Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Katie Rife
    Feb 15, 2019
    100
    Over the course of four hours, we get to know Lorena as a human being, from her naive Catholic upbringing to her wise middle age. Twenty-five years after her trial, we owe Lorena Gallo an apology. This documentary is a good first step.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 14, 2019
    88
    First-rate film that succeeds in re-working the story we thought we knew into the story we should have known all along.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 22, 2019
    80
    The four-part documentary Lorena, however, goes beyond the headlines about the woman who cut off her husband's penis, yielding a thoughtful, comprehensive look at domestic abuse and how the media covers high-profile stories.
  4. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Feb 15, 2019
    80
    “Lorena” doesn’t go out of its way indict any single party in the Bobbitt case, choosing instead to allow Lorena, as she is today, to guide us into understand who she really was. ... Part of the messaging here--subtle, but at times as blaring as a pharmaceutically-enhanced erection--is how dominant the phallus as an instrument of patriarchy remains in our culture.
  5. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Feb 14, 2019
    80
    It gets better and more complex as it goes along.
  6. Reviewed by: Jen Chaney
    Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Lorena is compelling not because it’s a well-done look at a wild and notorious true-crime case. It’s compelling because, in a way, watching it involves an examination of our past as well as our present.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 2, 2019
    80
    All in all, Lorena is a moving portrait of a woman who has reformed her life into a quest to protect abused women.
  8. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Feb 12, 2019
    75
    It’s fascinating. Going in, it might be hard to imagine how four long hours were needed to explore the nuances and implications of the single act that made Lorena Bobbitt famous. But four hours later, it all make sense.
  9. Reviewed by: Kristen Baldwin
    Jan 29, 2019
    75
    Intriguing but somewhat scattershot docuseries.
  10. Reviewed by: Judy Berman
    Feb 22, 2019
    70
    Lorena may not be a perfect work of art, but it’s a solid step forward for empathy in media.
  11. Reviewed by: Lorraine Ali
    Feb 15, 2019
    70
    "Lorena" has its problems, but as a time capsule on where we were then and how far the media has and hasn’t come in years since, it is worth wading through the lurid muck for some long overdue reassessment.
  12. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 14, 2019
    70
    A naturally fascinating but slightly overindulged and unevenly paced documentary series
  13. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Jan 29, 2019
    70
    One of “Lorena” strongest attributes is that it features interviews with not just Lorena and John, but their neighbors and co-workers, first responders and medical specialists, domestic violence experts and comedians, judge and jury. ... The series’ attention to detail is painstakingly thorough, which is sometimes to its detriment.
  14. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Feb 14, 2019
    63
    ilmed in a familiar “48 Hours” you-were-there style. ... By turns entertaining, shocking and finally sobering, “Lorena” shows that the only recourse for a woman in those circumstances is her own defense.
  15. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jan 29, 2019
    50
    The frustration of Lorena is that there are many reasons the story is relevant today and worthy of closer examination and reexamination. Many of them are covered here. It just takes too long to get there.

There are no user reviews yet.