Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. May 31, 2017
    100
    RiME is a game that feels perfect to play, from the very start right up to the epic finish.
  2. May 31, 2017
    95
    RiME revealed to be an incredibly fascinating, imaginative and touching adventure, with gorgeous environments and organic and well designed puzzles. Definitely one of the best games this gen.
  3. May 25, 2017
    92
    An epic and broad story, music that makes hearts beat and a loving artistic aspect. Those are Rime’s foundations, a true masterpiece that everyone should try. When you get inside this world of puzzles and perils, nothing is going to detach you from the screen, because RiME catches you.
  4. May 30, 2017
    90
    I have a confession to make, after reviewing games for 9 years, I've never given a game a 10. Never. I always thought that gaming perfection was unobtainable simply because there is always room for improvement. Had the issues noted above not plagued RiME, this game would have been my first 10, and that was a sobering moment of just how big of an impact these issues can be. When you're talking about simplicity and doing more with less, then you have to make sure that everything, and I mean everything, you give to the gaming community has to be the best. That being said though, RiME is a gaming masterpiece that should be experienced, even with the hiccups I speak of. Creative puzzles, beautiful environments, spellbinding soundscapes, and at $29.99, Rime is right now one of the games to beat in 2017.
  5. May 28, 2017
    90
    An elegiac odyssey to come back home. The last videogame from Tequila Works is an excellent example of a graphic and playable mastery with great cultural references. Journey, yes, Ico, of course; but above all, RiME.
  6. May 25, 2017
    90
    As games of this type go, RiME is among the best, its picturesque world one you'll want to spend time in and return to once the narrative has run its course. A stunning, dreamlike experience.
  7. May 25, 2017
    90
    RiME places Tequila Works in the Olympus of Spanish development with an intense, emotional and difficult-to-forget adventure supported mainly by the visual narrative, excellent artistic direction and soundtrack.
  8. Jun 8, 2017
    85
    RiME is so sad, but so beautiful at the same time. It has similarities to The Last Guardian but plays out way better. RiME is a must-buy if you like puzzles and a nice adventure.
  9. Jun 1, 2017
    85
    Its ending is ambiguous and open to interpretation, but it is impactful nonetheless. Rime starts off slow but comes barreling into a touching final act. Each distinct level is full of puzzles, and what Rime lacks in complexity it makes up for in heart.
  10. May 26, 2017
    85
    By design the game portion comes first, providing an evocative experience where discovery feels earned and the pacing is spot on. The meaning comes later, at the very end in fact, but in a way that enhances everything that has comes before it. And in the process, leaves both a lasting impression and a cathartic sense of closure once you solve the biggest puzzle in the game -- its meaning.
  11. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Jun 18, 2017
    80
    Despite choppy performance issues, this magic puzzler is still a prize catch. [July 2017, p.76]
  12. Jun 2, 2017
    80
    Rime feels like a game that honestly believes itself to be a masterpiece, but it falls a tad short of that lofty goal. It needs to tighten up its pacing, polish its controls, ease up on the tutorials and maybe add a few more puzzles for good measure. While it's not perfect, most of its issues would be fixed with some minor tweaking. It's still a gorgeous, fun, engrossing and powerful experience. From beginning to end, Rime is something incredibly special.
  13. May 29, 2017
    80
    RiME is a beautiful game that excels in its presentation and tells a compelling narrative. Although it’s held back by technical issues and simplistic puzzles, it’s well-worth the price of admission.
  14. May 25, 2017
    80
    It’s a simple statement that’s both endearing and heartbreaking. It hints at the thousand real-life moments of grief and joy that served as inspiration for this game. That emotional weight shines through, making Rime a thoroughly rewarding experience.
  15. May 25, 2017
    80
    Rime never strays too far from the “indie” trappings of ambiguous narrative, mysterious puzzles in a mysterious land, and a young protagonist incapable of fighting, but it delivers a meaningful and satisfying finale that shook me in a way I was not expecting.
  16. May 25, 2017
    80
    Tequila Works’ RiME is an audiovisual tour de force that wants to astonish you with its beauty, charm you with its loveable protagonist, and move you with its powerful emotions. And if you give it a chance, it’ll succeed in all three.
  17. Jun 6, 2017
    70
    Rime is a beautiful game with some ugly drawbacks. Still, I recommend checking it out. The world is gorgeous and the adventure worth seeing. I hope the developers make an effort to clean up the frame rate at some point, but I also hope to see a follow-up with some of the issues addressed. There is too much beauty for this game to not return.
  18. games(TM)
    Jul 7, 2017
    60
    Moments of beauty upended by uneven pacing. [Issue#189, p.72]
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 86
  2. Negative: 11 out of 86
  1. May 27, 2017
    9
    Graphically this game is stunning. The controls are smooth and the level design is amazing. RiME is an adventure puzzler, with a little focusGraphically this game is stunning. The controls are smooth and the level design is amazing. RiME is an adventure puzzler, with a little focus on exploration. No talking or combat, not even any tutorial, RiME tells a narrative through visuals that is sure to work for gamers of any language.

    It has a similar art style of The Witness, but plays nothing like that game. RiME reminds me a lot of Ico and Journey. I have read reviews from the critics saying RiME can't compete with those classics, but I disagree. RiME is the game Ico should have been.

    Puzzles are basic and typically consist of pushing blocks, activating lights, moving shadows, jumping, hanging on platforms, swimming through tunnels, and a bit of staying in the shadows. And it's all fun and satisfying.

    With gorgeous music and heart warming visuals, good controls and a intriguing world, I highly recommend this game - especially for the low price.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 10, 2017
    9
    Beautiful looking game with a touching story. Lots of well hidden collectibles and chapter select to find them. I really loved this game andBeautiful looking game with a touching story. Lots of well hidden collectibles and chapter select to find them. I really loved this game and didn't want it to end. The music was lovely and the mostly silent character is something I always enjoy. Really glad I bought this game, well worth the price. Full Review »
  3. Jun 5, 2017
    9
    Great game, looks like The Witness plays like Zelda but has an emotional punch all of it's own. Best game of the year for me and I wouldGreat game, looks like The Witness plays like Zelda but has an emotional punch all of it's own. Best game of the year for me and I would recommend it as a must play for anyone who thinks it may even slightly appeal to them. Have no idea why the user score is so low as they don't put their reasons down in words but I feel sorry for anyone who doesn't get enjoyment from this game. Full Review »