Warner Bros. | Release Date: July 21, 2017
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2880 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,431
Mixed:
257
Negative:
192
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
vusal_iskandarMar 10, 2020
Yeah.. One more film about WWII, but in a different way that I liked! It was not a very special one but also not an ordinary one. What I liked about this masterful visual storytelling film, is a connection of events happening in the differentYeah.. One more film about WWII, but in a different way that I liked! It was not a very special one but also not an ordinary one. What I liked about this masterful visual storytelling film, is a connection of events happening in the different times and different places. Director made it perfectly suitable to each other. It's gripping, perilous and uniquely envisioned! Liked that one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LOTHRICFeb 15, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. فكرة الفيلم وطريقة ربط الأحداث وتصويرها مبدعة للغاية مع أداء عالي للبطل المخفي توم هاردي ومشاهد ملحمية جميلة.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KickAK47Feb 1, 2020
This is a truly quality film. The sense of fear and tension built is unlike many other movies and the tense captivating stories really build on the impact of this film. The lack of deep character building is obvious to me but it seems fittingThis is a truly quality film. The sense of fear and tension built is unlike many other movies and the tense captivating stories really build on the impact of this film. The lack of deep character building is obvious to me but it seems fitting as there wasn't time for that during war and they are just a few out of the 400,000 men. The scale of the sea and beaches capture everything very well. A must watch as a far as I'm concerned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tonyGreenJan 29, 2020
Economical, visceral and very real. And starkly beautiful. Zimmer's soundtrack is perfectly cold and brooding, and the cinematography is very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohntHooverJan 1, 2020
This movie is filled with family members of the worlds finest actors, under a different name of course. Knowing of their family members appearance in a movie called Dunkirk is a must know. After the first 10 minutes thought I that I amThis movie is filled with family members of the worlds finest actors, under a different name of course. Knowing of their family members appearance in a movie called Dunkirk is a must know. After the first 10 minutes thought I that I am watching a low cost, amateur movie in a cheap German attempt to copy Hollywood greatness. Then I started counting the actors who all resemble a famous international actor and recognised that they are all family members. At the end was I the low cost amateur watcher trying to copy Hollywood greatness as a consumer. Don't listen to negative reviews of this movie. Alone on an intelligence level and the actor placement is this a must see movie. Which obviously, a view viewers did not get, considering their negative review. Then back to the movie itself. The scenes are nearly all of an immense emotional, dramatic and moral aspect that will stay in mind, they are as thrilling as well as realistic possible in case someone would end in a similar war or conflict position as a soldier. I would nearly say that I had once or twice the feeling that the movie sends an anti war message above everything else, which depends on someones attitude related to war. I personally see war as sometimes necessary to sustain our values and virtues, not to mention for the protection of our freedom. I think that the anti war message was just my emotional reaction due to the perception and how I might feel if I would have been in the position of one of the soldiers. The art and the spirit of this movie is unique and hard to describe. At the end have I not just lifted psychological childhood traumas but got my faith and hope in Hollywood sealed and locked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
burakxcxDec 19, 2019
Dunkirk is the one the best of movies of the decade and Christopher Nolan. The movie has a dramatic and historic story. You must watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Mateusz9Dec 15, 2019
Boring, long movie with nothing interesting to offer except for beautiful scenography, but it is not how movies should get such high score... do not understand what people see in this movie..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SylamanNov 9, 2019
I think Christopher Nolan is a genius of modern cinematography and this movie is great, but worse than his other works.
Maybe because it's really difficult movie to watch. The sound effects are startling and it increases the difficulty.
I think Christopher Nolan is a genius of modern cinematography and this movie is great, but worse than his other works.
Maybe because it's really difficult movie to watch. The sound effects are startling and it increases the difficulty.
Nevertheless it's must-to-see film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ImrosadiiOct 29, 2019
This movie gives me tense in every scene. Hopes always come in every single situation
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LucasTSSep 23, 2019
Summary: Dunkirk opens as hundreds of thousands of British and Allied troops are surrounded by enemy forces. Trapped on the beach with their backs to the sea they face an impossible situation as the enemy closes in. [Warner Bros.]
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jw3100Aug 31, 2019
"Dunkirk", directed by and written by Christopher Nolan, is unparalleled in its unrefined and inchoate presentation; and the impetus of each character - whether it is Fion Whitehead's "Tommy" or Hardy's "Farrier" - merely attributes the"Dunkirk", directed by and written by Christopher Nolan, is unparalleled in its unrefined and inchoate presentation; and the impetus of each character - whether it is Fion Whitehead's "Tommy" or Hardy's "Farrier" - merely attributes the egregious nature of war, along with its seemingly impromptu and incontrovertible visage. The auteur himself, Nolan, has devised a film in an anarchic way as to generate the true story of Dunkirk and deserves Academy Award nominations in all of the categories probable: will he finally receive the Best Director award?

The 330,000 Allied soldiers, who languished on the beaches of Dunkirk, endeavoured to leave the beaches - and they're unremitting masquerade was the catalyst for their deliverance. The picture itself, irrefutably, alludes to the notion that the war was filled with unknown faces, who faced a nefarious crisis; and, the volatility of war, such as death, despondency or hope.

This film is one of the best films I have seen - if not, the best - and its realism and acute nature offers a rigorous outlook of the events that ensued during World War II.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
amheretojudgeAug 25, 2019
Masked or unmasked, I love the idea of a higher power looking out for us, and this time he has no humor.

Dunkirk Why do we end up here? Always? Revisiting the dreadful history. That we started, ended, celebrated and mourned for. It cannot
Masked or unmasked, I love the idea of a higher power looking out for us, and this time he has no humor.

Dunkirk

Why do we end up here? Always? Revisiting the dreadful history. That we started, ended, celebrated and mourned for. It cannot just be a "quick" recall. And it shouldn't be that. I may not know the real pulp behind all this passion and necessity but Christopher Nolan, the writer and director, surely tells you, it shouldn't just be a recall. Quick one, surely compared to his other films, but more than an experience and a moral lesson. Poem, it sings and poetic is its run. To me the film felt like a marathon. A sprint, to be precise. "The mole" tries to run away from the enemy, the air support towards the enemy but the real heroes, the common man, are kept in hault.

Mid way. They are stretched and strained from the responsibilities of both the kind, the personal and towards the nation. And that is exactly how Nolan pitches this incredibly noble deed by these brave hearts in one lap. Setting the parameters, he never breaks any boundaries for obvious reasons, but hovers very close to the red zone marked in this film. And that is another way how he elevates a most simplistic act or a decision that lives up to the clean soundtrack of Hans Zimmer.

The same year, Steven Spielberg's The Post released which dealt with the similar highly tensed close up shots. But the tension never communicates for no one actually points out or marginalizes the "normal" behavior. And in here, Nolan keeps Cilian Murphy to strike fear, a simple meter to explain the stakes of Tom Hardy and a know-it-all Harry Styles to guide Fionn Whitehead. Dunkirk is still at the end of the day comes under the catalogue of Nolan's filmography. He cannot help but whisper secrets if he can in a storyline, I mean he even packs a humorous punch as a big reveal for that scene.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BulletstormAug 11, 2019
This movie will not be for everyone, for me it was a perfect 10. Do not watch this movie on a small tv with audio turned down, you need to be immersed in the movie to experience it. There is little dialogue and the story is slim but it's theThis movie will not be for everyone, for me it was a perfect 10. Do not watch this movie on a small tv with audio turned down, you need to be immersed in the movie to experience it. There is little dialogue and the story is slim but it's the music that carries you throughout the movie. Dunkirk is a thrilling movie where you can feel the incoming threat for the full length of the movie. This movie keeps the suspense from the beginning till the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Ahmedrizwan11Jul 11, 2019
This movie is boring and i would not recommend it to anyone. It started off interesting but later on , the entire theatre was sleeping
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
miccaelJun 30, 2019
This was a strange movie. I love the story of Dunkirk but the story here has no beginning and end that is satisfactory. I wish a movie about Dunkirk was better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Filmix16Jun 15, 2019
La trame sonore est une des meilleur que j’ai entendu. Les scène avec les avion sont exellente. Tom Hardy est très bon malgurer qu’il reste durent tout le film dans sont avion. Les mouvement de caméra sont incroyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LoletinAlexisJun 13, 2019
Dunkirk is a movie with a perfect photography.

However, this film has a big problem: it does not take off. Dunkirk shows some characters that end up importing almost nothing or nothing directly; you feel a very good template of actors
Dunkirk is a movie with a perfect photography.

However, this film has a big problem: it does not take off.
Dunkirk shows some characters that end up importing almost nothing or nothing directly; you feel a very good template of actors totally wasted because of the null narrative of this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
shag00Jun 9, 2019
God what a drag, the film is unbelievably slow paced. This is a story about the evacuation of 330,000 men in 10 days from a beach, you could be forgiven for thinking it was the evacuation of a boy scout troop with a few planes thrown in forGod what a drag, the film is unbelievably slow paced. This is a story about the evacuation of 330,000 men in 10 days from a beach, you could be forgiven for thinking it was the evacuation of a boy scout troop with a few planes thrown in for fun.

There is a fixation on a white stick inside the English planes on the left hand side which gets multiple close in shots but it's never made clear what this stick does or why it is given so much prominence. In general I was somewhat mystified by how few of anything, except English soldiers, were shown in the film. There was no sense of urgency in the film, I would imagine that under the circumstances there would have been a great deal of urgency if not near panic or outright panic.

Beyond me how clap trap like this rates so high on rotten tomatoes.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thigpen84May 27, 2019
This is my favorite movie in the last 3 years, it is so intense and impressive, Nolan's direction and Hans music are a perfect marriage in this movie, it is very important to get a grasp on the 3 timelines that are being told otherwise youThis is my favorite movie in the last 3 years, it is so intense and impressive, Nolan's direction and Hans music are a perfect marriage in this movie, it is very important to get a grasp on the 3 timelines that are being told otherwise you could be completely confused and may miss out on a great storytelling format Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jaredc324May 14, 2019
As a war film, it's impeccable. As a Chris Nolan film, you do feel like he can give more, or at least do better. In his latest work of innovation comes a war evacuation film where he captures the situation from 3 different places of conflict,As a war film, it's impeccable. As a Chris Nolan film, you do feel like he can give more, or at least do better. In his latest work of innovation comes a war evacuation film where he captures the situation from 3 different places of conflict, 1) the land 2) the air... 3) and the sea. And he interweaves them beautifully to bring together his vision of what a true desperate and intense war situation can be. And Chris Nolan brings his full throttle big-scale IMAX vision, front and center like never before. Along with another absolutely invigorating and unnerving score that'll raise anyone's nerves into flight or fight. But the movie does feel like it's rushing itself, non-stop and never allowing itself to breath, as its interweaving of storyline perspectives become somewhat jumbled because of it. The movie seems to pass by so intensely, as if grasping your seat for a shaky 90 minutes, until you finally hear that sentimental closing Zimmer score begin to hover. And you squint ("ok it's over") as if impressed by the feat Nolan has created, but also somewhat let down by the war epic he chose to orchestrate that was clearly in the palm of his hands. Given it's the "type of film" Nolan wanted to make, the ticking-time bomb vision here works, but the movie could've been much better if he had taken some moments of rest for those truly epic moments to deliver. A well-conceived war film, but it's not Nolan's most returnable visit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TyranianApr 12, 2019
Nolan is proving himself one of the great directors with another excellent film. Use of sound is incredible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DerekReideMar 29, 2019
A stunning film about one of the biggest battles in World War II. Amazing visuals and great use of limited dialogue. 'Dunkirk' is a really good drama movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NoahPfisterFeb 27, 2019
Seeing this in IMAX was one of the greatest movie going experiences ever. The screen was huge, the sound was epic, and the experience was perfect. So with that out of the way, how is Dunkirk? Well, to put it simply, it's EPIC. It's aSeeing this in IMAX was one of the greatest movie going experiences ever. The screen was huge, the sound was epic, and the experience was perfect. So with that out of the way, how is Dunkirk? Well, to put it simply, it's EPIC. It's a beautifully shot, amazingly scored (GO ZIMMER) and perfectly directed by Christopher Nolan. Weirdly enough, unlike Inception or Interstellar, Nolan doesn't bother with too much dialogue here, and instead focuses purly on the action--and HOW GLORIOUS IT IS. Everything is practical and feels very real, which is perfect for a movie trying to show the TERROR of war. Not the HORROR. Now while I can praise this movie and call it perfect, it is slightly flawed. The lack of real character development might upset some, but then again this is a realistic take on war and in war soldiers don't usually talk about themselves in the middle of gunfire. Also the editing does get a bit weird at some points, jumping from different points in time, which will take you out of the experience. Lastly, people were expecting the violence to be over-the-top like in Saving Private Ryan and it is not, so if you want that, this ain't your movie. So in all, I recommend Dunkirk proudly, 'cause it's worth your time. Watch it, then watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
clarkaddisonJan 6, 2019
Christopher Nolan flexes on us again with this masterpiece. This film is about the Dunkirk evacuation and I could not get over how great it looked, sounded, and felt in the theater. This is a great war film that doesn`t need to be a gore festChristopher Nolan flexes on us again with this masterpiece. This film is about the Dunkirk evacuation and I could not get over how great it looked, sounded, and felt in the theater. This is a great war film that doesn`t need to be a gore fest to be good. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
blawren4Jan 2, 2019
Good overall movie except I just didn't care about any of the characters aside from the few guys in the boat. The rest were forgettable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
korwilDec 11, 2018
Those who complain about the lack of focus on individual expressions of humanity in Dunkirk miss the point of the film entirely. Gone are nationalistic overtones, standardized Hollywood glorification of combat, or character-focused melodrama.Those who complain about the lack of focus on individual expressions of humanity in Dunkirk miss the point of the film entirely. Gone are nationalistic overtones, standardized Hollywood glorification of combat, or character-focused melodrama. In their place, we have a film which attempts to rendition the evacuation at Dunkirk in a scope which does it justice. Nolan does away entirely with the tropes that we expect from war films. There's no dramatic music, no catchy one-liners, or attempts to portray the characters as anything but the actual humans they are. This is not your favorite Spielberg movie or series, but Dunkirk manages to come away from that comparison no worse for wear. Where Spielberg wants to portray the "greatest generation," and connect you emotionally to their triumphs and tribulations. He wants you to understand the characters, and to ultimately feel good about it. Pride, admiration, maybe envy. Nolan doesn't care if the audience feels good about what happens in the process of the evacuation at Dunkirk. There is, after all, very little to feel good about over the course of the movie whatsoever. There are no moralistic triumphs, no poignant dialogue, nothing that draws audiences in with conventional war films. Nobody beats back the Hun menace. Dunkirk, after all, does not depict a military victory, as most war films tend to. What Nolan gives us with Dunkirk is the truth. It's a fundamentally honest film. If you walked away from the movie feeling drained -- as I did -- well, that means you understood the gravity of the subject matter, and connected it to reality. In a meta sense, this is extremely unconventional for film as a medium, but its efficacy in imparting you this second-hand experience of what it was like at Dunkirk speaks to its greatest triumph. Cinema can be used to make audiences feel good, but what Nolan explores with Dunkirk is the usage of cinema to affect viewers in a different direction, and to this end it was stunningly successful. Its visceral depiction of combat lets audiences discover the small triumphs of humanity organically, rather than having it force-fed to them under blaring trumpets and string sections. What we see at the end of Dunkirk is not a triumph of a political viewpoint or nationalistic pride, but instead a triumph of the human spirit. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
abm0Dec 9, 2018
Not much happens here. Very slow movie with very little to say. Its most prominent feature is the overly dramatic and ominous music that stands out in the excessive slow scenes with not much happening except soldiers shuffling about. StartedNot much happens here. Very slow movie with very little to say. Its most prominent feature is the overly dramatic and ominous music that stands out in the excessive slow scenes with not much happening except soldiers shuffling about. Started skipping ahead after 30 minutes out of impatience. I thought this was at least a shocking reminder of the horrors of war but it fails to be even that. It's just bland and half-empty and mostly pointless. Same content could have easily been presented in a 1-hour cut, and it'd have been be easier to watch - less of a waste of time.

Also, it joins the likes of Transformers 2 and Snowpiercer etc. in being the victim of a certain psychopathology going around in Hollywood that makes their editors impoverish the colors of the movie and make them all revolve around Teal and Orange (many things that should be grey are actually greenish/teal, even white shirts have a teal hue to them; anything wooden or warm-color textile will be a shade of orange; hardly any blue or magenta or true red or true yellow to be found anywhere). I thought the Teal and Orange insanity might be dying out, but it seems not - Hollywood is still holding on to this idiocy.

I watched this on HBO, so I had complete control over the sound volume the whole time. I guess that nullified the most impressive part of the movie: the unnecessarily loud soundtrack (to where even some veterans commented that the movie might have been louder than the actual war). But the Industry can pat itself on the back, I guess: once again it has fabricated another "blockbuster" for itself, complete with paid-for favorable reviews and awards.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DominArsenDec 8, 2018
Un nouveau film de Christopher Nolan surnommé "Le Génie"
Avec Dunkerque on ne s'attache pas au personnage. On ne sait pas d'où il vienne, quelles sont leurs rêves et on ne nous rappelle même pas le faite qu'ils ont des familles. On ne
Un nouveau film de Christopher Nolan surnommé "Le Génie"
Avec Dunkerque on ne s'attache pas au personnage. On ne sait pas d'où il vienne, quelles sont leurs rêves et on ne nous rappelle même pas le faite qu'ils ont des familles. On ne s'intéresse qu'uniquement à la question "Est-ce qu'ils vont survivres?". Le problème c'est que s'ils ne survivent pas et bien vu que l'on n’est pas attaché, c'est un décès qui ne nous affecte pas. Pire les personnages auxquels on s'attache le plus sont des civils. Je doute que les civils soient l'objet principal du film.
Essayer de faire un film pour tout le monde n'est pas toujours mémorable parfois il vaut mieux choisir son camp entre "Film d'auteur" et "Blockbuster d'été"
Le film est morcelé en 3 équipes de 3 personnages leurs histoires sont elles-mêmes morcelées dans le temps en 2 ce qui nous fait 9 personnages divisés dans 6 espace-temps qui parfois se passe au même moment, mais qui dans le montage final ne sont pas l'un après l'autre. Je dois dire que c'est tout le problème du film on ne s'attache déjà pas à plusieurs personnage, mais si en plus leur espace-temps n'est pas chronologique ça devient compliquer d'éprouvé l'empathie. On peut dire que cette parti est le "film d'auteur"..
Le film blokbuster c'est la tension et je dois dire que ça fonctionne très bien, mais un problème subsiste un mortier explose des soldats et le soldat ne redescend jamais. Il faut sauver le Soldat Ryan reste la référence malgré le fait que cela ne soit pas le même conflit. Tout simplement, dans il faut sauver le soldat Ryan le film n'existe pas pour avoir le label Teenager #ToutPublic... Sa c'est la parti du "Blockbuster d'été" Je croyais que le choix est à tenir jusqu'au bout pour un Leader. J'imagine que Nolan à été bousculé par les grandes Maisons d'Hollywood...
Dunkerque est un bon film de guerre c'est vrai il a beaucoup de choses bien. Les plans sont grandioses orné de belle symétrie et nous font ressentir le gigantisme de la guerre présente ainsi que la peur. "Attachez-vous à votre siège" est inutile à dire, car c'est déjà ce que vous faites.
Ce film sans la musique ou le sont n'est rien, car au-delà d'un film il est un tripe musicale. Je dois avouer que Hans Zimmer est extrêmement efficace. #Timmer. Je ne donne pas plus d'information rendez-vous en salle obscure pour la réponse.
Si vous aimez la guerre et que la tripe musicale ne vous fait pas peur, Dunkerque est une bonne expérience.
Seulement en film de guerre, j'ai vu mieux
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FeudDec 7, 2018
One of Nolan's best movies in my opinion. It is a beautiful looking movie that feels more real than any other war movie I have seen. It is a movie that cuts all the cliche parts of war movies and goes for a movie focussed on the war ratherOne of Nolan's best movies in my opinion. It is a beautiful looking movie that feels more real than any other war movie I have seen. It is a movie that cuts all the cliche parts of war movies and goes for a movie focussed on the war rather than it's characters. This may be a turnoff for some people but I found it to be a breath of fresh air. I was expecting this movie to be way worse on a smaller screen but it still was amazing, but i definitely recommend seeing it on the biggest screen you can find. The music helps this movie feel tense the whole way through and that's a hard thing to accomplish.
In short: The movie is a technical masterpiece.
The technical aspects aside, this movie has some amazing acting and a really great way of telling a story which makes you that much more interested in the movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
AxelskullDec 4, 2018
I wouldn't really call this a film but I'd say it was an interesting experience. The story follows a few characters that are completely forgettable and they each have their own little storylines that are also forgettable. I watched this inI wouldn't really call this a film but I'd say it was an interesting experience. The story follows a few characters that are completely forgettable and they each have their own little storylines that are also forgettable. I watched this in IMAX and the sound and photography were great and very immersive. For the first 20 minutes. Then the gunshots and noise just hurt your ears. I'd say unless you're watching it in imax don't bother with it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Kirollos-NoahNov 29, 2018
Dunkirk is directed and written by Christopher Nolan, and starring Fionn Whitehead, Damien Bonnard, Aneurin Barnard and more and more of an amazing cast.

Acclaimed auteur Christopher Nolan directs this World War II thriller about the
Dunkirk is directed and written by Christopher Nolan, and starring Fionn Whitehead, Damien Bonnard, Aneurin Barnard and more and more of an amazing cast.

Acclaimed auteur Christopher Nolan directs this World War II thriller about the evacuation of Allied troops from the French city of Dunkirk before Nazi forces can take hold. Tom Hardy, Kenneth Branagh and Mark Rylance co-star, with longtime Nolan collaborator Hans Zimmer providing the score.

Dunkirk presents great performances to keep you in the moment, amazing direction to hook your breath, not relying on CGI for your eye-comfort and a great score to make you excited!

The movie from the start to the end is just about the battle of Dunkirk, without a very hooking story, but still one of the best war movies.. especially Christopher Nolan who turned a very simple idea to an amazing and surprising work.

The first time I heard about this movie, I thought that it's gonna be a normal war movie, like battle and fighting, I didn't expect it to be about evacuation. When I knew that it's about the evacuation I wasn't excited to watch it, then I watched the VR experience, so I knew then that this movie's gonna have a great presentation, so I watched it, and I loved it!

I'm not saying it's perfect, but it was very close to be the greatest war movie, if it just had these moments to get close to the characters, to feel their pain of leaving their life behind for the war, it could have been perfect.

So I'm not gonna give it my perfect grade, but I'm gonna give it an A! I think it's an amazing movie, which is gonna live for so many years.

alright, guys, thank you as always for reading my review, let me know if you like my reviews or not, and I welcome all the comments.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Vitor007Sep 23, 2018
"Dunkirk" shows that there is no protagonist in a war. Since its beginning it shows that everyone has its importance in a conflict, from a normal soldier, to a general on base. A weak point would be how complicated and confusing it becomes in"Dunkirk" shows that there is no protagonist in a war. Since its beginning it shows that everyone has its importance in a conflict, from a normal soldier, to a general on base. A weak point would be how complicated and confusing it becomes in a few moments, in general for the public, but manages to balance, not being too gloomy or even too comical. 7.3/10 Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
TheIncredibleNov 26, 2018
sucks ass sucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssuckssucks ass sucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks asssucks ass Expand
3 of 17 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
10
PumpedupKicksNov 23, 2018
Dunkirk is right on the list of Nolan's all time best. The cinematography is just too beautiful to be missed, whether you're a movie buff or not. The Magical Duo of Nolan & Zimmer just seem to get better with every release. The culmination ofDunkirk is right on the list of Nolan's all time best. The cinematography is just too beautiful to be missed, whether you're a movie buff or not. The Magical Duo of Nolan & Zimmer just seem to get better with every release. The culmination of this Nolan-Zimmer masterpiece is a beautifully captured and composed film that leaves us content with what we've just seen. Nolan's ideology of minimal dialogues lets the action do the talking and boy does it do it impeccably. The Soundtrack carries the movie forward and is very apt with each scenario. In conclusion, this a MUST WATCH with a sui generis approach to a War-Drama-Thriller that will leave you wanting for more. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
carlossolracNov 14, 2018
Historically condensed but we all got it. Pretty stunning from visual perspective. Heroes on levels not seen since those days.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MattDamonNov 12, 2018
Total masterpiece of storytelling. Visually stunning with a fantastic score. Nolan shows once again why he is so loved.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
DrchoreOct 10, 2018
Dunkirk is a good movie which produced by the top notches.
But it uses the cheapest trick to raise heartbeat, increase the feeling of suspension and tension in its audience; it is nothing but using a repetitive pulsive sound which is a lot
Dunkirk is a good movie which produced by the top notches.
But it uses the cheapest trick to raise heartbeat, increase the feeling of suspension and tension in its audience; it is nothing but using a repetitive pulsive sound which is a lot like heartbeats. It runs through the whole movie long without any stop except when it turns to a clock ticking sound on some occasions or stops for some seconds in the train cabin to make you feel it's safe now.
After the movie, you might feel exhausted or hyped and I think that's why.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ErikTheCriticOct 8, 2018
This may not be his best work, but Nolan still manages to deliver first-rate, striking visuals accompanied by excellent performances and a sustained intensity throughout the whole film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
meta_kingSep 21, 2018
Dobry film.Dobry film.Dobry film.Dobry film.Dobry film.Dobry film.Dobry film. bardzo dobry!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
msg78Sep 15, 2018
Absolute rubbish. It's so boring I almost fell asleep but the worst thing of all is the constant background music. It never stops and once you notice it's there it's all you can think about.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
BroyaxAug 11, 2018
Le meilleur film de Christopher Nolan, techniquement parlant : il tient bien ses caméras, ne les secoue pas et le montage n'est pas saucissonné ; les plans sont en outre judicieusement choisis... Cerise sur le gâteau, le film n'est pas longLe meilleur film de Christopher Nolan, techniquement parlant : il tient bien ses caméras, ne les secoue pas et le montage n'est pas saucissonné ; les plans sont en outre judicieusement choisis... Cerise sur le gâteau, le film n'est pas long comme un jour sans pain -contrairement aux Batmous par exemple- et va droit à l'essentiel : bref, on ne s'ennuie pas !

Le spectacle est là et indéniablement impressionnant, sur terre, sur mer et dans les airs... les images de synthèse sont assez belles mais loin d'être irréprochables, les zingues notamment ont l'air de jouets en plastique. On s'étonne par ailleurs de voir -de façon fugace certes- un front de mer très contemporain... de notre temps : les ordis étaient-ils en panne ?

Le fait de découper le récit sur 3 axes -terre, air, mer- est une bonne idée pour le rythme mais se fait au détriment de l'humain, surtout lorsqu'on a en tête l'excellent Week-end à Zuydcoote d'Henri Verneuil mais bien sûr l'approche n'est pas du tout la même, ni les intentions... On a ici à peine le temps de reconnaître les quelques gugusses, trimbalés comme des fétus de paille qui ne se parlent pas ou si peu. Faut dire qu'on a pas le temps de faire la causette, c'est la déroute... mais tout de même.

Et puis, il y a pas mal de détails qui fâchent et font tache ; le petit con qui se cogne la tête et qui clamse, c'est n'importe quoi ; la RAF qui dégomme la Luftwaffe comme à la foire... en fait, trois **** Spitfire qui font le ménage à eux tout seuls ! dont l'un arrive à voler sans essence pendant 10 minutes... sans compter l'autre qui amerrit tranquillou ! et la marmotte, Môssieur Nolan, elle emballe le chocolat dans le papier alu ?

Et puis, on peut déplorer la musique agitée de Hans Zimmer, pas au mieux de sa forme : les trois quarts du temps discordante, cacophonique puis qui singe Vangelis à la fin. Et un petit côté gloriole pas très marqué mais bien présent comme si Dunkerque n'était pas la pire défaite de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale au cours de laquelle une armée s'est fait massacrer tandis que l'autre se carapatait à toute blinde dans la panique et la confusion.

Donc, Dunkerque -ou plutôt Dunkirk pour messieurs les Anglais- ce n'est pas mauvais pour autant mais ça reste étonnamment médiocre et superficiel. Pour une idée de la débâcle, allez passer un Week-end à Zuydcoote, car malgré tout son argent, ce Triple A fanfaron est à mille lieues de la puissance du film français.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Slovenly_MuseAug 31, 2018
A film that has nothing to say about the events of Dunkirk, war in general, or the people affected by it. The time-shifting device is needlessly confusing, and serves no narrative purpose but to give you something to think about, since theA film that has nothing to say about the events of Dunkirk, war in general, or the people affected by it. The time-shifting device is needlessly confusing, and serves no narrative purpose but to give you something to think about, since the story and characters won't. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
ShermaAug 20, 2018
This movie is terrible, totally bloodless, thousands of British and French soldiers on the beach getting bombed and straffed by the Luftwaffe and yet there are no bodies no blood no dismemberment, hardly any bodies on the beach. No germanThis movie is terrible, totally bloodless, thousands of British and French soldiers on the beach getting bombed and straffed by the Luftwaffe and yet there are no bodies no blood no dismemberment, hardly any bodies on the beach. No german soldiers to be seen just an invisible enemy apart from some CGI warplanes. Dunkirk didn't try to depict the true horrors of war. Totally the opposite of Saving private Ryan, Hacksaw ridge etc.
Christopher Nolan wanted a suspense film, and not a war film as such, and yet this is a failure too, as I had no empathy with any of the characters weather they lived or died. Hans Zimmer is a great music composer, however the music was supposed to add some intensity and suspense to the film and yet I just found it annoying as it was constant throughout. The only shock and horror I found regarding this film are the positive reviews. This film is for snowflakes and people who suffer from a very nervous disposition.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
KRC161412_1Aug 20, 2018
Perfect movie! Screenplay, soundtrack, everythign! Thank you for great movie expierence!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
CharlibabesAug 18, 2018
Utterly disappointing and totally bewildered at the reviews - clearly made for, and watched by, the snowflake generation who have no historical knowledge! Shameful lack of historical context, where were the stories of the many many civiliansUtterly disappointing and totally bewildered at the reviews - clearly made for, and watched by, the snowflake generation who have no historical knowledge! Shameful lack of historical context, where were the stories of the many many civilians who answered the call and rescued the hundreds of thousands of soldiers? Come to that where were the hundreds of thousands of soldiers? Where were the boats so laden there was no room to squeeze another man on? Where were the boats, the thousands of aircraft?

Underwhelmed, even angered, goodness on only knows what still living survivors thought!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
1
BladeLover2049Aug 17, 2018
When the cinema wants to explore the human soul and reality, it usually searches the characters to find them through our search of them. But in an unreal movie where the characters are simple figures of wax is very impossible. In the warWhen the cinema wants to explore the human soul and reality, it usually searches the characters to find them through our search of them. But in an unreal movie where the characters are simple figures of wax is very impossible. In the war where the deepest emotions of the human being are shown there is nothing in this case. And the narrative form is a simple complacent work in which the meaning of the ending gives nothing substantial. A movie about cowards. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EgeBerkAug 17, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Inspired by a true story.I've watched a lot of war movies before and dunkirk is definitely one of the top 5 war movies that really impressed me.

Why is it so ridiculous or bad for me in the movie why the frenches stay behind when the English get away.
it is said to be very wrong there are more than 300.000 troops there rather than being open target on the beach is a little better than resistance.
this is not like movie criticism. If it is so in history, of course they can not change it, but it hurts me to hunt into clear target.


the movie goes on at different time intervals and shows us the events with different eyes, for example we see the fall of a plane both in the eyes of the pilot and also in the eyes of the person using the boat below.war scenes, and even the entire backdrop of the movie, the music that was playing was beautiful, it was full of thrill hits, the battle scenes were pretty realistic, you feel like in the war and you witness those difficulties.

the war is so bad we once again saw it.

I do not know if they are English loves or hate I obviously did not know that they would leave the frenches but in the last stages they helped the soldiers of the people to emigrate them to save them from the beach.


My favorite scene is Kenneth Branagh saying It is home and the appearance of the boats on the horizon,I can watch this scene many times.our french child, so gibson was freed from all accusations that he was very sorry for his death, but having a very good heart caused his death.


the scenes of battle planes deserve to be nominated until the end of a truly oscar's movie that needs to be appreciated.If he had won, nobody said he did not deserve it.

a movie that has already been shot on a beautiful story
BRAVO.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
natedeugJul 25, 2018
The three different stories told simultaneously culminate in a stressful and effective ending. Unlike any other war movie I've seen. Another excellent film from Christopher Nolan.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
AndrewTullochJul 19, 2018
No film is perfect, but to my mind this one achieves nearly everything that it set outs to do.

No plot? Who said that? Whatever the case, the story that is told is gripping and well worth the effort to understand apparent tangles - and the
No film is perfect, but to my mind this one achieves nearly everything that it set outs to do.

No plot? Who said that? Whatever the case, the story that is told is gripping and well worth the effort to understand apparent tangles - and the criss-crossing time line of the the major 'stories', 'land', 'sea' and 'air' is even very, very effective (for many reasons, like the chaos of the whole situation).

No character development? Who said that? We got to know a few of the many individuals thrown into the chaos of the collapse and chaos. Just right for what the film was trying to do. Our 'getting to know them' happened largely through all the crazy (terrible) events they go through.

Having grown up in the 70s when war films were a staple in a way they aren't now, and having watched a lot, I can honestly say no film before has made such an impression on me about the dreadful experience of war suffered by the mostly young participants, about how they experienced it, and how certain attractive values like decency and courage shine out in ordinary people who are not heroes in the usual cinematic sense.

There are many other great films that hit a similar spot and do a similarly excellent job, like Battle of Britain or, for another time and place, Platoon or Full Metal Jacket, but this one takes a slightly different approach... and pulls it off, just like they did in their own way.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
raporgiJul 16, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. its like phuuking a hot chick only to find out its a frickin blow-up doll. Nice visuals but its too immaculate and sterile. you arent invested in the characters and by the movie's end you just dont give phuuck.Zimmer scores this like something was gonna happen but no. The Blitzkrieg was not shown so people with no familiarity with history have zero context to what was happening. Tom Hardy wears a Bane mask and has a weird accent again. This is the cinematic equivalent of constipation with no relief in sight. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
AndremaxJul 10, 2018
The realism in this picture is incredible. An emotional, epic, strong and attractive story. One of the best Nolan's movies.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
rafathefelixJul 8, 2018
Na Operação Dínamo, mais conhecida como a Evacuação de Dunquerque, soldados aliados da Bélgica, do Império Britânico e da França são rodeados pelo exército alemão e devem ser resgatados durante uma feroz batalha no início da Segunda GuerraNa Operação Dínamo, mais conhecida como a Evacuação de Dunquerque, soldados aliados da Bélgica, do Império Britânico e da França são rodeados pelo exército alemão e devem ser resgatados durante uma feroz batalha no início da Segunda Guerra Mundial. A história acompanha três momentos distintos: uma hora de confronto no céu, onde o piloto Farrier (Tom Hardy) precisa destruir um avião inimigo, um dia inteiro em alto mar, onde o civil britânico Dawson (Mark Rylance) leva seu barco de passeio para ajudar a resgatar o exército de seu país, e uma semana na praia, onde o jovem soldado Tommy (Fionn Whitehead) busca escapar a qualquer preço. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
YungKangJun 18, 2018
A sweeping film of technical virtuosity and dazzling cinematography. A must-see war film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NavyBeanJul 24, 2017
I've changed my rating on this film from 5 to 9 after a second viewing. There are indeed a lot of unanswered questions, but it doesn't matter. This is a spectacular film. I'll watch it again. Old review below: Very conflicted about this filmI've changed my rating on this film from 5 to 9 after a second viewing. There are indeed a lot of unanswered questions, but it doesn't matter. This is a spectacular film. I'll watch it again. Old review below: Very conflicted about this film and its director's intentions. It is a beautiful film and shot incredibly. The opening scene is amazing. But I felt little connection to the characters and what happens to the civilian kid on the boat seemed unnecessary and too sentimental at the end. And what's the point of Cillian Murphy's character? So many things unexplained and unknown. It may be the director's intent to comment on the chaos of war but it felt like wearing a beautiful suit that's two sizes too big. Expand
11 of 30 users found this helpful1119
All this user's reviews
5
jgzegerJun 9, 2018
I found the story-telling here confusing and the visuals monotonous. I was perplexed as to why it was so highly rated.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
erikmc12Jun 7, 2018
A theosophical war movie: Nature is a clock... Nolan is god, and the soldiers... his puppets; 'igne natura renovatur integra'... sacrifice is necessary, but peace will come with the new world order...
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
BeanmanJamesMay 31, 2018
I dont really have much to say about this one, apart from that it's good and I like it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AndrewBurgeMay 30, 2018
Christopher Nolan's 'Dunkirk' is a moment. Unlike most films, which take a procedural and mostly linear structured manner of development, 'Dunkirk' is one singular super-set-piece comprised of a handful of others. And because of this, itChristopher Nolan's 'Dunkirk' is a moment. Unlike most films, which take a procedural and mostly linear structured manner of development, 'Dunkirk' is one singular super-set-piece comprised of a handful of others. And because of this, it holds itself together like a meticulously and carefully crafted puzzle, almost like the inner workings of a Swiss watch.

The story revolves around the Dunkirk Evacuation during the early years of World War II when the entire British Army was pushed back to the beaches of Northern France and were nearly wiped out. Usually, when filmmakers present a historical event, they tend to focus on a handful of characters which come with their own personal baggage. And while this film has these elements, like two soldiers aiming to escape (Fionn Whitehead and Harry Styles) a civilian boat coming to the rescue manned by father and son (Mark Rylance and Tom Glynn-Carney) and two RAF pilots in the air struggling to help (Tom Hardy and Jack Lowden), Nolan does not focus on them more than it is necessary for the viewer, giving them minimalist dialogue making them a representation of their entire categories. This is what makes this film special. Nolan understands the art of film. He realizes that movies are not necessarily about people. They can be about whatever you feel. It is the most liberating art form and the most powerful and advanced.

That being said, while these characters are not given a lot of focus, somehow, in their brief moments they manage to shock, inspire and touch us through efficient screenwriting and perfect pacing. Overall, though it is Nolan's apocalyptic approach to the event which truly captures the viewer. You might argue that his films are over-produced, never giving you a moment to breathe, being always on the edge, and I actually agree! But there is something paradoxical in his over-the-top approach, especially here, where Nolan brings his best and worst tendencies to bare.

Nolan's approach here is presented through mostly panoramic views brilliantly executed by Hoyte van Hoytema's cinematography. The greatest result here is the way it creates an engulfing state of fear and despair without ever showing us the enemy properly, almost as if to present them as untouchable and invisible gods which would send their cataclysmic wrath in the forms of aerial bombardments.

So, if someone were to ask me if this I think this film was flawless, I would say no. It is over-produced, highly saturated and the soundtrack is constantly booming in your head. Yet it is the presence of all these elements together, what makes this film the best of 2017. Only a film mathematician like Christopher Nolan could fuse these flawed concepts into one perfectly crafted and polished moment.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
NerdHausMay 28, 2018
Unlike any war movie I have ever seen. Beautifully shot and great story telling.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Astor_May 25, 2018
I have never been a fan of war films. If the plot is good enough, I would still give it a go. This film took itself too seriously. It feels like a historical book. No notable interesting characters. I could not get into this. Sorry.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
3ebfan511Jul 23, 2017
Over-rated, and disappointing. The first 15 minutes were decent, and then I was almost falling asleep for the rest of the movie. (I think I did in fact fall asleep it was so boring.) This was advertised as some kind of super exciting warOver-rated, and disappointing. The first 15 minutes were decent, and then I was almost falling asleep for the rest of the movie. (I think I did in fact fall asleep it was so boring.) This was advertised as some kind of super exciting war movie, and saving private ryan is one of my favorite movies ever, and I go and instead I get one of the most boring war movies ever. I don't even mind if there isn't much action, but then at least give me interesting characters and story (like the Thin Red Line, also one of my favorite movies where the characters daydream in the middle of battles for minutes and minutes but you get to actually know the characters and their lives etc....great film.) This film had a lack of compelling action, guys are pretty much just retreating and you see the same few types of shots over and over again for an hour. I saw about 3 planes the entire movie, (the same 3 planes) and the same 100 guys, and thats about it. I did not see a single enemy soldier in the ENTIRE FILM. Almost NO CHARACTER even has DIALOGUE. Almost every character is nameless and faceless, which is fine for the first 15 minutes when they are under direct diress, but at some point people will like, open their mouths and want to know things about each other and character should be revealed. Film had weak action, with guys on boats doing nothing, and then not even any dialogue. and the music itself should have been good if it actually matched the action on screen. It was like hearing the great music from the Dark Knight during a foreboding moment of action when you are expecting a climax....only to see no climax, ever, throughout the entire film, repeat process for 1 hour, and that is "Dunkirk". Horribly over-rated and not a very good war film being over-rated based on the directors past work. I would rate is as one of Nolan's worst films, and the only one that...made me actually fall asleep. Terrible writing, and the music did not match the (lack of) action. Sub-par and a disappointment overall compared to these mindless "great" reviews. It was OK, but that was about it. Expand
14 of 25 users found this helpful1411
All this user's reviews
1
rlw1955May 15, 2018
Soldiers lined up on a pier waiting to board a ship that’s taking wounded only. Officer states we are like fish in a barrel as you look back down the pier towards the beach as hundreds of non wounded are standing in line. A look on the beachSoldiers lined up on a pier waiting to board a ship that’s taking wounded only. Officer states we are like fish in a barrel as you look back down the pier towards the beach as hundreds of non wounded are standing in line. A look on the beach shows dozens of lines of men standing out in the open all in neat rows waiting on ships that aren’t there. German planes strafing and bombing the beach all the while you have a town right behind with all types of empty buildings where you could be taking shelter and be out of sight. Men taking fire in a beached ship and out of 300,000 men not one group got together to recon for the firing Germans. Not sure if this movie was actually trying to convey how terrible this situation was for the stranded at Dunkirk or to make the British military leadership look like buffoons. This movie was way overhyped. Not the worst movie I have ever watched but it could have been much more than what it was. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
filmcapsMay 9, 2018
i get what nolan was trying to do with not giving the characters any story and back story but still made the movie feel empty. but it is still a visual storytelling masterpiece and a groundbreaking film. classic nolan
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
benskylerhillMay 6, 2018
Dunkirk is very much unlike the rest of Christopher Nolan's filmography. His earlier work--in particular The Dark Knight, Inception, and Interstellar--is very much large-scale and spectacle-driven while it still boasts narratives that areDunkirk is very much unlike the rest of Christopher Nolan's filmography. His earlier work--in particular The Dark Knight, Inception, and Interstellar--is very much large-scale and spectacle-driven while it still boasts narratives that are anchored by intelligent, complex dialogue. With Dunkirk, Nolan retains the visual and audio extravagance but trades in the intellect for simplicity. Sometimes this formula works in this case, and sometimes it doesn't.

As is to be expected from Nolan at this point, this film is gorgeous to look at. The set design incorporates actual sea vessels from World War II and is flawlessly constructed. All of the lighting and camera angles are seamless and serve to portray the brutality of war in a beautifully engaging way.

Where Dunkirk falls flat is in its storytelling methods. It's utilizes nonlinear storytelling that is never clear about when it jumps back and forth through time, thus making it difficult to decipher the movie's timeline. It's also a film that isn't about any one character or even group of characters. It's about the event; the Dunkirk rescue of 1940 is the film's only character. Because there is so little dialogue and yet so many people in the movie, there is no time to get to know any of the characters as people and thus it is hard to connect with the story in a deep, emotional way. Granted, it is to be understood that the film effectively portrays war as harsh and uncaring by not providing any characters to care about; but when it comes to watching a film, there ought to be a reason to care. It's a two-edged sword, really.

Christopher Nolan's departure from his somewhat predictable formula feels fresh and proves to be effective in crafting a compelling war thiller that is not perfect by any means but treats its historical source material with honest and dignified honor and respect.

Story: 5.5
Acting: 8.5
Script: 7.5
Visuals/Sound: 10
Entertainment Value: 7.5

OVERALL SCORE: 7.8/10
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
xrararaMay 5, 2018
Movie was horrible. Obnoxiously loud and incredibly boring. The worst movie I have ever seen, even more disappointing because I love the Dark Knight.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
zstarkey20Apr 29, 2018
I liked the film, but it left me a bit disappointed. The moments of chaos seemed too controlled aside from moments of the sinking ship. Lastly, I wasn't thrilled with the ending and I left the movie slightly unsatisfied. All in all thoughI liked the film, but it left me a bit disappointed. The moments of chaos seemed too controlled aside from moments of the sinking ship. Lastly, I wasn't thrilled with the ending and I left the movie slightly unsatisfied. All in all though it's a movie worth seeing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
0326990qdiun123Apr 27, 2018
이 영화가 주는 분위기와 긴장감에 완전히 압도되었다. 믿고 보는 크리스토퍼 놀란감독!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
GrantD243Apr 25, 2018
I'm convinced that Christopher Nolan is one of the only directors working today that could pull off making a film like Dunkirk. Centered around an event during WW2 that not a whole lot of people know about, sparse dialogue, extensive actionI'm convinced that Christopher Nolan is one of the only directors working today that could pull off making a film like Dunkirk. Centered around an event during WW2 that not a whole lot of people know about, sparse dialogue, extensive action scenes/cinematic shots, and no true main character–but it all comes together to tell an incredible story? Yeah, you're gonna need someone like Nolan for that kind of film. And, boy, he delivers. The visuals are stunning, the dialogue is precise, and there is character development (which is one of the main complaints I've seen about this film). A film doesn't have to have loads of dialogue to develop its characters, and it doesn't have to focus on one character. Dunkirk uses primarily action for character development, with dialogue as a secondary device. And no, we're not meant to care about one character in particular, we're meant to care about all of the characters as a group. All of that aside, Dunkirk also just has a great story to it. The idea of essentially being stranded on a beach, surrounded, constantly bombarded by bombs, with no real hope for a successful rescue is truly maddening. I can't imagine what the soldiers felt like after going through all of that, but at least we get to see their story. Will Dunkirk do down as one of the best war films ever? Probably not. But I think it should. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
LivingTribunalApr 24, 2018
I know that this is a brilliant film, but I cannot agree that it deserves 94 rating when The Dark Knight got 82 and The Shawshank Redemption got 80. I don't think this is a better war movie than Saving Private Ryan. When you watch the film,I know that this is a brilliant film, but I cannot agree that it deserves 94 rating when The Dark Knight got 82 and The Shawshank Redemption got 80. I don't think this is a better war movie than Saving Private Ryan. When you watch the film, you'll feel like you are actually there in the middle of Dunkirk especially when you watched in IMAX. Hans Zimmer's composition was one of the best, and it changes the mood a lot. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
diomedesbcApr 21, 2018
I was surprised, the movie had such great reviews, but was pretty disappointing for me. Maybe I'm too critical because I know more than the average about the history. Still the story was kind of a let down.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
destinyfan1Apr 15, 2018
One of the most overrated movies ever,it was extremely generic through the entire movie,moving from boat to boat ,shooting plane to plane ,it delivered nothing original,it did make you feel how hard it was to survive dunkirk , but the movieOne of the most overrated movies ever,it was extremely generic through the entire movie,moving from boat to boat ,shooting plane to plane ,it delivered nothing original,it did make you feel how hard it was to survive dunkirk , but the movie forgot to be enjoyable and was pretty boring at most times,but it did have great actors,and good visuals,good overview in the plane fights.
Recommended for people who are used to war movies,for others it will be boring
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
MonkiReviewsApr 2, 2018
I enjoyed this movie a lot. The acting was great, and they made the movie feel more real. The sound was very realistic also. The story, in my opinion, was very interesting. They brought each side story together into one big story. The onlyI enjoyed this movie a lot. The acting was great, and they made the movie feel more real. The sound was very realistic also. The story, in my opinion, was very interesting. They brought each side story together into one big story. The only bad thing about it is that the story felt a little rushed towards the middle. I liked this movie overall. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
madmal69Mar 21, 2018
One of the best films of the year, hands down. Flawless sound effects and visuals made me feel as if I were inside the film. Amazing performances all around.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
bfoore90Mar 21, 2018
A powerful and intense look at the event that took place at Dunkirk during World War 2. Dunkirk is possibly one of the greatest victories for the British against nearly impossible odds, the Germans were fast approaching, time was short andA powerful and intense look at the event that took place at Dunkirk during World War 2. Dunkirk is possibly one of the greatest victories for the British against nearly impossible odds, the Germans were fast approaching, time was short and people were dying. While it does suffer because its lack of characterization and dialogue, it's still a great retelling of the events that occurred at Dunkirk Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
juliankennedy23Mar 21, 2018
Dunkirk is a taut arty recreation of Operation Dynamo that took place between May 26th and June 4th, 1940 where Britain managed to rescue about 400,000 of their own and allied troops that were encircled by the Germans and trapped on a sliverDunkirk is a taut arty recreation of Operation Dynamo that took place between May 26th and June 4th, 1940 where Britain managed to rescue about 400,000 of their own and allied troops that were encircled by the Germans and trapped on a sliver of land on the coast.

The operation is famous for its use of civilian craft and the sheer number rescued after the humiliating defeat on the mainland. It inspired newly elected Prime Minister Winston Churchill to make his “we will fight them on the beaches” speech.

The Good: Christopher Nolan has shown himself a brilliant director since “The Following” in 1998 and simply has not been as on top of his game as in this film. He uses, what could easily be a gimmick, an anachronic order of three separate time lines told simultaneously. I usually dislike movies that are not told in a simply chronological order but it simply works brilliantly here fitting both the material and the stories told within.

The movie is also a wonderfully minimalist affair with music used sparingly to create a great effect when it does appear and a taut running time that bluntly is a relief. Too often both war epics, recent Christopher Nolan films (I am looking your way Interstellar) and “important movies” in general seem to pad the running time to a kidney-busting three hours packing every piece of flotsam and jetsam surrounding the main story hoping something sticks with the audience.

The acting and cinematography are also top notch. The air combat scenes filmed with real fighter aircraft of the era are a sight to behold and simply a triumph.

The Bad: While the anachronic order certainly does work brilliantly upon reflection of the entire film, one can find it disorienting during the actual viewing if one does not expect it going in.

Nolan does an incredible job recreating the time period using actual ships that were at the evacuation and filming on the actual beach. However, his refusal to use CGI does create a city of Dunkirk that is remarkable intact compared to the actual city of that day and a beach that is not strewn with the hundreds of tanks and thousands of vehicles the British and French abandoned. While that is certainly excusable as an artistic choice the modern seat patterns on the train are a surprising anachronism.

In Conclusion: As the son of a man who survived the blitz and a grandson of a Royal Navy officer, I am certain my tearing eyes and warm feeling during the film will not be shared by all. It is, however, even for those with no personal connection, a brilliant combination of direction, cinematography, and music that is a filmmaking triumph. One of the best film I have seen this year.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
wesker2012Mar 20, 2018
Another over-rated movie. Not enough characterization to be engaging. Didn't feel connected enough to the characters to feel their plight. Another case of beautiful cinematography and visuals, but hugely lacking in characters, emotion, andAnother over-rated movie. Not enough characterization to be engaging. Didn't feel connected enough to the characters to feel their plight. Another case of beautiful cinematography and visuals, but hugely lacking in characters, emotion, and drama. Felt more like a Hollywood depiction of something you'd see on the History Channel. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Minh18121999Mar 19, 2018
Dunkirk is intense as f***,Christopher Nolan,one of my favourite directors of all time, who directed this film the **** out of it.This is a very different war film,and also very different from Nolan's previous film,this films looksDunkirk is intense as f***,Christopher Nolan,one of my favourite directors of all time, who directed this film the **** out of it.This is a very different war film,and also very different from Nolan's previous film,this films looks gorgeous,the cinematography by Hoyte van Hoytema is so good,the loud and inspiring score by Hans Zimmer is the best score of 2017.This film is 106 minutes long and it is perfect fitted.The film has no character development or set up,which some critics complain about,but this makes Dunkirk more real and more focus on the event,despite its pg13 rating.The acting is top-notch.This film totally floored me,because of that,Dunkirk gets 10/10 Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
AidinKianyMar 11, 2018
so boring.no story. no character. if it was for another director i vote 6 but for nolan it was awful. mr nolan, i suggest you to watch your previous movies again so you understand why this one disappoints us.
differences always cant be good.
so boring.no story. no character. if it was for another director i vote 6 but for nolan it was awful. mr nolan, i suggest you to watch your previous movies again so you understand why this one disappoints us.
differences always cant be good.
at least not in this one.
Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
Bheath2002Mar 11, 2018
The best war movie. Showed all traditional elements in a new and interesting way. Says a lot with little dialogue but I really felt like I was there. Perfect
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
mrdollarMar 10, 2018
Reminds me of "Fury" movie failure of absolute nonsense with anti-gravity plane, even manage to destroy enemy fighter without fuel. Same as terminator tank in "Fury". Boring, 2 hour long over hyped and clearly bribed "professional" reviews.Reminds me of "Fury" movie failure of absolute nonsense with anti-gravity plane, even manage to destroy enemy fighter without fuel. Same as terminator tank in "Fury". Boring, 2 hour long over hyped and clearly bribed "professional" reviews. This movie was a lie and everyone should ask for a refund. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
7
VDSMar 10, 2018
I avoided this at the cinema because I don’t like war films (self-censorship at its worst). I’m still pleased I didn’t see it at the cinema, but not because it isn’t very good. It is good.

If you’re expecting a Christopher Nolan reality
I avoided this at the cinema because I don’t like war films (self-censorship at its worst). I’m still pleased I didn’t see it at the cinema, but not because it isn’t very good. It is good.

If you’re expecting a Christopher Nolan reality bending flic, or a full on action bash, you’ll be disappointed. Or a Saving Private Ryan type overly-sentimental blood bath, again you’ll be disappointed.

What the movie has is layers, beautiful cinematography, minimal dialogue and only a few war movie clichés.

The stand out parts for me were the flying sequences, and the whole story line involving Tom Hardy as the Spitfire pilot. It looked beautiful, it was handled delicately, and it seemed happy to forgo glamor and focus on reality. The end was a bit cheesy, and that would be my criticism of the film in general. What started off as a surprisingly down to earth war film, did sink a little bit into cliché by the end.

However, I’d recommend it. But, one more word of warning, the Americans do not swoop in at the end and ‘save the day’, so if you’re wanting that, move along. This film focuses on the British, and how, I guess, we got the saying ‘the Dunkirk spirit’.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
CTHReviewsMar 8, 2018
Like Rogue One, it sacrifices character for spectacle. But luckily, it succeeds on every level of the word "spectacle". Christopher Nolan's war epic is extremely intense, with by far the best war action set pieces ever put to cinema.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
JabboMar 7, 2018
I knew the basic story of Dunkirk, and was very excited to see a movie that expanded and detailed what happened at that historic event. I was severely disappointed that none of this occurred. The plot was bare bones, the character developmentI knew the basic story of Dunkirk, and was very excited to see a movie that expanded and detailed what happened at that historic event. I was severely disappointed that none of this occurred. The plot was bare bones, the character development non-existant, and in spite of the exemplary production values, it was a total letdown. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RrichardMar 6, 2018
Terrific movie. Highly recommended for all WW2 fans. Great sights and sounds.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
MarvelJoeFeb 28, 2018
Christopher Nolan brought something new to the table and it was extremely scary that I felt like I was there.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
sidneyrosehornFeb 26, 2018
beautiful film and highly recommended! All the acting is excellent. My only issue is that sometimes the background noise can be a little loud. Best viewed on a large TV or in the movie theatre
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
MaxPayneIsGodFeb 25, 2018
I understand the historical significance of this event, but as a movie? What a snore fest, this is a war movie not an after school special, not a single drop of blood spilled and the disjointed timeline is an overt way of admitting that thereI understand the historical significance of this event, but as a movie? What a snore fest, this is a war movie not an after school special, not a single drop of blood spilled and the disjointed timeline is an overt way of admitting that there is absolutely zero story. Give me Saving Private Ryan any day. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
merijnjFeb 21, 2018
(93/100)
A new approach to a war movie that pays of when everyting comes together.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
MadMaxFuryRoadJul 21, 2017
Visually, Dunkirk is a masterpiece. Really, Dunkirk is a work of art. It's beautifully directed, insanely loud, and visually stunning. The first five minutes of the opening was one of the best this year. There were a ton of memorable scenes,Visually, Dunkirk is a masterpiece. Really, Dunkirk is a work of art. It's beautifully directed, insanely loud, and visually stunning. The first five minutes of the opening was one of the best this year. There were a ton of memorable scenes, including a beach bombing sequence. However, storywise, the film contains flaws. The plot was pretty thinly written and at times, I felt as if I was just watching battle sequence without much substance (in other words, "a good plot"). Nevertheless, Dunkirk is one of those rare movies that is beautiful to look at and an overall good film to watch, even if the narrative isn't so intriguing. Expand
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
9
lindenanakin696Feb 20, 2018
One of the best movies of the year. I felt very guilty I didn't see it in theaters.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
kiankFeb 17, 2018
Dunkirk is a really good movie. I loved the way how all the pathways of all the different characters interconnected at the end. It is also really pretty and just really well done. One of the best war movies I've seen. My one complaint isDunkirk is a really good movie. I loved the way how all the pathways of all the different characters interconnected at the end. It is also really pretty and just really well done. One of the best war movies I've seen. My one complaint is that all the soldiers looked the same and I couldn't tell them apart. Overall, I'd give it a 8.8. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerFeb 15, 2018
Harrowing. Christopher Nolan's war film is not about big, bloody battles. Dunkirk's story takes place from several different perspectives. Cutoff and stranded, the British and French soldiers are just doing what they can to survive as theHarrowing. Christopher Nolan's war film is not about big, bloody battles. Dunkirk's story takes place from several different perspectives. Cutoff and stranded, the British and French soldiers are just doing what they can to survive as the Nazi's repeated attacks continue to reduce their numbers and moral as escape attempts are thwarted left and right. We will witness events from the eyes of those trying to leave Dunkirk and those trying to reach it in order to help, all primarily from the British viewpoint. An exquisitely beautiful film, Dunkirk surprised me by just how well it was able to convey the feelings of desperation the characters have without much spoken dialog. The tone is sad and even hopeless. Yet, things are never bleak enough to make it come off as a depressing experience a la The Road. No matter how brutal the setbacks are there's an undercurrent of light running throughout the film that keeps things from bringing the viewers down with a sense of all hope being lost for those onscreen. The ending is incredibly emotional, and not just for those with a soft spot for the military. These are more than just soldiers doing what is required of them. They are real people just trying to make it home or want to help. It's not just duty; it's humanity.

I found a slight, but fairly significant issue with how the narrative was presented. It's not entirely linear. There's a section in the latter half of the film where it will recap back to earlier events so that we may experience it from a different character. The time gap in between when we first witnessed it from a different perspective to when we make the leap back is so big it threw me off for a minute in regards to the timeline of events. I honestly can't think of a reason why Nolan didn't play it linearly outside of artistic/stylistic reasons. Personally, I think the choice hurt the flow of the movie.

Dunkirk is an impressive WWII movie that relies on it's characters and situation to portray the intensity of the war without relying on Nazi gunfire. In fact, we never actually see a Nazi onscreen. Some of their planes, yeah, but there isn't a traditional battle sequence to be found. None of the movie's power has been lost in taking this approach. Something that speaks well of the director's immense talent. It's a gripping film that will have you caring about characters before you even really hear them speak. Never before has such an awful situation made for such a beautiful watch.

8.1/10
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SrPepeFeb 15, 2018
Mal filmada con personajes vacíos y partes muy aburridas. Tiene una excelente banda sonora y grandes efectos de sonidos, pero carece de la mística cinematográfica que atrapa al espectador y lo introduce en la historia.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DaddyO3Feb 14, 2018
I was told this movie was hard to follow and I should brush up on the history of Dunkirk. I did not get a chance to review the history and just jumped into the movie. It had multiple stories going on and I didn't think it was hard toI was told this movie was hard to follow and I should brush up on the history of Dunkirk. I did not get a chance to review the history and just jumped into the movie. It had multiple stories going on and I didn't think it was hard to follow. My 16 year old son and I both enjoyed it. It's no Lord of the Rings, but a solid 7/10. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
The_CalvinatorFeb 12, 2018
Christopher Nolan remains my favorite director, as he is the only one I feel can do anything and I will enjoy it. Different from other creators in Hollywood, I don't feel like I want anything specific from Nolan, I just want it to beChristopher Nolan remains my favorite director, as he is the only one I feel can do anything and I will enjoy it. Different from other creators in Hollywood, I don't feel like I want anything specific from Nolan, I just want it to be trademark HIS. The Batman Trilogy, Inception, Interstellar, and now Dunkirk all fall into the visually impressive and compelling from the start category that Nolan has masterfully perfected. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
HotelCentralFeb 7, 2018
What a shame that filmmakers of a former age wasted time and effort inventing characters and composing dialog and developing stories, when all they really had to do is patch together a few action scenes, instruct their thespians to ad lib aWhat a shame that filmmakers of a former age wasted time and effort inventing characters and composing dialog and developing stories, when all they really had to do is patch together a few action scenes, instruct their thespians to ad lib a few grunts or shouts, and call it a movie!

I mean, really, there is no story here. It's a series of anecdotes. It's a Studs Terkel oral history with newsreel footage substituted for words.

Watch this if you must. Myself, I'll re-watch a film with characters and story, such as Mrs. Miniver (1942).
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
KamilmanzurFeb 4, 2018
GREAT VISUAL, GREAT DIRECTOR, GREAT SCRIPT, GREAT ACTING. Can't say more, just see it.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
TB1284fbFeb 4, 2018
Although the picture of the movie was phenomenal, the movie wasn't phenomenal. I thought it was good but didn't live up to the hype that everyone was saying. I didn't think the characters were really developed like they should have. They wereAlthough the picture of the movie was phenomenal, the movie wasn't phenomenal. I thought it was good but didn't live up to the hype that everyone was saying. I didn't think the characters were really developed like they should have. They were really just jumping from scene to scene on different events going on and didn't seem like the movie was really going anywhere. The acting was pretty good for the most part but the dialogue was the issue. Certain times in the movie there would be scenes where it had you on the edge of your seat so it was exciting in some parts. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
WorldofLuckyFeb 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overhyped, and ultimately a disappointment.

It is great to see a World War II movie come out this year. It is even better that it isn't American centric. I love my country, but we have made it this idea we won World War II by ourselves which isn't the case.

The movie has some pretty spots, taking the story of three groups that intertwine. The first group about British Spitfires (fighter planes) trying to give some cover, and engaging with German air force. Resulting in Tom Hardy having the only interesting action in the movie.

The second story about a small civilian ship as part of the armada of civilians coming to rescue the trapped soldiers and the story that unfolds when they pick up a soldier from a sunk ship.

Finally the third story is about two soldiers trying to survive on the beach, and wait for the rescue coming from the civilian ships.

It was interesting that all three stories occurred over different period of time but ended together. The fighters story was within an hour, the ship within a few hours, and the soldiers within a couple of days. I think this could work in other movies, and I suspect this will spark a lot of copycats for that style. We will hate this just as much as other niche storytelling styles within a few years.

The problem is there is actually very little story. It is hard to see that because the story keeps jumping around, but when you step back the story itself lacks anything. I have seen documentaries on Dunkirk that had more story. I don't know if there was never a full story, or if maybe the story got lost when Nolan was trying to break it up to fight the weird timing, but either way it is pretty barren.

I cared nothing about the soldiers at all, Nolan provided nothing for the audience to care about. Tom Hardy was interesting, but that was because of him, not because the story gave him anything. The only story I felt a little compelling was about the civilian ship, its crew of two teens and an older man and how they handle picking up a survivor. Even this story though was lacking on details and when you step back you wonder where the other half of the story went.

I will admit the possibility that the hype was so big that my expectations may be too high. I was told huge action sequences, and I didn't see that. This isn't Saving Private Ryan, or The Battle of Britain even. It was fairly boring for me, and I can really like slow movies. The movie has a short run time, but I was still looking at the clock before it was over.

The good: It is an interesting way to tell a story, and it is nice to see a non-American based World War II movie.

The bad: The pacing was slow, very little action or story, and very overhyped.

This is a movie I would recommend if you are a die hard World War II fan, but even then wait until it hits Netflix.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
s053714Jan 27, 2018
I can't understand why so many people liked this movie. While the production values were good, they seemed to have forgotten things like a plot and character development, and maybe a little enlightening dialog. It was very uninvolving andI can't understand why so many people liked this movie. While the production values were good, they seemed to have forgotten things like a plot and character development, and maybe a little enlightening dialog. It was very uninvolving and ultimately quite dull. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews