RKO Radio Pictures | Release Date: September 4, 1941
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 462 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
403
Mixed:
36
Negative:
23
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
VladthepokerJan 12, 2018
My personal favorite movie of all time, Orson Welles's Citizen Kane is a masterpiece of cinema. The most acclaimed element of the film the camera work, which is still to this day impressive. But it isn't just there to be flashy, it helps toMy personal favorite movie of all time, Orson Welles's Citizen Kane is a masterpiece of cinema. The most acclaimed element of the film the camera work, which is still to this day impressive. But it isn't just there to be flashy, it helps to tell the story. The shot of Kane walking through the mirrors might be the most depressing shot in history. The cinematography isn't the only innovative part of this film. The movie opens with the protagonist dying, and then his life is told in flashbacks, a revolutionary idea for 1941. The narrative structure and the cinematography are usually what is talked about in reviews of Citizen Kane (And they are amazing), but other aspects of the film are just as good. The performances from the mercury actors are all phenomenal, keep in mind they all had to age fifty years for their roles. The script (the only thing that won an Oscar) is also fantastic, the Bernstein monologue being one of the stand out moments. Bernard Herman's score is also great, I love the music that plays when reading Thacher's account of Kane's childhood and at the end of the film (I won't spoil what it is showing in case you haven't seen it). Citizen Kane is as close to perfect as a film can get, if you haven't seen it watch it now! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
drone41Feb 20, 2018
It's absolutely one of those movies who you must watch before you die. Really great story even if it's about fictional character, he is really great designed.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ilmi_Mar 12, 2018
Yang kasih rate 0-3 berarti sengaja menjatuhkan karya orang lain, lu pikir bikin film itu mudah ? lu pikir penilaian sebuah film bagus atau tidak cuma dinilai dari plot nya / ceritanya saja misalnya ? kalo mau kontribusi kasih rate yangYang kasih rate 0-3 berarti sengaja menjatuhkan karya orang lain, lu pikir bikin film itu mudah ? lu pikir penilaian sebuah film bagus atau tidak cuma dinilai dari plot nya / ceritanya saja misalnya ? kalo mau kontribusi kasih rate yang objektif lah, pertimbangkan aspek2 lain dalam film tersebut (unsur2 intrinsik film). Saya pribadi sangat tidak suka dengan orang2 yang tidak menghargai karya orang lain, dengan melakukan penilaian hanya dari aspek2 tertentu, tidak menilainya secara keseluruhan (semua aspek yg ada dinilai) serta memberikan penilaian secara obyektif, bukannya berdasarkan emosi/perasaan sendiri semata, alias subyektif. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
GAMERGUYCASUALJun 1, 2018
This movie is incredibly boring, and while it did bring to the table many modern filming techniques it's nothing to go on about.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
FairbottomMay 23, 2018
Citizen Kane is, simpliciter, the finest film ever made. Apparently. And we know this because, historically, it has garnered universal acclaim. If this tells us anything, it should tell us that lead poisoning has had a much more balefulCitizen Kane is, simpliciter, the finest film ever made. Apparently. And we know this because, historically, it has garnered universal acclaim. If this tells us anything, it should tell us that lead poisoning has had a much more baleful influence upon our civilization than previously assumed. Thankfully, with the benefit of hindsight and modern medical advances in the remediation of heavy metal toxicity, we are slowly and steadily coming to find that the finest film ever made is actually Paul Verhoeven's masterpiece, Starship Troopers. Expand
3 of 16 users found this helpful313
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobNov 9, 2018
Would I say it's the greatest film of all time? No. Would I say it's even among a favourite of mine? Not really. The performances were good and I love how much depth Kane has as a character but the movie dragged in some parts and the pacingWould I say it's the greatest film of all time? No. Would I say it's even among a favourite of mine? Not really. The performances were good and I love how much depth Kane has as a character but the movie dragged in some parts and the pacing wasn't consistent, At least to me. It's alright but I really don't get all the hype behind it. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
auburnnJan 16, 2018
Inspiring narrative, use of deep focus cinematography, shots of the ceilings chiaroscuro lighting and temporal jump-cuts. The breakfast montage is extremely lovely, which was cited in Kendrick Lamar's music video "LOVE."
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
hennynut08May 14, 2018
i anm omly 7 yers odl and i hav lov this movie for many decad i like when he say rosbdu and at the end he wsa takling abut uhdsgvdshdvbjryeu
good tts on burd in caje
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
NameOfAccountSep 9, 2018
Decent performance from Welles, but the plot meanders so much by the end you'll be wondering what the point was. Nice cinematography.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
VinDieselNov 29, 2018
I remember watching this with my mother and she said "Why the **** are the graphics so bad" I said "Ya, is this graphically flawed movie the best of all time" I mean, i aint no hippy joe, but i can see the difference between a waffle and aI remember watching this with my mother and she said "Why the **** are the graphics so bad" I said "Ya, is this graphically flawed movie the best of all time" I mean, i aint no hippy joe, but i can see the difference between a waffle and a pancake. And this is no pancake, this is the atrocity of why human being experience envy, lust and desperation. Can't believe this fake movie is the best. Go watch Fate of the Furious

Vin Diesel NOT approved.
Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
10
johnny_cubertJan 6, 2019
Reluctant to watch an film made before your parents were born? a film that is black and white - and a name like CITIZEN KANE. I was. Then a cinefriend of mine made me watch it - AND I LOVED IT! the story is captivating, the filmmaking andReluctant to watch an film made before your parents were born? a film that is black and white - and a name like CITIZEN KANE. I was. Then a cinefriend of mine made me watch it - AND I LOVED IT! the story is captivating, the filmmaking and structure still edgy and modern - and then when you begin to study it - as I did in film school - it's one of the films you see in almost every class for it's powerful impact in every department of the filmmaking process. Watch this film - and watch it big if you can - ORSON WELLES genius still stands strong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JalumbiJul 31, 2017
While the third act isn't the perfectly built and entertaining as the rest of the movie, it still is one of the greatest pictures ever made, because of its innovative editing, great performances and deep character study that shows the darkestWhile the third act isn't the perfectly built and entertaining as the rest of the movie, it still is one of the greatest pictures ever made, because of its innovative editing, great performances and deep character study that shows the darkest side of the American Dream. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJun 4, 2017
Citizen Kane is a remarkable work of cinema, often credited as the greatest motion picture ever created. And there is great reason for it. At its core it follows the story of Charles Foster Kane, a newspaper publisher soon to be politician.Citizen Kane is a remarkable work of cinema, often credited as the greatest motion picture ever created. And there is great reason for it. At its core it follows the story of Charles Foster Kane, a newspaper publisher soon to be politician. The film is mostly told through flashbacks allowing the audience to see Kane's life journey and how he develops into who he is by the end of the film. The great story is backed up by amazing performances and direction that only add to the overall effect. When the film first released it also set many new standards for cinema. The cinematography and lighting specifically are done so well in each scene. The way each shot is composed and lit conveys certain emotions and messages unlike any movie before its time. The use of music and sound is also very important and is executed very effectively. As a whole, Citizen Kane is a fantastically crafted film that all should see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DeanomiteJan 18, 2020
had not seen in 20 years, i felt younger just watching it. Photography is extremely solid, it felt a little like Psycho in opening shot. Tricks were amazing, the snowball zoomout was genius, camera work all around is stellar. Perfect use ofhad not seen in 20 years, i felt younger just watching it. Photography is extremely solid, it felt a little like Psycho in opening shot. Tricks were amazing, the snowball zoomout was genius, camera work all around is stellar. Perfect use of film reels for plot, like putting the plot i the pillow shots. What a fantastic study in narcissism, he lived his whole life with no empathy, he refused to consider the perspectives of others. Pretty good, 'you don't love me, you just want me to love you.' The dialog is amazing. 'i see, it's you that this is being done to, not me at all.' His wife had the best lines. Also, the thesis is about how most of our wounds come from early childhood, the worst may come trying to prevent some other thing that was the worst, his mom sent him away to protect him from his dad, but regardless of that and wealth, Kane became injured all the same, like it was in his genes. he was made narcissistic as a child, before he was sent away, the mom was clearly too beat down to love him and his dad was too angry to love him really. it is very much a Freudian movie, interesting to consider if it was a Jungian movie it would be called 'Citizen Neo' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
eli_fjrNov 7, 2019
Very boring........................If I watch it again bc someone tells me its great, I'll lower this score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
1996Jul 12, 2017
Wonderful, marvelous, glorious, fabulous... this is Citizen Kane. Every time that i see is the same satisfaction and excitation with the history of unforgettable Charles Foster Kane. Eternal aplauses to Orson Welles for this work. GreetingsWonderful, marvelous, glorious, fabulous... this is Citizen Kane. Every time that i see is the same satisfaction and excitation with the history of unforgettable Charles Foster Kane. Eternal aplauses to Orson Welles for this work. Greetings from Natal, Brazil! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeastJ18Apr 22, 2018
Intelligent, ground-breaking, a great filmic language accomplishment, a timeless case study.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GabrielHU3ttdz6Jul 28, 2017
It's a really nice movie, but "The Best Movie Ever Made"? No. Maybe the most important or influential, but not the best ever made, or at least, not anymore. Though I still consider Orson Welles to be brillant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
22WZMar 18, 2018
Wow, what a film. After rewatching Citizen Kane plenty of times, I sit hear writing my review to tell you that your no film buff if you say this movie sucks. Orson Well's legendary film has everything: A well written story, excellent acting,Wow, what a film. After rewatching Citizen Kane plenty of times, I sit hear writing my review to tell you that your no film buff if you say this movie sucks. Orson Well's legendary film has everything: A well written story, excellent acting, and of course incredable screenwriting. When observing this film, you can see that this film has inspired countless films, and is the "godfather" of films. Don't let yourself tell you that just because this is a old movie, and is black and white, it is not a great movie. It is, and will stay with you forever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KingCrasherJan 8, 2018
A unique way to present a quasi-biographical film. Cotten is amazing portraying the casual mannered Leland, with a mysterious dark apathy. Welles' intensity as the protagonist, Kane, is compelling. The underpinning Rosebud mystery servesA unique way to present a quasi-biographical film. Cotten is amazing portraying the casual mannered Leland, with a mysterious dark apathy. Welles' intensity as the protagonist, Kane, is compelling. The underpinning Rosebud mystery serves as an intriguing backbone to the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hardcorekiddJun 22, 2018
When a reporter is assigned to decipher newspaper magnate Charles Foster Kane's (Orson Welles) dying words, his investigation gradually reveals the fascinating portrait of a complex man who rose from obscurity to staggering heights. ThoughWhen a reporter is assigned to decipher newspaper magnate Charles Foster Kane's (Orson Welles) dying words, his investigation gradually reveals the fascinating portrait of a complex man who rose from obscurity to staggering heights. Though Kane's friend and colleague Jedediah Leland (Joseph Cotten), and his mistress, Susan Alexander (Dorothy Comingore), shed fragments of light on Kane's life, the reporter fears he may never penetrate the mystery of the elusive man's final word, "Rosebud." Orson Welles's epic tale of a publishing tycoon's rise and fall is entertaining, poignant, and inventive in its storytelling, earning its reputation as a landmark achievement in film. Final Grade is an A+. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeFeb 5, 2018
don't tell me you're sorry..

Citizen Kane Depicting a marriage within few minutes or even a career of an entertainer represents a keen and devoting man behind the camera as it probably is the first time the cinema must have encountered a
don't tell me you're sorry..

Citizen Kane

Depicting a marriage within few minutes or even a career of an entertainer represents a keen and devoting man behind the camera as it probably is the first time the cinema must have encountered a 'biography' genre film with such powerful sequence and fast paced acts. Citizen Kane is considered to be one of the few masterpieces ever to be set in cinema history but for me it doesn't quite works for I fail to connect it on the first instinct and the soul of it as its genre is something that I can't seem to understand but having said that I can definitely observe and appreciate the craft ensemble by the actors and projecting it majestically along with the writers and makers who are not only completely attentive to each and every frame of it but speaks the cinematic language through their work. And as its genre suggests and asks for, Orson hasn't let it down through out the course of it pushing Citizen Kane onto the major league with the help of a gripping screenplay, stellar performances and some nail biting sequences that genuinely oozes brutality and humanity in the characters.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ScorsescockJan 16, 2018
I watched this movie to see if it was as great as people say it is and I must say, it is. There is constantly very good acting, unique storytelling, and incredible directing, which makes a heartbreaking drama about a newspaper tycoon. This isI watched this movie to see if it was as great as people say it is and I must say, it is. There is constantly very good acting, unique storytelling, and incredible directing, which makes a heartbreaking drama about a newspaper tycoon. This is the greatest film I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilipeNetoFeb 23, 2018
This film focuses on the figure of Mr. Kane, an important news baron that just passed away, leaving the journalists grappling with its mysterious and enigmatic last words. Directed and written by Orson Welles, who also gives life to the leadThis film focuses on the figure of Mr. Kane, an important news baron that just passed away, leaving the journalists grappling with its mysterious and enigmatic last words. Directed and written by Orson Welles, who also gives life to the lead role, this film also has the participation of other players and is considered by many the best film ever made.

First of all, its necessary to clarify one thing: despite the opinions of many people consider this movie the best ever, these considerations are ALWAYS subjective and likely to be discussed. Each person has the right to think of another way, like it or not, period. Now let's get down to business.

When I saw this movie for the first time I was not able to understand or to see why it was so acclaimed by critics. Currently I'm most able to understand the reasons. The actors glittered in their roles, particularly Welles, who would become one of the film's biggest names in his time. The script is simple, but it tells a good story, which addresses such important issues as the simplicity and true happiness. Its a film made with love by those involved, where every detail has been thought and rethought. The use of non-linear narrative, through the use of constant flashbacks, allows the public to see the life of the deceased millionaire, a missing character, but always present. The scenarios are excellent and even the camera angles were thought innovatively. For all that, this film was considered a landmark. It doesn't have a history that goes stay forever in our memory, but it was a film that showed to the industry that certain narrative techniques, light, shooting etc. were truly possible.

So, my advice is to forget the critics, specialists and experts. Forget that is an acclaimed film and see the movie, enjoy the film before you think about it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PHIL_Apr 8, 2018
A classic among all classics. The epitome of a masterpiece; Citizen Kane is story telling at it's finest. It is crafted ingeniously clever, acted perfectly, directed and edited to perfection.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman9999Jul 26, 2018
Finally, I got to watch Citizen Kane, and there is no confusion about why this is commonly considered one of the greatest films of all-time. I watched many movies that have been described as "Revolutionary" and "Game-changing". But besidesFinally, I got to watch Citizen Kane, and there is no confusion about why this is commonly considered one of the greatest films of all-time. I watched many movies that have been described as "Revolutionary" and "Game-changing". But besides that Citizen Kane really deserve to be called so more than any movie I've watched in my life, it's could be the oldest movie that is as influential as it is timeless. I felt I was watching a movie the has been released couple years ago, except it's shot in black and white. An ecstasy of light and shadow, of clashing textures and graphic forms. A haunting cinematography that makes Citizen Kane one of the best-looking movies to date. an exuberant use of camera placement and movement and inventive lighting. Yes, it's above all a visual achievement. But all these innovative techniques shouldn't be questioned whether they still hold up or not. Because they don't just hold up to this day, but they are as fresh and contemporary as they were in 1941. But all that is from the technical standpoint, so what about the screenplay, the narrative, the story?

As Orson Welles took many risks directing Citizen Kane he also took risks writing it's Oscar-winning script with Herman J. Mankiewicz. And of course by risks I mean the unprecedented use of flashbacks, and the non-linear storytelling. And While I can't say this way of storytelling paid off perfectly, I have to admit that this structure has changes the game forever in film-making. It took me a while to be engaged with the characters, and the story itself. That's because the pacing was confusingly fast at the beginning, and some important aspects and details in the story needed to be more focused on. It also dragged, and almost lost me a couple of times. As I mentioned above, the build up for the titular character could've been way better, at least to make me invested in the character from the start.

With that being said, the more the time goes, the more I became engaged with the story, and invested in all the characters, not only Charles Kane. And I couldn't help but hope for some explanation about the fate of Kane. After some more minutes, I realized that Citizen Kane is a character study, actually, a very complex and compelling one. The story became more poignant and moving. By the way, if you still haven't watched Citizen Kane because you think it's a pretty serious and bleak film, you better watch it ASAP. Because it's actually funny! Yes, sometimes it's funny in a cynical way, but it is always a light-hearted movie, and easy to watch. But that doesn't mean it's a feel-good movie at all. As I mentioned, it the story becomes more touching and emotional as it proceeds, and it's represented in a flashback structure to reveal some mysteries about a publishing tycoon's rise and fall who dies corrupt and alone. So I think you get the point.

All the performances are impeccable, and Orson Welles' performance is as terrific as his direction. Also, Joseph Cotten is great as always. Also, the dialogue is so clever, and there are a fair share of very subtle lines.

Citizen Kane is far from perfect, IMO. Nevertheless, it somehow lives up to its reputation as a landmark achievement in film. But what's striking now is how utterly modern it is in direction. (8/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gljensenJul 1, 2018
Not the greatest film-watching experience of all time. However, for movie fans, it should be at the front of the list for required watching. Truly groundbreaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NoahboyJul 13, 2019
A revolutionary and flawless film, with outstanding directing, writing, and acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Cristofer21Aug 1, 2018
How can there be people who say that this movie is boring ?, is a very dramatic film and very advanced to its time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TMProofreader3Aug 23, 2019
The best, GREATEST movie ever made! With the best movie quote ever spoken: "Rosebud." And the best movie score ever composed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FilmeroDec 26, 2018
One os those classic that deserve a big 10. Orson Welles and all the other actors made such a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hoofheartedJan 26, 2019
The cinematography in this film has never been bettered. One of Welles' masterpieces
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jbjerreMar 9, 2019
An amazing piece of cinema that has had a huge influence on the media. A must see for anyone who's interest is more then casual.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UncleWillardMar 12, 2019
I usually shy away from older movies as I find the whole Mid-Atlantic, actor accent annoying. This is one of those exceptions where the hoopla over a classic movie is totally warranted. Luckily I saw this in a Film class in college or I wouldI usually shy away from older movies as I find the whole Mid-Atlantic, actor accent annoying. This is one of those exceptions where the hoopla over a classic movie is totally warranted. Luckily I saw this in a Film class in college or I would have missed the myriad techniques we take for granted that were first seen in this film. It truly deserves its title and I'm glad to see it on the top of this list. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cavid_babayevJun 8, 2019
just amazing. I love drama, I love Mystery and I love Orson Welles. After the film I also loved black and white cinema more :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JustDugganJan 28, 2020
I really enjoyed this film and hole-heartedly agree with it's status as one the best films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MahmusOct 3, 2019
One of the best movies of all time. It has been called the gratest of all time, and it actually lives up to the hype.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
udayanbose1234Oct 22, 2019
one of the most prominent movie in history. every single shot is a revolutionary in entire movie history .every detailing of this classic legendary masterpiece is absolutely breathtaking. one of the most beautiful film I have ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZhalgasDec 18, 2019
While the movie brings many modern filming techniques, it is quite boring. However, the performances were good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MglovesfunFeb 29, 2020
It's generally a good movie and pretty watchable, but in no way is it the greatest movie of all-time. In truth, probably not even in the top 1000.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MFalcaoMar 18, 2020
good plot twists...........................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews