• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1425 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 14, 2019
    8
    The most relevant question that ardent GOT fans need to ask is whether season 8 is terrible because of the writing ... or because the popular fan-theories stewing over the 2-year wait has not come to pass.

    For many years, people have watched and re-watched season 1 to date, studying every character, every conversation, and every moment down to the smallest detail. As at the end of
    The most relevant question that ardent GOT fans need to ask is whether season 8 is terrible because of the writing ... or because the popular fan-theories stewing over the 2-year wait has not come to pass.

    For many years, people have watched and re-watched season 1 to date, studying every character, every conversation, and every moment down to the smallest detail. As at the end of season 7; season 8 was bound on a highly predictable trajectory. Enter season 8, and the audience is left with quite the opposite. What has always remained a constant throughout the lifespan of the show is that "you either die the hero, or live long enough to see yourself become the villain" (vice-versa).

    Perhaps the main reason for the mixed emotions of Season 8 is that we see some of the most beloved characters turn into villains. Still, the complex and layered dialogue between characters is sorely missing in this final season of GOT. Instead, the audience is left to draw insight into characters motives and intention by gauging their facial expressions and body language against mesmerising and beautiful settings.

    One can't help but sympathise with the show-runners in drawing this detail-orientated and truly epic show to close in the space of 6 episodes alone (despite their extended lengths). It is indeed difficult to bid farewell to any long-running show - but GOT - is perhaps the most difficult to part ways with in recent years. The mortality of the characters that we have all grown to love and hate over 8 seasons is what makes GOT one of the kind. Season 8 neither needs saving nor (dare I say) shall ruin the entire series beyond repair. It shall remain the greatest television show in history for years to come.
    Expand
  2. May 12, 2019
    7
    The show just hasn’t been the same since they stopped following the books. There’s so much that the main characters do that is just super uncharacteristic of them. It’s just sloppy at this point. I’m still enjoying it somewhat mostly just because of the spectacle of it all but this shows quality has definitely taken a big hit.
  3. Apr 15, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season had a solid pilot, a little bit slow in my opinion but it showed us so many character reunions that we've been waiting for. Jon learning the truth as early as this episode was a wise choice from the show-runners also him riding the dragon named after his father was an important step into his transition to a true Targaryen. All in all, this episode was really fun to watch. Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2019
    7
    The show kicks off with one of the best episodes yet. But it is still way too slow for the last season which ends up being quite underwhelming. I'm sure it will pick up steam but that can't happen soon enough.
  5. Apr 15, 2019
    10
    The show is its own monster after detaching from the safety of martins writing, and in some areas you could argue it has suffered slightly for it, last season had 1 or 2 weaker episodes, the writers clearly trying to move all of the key players into position ready for the end, and the first episode of this season was more or less a calm before the storm episode. Which is COMPLETELY ok. NotThe show is its own monster after detaching from the safety of martins writing, and in some areas you could argue it has suffered slightly for it, last season had 1 or 2 weaker episodes, the writers clearly trying to move all of the key players into position ready for the end, and the first episode of this season was more or less a calm before the storm episode. Which is COMPLETELY ok. Not every episode needs to be 10/10 heart-in-your-mouth action, game of thrones has always had slower episodes, and im kind of glad they didnt rush straight into the war from the get go. Building tension has always been GoTs strong suite, we know whats coming, we usually always do with this show.

    The thing that really sets GoT apart from any other show is that, 99 percent of the time, when we know something is coming, GoT delivers and then some. Think of all of those big episodes in the past, the big ones we waited eagerly for. The red wedding, hardhome, botb, winds of winter (my personal favorite epside of all time) and now, we KNOW whats coming.

    And i for one am feeling very secure in the idea that GoT will deliver. It has earned that trust, by delivering so many times before.

    I am READY. A good start, leads to an amazing end.
    Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    this season is full of emotions and promises to be a great ending for the big TV series
  7. Apr 15, 2019
    10
    Thrones" is an unwieldy beast, and it's still possible that the show won't be able to stick the landing. But if the premiere is any guide, like Jon and Daenerys' dizzying date, the remaining five episodes promise to be a genuinely wild ride.
  8. Apr 15, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nice episode 1 ! great show. he final season of Game of Thrones has managed to wrap up a melodic song of Ice and Fire in a way that remains true to the source material, and right now, the season premiere is solid as usual. This review will be updated weekly and will be a work in progress as the episodes pickup momentum before the end is near. Expand
  9. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The truth at first I was surprised that Arya was the one who killed the NK, but then I said, where are the damn prophecies, I hope (because I love the series very much and I still have some hope) that the remaining 3 episodes clarify because it was Arya the hero Expand
  10. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    la mejor serie de todaaaaaas, fue uyn emocionante capitulo el 3 , ya no aguanto por el final
  11. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    the mixture of suspense and sadness, make this season much better than the previous one and now we only focus on what has always been the emblem of the series, the throne
  12. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    episode 3 was spectacular, although many did not like it at all, in my opinion it was very good
  13. Apr 17, 2019
    8
    As the engaging new opening credits make clear, the scope has been reduced. Things are more confined and intense, as sprawling and disparate storylines have become conflated. So a lot of characters heretofore separated by continents are rubbing up against each other. The first episode cleverly sets this into a recapitulation of many of the very first episode's story beats. Satisfying andAs the engaging new opening credits make clear, the scope has been reduced. Things are more confined and intense, as sprawling and disparate storylines have become conflated. So a lot of characters heretofore separated by continents are rubbing up against each other. The first episode cleverly sets this into a recapitulation of many of the very first episode's story beats. Satisfying and entertaining. Expand
  14. Apr 16, 2019
    9
    Fantasy and politics, something Tolkien showed us in a perfect way but lacked politcs, don't get me wrong Tolkien is the master and this is a well created show that makes honor of this.
  15. May 1, 2019
    8
    Game of thrones has lost some of it's glimmer. It's still a great series, but it lacks some of the dynamics it had with all of it's side stories and all of it's character developments.
  16. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    it feels like the end that is very sad but also very exciting why we do not know what will happen and finally will stay with the throne
  17. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    the war that broke out between the living and the dead was shocking, I hope and the last war to come is just as shocking or better
  18. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the way in which arya kills the night king was really surprising and I expected no less from this series Expand
  19. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    the evolution of this series is incredible, however it does not leave that essence that characterizes it
  20. Apr 29, 2019
    10
    the suspense and surprise war formula make this episode unmatched super great
  21. Apr 25, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My opinion and feelings about the second episode of season 8:
    The last day and night before the clash between living and dead is portrayed masterly, especially in terms of story and characters interactions and the feelings they sense during what it might be their last day alive. Everyone decides to do and say what they need to do and say before dying and that is conveyed to the spectator in the most human way. Of course this makes dialogues simple and politics to almost nothing. At this point everyone had better acknowledge that GoT is made up especially of emotions and action, like it or not.
    Expand
  22. Apr 24, 2019
    10
    Hands down one of the best TV series of all time.
    My favorite series ever, and possibly the most popular and
    anticipated in the history of television.
    Simply amazing and definitely recommended.
  23. Apr 16, 2019
    7
    its good The final season of Game of Thrones has managed to wrap up a melodic song of Ice and Fire in a way that remains true to the source material, and right now
  24. May 20, 2019
    7
    Season 8, the final season of the narrative arc that has spanned the core Game of Thrones series (there's word of a prequel that established Westeros is in the making), is largely OK and not much more. Game of Thrones has always stood strong and made tough choices to keep the series fresh and its central characters extremely important. The revelation of Jon Snow's heritage, Daenerys'Season 8, the final season of the narrative arc that has spanned the core Game of Thrones series (there's word of a prequel that established Westeros is in the making), is largely OK and not much more. Game of Thrones has always stood strong and made tough choices to keep the series fresh and its central characters extremely important. The revelation of Jon Snow's heritage, Daenerys' ascension as a new superpower, the battle with the Night King, and Cersei's resistance all feel mishandled. So much of season 8 feels so rushed. Sometimes the show's writing and narrative choices feel great but the biggest moments often come off as rushed and insincere which will annoys probably a majority of fans. Even in the series finale, the most important episode to land in the entire GoT catalog, idiotic choices in storytelling, flash forwarding, and more leave room for an inappropriate amount of questions that needed to be answered. I don't want to spoil anything for anyone cruising through the reviews so I'll keep from any real plot reveals that could spoil the fun for another viewer but I just can't be happy with what happened in the final episode, which started off fine and then beings to fall apart after the 1/3 point of its 79 minute runtime. I can't believe the show's writers forced everything into 6 episodes when HBO offered them a solid 10 episodes which were probably required to bridge gaps and let big moments really breathe. If Martin's books follow the same general path of the TV series there's going to be a second uproar from fans. Martin has a chance to not be so ignorant and hasty as the show's executive producers and directors and I doubt Martin would be so numb to a good ending that he'd risk repeating the final events the same way the show did. This is the risk you run when you get ahead of yourself. Perhaps the show should have taken more time off? But the final season had already skipped a year to make sure it was polished up. No matter what, HBO will surely be spiteful toward GoT's show heads for ending things so rocky. The first 7 seasons all had their special moments and the rise of Jon Snow seems like such an easy home run to hit and yet I have to completely disagree with where the show's creators lead his path when all is said and done despite having several special moments in season 8. Perhaps the only things gotten right in the final moments of GoT is the remaining Stark family's bow-tied end, Daenerys' outcome, Tyrion Lannister's huge importance being recognized more and more. Just about everything else felt wrong, it felt half-assed with plot twists. Expand
  25. May 21, 2019
    8
    GoT is still the most spectacular TV program to be produced to date. Despite all the crybabies.

    As someone who loved season six and felt that season seven was the most epic TV season in existence, I do understand why fans are somewhat disappointed with Season 8. It isn't as gritty, feels a bit too rushed, and some of the lines feel cheesy. The long night was too dark and short, and that
    GoT is still the most spectacular TV program to be produced to date. Despite all the crybabies.

    As someone who loved season six and felt that season seven was the most epic TV season in existence, I do understand why fans are somewhat disappointed with Season 8. It isn't as gritty, feels a bit too rushed, and some of the lines feel cheesy. The long night was too dark and short, and that is really the biggest mistake of the season.

    GoT season 8 is very far from a dirt poor score, which makes reviewers look like dumb whinny sheep.
    Expand
  26. May 21, 2019
    10
    This rich story, that has been an exciting roller coaster, is now shaped on a story no one saw coming. We finally know who the main characters are, and who everything that happened so far mattered. Complex characters, great acting, and finally dragons.
  27. May 20, 2019
    7
    Brilliant cinematography (arguably the best season for this). Acting was superb from most of the actors and actresses. I really liked episodes 2, 3, and the finale. I thought 1 was lackluster, 4 was good but flawed and 5 was just alright. This season’s writing was rushed but I was satisfied with the overall character arcs. Still one of the greatest series ever but this season ensured itBrilliant cinematography (arguably the best season for this). Acting was superb from most of the actors and actresses. I really liked episodes 2, 3, and the finale. I thought 1 was lackluster, 4 was good but flawed and 5 was just alright. This season’s writing was rushed but I was satisfied with the overall character arcs. Still one of the greatest series ever but this season ensured it won’t be remembered as number one. Nevertheless, I’ll always love Game of Thrones Expand
  28. May 16, 2019
    10
    Still shocking, awesome twists, set pieces and huge battles/duels. Many do hope for something else and give it a poor rating because of it, their loss!!
  29. May 2, 2019
    10
    It was the most emotional and stressful episode I have ever watched on TV. Everybody did their best to make this episode incredible.
  30. May 26, 2019
    9
    It's not as good as season 1-7 but still very good, a 8.4 for me
    There could have been more than just 6 parts and then more detailed, but it's ok as it is
    The things that happened are ok, not what I thought would happen, but that's Game of Thrones
  31. May 22, 2019
    7
    + schöne Bilder (Kino-Niveau)
    + Set auf Top-Niveau
    + Die Musik ist mal wieder on Point

    - zu viele Logikfehler
    - Staffel wirkt gehetzt
    - Charakterentwicklung mancher Charaktere ist unbefriedigend
    - Konflikt wird zu schnell gelöst
  32. May 20, 2019
    7
    The wheel might be broken, but Game of Thrones comes full circle in the end.
    You might call that conclusion unsatisfying, I'd say it's rushed.
    You might judge Benioff and Weiss to be bad writers, I'd argue they're just sloppy. Everyone and their mother could argue for eternity, and none of us would be right or wrong, besides a few things that are simply not up to debate - GoT has
    The wheel might be broken, but Game of Thrones comes full circle in the end.
    You might call that conclusion unsatisfying, I'd say it's rushed.
    You might judge Benioff and Weiss to be bad writers, I'd argue they're just sloppy.

    Everyone and their mother could argue for eternity, and none of us would be right or wrong, besides a few things that are simply not up to debate - GoT has probably the best production of any piece of entertainment on TV ever, and it was brought to you by extremely talented people both in front and behind the camera - in the end what matters is whether you enjoyed it or not. That said, try to be a little bit objective and please refrain from acting as if you're entitled to anything more than what you've got. If you hated it, all I can say is that I'm sorry. I sincerely hope you find something that makes you care this much in the future.

    I personally consider the first 3 (maybe 4) seasons of this show gold. The rest doesn't really compare. I've been off the bandwagon for a while, but I did find each and every following season incredibly entertaining. The same with this finale. I enjoyed it. Season 8 had many low points, and quite a few soaring highs as well. Overall, what really bothers me is that these last few seasons shouldn't have become shorter, but longer. A 10 episode season with 90 minutes each might just have been the ticket. Alas, it is a shame. For whatever reason that just did not happen, and we have to accept that fact and move on.

    G.R.R. Martin was right. It is a bittersweet goodbye, but a fond farewell nonetheless.
    Expand
  33. May 21, 2019
    8
    Enjoyable apart from the last 2 episodes. Alot of key things that happened seemed rushed and not alot of impact for them. Wish they spread it out over 10 episodes and added a little more depth and a little less rushed. Sad for the series to end but there is plenty of opportunity for them to do spin off series which hopefully will be limited series rather than on going sagas. Good bye gotEnjoyable apart from the last 2 episodes. Alot of key things that happened seemed rushed and not alot of impact for them. Wish they spread it out over 10 episodes and added a little more depth and a little less rushed. Sad for the series to end but there is plenty of opportunity for them to do spin off series which hopefully will be limited series rather than on going sagas. Good bye got you will be missed. Expand
  34. May 13, 2019
    10
    Great episode. All got what they deserved. They had the chance to bend the knee in episode 4. But they did not, because their own ego and arrogance. They started the killing of innocence by killing Missandei. The whole population had the chance to bend the knee. They did not. They followed Cersei to be used as barrier and got the consequences. PS: for people who think this is cruel, lookGreat episode. All got what they deserved. They had the chance to bend the knee in episode 4. But they did not, because their own ego and arrogance. They started the killing of innocence by killing Missandei. The whole population had the chance to bend the knee. They did not. They followed Cersei to be used as barrier and got the consequences. PS: for people who think this is cruel, look back at all the killing and bombing in real wars. The scale of terror and cruelty in WO1, WO2, the dropping of atom bombs on Japan, vietnam war etc is bigger. Expand
  35. May 14, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For the people who think, plot for episode 5 was bad, just think about it one more time,
    Dany has lost her 2 dragons, of which one dragon was very recently killed by Cersei’s navy, she lost her dothraki army, she lost her lover, jorah, missandei was killed in front of her, and she couldn’t do anything about it, even after all these, she was betrayed by varys, jon, tyrion, she became possessive about her claim to the iron throne, her dream, her everything was under danger for her.
    Not to forget about the hatred she received from sansa, even after she had fought in the Great War, her under appreciation, she couldn’t get any love in the seven kingdoms.
    She was already short-tempered, and after all that anger and all that rage, she couldn’t control it, and lost control over her feelings, and she destroyed everything.
    Everything was perfectly plotted in the episode.
    Writers can’t make Arya look bad, because if she had killed cersei, then she would have to kill Cersei’s unborn child also, and that would have made Arya look cruel

    About Jaime leaving Brianne for cersei,
    Jaime loved both of them, but loved cersei more, so he had to make lies to make both Brianne and tyrion hate him, so that it would have been easier for them to forget Jaime.
    Expand
  36. May 19, 2019
    10
    I think it's very good season for ending..Not like a fairytale story ends..
  37. May 19, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although it's shocking what's happened to the plot it's still one of the best shows I have ever watched. I think that's why it's so big and viewed because it goes against what traditional people think should happen. It's been a great show overall and to end it on a bang is great rather than dragging it out ! People are stupid for creating a petition get over it. Expand
  38. May 20, 2019
    10
    FANTASTIC END//this season was great and tyrion is the beSt for always/staRk=happy End
  39. May 20, 2019
    10
    Amazing!!! Good as ever. A lot of people are making this season out to be bad, however, the writing, spectacle and and music is as fantastic as ever! Would highly recommend
  40. Jun 24, 2019
    10
    a fitting finale of a complete saga, with epic events, it is sad that the detractors cannot accept the story and its telling, wanting rather a more cinematic finale rather than a story
  41. Jul 9, 2019
    9
    After 8 momentous seasons and to much wailing and gnashing of teeth from the GOT fanbase we end. It's true that the show has been in a decline for the last few seasons since it departed from the source books but the harshness of the criticism it's received has been more than excessive. It would have been near impossible to maintain such a high standard in a series of this lengthAfter 8 momentous seasons and to much wailing and gnashing of teeth from the GOT fanbase we end. It's true that the show has been in a decline for the last few seasons since it departed from the source books but the harshness of the criticism it's received has been more than excessive. It would have been near impossible to maintain such a high standard in a series of this length regardless whether Martin was writing it or not. We were spoiled at the beginning. The first 4 seasons were some of the best TV ever made. The negative backlash, I feel, is more sorrow at the loss and a sense of abandonment than any real intrinsic flaw in how the story ended.
    It ended just fine, very well in fact. Full of symbolism and allegory. I felt a sense of satisfaction and fulfillment though I'm in the minority.
    None of the complaints were on the technical side. These were superb as usual bar one misstep. To portray the Winterfell battle , the longest ever televised, in such dark murkiness was a mistake. One of the few. Not enough to detract from the wonderful technical brilliance of the last 10 years however.
    This show will be the highlight of most of the cast's careers. I thank them. I don't know if we'll see as marvelous a show ever again.
    Expand
  42. Jun 24, 2019
    8
    Overall, I loved the entire series. I am writing a review on season 8 because of all the negative press it received. I completed season 8 and had no major problems with it at all. I was disappointed in that it felt as if they cramped two seasons into one by combining the big fight against the dead and the big fight against Kings Landing. The dead war could have been season 8 by itself andOverall, I loved the entire series. I am writing a review on season 8 because of all the negative press it received. I completed season 8 and had no major problems with it at all. I was disappointed in that it felt as if they cramped two seasons into one by combining the big fight against the dead and the big fight against Kings Landing. The dead war could have been season 8 by itself and Kings Landing season 9 by itself as well...not sure why the show had to suddenly stop after season 8. This compressing two seasons into one made for less character development, less compelling storylines, and less in the way of emotional involvement by the audience. There were many obvious death scenes but that itself does not create a good story. The richness of season 8 also led to too many instances where the viewer who lost some memory of events from previous seasons or dared elect to watch season 8 without watching the prior seasons would have lost many subtle nuances in dialogue and action. In other words, season 8 could not stand-alone and fully enjoyed without prior knowledge...this was most unfortunate given the massive media surrounding the season...I am sure many tuned in just out of curiosity but may have fallen off by the second or third episode of the season.

    There were also obvious attempts by the writers to challenge the audience by not taking the story where we all anticipated. They wanted to offer some surprises...Some worked and other did not...sometimes history (life) can imitate art but there are times art has to imitate history (life)...in the cases of the latter the storylines don't always end cleanly, characters don't always die in a blaze of glory, and the good guys don't always come out on top. The writers should have trusted the audience more and not have tried so hard to create the big surprise ending and instead been truer to what the story was in seasons 1 thru 7. Overall the series is a 10...season 8 as a stand-alone is an 8.

    Finally, the vitriol over the ending is totally unwarranted...there were hints that this was coming throughout the series...we (me included) all just got lost in the spectacle of the other two charterers (whom I shall not name) as the hero and heroine of the series and overlooked the rest.
    Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Judy Berman
    Apr 15, 2019
    30
    As in season 7, the big problem with “Winterfell”—the reason it felt more like an unlucky videographer’s rendering of an exceptionally dysfunctional family reunion than like a carefully crafted story—was the pacing.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 14, 2019
    100
    The show has stepped up its pacing. For the most part, that has been immensely satisfying, yielding crowd-pleasing moments that the and that the series generally avoided in the often-grim journey, especially for the Stark kids, which has led to this point.
  3. Reviewed by: Alex McLevy
    Apr 14, 2019
    75
    [The season premiere] does a lot of work in a short amount of time, but unlike some previous episodes that engaged in significant table setting, it never feels too rushed or like characters are being given short shrift in the effort to hurry to the next beat. It plays as elegant, for the most part.