Miramax Films | Release Date: November 23, 2001
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 74 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
55
Mixed:
11
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
barnet42Oct 15, 2012
Sissy Spacek great acting as always , Anyway, this is a great movie to me: adult and charismatic. Superb acting, excellent screenplay, good direction and an intense alarming atmosphere
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Aug 22, 2014
Thanks to some keen use of such thematic ideas as the cycle of violence and the causes and effects of death, "In The Bedroom" kicks the crap out of the viewer's heart and leaves them with a whole lot to think about.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Dr.K.Jan 17, 2010
This film is undoubtedly one of the most overrated films (by the 10 crowd). We picked out the main plot "switch" early on, it was well-telegraphed. The performances were fine but not as Oscar-worthy as so many critics have proclaimed. We This film is undoubtedly one of the most overrated films (by the 10 crowd). We picked out the main plot "switch" early on, it was well-telegraphed. The performances were fine but not as Oscar-worthy as so many critics have proclaimed. We were actually quite surprised--expectations were much higher based on review blurbs we were aware of beforehand. I too find value in "slow and plodding" at times, but this was TOO slow and plodding! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaoloAAug 4, 2006
Good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
QuinnD.Sep 6, 2002
Not the movie I thought it was going to be. The ending was predictable and an easy way out. The movie would have been far more interesting had the parents faced the murder of their son the way most people do.... Wonderful performances and Not the movie I thought it was going to be. The ending was predictable and an easy way out. The movie would have been far more interesting had the parents faced the murder of their son the way most people do.... Wonderful performances and beautiful film making that joins the dreaded '10 Minute Club', i.e. turn it off ten minutes before the end and it's a way better film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
davezJul 20, 2007
I bought this used before knowing anything about the film from blockbuster. What a great choice! This movie stirs the soul. I think we can all relate to at least 1 if not all the main characters involved. The villain is unclear... it seems I bought this used before knowing anything about the film from blockbuster. What a great choice! This movie stirs the soul. I think we can all relate to at least 1 if not all the main characters involved. The villain is unclear... it seems as all the characters hold some form of evil inside of them whether it be by neglect, indifference, anger or revenge. This movie will no doubt leave you with the same kind of gratification that one had gotten from hearing that Hitler committed suicide before serving justice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CreedenceB.Mar 28, 2008
just from scanning the shown critic's lowest ratings(and i'm sure they are in the minority), i really wonder, just what is a good film to so-called 'critics'.....the acting was superb, the directing very.....life-like is just from scanning the shown critic's lowest ratings(and i'm sure they are in the minority), i really wonder, just what is a good film to so-called 'critics'.....the acting was superb, the directing very.....life-like is the only way i can describe it........and the story so heart-wrenching, i wonder how anyone could not be moved by this comment on society in the most genuine and well-rounded view of death of a loved one (in this case murder) that i have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattS.Dec 23, 2009
A profound piece of work from actor and first time director, Todd Field. This is the first Masterpiece of the new century. An extremely well acted and concise illustration of grief and true love.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
amheretojudgeMay 25, 2019
Tomei finds herself between Spacek and Wilkinson in awe, reflecting that very emotions, the project cannot be seen with the naked eye.

In The Bedroom Field's field is a battlefield. An ongoing war that doesn't get any chance to think or
Tomei finds herself between Spacek and Wilkinson in awe, reflecting that very emotions, the project cannot be seen with the naked eye.

In The Bedroom

Field's field is a battlefield. An ongoing war that doesn't get any chance to think or reminisce about mistake. But mind you, this war goes on exhaustingly for the first act. After which, the director, Todd Field, is letting you sink in, the choreography of the battle, tantalizing you for more than, the leftover, one hour. Split into three acts, the introduction is all jazz-like smooth. From paraphrasing the intentions and behaviors of the characters, the thrill comes in expensively and gasps heard in every house of the lane. And the last act, is challenging the smoothness of that first act. Close call, gets a whole new definition and nail-biting situations, well.. bite away.

But personally to me, the stillness captured in the middle act of the film, that helps transcend this drama into thriller, is more inspiring and brainy. The elements are trailed across like bread crumbs that builds quite a pyramid to later climb upon. Now, the performance. A crucial part to a film. As all do, but this one's exceptionally impressive. Sissy Spacek as the pain bearer and apparently creator, her body language can whimper even Tom Wilkinson's performance.

And hovering around, trying to please his partner, and find solace on the way through pursuing tiny glimpses of hope, Wilkinson is quite the challenger to Spacek's non-verbal answers. Yet, I find myself jumping on Marisa Tomei's side. To be on her place has got to be the worst pickle you find yourself in. Still her presence is warm and soothing, even when she is taking a hit or nodding to the comfort given to her. Her performance is perfectly balanced, tip-toeing across the bridge of guilt and horror, she is ripped apart In The Bedroom, garden, workplace and every last piece of land.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews