HBO | Air Date: May 12, 2019
3.3
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 688 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
165
Mixed:
60
Negative:
463
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this TV Episode
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
thecritic1306May 12, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incredible - however fans are confusing service with a historical narrative. GOT has never provided a happy, satisfying ending; The Mad Queen is classic Thrones. the visual imagery of Drogon destroying the city was breathtaking, the shattered nature of Daenerys, Arya's heroism, the long awaited 'Clegane-Bowl', the fear of her followers, the tragic and poetic end to the Lannister family - endings that are far from satisfying but close to perfect. Expand
19 of 55 users found this helpful1936
All this user's reviews
10
Awsomeman889May 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This episode was awesome from start to finish, I love how Daenerys went rage mood, and I like the action scenes in the episode. I honestly why people are hating David Benioff D. B. Weiss, I thought they did an excellent job writing the episode. I can't wait for the series finale next week!!!! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
Jokerx11May 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 8 has been rushed but overall it's still visually the best tv show on air.i don't get the very **** review Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
tjeffrey13May 12, 2019
Viewers will criticise this episode for 'bad writing' but it offers exactly what Game of Thrones promises to; a nihilistic, bleak and shocking outcome. Hope is hinted at and then ripped away - the wheel is not broken at all, instead the MadViewers will criticise this episode for 'bad writing' but it offers exactly what Game of Thrones promises to; a nihilistic, bleak and shocking outcome. Hope is hinted at and then ripped away - the wheel is not broken at all, instead the Mad Queen rides it and crushes the exact people she promised to protect. Visually, emotionally and narratively, the saga has ended yet there is no neat bow used to wrap up this world, fate is hanging in the balance and our heroes have not yet vanished. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
KblinkinMay 13, 2019
Unfortunately we live in a world where people could give this episode a 0 or 1.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
GjbnllffbMay 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Haters gonna hate this is perfect! Jamie is fantastic in his change and i feel with the chars....arya and bloodhound scene in changes is perfect...i hope that the end is also perfect....cersey is dead and no one thought that no one will kill her...perfect Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
FalaaxMay 13, 2019
If you thought this had an happy ending, you haven't been paying attention! I think the episode was pretty cool (awesome cinematography !!) and (unpopular opinion maybe) I think it's a very "GoT" ending so far, the good guys and bad guysIf you thought this had an happy ending, you haven't been paying attention! I think the episode was pretty cool (awesome cinematography !!) and (unpopular opinion maybe) I think it's a very "GoT" ending so far, the good guys and bad guys aren't supposed to be so clearly defined and I personnally think the direction the writers aimed in was the right one. I can understand the disappointment on some aspects tho and I agree it could have been written better and less rushed but I like where this is going. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
9
SouruinMay 13, 2019
Best episode of this season so far........ .................................
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
zhentosMay 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm afraid I'll say something you don't like but I really love how Daenerys got crazy. It was incredible:) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Dorefan97May 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Excellent payoff for so many character 10/10. A great build up to Dany finally becoming the mad queen. Also great set up for what is likely to be an epic finale. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
daclutch65May 13, 2019
Great episode, Only episode I truly liked this season. Jon >> dany.. Sansa lol
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
razvtMay 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brilliant episode. Tyrion's desperate attempts to save King's Landing. Dany showing her mad side after entire seasons of her slowly becoming her dad. Cersei and Jamie's poetic demise. The long awaited Clegane fight. John and Arya's realization that Dany is mad. All tied together beautifully by some amazing directing. Truly impressive especially for a TV show. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
GOT1803May 13, 2019
Fantastic, incredible - viewers will regret their disdain for this episode!!
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondMay 12, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Serious carnage in this episode. In a sense, it's really odd to see the dragon inflict that much damage on King's Landing, and we really never get to see Danny's face in the process. Is she just a vengeful monster now? The weakest part of the episode was simply the death (?) of Cersei. Just some building falling down on her? The Hound/Mountain fight was pretty special. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
9
Mikeyf9May 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm going to get flack for this but, I loved this episode. This episode moved the story so far forward that the end will be either amazing or underwhelming. Character arcs were pushed forward according to the show, better than any fan-theory. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
10
themadcritic13May 13, 2019
to say that this episode was disappointing is an insult to the world of GOT, it may not have been what we were hoping for but when has the show ever given us what we wanted?
4 of 23 users found this helpful419
All this user's reviews
10
truthregardlessMay 13, 2019
I don't listen to critics, I'd rather form my own opinion versus following a herd on social media. It was a great episode. Well acted, beautiful visuals and finally resolving issues eight years in the making. The character development hasI don't listen to critics, I'd rather form my own opinion versus following a herd on social media. It was a great episode. Well acted, beautiful visuals and finally resolving issues eight years in the making. The character development has been there if one watched early seasons. Expand
3 of 18 users found this helpful315
All this user's reviews
10
Tomnel95May 13, 2019
Honestly didn't have the Game of Thrones "Ned-Stark-Seizing-Joffrey-Hating" in a long time, the Long Night didn't give it to me, this one gave me through it, admittedly, twisted storylines and changed behaviour of characters. Arya runningHonestly didn't have the Game of Thrones "Ned-Stark-Seizing-Joffrey-Hating" in a long time, the Long Night didn't give it to me, this one gave me through it, admittedly, twisted storylines and changed behaviour of characters. Arya running through a falling city gave me the suffocating feeling I've craved for quite a few seasons. Yes, Cercei deserved a better ending to her character but I like to make a metaphor with music here: it's not always about the drop. Cheers Expand
3 of 20 users found this helpful317
All this user's reviews
10
DemoraseMay 13, 2019
Intense engaging tragic beginning to end, this episode single-handedly redeemed season 8 for me. It'll stay as one of my favorite of the entire show.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
8
ericcarlMay 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was enjoyable. I mean I really hated The Mad Queen and I haven't hated anyone in the show in awhile. That part was enjoyable. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
webextMay 13, 2019
I didn't see even an one point why this part is bad. It's the fair ending. It has more action, but it should be there cause of what's happening. I can't say much what they had to add or remove from the season. It looks good. I love theI didn't see even an one point why this part is bad. It's the fair ending. It has more action, but it should be there cause of what's happening. I can't say much what they had to add or remove from the season. It looks good. I love the previous seasons and they are my favorite. But there was different time. Now it's real ending without many twists of saving somebody and so one. It's like in a real life. It's logic ending. And acting just like in last seasons - I checked. I liked the acting of first 4 seasons better, but the characters are different now in different life situations. So It's very logic too. If you have other opinion say your arguments, please. I'm really interesting in that. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
9
MaxxiveMay 14, 2019
Season 8 and Episode 5 is an absolute brilliant, but i tired of this boring crowd. Dear poor haters this is to remind/guide you- major force in our life are very well known its Love.
The number of haters clearly shows how many people on that
Season 8 and Episode 5 is an absolute brilliant, but i tired of this boring crowd. Dear poor haters this is to remind/guide you- major force in our life are very well known its Love.
The number of haters clearly shows how many people on that planet are seriously damaged by a very simple and extremely important reason - they never know LOVE.
That is actually the point why so many "smart" people understand nothing and saying **** about everything and the Season 8:Episode 5 in particular. I wish to all of them to meet LOVE in their life and get the thing which is called " wisdom of life" it will bring the answers, you will see clearly why people ( for ex. Dany) goes mad , become furious and full of rage and become desperate, depressive and alone.
Everything is coming out of LOVE or LOVE absence. So find LOVE and stop nagging.
Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
10
Oscar_myrlandMay 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Perfectly suprising and shocking, and amazing cinematography and the CGI is amazing Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
7
KukurydzaMay 18, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. +Battle of King's Landing (so much better than Battle of Winterfell)
+Cleganebowl
+Arya and Sandor
+humanity of Cersei at the end
+MAD QUEEN DAENERYS
+good ending of Varys
+Jaime x Tyrion/Cersei
+music

-DORNE STILL DOESN'T EXIST -why Yara wasn't there, she should kill Euron
-plot armor of Davos (I love him, but he should die xD)

I love this episode.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Connorcox1997May 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a good episode, but there are some red flags in the episode, like Daenerys killing a lot of innocent people and destroying Kings Landing, she could've just fled over to the Red Keep and killed Cersi but instead, she went mad. Speaking of Cersi we did not get to see Arya killing Cersi which is disappointing because since she killed the Night King, which I really wanted to see Arya kill Cersei so bad, but unfortunately it's not in this episode and that so disappointing in my personal opinion. There are some cool moments in the episode though, like the Hound Facing the Mountain which I thought was dope, in my opinion; also I thought the cinematography was impressive and whoever did the cinematography did a really good job at it, and the episode did improve a little bit from the last episode. If people didn't like the episode for whatever reason that might be, I can totally understand why people didn't like it. Overall there are issues but still a good episode, but I felt like the final episode may get ugly and I'm worried that the ending might bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BorgorosMay 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Shocking and uncomfortable. The best way to scramble things up so you never will forget it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
patsullyMay 17, 2019
A visually thrilling episode, but the true shock was how few characters made decisions that felt consistent with the character development over the course of the show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CritameticMay 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anyone who didn't know Daenarys was crazy after she burned all the food for no reason during the loot train battle back in Season 7 hasn't been paying attention. People blame the writing for "not being believable" but they should be blaming themselves for not seeing what was painfully obvious all along. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jurrabiMay 20, 2019
It is true that the last two seasons have not taken the time to tell the story properly. Events have accelerated and knowing all that has to come in a few episodes fuels the fear for a bad ending.
What I don't share is the feeling that the
It is true that the last two seasons have not taken the time to tell the story properly. Events have accelerated and knowing all that has to come in a few episodes fuels the fear for a bad ending.
What I don't share is the feeling that the story should end like I expected. I get what they've done and I do like it.
It's their story and, even with tragic turns, it's an interesting one.

This is still probably the best series of all time... And this episode, is as shocking as the whole show.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ApadfaszaMay 20, 2019
Season 8 contained amazing scenes and of course no fantasy writer expertise.
In the ways this show sucked, I'm glad it did, because it was worth seeing all the wining millenials crying about this seasons wretchedness: most satisfying revenge
Season 8 contained amazing scenes and of course no fantasy writer expertise.
In the ways this show sucked, I'm glad it did, because it was worth seeing all the wining millenials crying about this seasons wretchedness: most satisfying revenge & retribution. YEAH BABY!! SUCK IT DOWN!!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HylkehaagsmaJun 4, 2019
Fine episode, the twist with daenarys is something you should have seen coming if you are a real fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Dvir971Oct 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is exactly how I always imagined the penultimate episode of Game of Thrones to be. Not plot-wise, of course, but it was always fitting the episode before last of the show will be such unimaginable carnage and I don't remember ever being in the edge of my seat for such a long period of time in a row with anything else I watched before. In my opinion this is one of the very best episodes Game of Thrones has ever done, but contrarily to the backlash that the previous 2 episodes got, which was unwarranted, exaggerated and basically an internet 'thing' that got way out of proportions, at least here the controversy feels a little earned.

This episodes enjoys from this out-of-proportion hate bandwagon too of course, there's no way around it at this point, but basically ever since the early days after season 7, when I digested the fact the show is actually coming to end, I always knew that the moment Daenerys' goes crazy is the moment when the fanbase will be divided 50/50, because it will be such a hard thing for some people to digest. So this time, the controversy doesn't really concerns me.

So no- it absolutely did not come out of nowhere. We mustn't forget the Targaryens have a tendency for insanity, it's in their genes. Daenerys was ok until now, though she did do her share of some shady decisions and showed hints of impulsiveness in the past, but with so much happening to her all at once, it's not so difficult to believe she just crushed under the pressure. She lost Jorah, Missandei, two of her baby Dragons by now, the entire Jon scandal made her lose her claim that was her main motivation ever since she was a girl in just a few days while realizing Westeros already has the support and respect for Jon Snow, one of their own and the objectively better choice, much more than they have for her- basically the entire house of cards she spent years building came crashing in a span of few days. So yeah, she snapped, and utilized her potential for craziness, like so many of her fathers before her, and did the unthinkable. It was also repeated in this episode- once a Targaryen is born, the world flips a coin. The result turned for the worse for Daenerys eventually, and there's no point to try and look at what she done as a calculated act of strategy. Even though she did tell Jon, that if she wouldn't be able to rule by love she chooses to rule by fear. Also it's very important to note that this is obviously the direction the books are taking as well, so people in denial that are "waiting for the books to come out" should expect to be disappointed once more.

Another point I'd like to address is Jaime Lannister, which all the many people saying his "character development was destroyed in minutes" seem to have missed the point. Jaime is indeed a good man, and he clearly didn't roll back to his season 1- self. We saw all the remorse and sense of honor he achieved in the previous episodes of the last couple of seasons, but the point is he always loved Cersei. He is pretty much obsessed with her. You didn't saw him running in the chaos doing shady stuff or even fighting the northern army soldiers, he just wanted to go back to Cersei, who he loves. I think it was a beautiful and poetic ending to these two wonderful characters.

In terms of Direction, I never though it would be possible, but the legend Miguel Sapochnik managed to even top his work on BotB, and I really hope he'll get his due recognition for it in the coming awards. Another major player here was Ramin Djawadi of course, that delivers as always, and on technical terms the episode was one of the best ever produced. Emilia Clarke was perhaps the best she ever been in this episode, and Maisie Williams put a great performance as well. At this point it shouldn't also surprise us that Peter Dinklage is nothing short of a brilliant actor.

Game of Thrones is definitely ending on a high note, and I'm really satisfied with this season. It's a little sad to think a lot of people will see this as one of the shows that started brilliantly and ended abysmally, but while I had some disappointments and issues with this last season (mainly it being rushed)- I think this is the ending the show always lead to, and it's brilliant. With a show this popular there's no way to avoid divisiveness regarding how the story will unfold, and while the backlash for the last couple of episodes was ridiculous, in my point of view, this episode is exactly what they were talking about when they say there's absolutely no way to tie the plot in a way that satisfy even 50% of the viewers. But undoubtedly, this is a historic episode for TV making.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews