Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 10, 2020
    80
    Her crystalline, sparse voice shines on melancholic but dreamy break-up songs and dark, cinematic tracks. [Feb 2020, p.115]
  2. Uncut
    Jan 10, 2020
    80
    Savior is a commanding narrator of heartache and revenge, singing of blood and tears over piano and reverb-drenched guitar, demonstrating a star quality that belies her 24 years. [Feb 2020, p.33]
  3. Mojo
    Jan 10, 2020
    80
    Like Hope Sandoval, Savior's smoky timbre is cucumber-cool rather than over-emotive. [Feb 2020, p.86]
  4. 80
    The collection ebbs and flows steadily, and it’s undeniably sleek in its vintage Americana-style production. Some songs leave the listener gagging for more, as Savior flexes masterful lyrics, effortless style and poise. This is a timeless collection.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Jan 16, 2020
    9
    This album is so good. Great ballads and great psychedelic (?) songs. I've had it on repeat for so long. I love it. "But You" is by far theThis album is so good. Great ballads and great psychedelic (?) songs. I've had it on repeat for so long. I love it. "But You" is by far the best song. It's actually one of the best songs I've listened to in a while. And the production in "Saving Grace" and "Howl" are pretty mesmerising. I wish the album was longer. Full Review »
  2. Jan 15, 2020
    8
    Wonderful album to not only start the year, but also the decade with. Alexandra Savior has proven herself masterful on her debut LPWonderful album to not only start the year, but also the decade with. Alexandra Savior has proven herself masterful on her debut LP "Belladonna of Sadness", with which she won my heart with her unique voice, amazing lyrics and 'weird' instrumentals. On "The Archer", her second full-length effort, she brings back her amazing lyrical and instrumental work without the big name producers and co-writers, which results in an album that feels like it's more on her own terms. Highlights for me are the almost cinematic "But You", where horns blast throughout, "Can't Help Myself", which strikes me as the only happy song on this album with maybe my favourite lyrics (Sweet lips like pink lemonade/When he's feeling generous he's gonna give me a taste), the haunting "The Phantom", where high and low vocals line up over each other and give it such a unique listen, and "Send Her Back". "The Archer" doesn't hit quite like "Belladonna of Sadness" does, but again, I feel like Savior got to do this in her own way, without compromising her artistic integrity, and for that I can only applaud her, and congratulate her on a brilliant record. Full Review »
  3. Jan 13, 2020
    10
    As for now, it is one of the best albums of 2020, absolutely. Sounds similar to last year's "Blood" by Kelsey Lu, soft-rock, dream pop. Masterpiece.