Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Jun 29, 2016
    92
    My time with Zero Time Dilemma was one of great pleasure and anguish, mainly because I knew I was saying goodbye to one of my favorite series.
  2. NF Magazine
    Sep 7, 2016
    90
    Nothing should stop any gamer (over the age of 17) from experiencing the excellence of the entire Zero Escape series. [Issue #23 – September/October 2016, p.72]
  3. Jul 15, 2016
    90
    Zero Escape improves its narrative methods, but the story is a bit less surprising than the other games of the franchise.
  4. Jul 13, 2016
    90
    Zero Time Dilemma is a small masterpiece of storytelling and a strong warning about human nature. A truly unmissable game.
  5. Jul 4, 2016
    90
    Zero Time Dilemma is a satisfying conclusion to the Zero Escape series, but I feel it’s missing a final challenge room to test my wits.
  6. Jun 24, 2016
    90
    It's the long awaited final episode, that resurged after many had lost hope. Sometimes, yes, life can be fair. Plaudite, acta est fabula.
  7. Jun 23, 2016
    90
    Zero Time Dilemma is a must-play for any fans of the franchise, or indeed for any puzzle game fan.
  8. Jun 23, 2016
    88
    A game that’s not only the zenith of its series but also one of the boldest narrative-focused titles of the last few years.
  9. Jul 6, 2016
    85
    An interesting proposal that closes a trilogy doing an excellent job on its narrative. The visual may be sub-par, and for non-English speakers the game will be difficult to understand, but besides that this is a must buy if you are not afraid of slower pace adventures.
  10. Jun 28, 2016
    85
    Its narrative and puzzles can occasionally be long-winded and a bit too time consuming, but it still stands out as one of the more gripping narrative driven games we’ve played. Just be aware: before the moment of final escape, there will be blood and tears.
  11. Dec 1, 2016
    80
    Rough edges be damned, however. Such flaws don't prevent Zero Time Dilemma from being utterly enthralling. It's rare that a game's story captivates us so thoroughly that we lose sleep just to see what will happen next. Few other works have subverted expectations, toyed with our emotions, or simply shocked us the way the Zero Escape Series has. Zero Time Dilemma is a fitting end to a story we won't soon forget.
  12. Aug 21, 2016
    80
    However you arrive at Zero Time Dilemma, if you're into the series' mix of horror and Hegel you're in for a treat — and you may never look at a snail the same way again.
  13. Jul 14, 2016
    80
    Zero Time Dilemma is nothing short of a world class conclusion to the Zero Escape trilogy, thanks to its excellent narrative, its interesting and very developed cast of characters and a marvelous audio environment. While not all of the trilogy's loose ends are brought together and its visual environment could certainly improve, this is a game that is compulsory for all the series' followers as well as to virtually anyone else.
  14. Jun 29, 2016
    80
    Zero Time Dilemma, above all else, is a finale that should please anyone looking for a great story — even if the gameplay gets lost in the background as a result.
  15. 75
    But what should have been a great finale stumbles a bit due to some odd game design and creative decisions.
  16. Jul 14, 2016
    70
    Even when the narrative fails to drive the plot, the game's well-designed room-escape puzzles pick up the slack.
  17. Jan 12, 2017
    60
    At the end of the day, it's hard to recommend to anyone but fans that want to know how the story ends, but they should keep their expectations in check in order to get to the good parts through the messy parts and still have a good time out of it. Indeed, it's tough, after two great games that ended in a cliff-hanger, to simply ignore the finale, despite its flaws.
  18. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 14, 2016
    60
    The third and probably the craziest expansion to the Zero Escape series. Solving fun puzzles is just a pretext for the Japanese-style mad sci-fi story. [Issue#266]
  19. Jul 1, 2016
    60
    It may stumble too many times with its dialogue, fail to find much substance in its characters, and lack any impressive presentation. But it uses that fragmented structure to keep you guessing, and engaged, right up to its numerous depressing, hopeful, gruesome endings.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 91
  2. Negative: 14 out of 91
  1. Jun 28, 2016
    10
    Once you start playing a game of this quality, it becomes difficult to enjoy any other game. This is one of the most immersive games I haveOnce you start playing a game of this quality, it becomes difficult to enjoy any other game. This is one of the most immersive games I have ever played. Full Review »
  2. Jun 28, 2016
    9
    This game just came out today--less than 8 hours ago. How are there even reviews up for Vita and 3DS version?!?!? I will give my take beforeThis game just came out today--less than 8 hours ago. How are there even reviews up for Vita and 3DS version?!?!? I will give my take before the "BEST GAME IN THE WORLD **after 2 hours***" comments pop up.
    On the 3DS everything is mostly fine. No 3D, which is a bummer. However, the game still works well and looks nice-- honestly cannot tell the difference between 30fps and 60fps, so complainers in this realm can go back to their cradle. So far it has been fun, similar to the other two in the series--more so like Virtures Last Reward. Reviews bashing the bad lip syncing are overreacting, I noticed at first then forgot about it--one reason is because I am reading the subtitles. The menu is a tad confusing--the flow charts--at first, but then they become understandble. Of course, I have NOT finished the game and cannot make grand claims, but what I have played has been what I have expected--a quality visual novel akin to the two previous games. Enjoy.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 28, 2016
    9
    After playing the other 2 games in the series, I had high expectations, this game in itself is so much more than what i still expected, TheAfter playing the other 2 games in the series, I had high expectations, this game in itself is so much more than what i still expected, The narrative is immersive, the graphics and story are compelling, the soundtrack really adds to the ambiance of the game, ad it is best played with the lights out. The SAW franchise could learn abit or two from this game. A much needed salute and a beautiful farewell to one of the most accoladed games to hit the 3ds Full Review »