Contact Film | Release Date: July 26, 2019
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 35 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
1
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RounakChandakOct 24, 2019
This movie is refreshing in its own way.
Never seen such beautiful use of natural life.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
CinesysmDec 27, 2019
A heartbreaking narrative of care and competition in an almost barren rural Macedonian village in 2019. A must see.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKSep 18, 2019
As often with documentaries, a film’s outstanding powers of observation and pace, combined with a surprising location, really make experiencing the film fascinating. Who expects to be deeply moved by an unattractive woman who lives with andAs often with documentaries, a film’s outstanding powers of observation and pace, combined with a surprising location, really make experiencing the film fascinating. Who expects to be deeply moved by an unattractive woman who lives with and nurses her ailing mother in the mountains of Macedonia and who makes a living cultivating honey? Hatidze’s face is plain and her teeth are crooked, but her character, soul, and personality make her a truly wonderful person. When the outside world intrudes in the guise of aggressive and amoral neighbors, her simplicity and strength are challenged, and the film becomes riveting. Meeting Hatidze is a wonderful experience! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GeorgeyJan 15, 2020
Amazing watch, it is clearly a hard documentary to film and keeps the watcher guessing if it's real or not, but it is all real and very astonishing to watch it develop. 10/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AnasinaJan 15, 2020
It is a story about nature vs human but also a story about human vs human. It stands a chance to transform the way of thinking and social values. Exceptional story!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PastuvJan 15, 2020
I think it extremly impresive move. Very emotional and to think that its not just a true story but a real life without a script. Just chosen moments from a long time of filming. Great Job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IrencusJan 16, 2020
Beautiful story for the beautiful human being! This movie is the best movie for 2019.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JordanTasevskiJan 25, 2020
"HONEYLAND" AND GRETA THURNBERG - THE NEW HEROES OF OUR TIME

The two phenomenon have been a subject to a similar bipolar division of reactions in the public where some glorified them, and others criticized them up to a point of hatred. This
"HONEYLAND" AND GRETA THURNBERG - THE NEW HEROES OF OUR TIME

The two phenomenon have been a subject to a similar bipolar division of reactions in the public where some glorified them, and others criticized them up to a point of hatred. This fact alone, proves that they have already accomplished their goal, they have had an impact on the world regarding subjects which societies, leaders, and people in general tend to persistently ignore.

I hope that we are entering a new era, where we leave behind the glorification of petty subject for plain fun and diminishing current events. Our societies by now have placed the highest values on athletes, famous actors, modern aristocracy... I hope the time has come for ordinary people, "anonymous" like Greta Thunberg and "Honeyland" with the authors and the main protagonist - Hatidze will be the new driving force in societies where with their influence they will cause radical societal changes and become the new heroes of a new era.

Hatizde, the last beekeeper of wild bees in Europe, admires everyone with universal values which we recognize in every culture, religion, philosophical and spiritual doctrine in the world, that most likely have been passed down and perfected from one generation to another. Respect for nature, humility, moderation, and compassion are silently reflected in the background through the entire course of the movie. Hatidze enjoys the companion of the bees, simply loving them, selflessly sharing the honey with them, half for people, half for them, - an extraordinary example of sustainability.

The fact that for the first time in the history of the Oscars a documentary is entering the competition in the category of best international movie, where all of the other nominees are based on fiction, is not surprising. Thanks to the authors for the mastery of making a documentary into art, that you literary take in as a feature film.

It's also interesting to notice that an unusual moment in the movie is experienced diametrically opposite. Hatidze's call for the bees, Maat, mat, mat, mat which some viewers interpreted as quote: "When I heard her mumbling something, I turned it off..." While others like the Dutch movie critic Belinda van de Graf experienced that moment as, quote "Hatidze is singing to the bees..."

I personally experienced that moment as utterly poetic, a feeling I would like to explain further. The very call from Hatidze to the bees Maaaat, mat, mat, mat has its roots in the word matica - queen bee (lat. mater, matrix). It's particularly interesting that Hatidze is usually speaking ottoman Turkish language, but the word matica is also a Macedonian term, indicating an archaic word that surpasses today's languages. It's inevitable to ask a simple question. What magic is engaged in the queen, a simple insect, recognizing those words as a friendly call from a human, where according to Darwin's Theory of evolution these two species are so profoundly different?

Namely, when I first saw the trailer with awe last spring, the moment when Hatidze called the bees with the call Maaaat, mat, mat, mat is a moment that became so familiar and close to me. I suddenly remembered my childhood where in a mountain village in eastern Macedonia, a grandmother explained how they used to keep bees in woven baskets, identical like the ones Hatidze uses. In short, among other things was the recognition of the call to the queen Maaaat, mat, mat, mat quietly gathering the bees around and communicating with them. In that moment the pieces of the puzzle came together and I realized that when Hatidze is singing the "mantra", she is identifying herself with the queen bee, taking on her role, calling, gathering, communicating just like the queen would, Hatidze becomes the queen bee. An incredible symbiosis between human and nature.

With this story I want to express my admiration of the movie, to the authors as well as to the audience. They have acknowledged the fact that there is no successful or unsuccessful life, no important or unimportant human, no significant or insignificant story, all lives are successful, unrepeatable experiences. This movie casted a light on a seemingly simple life, and uplifted and glorified a supposedly ordinary human, which turned out to be deeply ethical, pure, loving, towards people and nature alike, and simply beautiful, just like the movie itself.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AkalanJan 25, 2020
Must see. Beautiful movie with a great message. Makes you think about life and be humble.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
filmastoryFeb 10, 2020
A beautiful movie about a beautiful person.
The respect Hatidže shows for the environment and what happens when we don't.
We are all in this together.
That message is so clear and so heartbreaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews