• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Lover Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 7927 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh full-length studio release for the country pop artist features a guest appearances from the Dixie Chicks and Brendon Urie of Panic! at the Disco.
Buy On

Top Track

[Intro: Taylor Swift] I promise that you'll never find another like me [Verse 1: Taylor Swift] I know that I'm a handful, baby, uh I know I never... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Aug 26, 2019
    As always, Lover is an album Swift made for her fans. But it also feels like a record she made for herself, unburdened by external expectations and her own past.
  2. Sep 3, 2019
    Lover is a fabulous record, full of super-fun standout pop hits that make your heart burst. It oozes with Swift’s much more palatable upbeat sass. She’s in love and also thinking about different kinds of love.
  3. 75
    The maturation through Taylor Swift’s career has also shown her react to personal change in real time. ... Maturity for Taylor Swift means shrugging off what isn’t worth a fight, looking inward rather than blaming others, and being able to admit when you were wrong.
  4. Sep 3, 2019
    Ultimately, Lover is overstuffed and meandering, but serves as a positive reprieve from her past struggles in the public eye, and represents an artist at the peak of her creativity, power, and—one hopes—continued romantic bliss.
  5. Aug 26, 2019
    Ultimately, the album’s highlights are those songs where the voice and sentiment we hear is truly her own, the enthralling, stirring, emotion- manipulating voice that’s threaded its way through every album since her 2006 debut, not the voice that leans too close to what the pop music machine demands.
  6. Aug 27, 2019
    Even the bright spots in the album’s composition—the off-beat piano cascades in “Death By A Thousand Cuts” and the pulsating synth of “Cruel Summer” (thank you, St. Vincent) are particular standouts—are overshadowed by the musical anticlimax on most tracks, especially on “The Archer.”

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. CR_
    Aug 31, 2019
    I love this album, there are 18 bops. Good work taylor! That s her best album for sure!
  2. Aug 24, 2019
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pop Perfection, Taylor Swift ois at her best here, showing different genres in a brand new album. From the upbeat I Think He knows and The man to daylight and doon you'll get better that touch your heart in such a deep way. The production is great a d so are the lyrics. A masterpiece Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2019
    This is simply the album of the year, the productions are exceptional. Swift is an amazing songwriter, the lyrics are so good. Great work!
  4. Aug 31, 2019
    She cusses, gets sassy, brings up old styles of production and it is a lyrical masterpiece sooooo, yes this is Taylor Swift’s best album yet.
  5. Aug 24, 2019
    A grammy material album, her vocal is better than her previous album such as Reputation, the theme is brighter,fun, and contains empowermentA grammy material album, her vocal is better than her previous album such as Reputation, the theme is brighter,fun, and contains empowerment lyrics.. My favourites are Cruel Summer, The Archer, and Cornelia Street Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2019
    The emotional honesty of Red combined with the sounds of 1989 and the maturity of reputation.
  7. Aug 30, 2019
    Me hace frustrar este álbum. Siento que es algo bueno pero nunca lo concluye

See all 3996 User Reviews