GKIDS | Release Date: July 29, 1989
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 73 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
70
Mixed:
2
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
AnhiroAug 27, 2018
A coming-of-age story about a teenage witch who sets out from her little countryside village to earn a living in the city. As she helps out with several chores using her magical broom-flying abilities, she one day decides to start running herA coming-of-age story about a teenage witch who sets out from her little countryside village to earn a living in the city. As she helps out with several chores using her magical broom-flying abilities, she one day decides to start running her own mail delivery service using her witch powers (which seem to be limited only to flying her broom and giving her cat the ability to talk, curiously enough). From there, we see her meeting new people and customers - some helpful and some rather curt with her - which has an impact on her development as she tries to balance work and life as a normal girl. The main weakness of this movie lies in its short length, in my opinion. Running at only 100 minutes, the action and character development feels rushed, which is compounded by the fact that there are many characters that Kiki comes across, and have little time to develop further along with her. As such, they felt like accessories to develop or contrast with Kiki's own character and little else besides that.

Even the ending seems to come abruptly, with the credits scene rushing to tell what happens to the characters after the climactic point in the story.

Besides those gripes, the animation is great and has aged well since 1989. Kiki's mannerisms are endearing and the idyllic life of this fantasy European port city can be felt during those scenes where Kiki is flying on her broom.

The protagonist Kiki, upon which the movie's storytelling is centered on, is a character who is easily relatable due to her plain looks, but the real qualities that define her are her excellent work ethic and refined etiquette/manners... A unique message that is not very often told in today's movie characters. That said, Kiki's Delivery Service is a very nice feel-good piece of animation if the short duration of the movie is not an issue for you, because for me it still felt like I was at some introduction chapter to a larger series as far as character development goes. Still, I would highly recommend this movie to the younger audience out there for its positive message, and adults can easily find a great hour & a half with this one too.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
sent_workiNov 3, 2018
8.4(Впечатляюще)........................................................................................................
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ArthuuMar 2, 2020
Probably the best one out of all Studio Ghibli's town themed movies, very charming main protagonist and suprisingly deep plot
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DMLYxCriticFeb 4, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Innocence, coming of age and magic collide as Studio Ghibli's Kiki's Delivery Service appears on the screen. Full of hope, charisma and positivity that is for kids and adults alike, the film does captivate its audiences. The musical score was amazing, and the animation is a marvel. However, the film suffers on editing and how coherent it tells the story and the plot. There were some scenes that certain things were heavily implied but was not clearly show which is enough to throw a film buff worth his/ her salt off of the flow of the plot. But all in all, this is definitely an unforgettable film that will probably last throughout the ages. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Toasty87Jul 16, 2020
Very good film both the original Japanese version and English dub which is rare now days .
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
TyranianApr 11, 2019
Typically weird and wonderful Japanese animation, mostly weird though, very weird.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
FlipjeFeb 9, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Perhaps I am not the intended audience for such a film. I understand it was made in 1989 and for kids and released to a wider audience in the late 90s. Though, I have enjoyed numerous Anime works by Studio Ghibli, I found this less than enthralling. For instance, I became bored by how many of the characters came off as two dimensional from Kiki herself to her cat to the boy chasing her to the pregnant woman that offers her a room in the oceanside town. There is also the exagerrated expressions and over-the-top interactions I find distracting - perhaps for children, this is not so off-putting. And I will admit, what annoyed me the most and took me out of the film was how wreckless the character was. Every time Kiki rode her broom, I felt for her cat hanging on for dear life. It reminded me of those scenes in American films where one character has no thought or concern for others while racing around at the end of the film to rescue someone or something. Whether in a car or running, this trope annoys me to no end and I would describe Kiki as a pure idiot on her broom (for an audience of kids, this is a dangerous thing to not acknowledge or at least rectify). This narcistic element ruined the film for me. Yes, it was established early on she was a novice while flying her broom. And yes, she is from a small village. When she enters the town, of course, she causes havoc by nearly colliding into a bus and causing several accidents. Cue the kids laughing at this some twenty years ago. Today, this made me roll my eyes. Moreover, with her first delivery, she manages to screw it up mainly because she has not learned to master her flying. I would never hire a person like this but this film is basically all about ideals and wish fulfillment and was made for an audience (of kids) who can easily identify with this character. She is a freelancer in the town of her dreams, meeting wonderful, wholesome people. Kiki is less a character and more a child's wish fulfilmment. On the one hand this is harmless and again, I understand, I am not the intended audience. Yet I found this film infantile. And while classics should stand the test of time, I feel the reason this film has re-emerged has more to do with the Zeitgeist of the gig economy. Viewers who first saw Kiki twenty years ago as children will probably return to it with the hopes of before. Yet Kiki is not a character that has depth. Instead of evolving as a person, her story is rather bland and predictable. When she loses her ability to fly, this might have translated to an audience of children as about losing confidence or magic. Today, for those viewers watching it for the first time time or returning to it, this might well reflect back on an audience of Millenials who suffer burnout each year. And I feel for the modern audiences of today. The modern economy is horrendous and people stand alone. This film is eye candy for the soul that longs for that world of generous strangers and supportive friendships. Again, an infantile view of life. Though the fantastical elements were unique and I admired this alternative world, I felt this film was less character-driven with organic human interactions and more about being a form of consolation. And again, coming back to Kiki, girl please learn how to fly that broom. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
vitortfvDec 16, 2020
Although charming and exciting, the whole story was not that captivating. But it's good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Feb 28, 2019
One of most endearing, lovable characters of SG; the one that sew the seed of Harry Potter. An amusing story about growing up and making a place out of home. A mandatory for anime hard-core lovers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman1999Aug 1, 2019
Witches have never been so likable and relatable! And witchcraft has never been so mundane!

Slightly bogged down by occasionally going into some familiar territory (especially in its third act), Miyazaki's most light-hearted film is an
Witches have never been so likable and relatable! And witchcraft has never been so mundane!

Slightly bogged down by occasionally going into some familiar territory (especially in its third act), Miyazaki's most light-hearted film is an otherwise fascinating, delightful, funny and charming fairy-tale that effortlessly teaches a variety of valuable lessons such as self-discovering, self-acceptance, self-reliance and self-understanding like no other film did.

(8/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MahmusOct 19, 2020
A magnificent movie about growing up and finding your independence that resonates with me more than any live action movie about the same subject matter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews