Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: November 4, 2015
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 416 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
340
Mixed:
56
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
torah28Nov 5, 2015
The best movie I have seen all year. Saoirse and Emory's performances are incredible and melted my heart. The supporting cast are equally as thrilling. The humor is on top form especially the boarding house scenes with Julie Walters.TheThe best movie I have seen all year. Saoirse and Emory's performances are incredible and melted my heart. The supporting cast are equally as thrilling. The humor is on top form especially the boarding house scenes with Julie Walters.The trailer doesn't do the movie justice; it's so much more. May Saoirse and "Brooklyn" win every award going. GO SEE you won't regret it! Expand
17 of 17 users found this helpful170
All this user's reviews
10
catt26Nov 8, 2015
I went to see this movie last night based on all the critical acclaim it's receiving and I was totally blown away. One of the best movies of the year! A refreshing change from the 'usual tripe' that we're subjected to at the movies. SaoirseI went to see this movie last night based on all the critical acclaim it's receiving and I was totally blown away. One of the best movies of the year! A refreshing change from the 'usual tripe' that we're subjected to at the movies. Saoirse Ronan, who has been around forever finally gets her breakout/Oscar worthy performance as Eilish Lacey in this coming-of-age movie about love, tough decision and becoming independent. I loved how there's a strong female presence in the movie who all support one another. Emory Cohen melted my heart as Tony. Julie Walters plays the hilarious, no nonsense landlady.I feel it will do well during awards season. I can't recommend enough that one sees this movie.10/10. Expand
15 of 15 users found this helpful150
All this user's reviews
10
Kate22Nov 4, 2015
All I can say is WOW, WOW,WOW. Saoirse Ronan gives a performance that deserves every award going. Emory Cohen melted my heart along with Saoirse Ronan. Julie Walters is hilarious, too. This movie is not to be missed! I see it cleaning upAll I can say is WOW, WOW,WOW. Saoirse Ronan gives a performance that deserves every award going. Emory Cohen melted my heart along with Saoirse Ronan. Julie Walters is hilarious, too. This movie is not to be missed! I see it cleaning up during award season. Bravo John Crowley, Nick Hornby and Fox Searchlight. Expand
19 of 20 users found this helpful191
All this user's reviews
10
tyannahNov 4, 2015
I have been waiting forever to come on here and rave about this movie. Saoirse is phenomenal; her best work yet! I could totally relate to Eilish as I am someone who has made a similar journey. The acting is superb along with theI have been waiting forever to come on here and rave about this movie. Saoirse is phenomenal; her best work yet! I could totally relate to Eilish as I am someone who has made a similar journey. The acting is superb along with the cinematography and music. I have no doubt that Brooklyn will clean up during awards season. Can we give Saoirse and Emory their Oscars now? Expand
19 of 20 users found this helpful191
All this user's reviews
10
LamontRaymondNov 6, 2015
Fantastic film - timeless themes, beautiful story. I can't imagine anyone walking out of the theater without being impressed. This has been a terrible year for film quality, but this one should be able to carry the torch. I hope it'sFantastic film - timeless themes, beautiful story. I can't imagine anyone walking out of the theater without being impressed. This has been a terrible year for film quality, but this one should be able to carry the torch. I hope it's nominated for Best Picture. Expand
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
10
Cathy87Nov 4, 2015
Saw Brooklyn last night, the humor is great along with its heartfelt emotion. As Steven Zeitchik from LA Times said "If you don't like BROOKLYN movie, you have no soul" . Bravo to all involved.
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
10
Tara87Nov 4, 2015
Everything about 'Brooklyn' is simply outstanding. Saoirse Ronan gives her finest performance yet along with Emory Cohen, Julie Walters and other cast members. It gives you all the feels! Can't recommend enough. It think we'll definitely beEverything about 'Brooklyn' is simply outstanding. Saoirse Ronan gives her finest performance yet along with Emory Cohen, Julie Walters and other cast members. It gives you all the feels! Can't recommend enough. It think we'll definitely be seeing Saoirse and the film at the Oscars!! Expand
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
10
charles87Nov 18, 2015
Best film film of the year! Simple, humorous, breathtakingly beautiful, emotional and luminous. Saoirse Ronan, Emory Cohen and Julie Walters give fine performances in "Brooklyn". Saoirse Ronan is going to a MAJOR star and her role as EilishBest film film of the year! Simple, humorous, breathtakingly beautiful, emotional and luminous. Saoirse Ronan, Emory Cohen and Julie Walters give fine performances in "Brooklyn". Saoirse Ronan is going to a MAJOR star and her role as Eilish will garner her many awards. If you dislike this film there's something deeply wrong with you!
Highly recommended!!!
Expand
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
10
dowraNov 18, 2015
This is a simply told story of emigration in 1952 when it was an entirely different experience pre -widespread plane travel. .Saoirses' portrayal is close to perfect if slightly naive.Emorys attempt to sound Brooklyn is not entirelyThis is a simply told story of emigration in 1952 when it was an entirely different experience pre -widespread plane travel. .Saoirses' portrayal is close to perfect if slightly naive.Emorys attempt to sound Brooklyn is not entirely successful ,when he first appears he sounds like he's stoned.He underplays the part which is revolutionary for a Brooklyn Dodger blue-collar character of the fifties.The boarding house scenes are the best comedy with the "old biddy" landlord {Julie Walters} turning in a stellar performance.Saoirses dilemma of which life to commit to keeps the interest intriguing and the costumes and period feel are first-rate. Expand
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
10
rnicholsNov 23, 2015
Ronan carries this film with a riveting and heartfelt performance. Her presence is mesmerizing. It could have been sappy but somehow managed to find depth in the struggle of a young Irish immigrant to find her place in the world.
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
10
RidskiNov 23, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A wonderfully story bought to life by superb performances throughout the cast. Rarely have I heard a cinema so quiet for an entire film as everyone was so absorbed in the story of love, homesickness, tragedy and personal growth that unfolded before us.
Here's hoping for a follow-up, possibly entitled Long Island!
Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
10
leemNov 28, 2015
An incredibly captivating film matched with captivating performances. Saoirse Ronan performance is really remarkable. She pulls you right in. Emory Cohen is a revelation as sweet Tony and Julie Walters is hilarious as the landlady.An incredibly captivating film matched with captivating performances. Saoirse Ronan performance is really remarkable. She pulls you right in. Emory Cohen is a revelation as sweet Tony and Julie Walters is hilarious as the landlady. "Brooklyn" and Saoirse Ronan deserve all the awards!! Can't recommend enough!! Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
tjman09Nov 28, 2015
In a world where the romantic film seems like such a hard thing to get right, Brooklyn is a great example that it can be done. The romantic film today has become a cliched mess, much like the horror genre, so much so that when one comes alongIn a world where the romantic film seems like such a hard thing to get right, Brooklyn is a great example that it can be done. The romantic film today has become a cliched mess, much like the horror genre, so much so that when one comes along that is genuinely great it’s worth pointing out. Brooklyn is well acted, often funny, and boasts a great story. This film may be best remembered in future years as being Saoirse Ronan’s breakout role as a leading actress.
Lead and anchored by Ronan’s performance, the film fell on her shoulders and she carried the weight gracefully. Ronan’s performance helped make her character, Eilis, feel like a real person, who is scared and alone. As well as making her character feel real, Ronan also had great chemistry with her co-star, and love interest Emory Cohen. Their chemistry shines most though when the characters play off of each other.
The way the two characters play off each other helps give the film a really good sense of humor. Especially the scene when Ronan meets Cohen’s family. All of this aside the plot may be the best part of the film. We as humans need conflict, and recently romantic films have struggled capturing a realistic sense of conflict. Most recent romantic films try to manufacture conflict through an estranged person, getting in the way of the main character, what this film does well is that it makes life get in the way of the main character.
By this I mean that the conflict in this movie is derived from situations all people either have found themselves in, or can relate to making it more realistic. This approach combined with Ronan’s very visual acting style helps sell the conflict, and thus make the film all the more entertaining. Really what Brooklyn does so well is it strips down the romantic genre to a group of core elements and then built a story around it, making the film’s conflict more natural.
By giving the film a simple, yet deep story with a natural conflict that most audience members can relate to Brooklyn succeeds as an original romance film. Lead by the brilliant acting of Saoirse Ronan the film is able to create realistic characters, and eve generate a few laughs. Brooklyn does a great job combining great acting, with realistic characters, in a natural story, that is funny but not sappy, to make a great overall film.
Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
taraghleighDec 1, 2015
A wonderful film, best of 2015. Saoirse Ronan gives a career defining performance as Eilish Lacey that will sure earn her many award nominations.Ronan's performance is breathtaking, the kind that sucks you in and doesn't let go. She's inA wonderful film, best of 2015. Saoirse Ronan gives a career defining performance as Eilish Lacey that will sure earn her many award nominations.Ronan's performance is breathtaking, the kind that sucks you in and doesn't let go. She's in every scene of the film. I fell in love with Emory Cohen who plays Tony. There's plenty of humour too. This film is a rarity. Watch it and love it. After seeing "Brooklyn" I now understand why it's a hit with critics and those who appreciate well acted, well scripted and well made films. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoDec 5, 2015
A wonderfully acted, tear-jerking film. Saoirse Ronan was absolutely amazing and I think she deserves the Academy Award for Best Actress. Emory Cohen was also great. The kid who played his little brother was hilarious! I could go on for agesA wonderfully acted, tear-jerking film. Saoirse Ronan was absolutely amazing and I think she deserves the Academy Award for Best Actress. Emory Cohen was also great. The kid who played his little brother was hilarious! I could go on for ages about the cast but there was much more to the film than that. It was sweet and emotional but never schmaltzy or overly sentimental. It also had surprisingly funny moments-Julie Walters provided most of those. I also liked how they made Domhnall Gleeson's character likeable as well, because normally, they would be tempted to make him a big-headed idiot. Overall, a great film. Definitely recommended. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
lenaseredaDec 7, 2015
A highly recommended film for those who appreciate a well-made, superbly acted film. A career defining performance given by Saoirse Ronan. Get ready to see her everywhere during award season. I went to see this based on its reviews and theA highly recommended film for those who appreciate a well-made, superbly acted film. A career defining performance given by Saoirse Ronan. Get ready to see her everywhere during award season. I went to see this based on its reviews and the acclaim it's been receiving and it's all true!! One of the best films of 2015 and one of the best awards contender films around at the moment alongside Spotlight. ''Brooklyn'' is a simple coming-of-age film that will give you all the feels!! The supporting actors are fantastic; Emory Cohen; Julie Walters and Emily Bett Rickards. Go SEE!! Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyNov 28, 2015
This movie is brilliant! Saoirse Ronan was spectacular, as was Emory Cohen. Their acting was much better than most acting you see in modern action movies. The story was brilliant, also. All in all, this is a spectacular little production thatThis movie is brilliant! Saoirse Ronan was spectacular, as was Emory Cohen. Their acting was much better than most acting you see in modern action movies. The story was brilliant, also. All in all, this is a spectacular little production that fans of Suffragette and Testament of Youth will love! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Jan 12, 2016
Brooklyn may not really bring you the type of content that you'd expect from the title, but it's still an unquestionably good film. Saoirse Ronan gives one of the best female performances of the entire year. She portrays a character that isBrooklyn may not really bring you the type of content that you'd expect from the title, but it's still an unquestionably good film. Saoirse Ronan gives one of the best female performances of the entire year. She portrays a character that is likeable and you can connected with her. Her character is a woman that is unaware of where she belongs and many people can understand that. The costume design is great and the 1950's is captured very well in this film by the locations and also the acting. Its also one of the better directed movies of 2015. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesDec 14, 2015
I enjoyed watching this film, especially the performance of Saoirse Ronan in the lead role. I actually had never heard of her before this film. I enjoyed the costumes, the innocence of the time period, the scenery and especially JulieI enjoyed watching this film, especially the performance of Saoirse Ronan in the lead role. I actually had never heard of her before this film. I enjoyed the costumes, the innocence of the time period, the scenery and especially Julie Walter's performance who I've always been a big fan of. I did have an issue understanding the Irish accents in a couple of scenes but not enough to spoil the film. Although it will be classified as a "Chick Flick" by many people, I'm a man and admit that I enjoy a chick flick that is done well. The performances in this film are excellent across the board. Recommended. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
NedRyerson1Mar 1, 2016
Brooklyn is a movie that could have passed unnoticed, if it wasn’t by the award circuit nobody would know about it. Interestingly is a minimalistic movie, with a simple argument treats topics like the power of homesickness, importance of theBrooklyn is a movie that could have passed unnoticed, if it wasn’t by the award circuit nobody would know about it. Interestingly is a minimalistic movie, with a simple argument treats topics like the power of homesickness, importance of the family and seek for independence. The problems of the film are the slowness and the cliché of the plot, making it really boring and hard to follow. There is a subtle topic, well addressed in the story; is the cyclic characteristic of the physical and psychological journey made by the protagonist, noticed in her both trips when she interacts with two other girls. The rest is just average, including the score, the script and directing. Saoirse Ronan isn’t in her best performance, but she managed only with facial expressions to portray the evolution of her character, carrying this picture out all by herself. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleDec 13, 2015
Romantic, emotional, moving, and entirely lush, Brooklyn is a gorgeous film about love and also about the struggles of immigrants. Saoirse Ronan is phenomenal in the film, as is Emory Cohen. Together, they form one of the better on-screenRomantic, emotional, moving, and entirely lush, Brooklyn is a gorgeous film about love and also about the struggles of immigrants. Saoirse Ronan is phenomenal in the film, as is Emory Cohen. Together, they form one of the better on-screen couples in recent memory. The writing is fantastic. The entire film goes from emotion, romance, comedy, and tragedy, in a very natural manner that makes this one really hit you hard. As a period piece, it was inevitable I would like this one. Beautiful costume and production design, as well as some fantastic music really set the mood for this one. The direction is very good as well, though certainly not the strongest element of the film. The runtime really flies by and you get swept up in the world of magic and wonder. Ronan deserves recognition for this, which will more than likely come. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NickLikesMoviesDec 20, 2015
"Brooklyn" is a joy to watch all around and is anchored by a subtle yet powerful performance by Saoirse Ronan and a wonderful screenplay. Definitely one to watch for this awards season.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKNov 23, 2015
It is hard to hate this movie. It is a pleasant film with a very fine performance by Saoirse Ronan and an excellent supporting cast. You are not bored. You don’t go into a diabetic coma. Yet in the end you say to yourself – this is not realIt is hard to hate this movie. It is a pleasant film with a very fine performance by Saoirse Ronan and an excellent supporting cast. You are not bored. You don’t go into a diabetic coma. Yet in the end you say to yourself – this is not real life. There is no drama and very little suspense. The streets are clean (they weren’t then and they aren’t now) and everyone just gets along so well. As I said, this is not real life. So if you want a pleasant evening with no insight, suspense, or drama, then this film is for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJan 29, 2016
This is such a charming film with a great performance by Saoirse Ronan. You really feel for her character from start to finish, and her chemistry with Emory Cohen is as good as anything in 2015. A
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
tvnewsguidoDec 30, 2015
Delightful and heartfelt.

It's an old fashioned story, well told and wonderfully performed. I hesitate to use the word "sweet" but there is little else that describes Brooklyn accurately. It's a sweet movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GentM2015Jan 15, 2016
Brooklyn is a 2015 historical period drama film that is directed by John Crowley and based on the novel with the same name by Colm Tóibín.
This movie is about an Irish immigrant set in the 1950s,who falls for a Italian plumber but then she
Brooklyn is a 2015 historical period drama film that is directed by John Crowley and based on the novel with the same name by Colm Tóibín.
This movie is about an Irish immigrant set in the 1950s,who falls for a Italian plumber but then she faces problems in doing the same thing for another man when she goes back home for a "short" visit.
This movie is beyond amazing,with well written characters and great performances especially by the lead Saoirse Ronan as Eilis Lacey,who in my opinion gives by far the best performance of the year (only real competition being Brie Larson from Room).She is truly memorable and very much deserving of every award she received so far and hopefully will continue to receive more.Emory Cohen is also very good as Tony (Eilis's Italian lover).I hope that this is the role that gets him recognized and gets him more work because he so deserves it.Domhnall Gleeson has had an amazing year with Ex Machina,Star Wars:TFA and now this,where he plays as Jim Farrell,Emilis's second lover from her hometown.This guy can do no wrong and I'm pretty sure that he slowly is winning over everyone's heart.
The director (John Crowley) does a wonderful job and he deserved a nomination for Best Director at the Academy Awards but was snubbed badly.He brings these characters to life with wonderful directing and excellent scenery with interesting and sometimes ironic scenes between the two different love lives of Eilis.
The score is fantastic,it is sad when it needs to and wonderfully emotional for some of the more romantic scenes,the cinematography and editing are also mesmerizing and the movie is in just the right running time as it needs to be.
I loved this movie and I would recommend it to everyone who hasn't seen it yet because more and more people need to see this amazing piece of work in the big screens.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
BrianAD9Jan 13, 2016
Brooklyn is a beautiful little film, with plenty of romance, humor, sorrow, and a sense of adventure. Saoirse Ronan gives a wonderful performance as Eilis, who comes to New York from Ireland in the '50s. The supporting cast is also excellent,Brooklyn is a beautiful little film, with plenty of romance, humor, sorrow, and a sense of adventure. Saoirse Ronan gives a wonderful performance as Eilis, who comes to New York from Ireland in the '50s. The supporting cast is also excellent, all the characters felt real. While the film does seem to take a little while to get going (at least it did for me), once it does it really sucks you in. I didn't have any expectations going into it, but I was satisfied with what I got, and I would definitely recommend giving Brooklyn a view. Every aspect of the film was very well-done, but Saoirse is absolutely the best part of it all, giving one of the best performances I've seen all year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
shermyNov 30, 2015
Just saw it. I went because of the very positive reviews. I thought it was more like a very well done short story, than the saga I expected (just my own expectations). Lot's of very good acting and dialog, but I think it was a tremendousJust saw it. I went because of the very positive reviews. I thought it was more like a very well done short story, than the saga I expected (just my own expectations). Lot's of very good acting and dialog, but I think it was a tremendous showpiece for Ms Ronan's talents, and her beautifully expressive face.

I did think that happy ending with her returning from Ireland, where a deep and interesting romance was just budding, and flopping into her Italian American husbands arms, was too simple and abrupt . I guess I just thought the Irish man was a better match.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bravebear1Dec 23, 2015
Beautiful, timeless, and yet simple in it's tacit way...excellent acting by a most unusual actress, Saoirse Ronan!
Great Movie will leave you smiling, don't wait and miss this one!.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeJan 31, 2016
Alright, alright! I perfectly enjoyed this movie and didn't had a flaw with the movie. It's a 9, but not a 10. What Brooklyn does is what you people should be enjoying.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MetaVikingDec 29, 2015
A tear jerker period piece with a happy ending. Saoirse Ronan is a great talent, and I think we are going to see a lot of her in the future. Although the plot is predictable, the acting, cinematography and music provide an enjoyable experience.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FM99Dec 30, 2015
One of the best romantic movies in the last 3 years, Love, Emotion and Homesick , Nice directing, wonderful screenplay and so depth, I like the great Saoirse Ronan performance
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
pastorkevinJan 8, 2016
An Oscar worthy lead performance makes any movie watchable, but this was one of those movies which makes one wonder why such excellence is so rare - because it seemed that each and every performance was as near to perfect as Hollywood canAn Oscar worthy lead performance makes any movie watchable, but this was one of those movies which makes one wonder why such excellence is so rare - because it seemed that each and every performance was as near to perfect as Hollywood can manage. The casting team deserve an Oscar, but this was, for me, the finest performance of the year by an actress in a leading role. I just hope they don't ask a certain Mr Quaid to announce the winner. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ednacaldeiraJan 21, 2016
It's true: if don't like Brooklyn yo don't have a soul. This movie is so great it's almost perfect. I'm not usually a fan of romances but this movie got me to tears. It's soulful and precious, her journey is heart-felt and Saoirse is marvellous.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
cstayner30Feb 9, 2016
Great story and performances all around. This is genuinely good, classic cinema. A love story that was beautifully realized and sincere; not at all cheesy. the only complaint i could make is I thought it ended a tad abruptly. I was hoping forGreat story and performances all around. This is genuinely good, classic cinema. A love story that was beautifully realized and sincere; not at all cheesy. the only complaint i could make is I thought it ended a tad abruptly. I was hoping for more of an epilogue. If you watch the movie, you may see what i mean. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
foxgroveNov 13, 2015
Whilst seeming epic in scope, Brooklyn is actually a rather gentle triangular love story. It deals with a young girl’s emigration from Ireland to New York in order to find a better life for herself circa 1950’s. Soairse Ronan plays the youngWhilst seeming epic in scope, Brooklyn is actually a rather gentle triangular love story. It deals with a young girl’s emigration from Ireland to New York in order to find a better life for herself circa 1950’s. Soairse Ronan plays the young girl beautifully using her lovely expressionless face to hide all her inner turmoil. It is an amazingly assured and understated performance made all the more impressive by the fact that she is on screen almost constantly. The film itself is like a breath of fresh air. They certainly don’t make them like this anymore but, actually, did they ever? At first glance one isn’t prepared for the astoundingly beautiful look of the film. Instead of the dark and dingy cinematography expected we are treated to brightly lush imagery, and gorgeous costumes in which all the primary colours stand out to stunning effect. The supporting cast add further dimension with great turns from Julie Walters, Brid Brennan and Domnhall Gleeson. Standing out, though, is Emory Cohen as the Italian suitor who pursues her. His exuberance and passion are palpably felt and his scenes with Ronan are hypnotic.
This is a movie without a single second of unnecessary imagery or dialogue. As perfect as a film can be. Not only is it the best of the year so far, it is also the most surprising.
Expand
14 of 15 users found this helpful141
All this user's reviews
10
tycoo28Nov 20, 2015
Best film of 2015! Oscar worthy performances by Saoirse Ronan, Emory Cohen and Julie Walters. The perfect coming-of-age/immigration tale. Saoirse gives a breathtaking, fine, luminous performance as Irish immigrant, Eilish Lacey. ThisBest film of 2015! Oscar worthy performances by Saoirse Ronan, Emory Cohen and Julie Walters. The perfect coming-of-age/immigration tale. Saoirse gives a breathtaking, fine, luminous performance as Irish immigrant, Eilish Lacey. This performance is sure to garner her many award nominations and wins during awards season. Highly recommended! Expand
13 of 14 users found this helpful131
All this user's reviews
10
namelessNov 25, 2015
This is an absolute delight... only way to describe it. It takes you back to the 1950s in a perfect way. The reviewers who don't like this film should go back to Mockingjay Part2, obviously they are adrenaline junkies with few brain cellsThis is an absolute delight... only way to describe it. It takes you back to the 1950s in a perfect way. The reviewers who don't like this film should go back to Mockingjay Part2, obviously they are adrenaline junkies with few brain cells left. But if you want to experience and feel what it must have been like what your relatives went through growing up and trying new things... then run, do not walk, to this movie. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
10
username174Nov 23, 2015
Beautiful movie and so well done! The movie has some brilliant acting and although it tells the story of this young Irish woman, it also does not ignore the story of others around her. It has a really good flow throughout the movie and theBeautiful movie and so well done! The movie has some brilliant acting and although it tells the story of this young Irish woman, it also does not ignore the story of others around her. It has a really good flow throughout the movie and the story is very engaging. It is emotional and the humbleness of the story builds a good rapport with audience. It also relates - and explains - important history aspects. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleNov 5, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What an outstanding film - Ronan delivers a career performance, but more importantly, the writing and direction yield a film that feels like floats by the audience. There's nothing terribly shocking about this immigrant experience - nothing gritty or terrible happens at Ellis Island like they do in so many other tales of its ilk. It's just a beautiful story. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
j1trainNov 4, 2015
A beautiful, old-fashioned romantic drama that will make your heart swell. Saoirse Ronan is fantastic, as are her supporting cast members. This is a near perfect MOVIE movie, impossible not to love.
14 of 17 users found this helpful143
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryDec 8, 2015
Saoirse Ronan turns in a sweet, subtle performance as an innocent young Irish woman who immigrates to 50s Brooklyn. After her initial bout with homesickness, she blossoms, thanks to the devoted attention of a young man (Emory Cohen withSaoirse Ronan turns in a sweet, subtle performance as an innocent young Irish woman who immigrates to 50s Brooklyn. After her initial bout with homesickness, she blossoms, thanks to the devoted attention of a young man (Emory Cohen with quietly captivating charm and more than a hint of young Brando's essence). A return trip home complicates her life. It's a sentimental story with lots of tears and sweet moments. Some enjoyable supporting characters (esp. bossy landlady Julie Walters) add a lively touch. The period settings are attractively created and the fashions are lovely. It's deliberately paced and a bit too long, but it comes together in a gently compelling drama. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
oDjentoDec 12, 2015
I don’t usually go see these kinds of films so maybe there is already a slight bias in me but to be honest I did see some good qualities about this film. Acting is good from the two main leads and the chemistry between them is believable. ItI don’t usually go see these kinds of films so maybe there is already a slight bias in me but to be honest I did see some good qualities about this film. Acting is good from the two main leads and the chemistry between them is believable. It moves off fast and then keeps a reasonably steady pace, but it seems to drop a bit towards the third act which is odd as that is when the main premise of the film comes into effect.
Set and costume design really immerse you in the time and place of the films settings. I did find the reason for why Eilis became confused between two men rushed and not too fully established along with it being a little too quickly resolved, and also bringing a lack of Domhnall Glesson; who did not get used properly.
Overall the film is a nice tale of a love triangle that only becomes evident in the third act that does have its emotional moments and strong points, but is still flawed. A worthwhile watch for the most part.
6.0/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
RvwFromUpHereJan 7, 2016
Who: Saoirse Ronan, Felicity Smoak, Don Draper's second wife, and the least important Weasley brother as Jim
What: The most pleasant movie ever made
Where: Ireland, then America, then Ireland again, then America again When (can I watch
Who: Saoirse Ronan, Felicity Smoak, Don Draper's second wife, and the least important Weasley brother as Jim
What: The most pleasant movie ever made
Where: Ireland, then America, then Ireland again, then America again
When (can I watch again): When you get your grandparents a movie for their birthday or Christmas and part of the gift is you watching it with them
Why: If you are looking for a simply pleasant movie, without snappy dialogue or Cloverfield monsters then this is a gem
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
geo333Dec 17, 2015
Brooklyn power by its wonderful production design and great performances that help to bring to life a good drama story. Add to it the rich environments as well the strong supporting cast that strengthen the film's main point. In the end,Brooklyn power by its wonderful production design and great performances that help to bring to life a good drama story. Add to it the rich environments as well the strong supporting cast that strengthen the film's main point. In the end, Brooklyn is a great melodrama movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
Artex44Feb 4, 2016
I am flabbergasted that this movie is receiving all these over-the-top reviews. While I agree the acting is great, I thought the movie was slow-moving and tedious. Eilish's journey started off interestingly enough, but it took too long toI am flabbergasted that this movie is receiving all these over-the-top reviews. While I agree the acting is great, I thought the movie was slow-moving and tedious. Eilish's journey started off interestingly enough, but it took too long to gather steam after she arrived in America. I would say more about it, but I don't want to write a spoiler. If this was a book, it would be a mediocre romance novel. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Dec 18, 2015
Brooklyn is a typical over-hyped classic Oscar film that is mediocre at best. Thanks to solid performances by the cast and a ok score, Brooklyn survives from being a total disastrous slog-fest even though it had some of those traits.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
GDenNov 21, 2015
This movie was a waste of time. I expected more depth but instead it was a silly improbable romance. Our very pretty heroine manages to quickly meet a wonderful guy who is not Irish but Italian. They fall in love. Yawn. But oh no! She must goThis movie was a waste of time. I expected more depth but instead it was a silly improbable romance. Our very pretty heroine manages to quickly meet a wonderful guy who is not Irish but Italian. They fall in love. Yawn. But oh no! She must go back to Ireland. And doesn't she meet another handsome wonderful (rich) guy who falls in love with her too! Amazing. But! Beware of the wicked witch of the town who knows her secret! Gasp. Oh and not only that shes also really really smart. Aces the bookkeeping class. Wow. And she's the only girl in the class too! And then she fills in for her sisters old job and is so good at it that they offer her a permanent position. Wow again. Every female character was so very well dressed and coiffed. Really stretching credulity. Particularly the rather sophisticated bombshell on the ship.
Oh and by the way, Irish and Italian families did not endear themselves to one another quite so prettily. Plus, I doubt if there were any black people on the same beaches as white people. This was closer to a Hallmark or Oprah offering.
Expand
5 of 33 users found this helpful528
All this user's reviews
5
Unladenswallow0Nov 18, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Heres what happens, girl doesnt like it in ireland, moves to america, gets homesick so priest enrolls her in night class, meets italian boy, falls in love, gets married without telling anyone, sister dies, goes back home to console mother, mother is depressed, meets ginger boy with a big house, gets a job book keeping, eventually CIA woman in local newsagents finds out she is married, **** off back to america, meets love interest coming out of work, end of film.

Generic love story, dont know what all the circle jerking is about. Its all over Irish news, mostly because we arent used to doing well in anything. Im happy its done well, but being honest with myself, i dont think its all that great or unique. Full to the **** with cliche, and re runs the same old "irish molly" archetype **** that we've seen time and time again.

I did like the sex scenes though, good view of leg.
Expand
1 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
5
JamesLJan 18, 2016
Every year there is a film nominated that has no business being nominated. "Brooklyn"
occupies that category this year. The story is not new, there is nothing that makes you say this is exceptional, and in fact, you wonder why anybody gave
Every year there is a film nominated that has no business being nominated. "Brooklyn"
occupies that category this year. The story is not new, there is nothing that makes you say this is exceptional, and in fact, you wonder why anybody gave a damn. Maybe it truly captured the Irish immigration of those days and how this young girl broke tradition, but this film did nothing to make me care about it. This film makes "Carol" look exciting. In fact, "Carol" is a much more interesting glacial paced story. I think they should have had the bear from "Revenant" attack her just to spice it up.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantNov 18, 2015
A technically well-made, but not terribly original nor especially involving coming of age period piece romance. The film's colorful supporting characters are the best thing about this release, which seems to have found a strong thoughA technically well-made, but not terribly original nor especially involving coming of age period piece romance. The film's colorful supporting characters are the best thing about this release, which seems to have found a strong though questionably deserving following. Wait for the DVD. Expand
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
6
hotfromcauldronNov 16, 2015
Brooklyn is best in Brooklyn in this coming - of- age -of innocence Disneylike adult fairy tale. The streets might as well have been paved in gold where the only bad things are a pair of giggling “step” roomies and taking God’s name in vainBrooklyn is best in Brooklyn in this coming - of- age -of innocence Disneylike adult fairy tale. The streets might as well have been paved in gold where the only bad things are a pair of giggling “step” roomies and taking God’s name in vain while discussing make-up. Eilis Lacey is our princess who sails across the sea for a better life only to be swept off her feet by her knight in shining armor Tony Fiorello. Emory Cohen gives a break- out perf with a smile that could melt the polar ice caps. Therein lies the biggest flaw of this film. There is no Eilis’ choice - unless she wants to be the most hated character in filmdom history. This homage to the immigrant is a refreshing relic. I wonder how long before if become's a Broadway musical- Irish Night Fever? Expand
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
5
contiiFeb 18, 2016
A mediocre film carried by the outstanding performance of Saoirse Ronan. The film tackled the common and unoriginal theme of the classic struggle of home versus heritage. Brooklyn comprised of a plot viewers have seen many times before onlyA mediocre film carried by the outstanding performance of Saoirse Ronan. The film tackled the common and unoriginal theme of the classic struggle of home versus heritage. Brooklyn comprised of a plot viewers have seen many times before only this time with the setting of an Irish woman immigrating to America post World War 2. To me, the plot was rushed, taking a story being told over a span of a year and a half or longer and cramming it into 1 hour and 56 minutes. Some films have demonstrated that a movie can have a plot that spans over a year or longer such as Forrest Gump or Aviator. Sadly, this movie could not largely due to the poor directorial and screenplay works by John Crowley and Nick Hornby. A powerful performance by Ronan however who was able to take the lackluster screenplay of the film and turn it into such a powerful performance and a well deserved Oscar nomination. In terms of films made in 2015, there are many I would go to see before this one Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
NBNEFeb 20, 2016
Mediocre. Sets a decent backdrop of the 1950s culture in both Brooklyn and Ireland. The romances that ensue are unbalanced, which makes her decision at the end seem puzzling.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Willyam_CarrDec 31, 2017
The first time I watched this film, I felt almost nothing. Rewatching it two years later with more life experiences, I understand it much better. This is a simple adult drama; it is a story about love, homesickness, and maturing. SaoriseThe first time I watched this film, I felt almost nothing. Rewatching it two years later with more life experiences, I understand it much better. This is a simple adult drama; it is a story about love, homesickness, and maturing. Saorise Ronan gives a magnificent performance that grounds the film, and makes it feel almost real. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
fungusgnatFeb 24, 2016
“A department store salesgirl in the New York of the early 1950s . . .” I would not have thought that I could borrow this opening from my review of "Carol" and apply it to another movie released in November 2015, but these words apply to“A department store salesgirl in the New York of the early 1950s . . .” I would not have thought that I could borrow this opening from my review of "Carol" and apply it to another movie released in November 2015, but these words apply to "Brooklyn" as well; also, both are passionately realized and believable love stories, and both focus on a young woman’s coming of age through romantic love. A big difference, of course, is that the object of our heroine’s attraction in "Brooklyn" is a young man, and from there, the two films deal in different social impediments and supports. In fact, "Brooklyn" tells a story that is remarkably free of impediments. That is not to say that it is free of conflict or drama. Eilis (pron. AY-lish) must make choices, but the film builds so much faith in her good sense that it seems almost inevitable that she will find some reward. The result is a movie of surpassing sweetness and lasting impressions, where Brook’s contribution (music) and Bélanger’s (images) are as important as the plot. I could easily call this the year’s best movie. (And, my valuation of the plot notwithstanding, I see that this film shares its screenwriter (and its DP) with "Wild," my pick for best pic last year.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jimboesqMar 23, 2016
One of the best romantic movies I have seen in my lifetime. Here's to the Irish, here's to Brooklyn, NYC, NY and here's to love! Saoirse and Emory are enthralling and the others are cast perfectly. It's essentially every Irish immigrant'sOne of the best romantic movies I have seen in my lifetime. Here's to the Irish, here's to Brooklyn, NYC, NY and here's to love! Saoirse and Emory are enthralling and the others are cast perfectly. It's essentially every Irish immigrant's story-or a version they wish were true!. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GreatMartinNov 27, 2015
Eilis Lacey (Saoirse Ronan) is a young immigrant girl from Ireland who comes to “Brooklyn” to make a better life for herself and hopefully for her mother ( Jane Brnnan) and older sister (Fiona Glascott) back home. She is sponsored by herEilis Lacey (Saoirse Ronan) is a young immigrant girl from Ireland who comes to “Brooklyn” to make a better life for herself and hopefully for her mother ( Jane Brnnan) and older sister (Fiona Glascott) back home. She is sponsored by her church who arranges the boat fare, a rooming house to stay and a job as a salesclerk in a department store.

It is a simple story about a young girl coming to a new country, adjusting to a new life, falling in love with an Italian boy (Emory Cohen) who goes to Irish community dances because he likes Irish girls. When she is called back to Ireland due to a death she is pursued by ‘the most eligible man in town’ (Domhnall Gleeson) and eventually she has to decide between the two men and the country she is froma nd the country she has adopted as home.

Along the way we meet the landlady (Julie Walters) of the boarding house, the other girl borders who try to teach her the ways of her new life and the priest (Jim Broadbent) who consoles her when she becomes homesick. We meet Tony’s parents and family when he invites her to dinner--and she is taught by the ladies at the boarding house how to twirl spaghetti--where Tony’s baby brother (James DiGiacomo) steals the scenes he is in. We meet her sophisticated supervisor (Jessica Pare) at work who follows Lacey’s arc from being a shy girl, almost afraid of her shadow, or at least the shadow Brooklyn casts over a new comer, to a confident young lady who takes night school courses to become an accountant.

“Brooklyn” is a sweet love story between people and countries, that takes its time
and has only one contrived spot that doesn’t ring true. The comparison of Coney Island with bodies all over the crowded beach to the beach along the Irish countryside which only has 4 people on it is as telling as the opening shot of the Irish girl to the lady we see at the end advising a Irish country girl immigrating to Brooklyn.

Saoirse Ronan, an American born 21 year old woman of Irish parents, goes from
drab to beautiful with the ease she becomes the confident woman in “Brooklyn”. As her lover Emory Cohen is a delightful combination of young boy and a man who knows what he wants.

John Crowley directs the film placed in the 1950s and, along with the screenwriter
Nick Hornby, based on the book by Colm Toibin, lovingly shows the Ireland Americans dream of and the New York (Brooklyn) that immigrants picture in their heads. The casting in all the roles are perfect and though the love story doesn’t overwhelm you individual scenes do.

“Brooklyn” is one of the few quiet, impressive films of the holiday season.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Dec 7, 2015
It might be a bit too plain and simple at times, but thanks to a sure-handed directorial effort from John Crowley and an earnest performance from Saoirse Ronan, "Brooklyn" rises a couple inches above its modest appearance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LeZeeFeb 24, 2016
An ordinary woman's life struggle that lives very close to average of us.

A very fascinating movie. Depicted as a real life drama that is totally different from the other Oscars nominees for this year. Based on the novel of the same name,
An ordinary woman's life struggle that lives very close to average of us.

A very fascinating movie. Depicted as a real life drama that is totally different from the other Oscars nominees for this year. Based on the novel of the same name, that tells the story of a young Irish woman, Eilis, in the 1950s who travels to the United States, Brooklyn, looking for a better future. Thousands of kilometers across the Pacific ocean, she finds a new job, new friends, a whole new life, but what she misses is her home and family. So how she makes out of those difficulties, and finds a way to go forward is the rest.

About an ordinary woman's life struggle that lives very close to average of us. That's why I loved this film more than other drama films nominated for this Oscar. The first two acts were amazing, the third was a bit off and cliche, but that's how the story rediscovered by getting back at the conclusion. I think this is Saoirse Ronan's full matured character as an adult woman. She was my favourite child actress and seen all her films. So felt strange to see her like this, because that's not how I remember her, but it only gets better after she does more character like this.

She was very good, in fact, she should get the Oscar for the role. In my prediction, Brie Larson for 'Room' and Ronan are the top contenders, but if Cate Blanchett wins that'll be a great disappointment. I'm also expecting adapted screenplay awards. The cinematography was fantastic, those 50s New York City really brought back on the screen. It is a must watch, especially if you're a middle aged guy, because you're well experienced about personal and social life already, and this movie only a reminder.

9/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Nov 25, 2015
I know I'm gonna be in the minority when I say this, but I just liked this film and really enjoyed it and didn't love it like most did. To me it was just a simple little film with a good heart and an undeniably charming performance fromI know I'm gonna be in the minority when I say this, but I just liked this film and really enjoyed it and didn't love it like most did. To me it was just a simple little film with a good heart and an undeniably charming performance from Saoirse Ronan that's deservedly bound for an best actress Academy Award nod. Overall, the film felt a little too simple for my liking and I found it to be rather predictable and cliche, especially towards the end with the whole "torn between two lovers and two homes" situation. I also found it to be a bit underwhelming given the rave reviews (that 99% on Rotten Tomatoes is ridiculously too high!) But that didn't stop me from enjoying it and making it a worthwhile but ultimately forgettable film to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
juliankennedy23Mar 3, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brooklyn: 4 out of 10. For such a gentle passive costume drama about a 1950’s emigrant from Ireland Brooklyn evoked a surprising amount of ire. First of I am surprised that Saoirse Ronan was nominated for an Oscar in this role. She isn’t a bad actress by any means but her character is so passive and banal and inconsistent that it is hard to get a read on the performance. Leaving aside the main character for a minute the film has a few other issues. While the interiors are filmed well the exteriors (Particularly the ones that are supposed to be in Brooklyn) seem out of a made for PBS movie from the mid-eighties rather than a modern film. One-half expects Raul Julia to pop up in at any moment doing a riff on Casablanca. The remaining characters, with one notable exception doing her best Margaret Hamilton impression, are played as very nice people. Almost too nice. It is as if a Mary Sue convention let out next door. All the characters also only seem to exist to help, enable and be nice to our heroine. They rarely seem to have lives of their own. Our heroine, by any measure, is a horrible self-centered person. I am unsure if the film even realizes this. Ronan plays her as a passive aggressive social wallflower yet the script seems to have written her as a predatory self-centered narcissist. As a result, we have a character asking a man to walk her home not because she is interested but so she can abandon a new young immigrant girl she finds disagreeable (The film mind you gives us no reason to find this ancillary character disagreeable which makes her declaration even more jarring) Ronan’s character then proceeds to tell bigger lies and inflict even greater cruelties on her loved ones and those whose only crime is being nice to her. Yet the film seems strangely oblivious to its protagonist’s cruelty. A wisp of a film only promoted by a surprise Oscar nomination and a veneer of a decent date night film. It disappoints on almost all levels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MattBrady99Jan 29, 2016
So I've finally got to see Brooklyn this week and I thought it was good. While I didn't think it was "2015 best and most beguiling love story", or "The best movie of 2015", but it is a well made movie. Saoirse Ronan delivers a remarkableSo I've finally got to see Brooklyn this week and I thought it was good. While I didn't think it was "2015 best and most beguiling love story", or "The best movie of 2015", but it is a well made movie. Saoirse Ronan delivers a remarkable performance that really dose carry this movie. The sets, the costumes and the direction were all top notch and I have no complaint there.

Unfortunately, I can't see myself watching Brooklyn again if I have to be honest. Some people may disagree with me and that's fine, because you can like whatever you want and I'm not telling you what you should like or feel about a movie. It's one of those "It's good, but never again will I be watching it again".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
bigeyesJun 5, 2016
Lovely to look at, and Saoirse Ronan is radiant. However, this movie has in my view been really overrated. Its very generic, by-the-numbers story relies completely on coincidence to drive events, rather than any stirrings or initiative on theLovely to look at, and Saoirse Ronan is radiant. However, this movie has in my view been really overrated. Its very generic, by-the-numbers story relies completely on coincidence to drive events, rather than any stirrings or initiative on the part of the heroine, creating an artificial set of ironies and dilemmas and a weirdly lifeless, schematic, almost embalmed feeling. All of the characters and settings are utterly one-dimensional. Eilis's beloved mother hardly talks, her sister is a tragic saint, her best friend cute and sweet, the woman she works for is an evil witch. Eilis herself for that matter seems like a complete cipher--a person that things simply happen to. In America, her new boyfriend Tony is pure-hearted and noble--period. The streets of Brooklyn are nearly empty and completely devoid of danger or even texture. Even the Italian family dinner that Tony takes Eilis to is weirdly subdued--out of six people, including three young adult brothers, who in any real family would be talking over each other and teasing each other, the only person who says anything--literally, anything--is their precocious, wise-ass 8-year-old kid brother. Screenwriter Nick Hornsby is a clever writer, but I think he probably could do just so much with this story (I tried reading the novel and gave up--it came off like a young-adult novel and was just not an interesting read.). There are a couple of good moments where a moment of spontaneous life fizzes into being despite the labored artificiality, but these are extremely few and far between. Worth seeing for the nice photography and Ronan's lovely open face and expressive ice-blue eyes--as long as you keep your expectations low for much more than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheKavehJDec 6, 2015
Although Brooklyn can be a bit slow at times, Saoirse Ronan plays the role of her life, and the directing is superb. This is one of those movies that you know will win, or at least be nominated, for an Oscar.

Final Score: 3/4
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
smiyamotApr 14, 2016
An interesting look at immigration to America from both sides, what it's like to leave and what it's like to arrive. What was it like in your home town that you would give it all up and leave? What was it like to start a new life in aAn interesting look at immigration to America from both sides, what it's like to leave and what it's like to arrive. What was it like in your home town that you would give it all up and leave? What was it like to start a new life in a strange place? The heroine of this movie shows us her life and what shaped her decisions. I was impressed with the actress's performance as she starts out acting as a teenager and is a woman by the end of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RatedRexMay 19, 2016
The movie plays quietly, like real life. It is refreshing to see people act like people. Though the performances were understated, they hit all the right dynamics. I applaud the writer and director for constructing a story that has dramaThe movie plays quietly, like real life. It is refreshing to see people act like people. Though the performances were understated, they hit all the right dynamics. I applaud the writer and director for constructing a story that has drama without being overly dramatic Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CaliColoradoMar 28, 2016
This is a very unique and beautifully made movie... very soft and honoring. A great period piece. It provides the viewer with a look at Ireland and America... it's very relational and picturesque. It's growth and trust... friendship andThis is a very unique and beautifully made movie... very soft and honoring. A great period piece. It provides the viewer with a look at Ireland and America... it's very relational and picturesque. It's growth and trust... friendship and innocence. It's real love and tenderness. It's family and support (reliance and freedom). This movie is about choices, experiences, education and chances... it's about a beautiful woman's heart (it's her growth and desire played out on screen). This movie is about character, integrity, discipline and reward. It's a romantic story of a very solid young man and a very grounded young woman. All of the actors are excellent ...the entire movie is wonderfully refreshing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ButtrflyMar 17, 2016
I just have to say I have no respect for people that are not up front and don't tell the truth. This was a sad and disturbing tale of someone without the courage or perhaps lack of commitment to tell the truth. Not telling the truth straightI just have to say I have no respect for people that are not up front and don't tell the truth. This was a sad and disturbing tale of someone without the courage or perhaps lack of commitment to tell the truth. Not telling the truth straight away caused a lot of pain and suffering for those affected when the truth finally came out, by force. Please speak your truth, speak your heart in your relationships, as it is of the most kindness and benefit to all in the long run. Not to do so is only selfish and fickle. End rant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pureshoresMar 25, 2016
How very timely that I got to watch this on Valentine's day. To quote a review of it: "A beautiful and sensitive love story that is everything a Nicholas Sparks film adaptation wishes it could be." Feels level: like the movie "Atonement."
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
outanyc68Apr 1, 2016
I love any movie about New York, and I just loved this story. It's a testament to their incredible acting that such a gentle, sweet and unpretentious story could have easily won an Oscar. Emory Cohen was outstanding and just nearly stoleI love any movie about New York, and I just loved this story. It's a testament to their incredible acting that such a gentle, sweet and unpretentious story could have easily won an Oscar. Emory Cohen was outstanding and just nearly stole the movie. I couldn't wait for him to appear on every scene. Just breathtaking! I hope there's a sequel to this gorgeous story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
Let's cut right to the chase, 2015's Best Picture nominee ''Brooklyn'' brings fairly anything original and surprising to the table. With few bewildering moments in this movie, story wise it isnt as strong as other Best Picture nominees thisLet's cut right to the chase, 2015's Best Picture nominee ''Brooklyn'' brings fairly anything original and surprising to the table. With few bewildering moments in this movie, story wise it isnt as strong as other Best Picture nominees this year. (discounting Mad Max which is a disgraceful nominee in itself)
But what this movie does have going for it is it's heartfelt and impeccable performance by Ronan (one of this years very best to not say the least), and a handful of rich and vibrant characters. Also the whole style and feel of the film is beautiful.
With Brooklyn you get sucked right into the glossy feel of 50's New York City with exquisite costume and production design, and accurate unblemished art direction.

Despite not bringing anything new to the table, ''Brooklyn'' is a great film and well worth your time, because everything else is top notch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 23, 2016
Brooklyn was a tear jerker. It is such a well written film and the characters are very relatable. Thats what makes this film so strong. It focuses on its characters and their relationships, making you believe in their world as if it was yourBrooklyn was a tear jerker. It is such a well written film and the characters are very relatable. Thats what makes this film so strong. It focuses on its characters and their relationships, making you believe in their world as if it was your own. You truly feel happy and sad when they do. I definitely recommend this movie to people of all ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Oct 7, 2018
Immigrant tale supported by outstanding cast -Ronan, Walters, Broadbent- with a bittersweet taste about how find the right place you can call home and acceptance of grief. Shall not miss it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Realist_gamerNov 30, 2016
nice film.much much better than "carol" which was released at the same year.A thrilling and well-made romance that takes place in the old times in america and Ireland.nice,clean and melodic love story.remaining loyal to your partner isnice film.much much better than "carol" which was released at the same year.A thrilling and well-made romance that takes place in the old times in america and Ireland.nice,clean and melodic love story.remaining loyal to your partner is admired in this movie and that's what attracted me the most.outstanding performance by "Saoirse Ronan" and "Emory Cohen" makes this movie one of the best in romance genre and of course one of the best movies of 2015. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JLuis_001Sep 6, 2017
Elegantly filmed, with a great score a fine production design and costumes that certainly brings to life the era in which the film takes place.
But mostly what stands out is its star, Saoirse Ronan, who delivers a very well made acting,
Elegantly filmed, with a great score a fine production design and costumes that certainly brings to life the era in which the film takes place.
But mostly what stands out is its star, Saoirse Ronan, who delivers a very well made acting, giving strength to all scenes in which she appears, she carries the whole weight of the film without any fear despite his young age.

Brooklyn is just excellent, it's a romantic story, but it's also about home.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Hurricane16Feb 20, 2018
Brooklyn is the perfect representation of immigration. It is heartwarming, moving, and above all, it isn’t just another forgettable period drama
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeFeb 10, 2018
that this is where your life is..

Brooklyn Even though the issues interfered here is light as a chip, the suave tone of it which was set from the first frame gives it enough gravitas to meddle the emotions and feelings of the audience.
that this is where your life is..

Brooklyn

Even though the issues interfered here is light as a chip, the suave tone of it which was set from the first frame gives it enough gravitas to meddle the emotions and feelings of the audience. Brooklyn is a light drama feature that raises some genuine family and society issues in a mild and amusing tone with enough material to feed the audience. John Crowley gets it right this time and his execution is plausible here along with Nick's tight adaptation from the novel and perfectly edited feature with reasonable runtime. And in the end, it is a captain's cruise and Saoirse Ronan sails it through each and every phase offering comfortable ride to the viewers with a great supporting cast like Domhnall. Brooklyn's short runtime, fast paced screenplay, majestic performance and a perfect execution favors in all accounting it into far better than one could have expected.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DoniJrNov 8, 2018
I had mixed feelings about how the story in the final acts focus only in the romantic aspect of Saiorse's caracther. But overall it's an enjoyable period piece with beautiful setting and great cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
promised_mahdiJan 20, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. not a bad movie but actually i'm wondering what has been their reason to make this one? i see someone who says himself i want to make a movie about an irish girl who emigrate to New york; and it's a little weird for me. anyway it has a beautiful space i mean clothes,places,dialogues and others it has a good romantic content but i can't understand what's meaning of this story only i guess maybe it is about Emigration. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews