United Artists | Release Date: April 1, 1957
9.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 285 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
276
Mixed:
6
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MattBrady99Dec 19, 2017
The power of movie dialogue really makes this movie a true classic.

The story to 12 Angry Men is one man on a jury stands alone in a case in which most are initially convinced one way but one by one may be convinced another way. 12 men in
The power of movie dialogue really makes this movie a true classic.

The story to 12 Angry Men is one man on a jury stands alone in a case in which most are initially convinced one way but one by one may be convinced another way.

12 men in one room just talking about one murder case and them sharing they opinions if the person that may have committed murder is guilty or not, now many things here could have went wrong, you got to have the best writer, the best director and the best actors to make this movie work and it payed off so well and I think this is cinema's greatest risk of doing something new with the story, giving it a twist and a edge and 12 Angry Men paid off brilliantly.

The acting from every singe actor in this movie all do realistic, believable, funny and serious performance's and they all add a lot of weight and drama to their character's. I wish I can bring up every single actors name in this cast but I'm not since these 12 of them and it's going to take up the all page and I can't talk about every singe actor and go into detail about them one at a time, but I can say that everyone in the movie did a flawless work of acting that's pure Oscar worthy and the kind of drama acting they should show kids in drama school. Nicely done fellas.

Sidney Lumet directed this movie and this has to be some of the best directing I've seen from this guy. He really added a lot to this movie when it came to story and characters and the back and forward they have with each other and it worked by his direction.

The characters in the movie (The Twelve Angry Men) don't really like each that much as in every scene they at each other's throat trying to confidence the other men in the room that the man is guilty for murder while that person and the other's bring up some really solid points that this man is guilty or not guilty for murder. As a viewer myself I got really interested in the case and trying to think if he's guilty or not, so this movie does a fantastic job of giving the viewer a opinion on the case and see if you think he did it or not.

For problems with the movie: I don't have any.

Overall 12 Angry Men is such a classic movie with excellent performances from everyone, the writing outstanding and the directing was some of the best. You haven't seen 12 Angry Men then I say go see it, it's worth your time.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
thelolOct 3, 2017
Intense courtroom drama which has 12 very different people, all males, struggling with a murder case involving a young Puerto Rican boy that seems cut-and-dried. However, juror Henry Fonda does not believe it to be as sure-fire as it appears.Intense courtroom drama which has 12 very different people, all males, struggling with a murder case involving a young Puerto Rican boy that seems cut-and-dried. However, juror Henry Fonda does not believe it to be as sure-fire as it appears. He votes not guilty and what follows is a chain of events that will test the views, beliefs and thoughts of the other 11 members. Fonda is great, but Lee J. Cobb steals every scene (and that is not easy to do in a film like this). Ed Begley, Martin Balsam, Jack Warden, Jack Klugman, Joseph Sweeney, E.G. Marshall and John Fiedler are among the other individuals caught in a situation that is much more difficult than it appears on the surface. An excellent character-study that should be studied and embraced by all present and future film-makers. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MacsMusicDec 29, 2017
Can a movie about 12 angry men in 1 room for more than an hour be any good? Yes. Yes it can. "12 Angry Men" is a really cool movie that has lots of moments that made me say "Ahhhaaa!". The characters are really interesting and entertainingCan a movie about 12 angry men in 1 room for more than an hour be any good? Yes. Yes it can. "12 Angry Men" is a really cool movie that has lots of moments that made me say "Ahhhaaa!". The characters are really interesting and entertaining throughout, and some are really likable/hate-able, in a good way. I was interested for the whole movie, that alone makes it worthy of a few points. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
NoahboyOct 8, 2018
The story is flawless in every way possible. The acting is pretty good. The editing is pretty good. The character-development is spectacular. Nothing bad to say about it. It's the only non-documentary movie I would give a 10/10.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobMar 18, 2019
12 men in one room deciding the fate of another. What should be a boring movie is really a brilliant one. With an excellent script, The cast does a fantastic job selling their characters and the turmoil each one goes through as they12 men in one room deciding the fate of another. What should be a boring movie is really a brilliant one. With an excellent script, The cast does a fantastic job selling their characters and the turmoil each one goes through as they ultimately find their way to the truth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AndremaxFeb 4, 2019
Example that less is more, 12 Angry Men is ridden by only a scenario, 12 characters and a killing script, giving a show of dynamism in few resources.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
eagleeyevikingJan 1, 2020
Sidney Lumet's use of styled realism, the tension that builds up from different personalities, and cracking dialogue make "12 Angry Men" a perfect masterpiece that is contemporary in any age.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kai82Jan 22, 2020
This is the master class of film making, acting and directing. On the surface it is about 12 jurors that are counseling about a verdict in a murder case. On the inside it is as much about the jurors themselves, justice, life philosophies,This is the master class of film making, acting and directing. On the surface it is about 12 jurors that are counseling about a verdict in a murder case. On the inside it is as much about the jurors themselves, justice, life philosophies, psychology, group dynamics and responsibility. The whole movie takes place in just one room. There are no distractions and each misstep would hurt this movie badly. This is the ultimate strength of this movie. There are no mistakes, out of character moments, bad dialogues, wasted scenes or other errors. The cast and the acting is so close to perfection as possible. Each juror delivers his role in such a genuine way that I cant find a single flaw in this movie. If I praise the actors I must also praise the director Sidney Lumet. He should definitely have gotten more Oscars in his career (He made many great movies). I want also to mentioned that I first watched this movie when I was 12 or 13 years old just by zapping trough the channels. This was something that shouldn't work at this age. I stopped zapping and started to watch this movie with fascination. As I got older it got even better as I did understand many things more with my additional life experience. Overall this is a timeless classic that is deservedly highly praised and should be watched by everyone at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
eli_fjrNov 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Intense but I think I liked it. At this point just watch it so you don't feel left out.... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SilentTacticianFeb 21, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 12 men seated in a room discussing whether or not a man should be judged for is crimes. A movie that completely revolves around the characters and ideas rather than anything else. I adored this movie simply because it is a movie that appears to be so simplistic and yet is able to convey a deeper message than any other. The elaborate discussion of right vs wrong, justice vs. injustice, and the ability of humanity to deliver doubt. A personal favorite simply because it was able to keep me entertained while doing so little. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheSweBooDec 8, 2018
"IT'S JUST 12 MEN IN A ROOM FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF! BORING! 0/10!" This is why people love this movie haha. It is 12 different men with different outlooks on life being isolated in a confined space having to use the English language as a mean"IT'S JUST 12 MEN IN A ROOM FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF! BORING! 0/10!" This is why people love this movie haha. It is 12 different men with different outlooks on life being isolated in a confined space having to use the English language as a mean to compromise and persuade one another during a murder investigation for 90 minutes. Yes. Yet it's one of the most riveting movies I've ever seen, few movies have had me this invested. Seeing our main character, played brilliantly by Henry Fonda, at the start of the movie being completely alone voting against the execution one by one convincing the 11 other men to vote the same as him is an experience I think everyone should experience. During the final act I lost count of how many times I said "This **** guy" out loud. A very solid movie choice for a first black and white experience. Brilliant, just brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeatrixKiddoNov 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best movie ever ever ever ever ever made!!!! Period!!!!
If you don't like this film, not only you have no taste at all, but you have no idea about cinema. A masterpiece!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wevertonaguiiarDec 13, 2019
Uma obra magnifica, com um dos roteiros mais poderosos da história do cinema. Este tipo de obra nos mostra que não é necessário nada em abundância para que se possa produzir um bom filme. É necessário apenas muito.. muito talento.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
devildarkheadFeb 21, 2018
This is a timeless classic. Stunning performace by the cast. For a low budget movie this is a suprising piece of entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Cristofer21Aug 1, 2018
A very good movie with very few resources, the best directors are those who do more with less and that's why Sidney Lumet was a genius of cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MartyMcFlyOct 2, 2018
My score 100
Metascore / User score 96 / 94
Tomatometer / Audience score 100 / 97
IMDB 89
(96)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jocelynxplOct 19, 2018
‘12 Angry Men’ does not use names and could be set anywhere. Each character represents the different characters in society and its deeply-rooted flaws. Hence, it paints a bigger picture of constitutional inequality and susceptibility to‘12 Angry Men’ does not use names and could be set anywhere. Each character represents the different characters in society and its deeply-rooted flaws. Hence, it paints a bigger picture of constitutional inequality and susceptibility to manipulation within the American judicial system that all countries can relate to, including Singapore. Hence, this movie serves as a poignant warning that everyone has a social responsibility to respect the judicial system as a platform to protect individual rights, regardless of background. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tjhannnnOct 29, 2018
Despite the fact that ‘12 Angry Men’ was produced near 60 years ago, the messages it conveys is very much relevant to today’s world and society. It gives a lot of food for thought regarding issues of prejudice and is a prime example as to howDespite the fact that ‘12 Angry Men’ was produced near 60 years ago, the messages it conveys is very much relevant to today’s world and society. It gives a lot of food for thought regarding issues of prejudice and is a prime example as to how a negotiation should and should not be done. My main take away from this film would be the importance of keeping an open mind when approaching people and issues. We need to be constantly be aware of our own personal bias and think critically, never taking things at face value. Through this process, we can then be more enlightened and make wiser decisions and opinions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YT96Nov 3, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 12 Angry Men illustrates the difficult process of arriving at a common consensus when 12 jurors were tasked to evaluate the innocence of an 18-year-old boy accused of first-degree murder. This movie, though stylistically simple due to the lack of scene changes, manages to provide an engaging watch by interweaving the intricacies involved in negotiations. Several techniques were reflected in the film, namely separating people from the problem, distinguishing positions and interests, and the importance of using objective criteria to invent and evaluate options. Definitely worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
juancorderoDec 14, 2018
This film is, without any doubt, a masterpiece and one of the best films of all time. It is undoubtedly a must-see movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gen387Feb 11, 2019
Almost only two things in this movie: dialogs and acting. Still it's probably one of the best movies ever made imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AaronK33May 26, 2019
12 angry men did a great job representing the different characteristics and personalities that were involved in that room. It showed how hostile a jury can be even when evidence may seem so true, every angle must be examined. I loved how some12 angry men did a great job representing the different characteristics and personalities that were involved in that room. It showed how hostile a jury can be even when evidence may seem so true, every angle must be examined. I loved how some of the jury members would actually get so angry to the point that they would end up committing a murder! Throughout the entire movie you were just on your seat for what shocking new evidence or a point of view would change the minds of each jury member. It was funny to think it was 11 against 1 and that 1 man voiced his opinion so well that the rest of the group was able to change their stubborn results. If you have an opinion speak it! It could potentially save a life! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KekoaminerJul 18, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 12 Angry men is one of the best works of American cinema. With its story that represents an accurate picture of what being on a jury can be like. It engages audiences with its murder mystery plot making every line of dialogue of somewhat importance to unraveling the truth about the mystery. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DiptanshuOct 17, 2019
A Pure masterclass Piece of cinema!
Not even a single sec i felt it was shot in the single room with just arguments It's really gripping.Every single sec makes us feel We are going in a way Making the judgement of not guilty! Ending explains
A Pure masterclass Piece of cinema!
Not even a single sec i felt it was shot in the single room with just arguments It's really gripping.Every single sec makes us feel We are going in a way Making the judgement of not guilty! Ending explains the all when two different perspectives people are eager to make there point!It's really a Classic!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
julianmiltonJul 31, 2019
I am a small business owner with more than 60 employees and this movie is part of our company orientation meaning that each new hire is required to watch this movie and discuss with this colleagues. It defines our company DNA: never acceptI am a small business owner with more than 60 employees and this movie is part of our company orientation meaning that each new hire is required to watch this movie and discuss with this colleagues. It defines our company DNA: never accept the majority opinion without your own input, always defend your point and never give in. Truly a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ManihOct 23, 2019
96 minutes, 12 men, in a room. But nobody said that it is boring film. Sidney Lumet is genius artist. I fund it when I saw Find me Guilty and I believe it surly when I saw 12 Angry men.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews