User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 144
  2. Negative: 32 out of 144
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2020
    8
    Having played Hunt for a little over a month, I have to conclude that it is one of the most original and enjoyable multiplayer games on the market.

    The game shines in its ability to produce very tense moments while interacting with other players - pretty much any firefight becomes suspenseful when the ammunition is sparse, the weapons mostly single-shot, and with other player teams and
    Having played Hunt for a little over a month, I have to conclude that it is one of the most original and enjoyable multiplayer games on the market.

    The game shines in its ability to produce very tense moments while interacting with other players - pretty much any firefight becomes suspenseful when the ammunition is sparse, the weapons mostly single-shot, and with other player teams and NPC monsters lurking around. You're always both the hunter and the hunted, as even when you manage to grab the bounty (the main game mode's primary objective is to locate and kill an NPC monster and escape with the bounty it drops) you are immediately revealed to all other players on map, often initiating a thrilling chase. The fact that you lose all your perks and equipment when killed, an outstanding atmosphere of a monstrosity-infested 19th century Luisiana and brilliant sound design (you are encouraged to move slowly and listen to your surroundings) add to the experience.

    Hunt: Showdown's gameplay may not be for everyone, though. First, it's slow-paced, there's nothing akin to Call of Duty-style frantic shootouts to be found here. I wouldn't even call the game a shooter, it's more of a multiplayer survival horror, somewhat similar to the Resident Evil series. Secondly, the game features a fairly steep learning curve, and it won't be easy to score even a first player kill, let alone successfully escape with a bounty. Once you get the hang of it, though, it becomes real fun to play. The game's menus are also overloaded with information, and are overwhelming to browse at first.

    My other gripes would include graphics - seriously something I would never expect from a Crytek game, Hunt at times looks awful, with muddy textures, ridiculously small drawing distances and dead bodies disappearing within a second or two. Besides that, the game is also still plagued with some connection issues, the loading times are long, and the number of maps, monsters and game modes leaves some to be desired.

    Still, Hunt: Showdown has proved to be an engaging and unique experience, and I can see myself keeping playing it for the foreseeable future.
    Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2020
    10
    Amazing game! Smart shooter, terrifying atmosphere, brilliant sound and great rpg elements. If you like hardcore gameplay and realistic graphics that creates unique horror atmosphere, you will definitely fall in love with this game!
  3. Mar 2, 2020
    10
    Everyone sees the world in one’s own way. This is a world without too much noise and endless ammo.
    Just impressive...

    ps. as cool as a cucumber, this is - HUNT.
  4. Jun 22, 2020
    10
    The developers have brought something new to the industry, for which they thanks.
    Graphics 10/10.
    Gameplay 9/10.
    Atmosphere 20/10.
    Sound (I would have put it 10/10, now the opponents are worse heard) 9/10.
  5. Jun 14, 2020
    10
    One of the most underrated games I know.Great atmosphere and very tactical game. Each match plays out completely differently. I wonder why there is no bigger attention from big gaming outlets like Gamespot or IGN....
  6. Feb 18, 2020
    10
    Great game with amazing atmosphere! Imagine a cross between Bloodborne and Rainbow Six Siege and you will have an idea of how cool Hunt is. Nerve wrecking competitive multiplayer to keep the players on the edge of their seats. Plus, one of the best soundtracks ever made for a game!
  7. Feb 19, 2020
    9
    I wasn't too sure at first, but I love this game! I'm playing solo at the moment which I thought would kill the experience, but it doesn't. It's not a game about winning, it's seeing how long you can go, and if you win yay! If not oh well try again. Love the world, the sound, and so different! Refreshing!
  8. Mar 11, 2020
    4
    Too hard and repetitive to play for anyone who's not a masochist. You're going to spend most of your time in a loading screen. Very bad PS4 optimization, clunky controls. Nice atmosphere though.
  9. Feb 22, 2020
    5
    This game is kind of a mess, but has a lot of potential. A lot of balance issue that makes the game completely un-fun for lower level players that don't have access to these broken skill/guns for themselves. Very clunky movement, very slow camera even at max sensitivity, some of the worst shooting I've seen in an fps (which is wild for a competitive shooter), tons of crashes and bugs. OnThis game is kind of a mess, but has a lot of potential. A lot of balance issue that makes the game completely un-fun for lower level players that don't have access to these broken skill/guns for themselves. Very clunky movement, very slow camera even at max sensitivity, some of the worst shooting I've seen in an fps (which is wild for a competitive shooter), tons of crashes and bugs. On the positive end, this game has incredible audio, horrific monster design, a lot of different and interesting mechanics to use against monster and players. This game needs some serious work before I'd consider it a competent game but I'd be happy to play it again when the issues are addressed. Expand
  10. Mar 16, 2020
    0
    I am very sad to see Crytek has spent so long working on so little. This is an unfinished game on an outdated game engine. I understand they were trying the "spooky" or "eerie" fps. But perpetual daytime with semi-loaded textures is pretty stupid.
  11. Feb 22, 2020
    0
    Clunky mechanics, a clustery menu, bad server connectivity, super long load times, everyone gets dced from your lobby or they quit because of you being low level.
  12. Feb 25, 2020
    0
    This game is the worst game I have played in over 20 years with sony. Clunky mechanics, Outdated Game Engine, A Player base which is almost non existent & menus designed for pc, wait I forgot the loading times. Do yourself a favour & buy any Metro Game Instead. Please do not waste your money.
  13. Apr 7, 2020
    0
    The biggest disappointment and waste of money. The aiming and controls are clunky and unresponsive. Popping up textures (PS4 Pro) and to be honest You spend more time in lobby matchmaking or on a loading screen than actually playing.
  14. Mar 10, 2020
    10
    It’s the most perfect game ever made. Of all time. Flawless in every way except the Minecraft textures.
  15. Feb 18, 2020
    10
    Okay, so I just got started. The sound and general atmosphere in this game is mindblowing. I love every second of this crazy scary game. I drop the score to nine because it's running in sluggish 30fps, even on ps4 pro. I would love to see a 'performance' setting in the future.

    Played even more, currently lvl 44 bloodline. The more of the game you uncover, the more fun it gets. I got used
    Okay, so I just got started. The sound and general atmosphere in this game is mindblowing. I love every second of this crazy scary game. I drop the score to nine because it's running in sluggish 30fps, even on ps4 pro. I would love to see a 'performance' setting in the future.

    Played even more, currently lvl 44 bloodline. The more of the game you uncover, the more fun it gets. I got used to the slow gameplay. The fights are even more crispier because of that. The satisfaction of landing a headshot is unfathomable. It is not yet another survival horror game, it's a unique masterpiece.

    Please try it yourself. Amazing game.
    Expand
  16. Feb 25, 2020
    4
    Game Ruined by trash pvp mechanics. Bosses bullet sponges and require a group so it sucks if your a solo player. Games like this should have demo regret spending money on it. Can't even level my hunter to level 2 let alone get 5 of them to level 50. On death lose all progress? so in otherwords there is no point to leveling for new perks etc in first place. Found assassin boss keptGame Ruined by trash pvp mechanics. Bosses bullet sponges and require a group so it sucks if your a solo player. Games like this should have demo regret spending money on it. Can't even level my hunter to level 2 let alone get 5 of them to level 50. On death lose all progress? so in otherwords there is no point to leveling for new perks etc in first place. Found assassin boss kept blinking around me shot 8-10 bullets into it and died as my life bar is always low. No health can be found in maps or buildings on when starting /ending rituals?..... Also if you use loud guns you can get savaged by 4-6 dogs at once, and other enemies. - The fat butchers do pretty much nothing as long as your at range, the posion guys shoot them afar , always shoot horses on floor, the generics you can head shot them with slienced pistol and flame guy is meh. The armored ones take a few hits best to hit them from range or when perched up high. - Game is honestly ruined by pvp game should just be a hour of monster hunting with random people , picking up clues and solving puzzles. No idea what i am doing wrong but i can't customise anything. Expand
  17. Feb 28, 2020
    0
    OK. So the control scheme isnt bad, its these horrible sensitivity adjustments. Like why why why have aim acceleration????? Without that the game would be soo much better. On a side note i have a PS4 Pro on a 4K monitor and the game looks like CRAP. Needs to be optimized for sure. Really wanted this game to be good and ready to play but i dont think it is right now.
  18. Apr 3, 2020
    0
    With no way to turn off motion blur, and a 30 fps this feels like a clunky mess of a game. I spent 53$ CND and I am praying Sony will give me my money back. Trying to shoot a dog on the ground feels like a chore mainly because the interface feels like you are looking at blurs along the ground. If you have any sense you will not by this clunky mess of a game.
  19. Mar 20, 2020
    1
    Terrible game, camping paradise for all campers of the world. Running half an hour on the map and the get shot by a shotgunner or a guy in the tower 2 km away
  20. Feb 21, 2020
    4
    Played 30 minutes...Yet Another survival horror shooter. Moreover I cannot play with my friends spread around the world because they cannot buy it (it has not been published in some countries!!)
  21. Feb 23, 2020
    10
    I love this game.!! A lovely adaptation of the battle royale genre. Getting kills is so satisfying and the monsters are breathtaking..The people who complain about the "clunky mess", bad servers and not enough players need to grow up.
  22. Feb 24, 2020
    9
    So this game wasn't on my radar. I'm not a big multiplayer gamer. After watching this on Twitch, I had to try it for myself and for $40, I thought, why not? This game is crazy. It'll frustrate you beyond belief (in a good way) and it will give you a feeling of self accomplishment 10 minutes later.

    There is a ton of risk, which makes the victories feel amazing! The tension is high, what
    So this game wasn't on my radar. I'm not a big multiplayer gamer. After watching this on Twitch, I had to try it for myself and for $40, I thought, why not? This game is crazy. It'll frustrate you beyond belief (in a good way) and it will give you a feeling of self accomplishment 10 minutes later.

    There is a ton of risk, which makes the victories feel amazing! The tension is high, what with the environment, enemies, older, slow weaponry, making death easily around every swampy nook. You don't know how many other players are in the world and there are no radars telling you how close they are. You HAVE to rely on your eyes and ears to tell you what's coming. No other game does it quite like this one.

    I give this an 8.5. The only reason for the minus 1.5 points is because I'd like to see more maps.
    Expand
  23. Feb 21, 2020
    10
    Cool monsters, tension, pvp battles, different every game, lots of unlocks, character permadeath, addicting as hell.
  24. Mar 7, 2020
    6
    Hunt Showdown, a great concept with not so great execution
    Hunt Showdown is a competitive online First Person shooter game here youre thrown into one of twomaps, to take own one or two of two bosses as either a team of two or solo..
    See the problem yet? Theres a lot of 2s going on here… only 2 maps.. only 2 bosses… and this is part o what drags Hunt Showdown down.. Here you spawn in the
    Hunt Showdown, a great concept with not so great execution
    Hunt Showdown is a competitive online First Person shooter game here youre thrown into one of twomaps, to take own one or two of two bosses as either a team of two or solo..
    See the problem yet? Theres a lot of 2s going on here… only 2 maps.. only 2 bosses… and this is part o what drags Hunt Showdown down..
    Here you spawn in the map as a hunter.. you recruit hunters with coin earned during play, and your goal is to track down and kill the boss of the map before the other players do and get out of there without being killed yourself… and this is where the competitive play comes into play.. you have a couple options here.. run around and search for the 3 clues that will mark the boss on the map.. or go after the sounds of gunshots in the distance, and take out players and leave with all the glory for yourself and your team mate… there are plenty of zombie like creatures, and a healthy variety around to stop you from doing both… not only do you hav to kill off enemy players, but these zombies as well.. all while making sure you have a healthy amount of ammo to take on either the butcher or a giant spider.. These moments of ealing with these enemies is what makes Hunt Showdown feel so complete, so tense, so hectic, and so terrifying.. the life of your bounty hunter can be over in an instant because of one bad swam of enemies…
    the concept of hunt showdown is great, but once you’ve seen all there is to see.. which will take about 3 hours… theres not much incentive to keep going.. at least there wasn’t for me…theres no addictive hook that had me wanting to come back for more.. theres no story… theres not a variety of maps to explore.. theres not a variety of monsters to hunt down.. theres two.. just two.. not only that, finding a game and loading into one is painfully slow… which really kills your incetive to play as well.. I was becoming impatient to the point where I just didn’t care to play anymore… in a game with no respawns, its important that matchmaking is in and out much like fortnite… considering you can die quickly after a match starts, it drains the patients of the player to have to wait so long to hop back in, And I feel much like me, most players will be done with this game sooner rather than later.. .
    I feel like Hunt Showdown has potential with more game modes, possibly a 3 life mode for example, and definitely more bosses and maps, but as it stands right now, hunt showdown feels like a bare bones early access game..
    Hunt Showdown is one of those games where you know its for you or not.. if youre not sure.. it problaby isn’t..
    I give Hunt Showdown
    a 6.5/10
    Expand
  25. Apr 20, 2020
    0
    I Have to alter this review. This game is hands down the worst shooter i have played in 27 years of gaming. Framerate drops. Lags. Loading times. Enemies that drop from the sky. Headshots that don't count. Blue screen en error 1 out of 10 matches. Close up gun fight is impossible with a controller. Dear god how can a company release such a vile piece of **** shooter. Even free battle royalI Have to alter this review. This game is hands down the worst shooter i have played in 27 years of gaming. Framerate drops. Lags. Loading times. Enemies that drop from the sky. Headshots that don't count. Blue screen en error 1 out of 10 matches. Close up gun fight is impossible with a controller. Dear god how can a company release such a vile piece of **** shooter. Even free battle royal games are better then this 40 euro game. SHAME ON CRYTEK last time i buy anything from these developers. Expand
  26. Feb 25, 2020
    10
    This game is a beautiful mix of pve pvp elements combined with horror and tense gunfights.If you like coop with friends this game is a must have because every session is unique and requires strategy and patience.
  27. May 16, 2020
    4
    Game has no console optimization whatsoever if you really want this game do not buy the console version. The PS4 player base is almost nonexistent. The game is a very good idea with a ton of poor design decisions that hold it back. There is some moments that are fun but most of the game is frustrating because of the poorly thought out decisions by the developers. Wait till you can get theGame has no console optimization whatsoever if you really want this game do not buy the console version. The PS4 player base is almost nonexistent. The game is a very good idea with a ton of poor design decisions that hold it back. There is some moments that are fun but most of the game is frustrating because of the poorly thought out decisions by the developers. Wait till you can get the game for $15 Expand
  28. Jun 14, 2020
    0
    в раннем доступе было норм. Но после Вайпа как-то стало играть неинтересно совсем.
    Геймплей очень медленный, после APEX в это вообще не могу играть.
    Атмосфера норм , но вот читеры на каждом шагу. + мне не понравилась новая система с персонажами покупными
    в раннем доступе было норм. Но после Вайпа как-то стало играть неинтересно совсем.
    Геймплей очень медленный, после APEX в это вообще не могу играть.
    Атмосфера норм , но вот читеры на каждом шагу.
    + мне не понравилась новая система с персонажами покупными
  29. Feb 25, 2020
    9
    Great game, from the atmosphere, the soundtrack to the intense gun fights. A small amount of performance issues can slightly hinder the experience! But overall it is a fantastic game.
  30. Jun 21, 2020
    4
    This game is a dream comes true for me on paper. But in practice, feels unbalanced and not cared for by the devs. Low graphical quality is not a problem for me but getting disconnected every third run -more often at times- is a spit on the face.
  31. Mar 3, 2020
    10
    Bloody excellent, once you get used to the guns and all then it's a lot of fun. I play Solo a lot of the time so you can enjoy it alone, especially if your like me and enjoy the risk associated.
    It's the first game in ages I actually look forward to playing when I get home
  32. Mar 5, 2020
    10
    Made a account just to post a 10. It's taken the place of r6 siege. It's awesome. Atmosphere and enemies are amazing. Weapons are interesting. You can take out high level players with starting weapons just by playing smarter. It does help to have the better ones though. The people complaining are salty that they cant figure it out. Update the controls are super smooth now. It's veryMade a account just to post a 10. It's taken the place of r6 siege. It's awesome. Atmosphere and enemies are amazing. Weapons are interesting. You can take out high level players with starting weapons just by playing smarter. It does help to have the better ones though. The people complaining are salty that they cant figure it out. Update the controls are super smooth now. It's very intense. It's not a run and gun respawning cod. You have to play like you are hunting or being hunted. Its takes a bit of brain power. Look for clues and listen for clues and track down the enemy. To the people complaining about it not being fair to single players or only wanting only pve. Grow a pair. It's a pvp game. Go play bloodborne or something. Graphics are awesome.its perfectly balanced between weapons and abilities compared to cost and effectiveness. The best shotgun in the game is the one you can start with. You track people down and use your map to plot a ambush. If it fails you are in for a fight. Expand
  33. Jun 18, 2020
    5
    Loooong loading times!
    Cant much make everytime i did the higher lvls let me play alone
    I really enjoy the solo tutorial mission
    There is potential in these game i tried to like it but i didnt !!!!
  34. Apr 7, 2020
    5
    The game atmosphere is a 10, but the clunky controls, pc minded menu and long load times will likely kill this game off quickly on console. It could be a great game if they would have ported it right but as it is right now it's a terrible port and probably the clunkiest controls I've ever used in a shooter game on PS4, it was designed on PC first and they didn't implement any changes aimedThe game atmosphere is a 10, but the clunky controls, pc minded menu and long load times will likely kill this game off quickly on console. It could be a great game if they would have ported it right but as it is right now it's a terrible port and probably the clunkiest controls I've ever used in a shooter game on PS4, it was designed on PC first and they didn't implement any changes aimed towards console and so it feels like a cash grab in that sense. There is fun to be had but it's not worth the full price of admission. Expand
  35. Jul 16, 2020
    10
    thanks to Crytek, you've created a brilliant game.
    hard, loud and fun.
    a cross between rainbow six siege & red dead undead. It worked.
  36. Apr 15, 2020
    10
    The idea is really well developed, is a mixture of gameplay, really really cool. Pretty difficult, but really cool.
  37. Nov 22, 2020
    8
    Fun take on PvPvE. There is a learning curve for a new player but if you have played any recent FPS its not game breaking. Solo is do-able but you need to have patients, use more strategy and be ok with not winning every match. In my opinion its more fun to play with friends. Overall worth buying when it goes on sale.
  38. Feb 20, 2020
    10
    The atmosphere in this game is so unique! sounds, music, guns, etc... There is plenty of fresh gameplay ideas. This feeling when you level up your hunter (or when you lose it!!!) This pvpve game is just fantastic. Of course, servers as well as controller settings still need some special care. But this game is already so addictive!
  39. Oct 22, 2020
    9
    One of the best pvp/pve games out there.
    Go search youtube and watch a few "how to's" and some reviews.

    I got 900+ hours in the game on PS4 pro and i'm not quitting anytime soon, that's for sure.

    It got a steep learning curve and the first 20+ hours it will be a struggle. Overcome that and you will find one of the best online shooters ever created.
  40. Jun 22, 2020
    10
    One of the best fps game which is contain pvp and pve. Graphics are georgeous.
  41. Jun 12, 2020
    7
    This amazing game goes to great lengths to make you NOT like it. Unfortunately, that truly is Hunt: Showdown's overriding design principle. Which is incredibly unfortunate because if you're in the mood for a unique and intense multiplayer experience this game is easily worth the asking price. But you have to make what seems to me to be an unnecessary commitment to this game when muchThis amazing game goes to great lengths to make you NOT like it. Unfortunately, that truly is Hunt: Showdown's overriding design principle. Which is incredibly unfortunate because if you're in the mood for a unique and intense multiplayer experience this game is easily worth the asking price. But you have to make what seems to me to be an unnecessary commitment to this game when much could be done on the developers' side to make everyone happy. I still recommend the game, but if your frustration tolerance is low don't bother, maybe just watch some YT videos about it. Expand
  42. Feb 20, 2020
    10
    Definitely lives up to the hype.
    Played 20-25 rounds with a friend so far and the atmosphere and tension is really nerve-wrecking.
    Haven't been into most games of recent history and got bored quickly but Hunt: Showdown is finally something new and innovative.
  43. Jul 1, 2020
    10
    Very competitive and hardcore. The only online shooter worth playing. 'Nuff Said.
  44. Feb 24, 2020
    9
    Yes, there are a few issues currently present in the PS4 version. However, there is plenty of room for growth, a roadmap in place for not just balance and performance patches, but also content as well. Consoles are a different beast than PC, so some of the issues may be new to the team. Again, though, this is one of the most enjoyable MP shooters I've played in a long time. I have noYes, there are a few issues currently present in the PS4 version. However, there is plenty of room for growth, a roadmap in place for not just balance and performance patches, but also content as well. Consoles are a different beast than PC, so some of the issues may be new to the team. Again, though, this is one of the most enjoyable MP shooters I've played in a long time. I have no issues with the controls or the gunplay as many may complain about. The reality is it is not a twitch shooter like so many other games. It feels more like Metro Exodus, deliberate and targeted. I've enjoyed it after sinking at least a dozen hours into it, and can see myself spending 50+ hours with this until I am concerned about new content. Every match plays out differently, every match is tense, and the risk/reward system is fair, balanced, and challenging. I cannot recommend this one enough, and I am not a huge MP gamer. It has incredible gothic vibes, a perfectly sized sandbox, a progression system for the hardcore lovers, and incredible sound. Expand
  45. Jun 23, 2020
    2
    I was extremely excited when I watched the trailers, but the game is completely different from what I imagined. This isn't an open world type game where you might run into other players, but one in which groups of players all spawn for the same missions.

    This wouldn't be an issue except for the fact that player levels don't seem to come into play with matching and there is a feature to
    I was extremely excited when I watched the trailers, but the game is completely different from what I imagined. This isn't an open world type game where you might run into other players, but one in which groups of players all spawn for the same missions.

    This wouldn't be an issue except for the fact that player levels don't seem to come into play with matching and there is a feature to see the other players through the map. My friend and I got slaughtered thanks to this feature. Having weaker characters is one thing, but fighting against Predator's ability seems a little ridiculous. The character and weapon creation is also very confusing and there isn't a walk through feature for this part of the game. We played for 2 days before we deleted this game.

    Waste of my money and an utter disappointment.
    Expand
  46. Aug 27, 2020
    1
    мыльный, при этом не оптимизированый, с лагучими серваками кусок дерьма, жаль потраченых денег и нервов
  47. Jun 10, 2020
    10
    Hago la reseña en español porque soy hermoso.

    Por qué 10/10? + Primero y principal, se nota que a los desarrolladores les importa el juego. Pueden verlo ustedes mismo en su servido de discord. Mantienen permanente comunicación con los jugadores y están pendiente del estado de los servidores. + Sus armas son geniales y cuentan con un buen realismo. + El juego te puede dar mucha
    Hago la reseña en español porque soy hermoso.

    Por qué 10/10?
    + Primero y principal, se nota que a los desarrolladores les importa el juego. Pueden verlo ustedes mismo en su servido de discord. Mantienen permanente comunicación con los jugadores y están pendiente del estado de los servidores.
    + Sus armas son geniales y cuentan con un buen realismo.
    + El juego te puede dar mucha adrenalina.
    - Sus mecánicas son un poco toscas.
    Expand
  48. Mar 3, 2020
    7
    The atmosphere of this game is quite unique! Servers are sometimes available. Game is not for everyone.
  49. Apr 28, 2020
    9
    In short, this game is a stealth-heavy 1st person shooter, set in the 1800’s bayou. You and three buddies gather clues and try to collect a bounty on a boss creature. The catch: other “teams” want the bounties too, and if you manage to kill the boss and take the bounty, other players will probably be hunting for you. If you manage to get to the extraction point and survive... yaaay pointsIn short, this game is a stealth-heavy 1st person shooter, set in the 1800’s bayou. You and three buddies gather clues and try to collect a bounty on a boss creature. The catch: other “teams” want the bounties too, and if you manage to kill the boss and take the bounty, other players will probably be hunting for you. If you manage to get to the extraction point and survive... yaaay points and level ups!!!

    The thing is, the monsters, themselves, aren’t that tough. The intensity of this game is a result of a mechanic that begins once you reach a player level of 10. If your character dies while you are on the bayou after level 10, they are dead and gone, permanently, and all of their equipment is gone too. So while the challenge of the monsters isn’t that daunting, the fear of other players is real. Add to that that the levels are littered with stuff that is designed to alert enemy players to your location, you start to mind your steps a bit more carefully. Finally, When you add the creepy sound and zombie dystopia visuals, you can end up with a pretty intense experience in a given round.

    Yes, there do appear to be some technical issues. The menus are a bit confusing in the beginning, but they become manageable with practice. I have only been booted from a game once (so far) because of server issues. But I am the kind of player who can overlook some technical glitches if I enjoy the experience overall.

    I’m not sure how fun this game would be if I was playing on my own, but playing with buddies is intense, and, at times, hysterical. I have enjoyed Hunt very much so far.
    Expand
  50. Jun 20, 2020
    9
    Hunt: Showdown is not your average competetive shooter!
    The game is a really good mix between Squad-based PvE and PvP aswell.
    The gameplay is really well put together and the atmosphere is second to none. Hunt shines with it's realistic graphics, animations and incredible sound design, that make the game feel like no other. If you are at all interested in this unique type action
    Hunt: Showdown is not your average competetive shooter!
    The game is a really good mix between Squad-based PvE and PvP aswell.
    The gameplay is really well put together and the atmosphere is second to none.
    Hunt shines with it's realistic graphics, animations and incredible sound design, that make the game feel like no other.

    If you are at all interested in this unique type action game, then you should definetely give it a try!
    Expand
  51. Jun 22, 2020
    10
    By far one of the best games I’ve ever played. Super underrated and needs more attention.
  52. Jul 4, 2020
    4
    Ok game, could’ve done better if it had PVE co-op included in the game. The cheaters in the game ruined it for most.
  53. Jul 15, 2020
    5
    It's probably the most inspired effort of the recent wave of battle royale mode titles. The theme is pretty unique and the implementation of binaural audio adds a new level of unique strategy to the game. Unfortunately. On the ps4 the title suffers from a large number of technical issues - lots of pop in, poor net codes and a variable framerate during gameplay . These technicalIt's probably the most inspired effort of the recent wave of battle royale mode titles. The theme is pretty unique and the implementation of binaural audio adds a new level of unique strategy to the game. Unfortunately. On the ps4 the title suffers from a large number of technical issues - lots of pop in, poor net codes and a variable framerate during gameplay . These technical shortcomings negatively effect the gameplay due to life or death scenarios requiring pixel perfect, split second precision on a controller. There's also an overwhelming number of contemporary multiplayer gimmicks such as inflated virtual currencies and the existence of microtransaction boosters. Expand
  54. Sep 1, 2020
    9
    This is the funniest battle royal I have ever played, and maybe one of the funniest FPS I've played in general.

    It's really unique, a battle royal that only has 12 players max per map, where you start out with the exact loadout that you choose, and where you can kill everyone and still lose, or kill no one and eek out a win. This game has something that i never knew most battle royals
    This is the funniest battle royal I have ever played, and maybe one of the funniest FPS I've played in general.

    It's really unique, a battle royal that only has 12 players max per map, where you start out with the exact loadout that you choose, and where you can kill everyone and still lose, or kill no one and eek out a win. This game has something that i never knew most battle royals needed... and objective other than "Survive till the end, kill everyone else". There's no shrinking map, no gas, or storm, or lava coming to get you, just: an NPC Monster or 2 to find and kill: bounties, which those monsters drop on death, to defend, extract with, or steal from other players: and, the real danger, other players which are trying to do the same thing. Oh and the NPC zombies and special enemies that litter the map which usually aren't a problem, but can become a big one when in a gun fight with someone else.

    This game has some of the most intense gun fights i have ever had. While it does have the occasional 1-10 sec gun fights that most fps have, it also common to have gun fights that last 5-10 minutes or longer against a team. And they don't last long because your some hard-to-kill bullet sponge (most guns 2-3 shot, shotguns usually one shot in range, and headshots are instant kills), they last because your trying to reposition, cover, flank, and confuse the enemy to get that clean shot, and they're doing the same to you. Also there is no Rez timer in the game, and downed team mate can be rezed (albeit a limited number of times and with a health penalty) as long as they have one team member left. And since singles, Duos and even Trios (if you choose), can all be on the same map, and there is nothing telling you if you wiped a team with your kill or not, you never know if someone is still out there, waiting. That coupled with fact the game has permadeath, which means you lose the loadout (which are generally easy to replace) and the skills/perks (not so easy to replace), of a hunter when they die, adds a level of tension and sense of risk, to gunfights that is generally missing in other games.

    The game has 2 maps, with a generally unique environment of an 1898 Louisiana Swamp. It has Night and Day time, Clear or Foggy weather which all effect how the game plays out. There is a big difference between the maps at night or day. I would like to see more maps for a game that isn't free, but the maps that are their are really good. The maps may have some areas that seem mostly empty at first glance, but the first time that tall grass saves your life, or you snipe/ track someone through that crack in the wall, or the lines in the floor boards when their a level above, you realize that the levels are full of useful artifacts, have been expertly designed for this type of game.

    That isn't to say the game isn't without it's issues. The learning curve may be steep for some and finding a partner or teammate is difficult for new players, which doesn't make the learning curve any easier (experienced players don't want to risk their expensive gear or high level character on a noob). Other battle royal skills generally don't translate well to this game, as looting and resource finding isn't the main thing, it's more about planning attacks, ambushes, escapes, which is really fun, but doesn't help the learning curve issue. The controls can be confusing if you make the wrong choice (Choose Gunslinger, trust me). The tutorials don't tell you alot of game mechanics (like burnt bodies can't be rezed, but also can't be looted) and are generally poor at telling you how to really play the game, what gear you should take etc, that you have to toggle mute to speak and that enemies can directionally hear your in game chat to your team mate ( i highly recommend watching a youtube video). Also the UI is sort of a confusing mess and not really optimized for console, with some players not even realizing the extent to which they can change their load-outs.
    And the game has technical issues as well, which usually aren't bad, but do exist. The draw distance, while usually okay, can be noticeable bad at times, textures can load late on occasion, enemie NPCS can drop in from the sky (but thankfully not near you, just in your line of sight). And the game, while definitely worth it, is expensive to try ($20-$40 in a environment in which most Battle Royals are free-to-play is not the best business model).

    But as i said before, it's the funniest Battle Royal i have ever played. If you give it shot, and take the time to learn how to play, you will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  55. Sep 30, 2020
    10
    Well, you either love or hate this game, looking at all the reviews. But man, if you love this game, it can be really awesom. Every shot and every bullit counts and death is permanent. When you lose a high level hunter, it will suck. But when you kill someone, you it hurts on the other side too. The tension in a gunfight can be brutal and beautifull.

    This game has a very steep learning
    Well, you either love or hate this game, looking at all the reviews. But man, if you love this game, it can be really awesom. Every shot and every bullit counts and death is permanent. When you lose a high level hunter, it will suck. But when you kill someone, you it hurts on the other side too. The tension in a gunfight can be brutal and beautifull.

    This game has a very steep learning curve, but there are a lot of good tutorials on youtube. I never played pvp games before, but this game just got me hooked. Playing together with other people and communicating, makes it even better.

    Give this game a chanche and find out for yourself!
    Expand
  56. Nov 26, 2020
    0
    Horrible execution of this port , very bad controls , textures load in when you are 1-2 meters from them
    so very sad to see this , I do love the concept of this game , but the controls and bugs make it pointless to play
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Edge Magazine
    Mar 26, 2020
    90
    Provides you with plenty of stealth mechanics but leagues of ground to cover, and that tension is deadly. [Issue#344, p.116]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 12, 2020
    90
    A return to form for Crytek that defies busy FPS norms. Like its ’orrible spiders, Hunt: Showdown is constantly shifting and very hard to put in a box. Get yourself online and join in the hunting fun. [Issue#173, p.86]
  3. Mar 11, 2020
    80
    I'll admit I wasn’t keen on Hunt: Showdown to start with, but after the first few matches I realised there's something special here. This is an unusual entry in a genre ruled by far snappier shooters, and it takes time to get your head around Crytek's clever twist on the formula. Stick with it and you'll be rewarded with a uniquely engrossing multiplayer experience.