Amy

A24 | Release Date: July 3, 2015
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 168 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
145
Mixed:
15
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
FilmPhonicJul 4, 2015
We all remember the media frenzy that surrounded the latter part of Amy Winehouse’s life, but like he did with the late Ayrton Senna, director Kapadia manages to capture the essence of a complex personality intertwined with a prodigiousWe all remember the media frenzy that surrounded the latter part of Amy Winehouse’s life, but like he did with the late Ayrton Senna, director Kapadia manages to capture the essence of a complex personality intertwined with a prodigious talent, all the while crafting a compelling narrative and emotionally manipulating the audience, plus providing a window into the eternal conflict of “Art Vs. Commerce”.

‘Amy’ spans the colorful singer’s life from an upbringing that is blamed for her troublesome personality and vulnerability, to her refreshing early career as a Jazz singer with integrity all the way through her many personal issues with relationships and substance abuse, coinciding with her explosion of worldwide fame and everything that came with it.

Asif Kapadia has proved to be a supremely effective “compilation” documentarian, taking existing footage and combining it with techniques like striking “drone” aerial shots and audio-only interviews spliced with intimate photographs and scrolling song lyrics, the result is an unusually dynamic for a documentary and whatever your emotional response may be to the subject, it does make sure you respond.

With unprecedented access to her life and death, ‘Amy’ paints a picture of a uniquely talented young lady who’s strong-willed personality, formed by her childhood, also resulted in a vulnerability and self-destructive nature that was too much to bear when combined with the unwanted pressures of celebrity and the ruthless nature of the modern media.

Rather cleverly the audience is left to decide whether her death was avoidable if not for the demands of the music-industry-machine and actions of those around her, or whether this was just another of those inevitable tragedies with those who fly too close to the sun.

The Bottom Line…
‘Amy’ is powerful thought & emotion provoking work, a candid look at the troubled and ultimately tragic life of a prodigious talent and reluctant global superstar, an expertly crafted documentary from a director who’s quickly becoming a pro at capturing the beauty within tragedy.
Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
9
StevieGJDJul 6, 2015
I really liked this film. Though I thought I knew about Amy Winehouse and her tragic demise, my ignorance was revealed by watching the film. The use of concert footage, personal videos, prior broadcast interviews and intimate audioI really liked this film. Though I thought I knew about Amy Winehouse and her tragic demise, my ignorance was revealed by watching the film. The use of concert footage, personal videos, prior broadcast interviews and intimate audio interviews with many of the people closest to Amy Winehouse leads to an understanding of what happened to this extremely talented and troubled young woman. The director also cleverly uses Winehouse's own lyrics as essentially her autobiography. Though I was pretty familiar with her music, seeing her handwritten poems and how these songs were simply her artistic take on the events of her life was amazing. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
gavinkJul 11, 2015
Before seeing this film, I was already a "fan" (an idea she didn't approve of) of Amy. Went to see her 2007 Glastonbury performance when I was 12. I thought I knew just what kind of girl she was before her world got much darker. But I wasBefore seeing this film, I was already a "fan" (an idea she didn't approve of) of Amy. Went to see her 2007 Glastonbury performance when I was 12. I thought I knew just what kind of girl she was before her world got much darker. But I was struck by how little I actually knew about the whole picture after seeing Kapadia's documentary. She was bright-eyed, wise beyond her years and so loving to the people around her that the only person she could ever mistreat was herself. She truly had the most unadulterated relationship with music, something not every mainstream artist can claim these days. But like many other reviews have said, her story is much more complicated than that. Never openly placing the blame on any particular person or interest group, Kapadia keeps his/our gaze on the singer herself, allowing the audience to experience the world of Amy Winehouse through her own eyes. This intense focus on the subject makes the movie an engrossing and uncomfortable watch at the same time: on the one hand, we are delighted to witness on screen the unique mesmerising talent and the endearing, uninhibited personality that made Amy Winehouse tick; on the other, we are tormented by the gradual feeling of losing her again to depression, addiction and the unrelenting celebrity machine closing in on her. Even though the last twenty minutes of the film is almost unbearable and makes you hope the story would somehow end differently, you realise that deep down, the Amy you see toward the end of her life is still the same Amy all along --- her need for love and her capacity for loving those close to her had never diminished. Lost as she was, Amy was the only person who had remained true to others throughout the story. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
JamesLJul 25, 2015
As a nonfan, I gave this film an 8. If I had been a fan, we would be at a 9. "The Filth and the Fury" was a better documentary because I liked the Sex Pistols more. That said , this is still a power film and it really takes off once sheAs a nonfan, I gave this film an 8. If I had been a fan, we would be at a 9. "The Filth and the Fury" was a better documentary because I liked the Sex Pistols more. That said , this is still a power film and it really takes off once she starts the downward spiral. The footage is eye jarring and I am amazed that some people gave that to the film maker. I cannot criticize her because all of us got high in our younger days but none of us had millions of dollars and none of us were subject to the easy access or the constant public eye. I learned a lot about her that I did not know which helped me and the arrest of her husband will make you realize that everything revolved around money. Have you noticed that it is the creative wonders who go out as they seem so uncontent with this boring 9 to 5 world that most of us have to suffer through? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
duncan1964Jul 17, 2015
As he did with Senna, director Kapadia here makes you care about a subject even if they are someone you thought you had no interest in. Told via mobile phone, home movie, TV and concert footage, with no talking heads, this shows how a sweetAs he did with Senna, director Kapadia here makes you care about a subject even if they are someone you thought you had no interest in. Told via mobile phone, home movie, TV and concert footage, with no talking heads, this shows how a sweet Jewish girl from London with a massive talent moved in the wrong circles and spiralled out of control. Heartbreakingly sad to watch but also a poignant reminder of a huge talent gone too soon Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeJul 15, 2015
A no-holds-barred look at the life and trials of Amy Winehouse and those who surrounded her. Every bit thought-provoking and captivating, Amy embodies the personality, the talent and the woman that was Amy Winehouse. Far too oftenA no-holds-barred look at the life and trials of Amy Winehouse and those who surrounded her. Every bit thought-provoking and captivating, Amy embodies the personality, the talent and the woman that was Amy Winehouse. Far too often documentaries fall bland, but director Asif Kapadia manages to carefully select key puzzle pieces of her life to move us to tears. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
oDjentoJul 16, 2015
This insightful documentary is unbelievably accessible and easy to watch for any viewer, fan or not of Amy Winehouse; although like critics have said it is an emotional journey throughout the documentary.
Never have I ever watched a
This insightful documentary is unbelievably accessible and easy to watch for any viewer, fan or not of Amy Winehouse; although like critics have said it is an emotional journey throughout the documentary.
Never have I ever watched a documentary so far that has made me feel very strong emotional feelings towards the end of the viewing of someone that I don’t even really know, nor followed during her rise to fame in the 2000’s. When a documentary can do this to you, you know you’ve watched an exceedingly well made documentary.
The documentary doesn’t try sugar coat what Winehouse was like and so through the mainly found footage Doc you can see what her character was like. She was obviously a very vulnerable and insecure person, but a real quirky and fun character that seemed to have what looked like no real malice at all within her. She definitely had attachment issues and because of this and her rise to stardom – of which she did not really ask for – she went down the rocky path that she ended up on. Due to all of this you can see she had her faults, but really she was an average girl with an extremely incredible talent who wanted to be like everyone else; she didn’t want fame but the attention she got from her talent consumed her and ate away at her vulnerable core.
Asif Kapadia has done an incredible job on his selection of found footage, editing and storytelling through interviews that you can’t help but feel pretty sorry for Amy in the end, and really see what a shame and what a loss it was for her to go how she did. I’m not even sure if there was anyone in the viewing I went to who did not feel similar feelings.
Overall, Amy is possibly one of the best documentaries I can think of that I have watched, and I would recommend it to everyone whether they liked Amy of not, followed her through her album releases or have never really heard of her at all. An incredibly fascinating documentary that really will make you emotional.
Extra note, I just held in my man tears at the end of the film. Just.
9/10
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ScribeHardNov 29, 2015
Amy hits all the points you want a musical-themed bio-doc to hit, from a future star’s obscurity to her struggles to her successes to her music to her face on the cover of Rolling Stone. All of that is special enough. But it’s how thoseAmy hits all the points you want a musical-themed bio-doc to hit, from a future star’s obscurity to her struggles to her successes to her music to her face on the cover of Rolling Stone. All of that is special enough. But it’s how those points are hit, how her story is told, that makes watching Amy Winehouse’s life story an exercise in living her life by her side. That’s beyond special. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
hotfromcauldronJul 11, 2015
Amy is the same old story with a different meaning since she’s been gone.
A soulful poetess. A crippled chanteuse. A sorrowful life.
Floating lyrics light up the screen as demons darken this bright star. Fame can be fatal. And so many
Amy is the same old story with a different meaning since she’s been gone.
A soulful poetess. A crippled chanteuse. A sorrowful life.
Floating lyrics light up the screen as demons darken this bright star.
Fame can be fatal. And so many times we fail to save those who cry out for help.
We were robbed of a Bennet / Winehouse tour - but her genius is forever grooved in the world of music.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
luckythiswayAug 26, 2015
Truly the best movie of 2015. Such a heart-wrenching tale of a girl who got caught up with the wrong things and the wrong people. If you were a normal girl, no one would care. But we're talking about Amy Winehouse, otherwise known as one ofTruly the best movie of 2015. Such a heart-wrenching tale of a girl who got caught up with the wrong things and the wrong people. If you were a normal girl, no one would care. But we're talking about Amy Winehouse, otherwise known as one of the most frequent celebrities in the tabloids. Her tragic story was spread to millions, some thinking nothing of her except that she was an addicted druggie. The truth is she's one of the most critically acclaimed acts of the 2000's with a real, knockout voice.

This movie gives us an up, close and personal view of the popstar through home videos with her ethereal songs being the backing track. Everyone who saw it with me loved it, some wanting to see it again.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
vinzlimaNov 5, 2015
Emocionante, fico imaginando se fosse um documentário que acompanhasse um filme sobre esta incrível e inesquivável, seria melhor ainda. O documentário e ótimo, a direção dele esta impecável.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondJul 3, 2015
I didn't know a great deal about Amy Winehouse going into the film, but i was captivated throughout. She was an immense talent, but a variety of forces/conditions conspired to cut her rise to stardom sort. I typically loathe the rockstar onI didn't know a great deal about Amy Winehouse going into the film, but i was captivated throughout. She was an immense talent, but a variety of forces/conditions conspired to cut her rise to stardom sort. I typically loathe the rockstar on drugs/alcohol story, but Amy's story is much more complicated. I enjoyed the film much more than I did Montage of Heck - the Kurt Cobain story. I like the director's technique of never showing the interview subjects, choosing instead to keep the visual focus on Amy the entire time. Really good film. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
TheKavehJJul 31, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I usually am not interested in documentaries, but AMY is one of the best movies of 2015. The film tells the story of hit Jazz singer Amy Winehouse, and the struggles of her life, and what led to her death. The film is brilliant and a for sure must see. The film will captivate anybody and at the end, tears will come to your eyes. A MUST SEE MOVIE Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
j1trainJul 14, 2015
A devastating look at a talent lost too soon. To watch her fall apart on screen through just archival footage and audio commentary from friends and family is difficult viewing. Amy Winehouse is a casualty of addiction and business.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
GinaKJul 13, 2015
Amy is a documentary much too crammed with found-footage and not enough with insight. Nothing in this film sheds any light on why Amy Winehouse was special, and spent more time dwelling on “bad” influences like her father and her husband thanAmy is a documentary much too crammed with found-footage and not enough with insight. Nothing in this film sheds any light on why Amy Winehouse was special, and spent more time dwelling on “bad” influences like her father and her husband than on her singing. It was interesting to see Winehouse mature as an artist, but that seemed almost accidental, and the point appeared to simply be that she lead a short chaotic life. Unfortunately I knew that already. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
LowbrowCinemaJul 4, 2015
Not quite the masterpiece it was hailed at Cannes, AMY is a good solid doc that uses mainly found footage. A lot has been written about the no talking heads structure which is actually not accurate. The heads are talking but we don't seeNot quite the masterpiece it was hailed at Cannes, AMY is a good solid doc that uses mainly found footage. A lot has been written about the no talking heads structure which is actually not accurate. The heads are talking but we don't see them. This all points to one thing--AMY is actually a very standard bio doc about a very talented woman that none of us really knew. The early scenes of her talent, wonderful humor, and true wit, underscore the tragedy and sadness of it all. I actually think the film would be better if it simply ended as her alcohol and drug use started. Then we would see the young woman so ready to find herself and we would only question what became of her. But back to AMY. Really just a standard film with some nice moments. The film also lacks a central focus or point, so it just becomes a lot of stuff about Amy. Expand
0 of 12 users found this helpful012
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryJul 14, 2015
This doc about Amy Winehouse is somewhat unique: although numerous friends, family and colleagues are interviewed, they aren't shown talking. All of the footage is made up of archival photos and video from her life and career - some of itThis doc about Amy Winehouse is somewhat unique: although numerous friends, family and colleagues are interviewed, they aren't shown talking. All of the footage is made up of archival photos and video from her life and career - some of it surprisingly personal. It traces the incredible talent from her teenage years, featuring performance clips that reveal her unique and astounding ability. There's early insight into her personal demons and the pressures of fame that turned her story into a tragedy of press harassment, need for love and substance abuse (on-screen song lyrics reveal even more). No flashy editing or fancy graphics. Just a self-told story. Fans will be mesmerized by the intimate glimpses into this sensitive, fragile and amazingly gifted singer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
fungusgnatJul 21, 2015
What really struck me about this film of the rise and fall of Amy Winehouse was how much material there was to work from. Granted, she was a big star, but there’s plenty of fascinating private footage from the years prior to that, fromWhat really struck me about this film of the rise and fall of Amy Winehouse was how much material there was to work from. Granted, she was a big star, but there’s plenty of fascinating private footage from the years prior to that, from camcorders large and small.

Another striking aspect of the movie is how fine a film Kapadia has made, _desipte_ the wealth of footage available. He does not yield to temptations to stray from his main concern--the conflict, as it were, between the woman and her music. When she’s on, she lights herself up and everyone who’s with her, but it’s impossible to escape the realization that to Winehouse, music was a tool she used to stay sane—until she became a star and artistic success fed back negatively to her health and well-being. Kapadia has kept his treatment of the final years of Winehouse’s story both unsparing and unsentimental. (To be fair, some family members, and a few critics, challenge Kapadia’s narrative.)

Kapadia’s film is a very stylish one, where dark and grainy passages seem to be as much an artistic choice as a technical constraint – and most of the time, we can still tell what’s going on! He also helpfully floats the song lyrics across the screen.

This is a must-see for Winehouse fans (while the story is tragic, the film is not morose), and pop music aficionados in general as well as docu devotees will find lots to chew on.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
foxgroveJul 12, 2015
A mesmerising and insightful documentary depicting the meteoric rise, fall and untimely death of troubled but talented Amy Winehouse. This amazingly compiled documentary which utilises a significant amount of unique and personal footage,A mesmerising and insightful documentary depicting the meteoric rise, fall and untimely death of troubled but talented Amy Winehouse. This amazingly compiled documentary which utilises a significant amount of unique and personal footage, starts at the top and goes on and up supplying in minute detail information about the tragic star that was hither to unknown to me. Emerging somewhat damaged from a dysfunctional working class background and optimistically declaring that she was ‘not a messed up person, Amy’s vulnerability, shyness and penchant for cutting remarks tell an altogether different story.
The influences of both her husband and father, Blake Fielder and Mitch Winehouse respectively, are here clearly depicted as self-serving negative forces in her life. The former introduced her to the hard drugs that would assist her in pushing the self-destruct button, whilst the former was more concerned about his life style than the well- being of his troubled daughter.
Unusually this is not a documentary given over to talking heads. Instead we just hear the voices over filmed footage with titles informing us as to who is speaking and where the action is taking place. It makes for a refreshing change. Also, the brilliant decision to have the lyrics to her songs actually appear on screen as she is singing them adds volumes to our understanding of the singer, her demons and how she coped with them, albeit tragically.
Whilst the many unsavoury aspects of her life forces one to acknowledge that she could never be held up as a positive role model, her voice and talent were truly great. Her death at 27 was, under the circumstances, almost inevitable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeFeb 4, 2016
Life on a thin line between pleasure and despair.

Do you think anyone says 'I should have known him' after watching 'This Is It'. The answer is definitely yes. In the non-English speaking countries, many people don't know who Michael
Life on a thin line between pleasure and despair.

Do you think anyone says 'I should have known him' after watching 'This Is It'. The answer is definitely yes. In the non-English speaking countries, many people don't know who Michael Jackson is or was. To me, this documentary is a similar case, I had no clue about who Amy Winehouse was or I never listened her musics before. So thanks to the director for this film and I also congratulate him for the Oscars nomination.

The movie was not complete. As any documentary this one too based on the recorded audio and video clips, and a series of interviews of whom she had worked with and closed ones. It was like a puzzle, but was arranged neatly in the chronological order. You know, you won't get all the truth from them, many stuffs remain mystery. So this is only a person's quality and character from many (people's) angles, but the accuracy, the honesty is with Amy that's never going to be revealed. Because only she knows about all she went through in her life like we do in our life.

Without arguably I agree films and documentary films are too short to squeeze all in about 2 hours to depict a person's entire life and people who watch it to judge that person is not justified. In this, the end was so sudden, like they had no more footages about what really happened. The trivia says Amy's father was not happy about the movie for the portrayal of his daughter, especially the last few years of her life. Only a very few know how much true this film is, but anyway something was very clear that he has not been the father she has wished for.

Every child deserves a good parenting. I feel Amy's struggle began from her childhood itself. But after the teenage, while becoming more independent, she lost her path, besides the fame poured in. She definitely had a gifted voice, she did not know how to manage it and someone should have been there to guide her. According to this film, I think the marriage was the beginning of the dark side of the Amy.

"When you looked at her lyrical and melodic capability,
she was a very old soul in a very young body."

I have not seen all the Academy Award nominees except this and 'Cartel Land', but I certainly think this film has the edge to win the best Documentary film. Definitely Amy's life story deserves to be made as a feature film and I'm up for it. Because somewhere I read the reply to a question 'why Bill Gates is not celebrated as the Steve Jobs? After all bother of them achieved a lot in the same field and contributed to modernise the computer technology'.

The reply was like this: 'Bill Gates was from a financially well settled family who was good at studies and his life was very smooth, support was poured from all the corners. While Steve Jobs was a child of an immigrant parents and had to struggle for his achievements. So he went through many ups and downs in his life and people have soft corner for that'.

This film had all qualities to inspire from the Amy's achievement as well as lessons to learn from her personal life. Everybody has their personal issues and so the Amy. Becoming a prey for the drugs and alcohol is very common these days among the celebrities. For example Heath Ledger, Philip Seymour Hoffman and many other stars are the victims for the drug addiction.

That does not mean their achievements are nothing. Simply, we see one of the many faces of them. After all, we're humans go after what we desire for, but everything has limits, after that what comes is a self-destruction. It is a very nice movie. If you know her and still want to know better, and if you don't know her and want to know about her, for both it is a must see.

8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AndremaxFeb 11, 2019
Even being enough explanatory, Amy is more cinematic than biographic. Various contrasts from beginning to end of her career like her changing of semblance breaks public's heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantJul 11, 2015
A loving but frank chronicle of a tremendous talent whose tragic downfall caused her to leave us far too soon. Despite a tendency for the slightly overlong narrative to become repetitive (and for it to focus a little too much on the "what" atA loving but frank chronicle of a tremendous talent whose tragic downfall caused her to leave us far too soon. Despite a tendency for the slightly overlong narrative to become repetitive (and for it to focus a little too much on the "what" at the expense of the "why"), this stylish documentary provides viewers with a riveting look into the life of someone who struggled to balance her personal and public lives and the challenges of artistry and celebrity. The effect is sad but powerful in nearly every frame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
inaneswineNov 14, 2017
After attending a premiere screening of Amy, I returned home and began aimlessly flicking through the music channels. And in those few minutes, skimming past pretty baby-faced boys and pairs of breasts that sing, relentlessly repetitiveAfter attending a premiere screening of Amy, I returned home and began aimlessly flicking through the music channels. And in those few minutes, skimming past pretty baby-faced boys and pairs of breasts that sing, relentlessly repetitive thumping beats that steal from - sorry, "sample" - far superior music from eons ago laden with lyrics that sing about nightclubs, sex and alcohol, and music videos that exist as little more than tawdry commercials for corporations to flog their products, one of the many messages of the film hit me over the head like an ashtray in a sock. Amy stands not only as a study of the downfall of an outstanding artist, but also of the music industry as a whole.

We all know this already: Amy Winehouse was an exceptionally talented, yet deeply troubled artist. But what many don't realise, and what this film beautifully shows, is what she stood for within the industry, and society as a whole. Amy simply did not fit in the modern music scene, where so much attention is devoted to sales figures, charts, money and looks, and so little to the art itself. What's more, she was taken advantage of by a long parade of people who were supposed to care for her, but instead used her humble and introverted nature for their own gains. The film is beautifully edited and tells its sad story very efficiently, combining previously unseen footage of the singer with interviews from the people who knew her best. It's made with care and sensitivity towards its subject, and it does what it sets out to do. Hopefully, those who see the film will forget the paparazzi photographs of her falling out of nightclubs and will instead think of her beautiful voice and her young, bright eyes full of hope - even if, alas, the outcome is in no doubt.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zurnzurnNov 30, 2015
The first half of this documentary is a revelation. Here is a young girl, a young woman, in many ways wise beyond her years, a force of nature, confident, supremely self-aware, no-BS, poetic, fiery. I loved her music, and yet I had no idea.The first half of this documentary is a revelation. Here is a young girl, a young woman, in many ways wise beyond her years, a force of nature, confident, supremely self-aware, no-BS, poetic, fiery. I loved her music, and yet I had no idea. It makes the second half, the spiral of her public life, and losing her again, all the more hard to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ARmy251084Aug 26, 2015
Not good as I expected but finally very honest and sad documentary about amazing singer Amy Winehouse. Drugs like a love, love like a drugs, depression, strong personality and weak soul. Amy deserves for MARLEY's quality biopic. What a ****Not good as I expected but finally very honest and sad documentary about amazing singer Amy Winehouse. Drugs like a love, love like a drugs, depression, strong personality and weak soul. Amy deserves for MARLEY's quality biopic. What a **** waste of one-for-a-decade talent... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Mar 7, 2016
Tony Bennett: "If she had lived, I would have said:. slow down; you're too important... Life teaches you, really how to live it... if you could live long enough".

The best words to sum up "Amy" are heartbreaking, tragic and really
Tony Bennett: "If she had lived, I would have said:. slow down; you're too important... Life teaches you, really how to live it... if you could live long enough".

The best words to sum up "Amy" are heartbreaking, tragic and really depressing. It's a real shame that a talent like Winehouse could have some much wrong with her (mentally) and how her flaws killed her at the end. But she has left us with her talent and her knock out songs, and this Documentary brilliantly shows that. While it's not the best Documentary I've seen, because this one dose follow the same formula like other Documentary's do, but it is still great and absolutely worth watching.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
susank101Jul 12, 2015
All-too-familiar tale with no spoiler alert needed as know how this ends, told in an original, poetic style befitting the subject. As an appreciator of Winehouse rather than a rabid fan, I came with an expectation that was neutral at best.All-too-familiar tale with no spoiler alert needed as know how this ends, told in an original, poetic style befitting the subject. As an appreciator of Winehouse rather than a rabid fan, I came with an expectation that was neutral at best. But Amy's demise unfolds through the use of "home movie" footage, well-edited balanced interviews with those in her circle, and through the poignant, selective on-screen illustrations of her lyrics as her harrowing performances fill the screen. The result is a sympathetic portrayal of the unravelling of a vulnerable young genius, with an absence of blame or finger-pointing; like Amy herself -- deeply effective, original, and realistic without a shred of maudlin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 4, 2016
Amy feels enjoyable and underrated at the same time. You'll pretty much want to watch more of Amy nonstop until you feel so tired you want to do other things other than watching movies all day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RatedRexFeb 6, 2016
I watched the entire documentary, yet Amy Winehouse still remains a mystery to me. The film didn't delve deep enough into who she really was. I could see who, what , where and when. But in a story like this I need to know why. I need to knowI watched the entire documentary, yet Amy Winehouse still remains a mystery to me. The film didn't delve deep enough into who she really was. I could see who, what , where and when. But in a story like this I need to know why. I need to know why would a woman with so much potential be so self destructive. Also, I didn't quite experience her transformation from nightclub singer to star. It all seemed to happen so fast. In short, the film was decent, but I felt a little shortchanged. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
raultrivinoJan 11, 2016
Excelente documental sobre la vida de la cantante, muy bien contada, sin victimas y victimarios, simplemente cuenta las cosas desde un punto de vista imparcial, y narra los hechos que desencadenan el exito y la caida de Amy Winehouse.Excelente documental sobre la vida de la cantante, muy bien contada, sin victimas y victimarios, simplemente cuenta las cosas desde un punto de vista imparcial, y narra los hechos que desencadenan el exito y la caida de Amy Winehouse.

Evita caer en sentimentalismos y en porno-miseria, y trae una cantidad de relatos y confesiones de sus allegados, familiares y amigos que narran en el tono justo cada una de las etapas de la vida de Amy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ReallynotmildFeb 16, 2017
Amy is pretty ok. Damn, this has to be 150 characters for me to post it. I'm just posting this to get back at a friend Amy who said I'm mild. If I'm honest I haven't even seen this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LegitSaltMar 2, 2020
Amy recounts the short-lived musical career of Amy Winehouse, a singer-songwriter who took her own life from a depression-fueled drug overdose. Winehouse notably suffered from alcoholism and heroin in her last few years, coming in and out ofAmy recounts the short-lived musical career of Amy Winehouse, a singer-songwriter who took her own life from a depression-fueled drug overdose. Winehouse notably suffered from alcoholism and heroin in her last few years, coming in and out of rehab clinics. Winehouse suffered tragic breakups and terrible emotional strain, this is illustrative of how human she was. Amy recounts Winehouse’s entire musical career and more, but ultimately it serves as a message. Amy was made to show and remember the wonderful person that was Amy Winehouse. Amy is a reminder of the short span a human life holds, and that art and integrity often come from very dark places. For what it is Amy couldn’t have been a biopic. Amy is successful because of how the archive footage and interviews come together. This is a movie about art, artists, and the fragile line between life and death with which all of us walk every day. Also good to note that this is a film from A24. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews