GKIDS | Release Date: February 28, 2014
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 76 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
4
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
smilzobobozNov 10, 2014
There's already a review that states exactly what I'm going to say (WatermarkShaun) but I feel like I should still add my own about this movie.

Animation is awesome, actually I could say one of the best I've ever seen 10/10 without
There's already a review that states exactly what I'm going to say (WatermarkShaun) but I feel like I should still add my own about this movie.

Animation is awesome, actually I could say one of the best I've ever seen 10/10 without blinking an eye.
Music is really good too, no problems going 9/10 or even more there.

But as WatermarkShaun wrote in his/her review the message of the movie (the whole movie feels like a tale, so probably the message is the most important part) is totally wrong: you can steal, break, ruin other people lives and simply get away as a free man just because you're "different" (or at least part of a "minority").
Sorry for the comparison, but it's like if a black guy (or anyway part of any minority) caught for robbery gets away free admitting the guilt but stating you persecute him just because he's black.

Well, I could add things but that's actually what this movie is: a gorgeous animated artwork supported by really good music that you can't let your children watch, ever (I don't recommend for you either, but well, the animation is a piece of art).
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
2
WatermarkShaunApr 8, 2014
While enjoying Metacritic for years, I've only enjoyed other peoples reviews instead of participating. After taking others up on advice to see Ernest & Célestine, I had to create an account to add my two cents.

What a complete
While enjoying Metacritic for years, I've only enjoyed other peoples reviews instead of participating. After taking others up on advice to see Ernest & Célestine, I had to create an account to add my two cents.

What a complete disappointment. I've re-read others comments now that I've seen it - and can't imagine that we saw the same film. Here are a few of my comments after watching.

Animation
Animation style is purely subjective, but I didn't care at all for the animation style. Others described it as a wonderful watercolor bliss; I saw it as, while indeed lovingly drawn, quite basic. I realize that it's difficult to compare computer-assisted Pixar films and the like (although many other reviews certainly put them in the same class), I don't feel they belong even in the same class as famous Japanese animated films Spirited Away, My Neighbor Totoro, and Akira. To me, although not the slick presentation of a Pixar film, they still captured magic and nuance in a different way that transcended the medium. E&C however didn't even come close. But that's my opinion. Watch the trailer and determine for yourself if you like that style or not.

Message
The message - the way I interpreted it - actually makes me mad. And I don't get offended easily. One reviewer said "Ernest & Celestine delivers a sweet message that should prove delightful to young and old alike." Sweet message? Here's my take on what the message of the film is: You can steal when you are hungry, you can break in to multiple family shops and destroy the lives of others around you - but if you are a cute little mouse that goes against the "norm" and wants to live with a bear - love is all that matters and all should be forgiven. I'm not sure how you can take away any other message than that. While love is indeed wonderful - and often good to challenge social norms, responsibility is critically important - and completely lost on the story. It's a horrible message - one that I would not want my children to see.

Could you extract any good message from it? Sure you could. But you could do that with ANY film. I try to "sleep on it" after seeing a film - just to see if I have a different reaction after it has "soaked in" a bit. This one just made me more and more upset. Which is a shame, because I'm certain this was not the film makers intentions. Not being familiar with the original story, I can't say how much it matches the original, either. Others certainly loved it - although I get the impression most were familiar with the story.

For me, it was a waste of money - one that I would not even see again if a free copy was given to me. And certainly not the 100 rating that so many others gave it. 100 means there is nothing better. Tell me that you have not seen other films that are better than this one, and I'll tell you you need to get out more.
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
9
LeZeeMar 4, 2014
An OSCAR nominee in the category of best animation feature. The cutest animation which gave the experience of seeing a Japanese anime similar to from the Ghibli studio. The characters are very adorable, especially both the Ernest andAn OSCAR nominee in the category of best animation feature. The cutest animation which gave the experience of seeing a Japanese anime similar to from the Ghibli studio. The characters are very adorable, especially both the Ernest and Celestine. After praising the technicians I mean the illustrator I must compliment the voice renders. Whenever I hear Celestine saying 'Ernest, Ernest' I just fall in love because it was sexy. I know French language itself a seductive.

No age group limited to enjoy this animation. From 6 year-old kid to 60 year-old and beyond that can have a great time with it. A simple animation with a good message story. Probably you will come to know what kinda movie is this if you have seen 'Stormy Night' and 'Ratatouille'. A tale about the unlikely friendship between two different living creatures.

It all begins with a young little mouse who got a different opinion on the creatures that live above their world. The earth's surface was ruled by the big bad bears and that is what beneather believe. Between these two world a new friendship bloom from nowhere. But both the societies denies it so the two must protect each other and run for their life. Instead, they need to prove it can be possible and harmless. So they have to take the advantage of the such circumstances and how it can be done is the rest.

The character Ernest was lazy, but tough and Celestine is very active, but sensitive in matters. The friendship between them was very well told, in an enchanting way. I liked the replacement of bear in the place of humans. Otherwise, our people think they are genius to find similarity between this and 'Ratatouille'.

Earlier I was very, very disappointed for ditching 'Monsters University' over crap movie 'Despicable Me 2'. I will be so happy if 'The Wind Rises' or this movie wins the OSCAR. But Americas own 'Frozen' will be a strong contender for the honour.

Finally, I retire for now by saying it is a must see movie, especially if you are an animation movie fan. I truly wanted it not to end, in the world at certain point everything must end and so it is against my will.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
9
khutchApr 2, 2014
Surrounded by feeling and art, Ernest & Celestine can easily establish itself as the best animation of 2013, you know, we center as the friendship between two animals, but both prove to us much more than that, lessons are played all the time,Surrounded by feeling and art, Ernest & Celestine can easily establish itself as the best animation of 2013, you know, we center as the friendship between two animals, but both prove to us much more than that, lessons are played all the time, his features and unconventional traits leave more alive and incredibly magical. It is the true story of love, and those that leave you defenseless to its outcome. Is the kind of film that the world needs. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
alwayswatchingApr 19, 2014
Ernest & Célestine is a movie that symbolically compare and contrast two enemy-by-blood groups.

The movie starts with fun and entertaining scene about the about early indoctrination of young mice kids. This movie shows education system,
Ernest & Célestine is a movie that symbolically compare and contrast two enemy-by-blood groups.

The movie starts with fun and entertaining scene about the about early indoctrination of young mice kids.

This movie shows education system, law enforcement system, and justice system can become indifferent, or even hostile, to core values of humanity.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Jun 3, 2015
I managed to win in the first 20 minutes is a fantastic thing, the animation is sensational, the Celestine is a character for free. The film has a very cute story of friendship, with a great message and good fun situations.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
jotaesecheJan 27, 2016
So enchanting it feels like a dream, and so simple but still so powerful. Clever, wry, nostalgic (sepia-like) and meaningful. I've fallen in love with this beautiful movie; totally recommended for audiences of all kinds and ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JamejarrsJan 22, 2020
A heartwarming story with gorgeous art and fun characters. One I recommend to all fans of animation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tethysdustSep 23, 2016
Very cute and funny children's film, with a nice message about working through prejudice and learned stereotypes. There was some weirdness in the story (apparently the bears and mice can just pop teeth in and out of their mouth), and a fewVery cute and funny children's film, with a nice message about working through prejudice and learned stereotypes. There was some weirdness in the story (apparently the bears and mice can just pop teeth in and out of their mouth), and a few places where I thought the plot faltered. The art was quite special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoVn00Apr 18, 2019
Right after the first time I watched this movie, it became one of my favorite animated movies of this decade (the 2010s) and probably from 2013. The quality of the story and the script is in the level of some of Disney's or Pixar's best work:Right after the first time I watched this movie, it became one of my favorite animated movies of this decade (the 2010s) and probably from 2013. The quality of the story and the script is in the level of some of Disney's or Pixar's best work: It's funny, it's emotional, it's heartwarming. I liked the artstyle, it looks like illustrations from a children's book.

I know that the message this movie gives can be misinterpreted as "Stealing is okay as long as you're different", but while it's true and I know that this movie's message can be easily misinterpreted, I didn't see it that way, I see it as a story of how prejudice and stereotypes can be harmful for our society and how it affects our main characters. Maybe this is not a movie intended just for little children (I honestly think they will find this movie boring) and I guess that to see this movie you need to already know that stealing is obviously wrong, it seems like you expect animated movies have to teach kids things that parents must teach to them.

This is an amazing movie and it's a shame that a movie like Frozen won the Academy Award instead.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews