User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 4 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 31, 2015
    8
    I've really enjoyed my time BoxBoy! on Nintendo 3DS. It's a very clever platform/puzzler with simple, yet striking presentation and intuitive puzzles. The lack of any stereoscopic 3D whatsoever certainly hurts the overall experience, but if you can look past this disappointing omission, you'll find a good 10hrs of 2D puzzle fun! Recommended.
  2. Dec 4, 2015
    10
    This is the perfect puzzle-adventure game, crafted by the talented hands of HAL Laboratory. The price is right, the amount of extra content will surprise will and the game is always clever - no long introductory levels like Pushmo. In my oppinion is a MUST HAVE on the 3DS. Don't Miss it!
  3. May 11, 2015
    9
    I have played my share of puzzle games in the past and this one sits up there as one of the best. I like the black and white no 3DS stark graphics in comparison to the majority of the games on 3DS. The game starts off easily enough and can get pretty pretty hard. You can use play coins to unlock hints if things get too tough, but they don't tell you how to get the crowns. The crowns can beI have played my share of puzzle games in the past and this one sits up there as one of the best. I like the black and white no 3DS stark graphics in comparison to the majority of the games on 3DS. The game starts off easily enough and can get pretty pretty hard. You can use play coins to unlock hints if things get too tough, but they don't tell you how to get the crowns. The crowns can be very challenging! Addictive and relaxing with no time limits, but the opportunity to unlock new game modes (including time challenges) makes this game great value at being priced as low as a VC game. The music is also pretty decent! Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2015
    8
    A fantastic puzzle platformer that provides a solid 8-12 hour gaming experience. Multiple game modes, tons of levels (digestible in length, great for on-the-go gaming), polished presentation, some real head scratchers. Only negatives no 3D, no real replay value, but based on the asking price definitely an under-priced game.
  5. Apr 3, 2019
    8
    Lovely, adorable, and simplistic puzzle game about growing boxes out of yourself. Very enjoyable the entire way through, a good amount of content for the low price point.
  6. Oct 1, 2018
    6
    Good game, but boy, does it like to drag in places. Definitely not one to complete in one sitting. The worst part is that the best and truly challenging levels are post-game, so you can miss them altogether. It is charming, but really rather simplistic.
  7. Sep 17, 2019
    8
    A simplistic but very fun puzzle game. It's very cheap so give it a try! So cute.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. May 31, 2015
    90
    Its simple design and perfectly-balanced difficulty level mean that it's sure to resonate with players of all skill levels, and whether it's being chipped away at during morning commutes or digested in its entirety over a weekend, Qbby's tale shows that a minimalistic game can be just as satisfying as a triple-A title.
  2. NF Magazine
    May 27, 2015
    90
    BOXBOY! is just so pure, so perfect a puzzler that I wish it had existed way back when, so that in some alternate timeline I would have been able to play decades' worth of sequels to it by now. It's that good. [Issue #15; May/June 2015, p.25]
  3. Edge Magazine
    May 20, 2015
    80
    Deceptively simple. [June 2015, p.123]