• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jul 15, 2016
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 159
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2016
    7
    The whole thing feels and looks a bit... unfinished. The visuals are less polished than previous entries. I'm guessing they chucked some graphical content in order to try to beef out the monster roster and include all of the different starting towns. Unfortunately, many of the small monsters are very similar and I'm not certain there's actually a point to the different towns other thanThe whole thing feels and looks a bit... unfinished. The visuals are less polished than previous entries. I'm guessing they chucked some graphical content in order to try to beef out the monster roster and include all of the different starting towns. Unfortunately, many of the small monsters are very similar and I'm not certain there's actually a point to the different towns other than getting to choose which you want to use as a "main base", which just means you go there for everything.

    Game play is good and solid as ever. Hunter Arts are interesting and add a neat twist to things, but not enough to justify the thrown together nature of the rest of the game.

    Overall, if you're new to the series, pick up an old copy of Monster Hunter 3 or 4 and give a pass on this. If you're a veteran, this is nice because its largely more of the same, but you're probably also still fine sticking with a previous generation too.
    Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2016
    7
    MHG is a worthy addition to the series, but ultimately is a 'popcorn' game. A lot of fun to be had and it makes various improvements, yet falls down in many areas. I can't quite figure out what they were going for, the game seems aimed at people new to the series, yet lacks the narrative & progression of MH4U to drag people in. The nostalgia factor seems to be aimed at series veterans andMHG is a worthy addition to the series, but ultimately is a 'popcorn' game. A lot of fun to be had and it makes various improvements, yet falls down in many areas. I can't quite figure out what they were going for, the game seems aimed at people new to the series, yet lacks the narrative & progression of MH4U to drag people in. The nostalgia factor seems to be aimed at series veterans and yet they have nerfed the general difficulty, to the point where much of the earlier game feels like a chore due to the lack of challenge. Why the haven't included a difficulty setting if this the direction they want to head in is beyond me.

    If you are looking for a less time consuming and 'grindy' addition to the series then this is the game for you. If you're looking for a challenge and storyline is important to you then, as a newcomer I would recommend looking into MH4U first. Overall it's a more polished and fulfilling game.
    Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2016
    7
    Strange. Reviewers say this game is awesome, but i would have to disagree. It is indeed solid, but nothing close to the experience and the polish MH4U had.

    If you are a veteran of older titles prior even to MH4U, then you'd know what i mean. From what I've played so far, the game takes two (2) steps forward in terms of gameplay, but takes three (3) steps backwards in everything else.
    Strange. Reviewers say this game is awesome, but i would have to disagree. It is indeed solid, but nothing close to the experience and the polish MH4U had.

    If you are a veteran of older titles prior even to MH4U, then you'd know what i mean. From what I've played so far, the game takes two (2) steps forward in terms of gameplay, but takes three (3) steps backwards in everything else.

    I am no newbie to the title, but i am no extreme veteran either. My current record in this genre:

    MH2 - 90 hours
    MHFU - 550 hours
    MH3rdP - 320 hours
    MHTri - 200 hours
    MH4U - 470 hours (and counting)
    MHGenerations - 40 hours (and counting)

    Let's get down to it.

    Story: 3/10

    - "What the hell is going on."

    What MH4U accomplished as a great narrative of a hunter traversing locations with NPC's that feel involved in your world and with monsters that fit into the context - MHGen completely erases.

    There is no story here. You are in a map. You are given quests, a butt load of dialogue with vague descriptions, minimal (recycled) cut scenes, and no milestones for progression aside from a text bubble here and there. Eg. I was given access to ALL towns on the get go and am given tons of filler dialogue that i just got tired of reading.

    Palicoes aren't even introduced properly. You wouldn't even know you had to hire a cat if you haven't played MH4U or the older games. Transitions are just too clunky.

    Graphics: 8/10

    - "Looks awesome, but MH4U looks better and shows more creative effort/production value."

    Same graphics, but the new Jungle area feels abysmally generic. Those big Brontosauruses, in spite of their sheer size and armor plates, provide nothing but RAW meat. The towns from the older titles (which is accessible for all immediately) haven't been touched nor retouched, so they feel VERY out of place and provide nothing but nostalgia factor.

    The hunting areas from the previous game don't blend well with how the new content looks too. Textures though of higher quality now appear to be extremely generic and barren, not to mention if you look at cave walls it is impossible to miss the recurring patterns of bad texture maps. CAPCOM did not even make any attempts at re-texturing the old content to use the potential of the 3DS.

    Gameplay: 10/10

    - "Hunter arts are awesome! No, really they are awesome."

    Hunter Arts are awesome. (period) The variety they provide in terms of gameplay feel fresh. However, you cannot configure the menu on the second screen for only two (2) arts. So if you only use two (2), you have a dead square that should've been used for other utilities. You could use one (1) tile but you have to switch it often to know if the arts are triggered. NO other more efficient notifications of charged arts.

    Interface: 7/10

    - "What's up with the that bright glaring background on the 2nd screen?"

    When MH4U came out, i saw the potential of clearing your screen and move all distracting elements to the bar below. However, in MHGen despite being able to do that, you are faced with a BRIGHT background that is a pain for the eyes on dimly lit situations. Your second screen is brighter that your main screen for crying out load.

    Overall: 7/10

    - "This game is good, but MH4U is awesome."

    MHGen gives too much homage to nostalgia. Content and polish are there, but are there on a selective basis. Game lacks a workable story and G-rank making it rather short. It seems they just stitched 35% of the older titles for no reason and that's it frankly. You as a hunter have no role in this world.
    Compared to MH4U, this game feels like a bridge to the future MH5 . No effort on immersion has been done unlike MH4U that introduces the genre to new players and veterans alike. In fact, if you are a new player, i would highly recommend you pick-up MH4U first before deciding to play this game. Killing monsters is always cool mind you, but I've been playing monster hunter for so long, a few tricks like moves and stuff don't impress me compared to polish, accessibility, and simply the quality that is present all throughout MH4U. Again, with this game out, Monster Hunter 5 should be just around the corner. Hopefully that game brings the same polish as MH4U has.
    Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2016
    10
    Sto giocando a MH: Generations da due giorni. Da neofita della saga, mi sta piacendo davvero tantissimo. Provai il 3H tempo fa, e posso dire che questo è tutta un'altra storia. Ottimo titolo, assolutamente consigliato a chiunque!
  5. Jul 19, 2016
    10
    Monster Hunter Generations is a wonderful way to step forward in the series while taking a respectful look back at how we got here. Going back to old locations and seeing monsters missing from the last gen feels great with the updates. The Hunter Styles and Arts may be a bit jarring for traditionalist but adds momentum and customization to the gameplay.
  6. Jul 16, 2016
    10
    I haven't stopped playing this series since Sept 2004, and while at first glance this game doesn't look like much of a jump from MH4U, I can assure you it's a much more refined experience.

    If you've played a Monster Hunter before, You can expect things to go as usual for the first few hours of Generations. It's the style, hunter arts, and prowler systems that really makes this specific
    I haven't stopped playing this series since Sept 2004, and while at first glance this game doesn't look like much of a jump from MH4U, I can assure you it's a much more refined experience.

    If you've played a Monster Hunter before, You can expect things to go as usual for the first few hours of Generations. It's the style, hunter arts, and prowler systems that really makes this specific MH shine.

    I'm not going to write in depth about these systems as there are countless videos and articles detailing every aspect, But I wanted to get my voice out there about how fun this game is and how fun the series always has been. MH holds a very special place in my heart, and every action RPG fan NEEDS to try it out for themselves! (Especially you Souls fans!)
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2016
    10
    This is, hands down, the best MH game in its illustrious series. The new monsters are fantastic, the hunter arts are unbelievably cool, and the guild gals are adorable as ever. I cannot possibly recommend it enough.
  8. Jul 20, 2016
    10
    I've loved the Monster Hunter series ever since the first Monster Hunter Freedom on the PSP a long time ago, and it's become hands down my favourite video game series of all time.

    The 3DS has given us some quality MH games over the last few years. MH3U was the culmination of the older style games of the series, and MH4U took the game in a new direction by making combat faster paced and
    I've loved the Monster Hunter series ever since the first Monster Hunter Freedom on the PSP a long time ago, and it's become hands down my favourite video game series of all time.

    The 3DS has given us some quality MH games over the last few years. MH3U was the culmination of the older style games of the series, and MH4U took the game in a new direction by making combat faster paced and more aerial.

    Now with Generations Capcom tried and most definitely succeeded in taking the best of all the previous generations, while at the same time refining the entire experience, notably cutting down on the cumbersome aspects of the game, and adding some great new features along the way too. I love this game and already it's my favourite episode of the series so far, it's just so much fun and the hunts fly by in no time.
    Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2016
    7
    -An honest trial:
    Monster hunter is one of the best games ever, but this "Generations" might not be their best title. I still love it but I have to rant about many things.
    The 40 bucks you throw into this one is more like a subscription fee to keep up with Capcom's latest efforts. I might venture to say that this is like a patch for MH4U. More work is done with smoothness of the game
    -An honest trial:
    Monster hunter is one of the best games ever, but this "Generations" might not be their best title. I still love it but I have to rant about many things.

    The 40 bucks you throw into this one is more like a subscription fee to keep up with Capcom's latest efforts. I might venture to say that this is like a patch for MH4U. More work is done with smoothness of the game rather than introducing new things, such as resource gathering is now HOLD A rather than SMASH A continuously, monster and weapon hitboxs are reconsidered, weapons are reworked and balanced.

    -Lack of innovation:
    There is however, and many have pointed this out, a huge lack of content: Mostly lack of G and monsters and weapons and everything that one would expect from a new monster hunter game. Capcom spends way too much time paying tribute to previous games (or is this laziness?). No one wants repetitive gameplay, and MHG shows that it is repetitive everywhere (monsters, weapons, movesets, armor) and ... slowly eats away at a player's patience.

    -With things they fixed, with others they also broke:
    The hunter arts is supposed to be the magnum opus of this title, I have contradictory feelings towards it. While having the ability to cast skills seems to make monster hunting interesting, I'm not so sure about Air-Style being accessible to all weapon classes.

    Graphics-wise is another hit or miss:
    When I played the demo I thought they skimped on map details in order to minimize file size, well guess what it looks just as bad in the real game. They might as well draw a green circle on the floor and put me in there with a rathalos. I'm unsure of the reasons of the graphics nerf but probably due to 3DS limitations and the added hunter arts effects. I have never had problems with immersiveness in previous titles due to bad graphics, but somehow it got to me this time, especially with the heavily re-used maps and sprites. I will cry when the day comes that MH releases on a more capable platform.

    In conclusion, this isn't the best MH game but it still beats a lot of other games out there. I went crazy on MH4U and bought 2 copies of it along with a new 3DSXL. On this title however, I doubt I can muster enough enthusiasm.
    Expand
  10. Jul 26, 2016
    8
    This game is nice, the graphics are beautiful, the enviroment so deep, battle system is easy and intuitive. with this game u can play and play for hours and don´t get realize! BUT at highers levels u need someone else for defeat strongest monsters and at least in my country matchmaking take a bit time to get someone to play
  11. Oct 27, 2016
    10
    i love this game so much, best monster hunter series.
    finally every hunter can use skill and jump
    graphic same as MH4U but i dont care about this
    good story and a lot of offline quest but we stuck in HR7 not G-Rank
    reappears monster from MH2-MH4 and new monsters n evolution
  12. Aug 15, 2017
    9
    MH4U is one of my favorite games of all time, the sheer amount of content and game-play available is staggering. MHGen is a flashier MH4U, while it lacks G rank and some of the early fetch/gathering quests hurts it a little bit, it ends up being more of what I love about Monster Hunter.
    I love the extra particle effects and the hunting styles adds more depth to the weapons, I personally
    MH4U is one of my favorite games of all time, the sheer amount of content and game-play available is staggering. MHGen is a flashier MH4U, while it lacks G rank and some of the early fetch/gathering quests hurts it a little bit, it ends up being more of what I love about Monster Hunter.
    I love the extra particle effects and the hunting styles adds more depth to the weapons, I personally prefer Monster Hunter Generations over MH4U but I can understand why some prefer MH4U, the frame rate is locked at 30fps while this is not an issue with me some are not too pleased.
    MHGen is an incredible game with an incredible amount of content, it is hard to say which is the better game when compared to MH4U but MHGen is worth trying that's for sure.
    Expand
  13. Dec 7, 2017
    10
    So far, every addition to the MH series gets 10/10 for me. MH series is always the reason I buy any platforms (Wii, WiiU, Multiple 3DS XLs for siblings, Nintendo Switch, PC). The series as a whole is always continuing forward, and I can feel that the devs poured a lot of effort in making each one of the entry in the series.

    Thank you, Capcom.
  14. Jun 12, 2017
    0
    As a huge Monster Hunter fan I have to say, that MH4U and this game are overrated. Unfortunatly Capcom dicided to release them exklusivly on the 3DS systems and not on WiiU. I spend 300h MH3U and loved it. However, Playing Monster Hunter on 3dsXL without a second circlepad is just painful to play. If you own a 3DS or 2DS then you are simply out of luck, because the 2ds does not have aAs a huge Monster Hunter fan I have to say, that MH4U and this game are overrated. Unfortunatly Capcom dicided to release them exklusivly on the 3DS systems and not on WiiU. I spend 300h MH3U and loved it. However, Playing Monster Hunter on 3dsXL without a second circlepad is just painful to play. If you own a 3DS or 2DS then you are simply out of luck, because the 2ds does not have a circlepad pro at all while the 3dsXL circlepad pro costs around 40$ and is only aviably in japan. Dont buy this game and support capcom with their disicion to exclusivly bring this game to the 3ds. It should have been on the WiiU aswell, like MH3U was. Dont waste your money, because this game is simply unplayable on a handheld without a second analog stick. Expand
  15. Jul 22, 2016
    9
    Brilliant game so far, have played most of the mh series. I like how they have evolved each time by adding different elements. Big plus is the new monsters. Game is like the others starts of easy and progressively gets harder
  16. Jul 15, 2016
    10
    Having played the game since 3 this morning I can say for certain that I will be playing this game, and probably nothing else, for the next few months. Essentially, it boils down to being similar to Monster Hunter 4 in almost every respect with new features added in every department. The presentation is fantastic and after MH4 came out I thought the 3ds couldn't render a better lookingHaving played the game since 3 this morning I can say for certain that I will be playing this game, and probably nothing else, for the next few months. Essentially, it boils down to being similar to Monster Hunter 4 in almost every respect with new features added in every department. The presentation is fantastic and after MH4 came out I thought the 3ds couldn't render a better looking game, but with how polished MHX is, they managed to make it look even better on the same hardware. There are loads of styles you can adopt with the new combat abilities, so much that I haven't even gotten a grasp on how much potential there could be; but I'm eager to experiment and find out. Every addition to this game feels like a natural progression and I feel confident giving this game my highest recommendation. I'll see you guys on the hunting grounds! Expand
  17. Aug 10, 2016
    5
    Honestly, this game is an insult to anyone who is a fan of the series. Far too easy, weapon upgrading has been unnecessarily complicated, palicos are all but useless and the Hunter skills/arts are pointless and clunky... It has a few good points such as the roster, Prowler mode for a change of perspective and nice graphics but outside of that... its the worst game in the MH series.

    I
    Honestly, this game is an insult to anyone who is a fan of the series. Far too easy, weapon upgrading has been unnecessarily complicated, palicos are all but useless and the Hunter skills/arts are pointless and clunky... It has a few good points such as the roster, Prowler mode for a change of perspective and nice graphics but outside of that... its the worst game in the MH series.

    I keep playing it sometimes...And by sometimes i mean rarely. Every time I do, it pisses me off more. there is no challenge to this game at all. And the weapon upgrade system is worse then I thought it was. It gimps your weapon until you can level it up.

    Every time i play this game, my score of it goes down...
    Expand
  18. Jul 19, 2016
    7
    made the starting big hunt way to easy. i have been trying for 3 days to break its head and it dies before it ever breaks. even doing guild hunts cant break the great maccao's head. game needs a rebalance patch.
  19. Sep 10, 2016
    0
    Greatly overrated. Monster hunter is only good if you are a kid with tons of free time and have a close circle of friends to play multiplayer with. Otherwise, there is nothing of value here.

    As a single player experience, this is a boring grind with no story. There is no real challenge, you don't need to be smart to win, just have a lot of time in your hands to grind and gather stuff.
    Greatly overrated. Monster hunter is only good if you are a kid with tons of free time and have a close circle of friends to play multiplayer with. Otherwise, there is nothing of value here.

    As a single player experience, this is a boring grind with no story. There is no real challenge, you don't need to be smart to win, just have a lot of time in your hands to grind and gather stuff.

    The graphics are meh and the controls on the 3DS are total garbage without the add on.

    All in all, totally overrated. Get this if you are a japanese fanboy and don't know any better about good western games, otherwise, skip it.
    Expand
  20. Apr 1, 2018
    0
    Pros:
    Nice graphics. Interesting weapons. Multiple control schemes (styles).
    Cons: The controls feel unresponsive. Some of the weapons have very long attack animations and it doesn't make sense to be unable to cancel such an attack after it has started. And to compensate for the bad control scheme most monsters spend most of their time flailing around without any purpose and screaming
    Pros:
    Nice graphics. Interesting weapons. Multiple control schemes (styles).

    Cons:
    The controls feel unresponsive. Some of the weapons have very long attack animations and it doesn't make sense to be unable to cancel such an attack after it has started. And to compensate for the bad control scheme most monsters spend most of their time flailing around without any purpose and screaming in order to give you time to position yourself for a proper attack. The fights just feel fake and staged most of the time.

    The game doesn't explain a lot of things to you. If this is supposed to increase immersion then it fails miserably when you have to leave the game and look up where you can find that material that you've never heard of before. There is no reason not to have some markers and more helpful quest descriptions like a bunch of other way more immersive games like the Elder Scroll series etc have.

    The world looks really nice at first but then you see all the invisible walls which make it feel more like an arena for fighting and not something that you enjoy exploring to find stuff.

    I tried local multiplayer with a friend and it did not affect any of the above.

    All in all, this is the greatest waste of potential I've seen in the 3DS. I really don't even understand how people enjoy this sluggish grindy thing but each to his own taste I guess.
    Expand
  21. Apr 17, 2017
    0
    the game is horrible hate the gameplay and expected it to be RPG style don't get if you hate adventure battle games unlike cod and and other fps and I got this for a test I don't even use my 3ds anymore so why dad so the game I hate a lot so please do not get this game
  22. Aug 15, 2016
    10
    OK as someone who played most of MH3U (never finished completely as I hated the underwater battles) and then put 200+ hours into MH4U (yeah finished the key quests, and it was fun!), I must say MHG is a step up in fun! For people who have played any of the previous few MH games, MHG will immediately feel familiar given the 100s of hours of training the hands to hunt monsters on the 3DS! SoOK as someone who played most of MH3U (never finished completely as I hated the underwater battles) and then put 200+ hours into MH4U (yeah finished the key quests, and it was fun!), I must say MHG is a step up in fun! For people who have played any of the previous few MH games, MHG will immediately feel familiar given the 100s of hours of training the hands to hunt monsters on the 3DS! So I didn't find issue in the seemingly slow starting couple of hours (and this is important for the benefit of newer players) - because I knew what was coming was going to be fun. And fun it is!

    I'm about 40 hours into it, and all the fun elements from MH4U are there - but it's the additional stuff that makes MHG the superior one, and I'll name a few:
    + Hold A button to keep gathering (in the previous installments, you have to keep tapping A, getting RSI)
    + Hunter Arts is a fun additional moves that builds up a gauge over time to execute a strong move
    + Hunter Styles mean no matter what weapon you have, you can jump over monsters! (no longer need to envy those fun jumping Insect Glaive hunters!)
    + Play as a Palico - yeah the cat! As a cat, you have 9 lives instead of 3, you have unlimited stamina, etc... so fun...!

    If you've played any MH in the past, you'll just slip comfortably back into it. If you're new to MH, this is as good a time to join in the fun (plow through the first couple of hours, and the world will open up!). And of course, the best aspect to this game is being able to hunt some of those monsters with 3 other hunters!

    Love it and highly recommended!
    Expand
  23. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    Albeit it feels a bit less of a complete game than 4u (the story is definitely lacking and i miss the animated cutscenes for the various monsters) it brings the game in a fresh new direction. I can't possibly imagine going back to hunt without the various styles and arts. Love it!
  24. Aug 19, 2016
    8
    Muy buen juego, es increíble para comenzar a jugar por primera vez monster hunter, pero tiene varias fallas, por ejemplo muchas cosas se siente apuradas, como la historia de Single Player que es muy aburrida como hecha a prisa sin videos interesantes como en Monster Hunter 4u (esa si era una increíble historia de Single Player, la mejor de la serie para mi) Aquí cuando sale un monstruoMuy buen juego, es increíble para comenzar a jugar por primera vez monster hunter, pero tiene varias fallas, por ejemplo muchas cosas se siente apuradas, como la historia de Single Player que es muy aburrida como hecha a prisa sin videos interesantes como en Monster Hunter 4u (esa si era una increíble historia de Single Player, la mejor de la serie para mi) Aquí cuando sale un monstruo nuevo sale un video súper mediocre y el nombre de la criatura en una fuente súper fea.

    Pero quitando a un lado el single player este juego es muy divertido, amo como mejoraron a los Palicos (los gatos) hacerles armadura y el juego de ir a cazar son mucho más fáciles y divertidos que los del MH4u , además que uno pueda por primera vez en la serie jugar con ellos le agrega algo especial!

    También como mejoraron la manera de mejorar (upgrade) las armas lo mejoro mucho! ahora las armas malas de hueso o metal puede llegar a late game mejorándolas! muy buen sistema. Pero lo mejor del juego es haberle metido estilos y artes al sistema de batalla (el gamplay es el mejor de todos los monster Hunter) ahora las armas pueden ser únicas dependiendo el estilo que uses (GUILD; AREO; STRIKER; ADEPT) lo cual lo hace más divertido poder variar mucho más e ir descubriendo cada combinación.

    Además un dato es que mejoraron muchooo como se mejora la Insect Glaive, en el 4 era horrible aquí está muy bien!

    Mucha gente lo que quedo descontento es que quitaron el G rank, el juego se siente mas sencillo y fácil que el anterior además que quitaron las Guild Quest que era lo más difícil y retador del juego. (no entiendo porque quitaron eso :( )

    Otra cosa que no entiendo porque quitaron fue los espacio para registrar items en la caja para salir a misiones ahora solo hay 10 espacio de lso 30 del 4u, algunos cambios pequeños no entiendo porque los quitaron, como moverse por el mapa con el d-pad y no solo con el tactil entre otros pequeños detalles muy raro que quitaran. (Que ya habían hecho bien en el 4U)

    El caso es que por la jugabilidad me gusta jugar más este que el 4u aunk tristemente este es mas fácil y los videos son muy mediocres. Espero que el próximo tenga G rank y Guild QUests pero no quiten el gameplay de este y regresen esos detalles del 4u q lo hacían especial.

    De graficas este mejoro mucho que el 4u es todo lo que es partículas y menús.
    Expand
  25. Aug 10, 2016
    9
    A great love letter to long time fans of monster hunter and a decent starting point for new players alike. Monster hunter generations tries to bridge the gap of previous monster hunter games bringing old villages and monsters into the current generation of monster hunter with improved hit boxes and a much more fluid movement system. good game all around. highly recommend if you like 3rdA great love letter to long time fans of monster hunter and a decent starting point for new players alike. Monster hunter generations tries to bridge the gap of previous monster hunter games bringing old villages and monsters into the current generation of monster hunter with improved hit boxes and a much more fluid movement system. good game all around. highly recommend if you like 3rd person adventure games Expand
  26. Aug 23, 2016
    9
    I put in 100 hours in MH4U in a year of play. I was very reluctant to pick up MHG because I thought it would be roughly more of the same and I would be burnt out on MH. This is not the case at all--100%. This game is very fresh. As everyone has said the styles and hunting arts has made this game feel very different. Why do the styles and arts matter? Well, the styles matter--the arts areI put in 100 hours in MH4U in a year of play. I was very reluctant to pick up MHG because I thought it would be roughly more of the same and I would be burnt out on MH. This is not the case at all--100%. This game is very fresh. As everyone has said the styles and hunting arts has made this game feel very different. Why do the styles and arts matter? Well, the styles matter--the arts are just like special moves. The arts make every weapon have a different way of playing. In MH4U I really only used the insect glave. I wanted to use the hammer but found it clunky. Now, I am rocking the hammer because the styles (and some arts that make you mobile) allow me to play the way I like to play. I am having fun trying out each weapon on the varied lineup of monsters. I never really used the lance, gunlance and hammer. Now I am really enjoying these. But like with MH4U (the only other MH I played), the game takes time to learn and a few hours to get to the actually big game hunting. Fetch quests in the begining are just tutorial like quests. Get to at least HR 3 and you will have fun. Great game and worth the money. Enjoy! Expand
  27. Aug 10, 2016
    8
    The new combat styles, ultimate moves, prowler mode, improved graphics, and monsters make this game a refreshing ans highly enjoyable entry. However, playing it on a old 3DS is not exactly ideal.
  28. Aug 18, 2016
    10
    El juego continua con la formula que hace grande esta saga, pero mejora los aspectos gráficos, y agrega nuevos monstruos e items, ye lo he jugado mas de 30 horas, y simplemente sigue siendo desafiante y divertido
  29. Aug 5, 2016
    10
    This game packs an insane amount of content. You're going to $40 and get well over 100 hours of game play if you do the online. The game play is fun and interesting. The developer does events and is creating more free DLC. What is not to love about this game?!?!
  30. Aug 10, 2016
    10
    Monster hunter is one of the most successful franchises for a reason. It is classic storytelling, no dialogue required. You, the hunter, must face your challenge, the monster, and overcome. There is no greater tale, there's only the friends you bring with you, be them the Palico warriors, which are certainly not useless if you have even a small degree of skill. Or your fellow hunters. ThisMonster hunter is one of the most successful franchises for a reason. It is classic storytelling, no dialogue required. You, the hunter, must face your challenge, the monster, and overcome. There is no greater tale, there's only the friends you bring with you, be them the Palico warriors, which are certainly not useless if you have even a small degree of skill. Or your fellow hunters. This title, as compared to prior ones, allows for a greater degree of freedom of play, along with style. You don't feel pigeonholed into a single weapon or armor set (or a small few) like previously found, and you can fight a pantheon of great beasts from titles often to small to remember. A true masterpeice of the series if ever there was one. The only way they could have made it better, was give the capacity to play it on a sterling high end PC to see the environments and beasts in grand luster. This will be the portable game you play with friends at your lunch hour, and the game that you'll play at night over and over again like when great portable games came out when you were a kid. Pick up MHX, you won't regret it. Expand
  31. Sep 29, 2016
    8
    As someone who cut their teeth on the 3DS version of MH3U, then sunk over 300 hours into MH4U, I consider this game a mild upgrade at best. While I do like the fact that the story starts with a little better pacing than the last game, with all of the tiny, wingless wyverns and such as early punching bags to prepare you for the giant monstrosities that come later, the pacing gets a littleAs someone who cut their teeth on the 3DS version of MH3U, then sunk over 300 hours into MH4U, I consider this game a mild upgrade at best. While I do like the fact that the story starts with a little better pacing than the last game, with all of the tiny, wingless wyverns and such as early punching bags to prepare you for the giant monstrosities that come later, the pacing gets a little weirder later on when certain monsters that weren't really seen as a big deal in earlier games suddenly get built up as some sort of grand ordeal like that of the legendary dragons in MH4U.

    I also have mixed feelings about the overhauled combat. The hunter arts rock, no question about it. However, some arts clearly got the short end of the stick. It's fantastic that some styles can have 2 special moves bound to them, but the tiles for the touch screen can fit one or three arts, resulting it an open slot taking up space should you chose the three-ability tile.

    These are fairly trivial matters, though, and I'll probably end up losing few hundred hours of my life to this game regardless. Good stuff.
    Expand
  32. Sep 30, 2016
    8
    Generations adds new Hunter Styles, Arts, improved/additional skills and a mix of some of the best Monsters of all time to create one of the best games in the Monster Hunter series yet!

    Ever since the original games, every weapon has had relatively the same style of fighting. However with the new “Art Styles”, combat sees some new, dynamic play-styles. Aerial style, much like the bug
    Generations adds new Hunter Styles, Arts, improved/additional skills and a mix of some of the best Monsters of all time to create one of the best games in the Monster Hunter series yet!

    Ever since the original games, every weapon has had relatively the same style of fighting. However with the new “Art Styles”, combat sees some new, dynamic play-styles. Aerial style, much like the bug staff, allows you to launch on top of monsters and topple them with ease. Striker is focused on all-out attacking and faster charging of Arts and Adept is all about swift evades and devastating counterattacks. Of course there’s still the old standard “Guild” style which is the only one that doesn’t augment your moves in favor of new mechanics. Each new style, for any weapon, was a bit hard to learn but once you settled into it, the combat felt refreshed. The option to fluidly swap styles between fights was important, allowing you to change up your technique vs different monsters. Some monsters telegraph their moves often, opening them up to counter-attack opportunities while others are big, stationary brutes, making it much more efficient to attack aerially.

    Alongside the new Styles are Hunter Arts, which are basically super-moves based off your weapon choice. As an example, the Long Sword has a move called Sakura Slash which after a short jump back, your character will unleash two sweeping slashes and upon hitting the monster, will raise your spirit gauge one level and unleash a series of after-image cuts like an early Japanese anime. Unfortunately, there’s not all that much diversity in the Hunter Arts with only about 3 different moves but it’s a step in the right direction. Maybe in the next entry…

    Armor and weapon skills saw a huge upgrade as well, giving even more depth to the play-styles with completely new combinations. As an Aerial Long Sword player, I would sometime use a combination of Mounting, Evasion and the new skill Vault so that I could topple monsters faster, position myself better with evades and deal more damage while going for the dunk. They even added “Village Skills” which were a combination of things like “Ice Resist + Sharpener” or “Fire Resist + Gluttony”. It made experimenting with different styles and skills all the more fun.

    I could go on for days on how the styles and Arts has changed up the combat but I feel like the lineup of boss monsters needs to get some solid praise as well. Generations brings in all of the staple classics like the Zinogre, Rathian, Rathalos and Tigrex; but it also adds new awesome fights like the new “starting” monster, the Great Maccao which is a jumping raptor similar to the Velocidrome. There’s also the games flagmonster-hunter-picship monster, the Glavenus, which I can only explain as a more rampagey Deviljho with a razor-sharp blade for a tail that it ignites just so it can set you on fire to add insult to injury. Oh also, it also enjoys whipping it’s flaming tail around to send huge waves of flames directly at you. It’s an intense, but fun fight. On top of that, certain classic monsters like the Lagiacrus from 3U have gained new moves and patterns, making the fights you might’ve remember completely fresh. There are so many Elder Dragons in the late game it’s unreal. I don’t want to give any surprises away but just know that your time is well rewarded if you can make it up to the higher ranked fights with some of these beasts.

    Capcom really did listen to their player community again by trying to implement some more Quality of Life improvements, like being able to cook multiple meats at the town rather than the horribly painful process of previous games where you would have to cook one at a time out in the field. Oh my god, it was painful and I never want to go back. However, on the other side, with so many different systems to manage between quests, I still noticed that familiar mini-game fatigue. Between, running a farm, maintaining a Palico Army, grindy quests and regular village upkeep, it became much-more tedious than it should’ve been.

    Overall: 8/10
    + Diverse New Monsters/Tons of Old Favorites/Revamped AI
    + New Arts and Skills Keep the Combat Fresh
    + Palico Hunter
    + Quality of Life Improvements
    + Multiplayer!!!
    - Slow Start
    - Grinding Quests

    Recommend for: Anyone looking for challenging but rewarding boss fights with huge Dragons, solo or cooperatively with friends. Ol’ WoW raiders and fans of Shadow of Colossus.
    Expand
  33. Jul 29, 2016
    10
    The best monster hunter to date! Even without addition of G-rank, this game is still challenging and play with others is really fun! For those who have played MH games since the past, can have nostalgic about the village, field, heck even the monster like plesioth is here! The feel of mounting past gen monster is great! really recommended
  34. Jul 19, 2016
    8
    Well...
    Monster Hunter Generations is like a "Revolutionary" game for the Main Series.
    As we know. all the new stuff (Like Hunting Styles, Hunter Arts, New Weapon Upgrade System) Is pretty cool.. The new monsters are smooth and cool.. You can spent pretty much time playing this. Many people say that the lack of G-Rank in this game makes it bad but hey.. MHP3rd was an incredible game
    Well...
    Monster Hunter Generations is like a "Revolutionary" game for the Main Series.
    As we know. all the new stuff (Like Hunting Styles, Hunter Arts, New Weapon Upgrade System)
    Is pretty cool..
    The new monsters are smooth and cool..
    You can spent pretty much time playing this.
    Many people say that the lack of G-Rank in this game makes it bad but hey.. MHP3rd was an incredible game and it didn´t had G-Rank.
    I´m rating it 8 because I think there is some stuff that is not pretty well polished.. such as:
    * Palicoes feels more useless than ever before.
    * Weapon Upgrading will make you stuck sometimes.
    * Some monsters are pretty much nerfed (such as Yian Garuga)
    * Village quest is more about gathering stuff for the NPCs that wont let you in peace never....
    * I feel like this game must have some good elders.. such as Fatalis.
    Well... that´s all you have to notice. At least from me :)
    Have a good time.
    °Ahuhu
    Expand
  35. Jul 21, 2016
    8
    Monster Hunter Generations is awesome.
    The music is what you'd expect from Monster Hunter, that is to say, pretty good. MH4U had a few problems with framerate, but MHGenerations is locked at 30FPS. This means that some textures are lower resolution, but I hardly noticed it. I still think the game looks great for a 3DS title. They've kept the new mounting mechanic from MH4U and added
    Monster Hunter Generations is awesome.
    The music is what you'd expect from Monster Hunter, that is to say, pretty good. MH4U had a few problems with framerate, but MHGenerations is locked at 30FPS. This means that some textures are lower resolution, but I hardly noticed it. I still think the game looks great for a 3DS title. They've kept the new mounting mechanic from MH4U and added something else new, hunting arts. Hunting arts are a lot of fun, and add something new for veterans to master. Chaining together hunting arts is a lot of fun, and I just can't get enough of it. There are 4 different hunting styles to choose from, and each style changes how you hunt. Guild style is like your classic Monster Hunter Style. Striker style fills up hunter art gauges quicker, and encourages the use of many hunting arts. The aerial style changes your roll into a midair flip, allowing you to try mounting attacks on monsters with any weapon. Finally, theres the adept style. The adept style requires precise timing, so you can dodge or block just at the right moment, and counter your opponent and deal massive damage.
    Unfortunately, unlike MH4U, this game does not have a whole lot of story. You're sorta just plopped into the game and you hunt stuff. This doesn't bother me personally, as I'm in it for the gameplay, but for those who do appreciate a story, you wont be getting much out of MHGenerations. The game doesn't seem to be as friendly to new comers as MH4U was, and probably is not a good place for new players to start..
    At the end of the day though, it's Monster Hunter. Theres still a high learning curve and the lack of story is kind of disappointing, but the gameplay is as good as it ever has been. If you love Monster Hunter, pick this one up. If you're new... maybe try MH4U first.

    Also prowler mode is a thing.... you can hunt as a felyne...
    yay I guess...
    (I haven't tried this mode so I have no idea if it's any good. Sounds interesting though.)
    Expand
  36. Aug 18, 2016
    8
    Hunter arts ruined this anniversary game hopefully it doesn't come back in 5. Game was always about simple dodges with unforgiving iframes and simple attacks you need to time and position for. Now is dynasty warriors mode where you get evade +2 just for going adept style and everyone else just flies all over the place with aerial style. 3U > 4U > G. Still a good game though
  37. Dec 25, 2016
    10
    Monster hunter is a series that does not give two sh*ts about your skill level. It is long, hard, frustrating, and at times, unfair. And that's this game's selling point, aside from the massive number of armor and weapons to craft from the massive number of tough-ass monsters you can hunt.
    Though this game in particular is somewhat lacking, there is an upcoming expansion to add at least
    Monster hunter is a series that does not give two sh*ts about your skill level. It is long, hard, frustrating, and at times, unfair. And that's this game's selling point, aside from the massive number of armor and weapons to craft from the massive number of tough-ass monsters you can hunt.
    Though this game in particular is somewhat lacking, there is an upcoming expansion to add at least another 100 hours of gameplay. These games have consumed hundreds of my free hours, and sevenfold of that ammount in my tears of rage from sucking so hard at it. If you like challenging, deep, and immersive gameplay- give it a nice big try. If you have half decent taste, you'llfall in love like I did.
    Expand
  38. Feb 2, 2017
    8
    El videojuego requiere de habilidad para alcanzar la victoria y recompensa ésta con equipamiento que te facilitará el trabajo; si posees el tiempo suficiente para invertir en este videojuego, cómpralo. Si su naturaleza extensa te resulta intimidante, busca en otro sitio otro videojuego.
  39. May 20, 2020
    0
    GAME PLAY TRASH AND DUMPERSTER DOO DOO
    GRAPHICS ATTOCIOUS
    THE ONLU THING EXOTIC ABOUT THIS GAME IS HOW PEOPLE LIKE IT
    YEAH ETHAN IM TALKING TO U!
    AND YOU TOO JOSHUA!
    THIS GAME WAS A WASTE OF MY 20$
  40. Feb 9, 2018
    10
    My favourite MH handheld entry. So many quests and events, a great choice of towns and environments, great crafting system and palico management. Everything that I wanted out of a Monster Hunter. Takes a while to get used to the controls, but once you find your weapon, you're going to have a great time. Highly recommended for fans of the series.
  41. Sep 19, 2019
    9
    One of the best MH games. They played with new mechanics that can be hit or miss even for veterans. But watch youtubers, get a MH babysitter, and one you get it you'll love it. I had to babysit my husband and now he's just as excited about new releases as I am.
  42. Aug 9, 2017
    10
    This is the polar opposite of shallow gameplay, this may be the deepest 3DS game you will ever play. There are hundreds of hours of game play to be enjoyed here. This game is very well executed and such a treat for anyone willing to put the time into truly learning the fundamentals of the game. It could be a gripe that some systems are overly complex as they keep adding layers over theThis is the polar opposite of shallow gameplay, this may be the deepest 3DS game you will ever play. There are hundreds of hours of game play to be enjoyed here. This game is very well executed and such a treat for anyone willing to put the time into truly learning the fundamentals of the game. It could be a gripe that some systems are overly complex as they keep adding layers over the years and there are almost too many ways to access the same functionality. But lets be realistic, no game is ever perfect for everyone. I personally find the complexity fun and rewarding to explore.

    You can play this game in so many ways. If you are relaxed you can just collect items and learn new weapons. If you want to be alone you can play solo. If you want to play multiplayer and go all out and fight the biggest monster, have at it.

    This game should also be noticed for its amazing AI and monster behavior. This version of Monster Hunter also takes creative risks, which is rare these days. The addition of playing as a cat is amazingly ridiculous, but awesomely fun.

    If I had to be critical, the only negative things I have to say about this game is that it is mostly devoid of story relative to other Monster Hunter games and some of the levels from other Monster Hunters were better in the other games. I guess I also don't understand what going to other towns really gets you in this game, it could be just one and would be the same. But its classic Monster Hunter awesomeness and as always very rewarding to play with your friends over and over.
    Expand
  43. Dec 20, 2017
    10
    A great addition to the series! As a veteran player, I was expecting a slight upgrade from 4U, and that is basically what this is. Obviously I did not get nearly the playtime I did out of 4U, but cross introduces some new refreshing mechanics that I believe enhance gameplay and make things feel more fluid. I just wish there was village high rank and G rank ... hyper monsters are fun though.
  44. May 16, 2017
    10
    A awesome acquisition for players new to the series, if you're veteran maybe this game isn't for you, as there is, slights changes to previous. This game is a crossover between the other series with adds on gameplay, that now have 4 styles and new hunter arts; You can play as a palico, there is a awesome content from all previous MH games plus more new monsters, that now fit the fourA awesome acquisition for players new to the series, if you're veteran maybe this game isn't for you, as there is, slights changes to previous. This game is a crossover between the other series with adds on gameplay, that now have 4 styles and new hunter arts; You can play as a palico, there is a awesome content from all previous MH games plus more new monsters, that now fit the four elements of series: water = Mizutsune, fire = Glavenus, thunder = Astalos and ice = Gammoth.

    The gameplay as said before, has now 4 styles that improve experience on every way. From now, I've used only 3 Weapons and 1 of the 4 hunter Styles and I fell like I can do a lot more on the game if I want; the liberty to change is incredible and every weapon, style, hunter art, have a huge impact on your playstyle and consequentially on hunts. Other add is the possibility of playing as a palico (prowler) a funny experience.

    If you're looking for graphics that's not you game, the graphs are stuck as last releases appearance, not many chances here, but this game is a crossover of the series so I've not downgraded my score because of it.

    MhGen is most about gameplay, as a crossover, there is not many history, the history, the other series have more to offer on history itself but overall MH is more oriented on hunt than history. Because of format of the game I've not dowgraded my final score.

    The soundtrack uses elements of previous ones and are nicely engaging and turns battles addictive, some monsters have they own sountracks battle themes, I recommend to buyer beating Amatsu and relate the experience, the soundtrack fit awesomely.

    The DLC quest and Multiplayer are fun and rewarding, hunt online make a whole new experience and it's a must if you buy this game. The community on reedit and gamefaqs have all nice players, the whole MH community is cool and not toxic, one of the reason I love the series. DLC armors are good and pretty, bad thing that transmog isn't avaliable, so you can't use the visual you love the most.

    Graphic = 8/10
    Story = 6/10
    Soundtrack = 10/10
    Gameplay = 11/10
    Community = 9/10

    Total Score 10, It's a masterpiece. If you're veteran you can stick to MHGen to try the new gameplay changes, otherwise you can stick with the other titles with no problem, the experiênce is almost the same.
    Expand
  45. Nov 4, 2017
    10
    Monster Hunter Generations is EXACTLY what I hoped it would be. It is a culmination of all of the previous games with the largest pool of content to date. The only con I can think of is that the graphics don't seem as great as MH4U or MH3U.
  46. Feb 14, 2018
    10
    Prime Monster Hunter gameplay, varied monsters and quests to do. Solid entry overall, a must-have to fans of the franchise.
  47. Aug 6, 2018
    9
    I personally liked the game. This is my first MH game, and it does not disappoint. It is a solid game; the controls work well, the visuals are solid, and the soundtrack is very nice. It definitely suits the 3DS well, as it is very easy to pick up and play, as the in-game manuals are very helpful. Out of all things, the only thing I have issue with is that the menus are a bit difficult, butI personally liked the game. This is my first MH game, and it does not disappoint. It is a solid game; the controls work well, the visuals are solid, and the soundtrack is very nice. It definitely suits the 3DS well, as it is very easy to pick up and play, as the in-game manuals are very helpful. Out of all things, the only thing I have issue with is that the menus are a bit difficult, but overall it is a solid game. Expand
  48. Aug 6, 2018
    8
    MHG is obviously a spinoff game. It contains too many monsters, quests and weapons for it's own good. The game can feel overbearing at times with so much to do with little incentive besides for fans of the series who just want to hunt. For me personally I felt that it was a great place to train and learn monster's move sets and attack patterns before playing MH4U or 3U as I would then haveMHG is obviously a spinoff game. It contains too many monsters, quests and weapons for it's own good. The game can feel overbearing at times with so much to do with little incentive besides for fans of the series who just want to hunt. For me personally I felt that it was a great place to train and learn monster's move sets and attack patterns before playing MH4U or 3U as I would then have practice fighting the monster for fun without the stress of losing zenny and being unable to accept a quest to progress the story of the game. A way I thought about this game was that each quest was a story, I would always read the quest description and try and think how the events described there happened without the client losing their lives in the process. All in all I loved this game but for newcomers to MH I would recommend Monster Hunter World or Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate. Expand
  49. Jan 16, 2019
    5
    I didn't really get much entertainment value out of this game despite spending 40 hours on it, I really wanted to like it but it requires oodles of time I felt I could be spending on more enjoyable games. Its more action with minimal RPG elements. I liked upgrading my equipment and stuff but to even kill another monster after your first (Which takes significant time for a first boss on itsI didn't really get much entertainment value out of this game despite spending 40 hours on it, I really wanted to like it but it requires oodles of time I felt I could be spending on more enjoyable games. Its more action with minimal RPG elements. I liked upgrading my equipment and stuff but to even kill another monster after your first (Which takes significant time for a first boss on its own) requires a lot of grinding and is pretty difficult. Fighting the monsters themselves is a slog and you have to hit, hit, hit, throw a paintball to track it and try and follow it as quickly as possible when it inevitably runs into the other area. The game is incredibly difficult and needlessly time consuming. I've noticed this game is very highly rated everywhere I looked which makes me think it serves it's niche well but the learning curve is just way too high. I still occasionally pop in the game to give it another shot or try and get something out of it but it turns out to be a waste of time

    It has non existent story and the mechanics are not explained very well. There are multiple locations you can get quests from but these are basically just cosmetic as you can access the same quests anywhere and all locations have a blacksmith, a vendor, a home for you and a palico shop and nothing unique to that area
    Expand
  50. Aug 31, 2019
    10
    An amazing step in the monster Hunter franchise, taking everything already established, and adding alot more. With literal thousands of combinations, no two hunts are the same. It's a must play.
  51. Nov 20, 2019
    7
    The best way i can describe this game is "average".
    This spin-off game is supposed to be a celebrations of the MonsterHunter series, so it will contain a lot of popular references to past games that won't be fully appreciated by new players.
    There are a lot more monsters to fight, both older fan favorites and new ones, more gear to craft and plenty of quests to complete. There is A LOT
    The best way i can describe this game is "average".
    This spin-off game is supposed to be a celebrations of the MonsterHunter series, so it will contain a lot of popular references to past games that won't be fully appreciated by new players.
    There are a lot more monsters to fight, both older fan favorites and new ones, more gear to craft and plenty of quests to complete. There is A LOT of text to read so it can be obnoxious to go through.
    The newest feature are the hunting styles and arts that let you customize your hunting experience, although in my experience it can sometimes trivialize the game and make it a lot less challenging than past games.
    Another new addition to the game are Deviant Monsters that are basically more difficult versions of some species of monsters and offer unique equipment to craft.
    The graphics are definitely no the best, even compared to older 3DS titles, so don't expect to be visually impressed.

    If you are a big fan of the series i would recommend you give it a try, but if you are a new comer to the series, I recommend to skip this game.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Nov 21, 2016
    95
    Whilst a near perfect Monster Hunter in my eyes. If it contained better quality of life implementations to reduce the plethora of loading screens and responding to quests (which could be done in a single menu/mail system). This could be an easy ten, otherwise I’m shaking in anticipation for generation five, the Hollywood movie currently in production, Double Cross and Monster Hunter Stories coming to the west (hopefully).
  2. CD-Action
    Oct 14, 2016
    85
    Generations is a sort of a greatest hits compilation that will benefit newcomers the most. [10/2016, p.70]
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 12, 2016
    88
    It’s a shame Monster Hunter is imprisoned within the confines of the 3DS, especially for a game as good as Generations is. If Capcom wanted a more widespread audience for Monster Hunter in the west, they should definitely release it on Steam. [Sept 2016]