To Believe Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length studio release for the British electronic/nu-jazz project led by Jason Swinscoe and Dom Smith features guest vocals from Grey Reverend, Roots Manuva, Moses Sumney, Tawiah, and Heidi Vogel.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 18, 2019
    To Believe is heartbreakingly brilliant: a collection of exquisitely assembled songs that appear delicate from a distance before revealing a close-quarters core strength. ... A triumph.
  2. Mar 12, 2019
    Acts like the Cinematic Orchestra are sometimes dismissed as background music. To Believe refutes that completely. Its gentle warmth makes the work accessible. But once you've pressed play, there is no ignoring it.
  3. 80
    It’s an album that takes the sombre mood of today and translates it into downtempo music that’s both refreshing and thoughtful.
  4. Mar 12, 2019
    To Believe is a worthy return for The Cinematic Orchestra, developing their sound while keeping the trademark fusion between electronic and orchestral that Swinscoe and co. do so well.
  5. Apr 5, 2019
    Right from the off, the reverb-laden guitar picking of the title track, augmented by the soaring vocal of guest Moses Sumney, feels understatedly devastating. And so it builds from such august beginnings. A song, a whole album evoking thoughts and questions around belief, what is worth believing in and what difference belief in something can make unfolds, drawing in the listener ever deeper.
  6. Mar 15, 2019
    This is an album that feels accomplished but unremarkable, neither possessing the kind of experimentalism that might push things forward nor idiosyncratic enough to stand out in a newly crowded marketplace.
  7. Apr 9, 2019
    Swinscoe has a knack for both producing lush orchestral movements and picking worthy collaborators. On To Believe, they are unfortunately not more than the sum of their parts.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Mar 20, 2019
    To Believe opens beautifully with its titular track. It’s easy to get lost in the ambient sounds, but if you give it the isolated and engagedTo Believe opens beautifully with its titular track. It’s easy to get lost in the ambient sounds, but if you give it the isolated and engaged listen, you’ll be pleased by what this British duo has given us with their 4th full-length. Tracks are wonderfully composed even within the simplicity that arises at times, but though well produced, this LP will regrettably find itself categorized as ‘really solid but somewhat forgettable’ due to the ease in which it can fade into the background. 6 out of 10.
    Tracks to enjoy “To Believe”; “Lessons”; “The Workers of Art”