Warner Bros. | Release Date: January 23, 1943
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 265 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
251
Mixed:
8
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarcDoyleJun 8, 2017
Embarrassingly, I first saw this film on a 5 x 5 inch screen on the back of a bus seat coming back from a ski trip, but it was still one of my all-time favorite movies after that first viewing. The writing is incredible, the actingEmbarrassingly, I first saw this film on a 5 x 5 inch screen on the back of a bus seat coming back from a ski trip, but it was still one of my all-time favorite movies after that first viewing. The writing is incredible, the acting brilliant, and just the feel - the elegance of it all - was amazing. And I didn't even take into account exactly when the movie was released at that point. Remarkable. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
auburnnJan 17, 2018
Can't really see its significance but bravo! Americans can bring peace to a foreign family in turmoil.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
UncleWillardMar 12, 2019
Does not live up to the hype. I'm guessing a lot of people who lived through WWII saw this and lost their sh&t, but it does nothing for me. Nothing grabs my attention here, iconic though it may be. I'm surprised it's fallen so low. It used toDoes not live up to the hype. I'm guessing a lot of people who lived through WWII saw this and lost their sh&t, but it does nothing for me. Nothing grabs my attention here, iconic though it may be. I'm surprised it's fallen so low. It used to be the numero uno on every list. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
johnny_cubertJan 6, 2019
one of the films I have seen countless number of times. Romantic, thrilling, wartime intrigue.... BOGART & BERGMAN - warner brothers at their 40's best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SathielDec 21, 2018
Exquisite. The plot appears so slow, yet it is stingingly quick at the same time. Clever, witty, and self-aware, the performances give Casablanca its justice. It indeed remains a stellar example of the Golden Age of Hollywood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ilmi_Mar 12, 2018
Yang kasih rate 0-3 berarti sengaja menjatuhkan karya orang lain, lu pikir bikin film itu mudah ? lu pikir penilaian sebuah film bagus atau tidak cuma dinilai dari plot nya / ceritanya saja misalnya ? kalo mau kontribusi kasih rate yangYang kasih rate 0-3 berarti sengaja menjatuhkan karya orang lain, lu pikir bikin film itu mudah ? lu pikir penilaian sebuah film bagus atau tidak cuma dinilai dari plot nya / ceritanya saja misalnya ? kalo mau kontribusi kasih rate yang objektif lah, pertimbangkan aspek2 lain dalam film tersebut (unsur2 intrinsik film). Saya pribadi sangat tidak suka dengan orang2 yang tidak menghargai karya orang lain, dengan melakukan penilaian hanya dari aspek2 tertentu, tidak menilainya secara keseluruhan (semua aspek yg ada dinilai) serta memberikan penilaian secara obyektif, bukannya berdasarkan emosi/perasaan sendiri semata, alias subyektif. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
azhar_Dec 30, 2017
this is a best movie ever, one of the best movie ever, very recommended movie to watch and to learning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mixoticJun 28, 2018
This is truly one of the greatest movies of all time. It is the start of so many trends that are taken as commonplace now in filmmaking. The characters and how they develop are so amazing, and it's impossible to watch without empathizingThis is truly one of the greatest movies of all time. It is the start of so many trends that are taken as commonplace now in filmmaking. The characters and how they develop are so amazing, and it's impossible to watch without empathizing with the resistance.

I wonder, is this the first movie with a surprise twist at the end? If you haven't seen it, do yourself a favor and watch this one immediately!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KingCrasherJan 9, 2018
A complex wartime story of morality versus desire as Bogart and Bergman flawlessly portray their roles of two characters who both have to stay true to their duty of standing up for what they believe in, despite their own underlying emotions.A complex wartime story of morality versus desire as Bogart and Bergman flawlessly portray their roles of two characters who both have to stay true to their duty of standing up for what they believe in, despite their own underlying emotions. You will be left guessing until the very end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeMay 19, 2019
Bogart and Bergman are changing history, witness it now or a century later, something so pure as such, doesn't get rusty.

Casablanca Curtiz is light on his feet and smooth as the Jazz that is continuously and melodiously played in the
Bogart and Bergman are changing history, witness it now or a century later, something so pure as such, doesn't get rusty.

Casablanca

Curtiz is light on his feet and smooth as the Jazz that is continuously and melodiously played in the hotel. And I think it is his supervision that blends in sacrifice in romance, so pure and irreplaceable, that drama is overshadowed by its crowd pleasing concept. The director, Michael Curtiz installs tiny notions in the script that carves a momentum of live hotel and the do's and don'ts of a hotelier especially the magnetic reputation he or she juggles by dipping his or her hands on both the side of the dirt.

The Robin Hood figure, is their way in, and with Humphrey Bogart playing one of the most iconic character, the first act of the film is building up his figure that is latter to be shattered with such fragility. But the final act is brimmed with charm, so where they actually had to work was the introduction. And choreographed like some exotic dance, the entire hotel that is mapped out in front of us, makes us feel like home something that has aged well over the years. Personally, I prefer the sacrifice of his hotel's fairness regarding the gambling policies.

To me, that would always be the game changer, not only the actress's performance but the tone that shifts with such calculative baby steps that you are sinking in deliberately in those twinkling eyes. And if Bogart is boasting off with some of his best work then Ingrid Bergman definitely casts the magic powerful enough to rubble him down in a blink. Their equation is like some wine, you are buzzed with the aftermath soberness rather than their poetic romantic vacation. Casablanca defines the Hollywood version of Americana set in a different location, it was ahead of its time then and it is now; all hail the classic dish serving one purpose and one only.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
drone41Feb 9, 2018
I always say that almost every other love drama is based on this movie. Great actors, great lines, great music. Classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mattkerr494Apr 8, 2018
Watched Feb 10, 2018

Needs no introduction, but what a film! I swear this has more iconic lines than possibly any other film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Cristofer21Aug 1, 2018
Seventy-five year's later there is nothing more romantic than "Casablanca".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MartyMcFlyOct 2, 2018
My score 97
Metascore / User score 100 / 92
Tomatometer / Audience score 97 / 95
IMDB 85
(94.3)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TMProofreader3Aug 23, 2019
The best, GREATEST thrilling and inspiring romance movie ever made! Or is it the best, GREATEST inspiring and thrilling romance movie ever made? With 2 of the best movie characters ever portrayed: Humphrey Bogart as Richard Blaine and ConradThe best, GREATEST thrilling and inspiring romance movie ever made! Or is it the best, GREATEST inspiring and thrilling romance movie ever made? With 2 of the best movie characters ever portrayed: Humphrey Bogart as Richard Blaine and Conrad Veidt as Maj. Heinrich Strasser! Plus the best movie song ever sung: As Time Goes By! Also, 7 of the best movie quotes ever spoken: "Play it, Sam. Play 'As Time Goes By'.", "Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world... ...she walks into mine.", "Here's looking at you, kid.", "We'll always have Paris.", "Ilsa, I'm no good at being noble. But it doesn't take much to see that the problems of three little people... ...don't amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world.", "Round up the usual suspects.", and "Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship." And the best movie score ever composed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AJJReviewsDec 30, 2018
I could write a 50k word review on this film because it is so masterfully made. But you should just see for yourself. Take the time to appreciate the characters, the atmosphere, the tension, and all this amazing film has to offer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
poopersmcpoopinMay 9, 2019
If looking to be entertained; if looking for classic Hollywood art; if looking for a stirring story; if looking for a classic romance; if looking for just an incredible movie in every aspect you needn't look further, Casablanca is what youIf looking to be entertained; if looking for classic Hollywood art; if looking for a stirring story; if looking for a classic romance; if looking for just an incredible movie in every aspect you needn't look further, Casablanca is what you have been looking for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TootsieWootsyAug 29, 2019
Casablanca. A wonderful film about love, honor and pride at one difficult time. Great acting was especially enjoyed by Captain Louis Renault by Claude Rains with Bogurt and Ingrid . An interesting story with a good ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChrisMizerakFeb 4, 2020
Here’s looking at you, kid. What else but the most quoted film in cinema history could take this list’s number 2 slot? “Casablanca” is the ultimate Hollywood love story. One that dares to tackle what true love is really like about all else:Here’s looking at you, kid. What else but the most quoted film in cinema history could take this list’s number 2 slot? “Casablanca” is the ultimate Hollywood love story. One that dares to tackle what true love is really like about all else: care and respect for another person’s wellbeing, even with the sacrifices and compromises made in the process. And to the few who have yet to witness this cinematic milestone for themselves, to say it is necessary viewing is putting it mildly in many film fanatic’s eyes.

Without giving anything away, the film’s climax manages the stirring feat of sticking to its guns with what made sense before instead of giving in and pandering to what other people want. It’s a terrific love story that takes full advantage of the events happening during World War II and incorporating those then current events into the narrative in a way that makes sense with the conflicts of our main leads. Humphrey Bogart is in top form here as he was in “The Maltese Falcon” as Rick Blaine, an American running a bar in the titular city within Morocco. Ingrid Bergman is simply perfect as Ilsa Lund, Rick’s ex-lover who comes back into his life with her husband/war hero Victor Laszlo, played by Paul Henreid, to escape from Nazi rule and head to America. And let’s not forget Claude Rains’ unforgettably scene-stealing supporting work as Captain Renault. Whether he’s telling his men to “round up the usual suspects” or shutting down Rick’s café over the “gambling” before collecting his winnings from said gambling, I’ll make a pat argument that Rains truly steals the show here. There’s some great music in here as well courtesy of Dooley Wilson in the form of “As Time Goes By” and “Knock on Wood” as well as a rendition of “La Marseillaise” with Paul Henreid (of all folks) leading the charge in combating the Nazis singing their bar song or national anthem. As a piece of storytelling and filmmaking, “Casablanca” has indisputably withstood the test of time. Its overarching themes of what human life is really worth in comparison to the love triangle at its center are fleshed out with deep thought and care. The entire production is superbly shot in black and white and polished to a tee. Simply put, “Casablanca” is a classic. And Louie, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews