Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Aug 7, 2019
    80
    While six of these 19 tracks are intricately wrought miniatures, it's the supreme confidence of four-minute relative marathons Peel Free and horn-pricked parental paean Bloom Wither Bloom that shine. [Sep 2019, p.91]
  2. Uncut
    Aug 7, 2019
    70
    Aokohio maintains that momentum [from 2017's Moh Lhean], even if it is typically scattershot, haphazard, surreal and episodic, featuring short bursts of beautiful melody, soul-searching found sounds, unsettling atmospherics and dark humour. [Sep 2019, p.37]
  3. Aug 9, 2019
    60
    It means that AOKOHIO never quite feels as cohesive as Wolf apparently intended it to be, so it’s a good job that the album’s emotional themes do such a good job of providing a throughline and backbone instead.
  4. Q Magazine
    Aug 7, 2019
    60
    It mixes experimental sketches and DIY electronica with Animal Collective-like Peel Free's meditation on a life quixotic. At times Aokohio plays like a TV randomly switching channels. [Sep 2019, p.116]
  5. Aug 7, 2019
    53
    WHY? has never been a subtle band, but they’ve also never been this overwrought.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Sep 1, 2019
    10
    The main complaint will be with the conceptual nature of the album. With mini tracks and a bunch of, well weird **** interspersed throughout.The main complaint will be with the conceptual nature of the album. With mini tracks and a bunch of, well weird **** interspersed throughout. But this may be both the most musically impressive and heartfelt work they have ever produced. Take your time and listen to the album straight through. You'll find it if you have 33 minutes of patience. If you can't do that, why do you care about music at all? Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2019
    3
    i will never tell an artist what they "should" or "shouldn't" be doing. That's ridiculous and stifles creativity. I really appreciate Wolf'si will never tell an artist what they "should" or "shouldn't" be doing. That's ridiculous and stifles creativity. I really appreciate Wolf's willingness to push his own boundaries to explore new things, it's what makes Why? so appealing year after year after year. Listening to AOKOHIO several times through however...this album just never comes together for me. There are only a handful of actual songs, while the majority of the run-time is spent jumping from one incomplete lyrical/musical idea to another. I'm not sure what sort of cohesive whole Wolf was trying to make with this, but it just doesn't pull me in at all. Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2019
    8
    Musically, it's a mix of dark poetry, folk, hip-hop and electronics arranged in a collage that mimics someone jumping from through memories inMusically, it's a mix of dark poetry, folk, hip-hop and electronics arranged in a collage that mimics someone jumping from through memories in one space in their life to the next. My only issue is that the songs sound feel a tad underdone and "interlud-y", I'd be interested to hear more fleshed out versions but understand that in context with the visual aspect, the entire project feels more complete and the visuals elevate the experience. The music alone is an 8/10, I get chills from "Peel Free" and "Stained Glass Slipper" every time, it's a solid effort from Yoni, who definitely gets props for doing something so different each and every time he puts out new art. Full Review »