the obscene over-praise by jackass critics who join the herd because they are incapable of thinking for themselves! This is why they are critics to begin with. This little movie is fine but sure isn't greatness as reviewers might attempt to make you believe. This is the age we live in. "Grease" was a much better musical. "Swingers" was a wittier and far funnier similar tale of making it in Tinseltown. Yet of course those two movies were not nominated by The Academy. This will be by those sheep because of a sheer decline in standards, and simply because it's a stupid musical. A musical made by a dopey millennial with a dopey millennial sensibility where phony dialogue and dopey millennial slight humor pass for adult reality. This unoriginal film is thin on all important plot and story craft if not on visual style and the maturity of its theme. The leads are a Canadian who wears his watch on the wrong wrist and an actress playing an actress who is not all that attractive. The film does stay with you though which is an important signifier of any truly good movie. However too little and too late in its running time does any sort of poignancy develop astute as that aspect is. Expand
8 of 19 users found this helpful811
All this user's reviews
4
NedRyerson1Jan 21, 2017
La La Land is the new movie of Damien Chazelle, and after Whiplash the expectations are high, although is a musical, so obviously contains flash mobs, everybody singing at the stupidest situation and knowing perfectly the choreography.La La Land is the new movie of Damien Chazelle, and after Whiplash the expectations are high, although is a musical, so obviously contains flash mobs, everybody singing at the stupidest situation and knowing perfectly the choreography. Despite that, like I said before, the director in his previous work demonstrated all his potential, the problem is that in this film there is none of that. The complex protagonist that wants to reach a goal, making a path marked by obsession, that implies rupture of own canons and lot of sacrifice to finally find itself again in perfection, is lost. Here the protagonists are nothing but stereotypes, they are empty, circular, and there is no evolution at all. Also we have zero development of secondary roles, simple plot and predictable conflict. The outcome did surprise me, totally unexpected, but cannot save this mediocre picture. The songs are great and enjoyable, nothing to say about them, the performances are fine too, up to the occasion. This film is made in order that the viewer leaves the theater feeling well, but really is a setup to deceive the weak-minded. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
4
psyberdelicApr 26, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good Not Great... Overrated. This film is OK but really uneven in tone, writing and acting. It starts off fine but by the time the leads get into a really stupid fight when Mia questions whether Sebastian is following his dream but he seems to be doing fine. They break up, he talks her into one last audition, which, of course, is her giant break. Five years get jumped with no explanation or back story and then we get treated to two different endings. Neither of which is satisfying. Maybe it was supposed to be clever but I found it really annoying and it spoiled the parts that were OK. I would call it a Hollywood Musical Light. Doesn't compare to the best (West Side Story, Seven Brides For Seven Brothers, Singin' In The Rain, etc.) Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
GleefulnessJul 30, 2017
Not as good as Jacques Remy film it rips off. End sequence was good but songs weren't that memorable and story didn't quite work. If you like this, check out Umbrellas of Cherbourg.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
ShowPonyDec 17, 2016
B- Literally most overrated movie in film history. Expected 2nd coming of "Citizen Kane." Unfortunately, it's the "Hairspray Live" of movies. Technical perfection can't help paper thin script, ridiculous opening "traffic" dance mess (noteB- Literally most overrated movie in film history. Expected 2nd coming of "Citizen Kane." Unfortunately, it's the "Hairspray Live" of movies. Technical perfection can't help paper thin script, ridiculous opening "traffic" dance mess (note to directors & producers: if traffic is stopped on the on ramp, edit free flowing traffic on freeway out of scene - duh!). Gosling & Stone are amazing but chemistry is more brother-sister than smoldering passion. John Legend is awful. Thankfully brilliant final 10 minutes elevates movie to a B- from a barely average C. Expand
10 of 28 users found this helpful1018
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantDec 24, 2016
It's been said "They don't make musicals like this any more," and hopefully they won't in the future, either. Director Damien Chazelle's big budget overlong, cliched production provides a showcase for his potentially stellar filmmakingIt's been said "They don't make musicals like this any more," and hopefully they won't in the future, either. Director Damien Chazelle's big budget overlong, cliched production provides a showcase for his potentially stellar filmmaking abilities, but its largely forgettable soundtrack, plodding pacing and lack of viewer emotional engagement doom it to unending mediocrity that will likely have you checking your watch in anticipation of its long-awaited conclusion (as it did with me). Granted, the film is technically brilliant and nice to look at and features fine performances, singing and dancing. But its unoriginal story line, all-too-obvious thematic elements, underwhelming humor and inability to get viewers to feel much of anything for its protagonists undermine whatever goodwill is earned by its few strengths. This one's a reach that tries way too hard and never really satisfies. Expand
7 of 20 users found this helpful713
All this user's reviews
6
endaugustDec 22, 2016
Didn't live up to the hype. A tribute or a gimmick? Hard to tell sometimes. The love story is shallow and thus all the rendered emotions feel artificial and pushed. Emma Stone is quite lovable and her acting is note perfect. Ryan Gosling is miscast.
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
5
pdw123Dec 30, 2016
Hollywood reflexive films have been done before, and please see the master named Woody Allen, to the viewers here, if you yet haven't--he was the master who did it the best. I agree with the other reviewer here saying that these days withHollywood reflexive films have been done before, and please see the master named Woody Allen, to the viewers here, if you yet haven't--he was the master who did it the best. I agree with the other reviewer here saying that these days with Kael and Ebert gone, you now have the AA sycophant reviewers giving stuff a pass, and "the Artist" and "Birdman" are simply prime examples, couldn't have said it better.

Chazelle's second film is simply not up to par with his brilliant work that absolutely floored me, "Whiplash". That work was totally original, inspired by personal experience obviously, and held my attention like I was sitting on a pin cushion throughout, and with a dramatic climax like none seen before. It is an amazing piece of work and needs to be listed under "great" films, and there's also NO comparison whatsoever between the JK Simmons performance in it (beyond brilliant) TO this current film--a mediocre bit part.

Gosling and Stone are multi-talented, I'll give them that, but Stone is overall a better actor, and Gosling came off too plastic and contrived throughout this. While there are a couple of belly laughs maybe worth 1/3 the price of admission, the overall film had me looking at the time and just dragged on and on waiting for it to end finally.

I thought given the fact that Chazelle was a "jazzer" with Gosling trying to transcribe the car radio piece in the first scene, that I would be in for an original treat. However, the bane of Hollywood trying to market films to too many interest groups e.g. Is it a reflexive film, a musical, a jazz film?? It was just trying to be too many things at once without a coherent vision, so better luck next time Damien, and I can't recommend it overall, and the 94 rating is just way way overhyped.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
5
TheWaffleSep 29, 2017
Great characters and direction are wasted in this magical outing for the simple fact that the music is utterly forgettable. For a film so focused on music and theater, it can't manage to pull together any creative effort that breaks the mold.Great characters and direction are wasted in this magical outing for the simple fact that the music is utterly forgettable. For a film so focused on music and theater, it can't manage to pull together any creative effort that breaks the mold. The great musical films have you walking out of the theater with a song in your head that you just can not get out of your mind: Singin' in the Rain, White Christmas, Moulin Rouge's Come What May. None of the songs in La La Land leave any kind of lasting impression. And though Stone and Gosling have good screen presence, it's hard to imagine that there weren't better dancers/singers on offer in LA's sprawling theater scene. Several of the dance scenes and songs seem limited by their talents, and the movie's core message about ambition and creativity would have been much more powerful if the film featured true no-names rather than a highly successful actor and actress. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
TheGamerKnightMar 16, 2017
Presenting the most overrated movie anyone ever saw, Moonlight. Wait, hold on...La La Land. (See what I did there?)

La La Land is boring. It's incredibly dull, the plot seemed a little obvious, the music isn't even that good...it's overrated
Presenting the most overrated movie anyone ever saw, Moonlight. Wait, hold on...La La Land. (See what I did there?)

La La Land is boring. It's incredibly dull, the plot seemed a little obvious, the music isn't even that good...it's overrated as hell.

But hey, at least the performances are pretty good.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
shoulderoforionJan 22, 2017
It was alright, there were some moments of joy/wonder in this homage to Hollywood golden era musical romantic comedy, but both the romance & comedy fell short. The "what if" montage was devastating. Better than bad, but in no way great.
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
5
EludiumQ36Apr 26, 2017
Giving it a 5 is generous, mainly because of its casting and production values. But I called ToD on this 40-mins in. Its attempt at being a 50s or 60s musical about actors' lives was an epic fail and will only be of interest to those with anGiving it a 5 is generous, mainly because of its casting and production values. But I called ToD on this 40-mins in. Its attempt at being a 50s or 60s musical about actors' lives was an epic fail and will only be of interest to those with an LA zip code. This is NOT a mainstream film, but it'll be praised out the wazoo by those that, um, service the acting class and that's why you see a nearly 100% positive Critics' reviews here. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
TaborFeb 10, 2017
Damien Chazelle's Ode to Hollywood, "La La Land" is a thin and predictable mega musical. The love between Sebastien and Mia is cliched and overly dramatic as is the score, which has some unforgettable hooks but not much more. Damien ChazelleDamien Chazelle's Ode to Hollywood, "La La Land" is a thin and predictable mega musical. The love between Sebastien and Mia is cliched and overly dramatic as is the score, which has some unforgettable hooks but not much more. Damien Chazelle gives his all into this sweet non substantial flick, and does not get much out of it, as the relationship is going into a direction we've seen before, and the music relies on repitition to convey emotions. Go home and watch "The Broadway Melody" or "West Side Story" instead of this fun but tiring musical epic. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
ALisandeDec 30, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've never walked out of a movie so unsure whether I liked it or not, and I can't explain why; the acting was decent (though the singing and dancing, not so much), and the story, while cliched, was ok. And the ending frustrated me. Maybe I'm just weird this way, but if I'd gone off to Paris to shoot a movie, I would have kept in touch with someone who had inspired me to reach my dreams, instead of haphazardly bumping into them 5 years later with no contact in the meantime. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
6
KaptenVideoDec 9, 2016
The dinner is served, girls and boys! Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone are here to dazzle you with this movie musical serving as ode to both 1950's musicals and screenwriter-director Damien Chazelle's love for jazz. The story is generic but cosyThe dinner is served, girls and boys! Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone are here to dazzle you with this movie musical serving as ode to both 1950's musicals and screenwriter-director Damien Chazelle's love for jazz. The story is generic but cosy as your favorite pillow: jazz pianist boy meets waitress / aspiring actress girl and they fall in love. And then a whole bunch of people dance and sing. The two lovely stars are both singing and dancing themselves, doing a good job at that. Still, personally I'd have chosen an actress with stronger onscreen presence to pair up with already-legendary Gosling. But you know, whatever.

I am not actually into musicals, so for me, by far the most impressive thing about this feel-good crowdpleaser is the boss man behind the screen: Damien Chazelle. The dude is only nearly 32 years old but he has done three movies already, always as a director and a sole screenwriter. You know him better as the author of 2014's majestic surprise hit "Whiplash".

So... go see it. If you like musicals, you will be pleased. If you don't care about them, there's still enough feel-good stuff to enjoy the ride for 128 minutes.

If you are a fan of "Whiplash" dying to get another dose of Chazelle, then be prepared for a nice surprise in the form of certain bald guy who should have a bigger role here for sure.
Expand
5 of 28 users found this helpful523
All this user's reviews
6
RazvJan 25, 2017
A pretty good romantic musical, but a pretty bland experience overall. The chemestry between the two characters is great, however the plot is incredibly predictable and the dialogues are often out of place. The soundtrack is spot on though.A pretty good romantic musical, but a pretty bland experience overall. The chemestry between the two characters is great, however the plot is incredibly predictable and the dialogues are often out of place. The soundtrack is spot on though. Overall not something to skip, but certainly not something to be baffled by. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
6
TheMetacritiqerDec 30, 2016
It's super overrated but a little better than average. Would have preferred if it was more of a throwback to the era of the songs at the pool party scene.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
6
ClariseSamuelsSep 18, 2018
Film musicals have a long and venerable history in Hollywood, although we see less of them now in this age of skepticism when viewers are slightly less inclined to be seduced by the magic and the illusion of the big screen. Films based onFilm musicals have a long and venerable history in Hollywood, although we see less of them now in this age of skepticism when viewers are slightly less inclined to be seduced by the magic and the illusion of the big screen. Films based on Marvel Comics, which now rule the industry, have succeeded in resurrecting some of that old wizardry that makes the audience forget themselves as they plunge into a make-believe world. Trying to make a magical musical in the twenty-first century that references the classics of the 40’s and 50’s is a risky business, but La-La Land has succeeded in charming its audiences with its song, dance and simple love story of two young people with a dream. Nevertheless, translating what is basically a stagecraft into a musical film is difficult. The forced artificiality of breaking out into song and dance (the phenomenon known as “I feel a song coming on”) is born of the architecture and design of stage and theatre, which is artificial in and of itself. Suspension of disbelief is required for performances limited by the spatial dimensions of the stage, but with live theatre, we are prepared for this practiced tradition of Western civilization going back to ancient Greece (although props and scenery were not invented until after 1600, and the position of scenic designer did not evolve until the 1920’s).


The risk of too much theatrical artificiality is a lurking threat behind this film, but it is to some extent salvaged by the performances of Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling. Their singing voices are so-so but they dazzle when they dance, and Gosling cuts an eloquent profile at any piano. He is the perfect picture of the artist as a young man—romantic, angry, frustrated, a loner who is misunderstood even by the one woman who loves him. From the moment the characters of Mia and Sebastian meet, setbacks, misunderstandings and financial concerns delay and frustrate their relationship until finally it fails. At the end of the film, a fantasy sequence replaying their entire romantic history in an idyllic version of how things might have been is a poetic testament to the harsh realities of life and how it interferes with the hopes and dreams of the individual. For the most part, the two lovers both achieve what they wished for, but the personal price was high. The poignant, old-fashioned nostalgia of the film is enhanced by the musical score, most especially the haunting refrains of the song “City of Stars,” sung by Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianApr 11, 2019
Pretty good musical film with a few good songs and decent acting. Gotta love musicals though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
dc127Jan 31, 2019
I still don't get why people went crazy over this film. It was . . . fine. The whole end sequence made me angry. They stopped dating because she was going to take a job away for a couple months? It wasn't like she was going there permanently.I still don't get why people went crazy over this film. It was . . . fine. The whole end sequence made me angry. They stopped dating because she was going to take a job away for a couple months? It wasn't like she was going there permanently. They have phones. And planes. He didn't have to give up his job. He could go visit her off and on until the film was done. Instead they just throw in the towel and she ends up with someone else and you get the "might have been sequence." Just give us the happy ending. The bittersweet one was just the director trying to get Oscar bait. It didn't make the movie better. Also in no way did she deserve an Oscar for her performance. It was good, but nothing different than any of her other movies. If anything Ryan was the standout role. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
Having waited a year since its original release before I finally saw it meant that I could watch it without the typical Oscars hype that surrounded it. And frankly, I just don't get what the hype was all about.

The story is a somewhat
Having waited a year since its original release before I finally saw it meant that I could watch it without the typical Oscars hype that surrounded it. And frankly, I just don't get what the hype was all about.

The story is a somewhat muddled tale of a struggling actress and a jazz musician who fall in love, though they struggle to keep things together as they chase their dreams. Now, a plain story like this can usually be dressed up in a musical with flashy singing and dancing - neither of which are present here. The songs are repetitive, as it turns out that listening to the exact same chord progression repeated for two hours can become a bit tedious; and Stone and Gosling's "singing-in-the-shower" warbles certainly didn't dazzle this viewer. In fact, their restrained musical performances are an embarassment to the resplendant costumes and sets that surround them.

What's worst, however, is that its potential did shine through. There are two or three dramatic scenes between Stone and Gosling that are so well written and brilliantly acted, they genuinely show up the mediocrity of the rest. It's not a bad film, by any standards, just very painfully and shamefully average.

Finally, I watch enough Strictly Come Dancing to be irked by the poor shaping of Emma Stone's hands during her final musical number with Ryan Gosling. But that's being quite picky, isn't it?
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
luke100Jan 9, 2018
The relationship between the protagonists is fun and engaging, and the final sequence makes up for a huge part of the movie. But I found nothing interesting in the soundtrack, the musical numbers, the themes, the- well, almost nowhere,The relationship between the protagonists is fun and engaging, and the final sequence makes up for a huge part of the movie. But I found nothing interesting in the soundtrack, the musical numbers, the themes, the- well, almost nowhere, really. It just didn't thrill me at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
laltunaNov 13, 2018
The whole movie was made out of rip-offs from other musicals. Very nice topic, not-so-good acting (except Stone) and awful dancing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TheEventsOf1989Jan 10, 2020
"La La Land" does combine Chazelle's fun camerawork with good acting and an interesting musical tone, but it's story doesn't give us enough, and its music feels mostly average. Some of the pivotal moments in the story happen off-screen, and"La La Land" does combine Chazelle's fun camerawork with good acting and an interesting musical tone, but it's story doesn't give us enough, and its music feels mostly average. Some of the pivotal moments in the story happen off-screen, and the rest leaves us mostly unsatisfied, there can be a profound message in a lack of satisfaction, but it's story needs more context. The visuals are well done, the camera feels as though it dances with the characters in every scene, but the story and music leave a lot to be desired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews